Beneful Dog Food (Summary)

Share

The Beneful Dog Food brand includes two canine product lines:

A review for each product line can be accessed by clicking one of the above links.

Common misspellings: Beniful, Benaful

Notes and Updates

06/02/2010 Original review
04/03/2012 Article updated
10/06/2013 Article updated
10/06/2013 Last Update

  • Cyndi

    I was always taught you’re not supposed to change a dogs food either. & I also believed that Beneful was a good food for dogs. You are on this site, you can read the ingredients for yourself. You can also read just about every post here on the Beneful thread and see how many dogs have gotten sick or died from this “food”. Honestly, for the health of your dog, if you want him to live a full healthy life, do some reading on this and other sites and pick a better dog food. Even if you don’t want to rotate foods, at least get your dog off the awful “food” you’re feeding him. There are many knowledgeable people on here that are more than willing to help you, if that’s what you want…

  • theBCnut

    Abbey, just think for a minute. Why in the world would you not switch a dogs diet? That’s as silly as saying that people should always eat the same thing. Variety in the diet is what helps to make sure you get all the nutrients you need and it’s the same with dogs. Kibble is one of the most processed foods out there, so how can it be healthy for a dog to eat nothing but the same highly processed food for its entire life. That makes no sense at all. Fresh foods and variety are the way to vibrant health, not just survival.

  • Crazy4cats

    Abbey-
    You are definitely right that every dog is different. But in my opinion, a food that has corn as its first ingredient and contains propylene glycol, sugar, by-products, animal digest and food coloring cannot be good for any dog to eat every meal for its entire life. I know their packaging looks great, but to me is false advertising because their is not anything in the bag that is shown on the outside of the bag. I’m glad your dog is doing well on it. I also believe that it is much healthier to feed your dog a variety of foods just like it is more healthy for humans. Good luck to you.

  • Abbey Tek

    My 7 year old dachshund has been on beneful for all of his life and is in perfect health. Every dog is different when it comes to food. And you arn’t supposed to switch your dogs diet, if you want it on beneful, you should have started it on beneful

  • AnnMarie Nelson

    My 7 year old Yorkie are Beneful for almost a year, and recently went to ER with an Auto Immune disease, she almost died. Immediately, I switched her back to Halo’s Spot Stew Chicken and her health has improved dramatically! I also have decided to switch our French Bully and Old English Bully to another brand such as Nature’s Pride chicken, sweet potato & pumpkin, so far so good.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Keep rice in the pantry and chicken in the freezer for occasions just like this. Sorry you and your dogs are having to go through this.

  • Elizabeth

    During the snow storm I had no other choice in food besides Beneful. My dog had it for a day and a half. He has had diarrhea for 5 days now. Yesterday there was blood in it and now it’s pure liquid. This is the 2nd time I’ve made the mistake of feeding my dogs Beneful. Now I clean diarrhea off the floor every morning. My other dog has puked it up everyday. Worst dog food ever.

  • InkedMarie

    I’m sorry.

  • Bob K

    Mike – Why did you change dog foods to Beneful? What were you previously feeding your dog? How old was your dog? Was your dog being treated for anything previously? Did you transition slowly to Beneful or just switch foods?

  • Mike

    My dog was in perfect health. Then I made the mistake of switching to Beneful. In 5 days he was dead. Kidney failure.

  • Lisa patterson

    Our precious Snickers passed away on July 1,2013. She ate Beneful her whole life. My husband put her on the healthy weight Beneful on occasion. I never would have given her Beneful if I had known what it was doing to her. She had kidney failure and pancreatitis. We are just devastated as she was our little girl. Please don’t feed your babies Beneful. Why is our government allowing the sales of food that kills our babies?

  • Aimee

    I had my chiweenie (who was 11 at the time) on Beneful Feista thinking that it was a good choice to make her start eating again. I then adopted a chi/greyhound with a sensitivity to corn, oatmeal, ect. Both began to act lethargic and sick. I found that my chiweenie’s tedth started to rot out on top of hair loss. I have the senior chiweenie on Wellness Core canned and the other on Wellness Simple turky dry. What a difference! Reading the other posts i might have saved them by switching.

  • Riverdivine

    Sorry- that link didn’t go through the first time-
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/halo-dog-food-dry/

  • Riverdivine

    Good for you for caring enough about your dog to further research. :) I’ve had great luck with Halo’s Spot’s Stew/Chicken Dry for my Husky with a very sensitive tummy. Have tried her on a number of organic formulas, but this brand seems to agree with her the most. Best of luck-http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/halo-dog-food-dry/

  • Betsy Greer

    At least he’s chosen a healthy snack! : )

  • Cyndi

    Lol! I never had a dog that even liked tomatoes.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    My large pug has a new trick – plucking and eating small tomatoes off the vine! They can’t have that many calories! He says he doesn’t want to be 30 lbs, he wants to be 31.

  • LabsRawesome

    I agree with what everyone else said. You are going from one garbage dog food to another. Feeding those foods is like you eating cheap hot dogs, corn chips, and kool-aid for dinner every night. Not a healthy diet, at all.

  • Betsy Greer

    You have to wonder why all four dogs need to be on weight control in the first place?

  • Butchroy

    You are on this website to learn how to feed your dog better and you decide to switch to Pedigree? I do not think you have looked around at this website at all!

  • Cyndi

    This site is very, very informative. Check out some of the 3, 4 or 5 star foods on here. Anything by Purina is crap, in my honest opinion and you can pretty much tell by the ingredients.

  • Cyndi

    Pedigree isn’t much better than Beneful. You should look at the 3, 4 or 5 star foods on this site. You might have to pay a bit more for a better food, but they’ll eat less of it because they’ll be less “crap” and filler in a better food.

  • Terri Lynn Gant Wright

    I have 4 dogs that are eating Beneful Weight Control and they have been on it for 4 months and since day one, they have had skin problems, lots of itching like they have fleas, but they don’t. Also they are constantly digging at their ears. Today I switched them to Pedigree weight control. Wish me luck – I don’t want them to keep suffering.

  • Clay

    I thought Purina and Beneful were top vet recommended brands? My dog Costa is only 1, but that’s all I’ve ever fed him. He’s the smartest little thing in the world. I’m not sure if his food has anything to do with it, but when I moved from my apartment to my parents he started getting fleas. His whole back end is kinda patchy. First I thought it was heat rash, but I’m thinking it might be fleas and/or Beneful. What should I be feeding him?

  • sylviarps

    I have a black lab who is 6 years old. He has seizures and we know he got it fron his grandfather. But he was on beneful and we noticed his hair falling like crazy.
    As soon as we changed the food, it got much better. But I am still not sure what would be the best dog food for his seizures and joints, since labs usually have joint problems.

