Beneful Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Beneful Dog Food receives the Advisor’s lowest rating of 1 star.

The Beneful Dog Food product line includes eight kibbles, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth and maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Beneful Original
  • Beneful Playful Life
  • Beneful IncrediBites
  • Beneful Healthy Smile
  • Beneful Healthy Fiesta
  • Beneful Healthy Weight
  • Beneful Healthy Radiance
  • Beneful Healthy Growth for Puppies

Beneful IncrediBites was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Beneful IncrediBites

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 31% | Fat = 14% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Ground yellow corn, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, whole wheat flour, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of vitamin E), beef, rice flour, soy flour, water, meat and bone meal, propylene glycol, sugar, salt, phosphoric acid, tricalcium phosphate, animal digest, potassium chloride, sorbic acid (a preservative), non-fat yogurt powder, dried carrots, dried peas, dicalcium phosphate, calcium propionate (a preservative), choline chloride, vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, red 40, l-lysine monohydrochloride, manganese sulfate, niacin, yellow 5, yellow 6, vitamin A supplement, blue 2, calcium carbonate, copper sulfate, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, garlic oil, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), calcium iodate, folic acid, biotin, sodium selenite

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.7%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis27%12%NA
Dry Matter Basis31%14%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%30%42%

The first ingredient in this dog food is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The second item is chicken by-product meal, a dry rendered product of slaughterhouse waste. It’s made from what’s left of a slaughtered chicken after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except quality skeletal muscle (real meat).

On the brighter side, by-product meals are meat concentrates and contain nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

In any case, although this item contains all the amino acids a dog needs, we consider chicken by-products an inexpensive, lower quality ingredient.

The third ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior grain-based proteins lower in some of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is wheat flour, a highly-refined product of wheat milling. Like corn, wheat is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider wheat a preferred component in any dog food.

The fifth ingredient is animal fat. Animal fat is a generic by-product of rendering, the same high-temperature process used to make meat meals.

Since there’s no mention of a specific animal, this item could come from almost anywhere: roadkill, spoiled supermarket meat, dead, diseased or dying cattle — even euthanized pets.

For this reason, we do not consider generic animal fat a quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The seventh ingredient is rice flour. Rice flour is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The eighth ingredient is soy flour, a high-protein by-product of soybean processing.

Soy flour would be expected to have a notably lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With nine notable exceptions

First, we find meat and bone meal, a dry “rendered product from mammal tissues, including bone, exclusive of any added blood, hair, hoof, horn, hide trimmings, manure, stomach and rumen contents”.1

Meat and bone meal can have a lower digestibility than most other meat meals.

Scientists believe this decreased absorption may be due to the ingredient’s higher ash and lower essential amino acid content.2

What’s worse, this particular item is anonymous. Since there’s no mention of a specific animal, this ingredient could come from almost anywhere: spoiled supermarket meat, roadkill, dead, diseased or dying livestock — even euthanized farm animals.

Even though meat and bone meals are still considered protein-rich meat concentrates, we do not consider a generic ingredient like this a quality item.

Second, garlic oil may be a controversial item. We say “may be” here because we are not certain of the oil’s chemical relationship to raw garlic itself.

Although most experts favor the ingredient for its numerous health benefits, garlic (in rare cases) has been linked to Heinz body anemia in dogs.3

However, the limited professional literature we surveyed provided no definitive warnings regarding the use of garlic — especially when used in small amounts (as it likely is here).

Next, this product also contains the controversial food moisturizer, propylene glycol. Propylene glycol has been banned by the FDA for use in making cat food.

However, it can still be found in some commercial dog foods.

In addition, sugar is always an unwelcome addition to any dog food. Because of its high glycemic index, it can unfavorably impact the blood glucose level of any animal soon after it is eaten.

Next, animal digest is a chemically hydrolyzed mixture of animal by-products that is typically sprayed onto the surface of a dry kibble to improve its taste.

Also, we’re always disappointed to find artificial coloring in any pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

Next, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

In addition, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Beneful Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Beneful Dog Food looks like a below average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 31%, a fat level of 14% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 30% and a mean fat level of 12%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 40%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the corn gluten meal and soy flour, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Beneful Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a below-average amount of chicken by-product meal as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 1 star.

Not recommended.

Those looking for a canned version of this product may want to check-out our review of Beneful Prepared Meals Wet Dog Food.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Beniful

Notes

11/07/2009 Original review
05/17/2010 Review updated
01/30/2011 Review updated
03/17/2012 Review updated
09/20/2013 Review updated
09/20/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials, 2008 Edition
  2. Shirley RB and Parsons CM, Effect of Ash Content on Protein Quality of Meat and Bone Meal, Department of Animal Sciences, University of Illinois, Poultry Science, 2001 80: 626-632
  3. Yamato et al, Heinz Body hemolytic anemia with eccentrocytosis from ingestion of Chinese chive (Allium tuberosum) and garlic (Allium sativum) in a dog, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association 41:68-73 (2005)
  • Dori

    I just bought a few cans of sardines packed in water with no salt that were on sale at Publix. I buy them on sale whenever Publix is having a sale. As C4C, sardines and krill rank really low on the mercury list. Their life spans are way too short to accumulate too much mercury unlike tuna and other fish. Sorry, I don’t buy salmon in any form for my family which includes my dogs.

  • john4usa

    Baneful dog food has a lawsuit against them claiming that dogs are getting sick and dying a ingredient ( propylene glycol) in it that is used in antifreeze!

  • Crazy4dogs

    I have to admit, I do buy grocery store food for my dogs, but it’s canned sardines(human food also). LOL! I know the price is probably higher, but I feed my dogs canned sardines packed in water with no salt since they rank lowest on the list regarding the mercury issue.

  • aimee

    Hi Dawn,

    I view your assessment of the situation as being very reasonable. Beneful is a very popular brand and so it stands to reason that by sheer numbers alone there would be more dogs with an undiagnosed condition eating Beneful than with a smaller brand. However, as you pointed out just because a dog was eating a particular brand of food when they dog became ill doesn’t mean the food caused the illness. A diagnosis is needed.

    What seems to be missing in the general internet “chatter” are reports from veterinarians saying that they are seeing a higher rate of illness or unexplained death in dogs eating Beneful. Currently, the articles I’ve found that have been written by veterinarians are not reporting this.

  • Christine Daley

    I am just curious. Why do you defend this food?? I am sure you love your pup!! It’s a fact that corn and by products and God knows what else is in this food is unhealthy!! And I mean unhealthy!!

  • Christine Daley

    Thank you Jellycat!!

  • Christine Daley

    If you or anyone else choose to continue to use this terrible dog food that is entirely up to you. 4,000 people are claiming this food hurt their dog!! Poisonous or not the ingredients health wise are bottom of the barrel for a canine!!

  • Dori

    The suit is a “class action suit” which means there are multiple persons involved in the suit against Purina for the food Beneful for the deaths and illnesses of their dogs. It’s not a simple suit of one person and one dog. It’s multiples, that’s what a “class action suit” is. A group of people bound together in a suit.

  • JellyCat

    It doesn’t matter if this food kills dogs instantly or not. The reality is this food is not the best choice to feed your dog simply as per ingredient list.

  • LabsRawesome

    That is nothing to be proud of, I wouldn’t brag about it either. Have you ever taken a look at the actual ingredients in Beneful? There is not even one good ingredient in Beneful dog food.

  • Dawn Watson

    They can’t prove its the dog food unless there was an autopsy. The dog could have had an allergic reaction, there is no proof that something in the dog food kills dogs, if so all dogs would be dying. For example all 4 of mine have been on it a long time and they aren’t dying. I know a lot of people also that use it and their dogs are fine.

  • Christine Daley

    I agree a lot of other brands are not good either. But no one is coming forward with reports of illness and death at this time.

  • Dawn Watson

    So are a heck of a lot of other brands and they aren’t being accused of being killers.

  • Dawn Watson

    Still the question wasn’t answered as to how they knew the dog died from the food and not something else. It may not be the most nutritional, doesn’t mean it kills.

  • Dawn Watson

    Still didn’t answer the question of how they knew it was the food and not something else. By the way my dogs are very healthy according to me and vets.

