Beneful Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Beneful Dog Food receives the Advisor’s lowest rating of 1 star.

The Beneful Dog Food product line includes eight kibbles, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth and maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Beneful Original
  • Beneful Playful Life
  • Beneful IncrediBites
  • Beneful Healthy Smile
  • Beneful Healthy Fiesta
  • Beneful Healthy Weight
  • Beneful Healthy Radiance
  • Beneful Healthy Growth for Puppies

Beneful IncrediBites was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Beneful IncrediBites

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 31% | Fat = 14% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Ground yellow corn, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, whole wheat flour, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of vitamin E), beef, rice flour, soy flour, water, meat and bone meal, propylene glycol, sugar, salt, phosphoric acid, tricalcium phosphate, animal digest, potassium chloride, sorbic acid (a preservative), non-fat yogurt powder, dried carrots, dried peas, dicalcium phosphate, calcium propionate (a preservative), choline chloride, vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, red 40, l-lysine monohydrochloride, manganese sulfate, niacin, yellow 5, yellow 6, vitamin A supplement, blue 2, calcium carbonate, copper sulfate, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, garlic oil, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), calcium iodate, folic acid, biotin, sodium selenite

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.7%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis27%12%NA
Dry Matter Basis31%14%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%30%42%

The first ingredient in this dog food is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The second item is chicken by-product meal, a dry rendered product of slaughterhouse waste. It’s made from what’s left of a slaughtered chicken after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except quality skeletal muscle (real meat).

On the brighter side, by-product meals are meat concentrates and contain nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

In any case, although this item contains all the amino acids a dog needs, we consider chicken by-products an inexpensive, lower quality ingredient.

The third ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior grain-based proteins lower in some of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is wheat flour, a highly-refined product of wheat milling. Like corn, wheat is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider wheat a preferred component in any dog food.

The fifth ingredient is animal fat. Animal fat is a generic by-product of rendering, the same high-temperature process used to make meat meals.

Since there’s no mention of a specific animal, this item could come from almost anywhere: roadkill, spoiled supermarket meat, dead, diseased or dying cattle — even euthanized pets.

For this reason, we do not consider generic animal fat a quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The seventh ingredient is rice flour. Rice flour is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The eighth ingredient is soy flour, a high-protein by-product of soybean processing.

Soy flour would be expected to have a notably lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With nine notable exceptions

First, we find meat and bone meal, a dry “rendered product from mammal tissues, including bone, exclusive of any added blood, hair, hoof, horn, hide trimmings, manure, stomach and rumen contents”.1

Meat and bone meal can have a lower digestibility than most other meat meals.

Scientists believe this decreased absorption may be due to the ingredient’s higher ash and lower essential amino acid content.2

What’s worse, this particular item is anonymous. Since there’s no mention of a specific animal, this ingredient could come from almost anywhere: spoiled supermarket meat, roadkill, dead, diseased or dying livestock — even euthanized farm animals.

Even though meat and bone meals are still considered protein-rich meat concentrates, we do not consider a generic ingredient like this a quality item.

Second, garlic oil may be a controversial item. We say “may be” here because we are not certain of the oil’s chemical relationship to raw garlic itself.

Although most experts favor the ingredient for its numerous health benefits, garlic (in rare cases) has been linked to Heinz body anemia in dogs.3

However, the limited professional literature we surveyed provided no definitive warnings regarding the use of garlic — especially when used in small amounts (as it likely is here).

Next, this food contains the controversial food moisturizer, propylene glycol. Propylene glycol has been banned by the FDA for use in making cat food.

But it can still be found in some lower quality dog foods.

In addition, sugar is always an unwelcome addition to any dog food. Because of its high glycemic index, it can unfavorably impact the blood glucose level of any animal soon after it is eaten.

Next, animal digest is a chemically hydrolyzed mixture of animal by-products that is typically sprayed onto the surface of a dry kibble to improve its taste.

Also, we’re always disappointed to find artificial coloring in any pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

Next, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

In addition, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Beneful Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Beneful Dog Food looks like a below average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 31%, a fat level of 14% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 30% and a mean fat level of 12%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 40%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the corn gluten meal and soy flour, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Beneful Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a below-average amount of chicken by-product meal as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 1 star.

Not recommended.

Those looking for a canned version of this product may want to check-out our review of Beneful Prepared Meals Wet Dog Food.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Beniful

Notes

11/07/2009 Original review
05/17/2010 Review updated
01/30/2011 Review updated
03/17/2012 Review updated
09/20/2013 Review updated
09/20/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials, 2008 Edition
  2. Shirley RB and Parsons CM, Effect of Ash Content on Protein Quality of Meat and Bone Meal, Department of Animal Sciences, University of Illinois, Poultry Science, 2001 80: 626-632
  3. Yamato et al, Heinz Body hemolytic anemia with eccentrocytosis from ingestion of Chinese chive (Allium tuberosum) and garlic (Allium sativum) in a dog, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association 41:68-73 (2005)
  • theBCnut

    NutriSource has small kibble, is easily tolerated, tasty, and a decent price.

  • Ashlie

    I need help finding a dog food for my little babygirl, she’s a small jack russel chuahua mix, any suggestions?? Beneful was her orginal dog food but it kep giving her the runs..

  • theBCnut

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Please don’t blame yourself. Unfortunately, Purina does a great job of selling this as a healthy food even though it isn’t. I just can’t even imagine the number of people that are sucked in by their commercials.

  • Johnny Cook

    My Emmett ate nothing but Beneful his entire 11 years from puppy on. He never seemed to have a problem until he developed liver disease and died within 2 weeks. I urge you to rethink feeding this dry food to your dogs. I know how special our dogs are to all of us.

  • Johnny Cook

    Our beloved Pug, Emmett just died from liver disease after eating nothing but Purina’s Beneful Healthy Weight formula dry dog food his entire life. He seemed to gain too much weight on this food and we according cut back on the amount we fed him to little avail. It never dawned on me that his food that he seemed to love was making him sick. I feel so dumb that I didn’t look into this matter before it was too late.

  • cpm

    anything made by Purina is DEADLY to pets, if you want proof read all the reviews based on Purina’s pet “food” products.
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/purina-one-smartblend/
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/ralston.html

  • SP

    Lastly, several years ago, I begged a co-worker to stop feeding Beneful to her dog.

    It was especially annoying because she would spend money to eat out for lunch every day, an expensive salad (instead of saving money & bringing a lunch from home & using that saved money to buy a better quality dog food.)

    Her response was, “But that’s the only dog food my dog will tolerate.”

    3 years later, this article came out
    http://www.wpxi.com/news/news/local/target-11-investigates-claims-beneful-killing-dogs/nWb4h/

    I forwarded that article to her, but by then it was too late. Both HER dog AND her mother’s dog who was also getting Beneful were BOTH sick beyond help.

    Again, none of us posting here have anything to gain financially by asking you to please stop feeding this to your dog.

  • SP

    Hi there.

    I’ve never had a lab or beagle, so correct me if I am wrong, but from what I understand, both breeds are prone to cancers.

    If this is true, please take every preventative measure to avoid this including good nutrition.

    All of us in this thread have nothing to gain financially by asking you to stop feeding your dog Beneful. We all want what is good for him. Feeding Beneful is not good for him. Please. There are so many other better brands out there.

    http://www.beaglerescueleague.org/beagle-info/common-beagle-health-concerns/cancer-your-beagle

    In case you didn’t know, you are not supposed to transition to any new dog food Cold Turkey. You have to transition slowly over a week or they will get diarrhea.
    Here is how to transition properly:
    http://www.halopets.com/pet-education/pet-articles/transitioning-to-spots-stew.html

    Adding a bit of PURE pureed pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling which has added spices) will also help the digestion during the transition
    http://www.nummytumtum.com/faq.html

    Lastly please read this
    http://truthaboutpetfood.com/fda-information-regarding-beneful-complaints/

  • theBCnut

    There is a category with no stars, but it is reserved for foods to treat specific medical issues. You know which foods I mean. We don’t like those ones either, but they do need their own category. And I suppose that I can be generous and say that they do have a place, unfortunately.

  • Dori

    Thanks for the explanation BC. I too understand it would take more work on their already overloaded shoulders trying to give quarter and half stars but why not just show the five empty (not filled in) stars and leave them all blank. This is truly a nasty nasty food. Some probably see the one star and think that it may not be the best but at least it has a star. My wish would be for some of these foods to have all 5 stars blank on their review page. Why does it have to have any stars. It still shows that the food was reviewed and isn’t worthy of any stars. Anyway, that’s just me.