  • InkedMarie

    I’m sorry for your loss

  • http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/ GarriottSK

    My 9 year old retired racing greyhound Wilber died on Sept. 08. 2013. I was feeding him Beneful Healthy Weight dry dog food at the time. A friend’s dog died a while back and the was eating Beneful. There are a lot of dog parents that are very upset because they have had a dog or dogs to get sick or die while eating Beneful. Check out Consumer Affairs website.
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/beneful.html
    I have filed complaints but the Government is shut down so the FDA and USDA are too. We need to somehow warn people! Complained to Beneful and they wanted to pay my vet expenses for Wilber if I signed a non-discloser statement. I said no and if they didn’t kill my dog then why did they want to pay me.
    Typical cut and paste response to complaints on Benefuls facebook page;”All of our products are 100% complete and balanced for their intended life stage. When it comes to the nutrients dogs need, grains, like corn, deliver. They provide antioxidants, energy-rich carbohydrate and fiber to promote digestion.” & “So sorry to hear your dog was ill (name). Please give us a call at 800-877-7551 so we can learn more about your experience. Thanks so much.”
    Beneful Angels – The Faces Behind the Statistics
    https://www.facebook.com/BenefulAngelsTheFacesBehindTheStatistics
    Is BENEFUL by Purina KILLING or SICKENING Dogs? Post YOUR Story!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/533765719991738/

  • Kathy Romaine

    You have a point-to a degree JellyCat. My cat lived to 20 yrs. old. However, he became diabetic,went on insulin, but a few years later reverted back. Up to that time I’d fed him whatever was on sale(which is loaded with carbs). I didn’t know the truth about pet food back then, UNFORTUNATELY. Yes, he lived til 20, what what QUALITY of health did he have? Not good. Just like humans..we all think we’re healthy because most don’t know anything about OPTIMAL health and how good they can feel. You can be 30 and feel and have the body of a 50 yrs. old-health-wise, and vice-versa.Same thing as our precious pets. WE have to do the best we can for THEM. If you really study pet food, you’ll understand that the majority of it on the shelves is junk.

  • LoJ

    I’m so sorry to hear this report. I am looking for such stories, though, as a few times my dog has suffered horrific itching problems and I believe it is whenever I feed her the Beneful dry dog food product. Thanks for sharing, though.

  • Kara

    I’ve read places that beneful dog food was causing dogs to get tumors, seizures, and a few other things. Right after I heard about it I bought my dogs new food because they had been eating beneful for three years now. After I found out I also took my dogs to the vet (this was about three weeks ago) and sadly 2 days ago he died. Because of mass tumors. We don’t know if that the dog food is the thing to cause the tumors, but that’s the only thing we could think of. Now, my best friend is gone and there’s nothing I can do about it but try to tell other people that beneful dog food is bad!! Please just buy another brand and save your pet. Also, don’t buy any animal food that’s made in a factory that also makes human food.

  • FYI

    I’ve been a dog groomer for 30 yrs every dog I groom that eats beneful dog food, has horrible an constant ear infection,yeast infection skin problem, there coats are so greasy I have to use dish soap to strip off the greasy on there hair. FYI

  • LabsAreDoggieDogs!

    ETHYLENE Glycol is extremely toxic to humans and animals. It is used in automotive antifreeze and has a sweet taste that animals like, so be careful how you dispose of it.

    PROPYLENE Glycol is nontoxic and used in solar hot water systems. In case there is a leak in the heat exchanger and that fluid mixes with your potable hot water supply, it will not make you sick, grossed out maybe, but not dead.

    That said, I still don’t want that stuff in my dog’s food!
    I’m very sorry about your dog.

  • ollie

    and ironic enough I had him on ” healthy weight” because he needed to lose 19 pounds.

  • ollie

    ive had my shepard/lab/newfoundland mix on beneful for a year
    not knowing the problems with it. im very pissed this crap is on the market. he has non cancer cyst on his glands so I thought his chewing and excesive water drinking was from that but now worried its from liver/kidney failure and will have to get him tested. WHY ISNT THIS NATIONAL NEWS ON TV OR PAPERS. will get my other tested when I take him to vets this Friday for shot updates.

  • Marsha

    There’s a closed group on FB whose members are parents of sick, formally sick, or those who weren’t so fortunate to “pull through”. They share their Beneful, and give terrific hemopathic advice on healing your fur friend. Here’s the link: https://facebook.com/groups/533765719991738/ There’s also a special page dedicated to the BFF’s – Best Fur Friends who are now the Angelz. http://www.facebook.com/BenefulAngelsTheFacesBehindtheStstistics please visit, like and share everywhere!

  • LoveMyDog

    That is so very sad. It’s sick that these companies only care about making money, and now you’re without your beloved dog. We’re so very sorry.

  • ChinMom2

    There are so many factors that can contribute to a dog’s health and longevity. Sounds like you did a great job with your dogs. I think people here need to be VERY careful with implications that people are not being truthful, condemning, or name-calling toward vets. The most intelligent way to choose a dog food is to read the ingredients and do research, NOT buy into advertising (I’m a former advertising major).

  • Rat Terrier Lover

    Beneful dog food & Waggin’ Train Jerky Treats (both made by Nestle-Purina) have Propylene Glycol (POISON) in them, which was the cause of my beloved dog’s death!!! He died in my arms, 3 minutes away from the animal hospital on July 12th, 2012. I still miss him everyday. :`(

  • http://twitter.com/KHanlinDVM Dr. Kerrianne Hanlin

    I honestly disagree with you. “Shady” vets, as you call them, are quite the minority. Most of work very hard and care a lot about your pets. I am sorry you had a bad experience.

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    The number one thing is to care, and you do.

  • beaglemom

    Please don’t beat yourself up! And I know exactly how you feel — our dogs used to be on beneful, kibbles ‘n bits, and purina one… UGH!!! You’ve come to the right place to learn!! :)

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi mpierce, what food have you switched your dogs over to? I can recommend some foods, what is your monthly budget for dog food?