  • Peggy Driscoll

    And I certainly do know god,and the way you talk and think I will pray for the lord to touch your heart

  • Peggy Driscoll

    Really that is uncalled for sir,why would you even think or speak it

  • Dori

    Happy birthday Brady.

  • Christine Daley

    Today was my boy Brady’s first birthday!!! He had Orijen regional red for breakfast and orijen 6 fish for supper with an Orijen tundra freeze dried medallion as a topper!! That’s his norm not just for his birthday. His birthday treat was a braided bully stick!!

  • Christine Daley

    As it should be for producing such a low class food filled with corn, by products and lots of other bad products for our pups!!

  • Dee

    Purina Beneful is now under a class action lawsuit

  • Melanie

    I need to Rephrase my comment below before you reply in your rude way. I. Don’t love my dogs as much as my children. It’s a different love. If my dog passed away from an illness I would be devastated and grieve deeply. If my child died from an illness it would be unbearable and I would have to find a reason to go on living everyday. So the love is not the same. My dogs are my friends and I want them with me for a very long time. I’m sure there are people on this site that have no children and their dogs are their children. We love our dogs like family period!!!

  • Melanie

    Oh, but God knows you! And doesn’t like your attitude or comments. You’re just nasty!

  • myOWNcompass

    And how many people never question their dogs death at all? Never report it? Never have taken their dog to the vet either? Just feed it crappy dog food and when it dies, they just assume that’s how dogs die. Sam’s logic doesn’t work at all. There are probably far more dead dogs out there due to this stuff they try to call dog food then we will ever have any clue about.

  • Melanie

    Yeah well just my opinion too. You should leave!

  • myOWNcompass

    I’m sorry for your loss Barb. Thank you for sharing your story.

  • myOWNcompass

    tee hee hee!

  • myOWNcompass

    i was getting too angry, it was time for a laugh. :D i am very glad to share it with you GSD.

  • Melanie

    No. The dogs would be saving us! You need to leave this site. You are rude and obnoxious! And how sad that you would even say such a thing. The most loving nurturing mothers are the ones that treat their dogs so well. We mothers know that our dogs are the ones that stay by our sides when we are going through our morning sickness, and our 3 months of bed rest, and our post partum depression when we have our children. My dog never left my side. I don’t love my dog more than my children. It’s maybe a different love. I know if I say I love them the same you will have some rude comment to make. Just go away!

  • Melanie

    OMG did God tell you that personally? I wish I had that kind of relationship with God. You’re so lucky.

  • GSDsForever

    Sounds like you’re doing a great job with them! Lucky pups!

    Yes, my neighbor’s lab mix comes to bark at me to “order” me to give him treats. LOL. I always tell him I don’t take doggie orders!

  • Christine Daley

    Yes the labs are notorious for gaining weight. And they love to eat!! That’s the owners fault!! Too much food, the wrong foods and no exercise!! Basically more common in the English lab. Shorter stockier build. My gang is mostly american field. Taller and leaner!! My girl is 100% American field and my 2 guys from the same parents are 75% American and 25% English. Lean, beautiful and handsome. Lots of walks and plenty of swimming keep them in shape!! Of course along with a healthy high protein, high fat, low carb grain free diet!!

  • GSDsForever

    OMG, see now! Here I am, trying to take the high road around here, no matter how badly behaved some of DFA’s interlopers are — and then you go and make me bust out laughing. I am cracking up here. Stop! LOL.

  • theBCnut

    The toilet.

    Border Collies, potato chips, who knew?

  • GSDsForever

    Oh! And I learned from caring for a northern breed dog and talking to someone knowledgeable about them that they can really pack on pounds insanely easily, being fed almost nothing. Many are also super food focused — such that you have to watch them like a hawk & take precautions to keep them from stealing food. I was informed that their bodies are designed to hold on to nutrients to accommodate to severely cold & harsh environments natural to them. And I was informed that they need tremendous amounts of hard, sustained exercise daily.

    I was really eye opening learning about another cool breed. Northern dogs are beautiful and fascinating.

  • GSDsForever

    Aha! Now I know why you are thinking about obesity!

    Labs! Oh my, do they like their food.

    They seem to gain weight more easily than GSDs for sure. Using a service dog for many years as I have, nearly all the yellow lab guide dogs I saw were sadly overweight & retired by 6-8. And many, if not most, pet labs I see are kept “pudgier” than GSDs.

    GSD people would freak! We’re used to being told that our dogs are too skinny, but much of this is body structure & type (longer and taller etc.) and then correct body condition (as vets grade vs average pet owners).

    My neighbor does a GREAT job of keeping her pet black lab mix (with something large, like Newfie or GSD) lean, muscular, and in beautiful coat and he’s well into being a senior now. For whatever reason, high carbs haven’t seemed to hurt him — as she feeds a lower protein, low fat — so therefore, high carb and grain inclusive — low calorie fish based diet. But it’s from a great company and is more highly digestible than the vast majority of foods out there, including at the super premium level, which makes it a little safer in its protein level. I would love for that formula to have more protein, as I’ve seen dogs do great on it and love the taste.

    You’re right about the obesity epidemic among pets. I remember first seeing “Fat Dogs” food at the vet’s and kind of gasping and chuckling at the name. The vet staff explained that no matter what they say to people to do/not do to achieve healthy weights in their pets, most just want to leave with a bag that “fixes” it. IMMEDIATELY after listening to this, I watched two sweet cocker spaniels leave that were so obese that they looked like table tops, each the width of 3 cocker spaniels side by side. It was really sad to me, as I don’t understand how it gets to that point.

  • myOWNcompass

    Trader Joes is good for items like that, especially if it’s seasonal. They look hard for bargains then. I used to use Frasier Farms for produce but they appear to be slipping lately. I like stuff at Sprouts, but they do not treat their employees well so I don’t use them unless I can’t find an item anywhere else.

  • Dog_Obsessed

    Yup, pretty much. I actually got canned pumpkin for $1.50 per can today, though that’s the exception, not the rule.

  • myOWNcompass

    That whole comment with “cross breeding and transplant rejection” gives a very clear idea as to the IQ he is attempting to work with. I didn’t need to go to college to see the absolutely stupidity in that one.

  • myOWNcompass

    Our strong, very healthy and alert dogs will probably alert us to the fire and if we didn’t get the fire put out before it became a problem, we would at least out of the house all together.

    and the rest of us know who is sad here.

  • myOWNcompass

    Pretty sure I know how I see him. mc donald bags and twinkie wrappers lay all around him as he types from the easy chair he never leaves…. a huge bag of beneful is close by along with his dog’s dishes, i’m still not sure how they are being watered….

  • myOWNcompass

    OH MY GOD HE EATS HIS DOGS! what better reason to feed them better you’d think? But then he did say he liked junk food too.

    BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HAH HAHAHA HAH HA HA!

  • myOWNcompass

    THANK YOU! some people are too slow. i CAN read between the lines!!! :D

  • Christine Daley

    Understood!!

  • myOWNcompass

    Also, you can find many of these good dog foods on Amazon.

  • myOWNcompass

    The Tack & Feed store down the street from me carries some of the best dog foods! That’s where I get mine from, and yes, the prices are very reasonable.

  • myOWNcompass

    Whole Foods overprices EVERYTHING, lolz.

  • Christine Daley

    Agree!! Not fond of white potatoes, rice and tapioca either as these carbs are quickly stored as fat. People don’t realize high protein and wholesome fats are biologically appropriate for dogs. I also use unrefined organic coconut oil and salmon oil for their health benefits. As far as grain free just my preference but nothing wrong with some healthy grains like oatmeal and barley. I even purchase some holistic treats that are not grain free that contain oatmeal. Anyway looks like we are on the same page. Love GSD’s. Have 3 yellow labs!! Ages 1,2 and 3.

  • GSDsForever

    I pretty much never worry about obesity since I have GSDs! LOL.

    White potato, tapioca, and the like do not thrill me vs. whole grains or refined grains. I do not believe in any special magic from “grain free” in and of itself; neither do I see peas and lentils as more natural for a dog than oatmeal.

    I pay more attention to specific ingredients and their grade/sourcing that meet my standards for being wholesome, digestible, and non-toxic. I do favor overall formulas that are low glycemic as well as anti-inflammatory.