  • theBCnut

    Basically, the way I believe it works is that Dr Mike has a scale. If a food has certain criteria, it fits at a certain point on the scale. The bottom 20% of foods get one star, whether they are the worst or whatever, they get one star. The next 20% of foods are in the 2 star range. They may be at the bottom of that range or the top, but they are 2 stars. And so on until you get to the top 20% with 5 stars. My understanding doesn’t exactly explain how some foods get 3 1/2 stars and yet none get 1/2 star, etc., but that’s how I understand it. So this food may be in the bottom 5% or the bottom 15%, but it still gets 1 star. It would make me happy to see Dr Mike give quarter and half stars to some of these truly nasty foods, but I think that would actually entail more work, and his plate is pretty full.

  • Dori

    Dale T. What other foods have you tried with him?

  • Dori

    Labs. When you look at the horrendous list of ingredients I can’t understand why it even gets one star. It really shouldn’t get any stars. I’m serious. I think I know that the ratings have to do with protein, fat, carb ratios but shouldn’t matter where the protein comes from in the ratings?

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Dale. This is a 1 star “food”. Please read the review above. And just because he eats it, that doesn’t mean it’s good for him. Some dogs eat rabbit and deer poop, and raid the litter box too. I’m sure sh!t isn’t exactly good for them tho. But still probably better than Beneful. :)

  • Dale T

    I feed this to my dog and he loves it. He’s a very healthy 11 year old lab/beagle mix. He throws up just about every other food we’ve given him.

  • Sandra

    The NaturalLife Chicken Meal & Potato formula is grain free. The Lamadern one doesn’t contain any wheat.or ingredients to cause allergies. Neither one of them contain any dyes. What dog food do you feed your dogs? I have two Bluetick Coonhounds and a Maltese.

  • Dori

    I would rather see you feed your dog a grain free food. The protein is too low for my liking in Natural Life dog food. Also without calling the company I don’t know whether the vitamins in this food are synthetic. Overall I don’t like the food. Protein is much too low and the carbs much too high for my liking. I would certainly never feed it to any of my dogs.

  • Sandra

    What do you think about NaturalLife dog food?

  • Sandra

    I now feed my dogs NaturalLife dog food. The Adult Lamadern one. It also comes in Grain Free Chicken & Potato. My dogs love it.

  • Dori

    Please find a 3, 4 or 5 starred reviewed grain free, poultry free formula also one that does not contain soy or any other questionable ingredients. No dog food, human to for that matter, should contain dyes to make the food look pretty. That’s some crazy old marketing nonsense. Dogs can’t see the colors in the food. These are put in the food to make the food look pretty for people. Some of the dyes in these dog foods have been banned for human consumption. Of course dogs are getting sick on these different extraordinarily crappy foods. They spend enormous amounts of money on marketing but very little in their ingredients.

  • Amanda bundy

    The vet has them on a prescription dog food right now. A g.i tract special prescription one. They were on chicken with rice for 1 month before the prescription diet. The vet tested them for worms all parasites and garidia (spelling) they checked blood work for toxins and did X rays to see about any format objects. Every thing came back good. That’s how we know it had to be the food. The prescription diet is only for a few weeks till the diarrhea gets better. After that I will have to find a good dog food for them. I have 1 puppy and 2 adults. All are small breeds. And now my 1 dog is having liver problems. And since she’s been off the Purina dog food her liver levels have gotten a little bit better.

  • Bob K

    Amanda – What did the vet test your dogs for? Its nothing new that most of the Purina foods are 1 star foods that you over pay for. Hopefully you transitioned them to a food that provides better nutrition What did you transition your dog too?

  • Amanda bundy

    Purina beneful poisoned my dogs. All 3 of them were on this dog food, and they started having diarrhea for over a month. I went to the vet multiple times and all tests came back negative so it has to be the food. I even had my 1 dog on the puppy food and she got sick also. I’m so upset and this food should be taken off the shelf. Don’t buy this for your dog!!!!

  • Columbia

    smart owners= smarter dogs!

    (pst- try a beneful bonfire)

  • Annie

    I got a 9 mos old Norwich terrier mix dog today. His current owner was feeding him this crap. They gave me what’s left of it and I want to throw it away and not give him anymore but I’m going to continue to feed it to him to transition him to the grain free. Don’t want any diarrhea or other problems. I know my bostons had diarrhea and bloody stool when I first started slowly transitioning them to grain free. So glad my bostons won’t touch this food at all they turn their nose up lol. I threw a few kibbles to them to see if they’d eat it and nope. Smart dogs

  • beaglemom

    One more thing. I’m reading a Q&A article done by one of the authors of the article you linked to

    http://dinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/01/18/q-and-a-with-dr-joe/

    It reminded me that there is a Veterinary Oral Health Council, which provides a list of products that have earned their seal. I see 4 Purina products listed, but not Beneful Healthy Smile. Makes me particularly interested in the responses you & I receive (hopefully).

  • beaglemom

    Interesting. Certainly keep us posted and I’ll do the same. I did not get the courtesy of that type of response, perhaps you are on the VIP list :)

  • aimee

    As consumers there is no way to really know. It concern me when even the posted NA doesn’t meet AAFCO when they say it does.

    I found this recent publication looking at mineral status in OTC foods

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23971845

    And then there was the thiamine one in which as recall ~20 % of the products tested( all from small companies) were deficient. None of the products made by the “big guys” were deficient but fewer of those were tested and I believe Iams?? or Purina?? had a thiamine recall in the past but on quick glance at Dr mikes recall list I didn’t see it so maybe farther back than his list goes.

    Last I heard from Purina they said the people that would have that info were not available for a week but once they were back in office they would write back.

  • beaglemom

    Yes, it makes me wonder how big (or small) a list would be of all the companies that were found to actually meet the requirements consistently.

    Btw have you heard back from Purina? I sent a response 6 days ago saying “yes, but are there supporting studies???” and have since heard nothing.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You might have been seeing an old cached page with the 0.14 until the new page appeared.

  • aimee

    AAFCO doesn’t have any regulatory role. The problem is that there is little to no oversight to see if a company which claims to meet the profile actually does!

  • beaglemom

    Hmm… Perhaps AAFCO is just a big joke and nobody meets the minimums, some companies are just more obvious about it than others, lol.

  • aimee

    I don’t know why Purina has chosen to publish only certain nutrients vs a full analysis.

    What is more confusing to me is when companies publish a full NA and it doesn’t meet AAFCO. I didn’t see an AAFCO statement on Aunt Jeni’s site but on DFA it is reported that Aunt Jeni’s claims to meet AAFCO all life stages. Aunt Jeni’s reports the AAFCO profile alongside their own and it is easy to see their products don’t meet it. I don’t get it!

    For example AAFCO min phos for main is .5% and .8% for growth Aunt Jeni’s ( AJ’s) reports phos as .4%. That’s easy to see.

    Look at the protein level in the lamb product. AJ’s reports the GA as 9% protein 19% fat and 6% carbs. To compare to AAFCO put protein on an energy basis.

    First AAFCO min 18% in a main. diet with an energy density of 3.5 kcals/gram.

    If I had 100 grams of the diet I’d have 18 grams protein and 350 kcals. 18g/350 kcals X1000 = 51.4 grams/1000 kcals

    Now AJ’s They don’t give energy so I have to calculate it. If I had 100 grams diet 9(3.5) + 19( 8.5) + 6(3.5) = 214 kcals in 100 grams food. 9g/214kcals X 1000 = 42 grams/1000kcals.

    The protein in the lamb diet doesn’t meet AAFCO min. for maintenance.

  • aimee

    Purina does publish information in excess of what is required on a G.A. but it falls short of a full nutrient analysis.

  • beaglemom

    Why do you think they won’t release that info to the public? Seems really weird, especially for a company like this. Can you view the NA for Hills products?
    Orijen (freeze dried), aunt Jeni, Answers, and Nature’s Variety instinct look to have complete (or at least expanded) nutritional info online.

  • losul

    Thanks Sandy! I’m going to experiment. I am showing .25 now, I don’t know why it wouldn’t show that way the other night. Here is a screenshot from the other night with .14 on the folic acid. (If I do this right)

    woohoo I think it worked!