  • mpierce

    I just don’t understand how this stuff can even be on the shelves at all. I’m personally disgusted with myself for being one of the people who fell for Purina/Beneful’s “false advertisement” packaging & commercials on how great their product is. At the busiest/most stressful time in my life…so far…(my husband was deployed, I was pregnant & helping our 2 1/2 year old through the first deployment he has ever experienced) I stupidly didn’t take the time look into the food any further than what I saw on TV or saw on the shelves. I saw that it was a few bucks cheaper than what we were paying, looked healthy still so I thought, “why not?”…WRONG decision! Our poor dogs. I feel SO terrible. They were a little over weight to begin with so I put them on the “Healthy Weight”…I know what a joke! Well…they started losing weight alright. I stupidly thought it was a good thing. They were constantly hungry though & we often had to clean up diarreah & vommit messes. Their skin also became very sensitive & it was not a flea problem! Their skin has darkened on their bellies & their teeth are now rotten & falling out. None of which were a problem a 2 years ago before they were on this sorry excuse for a food. I know there are some doubters out there that say Beneful can’t be to blame for a dog being sick…but when NONE of these symptoms existed before ALL 3 of my dogs started eating Beneful & it starts right after I switched them to it..I’m pretty sure there is a connection! Do yourselves a favor & don’t have the guilt I feel everyday! DON’T BUY PURINA/BENEFUL!!!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Molly & Meat, at the beginning of your post you mention that you just watched the news…..but then you never said what the news story was about. Something bad about Beneful? I’m guessing….. I can’t imagine why. Just kidding. Beneful gets the worst dog food ever award. It is floor sweepings, food coloring, and sugar- to get the dogs to eat such an unnatural “food”.

  • Molly & Meat

    Just watched the news – WPIX PA – My dog which turned 9 last month; I bought her Beneful when it first came out; she got sick, was itching, lost all her fur off her back side – it was HORRIBLE! To this day – she has 4 areas on her where the fur never grew back. My vet had a long list of other dogs that had gotten sick from Beneful and he was alerting whom ever the Vets report to regarding problems. I was against Beneful at the beginning and have warned everyone not to buy this product. My dogs are Iams dogs and have NEVER had a problem.

  • Zachary P. Hall

    At this dog store, (not a major company one) they told me that Beneful is awful and I can’t believe that it has sugar. Who would put sugar in dog food? Actually, this isn’t dog food, it is more of a joke.

  • JellyCat

    I don’t believe that, because I’ve seen so many dogs that did not do well on Purina products and never lived as long as 19 years and were not disease free. However their owner would still believe that their pets doing just fine.
    I have also seen other animals on purina and judging by their condition I will never agree that purina is a great food.

  • Iamartandart

    Thanks Kristy, that’s exactly what I did. I know have a great vet who was recommended by a good friend. There are so many shady vets out there.

  • Kristy Lamm

     I’m surprised your vet let you go a year and that you had to figure that out on your own.. usually the food is the first thing a GOOD vet will suggest to try n help skin conditions. Maybe you want to find a new vet too

  • deb708

    If your dog’s not worth a few more bucks for better food then maybe you shouldn’t own a pet.  I buy good quality food for my 2 german shepherds and it cost me about $10/wk.  Most people waste that much on 2 cups of coffee.  Your animals are an investment and if this many people are having problems with this food you should listen and maybe avoid costly vet bills down the road!

  • Pooshii2013

    Have you ever thought that the dogs were allergic to something…a lot of dogs eat Purina and live long healthy lives…18 year old wolf, 15 & 16 year old American cocker. Spaniel, presently 9 year old & 191/2 year old daschunds…ALL FED PURINA! 

  • Pooshii2013

    OMG I can’t believe what I’m reading…has it ever dawned on the few people who complain that there are millions of dogs…perhaps your animals are allergic or have intolerance to certain ingredients…the rise of allergies in humans is astronomical..so why wouldn’t animals be affected?  I’ve had dogs purebred my whole life & they have all lived or are living to past 15 years old.  Had a wolf (part shepherd ) lived till 18 & presently a daschund 19 1/2 yrs old & they have eaten nothing but Purina….what you feed your dog is somewhat up to you but its common bloody sense if the animal reacts don’t blame it entirely on the food as I’ve witnessed people try lots of varieties &have same problems…sometimes it’s one ingredient that is the problem…

  • Iamartandart

    I fed my shihtzu this crap for about half a year before realizing it was crap. He had skin problems all over (flaking and blacking of the skin, to say the least, weird lesions to say the most.) and I spent so much money on taking him to the vet and buying expensive medicines and shampoos. After visiting this website, I finally found the underlying cause and immediately switched him to EVO products. In just a month all problems are gone – just like that. DO NOT FEED YOUR DOGS THIS SORRY EXCUSE FOR DOG FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    What a doll!!  He’s lucky to have you.  Keep up the good work.

  • Shawna

    What a gorgeous boy!!!!  Love the leaf backdrop :) 

    I’m a bully lover too :)  Grew up with a Staffordshire…  Don’t have one now but will again…

  • BullyLover

    Recently got a puppy from a family who bought him at a pet store (yuck) and didn’t know how to raise him. He was overweight and had a lot of dandruff when we got him and it was because his previous family was feeding him a Beneful Healthy weight (LOL) dry food. Switched him to Wellness Large breed puppy, took him for walks and now he is healthy and the dandruff cleared within the week that i took him off that crap.

  • hounddogmom12

    dog handbags,

    Brace yourself…Beneful is one of the worst brands of dog food on the market and in general you want to avoid healthy weight formulas (even when feeding a high quality food). You can read the review for Beneful here: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/beneful-dog-food-dry/ . As you will see, the first ingredient isn’t even meat…it’s corn! Beneful also doesn’t contain real quality meat, it contains animal by-products and animal digest. It has artificial colorings and added sugar. As far as healthy weight formulas, basically meat is taken out to reduce the fat content and grains are added in, consequently both the fat and the protein content are lowered and the carbohydrate content is raised – something you don’t want. A dog’s diet should be high in protein, moderately high in fat, and low in carbohydrates. As far as picking a higher quality food, it’s really going to depend on your budget. Any four or five star food would be a great choice, but some can be very pricey. Some of my favorite budget-friendly four star foods to recommend are: Whole Earth Farms, Healthwise, NutriSource, Nutro-Natural Choice, Nature’s Recipe, and Eagle Pack. Most of these brands are available online and at pet specialty stores. If your only option is Wal-Mart/grocery store brands, at least consider Purina One Beyond – it’s not a great food, but it’s a big step up from Beneful.

  • Eve’sHumanMom

    Hi Dog handbags,

    If you really want to feed the best, have a look at the 4- and 5-star lists on this site:  5-Star Dry Dog Foods
    4-Star Dry Dog Foods
    That said, there are dogs who through genetic disposition and or luck have been able to thrive on even the products with the worst ingredients. 

  • http://www.maiagifts.co.uk/fashion-accessories/dogs-and-dog-handbags/cat_32.html dog handbags

    I’m feeding my Yorkies Beneful healthy weight, they seem to like it. Is
    this a good dog food to feed them? I only want the best for them.

  • Ilovemymailbox

    It’s cheap crap. You couldn’t pay me enough to feed that to my dog.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Beneful dog food is not a good dog food either.  For the most part, the first 5 ingredients are what makes up the dog food. And food coloring is a chemical additive and dogs definitely do not need sugar or propylene glycol either.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/beneful-dog-food-dry/

    Look for a dog food that is free of food colors, sugars, chemical preservatives, and generic meats and fats.