    Personally, I’d rather have much higher fat levels of wholesome fat along with good primary sources of protein and a variety of wholesome proteins in the diet I feed, to cut down on carbs as well. I like wild Alaskan Salmon Oil and Organic Virgin Coconut Oil in particular for all their immediate and long term health benefits. Dogs can do well with up to 60% fat naturally!

    I like herbs, berries, organic/clean sea vegetables, dark leafy greens, “super” fruits & veggies (organic when needed) to fill out the carbs portion. I do think this small portion of a dog’s diet, when it’s kept in small ideal portion, is every bit as important over the life span of the dog as the protein portion. Hence another reason I favor brands that I do, sometimes add those, or incorporate these when I feed homemade — which I believe to be ideal and most wholesome.

  • Babslynne

    I agree, I couldn’t feed it to my dogs because they need grain free. I was just saying there are affordable 4 & 5 star dog foods available in common grocery store’s

  • Christine Daley

    I agree. Not the worst choice out there by any means and definitely way above Beneful and pedigree. I just do not like all the carbs. Excessive carbs in food from starches are the leading cause of obesity in dogs!! Prefer grain free but that’s just my preference. Many holistic brands out there are not grain free but just don’t have above average carbohydrates!! I am sure the amount of food fed and amount of exercise plays an important role!!

  • GSDsForever

    I’ve never fed or recommended TJ’s dog food and treats. I shop for grocery food there (just saying, since you’re responding to my comment, not Babslynne’s).

    But I would be inclined to agree with its 4 star rating here. I don’t have a huge problem with its ingredient list or guaranteed analysis. Customers could do a lot worse is shopping for their dogs.

    How much protein is in a dog food is about digestibility, not just the percentage on the bag. Many, many foods are not highly digestible — and YES, that includes popular super premium brands (including ones you’ve mentioned).

    A food that is not highly digestible with 30-32% protein is not a better food or richer in protein for a dog than a food with 24-26% protein in a highly digestible food — for example, as a hypothetical.

    I don’t know how digestible TJ’s food is, as I’ve never fed it and so never bothered to find out. Certainly would be worth checking out.

    Another plus with Trader Joe’s is that no food branded under Trader Joe’s label in the store is allowed to contain GMO ingredients.

  • Christine Daley

    Sounds good!! The human aisle!! Salmon great for pups!! Healthy skin and coat!! Not crazy about tbeir dog food though!! Too many carbs and not enough protein!!

  • Christine Daley

    Just so you know this kibble is very high in carbohydrates!! Dogs do not need these type of carbs from all this starch. Their limited amount of carbs should be from fruits and veggies!! Fyi!!

  • Christine Daley

    And one more thing mr Blackwell. This discussion was about dogs not cattle. If you think about it wouldn’t you prefer to eat grass fed beef than beef infused with antibiotics and hormones which are not good for us. Comes down again to healthy food equals healthy animals!! Eating cheap beef will kill you. Cheap foods fed to your dog over time will kill him too at a much earlier age than needed. You need a major attitude adjustment!! I will pray for your dog!!

  • GSDsForever

    Love Trader Joe’s. My favorite thing to buy for the dogs there is (human food aisle) the 15 oz canned Wild Alaskan Pink Salmon. Best price in town!

  • GSDsForever

    Another place people forget to check, in favor of Petsmart/Petco, are tack & feed stores where I live. They cater to horse people, also carry chicken feed & such. They usually carry some good dog food brands at the lowest prices.

  • GSDsForever

    We actually have some alternative health & natural food stores here with lower prices & frequent specials vs. Whole Foods, carrying much of the same brands. Some people like the convenience & stock up during sales.

    But like I said, even our general grocery stores are now carrying at least one or two better, healthful brands sometimes. I’ve seen this change in the past 5 yrs, from I’m guessing customer demand.

  • GSDsForever

    Yep, I hear ya. There are certainly lots of grocery stores brands I would not feed or recommend. I’m sure poor quality formulas make up the majority of total grocery store volume nationally.

  • Babslynne

    Trader Joe’s even has a 4 star rated kibble,

    Trader Joe’s Premium Lamb Meal and Rice

  • GSDsForever

    Flagged for violating the commenting standards of this site.

    Trolling this site with repeated ad hominem attacks says more about you than anyone or anything else.

    Good luck to you. I hope you find some happiness and more productive use of your time.

  • Christine Daley

    That’s great if available. My grocery store sells beneful, pedigree, Iams and purina one. I think Rachel Ray also which is probably the best choice of all especially the grain free. Don’t care for any of them!! But as you mentioned different stores may offer a decent food. From reading a lot of the comments on this site I bellieve many consumers who truly love their pets do not know much about dog food. Do some home work folks!! Google what ingredients to look for in pet foods and those to avoid!! Do your best for your pups!! They deserve it!!

  • Dog_Obsessed

    Whole Foods has some pretty decent dry foods, but they are way overpriced. You could find food of the same quality for much cheaper at a pet store or online. There are other stores that have okay foods for a good price though, so while it is not the norm, there is definitely some decent dog food at grocery stores.

  • GSDsForever

    I think it kinda depends. I have some high end grocery stores near me with an upscale clientele, such that they carry some pretty higher end & healthful dog foods. And even the regular grocery stores here have a natural/organic/etc. aisle that will stock a good brand you might be surprised to see. The more customers ask for these things and don’t buy the other “traditional” grocery store brands, the more we might see the selection change.

  • Dori

    LMAO! Good one BC!

  • JellyCat

    I would suggest then that God put brain inside your head to think. It must be very upsetting to see how humans are not able to use their carefully crafted brains.
    Additionally, I have never heard that God allowed humans to treat their animal, even food animals, poorly.

  • DogFoodie

    Thank you, BC!! Beautifully said. : )

  • theBCnut

    I would definitely agree with you that God cares more about people than animals, but when he created animals, he said “It is good.” When he created humans, he gave us stewardship over the animals. We are supposed to be taking care of creation, not poisoning it.

    Oh, and the Bible also says “Do not judge, for as you judge so you will be judged.” You are comdemning people for caring for what they were given to care for. You are assuming you know the sum total of people’s lives because you glance at a single snapshot of it here. Do you know what we would assume about who you are from the snapshot you have given us. Not pretty, and definitely no love there.

  • theBCnut

    Talk about the pot calling the kettle…

  • Christine Daley

    First of all mr Blackwell I happen to be extremely bright!! God loves all living creatures. Gonna eat your dog mr Blackwell??

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    Narrow minded … next!

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    You don’t know God

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    And you would probably save your pet from a burning house before a human child…… You people are sad

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    You’re not very bright if you think I don’t care. That’s the problem with people like you. God cares about humans more than animals. God put animals here for us to eat

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    good for you just my opinion

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    Bash and complain is what most of these people are doing. As for you you are narrow minded and self centred and most likely waiting for it to be legal to marry your pet

  • GSDsForever

    You know, I so wish I could add Nutrisca to that list, since it is a KLN/Tuffy brand (Nutrisource, Pure Vita, Natural Planet Organic) and GF. It’s in most grocery stores here. Darn that recall. So disappointing.

  • Christine Daley

    Most dog foods at the super market are a negative!! I personally do not approve of any of them but I am a firm believer in the healthiest food for my dog. I appreciate the fact of some people needing to find a food within their means but better choices out there than Beneful and pedigree as these foods loaded with corn and by products. The first ingredient listed on the bag is the majority of the bag and you do not want to see corn and then by products. A meat or meat meal needs to be there. No by products. Scraps of the slaughter house. Yuk!! If one has a small dog pricing should not be too much of a factor as they do not need much. I personally feed Orijen from Canada but other good foods include Fromm, natures variety, wellness. Just to name a few!! Hope this helps. You must have a petco or Petsmart close by. Or even holistic pet cuisine stores are all over offering a variety of healthy foods. Stop in one and speak to someone. Mr chewy always available on line for a variety of good foods with free shipping!! Good luck. Luv your pup with a healthy wholesome food!!

  • LabsRawesome

    There are some 4 and 5 star foods that are sold at Walmart. Pure Balance Grain Free, Rachael Ray Zero Grain. Pure Balance GF http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/pure-balance-grain-free-dog-food/ Rachael Ray Zero Grain

  • sasha

    My dog is my world we’ve had her for 11 years she has been eating this brand all of her life! She has been overall healthy (I pray this continues for the rest of her life) I am shocked by this news. I want to know what is the HEALTHIEST dry dog food that I can find in most supermarkets or are all of them terrible? Thanks to all of you<3 I hope this news spreads like wildfire and that no more dogs have to lose their lives. This is horrible!