  • aquariangt

    http://c1.staticflickr.com/1/122/296826000_9a11d2a460.jpg

    google wins. I’m not sure WHICH beneful that is from.

    Also, disqus thinks im betsy today

  • aimee

    Personal opinion.. Like yourself I don’t think the general public looks too much at NA’s. Is that information hidden? I asked Purina for the NA of the product I feed and I was disappointed to find out that they don’t release full NA’s to the general public, only partial but they do release to vets.

  • beaglemom

    Some do, some don’t. I’m not as concerned with them as you are though. My point was that Purina is all up in arms about “full disclosure” right now yet here’s something that still remains hidden. Why?

  • aimee

    I don’t commonly find that companies do post their NA’s. Do the companies that you feed have NA’s on their websites?

  • aimee

    Thanks Daniel, There is so much information here that it seems odd that there isn’t a easy way to find it from their home page.

  • Paula

    My dog was having petit mal seizures…took him off Beneful after finding this site and onto Merrick Grain Free (for reasons having nothing to do with seizures but anxiety and reactiveness) and noticed six months later that he hasn’t had a seizure since the switch! He’s still anxious but I am so thrilled the seizures stopped.

  • Daniel

    Aimee here is a link to the articles, it’s kind of tricky to get there – there’s no clear section on the website.

    http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/articles/category/food-and-nutrition/

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You may need to shrink the picture first and then you can just insert it by using the “upload image” button in the bottom left corner of the text box (the box I’m typing in right now).

  • beaglemom

    Seems strange for a company going on and on about truth and honesty in pet food right now. How are you to know any of their products meets AAFCO requirements? Email about each individual product one by one?

  • losul

    I used the snipping tool and did a screenshot, saved to my pictures library, don’t know if I was supposed to do that, but it’s saved now in my pics library. I haven’t got a cliue what to do from there, lol.

    Edit: thanks for the help Shawna! I’m off to bed for the night. Have a good night!

  • aimee

    Hmm skimmed right over the flakes. The Sweet potato def is not flaked. The rep said “the potatos are steam peeled and flash-heated” I assumed both types of potato were treated the same but apparently not?

    Flakes make me think of instant mashed potato.

  • Shawna

    Screenshot is different with different operating systems and different manufacturers. With windows 8 one should be able to simultaneously hold down the windows key and the prt scn key but on my Samsung laptop I also have to hold down the FN key. Google your op sys and manuf and you can probably find it.

  • Shawna

    They have white potato in some of their ingredients. I assume the they are referring to white potato as the sweet potato’s are not what I would consider “flakes”. Assume being the operative word. :)

  • losul

    Aimee I think missed that somehow too. The detail as Shawna posted was under “the benefits” and “our ingredients” from their main website.

    I was looking under “the benefits” “how we make our food” where one would expect to find that info, and which tells a little about it, but no real details like temps etc.

    http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/how-we-make-our-food

    They also steam all their leafy greens.

    http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/thk-blog/why-are-we-steaming-our-leafy-greens

  • Shawna

    Uhm, like everything else I do online — GOOGLE… :) Actually, I don’t remember how I found it the first time (it was the old site) but this time I googled “Honest Kitchen dehydrate with heat”.

  • aimee

    That is an awesome article! How did you get to the article section? I just now went looking for it and tried to get there from their home page and haven’t been able to. It explains so much.I asked the HK rep multiple times about how the potato was processed.

    I still question if 285 for 5 sec will gelatize the starch rendering it digestible. I still think that is a big question and why it came out whole. I repeatedly asked what the internal temp of the potato is brought to and they never answered.

  • losul

    tried both google chrome and then IE, then cleared browsing data on both and still the same. Somethings whack.

    If I knew how to post a screenshot…..

  • aimee

    As far as I know the NA’s for Purina are not on line.

  • Shawna

    Since we’re on the Beneful page I decided to pull up the NA for Beneful just to see. But I’m having a hard time finding it. Do you know if Purina has a special place the list the NA’s of their foods?

  • Shawna

    I’m seeing the .25 too. Maybe try opening with a different browser?? Or clear the history of current browser and then try??

  • losul

    Tried that, went back and still got the same .14. Sheesh I don’t know, what is anyone else seeing?

  • losul

    Yeah, I think I’m going to shut my computer down, restart, and see what happens. I hardly ever shut it down.

  • aimee

    How very bizarre I have no explanation.
    When I go to HK and pull up the profile I see .25. Looks like we are in the twilight zone.

  • losul

    Yeah I see .25 on your screenshot.

    But, I reopened HK again and love nutrient profile, and my screen still shows .14. I don’t get it.

    So weird!

  • Shawna

    This has been on their site for a LONG time but I forgot about it till just now when I read your post. :) This addresses both your question about raw and aimee’s questions about cooked and “gently” cooked.

    “Our fresh produce is picked at the peak of its ripeness, washed and
    trimmed to size. Dehydration takes several hours, and uses a giant,
    low-temperature ‘convection oven’ with warm air to ‘blow away’ the
    moisture. The dehydration process for our meats and eggs takes place at temperatures above 120 degrees to ensure that any pathogens present are destroyed, and are not technically considered ‘raw’. All other
    ingredients are dehydrated below 104 degrees and are still considered
    raw, after drying, with the exception of our potato flakes; these are
    dried using a slightly different process at 284°F for 5 seconds, which helps to break down the cellulose and make them more digestible. Our grains undergo ‘flaking’ in which heat (210°F) is applied to soften and stabilize them.” http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/articles/what-is-dehydrated-pet-food/

  • losul

    really, wow. I wonder why I am seeing .14. Am I seeing an old image somehow?

  • aimee

    I followed your link, I’m seeing .25

  • losul

    Aimee, this is really going to freak you out, but it looks like HK changed it right back? I’m still seeing the folic acid as .14.

    http://cdn.thehonestkitchen.com/media/wysiwyg/content/nutrient-profiles/LOVE-nutrient-profile.pdf

  • aimee

    I noted it when looking at their NA’s it is at the bottom of their page. I’ll attach a screenshot which is of the Love profile showing the folic acid as .14. They now changed it to .25 after I told them to meet AAFCO it needed to be min.248 Note though that the B12 is still.02 AAFCO min for a diet of 3500kcal/kg is .022 after correcting for energy density Love min B 12 should be .03.

  • beaglemom

    I’m very interested to know what you hear back!! I never mentioned treats, only kibble, so not sure where that came from. Also, this is just a pet peeve but I’m also a little put off by how they won’t address me by my name and refuse to sign the name of whoever typed the response too. Very impersonal.

    I just inspected my box of Zeal for any mention of “raw” and did find it once – they say they start with “fresh, raw whole foods” … but on the other side of the box they say “taste-tested by people”. Seems like sometimes they just get careless throwing the word raw around… The phone number on this box doesn’t spell out “dry raw” , lol, it’s just a number, but I’ll be disappointed if they put that on their newly designed boxes because that’s definitely misleading (and sounds weird too). At least I don’t see “raw” on the front page of their website, nor that strange phone number either.

  • aimee

    Hmm they are replying as if you asked about the healthy smile treats and not the Beneful health smile diet. I also e mailed them I’ll report here if they give me a different answer.

    It may be all marketing fluff based but I still find HK marketing their food as never cooked much more of a stretch. In response HK said they don’t market the food as raw. Yet video on their youtube channel is of Lucy Postins saying the food is raw dehydrated and their phone number is 866 4 DRY RAW . Certainly seems like they want the consumer to think their foods are raw….

  • beaglemom

    Here’s the follow up… this was their response to my question about whether Purina had any supporting studies to prove the dental benefits of “Healthy Smile”. I’m actually surprised at how pathetic this 2nd response is – I’d think my reply to their original response would clue someone in to the fact that I wasn’t going to settle with some generic answer. That is, unless they have no supporting studies… hmm. What a surprise.

    Thank you for contacting Nestlé Purina PetCare Company.

    We appreciate your response. The mechanical action of the dog’s jaws, along with the shape and texture of these treats, help to reduce tartar and plaque build-up. These factors help to improve a dogs breath and dental health. Additionally, these treats also massage the gums.

    Again, thank you for contacting Nestlé Purina PetCare Company.

  • Betsy Greer

    LOL! That’s about as non-responsive an answer as they could’ve given.

  • beaglemom

    In addition I asked why they included sugar in a product meant for dental health, which they clearly ignored.