    And my dogs do love stinky food.  I feed mine raw green tripe and canned green tripe and sardines and other raw foods.

  • Threenorns

    “dark, smells bad, and has no colour” – you’re forgetting something:  dogs only care about what it smells and tastes like – and what humans think smells awful, dogs think is filet mignon as anyone who’s seen a dog dig up a bone that’s high, green, and stinking and proceed to chew on it in ecstasy will tell you.

  • Jmatti9753

    I need to reiterate..I didn’t finish..does that mean dog food that is dark and smells..and has no color is actually good for our dogs? Sorry for the typo..I am just greatful they do tell us about recalls..but then again..look at the dates..who keeps dog food aroung that long? 2010 2009? We check dates for our own food right? Take care fellow Dog lovers!

  • Jmatti9753

    Benefil is not a bad dog food. It keeps my AKC Pekingese’s Healthy, shiney Coats. It does have Rice and lamb in it..if you look at the ingredients.Along with Vegetables. I agree its colorful. But does that mean dog food that smells bad and is dark? I think Dog food is good for your dog if it keeps there teeth clean. It makes there coat shiny and they don’t gain weight. I give snacks inbetween.I also treat them to Pasta, chicken, and Ice Cream..as long as the Ice Cream is DQ which is Ice Milk. Remember a long lived dog..is a well loved dog.

  • http://www.facebook.com/Miltapher Amelia Ebert

     sugar, that’s in it

  • http://www.facebook.com/Miltapher Amelia Ebert

    I am so disgusted by this brand.  Purina markets it as healthy.  It is low on meat and has lots of artificial ingredients.  They even put sugar in it.  They dye the food pretty colors and put it in a bag with pictures of veggies and cuts of meat.  They market it as healthy.  The food has more sugar than veggies and very little meat.  An accurate artist description would be a bag with pictures of corn, rotting gross stuff and sugar.  That would not sell dog food.

    If you think this is a good healthy high quality dog food, you are being duped.  Do you believe every advertisement.

  • Rachelb

    Just because your Vet “approved” the food doesn’t mean crap. Vets also get financial kickbacks from companies like Science Diet and Iams to sell their food. Oftentimes, the only Vets that ever approve or suggest wholistic food are holistic vets. I know because my husband is one. Do your research, read the ingredients and you will see the nasty byproducts and Chinese filler that are put in commercial dog food and marketed to the general public. It should be outlawed.

  • Threenorns

    my dog’s a border collie mix – weighs 70lbs.  smart as cracking and has all the energy of a purebred BC (which he very possibly might be:  of a litter of 11, only he and his sister didn’t look like the black-and-white parents; he could be a throwback).  

    beneful gave him screaming diarrhea.

    had i two more border collies, i’m pretty sure they’d've gotten the runs, too.

    so is your personal experience more valid than my personal experience or shall we let the simple facts tell the story?

  • Threenorns

    “old roy”, lol – omg, i remember that stuff!  lumber industry byproduct meal, lolol – yeah – my dad fed it to our dogs when we were kids.  he FREAKED when he found out what i was feeding my dog – said it was “wasted” food.  told him to belt up and go back to coronation street.

  • Threenorns

    that’s one of the reasons my dog ended up on raw food diet – i mean raw food, same as what i feed the family and myself.  he was chewing through big bags of store-brand “cheap” kibble to the tune of two a week – about $160/mo.  i wised up, did research, and found the local brand available that was recommended was acana – cost dropped to $135/mo because he was still chewing through 2-1/2x the recommended serving size just to maintain body condition (70lb border collie mix – uber-mega-high energy).  i feed him from the discount meat bin at the grocery store.  he eats sirloin, ground round, t-bone, blade steaks, pot roast, chicken (quarters, necks, backs), turkey (wings, legs, necks), lamb (if it’s not too expensive).  he also eats fresh fruit and veg.

    costs me maximum $120/mo.

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/William-A-Finch/100001052700600 William A Finch

    I have a French Bulldog, I’ve tried feeding him Beneful twice, both times it’s made him VERY sick.  I looked at the ingredients and wasn’t impressed. Looks like garbage to me. 

  • nolagal

    It is actually not cheaper to feed Beneful if you look at what the suggested serving size is.  
    Beneful (1 star food): 3 2/3 to 4 3/4 cups for 51 to 75 pounds.  31lb bag is $38.Canidae Grain Free(5 star food): 2-3 cups for 51 to 75 pounds 30lb bag is $53.

    Prices based off Amazon.  Simple math says you will pay closer to $70 for Beneful to the $53 for Canidae for the same # of feedings.  

  • Bob K

    Ryah – Two easy questions  1.) If you had not read this analysis of the
    food and someone asked what the ingredients were to Beneful, what would
    you have told them?  2.) If you walked into your grocery store and there
    was no more dog food available, what would you buy for your dog at the
    store?  I highly doubt you would buy:   Ground yellow corn, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, whole wheat flour, animal fat, rice flour, 

    You can feed your dog a 3 or 4 star rated dog food for less than half the price of a McDonalds Kids meal., Taco Bell, Subway or half the cost of a Starbucks Latte per day.    There are many affordable brands.

  • Dog Food Ninja

    Please click on the link to the dry food and READ the ingredients detailed in the review.  They are simply facts, Ryah.  The creator of this site, Dr. Sagman, has absolutely no vested interest in whether you buy expensive food or not.  He created this site so that consumers could become better informed and see what some of these companies are selling you as “food” are really made of.  You can’t argue with the FACTS.  The facts are, this food is made from cheap industrial agriculture by-products, meat-packing by-products, propylene glycol, sugar, flavor enhancers and several ingredients that include free glutamic acid, artificial color… there is literally NOTHING good about this food.  As someone who works in pet retail, I have seen hundreds of sick, scabby, itchy, gassy, and/or over weight dogs that were eating THIS FOOD and became healthy even just switching them to something like Pro Pac which is only $27.99 for 33 pounds.  Not expensive, huh?  That’s about the same price as Beneful, but Pro Pac has a 3 1/2 star rating on this web site because it is made with obviously better ingredients.  When you buy Purina, you are paying for marketing, not ingredients.  Do your living dogs a favor and actually read the review of the dry food (this is just a brand summary) so you can see what is in it and what those ingredients really are.      

  • sandy

    I thought my dogs were doing great as well, but I didn’t know how much better they could be since I never fed anything better.  But they did improve greatly.  You won’t know how much more healthful they can become if you’ve never fed any better foods for the longterm. And why would you want your dogs to ingest these kinds of ingredients?

  • Marie

    The purpose of this site is not to give you a guilt trip. You can buy and feed whatever you’d like, of course, but the fact that your dog lived until 16 1/2 doesn’t make Beneful any less awful of a food.