  • Christine Daley

    So good to hear. His comment was very upsetting to me. Anyway glad you love your pups and good luck with a new food selection. Beneful really is a poor choice and hopefully this lawsuit opens the eyes of people who just do not realize the impact of poor food on their pups health!!

  • Peggy Driscoll

    I am sorry I did not read his post very well and Mr.Blackwell I do not agree with anything you say,my boy is my child and I will not risk him getting ill or death I lost my other baby boy 2yrs ago the vet said it was upper respitory failure,so I do appollogize for my awful comment

  • Christine Daley

    No God doesn’t like ugly. Absolutely correct. Anyone who agrees with mr Blackwell that pets are just pets and who doesn’t care what they are fed I believe would fall Into to the category of ugly!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Doreen-
    You could always print the list of 4 and/or 5 star foods and take it with you to the store to see which brands it carrries.

  • Dori

    Christine Daley. You are so right. I will just add that almost anything would be better than Beneful. And yes, I consider my three dogs part of our family because they are.

  • Melanie

    Wrong place to post that comment. In case you haven’t noticed people on this site love their dogs like family so want to feed them the best they can. Maybe you eat junk and your family eats junk so of course your dogs eat junk. Just remember you are what you eat, dog or human. You will pay for it in the end trust me.

  • Carrie

    Doreen, Glad you have switched brands. It is easy to be fooled by cheap grocery store dog food brands. I have been there too and felt so guilty about it. But I guess we all live and learn and spread the word to others when we can.

  • Melanie

    I’m pretty sure JC meant to say a dogs sclera of his eye can turn yellow indicating liver issues.

  • Carrie

    Beneful Facebook page.”We believe this lawsuit to be baseless and intend to vigorously defend our high quality, nutritious food”. So sad they can just keep trying to fool people like that!

  • Doreen Straatmeyer Belcher

    Just read up on the Iams puppy it’s not rated very well so I’m going to change to one of the 5 star ones if I can find it at my pet store.

  • Melanie

    The reason dogs lived long lives 50 years ago eating table scraps is because those table scraps probably were not loaded with artificial colors and all the other crap that’s in this dogfood. In my opinion 10 years old is not old for a large breed dog. They should live to be 13yearsvor more. I was very uneducated about dog food with my last lab. He had so many lipomas and a small mast tumor that needed to be removed. I fed him IAMS and Purina One thinking they were decent foods. The last 3 months of his life were horrible. I eventually had to put him down for liver cancer. Sadest day of my life. He also had multiple ear infections. When I got my new lab puppy I educated myself. He eats very good quality dogfood thanks to this site. He’s 5 yrs now and is so healthy. No lipomas, ear infections, etc. only visits the vet for his check ups. I know he will live a long life. I’m a Registered Nurse and I see what happens to people when they eat crap food. It happens to dogs too. Junk food equals shorter life span period!

  • JellyCat

    Feeding Beneful is a life style choise for a lot of people. Not everyone chooses to eat healthy whole foods and lead a healthy lifestyle. Peoe also smoke around their pets and don’t care. However, second hand smoke is very well known carcinogen. Some of these people will defend their choises and state that they know someone who didn’t die of cancer while drinking, eating junk and smoking all their lives and therefore it is OK to do. There is not much you can do to convince these people otherwise. These people don’t understand and most importantly don’t care about science. It’s a lifestyle choise dictated by socioeconomic circumstances and education.

  • JellyCat

    Solmanella is not only an issue with raw foods. There were several recalls envolving kibble contaminated with salmonella. People don’t typically wash their hands after handling kibble, but most do after handling meat. Also, salmonella is carried by many pets and not usually an issue for healthy adults.

  • Doreen Straatmeyer Belcher

    After news, I just changed from Beneful incredibites to Solid Gold wee bits for my 12 yr old toy poodle and changed to Imas puppy for my 5 mo. old. toy poodle I feel so bad that my older poodle ate it for years

  • Peggy Driscoll

    You dont know me and god dont like ugly

  • http://theuglypugglyboutique.com/ sandy

    Besides being used as a preservative, propylene glycol can also be used as antifreeze. Just look at the picture of the antifreeze in this article. It’s also used in other foods and medicines.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/red-flag-ingredients/propylene-glycol-dog-food-aid-or-automotive-anti-freeze/

  • GSDsForever

    IKR?

  • Tina Louise Griffin

    It is natural that Purina would defend their company!!

  • Tina Louise Griffin

    So had my dog!! Trust me the symptoms come on quickly by then it is to late…..

  • Bob Cohn

    Retinas turn yellow??? I’ve been in practice 40 years and never saw a YELLOW RETINA……and in regrds to RAW diets, even the AMA suggests you stay away from them due o high risk of transmission of bacteria like Salmonella to people from your pet licking or “Kissing” your face. EVERY SINGLE RAW DIET TESTED has, at one time or another, been found to have Salmonella in it.

  • J C

    after reading a few of the reviews It made me sick. Please please if you are able to swich your dogs food to a raw diet with no grains once you start to see problems with your pet. In acute disease, such as a toxicity, the signs occur suddenly and can be very severe. In chronic kidney disease, the onset may be very slow and the signs fairly nonspecific, i.e., the animal is “just not doing well.”
    Some of the signs are nonspecific and may be seen in other disorders such as liver or pancreatic diseases, or urinary tract disorders not involving the kidneys. Signs may include:
    BAD BREATH
    Changes in the retIna (turns yellow)
    Painful kidneys (touch under,if they let you between the ribcage and back legs) if they tense up or it looks bloated or they cry out go to the vet immediately!
    Watch for increased thirst and urination
    Increased water consumption (polydipsia)
    Increased urination volume (polyuria)
    Decreased urination (oliguria)
    Lack of urination (anuria)
    Voiding urine during the night (nocturia)
    Blood in urine (hematuria)
    Decreased appetite (anorexia)
    Vomiting
    Weight loss
    Lethargy
    Diarrhea
    Hunched over posture or reluctance to move
    Poor or unkempt hair coat
    Have the vet do blood work (a chemistry panel) on the kidneys
    It can happen quickly, depending on the age of the pet and how bad off the kidneys are you might be able to save them
    I was able to save my dog before it got any worse now I wach her closely
    Good luck I hope this helps
    Feeding your dog food that YOU TRUST is not always easy, but what help me is feeding her a raw diet at least now I KNOW what is in her food. I did not think I could do it AND I thought it would cost more not only was I wrong but her health has improved greatly. Some vets will tell you not to switch but for me I will NEVER go back to can or dry foods again for any CAT OR DOG AGAIN.
    It’s just turkey meatloaf with peas & carrots plus other healty foods HUMAN GRADE I just do NOT COOK IT FOR HER. Even her treats are what I make for her because of her allergies I do not put grains in her food.
    This can happen in humans and pets
    Kidney & liver failure can be a slow process or can happen within days. The problem is once it starts Cells of the kidney cannot replace or regenerate themselves as they do in the liver, lungs, bone and skin it is lost forever.
    I hope that you can catch it in time make some changes and prolong there lives

  • Christine Daley

    You are lucky so far. Unfortunately your pup isn’t so lucky to have to eat that poison!! If you love your dog there are better alternatives out there!! Take some time to gather the facts on healthy ingredients and diets for dogs!! You will see Beneful is bottom of the barrel!!

  • Christine Daley

    Glad I am not either one of your dogs!!

  • Christine Daley

    Not impressed with your attitude they are just pets!! My pups are my children and are as dear to me as any human being. As a matter of fact maybe even more so!! Purina Beneful just happens to be an unhealthy choice for a dog food loaded with corn and lots of other undesirable ingredients. That’s a fact!! I happen to purchase my pups food from Canada. Orijen. One of the best foods out on the market. Other people may not be able to afford Orijen but there are other choices in a reasonable price range that are better than Beneful!!