  • beaglemom

    It took 3 full days to get this email back from Purina regarding their proof that Healthy Smile cleans teeth. I kindly asked for more detail and will post if/when I get it.
    Thank you for contacting Nestlé Purina PetCare Company.

    We appreciate the opportunity to address your inquiry. We would like you to know that all of our products are formulated by professional pet nutritionists and veterinarians. Our Purina® Beneful® brand Healthy Smiles™ help to reduce plaque & tartar buildup and freshen breath, they also have added calcium for strong teeth & bones. The texture of the treats helps keep teeth clean and freshen breath.

    Again, thank you for contacting Nestlé Purina PetCare

  • Shropshire Lass

    There is a new article about BENEFUL in the Dogington Post.

    “Purina’s Beneful Poisoned My Dogs”

    With before and after video evidence, this is a compelling read!

    http://dogingtonpost.com/guest-post-purinas-beneful-poisoned-my-dogs/#.U2z5N4FdV_E

  • http://www.etsy.com/shop/RockyMTNsteeze Miltapher

    Walmart has added a lot of new dog foods in recent years. To be fair they actually have a much better selection than the other big box stores like target and most grocery store chains.

    Walmart has a store brand dog food rated at 4 stars by this site. The Pure Balance dog food they recently started putting on their shelves is good. They have other brands like some Rachael Ray formulas that is rated high too. They also carry Paul Newman dog food at some stores. The Pure Balance is comparable to a lot of the expensive pet store brands if you look at ingredients.

    Some of the treats are good. The cat section still sucks. My store has nothing good for cats, it’s all Purina crap.

    Walmart still carries mostly big name pet food brands who use poor quality ingredients. You can feed a dog good buying at Walmart. This is good for us broke and poor people.

  • SweetLemonPie

    I heard all the dog food in Walmart and the dollar store is bad for dogs because it’s by-products and stuff. My dogs eat with me and not always their dog food hehe.

  • http://www.etsy.com/shop/RockyMTNsteeze Miltapher

    They likely have some ingredients sourced from China, but the whole product is made in the US. I am glad you can afford to feed those kibbles. My dog does well on Taste of the Wild.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    I was leaning toward the Kirkland until I heard about all the recalls.
    Honestly, trying to feed my dogs right is harder than feeding MYSELF.

  • Lara

    I was just going to suggest Kirkland Dog Food. It is comparable to Blue Buffalo Life Protection, but almost half the cost. My dogs eat Orijen, best food in my opinion but can be costly. However, I am on a feeder program, so if I buy 12 bags, I get the 13th free. Honestly, it only costs us about $20 a month for two small dogs when we buy the big bag.

  • theBCnut

    Vet’s priority is pets. That is where the money for their business comes from. They just don’t have a personal interest in your individual pet like you do. And they have to know how to treat the diseases and health issues of many, many different species, not just one. Nutrition is not their priority.
    Disease prevention is a science in it’s infancy.

  • theBCnut

    TOTW is made in the USA by Diamond at their 4 different manufacturing plants.
    Orijen and Acana are only the best if the individual dog does best on them.

  • http://www.nuvet.net Nuvet

    Nuvet I found best for my dog. I believe it the best product out there. Try it.

  • Mia

    Buyer beware! Taste of the wild is made in China :/ The best kibble is Ancana or Orijin. Along with kibble, try adding Ziwi Peak dehydrated meat and organ diet.

  • Mia

    Tested?? The poisonous ingredients are written on the package!

  • Mia

    Vets have a business to run! Pets are not their priority.

  • Mia

    You might not notice any signs of health issues now, but as they get older they will more than likely develop kidney disease. My sister fed her German Pointers Beneful their whole lives and they both died of kidney disease and psychosis at the ripe old age of 8. You might be saving money on buying cheap dog kibble now, but be prepared for the consequences

  • Mia

    the best kibble out there is Orijin or Ancana. along with kibble, I mix in a few scoops of air dried meat by Ziwi Peak and a little water. Every second day I will add 4 tablespoons of canned Trippet(green tripe). My 100 lb German Shepherd absolutely loves this food! This diet is very rich and nutritious… So I only feed him once a day:))

  • Tina Marie

    Who in their right mind, would feed this crap,your better off feeding road kill.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I’ve fed the original version of Performatrin Ultra GF Adult as part of Storm’s rotation, and was a big fan of it. Storm did awesome on it. They have changed the formula, though, so that there’s less meat and more peas (but the same amount of protein) in the new formulae, though, which irks me…particularly because they just advertised it as a bag change. So I’m on the fence about keeping it in the rotation for that reason. It won’t come around in the rotation again for a while, so perhaps I’ll have calmed down a bit about the formula “weakening” by then.

  • Amber Taylor

    A friend of mine has suggested performatrin. It is made in canada and has whole chicken breasts and a lots of fruits and veggies. I just want to know if anyone else has heard good/bad things about the grain free puppy? Thanks

  • Tracie

    That’s what I feed.. after much research seems that’s the best way to go, unless you feed RAW

  • 2cutepoodles

    I buy Kirkland Turkey Grain Free and my doggies love it. It’s a good size and I get 35 lbs for $29.99.

  • Betsy Greer

    ….who will probably be getting a phone call from a fellow serial killer
    ; )

  • LabsRawesome

    I don’t know Betsy, I wouldn’t call him. He could be a Psycho serial killer or something.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Miguel,

    I was concerned when I saw your phone number in your post…., but then I read your post. LOL! You’re great! I think you’ll be successful in making the world a better place.

  • miguel deltorro

    heres the deal i dont hate purina at all they are a great
    devoted worldwide country but i understand there are complaints if your
    dog is dead and you believe it is the dog food please call me i know for
    some people it may be scary to post their number openly but i am not a
    person i am an activist hippie that just wants a better world i am
    scared of nothing all i want and will get is results for the world
    miguel deltorro
    (970)-355-9401

  • InkedMarie

    Rofl, I’m not touching that with a ten foot pole!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Actually, I’m not much of an athletic supporter. ;)

  • Betsy Greer

    But of course! which is why I said, “hate.”

    Wait…, on one condition, that you decide to be Purdue fan.

    ; )

  • Hoosier Daddy

    .I know. Thus, the play on words. ;)

    I’m a Purdue alum and Purdue and IU “hate” each other!

    But since I’m not an Indiana fan, can we be friends?

  • Crazy4cats

    Seahawk is a nickname for an Osprey that is gonna chomp on the Saints today!

  • Betsy Greer

    Oh gotcha!

    When I saw the red in your avatar and your screen name I had you pegged for an Indiana University Hoosier. I’m a Purdue alum and Purdue and IU “hate” each other!

    Generally speaking, residents of Indiana are known as Hoosiers.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Best as I know, it’s a bird that fishes. My state has the Bucaneers. People ROFL if you mention their name and “football team” in the same sentence.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Yeah! What’s a Seahawk? ;)

    Of course, the Arizona Cardinals are the worst team in the NFL, so no one wants to mention them.

  • Pattyvaughn

    LMAO!!
    Everyone is replying to you with “Go (insert name of favored team here)!”

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Thank you, Betsy, for the info. I’ll take that advice.

    Actually, I’ve only driven through Indiana on my way to vacation in Michigan. I live in Arizona. My screen name is a word play: “Who’s yer daddy?”

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Hoosier Daddy,

    You should also pay a visit to locally owned, independent feed / garden stores in your area. I’ve been very pleasantly surprised at the selection of dog foods those near me carry and the prices. I’ve found Horizon products (Legacy is one of my yeast prone dog’s best), Earthborn, NutriSource, Infinia (made by PIM, which is still Purina, but worth investigating), and The Honest Kitchen to name a few. The nearest store that carries Victor is about an hour from me, but I’m guessing you’re in Indiana, and you might have one closer than I do.

  • Crazy4cats

    Just glad it worked out for you somehow. And yes, I’m a she. Go Seahawks!

  • Betsy Greer

    Did you Elfa your dog food room?! I’m a container store (esp. Delta) add it! Send me a picture! : )

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    My hoard is out of sight, out of mind for my husband. Since it’s in it’s own room with a recent Container Store makeover on all 4 walls (including closet)! And I need to buy another little freezer for my recent greentripe.com bulk order!

  • InkedMarie

    Lol@twitchy!