  • Ryah

    I have 3 Border Collies…all are on Beneful (approved by the Vet).  My last Border Collie lived to 16 1/2 years old…. extremely healthy, beautiful teeth & coat. Amazing for an older guy of 115 1/2 !! The day he died, he played, ate, laid down for an afternoon nap….. and didn’t wake up. Not sick… not on meds.
    Sorry–I see this as a GUILT TRIP to buy ‘Foo-Foo-she-she’ High Priced B.S. !!

  • Dave’s Hounds

    Tuley you need to feed your dog whatever you think is best but you should do some research and you will see that Beneful is not good food.

  • Tuley

    I have a 7 year old golden retriever and have only feed him Beneful. He eats 3 times a day and has a beautiful rich red coat and is constantly full of energy. When i started i let him eat whenever he was hungry but that was almost constant. :-) so i put him on a schedule. He’s always been on the Healthy Weight variety. The vet has never had any negative comments for my dog and in fact has been very please with how healthy he is. I know things are different with each individual dog just as it is with people but i’ve had good experiences with Beneful. My previous dog was on it for 4 years, happy and healthy, before she slipped a couple disks in her back and it came down to quality of life…

  • http://www.tradexl.com/medical-equipments Medical Equipments Exporters

    Bumble Bee’s
    Baja Grill is the brainchild of Bob and BJ Weil.  Bob, an avuncular
    septuagenarian, has been a peripatetic presence at the restaurant since
    it launched,  seemingly serving simultaneously as greeter, cashier,
    waiter and busboy, but mostly as the restaurant’s genial ambassador.  If
    he’s at the restaurant on the day of your visit, you can expect him to
    stop by your table to make sure you’re enjoying your food and dining
    experience.  Your experience is of Mexican Baja style cuisine,
    characterized by uncompromisingly fresh ingredients melded together in
    gustatory exciting ways then apportioned generously to ensure no diner
    ever leaves hungry.   Seafood ingredients abound in “just caught”
    freshness, no easy feat in landlocked New Mexico.  Meats and poultry are
    char-grilled to exacting temperatures that ensure each bite is
    succulent and juicy.  Bumble Bee’s salsas will awaken your taste buds
    with just enough bite to complement your entrees without dominating
    them.
     

  • KathyB

    my niece and great nieces have chihuauas and only feed them Holistic Select dog food. all natural and they love. Please don’t fee your dog beneful my puggle just came back from vets with a back allergy to the crap. Not dog food, I won’t feed it to the wild. Try Holistic Select, Petco has it.

  • Tammy

    I’ve been feeding my golden retriever Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul for most of her 4 yrs of life. However, we were on an extended trip when we ran out, and was unable to find it anywhere, and had to settle for a grocery store brand. Beneful certainly looked good on the shelf, but it wreaked havoc on my poor girl. After only feeding her Beneful for 6 weeks, she lost all her usual vigor and energy, started loosing tons of her previously beautiful fur, now dull. And from all the coloring in Beneful, her sweet pink belly turned black, and it took over a year to get all the black gone! This is a horrible excuse for dog food, I will never use it again. And I beg all of you to never feed this to your beloved pet!

  • Lorri

    To everyone that responded to my question (8-16-2011), thank you for your suggestions. I did just find out the reason he (my Border Collie) wasn’t really eating wasn’t the new food (the timing was just a coincidence) but he had a tumor in his intestines. It was removed last week and he’s on prescription food for another week and then I will try the Kirkland again as soon as the vet gives the ok. Thank you again for responding :D

  • Michelle

    Dog Food Ninja, it still lists you as Jonathan on the left under Top Commentators. lol DFN.

  • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ninja Dog Food Ninja

    Kimberly, there are far better foods that are the same price, maybe even cheaper, than Beneful. Take a look at Pro Pac, Kirkland’s, Perfectly Natural, Diamond Natural, even Nutro Max.

  • Kimberly Puryear

    Hi, I have a 4 yr old Cockapoo. I fed him on Halo because of another pet owners request. When I found this site I started checking out the dog foods I was giving him. I started out with Petigree, then Netro. Because of my friend he is on Halo. I was in a accident and my money is severely limited now. Even being a Vet I can not get help. An aid brought me some food for him, it is Beneful IncrediBites. I know it is not the best but the food I get Oreo is expensive. It is hard to get good dog food on a limited budget. I hope my dog will be ok.

  • Shawna

    I very much prefer the open blogs.. I’ve only been on one “yahoo forum” requiring moderator approval for every post/poster… Open to all topics related to dog/cats (vaccination, food, illnesses, training etc).

    I only had one post blocked — linking to the FDA info on 4d and pentobarbitol ingredients. The forum is sponsored by Purina so I’m actually lucky it was the only post blocked :).. If people think they get beat up a bit on this site —- try one like that ;). You REALLY have to know your stuff to get anywhere. I was able to convert a few people on diet and vaccination (including the moderator :).. It was just too cumbersome and lagging however and I evenutally got tired of waiting for replies…

    I, and I’m sure others, very much appreciate the style of this blog as well as your participation. I actually am enjoying this more then my “normal” home and may have to have a new “normal”.. ;)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    OK, Shawna. I think I got the right ones. Sorry for this problem. It’s very unlikely this would ever happen to you again.

    In any case, from the very beginning, I decided to keep our blog completely open without requiring email registration or confirmation for anyone. Posting on an open blog is so much more natural. Comments appear in real time rather than waiting hours sometimes for approval by the moderator before they appear.

  • Shawna

    Oh, just realized all were showing now… In that case, would you mind leaving the first and removing all after? Thanks a bunch!!!!

  • Shawna

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for checking and approving :) You can leave this one up and delete the others. If anyone has difficulty finding either article they can post and I will re-post the links.

    I completely understand the need for a spam filter and appreciate your attempts to spare us all from unwanted advertising (and especially the “even worse”)!!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Shawna… I agree with your suggestion that older dogs actually need more protein. My findings have produced similar research.

    By the way, I found 4 of your posts trapped in the spam filter. I’ve now marked them as “approved” so this is not likely to happen again. Sorry I have to keep this software active. But without it, we’d be overwhelmed with unwanted advertising (and even worse).

    Please let me know which one you’d like to keep and I’ll delete the others. Thanks for the tip.

  • Shawna

    I agree with Melissa. An “all life stage” food is going to have all the nutrients required by each stage of life making feeding much easier..

    For your senior — they have know for over 10 years now that “senior” dogs actually need MORE protein then when they were adults as they are not as efficient at digesting their foods. The below quote is taken from nutritionist Mary Straus’ website (dogaware.com). Mary writes nutrition articles for Whole Dog Journal and other publications as well as owner of dog aware.