  • Guest

    OH OK, that’s makes it ALL BETTER! ….NOT!!!! and what’s their excuse for all the other horrible ingredients, why do they use

  • Peggy Driscoll

    So agree with you

  • Peggy Driscoll

    I just received a email from Purina stating that everything being said is very wrong,and that propolyn glycol is a preservative and that it is ethenol glycol that is used in antifreeze

  • Peggy Driscoll

    And also it is ethenolyn glycol that is used in antifreeze not propolyn glycol

  • Peggy Driscoll

    He is doing fine no loose stools,I also received a email from the CEO of Purina stating that everything being said is all wrong that their dog food is healthy and safe

  • JellyCat

    Speaking of Mother Nature, feeding this so called food to living things seems offensive, no wonder she bites.
    I’m glad you don’t represent all of Canada.

  • Michael Jahng

    A professional doctor for dogs says its bad, but you obviously know more because you are a…..?
    get out of here troll

  • Michael Jahng

    Cause if you’re doing this for free, BENEFUL lucked out on a sucker like you

  • Michael Jahng

    Cancer/Tumors come from the food you eat.
    I’ve noticed that you are adamantly defending BENEFUL, how much do they pay you to come here and try to do damage control?

  • Michael Jahng

    the common case of death for dogs isn’t death by blood vomit. When that starts happening there is cause to be alarmed. You should lace your soup with bleach and when you start to vomit blood and die, it’ll be natural causes right?

  • Michael Jahng

    It is fortunate that you have not encountered this problem. However if your dog started to vomit blood after switching to BENEFUL wouldn’t you be concerned? Perhaps only a few batches are contaminated and you were lucky enough to skip those batches.Perhaps it is not BENEFUL’s fault and a large portion of the food was contaminated in transit. EITHER WAY IT DOESNT MATTER, DOGS DO NOT VOMIT BLOOD ON THEIR OWN. SOMETHING IS UP AND IT MUST BE STOPPED. like PETA lol im sidetracking now

  • Michael Jahng

    LOL you clearly work for BENEFUL. Please try harder next time. NO decent pet owner would ever say this BS

  • theBCnut

    Not that I like all the weird cross breeds that people come up with, but it certainly has nothing to do with transplant rejection, and it certainly has nothing to do with the quality of dog food. Yes, there are definitely different standards in Canada and apparently some Canadians care about their pets more than others too. Thank God, you don’t speak for the whole country. If people don’t complain and keep an eye on big business, they will get away with doing whatever they want, and that includes doing whatever they want to people. Maybe instead of spending your time here, you should try spending some time training your dog, because my dogs don’t lick, chew, and eat everything. They are trained better.

  • Babslynne
  • Rebecca Heishman

    Somebody had to stop him. When you think you are smarter than everyone else in the room, it’s a guarantee that you’re not.

  • GSDsForever

    Telling people on a companion animal site to be less focused on and concerned about their pets, value them less or consider them to be of lesser importance in their lives, is a bit strange.

    Then calling people intensely discussing companion animal care on a companion animal care focused site hypocrites and telling them to spend their time on other issues is the pot calling the kettle black. If you think all of this is a waste of time or it irritates you, then perhaps you should indeed spend time on other things.

    But even so, just because you accord your own pet a particular lesser status in your world view doesn’t mean you should dictate to others how they view their pets. I don’t share your dismissive view of the animals in my life or yours. You value what you choose to value in this world and I’ll value what I value.

    People are here not to bash and complain, as you say, but to learn and to help others.

    If you don’t approve or like it, then you may do other things or go elsewhere, just as you advise.

  • SP

    What would I gain from telling the truth?
    I don’t work in the Pet industry.
    I work in computers.

    By the way, this just came out
    http://truthaboutpetfood.com/what-we-do-know-about-beneful/

    It’s very straightforward and logical.
    You simply turn the bag around & read the PLAINLY WRITTEN ingredients that are mostly poor quality & compare it to the ingredients of better quality brands.

  • Christine Daley

    Wrong!!

  • JellyCat

    You’re lucky per owner. But if I were you, I wouldn’t subject my dogs with already short life expectancy and a lot of health issues, due to the nature of the breed, to the toxins and poor quality ingredients in this feed.

  • Margaret Caron

    My dogs have always eaten Beneful. Happy and healthy absolutely no health problems. Full bred cocker.

  • Dori

    Change his diet. Any dog eating a food that has at least 47% carbs is going to gain weight. This food has more carbs than proteins and the proteins are very questionable. Check out the grain free foods that are rated 3 – 5 starts. The number of stars a food is rated has nothing to do with the cost. You can find quality grain free foods for good prices. A lot of people on this site looking for lower priced foods seem to like Victors Grain Free and their dogs are doing well on the food.

  • Alexander William Blackwell

    I wonder if anyone has taken into account all these abnormal cross breeds they keep coming up with. The %of successful transplants in humans, without complications is not very good. My dog has been eating it for 3 years now and is healthy as a horse. Sure,do your research and change if you like, but remember if you mess with Mother nature she bites.Dogs vomit , dogs get sick just like we do. Maybe focus your attention on the human race for a change and do something about the state it’s in. I care for my pets and am grateful for their companionship but they are just pets people. They lick everything ,chew on everything and eat anything so of course it must be the food. Don’t go bashing companies or else you will be occupied for the rest of your lives trying to lay blame on the countless companies that make harmful products. Don’t like it stop buying it. If your pet is sick often of course be diligent. People are such Hypocrites

  • Barb F.

    I have to say that I am really concerned about this news on
    Beneful. I started giving my dog Copper
    Beneful 6 months ago. Mainly to see if
    he had any tummy issues with it….6 months later he is vomiting blood and
    collapsing. I rushed him to the
    emergency vet only to find out he had blood in his stomach and was severely
    dehydrated. It was so bad that even if
    they performed surgery he would have probably only survived another 3 months…. My
    family was heartbroken. We lost him that
    night. Now 2 months later I find this
    out and I am heartbroken all over again.
    I wish I had never switched him over to Beneful. This was a really heard lesson to learn. We need to do more investigating when we
    chose what to give our animals. I wish I
    had.

    I think what everyone needs to think about is that just because
    one dog doesn’t have an issue with the food doesn’t mean there isn’t an
    issue. The fact that the numbers are so
    high has to say something. Do you really
    want to take a chance with your best friend’s life and health? I can tell you that the guilt is
    horrible. I wish there was a way to tell
    more people about this… I am telling everyone I know about this issue…. And staying away from ALL Purina products as
    when looking at the ingredients they pretty much have the same…plus if you
    going to the ratings they really are low.
    I would hope for higher from such a large company. Please don’t chance your pet’s life.

  • Christine Daley

    Bottom line folks no insult intended. This food is of extremely poor quality. Your pups deserve a lot better!!

  • GSDsForever

    Second, just because your dogs died of cancer and you happen to see a correlation between breed and/or age doesn’t mean dogs of a given breed or older dogs will automatically get cancer no matter what we feed and give them to drink, when we neuter/spay, how we vaccinate & give anti-parasitic and other drugs, what we bathe them with, how they live doesn’t matter or doesn’t contribute. And it shouldn’t mean that we should give up on trying everything we can to LESSEN the risks of cancer and other diseases or shortened life spans.

    More than half of all dogs and cats now die of cancer. Yes, there’s genetics, just like any of us could be hit by a mac truck. But we should still try to do all that we can, all that is reasonable and evidence based, enable our pets to live as long and healthful of lives as their potentials.

  • Christine Daley

    Read the label Sam!!

  • GSDsForever

    Just wanted to respond to these 2 parts:

    “The whole deal about dog foods is very ironic because until about 50
    years ago dogs were fed mostly table scraps. I grew up in the country
    and we always had dogs and they ate what we did. I don’t remember us ever losing a dog to any kind of health issue . . . ”

    Yes, and most quality human table scraps from whole natural, fresh foods from your kitchen and your breakfast, lunch, dinner meals — barring anything poisonous to dogs like grapes, baking chocolate, onions — were likely MUCH HIGHER QUALITY than this food and most commercial dog foods.

    And 50 years ago and especially “in the country” people were not eating lots of highly processed, unhealthy convenience foods — because they were costly and a luxury! People cooked their own foods largely from scratch.

    50 years ago also our food supply was different. Mass factory farming of animals, the dramatic increase in highly processed junky convenience foods, and giant companies figuring out how to make things more cheaply and selling cheaply to the masses in places like Walmart changed all that.