  • LabsRawesome

    At a pet store, not online. If you go on Victor’s site, they have a “find a store” store finder. It’s at the top of the page, it flashes red.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Where did you find it for 40 bucks? Everywhere I look it’s around $58.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    That photo originally said “Yes, we can!” I thought my wording is more appropriate. ;)

    Thanks for the tip. I’ll czech it out.

  • LabsRawesome

    This isn’t about your comment, it’s about your Avatar., “Yes you will!” Lmao, Love It! Oh, and Victor has a couple grain free options. I picked up a 30lb bag of their Grain Free Ultra Professional Formula for 40 bucks. Victordogfood.com

  • Pattyvaughn

    I have open: Brother’s complete Chicken(Gideon), NVI Rabbit(Gideon and Angel), Brother’s Complete Beef(Micah and Angel), Canidae Pure Sky(Micah).
    I have unopened:Nature’s Logic Venison(Gideon and Angel), Canidae Pure Land(All), Earthborn Holistic Great Plains Feast(All), Earthborn Holistic Coastal Catch(All). I also still have some Brothers Complete Fish in the freezer. And when I’ve used up the Beef and Fish, I’ll have to get more even though I still have too much food. My husband is getting a little twitchy about the size of the pile, but one bag of the Earthborn was a prize Micah won in a photo contest, so he doesn’t complain too much. Next week when raw arrives from 3 different companies on the same day might be a different story.

  • InkedMarie

    Steve has made me promise to stop hoarding food! Since Boone is on one food, there’s two unopened bags of Natures Logic for Ginger (unless my holistic vet suggests them for Boone) and two boxes of THK in the breezeway :(

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    25lb bag of the new Whole Earth Farms grain free is $40. Made by Merrick.

  • Pattyvaughn

    She’s the one who mentioned looking for the discount, which may have been what got you seriously looking at it.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, I don’t think you are really sorry. Lol!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Indeed! I think she’s(?) who mentioned it first.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Don’t forget Crazy4cats!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Only with yours and Patty’s help!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Fantastic!

  • InkedMarie

    You did good!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    OK, it’s been exhausting researching all these foods, but I finally placed an order for Nature’s Variety Instinct Limited Ingredient Diet Lamb Meal Formula at Chewy.com.

    I signed up for auto-shipping and a 24 lb. bag was $58. with free shipping.

  • Pattyvaughn

    (Gulp!) Nothing, Nothing at all!!

    (Speaking into her hand, she says) if your name is Betsy or Sandy.

    LOL!! You should see how my pile has grown over the Winter. Somehow, I have close to 200# of dog food, and that doesn’t include any raw. I have enough to last until July or so.

    And what I think is really funny is I keep wanting to spell it horde, as in the angry hordes, instead of hoard.

  • Betsy Greer

    So? …What’s wrong with being a dog food hoarder? ; )

  • Pattyvaughn

    Sorry, but LMAO!!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    You are going to turn him into a dog food horder, if you aren’t careful.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m trying to, but I can’t remember my password. Lol! Hopefully they send it to me soon.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I really like the quality of the Earthborn Holistic line. I don’t do the Primitive Natural because I have 2 dogs that need to avoid chicken, but if that weren’t the case it would be near the top of my list. I actually like it better than Orijen.

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, you will just have to buy two bags!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Ding Ding!! You have a winner!!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    How about this one: Nature’s Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Lamb Meal &
    Peas Dog Food?

    The Petco 30% off and free shipping gets it down to about $64.

    Oh, wait…that discount is only for $100. :(

  • Pattyvaughn

    I would jump on that!!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    What’s your opinion of the Earthborn Holistic Primitive Natural? It’s a lot less expensive that the Orijen….but I’m less concerned about price than I am about wholesome nutrition and flavor.

  • Crazy4cats

    Speaking of Nature’s Variety (big time $$$ouch), I got an email from Petco today, with a coupon code of extra30 for 30% off when you spend $100. Not sure if only for rewards members or not. I think I will use it to order Nature’s Variety. It MIGHT bring it down to an affordable price.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Look at Nature’s Variety Instinct($ouch), Earthborn Holistic(Aaahhh), Dr Tim’s, Nature’s Logic(nice), don’t marry any one. Dogs get the same benefits from eating variety that we do. Pick one for now, and then work on finding the next one.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/diet-rotation-for-dogs/
    And if your dog isn’t showing any signs of having issues with the BB, I’d go ahead and use it up, maybe as a small part of another kibble meal.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Dang! Nixxed another one. ;)

    I guess it will be Orijen.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Or you can get a slightly lower grade food and add quality toppers to it to bring it up to Orijen level. Lean meats, eggs, canned fish, yogurt or kefir, etc. all improve a dog food.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I really like Earthborn and Chewy’s too.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I love having those bags delivered right to my door!

  • Susan

    Since putting my dogs on grain free have been trying out many brands. Have to say Nutrisource was good, but Earthborn has to be the best so far. One of my dogs can get yeasty if I don’t watch her food close, and she is doing great. Chewy’s has good prices and great customer service.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yikes!! They are also made by Diamond, who has been involved in all of the worlds largest recalls on dog food. That is definitely a use with eyes wide open food.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Nope. No tax….and no hassle of driving to get it. Right to my door for free.

    BTW, I’m now looking at Origen. Expensive as all heck, but it’s actually rated for human consumption. My dogs ARE human, after all. ;)

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Since I stumbled on this site, I’ve been doing a lot of research. I’ve now actually spent several hours in the last two days researching dog foods. I never realized there was so much controversy about dog foods!

    In my state, police K9s are fed Eukanuba. K9 officers are told that Eukanuba is a proven quality food and, of course, our dogs are active and healthy. Now I’m learning that it is not what I’ve been led to believe.

    I’m moving to the grain-free school of thought. I believe that dogs are carnivores and their diets should be high in meat. My problem is finding a food that is hight in QUALITY meat and not just by-product crap that is not food-grade. If I wouldn’t eat it, I don’t want my dogs eating it.

    But finding that dog food is difficult. I’m looking at the Kirkland product at Costco. It’s highly ranked on this site, and it’s far less expensive than most of the other 4 and 5 star rated foods.

  • InkedMarie

    No shipping either I bet!

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Thanks, Patty. I actually bought the Blue Buffalo at Chewy. Their prices beat Petco and Petsmart….and no tax!

  • InkedMarie

    thank you for your service to your community. BB has had a lot of complaints about dogs being sick. Since you switched to a grain free product, there are much better ones out there that are probably cheaper: Earthborn, Dr Tims are two that come to mind beside NutriSource.. If you will order online, you have a whole bunch of foods available that will be free of shipping, most likely.

    You’re going from a crap food to a grain free. Please go very slow with the transition, just in case.

  • Pattyvaughn

    BB is charging you for their advertising. There are a few foods that are equally good or better that cost less. Print up the list of 4 and 5 star foods and go to Chewy dot com. They have free shipping on orders over $40. I think you’ll be pleased at what you can get for a decent price there.

  • Hoosier Daddy

    I actually bought Blue Buffalo and started by mixing some of it with the Beneful we already had in order to transition. I’m now to the point where their food is 90% BB.

    I was planning to now move to the BB Wilderness product, but I’ll take a look at NutriSource.

    I’m a medically-retired K9 officer as the result of a line-of-duty injury and I’m on a 50% pension, so I have to watch costs, too. The Blue Buffalo costs more than double the Beneful, but my dogs are worth it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Please don’t switch to BB right now. There has been way to many reports of dogs having issues with vomitting and diarrhea just lately on BB and many of them have been on it a while. Look for Earthborn Holistic or NutriSource. NutriSource is actually a good transition food when you are going from a lower grade food to a higher one. Many dogs need to change foods in stages when it is such a big change.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Hoosier Daddy,

    If I were you, I’d keep looking. There are lots of quality foods to choose from. I wouldn’t feed Blue Buffalo. Their quality control is sketchy and there are far too many reports of lots having bouts of unexplained vomiting and diarrhea.

    Go Boilers! ; )

  • Hoosier Daddy

    Wow, am I glad I found this site! I thought Beneful was a quality food for my two furry family members. Now I discover that I’ve been feeding them crap!

    I’m switching to Blue Buffalo. No, I don’t work for the company. It’s a 5-star rated food that can be found online for 27 lbs @$50 with free shipping, too.

  • Becky

    YUCK! THIS IS WORSE THAN PEDIGREE! (And that’s saying something) I nearly threw up just reading this! Feed the honest kitchen!

  • Mike

    Killed my dog last week. Switched to Beneful and in 5 days my best friend was dead.