    “The truth is that there is no reason to feed a lower protein diet to senior dogs. While lower protein diets have traditionally been recommended for senior dogs based on assumptions such as those above, we now know that a protein-rich diet is especially important for older dogs, due to the fact that their systems are less efficient at metabolizing protein. Recent studies show that healthy older dogs may need as much as 50 percent more protein than their younger adult counterparts.” http://www.dogaware.com/articles/wdjseniordiets.html

    Nutritionist Lew Olson, vet Dr. Karen Becker and many others agree with, and have written articles about, the above quoted information.

    Drs Foster and Smith also have an article on this. Having a hard time finding it but came across this — titled “Feed Your Collie Right” (thought it was appropriate :))

    I don’t agree with much of the article but do agree with the quote on protein in senior dogs. It is written by a vet.

    “The ability to metabolize protein decreases with age, so senior dogs–even healthy ones–need up to 50 percent more protein than younger adults. Inadequate protein intake can cause muscle wasting, weakness and immune system impairment.” http://www.dogchannel.com/dog-nutrition/dog-breed-diets/article_collie-4.aspx

    Michelle is right — “senior” (most) dog foods are a marketing scam to push lower protein, higher carb foods on unsuspecting consumers.

  • melissa

    Lorri-

    I would consider using an All life stage formula for all three-Since the one is the “picky eater” find something ALS and then the other two can transition to it. Check your bags-if any of them say ‘all life stage” see if your old man will eat it, then problem solved : ) My old timers and young all eat the same food, with the amounts dictating the difference, not the “senior” lableing which I consider a marketing ploy(there is no AAFCO standard for senior-)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lorri… Unfortunately, due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, I cannot provide customized reviews and product comparisons for each reader. For more help, please check out my reviews and visit our FAQ page. Look for the topic, “Help Me Choose a Dog Food”. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers. Wish I could be more help.

  • Lorri

    I have 3 dogs, 11yr old Border Collie, 7yr old Papillon, & a 6 month old Aussie. I switched all 3 from Beneful to Kirkland the Papillon & Aussie like it, the Border Collie wasn’t eating, so this weekend I gave him some of the Beneful and he’s eating again. I need a suggestion of something else I can give him that he might like, but also would be better for him. Also inexpensive would be nice since they’re all eating different stages of food (puppy, healthy weight, and senior) Thank you for any suggestions.

  • Cynthia

    I think if you know your dog that will help along with doing the research I didn’t do initially. I’ve tried to feed my Shepherd/Chow mix Alpo – he threw it up everytime, I fed him Beneful, where initially he liked it but after about a month he refused to eat anymore of it – I then tried Kibbles ‘n Bits, he refused to eat that. I heard a lot about Blue and tried that. He responded well to that but as he got older it became too expensive – he would have to eat 4 cans a day ($120.00/mo). So I switched over to Pedigree – thinking it was a quality brand – he would literally eat grass and dirt before he would eat the Pedigree. I would force him, but he wasn’t eating enough, he was losing weight, and his coat looked horrible. I tried Chef Micheals, he would eat it but it wasn’t doing much for his coat or his temperament. He seemed to become whiney. Speaking with the folks at PetSmart I decided to try BilJac…say what you want but he’s eating like he should, the grass/dirt eating has completely stopped, his coat is looking so much better and he’s more confident now. I feel bad for feeding him crap for so long, but the BilJac has made a huge difference in a short period of time.

  • http://Dogfoodadvisor.com Teri

    I forgot to mention that we feed them Eukanuba dry food, and bought Beneful dry food also. We were just mixing in a little of the Beneful but it doesn’t sound like a good idea. It must have something in it because it was like a drug to them. Thanks Sandy for the tips, I will check them out.

  • sandy

    Teri,

    There are so many better foods out there to list!! But I’ve personally used Merrick 5-star Entrees like Grammy’s Pot Pie, Wilderness Blend and Turducken and Merrick cans. I also use Nature’s Variety Prairie Chicken and Prairie Salmon, and Nature’s Variety Instinct Duck & Turkey. Check them out at http://www.merrickpetcare.com and http://www.naturesvariety.com. I’ve probably used about 10 different kinds of dog foods by now.

  • http://Dogfoodadvisor.com Teri

    Our 2 year old Akita’s have been fed Eukanuba dog food but have never liked it. I didn’t think to check reviews of Beneful but should have. The dogs loved it but luckily this is only day 3 so I will stop feeding it to them. Any suggestions for something tastier than the bland dogfoods. Our dogs are pretty picky and when we go away we want to make it easier for family to watch them and not have to “prepare” food for them. We had been adding cooked chicken to the other dog food just to get them to eat. I know it’s not the answer but didn’t know what to do?

  • Michelle

    Lisa, here are some good budget-friendly foods. Costco’s has Kirkland Signature $12.00 for a 20lb bag or $25.00 for a 40lb bag.Tractor Supply has 4health and Diamond Naturals.Petco has Whole Earth Farms. Each dog is an individual and has different caloric needs, but their is a “dog food calculator” on this site.

  • Bob K

    A few ideas: Diamond Natural (Menards often has it on sale), Kirkland (Costco exclusive), 4Health (TSC – Tractor Supply exclusive), Authority (Petsmart exclusive), Whole Earth Farms, Premium Edge, Eagle Pack, https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AmNw5KB82-n_dGtyOEpVVXhPQ2tfeU1FUGdEdjVnTkE&hl=en#gid=0

  • Lisa

    I am looking for a good dog food but am newly married and do not have a lot of money to spend. I have a 3 year old Golden Retriever who seems to be very healthy. I also do not know how much to feed him. As of now I feed him 1 scoop twice a day. Which seems to fill him up but not overfeed him.

    What are some good foods for your dog but at a cheap price?

  • Jonathan

    That’s awesome, Mike P. I too have seen similar changes in dogs and cats when moved from crap like this to a better food. :-)

  • Mike P

    Jonathan , My sis in law travels alot and we sit her toy poodle . She went to florida for two months and left beneful with us . The poodle stayed in her crate and was very reclusive . After about two weeks of that , I switched her to Fromm grain free. Within a week she started playing with our boxer and completely changed . She finally feels healthy and is enjoying life, and my sis couldn’t be happier . Lots to be said about good food …

  • Jonathan

    “…I have considered switching her diet. But I can’t find a good reason to do that…”

    Really? because I can think of a lot of good reasons. 12 good reasons to be exact…

    Ground yellow corn, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, whole wheat flour, animal fat, soy flour, sugar, propylene glycol, meat and bone meal, animal digest, added color, and menadione sodium bisulfite complex.