    It is still possible to eat healthfully at home, using more natural unprocessed wholesome ingredients, producing good wholesome “table scraps.” My dog eats those! But it is harder to obtain them and less popular to do.

    50 years ago the environment was also substantially different from today.

  • Dori

    Kudos to you Rebecca! Very well said. Thank you.

  • Dori

    I’m pretty sure that corn was not genetically modified in North America before Europeans came as all corn is today.

  • Dori

    I guess we’ll all just have to wait and see the outcome of the class action suit against Purina regarding Beneful.

  • Amanda

    There is a problem with your logic. hundreds of thousands of people probably feed their dogs beneful like you do who have not noticed anything in their pets, but this lawsuit has 3,000+ people coming forward who DO feed their dogs beneful AND have experienced complications. Does every single person who buys the product have to have a complication before action can be taken? What is the first qustion a VET asks you when you take your pet in to see them? What is their diet like, what do you feed your pet? Most internal medical needs stem from what a pet is eating. Nothing a little research on the internet wouldnt tell you if you dont agree with me do some research of your own.

  • GSDsForever

    1st 5 Ingredients: Ground Yellow Corn, Chicken By Product Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Whole Wheat Flour, Animal Fat

    The first five ingredients of any pet food form the vast majority of the food and are critical to what a dog is primarily eating and what nutrients your pet is getting.

    Reposting this at the top to discuss why the first 5 ingredients are poor:

    Reasons to avoid a corn based food, especially now:

    1)Low digestibility as a primary or substantial protein source, far inferior to meats, fish, eggs, cheese/yogurt, tofu

    2)Nearly all GMO in the current age

    3)Heavy pesticide contamination

    4)Risk of serious toxins from wet/spoiled portions of grains at manufacturing plant

    5)Corn is VERY pro-inflammatory (from Omega 6 fatty acids and natural components), aggravating many conditions in the body affected by inflammatory processes (i.e. arthritis, skin inflammation & infections)

    And notice in how the ingredients are listed, there is something called “splitting.”

    Listing parts/forms of the same ingredient multiple times gives the illusion of other ingredients (often preferred by the consumer) being present in greater amounts than they are.

    Ground Yellow Corn
    Corn Gluten Meal (the protein part)

    Corn is already listed 1st and 3rd, but with Chicken Byproduct Meal listed 2nd by weight/amount. Count the corn together, and chicken byproduct meal likely falls to 3rd ingredient.

    Now look at the Whole Wheat Flour listed 4th. Count the two corn ingredients and wheat together, and there is far less Chicken Byproduct Meal than plant material/flour.

    Then remember that Chicken Byproduct Meal is NOT chicken.

    Realize further that it is likely not even inclusive of some choice clean healthy organ from the chicken, as would be the case when a premium manufacturer NAMES an organ like heart or liver. No, these have already been removed and sold at great profit as Liver Treats, etc. at the pet stores. Those are choice, premium items. This is the stuff that is left over after EVERYTHING ELSE has been sold that was desirable.

    These are picked clean carcasses of bones, heads, feet, beaks, remaining feathers, etc.

    There’s also a high chance that the listed Chicken ByProduct Meal is from 4D animals. 4D animals = dead, dying, diseased, disabled animals rejected as unfit to be eaten by humans (that premium dog food brands also pass on, as deemed unsuitable by them and their customers).

    If you don’t want 4D animals in your pet foods, either look for manufacturers that state they do not use them or contact the company directly and ask. Better yet, get it in writing guaranteed.

    ***Animal Fat is an ingredient that is particularly of dubious quality and dangerous, as the type of animal and mix of animals from which the fat is derived is unknown/undeclared AND toxins collect in fat, and spoilage and rancidity occur in fat.

  • Johnny Cook

    Sam, Beneful Dog Food may not come from the factory with poisons in place to cause organ failure. The theory is that certain fillers under certain storage conditions may fuel the development of toxic fungus and bacteria that in turn cause organ failure. The toxicity is not automatic with every bag of this food sold and consumed. It’s toxicity is likely due to storage conditions and length of storage before it is sold to the public. We bought our Beneful from the local Dollar General Store and I suspect that their storage facilities may facilitate such toxic bio-hazard. I doubt that this food fresh from the factory is a hazard.

  • aquariangt

    Corn was a very different product then than it is now. The corn product used in cheap dog foods is also very different than the corn on your dinner table

  • theBCnut

    You see, I have a brain and when I use my brain, I form opinions about what I learn and I make judgments about what I think is good, bad, and just plain nasty. When I read an ingredient list like this, I think NASTY. I don’t feed artificial colors, huge amounts of calories from sugar, artificial preservatives, fillers, funny sounding chemicals, or any of the other trash in foods like this. I wouldn’t feed this to a pig. Just exactly what, of the ingredients in this food, do you think is actually adding to the health of your pet?

  • GSDsForever

    Reasons to avoid a corn based food, especially now:

    1)Low digestibility as a primary or substantial protein source, far inferior to meats, fish, eggs, cheese/yogurt, tofu

    2)Nearly all GMO in the current age

    3)Heavy pesticide contamination

    4)Risk of serious toxins from wet/spoiled portions of grains at manufacturing plant

    5)Corn is VERY pro-inflammatory (from Omega 6 fatty acids and natural components), aggravating many conditions in the body affected by inflammatory processes (i.e. arthritis, skin inflammation & infections)

    And notice in how the ingredients are listed, there is something called “splitting.”

    Listing parts/forms of the same ingredient multiple times gives the illusion of other ingredients (often preferred by the consumer) being present in greater amounts than they are.

    Ground Yellow Corn
    Corn Gluten Meal (the protein part)

    Corn is already listed 1st and 3rd, but with Chicken Byproduct Meal listed 2nd by weight/amount. Count the corn together, and chicken byproduct meal likely falls to 3rd ingredient.

    Now look at the Whole Wheat Flour listed 4th. Count the two corn ingredients and wheat together, and there is far less Chicken Byproduct Meal than plant material/flour.

    Then remember that Chicken Byproduct Meal is NOT chicken.

    Realize further that it is likely not even inclusive of some choice clean healthy organ from the chicken, as would be the case when a premium manufacturer NAMES an organ like heart or liver. No, these have already been removed and sold at great profit as Liver Treats, etc. at the pet stores. Those are choice, premium items. This is the stuff that is left over after EVERYTHING ELSE has been sold that was desirable.

    These are picked clean carcasses of bones, heads, feet, beaks, remaining feathers, etc.

    There’s also a high chance that the listed Chicken ByProduct Meal is from 4D animals. 4D animals = dead, dying, diseased, disabled animals rejected as unfit to be eaten by humans (that premium dog food brands also pass on, as deemed unsuitable by them and their customers). If you don’t want 4D animals in your pet foods, either look for manufacturers that state they do not use them or contact the company directly and ask. Better yet, get it in writing guaranteed.

  • theBCnut

    Age does not automatically equate to kidney failure. Usually, kidneys fail because of toxic exposure, either chronic or acute, not age. Chronic exposure can be from environment or chemicals in the food, acute can be from mycotoxins in the food, poisoning, etc. There is no reason that from age alone kidneys should fail. There are a couple heath problems that can cause kidney failure, but they are considered nutrition related, so still food.

  • theBCnut

    But it wasn’t the majority of every single meal.

  • theBCnut

    Do you go to the doctor every time you have a change in your stool? I don’t really want an answer to that, but most people assume that loose stools are dietary indiscretion and if cleaning up the diet fixes the issue, why would you pay a doctor to tell you to eat better?

  • Brianna

    I totally agree with you, Kathryn. I would definitely rather be cautious than not… After hearing SO MANY bad reviews on Beneful, why risk it? Is it really worth the extra $20/month you save to possibly risk your dogs life? Definitely not to me.

  • Brianna

    I personally would not feed Beneful. If you take a look above, the ingredients are not quality. Some of us on this site treat our dogs like our own children and would do anything for them. If there was even an inkling of doubt in my mind about a food’s quality, I would NOT feed it to my dog. This website and others provide very beneficial information on brands that have had no recalls and are safe, have ingredients only made in the USA and are healthy for your dog. Yes, thousands of dogs get sick and die each day, and yes there are a vast majority of reasons for dog’s deaths, but sometimes it could be due to the dog’s food, maybe not always, but sometimes (ie, chicken jerky from China). Please stick to foods with 4 or 5 stars from Dog Food Advisor everyone!!! They are all readily available on Chewy.com for delivery to you anywhere in the US. I would not shop at Walmart for dog food… Purina has recalls all the time, I would not trust them again.