  • Diane

    Beneful is killing dogs! Please don’t feed your dogs this garbage. Do a google search and see for yourselves. Purina only makes unhealthy garbage. Go to dogfoodadvisor.com and read the unbiased reviews to find a healthy dog food. Please spread the word that this food is dangerous. I have heard of thousands of deaths due to this poison!

  • http://apprenticefeminist.blogspot.com/ Maggie

    Your definition of “problem” seems to be…problematic.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If you vomitted regularly after eating a certain food, would you continue to feed it to yourself?

  • Betsy Greer

    It sounds like four years of eating Beneful is catching up with him. You are planning to switch, aren’t you?

  • dog lover

    I have a 4 year old chihuahua and miniature pinscher mix.I have been feeding him beneful since he was a puppy and no problems happened except he has been throwing up a lot after I feed him.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m with you there! My sister drinks diet soda by the gallon and she can’t get her weight under 200# for more than a month at a time, and she’s OCD about dieting and eating healthy. My mom is in pretty much the same boat, but has diabetes to boot. I drink the throwback that has real sugar in it instead of HFCS, and I severely limit myself, well I think it’s severe. Bring on the bee barf!!

  • butchroy

    While I was learning about the GMOs, I learned that diet Mountain Dew has the aspartame, and they revealed that it is made using an e coli virus that excretes the aspartame! I will eat bee barf but I will NOT eat e coli poop! That has helped me get off diet pop, new year’s resolution!

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Sheila,

    Looks like a good choice. : )

  • Sheila

    I stopped at the pet store today and decided on performatrin ultra slim care formula with salmon. I searched pancreatitis and they said 12% or less in fat, this one is 8% and it looks like it is packed with good stuff for him but I am going to rest his system for a couple more days before I slowly add it to his bland diet.

  • InkedMarie

    Ooh! My trio love Beams and Zeal! Let me know how yours like them.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m like Crazy4cats, I try really hard not to buy those things because I can’t resist them once they are in the house. I don’t bother trying to resist my Mountain Dew though.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, yes, I can! I can’t buy stuff like that cuz I like it too much! Enjoy!

  • Betsy Greer

    I can relate to this!

    I spent the morning placing an order for Nature’s Logic whole food supplement after researching products with taurine for my Cavalier for the past two days. I also ordered some Dr. Harvey’s E-Mune support, Honest Kitchen Beams and Zeal and was since I’m using up the last of my Darwin’s, I was getting together an order. I was also doing an inventory of chicken & turkey necks and chicken feet ~ all are staples at my house. I had to get these orders in before the moratorium on online shopping kicks in tomorrow. ; )

    But, can you believe I had the nerve to sit in front of the computer with a big bowl of Trix for myself while I did that!?

  • InkedMarie

    I voted up because you’re going to throw it away. Do you need help in finding a food? In our search up top, type in pancreatitis and I think an article will show up. If not, try low fat foods.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m glad you found this site. Please get rid of it. You might need to start with a 3 star food and work your way up to a 4 or 5 star. If you make too drastic of a change too quick it could also make your dog sick. Also bear in mind that this food is like Froot Loops. It’s full of corn, flour, sugar and food coloring. Yikes! Your dog could be addicted to it and not like the better stuff right away. Good luck!

  • Sheila

    I happened to stumbled across this yesterday and I can’t even begin to describe how livid I am reading about this food. I have a 6 year old Shih Tzu who is my baby. I have been feeding him Beneful original for a good couple of years now. About a year or year and a half ago the store was out of the original flavor and so I bought him the Beneful playful life and my problems began from then on. After doing that he started having bouts of diarrhea, bloody stools on and off for months, constant vet visits, medication and bland diets to get it under control. I finally got it under control and he was good until last July when he got pancreatitis luckily he showed us signs immediately and we rushed him in and caught it in the early stage. The vet told me normally they see pancreatitis when dogs eat a fatty meal or get into the garbage can, so we put strict limits only his beneful food and one treat a day. Well at the beginning of this month 6 months after the first bout I had to rush him in and he has pancreatitis again, they said he had to have gotten in to something. So after 2 weeks of a bland diet he was doing good, we started to mix a bit of his beneful food into his bland diet to wean him off it and he immediately starting going to the bathroom more and ended up with diarrhea. When I saw all these complaints I couldn’t believe it. I am throwing that food in the garbage and finding him a new one and if he is completely fine after that I will know it was in fact the food.

  • Crazy4cats

    That is really sad. I wish they would take this food off the market. My condolences.

  • Sad dog grandma

    My daughter has feed this to her dogs for the last two years. She has had to put both of them down within the last 3 weeks. They have developed cancer, enlarged spleen’s, liver issues and the loss of feeling in the legs. She is heart broken to say the least. These dogs have been her children. And, just to clarify. These dogs are not siblings. They are not even the same breed and are not the same age. It was way to coincidental that this has happened to both of them. This food can be the only reason. After reading the reviews of it, I can understand why..

  • Unpleased Consumer

    So, I tried to give my dogs beneful dog food, neither of them would touch the stuff. :/ But they loved the treats… and I thought that was good.. UNTIL I thought my dog was pooping blood. Then I found out it was all the dye in the treats. -_-
    I hate beneful. That could have costed so much money to find out what was wrong with my 7 yr old chihuhua. When all it turned out I had to do was stop giving him the treats.

  • Cinci

    You need to carefully reread the ingredients list in Beneful- chemicals and colorings that are unhealthy.Sorry, but clearly neither you, nor your sis, know what you are talking about when it comes to Beneful being healthy. It’s like someone eating junk food and surviving. They may look okay, but it doesn’t mean that they are feeling their best and are truly healthy.

  • Ashes & Pandora’s Mom

    CAUTION to Anyone Who Feeds Their Dogs Beneful –
    My grandma, poor thing, did not know that Beneful is not a good food. Unfortunately, I don’t live anywhere near my grandma, so I was unaware that she was feeding her dogs this or I would have suggested that she change her food. Just to be clear, my grandma loves her dogs dearly! They are completely spoiled, she takes them everywhere and she would do anything for them! She was just unaware that she should look further into their food. She thought she was feeding them great food.
    One of her dogs passed away very recently. She passed due to liver and kidney failure. Currently Beneful is undergoing an investigation of their product because it is widely believed that it was their food that caused her liver and kidney to give out. Her other dog, who was also eating Beneful, also became sick, but she is younger and has been able to recover.
    The investigation is not finished and nothing has been proven. But if you or someone you know is making the mistake of feeding their dogs Beneful, you may want to warn them that they are being investigated for causing liver and kidney failure.
    Or if you or someone you know had a dog die of liver and kidney failure and they were eating Beneful you should step forward and report it, so we can stop this from happening to other dogs.
    I’ll keep everyone up to date as to how the investigation is going as we receive the information.
    Ms. Peele, you will be missed!!!!!

  • sad in Georgia

    We had a similar experience with our Elvis. He was a golden/lab mix and died before his ninth birthday. He had been eating Beneful for about a year. He started behaving different. Refusing to eat, trouble going to bathroom, excessive water intake. Took him to the vet and was referred to to UGA animal hospital. We discovered he had cancer and every organ had began to rapidly shut down. He died on 10/6/2013. The preservatives and ingredients in dog food became the probable cause of his cancer.

  • Carrie White

    My dogs wll throw up ANY dry dog food! “Blue” is expensive, but they can nibble on it here and there and it is ok- ALWAYS read ingredients! “SPOT’S STEW” is an excellent canned fooe- available at petco and select pet food distributors…

  • Carrie White

    Feed him table scraps for a while, that should help…despite what some people say, table scraps are best- my chihuahua lved to be 21 yrs. old., and my boston terrier was 19…every dog I ever owned who was long-lived ate table scraps (and Milkbone brand treats!)

  • Strey

    its never too late! Try giving him some fresh meats every now and then, an egg or sardine mixed with his food once a week. Maybe try giving him some probiotics or joint support supplements. My golden retriever mix used to eat kibbles just as bad and maybe even worse then Beneful…and had those same problems….Then about a year ago i started giving her better food and a bit more exercise
    and now she has no problem jumping and running around…its amzing…and shes 12 years old! don’t give up on your 9 year old :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I completely agree with you.They would say it’s not unusual or it’s not harmful. And both are true, lipomas are common and they are not harmful, but they are a symptom of something going on that is harmful, just very slowly. It would be a very strange thing for a dog to die of a lipoma, but not uncommon at all for a dog to die of kidney failure when the body couldn’t get rid of enough toxins.