  • Bo

    I have to admit I didn’t know much about dog food nutrition (or nutrition in general) when I started rescuing dogs off the streets of Los Angeles 18 years ago, though after years of feeding my basset hound Science Diet I stopped, because someone told me there was rubber(!) as one of the ingredients. I didn’t do much research (we didn’t have the internet then), and honestly cannot remember why I started feeding her Beneful. She died shortly after from stomach cancer, and I always blamed myself for having fed her Science Diet, knowing she hadn’t been on the Beneful long enough to create a slow growing cancer. I continued to use the Beneful for all of my rescues, including the one I still have, a 17 year old Akita/Chow mix that I picked up over 15 years ago. At some point I switched her to the Healthy Weight formula, and to date she is in perfect health except for a little arthritis. She gets blood work every six months and her labs are perfect, including her liver and kidneys, both of which have also been ultrasounded (is that a word?) just to be sure. Over the years, as I have become more informed, I have considered switching her diet. But I can’t find a good reason to do that when my is healthy, happy, alert, and will still break into a run (albeit a short one) to chase the neighborhood cats!

  • Mike P

    Lenny I feel so bad for you ,that you got dooped by the fancy packaging . You spend money on a food you think is good because it cost more than the other junk . I fell into that trap and now am glad you found this site. Spend some time here and read the great post from the informed pet owners . Dr mike has so many great reviews on food that can be found anywhere . I’m sure you will find a great food for the same money you spend now . Good luck Lenny

  • melissa

    We need a darn Costco in my part of Ny, lol

  • Bob K

    Jonathan & Lenny – Don’t forget Menards for Diamond Natural, Farm and Fleet and Tractor Supply Company (TSC) for some decent dog foods. Menards just had 20lb bags of Diamond Natural on sale for 16.99. My usual price of Diamond Natural 40lbs. is about $28.00 at Menards.

  • Jonathan

    could have been an allergic reaction to the wheat gluten (3rd ingredient). Or just a bad reaction to what amounts to a pile of industrial waste! If you have a pet store you can shop at, by all means, check out some better (and not even more expensive, sometimes, cheaper!) brands. Pro Pac, Nutro, Blue Buffalo, Wellness, Authority, AvoDerm, Diamond Naturals. If you do not have a pet store, try an upscale grocery store. I know the Harris Teeter in my town has Evolve, Iams Premium Protection, One Beyond, Lassies, Harmony Farms, and Newman’s Own. And if you are near a Coscos, SCORE! They have Kirkland’s with is WAY cheaper than Beneful, and about as good as Blue Buffalo.

  • Bob K

    Lenny – Have you read the reviews of the dog food you mention? Its crap !! For what you pay for Beneful you can get a much better food if you care about yout pets. Better food and save money. Sounds like a no brainer

  • Lenny

    I have 1 pug which eats the ol roy soft pouches, a 1.5 y/o dob that eats Beneful complete dry, and a new Dob pup that eats Benful for pups. I never had a problem until recently. We got a coupon to get 2 free benefule radu meals wit hthe the pup food. So we bought them. I mixed a little with each dogs food to give them a treat. Big mistake. All three have been throwing up and have diarea and the large dob has a swollen mouth. Kaopectate and Benedril did the trick but OMG, what the hell is in those ready meals?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Scott… You’ve highlighted a very important differentiating feature of dog food. A product’s intrinsic value. The number of calories per cup can vary dramatically for each recipe (even within the same brand’s product line). So, from a cost standpoint, the value of a food is not always easily compared.

  • Scott

    Unfortunately in this economy many people do have to “think with their pocketbook.” However, there are two comments I will make about affording good food for your pets.

    First, before you adopt a pet, it is your responsibility to determine if you can properly care for the pet. Which includes time, shelter and money to list a few. Time spent with the pet for playing, bonding, exercise etc. Proper shelter whether inside or outside dog. And most important money for routine care such as vet bills, toys and of course proper nutrition. I am not a rich man by any defintion of the word, but all of my dogs are taken care of completely in every category. Even if it means I do not buy that new car, TV etc. because it is my responsibility.

    Second, I have not seen mentioned on this website yet (although I have only came across it a few days ago) is comparing the amount of food you have to feed your dog between a 4 or 5 star food VS a 1 or 2 star food. Although some higher rated dog foods are more expensive, since it is more nutrional you actually feed your dog less then a lower rated dog food. If I was to feed one of my Rotts a lower rated food, I would have to feed almost 8 cups of day. However, on a good dog food I only have to feed 4 cups a day. So eventhough the intitial cost is more, the food last longer which makes the difference in price negligible.

    Great website! I look forward to more hours of informative reading as a I continue to explore this site.

  • Melissa

    Sue-

    In this economy many people have to “think with their pocketbook” and make decisions based on cost. I would just suggest that if in this situation, the person make a list of the “better rated” foods and go out comparision shopping. They may be surprised that many of the foods are very affordable, or at least not as expensive as they thought they would be.In my part of NY, foods such as Eukanuba, Purina proplan, science diet and Nutro(all foods I do not wish to feed, but have in the past) are MORE expensive than some of the 4 star rated foods and a few of the 5 star.

    As for the rest of your comment, I have not had the opportunity to read the study where it states that those symptoms you list will suddenly develop at the age 0f 7 yrs forward-could you please provide the link that states this? I am of course most interested. Thanks!

    Melissa

  • sue

    kathy don’t read the reviews read the ingreds in bag then decided and ask yourself this good for my dog. NO!!!!! it is pure garbage. I use to rep for blue buffallo and i had a lady looking for different food because she bought a bag of beneful and her dog almost died and it cost her quite a bit of money on the vet bill. my sister use to feed beneful and her dogs teeth were red and swollen and boy did they stink and there fur was so ugly and finally after my nagging , there dogs were fed a great dog food and the transformation was awesome . stop deciding what to feed your animal with your pockets book your dog is your responbilities to feed a food that will built strong muscle and immune strong. not some not healthy dog food. I’m not saying to go out by the best of the best i am saying buy something your dog with be strong and healthy. most damage to your dog will start showing around 7 on. greasey fur, smell, hot spots, ear infections, sores and then you will go to the vet and for this and be put on steroids. Go check out dinovite website they a product that works wonders. I now feed before grain in the long run it save me money from all the vet bills

  • Mara

    I have 2 beautiful dogs…a Yorkie/poo and a Chihuahua/Terrier….I’ve been feeding them with Beneful thinking it was good…and they seemed to like it…BUT..my chihuahua/terrier been having seizures…which not only scared me to death!! But made me start looking for answers..and txs to this website,and some other information, I realized that the food its slowly killing my “baby”..

  • Jonathan

    Kathy, just click on the 3, 4, and 5 star categories and limit your search to the food there… then you can’t go wrong! :-)

  • Kathy

    Thanks, Lynne girl or whatever:
    and Bob:

    I thought I saw Science Diet as one of the better ones – guess I’ll read ALL the reviews first, then decide on the best. thanks.