  • Kathryn GrannyTenderstone Titu

    so just because we can’t prove it means we should take risks? I prefer to be more cautious, even though my dog food budget is not very big. One friend shared an anecdote about his dog that never ate anything but beneful and died of kidney failure: not proof, but there were many other anecdotes I received saying their dogs got sick from it.

  • Kathryn GrannyTenderstone Titu

    there are no textbook cases in human medicine or nutrition, so it stands to reason there are none with other creatures either. it pays to err on the side of caution always.

  • JellyCat

    I bet there is nothing that says that. This is because the author of this web side does not have resources and perhaps desire to investigate these claims. If he did post unsubstantiated claims, Nestle would sue the crap out of him and rightfully so.

  • JellyCat

    It is easy to make an unhealthy claim when you see sugar, artificial colours and propylene glycol in ingredient list. This food is also extraordinary high in carbs.

  • JellyCat

    The benefit of some higher priceed dog foods is not only nutritional dencity. It’s is quality of ingredients, better bio-availability (in some instances) and lack of toxic additives.

  • JellyCat

    Dogs did eat table scraps for years. At the same time I do not eat foods with propeleny glycol and artificial colours every meal. Also, my table scraps offer a great variety of high quality ingredients. By feeding Beneful you give your dogs colours, propylene glycol, and poor quality nutrients derived from pool quality scraps.
    There is a factor of genetics and environment involved and not every dog is predisposed to getting cancer and other conditions. But there is no doubt that you increase their chances greatly by feeding suboptimal nutrients and additives every meal. It is like getting side effects form medications in humans. Some humans get them, including life threatening, and some will never get any side effects from the same medication.
    There are also multiple law cases pertaining to medications, but you will always find people that survived using this medication without any issues. However, this still does not mean that medication is safe and should be allowed.

  • Babslynne

    And you are an ignorant old man stuck in his ways, that wouldn’t know the truth if it slapped him in the face.

    Get a clue, facts don’t lie. Read the ingredients and educate yourself. YOU are the one that is wrong here.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    What do you mean “ALL these people”? Don’t you realize that dogs thousands of dogs get sick and die every day? NONE of these cases have been proven to have been caused by eating Beneful. They are unproven allegations. Just because a dog gets sick and dies doesn’t mean it’s due to the food it’s been eating.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Overloaded shoulders? Have you ever looked to see who actually owns and manages this site? He’s doing it as a hobby and nothing else. This is true of most “informational” web sites unless they belong to somebody who is trying to sell something.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Where are you getting the idea that foods are “nasty”? The star rating is based solely on nutrition. If you want nutrition for a dog, feed them beefsteak.

  • Babslynne

    So ALL these people with sick or dead dogs are some how wrong, it couldn’t possibly be anything wrong with this dog food because your dogs SEEM to be just FINE!!!!

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Do you know what a rumor monger is? YOU ARE ONE!

  • Tina Louise Griffin

    Look I don’t need your comments and I know how old my dog was in human life. But he was healthy and all of symptoms came on suddenly. I truly believe that the dog food contributed to his health problem.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    There is NOTHING in the Dog Food Advisor that says that any brand is DEADLY. The Consumer Affairs reviews are worthless because none of them have any specifics. They’re all “my dog died and it must have been because it was eating Beneful” or “I gave my dog Beneful and it got sick.”

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    It’s unlikely that your dog’s liver disease came from his food, no matter which brand. There are supplements that help dogs with liver problems but they have to be diagnosed.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    There are a number of reasons why dogs have loose stools. You should have taken her to the vet to make sure she doesn’t have some kind of medical issue.

  • DogFoodie

    So, it sounds like you’re saying that you do know Beneful is a low quality food and yet you still feed it to your pets.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Finding bugs in dog food means that it’s old. It doesn’t mean the brand is bad.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    You might want to read the Dog Advisor’s review of Purina One. It’s no better than Beneful. Also, since you switched without doing it gradually, don’t be surprised if you dog develops loose stools.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    What are you basing your claim that Beneful is “unhealthy” on?

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    None of the people who claim they lost their dogs due to Beneful know that’s why they died. There are lot of things that can kill dogs. Note that the Dog Advisor DOES NOT SAY that Beneful or any other food is harmful, he merely shows the nutritional value. The benefit of the higher priced dog foods is that dogs need less of it to achieve the same nutrition.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Your niece’s dog probably had cancer. That’s what “growths on his skin” are, they’re tumors. Dogs with cancer will eventually start throwing up.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Remember that an 11-year old dog is equivalent to a 77-year old man or woman. Kidney failure comes from aging, not dog food.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Bear in mind that corn was a major source of food in North America before Europeans came.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    You should never just arbitrarily switch foods. Rather, it should be a gradual process. As I said in my post, our dogs have been eating Beneful for years and we’ve never had any kind of problems for it.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    If your dog is vomiting and has had a tumor removed in the past, there is a good chance your dog still has tumors. Our Golden Retriever had several lipomas removed and I thought a lump on her neck was just another but it turned out to be a mast cell tumor. She had a mast cell tumor removed from her ear but the cells had evidently already spread. Vomiting is a sign of cancer.

  • http://www.sammcgowan.com/ Sam McGowan

    Let me start this off by saying that we have been feeding our dogs – we’ve had four – Beneful for years and haven’t had any of the problems alleged in the lawsuit. I’ve also looked at the comments on Consumer Advisor; they all see to parrot each other and are mostly from people who had heard something about Beneful l then decided that must be what happened to their dog. With one exception, our dogs have all been healthy until they started having issues related to aging. The exception is our 13-year old female Chow mix who was discovered to have a pancreas problem right after we adopted her when she was a year old. She’s been taking supplements ever since and has had no problems with food. She’s been eating Beneful for years. Our male Chow mix came down with Parvo three days after we adopted him but he lived to be almost 13. He developed autoimmune hemolytic anemia and survived it but then our vet discovered a mass in his lungs and we finally had to put him down when his back legs became too weak for him to stand. Our female Golden had just turned 10 when we decided to put her down due to having developed mast cell tumors (common in Goldens) and it spread into her lymph nodes. We still have the female Chow mix and adopted a Lab mix in October at age four months. We started him on Purina Pro for puppies then switched him to Beneful when he was seven months old. He’s healthy, rambunctious and trim with a good coat. The whole deal about dog foods is very ironic because until about 50 years ago dogs were fed mostly table scraps. I grew up in the country and we always had dogs and they ate what we did. I don’t remember us ever losing a dog to any kind of health issue until the Parvo epidemic in the seventies years after I left home. I am currently 69 years old and have owned a number of dogs and have never lost one to any disease until this past year when we lost our boy dog and our Golden, both to cancers of different forms. (We have always fed our dogs commercial food purchased at the grocery store, Walmart or Target. No, the cancer did not develop in our dogs because of what we had been feeding them. If anything, the male developed cancer due to the drugs he took to beat the AIHA. Goldens are prone to mast cell tumors.) Remember that dogs have lived on whatever their masters had left over ever since they were first domesticated. There was no such thing as “dog food” until this past century. Now there are so many different brands that it’s impossible to keep up with them. I notice that all of the “good” brands are only sold in specialty stores (pet stores). I noticed in a lot of the complaints published on Consumer Affairs that the dogs involved were either older dogs or the owners had just switched from one brand to another without making a gradual transition. As far as the Beneful lawsuit goes, I place no stock in it. It is common for greedy attorneys to sue corporations with the intention of getting a substantial settlement out of court. It costs less to settle than to pay all of the legal and research expenses necessary to fight a suit in court and attorneys know this.

  • aquariangt

    If you’re shopping at Walmart, get Pure Balance, best thing they carry

  • Kirby

    Reading all the comments here has now made me realize that maybe things are not right with my dogs. The one also vomits every cpl days as well and I thought maybe he had just a sensitive stomach. 11 months ago I discovered a lump on his leg and had him checked out, it was a tumour. It was removed and I now have been trying to figure out why. Both my dogs are healthy and always get top comments when they see the vet but now after knowing about this, I am going to change dog food. I wanna keep my buddies with me as long as I can.