  • CranberryCoco

    I agree with you. I stopped asking for food advice from my vet.

    My point was that vets probably see fatty pockets a lot. I think they perceive it as normal because it’s a common occurrence. It’s not like the dog dies the next day or the next year because they had a fatty pocket. So it’s “normal”.

  • Pattyvaughn

    A lot of vets think any old food is just fine, until the health problems start popping up, and sometimes even then.

  • CranberryCoco

    I think a lot of vets say that.

    It’s probably pretty common occurrence for dogs saying as how popular low quality kibbles like Beneful and Ol Roy are.

  • Natalie Trenary

    Those “fatty pockets” caused fatal tumors in my dog. Normal? Yes. Preventable by diet choices? Yes.

  • Natalie Trenary

    My parents feed our golden retriever Beneful and at first my mom thought it was the best food. Then I heard something about it making dogs sick and many consumers wanted to company to recall the food, yet refused. Now, he has tumors and fatty pockets from head to toe, can barely walk and doesn’t seem happy. I blame the food. Just a little to coincidental. This food should not be fed to animals. It shouldn’t even be considered food. I feed my new puppy Nutisource and plan to switch our golden to it. I hope to see an improvement if it’s not too late…

  • Shawna

    It really all depends on what food you put on your table.. Yes, boxed dinners are not suitable “table scraps” but left over veggies (without a lot of added salt) or quality meat are quite healthy “table scraps”.

    I too fed Beneful and my toy poodle lived to 18 and then died of kidney disease. My Yorkie lived to age 15 and then died from stomach cancer. I started researching their illnesses and that led me to food. Now I feed my five dogs a raw diet and my (likely forever) three foster dogs high protein kibble with raw and canned toppers. I never knew how truly healthy a dog could be til I started raw (or even the higher end kibble w/ toppers).

    My Beneful fed dogs had a long life but they were NEVER truly “healthy”… And fatty tumors, also called lipomas, are not an old age thing. They are a sign that there is an imbalance in the body…

  • Storm’s Mom

    You’ve fed Beneful “for ever” and “every dog I’ve had” has had “fatty tumors”. Um, do you not see the connection here?!?! Fatty tumors are NOT normal, I don’t care what your vet says!!! A healthy dog does not just get fatty tumors.

  • caringkate

    I have fed Beneful for ever. My first dog on Beneful lived to 19 years old and the scond one seventeen. The Aussie I have now is already 13 and you would think she was four or five. She runs after rabbits like a young pup. The only problem she has is a couple of fatty tumors which every dog I’ve had, since I was a young girl, have had and the vet said is normal for her age.
    Sometimes dogs die. Breeding can effect there health as well as food and surroundings. It may be the food but it might just be. If you look there are some bad reports on pretty much every food out there. Just be wise and do the best you can. Feed your table scraps…you know what is in that. How good is that for them. Look at us…..

  • Dogs

    :( I fed my lab this died at 10 years of age and the lowest age for death in a Labrador is 12 r.i.p angel

  • Stacy

    Oh my gosh…this is exactly what is wrong with my dog. I took her to the vet yesterday and I am really worried. She is not herself. I have been feeding her Beneful since she was a puppy. Feeling horrible right now.

  • adoptadog

    Why would you feed that to your dog if it smelled like that?

  • Pattyvaughn

    The food could have contributed or triggered seizures IF she was already prone to them, but that is very young for epilepsy to show up. I’m sorry about your pup.

  • Debbie

    My Puppy was feed Beneful from the person i bought her from.I got her when she was 12 weeks old.And she started having siezers at 5 months old.And is now on seizer medicine.And has costed me $2,000 dollars in vet bills and the vets want to do more test ct scan skull and fluid collection for $2,500 which I do not have the money for.The food could have done this to her!

  • Marjorie Dunham Mullan

    I find there are a lot of vets who know nothing about nutrition.

  • lildancngurl

    I actually worked at PetSmart for a bit, too…had to quit. Couldn’t keep selling Purina, Hills, IAMS, etc with a smile on my face anymore. Now I’m working at a dog store that sells Orijen, Honest Kitchen, Earthborn, Verus, RAW diets, Sojos, Acana, Merrick, etc..only the best. I feel much better about my job and myself. And I feel I’m doing amazing by my two babies by feeding them Orijen. =)

  • http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/ GarriottSK

    Thanks Cyndi

  • Cyndi

    I hope you CAN make them pay! There are a lot of people that should be compensated for the deaths of their pets. There are many online petitions and websites all against Purina making that crap! I’ve seen many people posting on different websites saying that their dog had died after eating that “food”. I can’t believe they are able to get away with that and STILL be making and selling their poison!

    Good luck to you and again, I am so very sorry for your loss!

  • http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/ GarriottSK

    I posted as guest before. I do feel guilty. I gave Wilber poison and made him eat it. I filed a complaint with Beneful, Consumer Affairs and the FDA. I still have the food and I’m having it tested. If I can prove it was the Beneful dog food they will pay.

  • Cyndi

    Awww, I’m so sorry! :( I did the same thing to my dog. I thought I was buying him a healthy food and doing everything right! It’s not your fault if you didn’t know. Believe me, it took me a long time to admit that to myself. I know you are going to feel guilty, I still do, in a way, but you didn’t know. It’s those damn dog “food” companies that make us think their “food” is the best, when it really just poisons our pets. We had to learn the hard way, and that’s what really sucks! I’m sure Wilbur lived a wonderful life with you while you had him!

  • Guest

    I lost my greyhound Wilber a week ago Sunday. He was my best buddy and went to work with me every day. He had a lot of symptoms starting with back pain, then lethargy, vomiting, kidney failure, pancreas failure, bleeding out, and death. As I read the complaints on the Consumer Affairs website http://www.consumeraffairs.com for Beneful dog food (dry) I now believe I poisoned my dog.

  • Cyndi

    I’m so very sorry for your loss! :( I lost my Doberman a couple years ago and he ate Purina One. I feed my current dog a homemade diet so I can ensure I will never lose another dog to those greedy commercial pet food companies who only want to make money!

  • steve

    My greyhound died of cancer. She ate Beneful. OPen a new bag and smell the preservative formaldehyde which is a carcinogen.

  • Lara

    Yay, awesome story. Good job, TOTW is a much better option!

  • Lara

    It is not unusual for a vet to sell crappy food like Science Diet, Medi Cal, Royal Canin, and etc. It doesn’t make the food good, just the vet ignorant, naive, or down right stupid.

  • CranberryCoco

    This reminds me…my vet was trying to convince me to use flea medication such as frontline or another well known brand that I can’t remember.

    She said it was “safe”as long as you don’t get the really cheap store brand ie hartz.

    I asked her why there’s a warning for people not to touch the treated dog. According to her, touching the dog interferes with the medicine–but it’s not dangerous to humans.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is vets are not all knowing. Either that or they will straight up lie to you. We should all do the research–not just blindly listen to your vet and take it as irrefutable fact.

  • JellyCat

    We were in the same boat at some point. Just don’t switch very fast, allow some time for gradual transition in case you dog may have digestive issues.

  • Cyndi

    Good for you!!!…..and your dog! I did the same thing after visiting this site. I fed Purina One, which is equally crap! Now I feed my dog a species appropriate raw diet, which, not doable for everyone, she is thriving on! Purina is crap, in my opinion!

  • amazed13

    Woo i’m a little shocked that I have been feeding my dog this horrible stuff! I mean I am ok with the meat stuff cause dogs eat meat in the wild but with the other ingredients will make your dog get sick in n time. I’m switching right away, to a different more healthy dog food.

  • Kikki

    What does chicken and beef have in common with rabbit, raccoon, elk and deer? They’re all meat/protein. Btw, there’s plenty of dog foods these days with rabbit, venison, etc. Whatever one may choose is still better than a corn-based food which I’m sure your sister will agree dogs don’t eat in the wild. They eat meat.