  • Lynne

    Kathy-Girl, don’t give your little Pom Pom Science Diet! Look at one on the 5 star foods, like Wellness Core! Science Diet is just as bad as the 1 and 2 star beneful!

  • Bob K

    Kathy – Why Science Diet – It is a 2 Star food? You can find better dog foods cheaper.

  • Kathy

    Thanks so much for the info – Beneful did seem like a good product, also very expensive, and my dog likes it. But I will now switch to Science dog food. Only want the best for my Pom, Kirby!!! Kathy

  • Jonathan

    Giavonni, when your dog is only 10 years old and is covered with cysts and is dying early from cancer and/or diabetes, come back and post about how great this ridiculous food is.

    Better yet, if you think it is so great, you eat it. Eat it for one month then report back on how well you are feeling.

    I hope for your dog’s sake that your above post was a joke.

  • Giavonni Feuerstorme

    I give my dog beneful and she can fly now! I wouldn’t give her anything else. I give this website one star…in the face!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Martha… Finding the right food for your dog depends more on its life age. Puppy or adult? Choose any 3, 4 or 5-star food that you think your dog would like, decide if you want a dry or canned product. And that’s all there is to it.

    Oh, one more thing. You don’t want to offer your Chihuahua a large size kibble that he can just barely fit into his mouth. It would be too difficult to chew. So, when you shop, just try to feel the size of the kibble by pinching the outside of the bag.

  • Jonathan

    There isn’t necessarily a “good food for Chihuahuas” Martha. Every food is different, and every dog is different. Just look through Mike’s lists of 3, 4 and 5 star foods and when you go to the store, try to pick one with smaller kibbles. “breed specific” food hoovers on the gimmicky side of things. Royal Canin does make a Chihuahua food if you really want something “for Chihuahuas”.

  • martha

    some one can tell me which food is good for chihuauas
    i recently chance the food to beneful bat the star geting weith i dont no what to do.

  • http://www.grantmeahigherlove.com Cindi Sansone-Braff

    Oh my God, Eileen, thank you for confirming what I have been going through. Beneful is made by Purina and our Beagle was acting lethargic, weak, and bit me as well, after feeding him Mighty Dog and Beneful. He could barely stand and now that we have stopped feeding him this stuff, he is better. Spread the word!

  • Kevin

    I had prided myself in that I had been eating much healthier the past couple years, but had only recently really started to question what I was feeding my pets. I thought (like many) that I was buying a quality product. I’d read several ads about dog food ingredients and about avoiding the top 3 overused ingredients in many dogs foods – corn, chicken by-products, and soybean. I began reading labels and asking questions and did recently switch both my dog & cat to 4Health. It would have been much easier if I’d found this web site sooner. It has been an eye-opening experience reading your website. While I was embarrassed to learn that I had been feeding my pets such crap, I am much more confident now in my choice. I do plan to share this website with friends & family. Great job & thank you!

    By the way, both my dog & cat are much more enthused about their mealtimes.

  • Jonathan

    Evelyn, why on earth would your dogs need weight control dog food in the first place? what were they eating before? Weight control dog foods are complete gimmicks. And Beneful being amoung the worst. To make the food “lite” they reduce the meat and fat content (both good for dogs) and replace it with extra carbs (which do a doggy no good and turn into blood sugar, than stored fat). Most People I meet with an overweight dog feed it a “weight control” formula. And guess what? Their dogs always seem to remai over weight.
    I’m sorry for your dogs that you think Beneful is a good thing to be putting into their bodies. As you live each day, your body is constantly replacing cells. And where does the material to do so come from? Well, food. So if you are feeding your dog Beneful, then their cells are being replaced each day, in the millions, by potential cancer causing material, dead pets and road kill, resturant grease, and horribly low quality grains. Just saying.

  • Dave

    Evelyn, it’s all about the ingredients. And the ingredients are terrible. Corn, wheat, soy, by-products, food coloring, sugar, preservatives.

    Think of wild animals. Better yet, think of wolves. Now try to imagine them out in a field grazing on corn or wheat. It doesn’t happen. Same thing with soy, food coloring, sugar, and artificial preservatives.

    Their meals are always protein. Yes, good dog foods include some grains, but they will be high quality barley and brown rice. Never in a flour form.

    I wish you and your dogs the best. I mean it. :)

  • EVELYN

    Sorry to hear all the negative reports on Beneful, but it’s not going to sway me. I have 2 dachshunds and feed them the weight control mix, with excellent results, as dachshunds are prone to back problems. I also like the new zipper pack, because living in the deep south, it keeps the moisture out and the food nice and fresh. I think each of the negatives is outweighed by ten-fold positives.

  • Ginger Wong

    I am not a dog lover whatsoever BUT my 18 year old daughter changed her dog to Beneful. A week later we were driving in from another state and my daughter called in a panic. Her dog “Simon” had chewed up a plastic kennel, now he wasn’t even inside of it, and when she entered the room he attacked her. She kicked him back and drug him outside. He was foaming at the mouth and growling at her. This is the sweetest dog on earth, my daughter even was attacked by two dogs and he hid behind her for protection. She called our old vet, he was on call, and they said they would probably have to put him down. When we got home 3 hours later, my husband went over to tend to them and Simon was calmed down but exhausted looking (confused too). The next day we took him to our new vet, she did tests and recommended a behavior school. Right before we began to leave, she said “I should have asked this but what food is in on?” We told her Beneful, she laughed and said I know what is wrong with him. It was the food. She said she has had more dogs come in with abrupt behavior changes due to some dog foods and Beneful was #1. We quickly threw that crap out and went and bought the Costco brand, which has no wheat or corn. He is back to normal and a happy dog. The vet said it was like he was a child and we were giving him a bag of hersheys every day, it is pure junk food. What a rip! My daughter could have been seriously injured due to this crap and a good companion put to sleep! I do have some coworkers that feed their dogs Beneful and have no problems but beware of sudden behavioral problems if you switch your dog to Beneful, please.

  • Rene

    Wow.

    When we were new pet pawrent back in 1998, we started feeding this to our dog Jerry. Knowing zero about canine nutrition, I was taken in by the ads and seemingly healthful appearance.

    When he started having seizures I did some reading, and learned about the connection between low quality food and seizures. So I stopped feeding it to him. And guess what? The seizures stopped! Hmmm…. That’s when I got serious about canine nutrition and vowed never to give another animal this kind of garbage ever again.

    Years later when Jerry was diagnosed with cancer, I couldn’t help but wonder if perhaps this horrible, low quality food had something to do with it. I felt awful for a long time wondering how much the food I gave him contributed to his illness.

    Thank you for your wonderful reviews and unbiased honesty. I hope that others who don’t know anything about nutrition are spared the kind of guilt and blame I felt over my dog’s cancer.

    You are pawesome!