  • Bobbie

    I too have been feeding my German Shepherds Purina Beneful I have noticed skin sores and sores around their mouths also throwing up after figuring out that it was the food that was causing it I switched to another brand and are steadily showing improvement. Sad that the food we feed our pets can’t be trusted.

  • Christine Daley

    It has 2 stars not 5. And that is being generous!! Where do you see 5?? Pay attention??

  • Christine Daley

    No way!!

  • Christine Daley

    Purina one is junk too!! Just a little better junk!!

  • Christine Daley

    Purchase a healthy dog food!! Stop feeding this !!

  • Christine Daley

    They need more than vitamins on this food if you want to call it food. It’s all corn. And God knows what else. Cannot believe they get away with selling this crap. No protein!! Scraps from the slaughter house !! Dogs need good proteins not corn and poisons!!! Please listen. I am sure you love your pups and just didn’t know. Now that you do be an informed consumer and spend some time looking into a better food for your pup!!

  • theBCnut

    Have you read the ingredient panel and educated yourself about what is allowed to be in those ingredients? Have you noticed that it is full of artificial colors? Dogs don’t need to eat artificial colors and many of them are banned in human food because they are known to cause cancer, but they are allowed in dog food. Dogs also don’t need half of their diet to come from simple sugars or any added sugar. This food is comparable to living of Fruit Loops. Would you do that to yourself or your kids? You can feed your dog whatever you want, but that doesn’t mean there is nothing harmful in there.

  • Dawn Watson

    dogs are like people they have allergic reactions to different things, doesn’t mean there us something bad about the dog food its just that dog is allergic to it, and there are plenty others that are not.

  • Dawn Watson

    How do you know it was this food, did they do an autopsy to determine the exact cause. This article isn’t saying it harms, just saying the nutritional value in THEIR OPINION is not up to their standards. Nothing about it really being harmful. I feed my dogs this and include vitamins when they are feed.

  • Dog_Obsessed

    Just because a person likes a food does not make it a good food. Just because a dog likes a food does not make it a good food. Just because a person or dog dislikes a food does not make it a bad food.

  • Peggy Driscoll

    I seen 5 stars on their site from customers,IDK

  • theBCnut

    The only DUH here is you. I don’t feed this food. And frankly, with your nasty attitude, I’m glad you couldn’t figure out how to actually reply to the OP. nobody needs to be kicked when they are already down and I’m sure that now, after the OP has lost a family member, they certainly don’t need you to tell them that the food is bad or that they shouldn’t have fed it.

  • DUH

    There are plenty of reviews on line as to what this dog food is made of. I think you should blame yourself for feeding such trashy food. You feed your kids any old thing you see on TV just bcz of a commercial?

  • DUH

    Your dogs eat it bcz it is coated in trashy ingredients. These reviews have been available for years. I would never feed my dog a 1 star food

  • DUH

    uh no! No purina product gets 5 stars. They are all trash food.

  • Samm

    A dog will not starve itself, so even if it seems like they wont eat the new food, give them time, purina is like junk food, once you have junk food, healthy food doesn’t seem as fun,lol

  • Erin
  • Adam

    I previously fed my German Shepherd Purina dog food and will never do so again. He began having really bad diarrhea and would throw up (orange vomit) every few days or so. Disgusting… If you really love your dog steer clear of this product. I honestly don’t know how they get away with this..

  • Dori

    Dog Lover Plus posted this on a couple of the Purina reviews earlier today but I thought I’d post here too as Beneful is the food at the base of the latest class action suit against Purina.

    http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us

  • Bianca Gross

    I didn’t know…we’ve been feeding Beneful Healthy Weight for years…I’d always tried to change to some other kibble, but my mom would complain that the dogs wouldn’t eat anything they weren’t used too…lately my babies haven’t been acting the same and now I know why! Immediately changing their diet, like I’ve tried to do so many times in the past, regardless of what she has to say!

  • Megan

    Did you not read the review on purina one? Only 2 stars and NOT healthy. It has some of the same ingredients beneful did that could have been causing his sickness. Buy your dog food from a PET store. Walmart doesn’t count. And stop telling others to feed crap food when you don’t know what you are talking about. Research first. Nothing purina makes is good.

  • DAWN

    ?? I don’t think Purina one has 5 stars? I think every Purina product gets just 2 stars? Which isn’t a good rating :0/

  • Babslynne

    No, Purina one only gets 2 stars

  • Peggy Driscoll

    Yes I did it has 5 stars

  • DAWN

    Did you check on here how many stars Purina One has? Just curious

  • Peggy Driscoll

    I just bought Purina One and read the ingredients and searched on it and found it safe

  • Peggy Driscoll

    Try Purina One it it small bites and heathy and safe

  • Peggy Driscoll

    Thank you Dawn I did that night,we went to Walmart and we read all the ingredients in several bags and bought Purina One and he loves it

  • Dori

    Dog Love Plus posted this on a couple of the Purina reviews earlier today but I thought I’d post here too as Beneful is the food at the base of the latest class action suit against Purina.

    http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/class-action-lawsuit-claims-purinas-beneful-poisoning-killing-dogs-n312176

  • Brandon Hiserote

    Everyone on here keeps saying they have lost or know of someone who has lost their dog. However, no one seems to be saying how long they were feeding their dog this food before any signs took place including death of the dog.

  • DAWN

    I agree 100%

  • DAWN

    Stop…asap feeding this food :(

  • DAWN

    A very good friend of mine just lost her fur baby from this food :(

  • DAWN

    fruit loops are probably healthier!!

  • Tina Louise Griffin

    I feed my Jack Russell the healthy weight beneful. He went into kidney failure and I had to have him put down. Oh my gosh I can’t believe this. He is so dearly missed, he was 11 years old he was my four legged son. I had no idea that the food could have done this to my baby! I really trusted purina.

  • aimee

    Hi BCnut and Dog Obsessed,
    I see this differently. The recipes are still available in Small Animal Clinical Nutrition. They used to be in the appendix now they are incorporated into the chapter on making pet foods at home.

    The Mark Morris institute gives free access to the book on line so I don’t see that you could say they are money hungry. But I don’t know that those recipes are frequently recommended anymore as I think they are considered outdated.

  • theBCnut

    They sold out! I think dog food wasn’t raking in money hand over fist back then. A larger market share of a small market doesn’t mean much. And they did probably realize that most people wouldn’t go to the trouble of making homemade if they had an easy alternative.

  • Dog_Obsessed

    Oh, okay. I guess the industry overtook them eventually.

  • theBCnut

    They were a completely different group of people back then…

  • Dog_Obsessed

    I find it interesting that Hills would provide instructions on homemade diets, as it is a great thing but would probably take away some of their business. Maybe they weren’t so money hungry back then.

  • theBCnut

    Absolutely!! In most cases, a homecooked diet can be made that will do the same job as the Rx diet and be made with quality ingredients, and cheaper than the Rx diet. When Hill’s first came out with the Rx diets, they had a sheet that told owners how to make their own special home prepared diet for each of their formulas. The only difficulty was shopping for certain ingredients. That alone was enough to deter most people from making homemade. Now days, with the internet, it’s easy to find any ingredient, so they no longer provide the recipe, but any veterinary nutritionist should be able to help you formulate a quality diets for any dog with medical issues.

  • Peggy Driscoll

    I just heard about this today and I am sick about it my minpin eats the healthy weight and he seems like he is gaining weight we only give him 1 cup a day,in the morning we give him the wet beneful what should I do

  • Dog_Obsessed

    Makes sense now, thanks! :D

  • theBCnut

    You can’t have just one. That’s my new iThingy signature.

    Border Collies, potato chips, who knew?

  • Dog_Obsessed

    I agree with what you said, but I don’t get the last line. What about Border Collies and potato chips? :P

  • theBCnut

    I’m not at all opposed to foods for treating specific medical issues, if they are used as intended. What I do have issue with is that the companies that make these foods use inferior ingredients for their super premium priced foods. And that vets put dogs on them for life when they are often not intended for long term feeding.
    Border Collies, potato chips, who knew?