  • sherry ekelburg

    Ask your sister if she has any education on nutrition from vet school. My dog has leaky gut syndrome from dog food. Most vets don’t even know what that is. My dog has to be on a special diet now, home made, with vitamins, etc. I know quite a few people who have dogs that got sick or died from beneficial. Its the preservatives and chemicals that are the culprit, not the kind of protein. Plus its just the rancid, diseased carcass and other parts of the chicken they are eating, not the actual meat. If they don’t die or get sick right away, it shortens their life. All the chemicals like frontline and over vaccinating dosnt help either. I am sure that your sister cant make her dog food in the army, but scraps from leftovers are better than commercial dog food. Instead of throwing away food that isn’t eaten, they should give it to the dogs. Then there is no food going to waste. There will be a movie about this next year called “Don’t be fooled” Keep a look out for it. An animal safety advocate is in it. Her website is called http://www.truthaboutpetfood2.com

  • JellyCat

    Texas Dogs,
    It’s actually pretty sad that your sister being a vet claims its a good food.

    This food contains the vitamins but not the nutrients. It’s rich in artificial colors, 4 artificial colors are listed in ingredients! It also contains propylene glycol in the top few ingredients. In fact, there is more propylene glycol in this food than meat and bone mill. Meat and bone mill is a nutrient, but very low quality. And as if its not enough, there is also sugar! Never mind that here is no meat in this food. it’s corn based.

    It’s pretty atrocious food and indeed it very-very sad your sister believes it’s OK.

    To be honest, I have never seen a vet who said this food was OK. My vets do sell Science Diet and Royal Canin, but they all agree that due to the Beneful is very bad.

  • Brinny

    I’ve never seen a dog steal corn. We planted corn this year, and Smokey didn’t mess with it. He went out and chased the sprinkler and killed and ate the “cow birds” that were digging for worms.

  • Texas Dogs

    I have a Black lab that is 16 years old that i have been feeding Beneful for the entire time from the puppy formula to regular and some of the Radiance. He has been doing great without a problem one. Also my family raises hunting labs that train usually 2-4 hours a day and they all eat Beneful and never miss a beat. They usually have 5-10 labs in training at all times. My sister is a vet in the Army and works mainly on the security, bomb, and drug dogs and she said that Beneful is fine. Also she said remember that dogs evolved from the Grey Wolf (Canis lupus), so really do they eat chicken or beef or any thing that is in any of the dog foods made, no they do not. They eat rabbits, raccoons, Elk, Deer and you get the point. Some dog foods work great with one dog and may not work with another so main thing she said is make sure you dog is getting what nutrients and vitamins it needs to be healthy and happy. If your dog is not doing well take it to your Vet and see what is wrong/what it is missing an find the food to get your dog the nutrients it needs. Just from experience with the product for over 17 years its a good dog food.

  • tonya

    I have a 5 year old boxer mix and we had her on beneful for the last year or two. We recently had a very scary medical issue with her. One day about a month ago we would take her out to use the restroom and she couldnt go no matter how many times we took her out. If she did go it was very little. I was on my way to find a vet (we recently moved) but of course everyone was closing around this time. After bringing her back inside she ran into out bathroom and started shaking on the floor. As my fiancé held her I called the only emergency vet in town. As soon as we pulled into the clinic she used the bathroom in the parking lot and it look like someone just spilled a coke it was so bloody. After waiting for her results the vet basically told us that her food was crystallizing her urine and causing irritation and UTIs . She was then put on antibiotics for two weeks and we have switched her food to Taste of the Wild which has a 4.5 rating and she LOVES it!

  • Sapphire Ladyblue

    Hahaha! Sorry but this is an awesome comment! Spot ON!!

  • ollie

    *fed*

  • ollie

    what breed is your puppy? I feed my dogs beneful off and on since I got them( jack Russell age 4 and newfie/shepard/lab age 5) till this past may when both dogs started vomiting my newfie twice in 3 days and my Russell 6 times in a span of 5 days. needless to say I stopped feeding them that poison and went to merrick. they love it and so far no problems. my newfie’s coat is so much better and both dogs feces are better. it can be on the expensive side but depending on what breed you have it might not be too much for you. a 15lb bag is around $32 depending on where you would buy it. just look around this site and make the best decision you can. not everybody can afford some of the foods. good luck.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Um, Shawna
    A mower is the very definition of sharp, explosive, flaming, and projectile. It really doesn’t take mch tinkering for a boy child to meet all his major objectives.

  • Shawna

    And apparently anything loud or with an engine. We have to keep a close eye on Buzz if either neighbor is mowing.

  • Cyndi

    You just described my son, to a T! Lol!

  • Pattyvaughn

    They are born daredevils and are naturally attracted to all things sharp, explosive, flaming, and projectile

  • Shawna

    I only have one child, a daughter. BUT my now ONLY 2 year old grand son is teaching me all about boys. I had NO IDEA!! If I survive his youth I’ll be surprised….

  • Pattyvaughn

    No need for details. I have a son. I think it is amazing that the male of the species ever survives to adulthood ;-)

  • losul

    Thnx, I can handle that. We used to do some really stupid stuff reloading shells with other stuff as kids. I won’t elaborate.

    I just found this. About 15 to 20 yards should be about right to avoid any serious harm to them.

    http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/bot33.htm

  • Pattyvaughn

    I think you might have to load your own.

  • losul

    Yeah, that might just work. I guess i’d have to empty the lead out of shot gun shells and then reload them with the rocksalt, or is that available to buy?

  • Pattyvaughn

    My brother lives in a burb right outside Chicago and he had a coyote stalking him one day.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Might I suggest rocksalt.

  • losul

    hehe, yes I know. I’ve discussed with my wife several times. She’s not very keen about it at all. She even bought a nice sighting scope, but not to hunt with, just to watch the turkey harems and their antics, especially the toms. She keeps parrots so is very sympathetic to birds.

  • Cyndi

    Thanksgiving isn’t too far off! ;-)

  • losul

    It’ll have to be a shotgun then. There aren’t any permanent fireworks shops very nearby. The stands around here mostly shut down about a week after the fourth.. I’m probably going to try the shotgun. I’ve got a couple of black powder pistols very loud also but they haven’t been fired for a very long time.

  • losul

    Haha, yes so far, we are able to laugh it off….kind of. But I know one of these times we are going to be pressed for time for something important, and he will have to march straight to the shower.

    Suugestions are welcome.

    We’ve tried most everything in garden to deter pests, including a motion detector hoot owl, various scents, scarecrows etc. So far playing a very loud radio all night in the garden at corn ripening times, helps the most, but coons get used to that also.

  • Pattyvaughn

    The idea is to make their roosting site seem less than ideal, usually bothering them a couple nights in a row is enough to do that. You can also put a fake owl in a nearby tree.

  • losul

    they’re completely legal here. that’s a good idea. Hadn’t thought about that. I could also shoot a shotgun towards them. If I shoot them though, I still fall under all the State hunting regulations, even on my own property, unless Hmmm

  • Pattyvaughn

    How illegal are firecrackers where you are at? If you throw some under their trees while they are roosting they may decide that is not so safe a place to roost.

  • Shawna

    OH MY GOSH Losul, that is just TOO funny!!! :) But only because I don’t have to deal with it…. Gizmo, my furriest, fluffiest Pom loves to do the same with dead worms/bugs and animal poo (other than dog)? Luckily it is rare that she comes across such things in our back yard…

    I’ll be sure to keep my eyes and ears open for turkey deterrents. :0)

    PS — we live in the center of town but the back part of our property is at the edge of a large, tree covered creek. We’ve seen deer, three turkeys, a turkey buzzard and a fox in our back yard over the years..

  • losul

    I’ve had a garden for a very long time and I’ve NEVER had any dogs wild or otherwise take any of my sweet corn, either. I would definitely see the tracks as I do other varmints. I’ve always forbid my own dogs from my garden, but there are plenty of strays and coyotes around. It’s mostly racoons around here robbing corn, and they usually wait until right before they are at the peak of ripeness. They’re very skilled at peeling back the husks BTW. Deer occaisonally get some, but when they do, they do alot of damage. Chickens can pretty much destroy most of a veggie garden. I’ve heard that turkeys go for the corn, although I’ve never experienced that, and we have lots of wild turkeys regularly showing up scavenging right in our backlot, we’ve counted as many as 40 something at one time. They roost high in the trees back by the spring. I need to find some way to discourage them from our property though, as they have particularly vile smelling black/green very greasy poo, and occaisonally Turbo savors rolling his shoulders and neck in it, making sure to also wear some on his collar, usually at some inopportune times, like just before bed time. It requires a complete bath, a sponge bath just doesn’t cut it with that fowl (pun intended) stuff. It’s the only times he has ever had baths, he otherwise never needs one.