Taste of the Wild (Dry)


Rating: ★★★★½

Taste of the Wild Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Taste of the Wild product line includes nine dry dog foods, five claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages and four for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon
  • Taste of the Wild Pine Forest (4 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Sierra Mountain (4 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Wetlands Formula (5 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild High Prairie Formula (5 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Appalachian Valley Small Breed
  • Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Formula (4 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild High Prairie Puppy Formula (4 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Puppy Formula (4 stars)

Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 32% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 43%

Ingredients: Beef, peas, garbanzo beans, lamb meal, canola oil, egg product, wild boar, ocean fish meal, pea flour, brewers yeast, tomato pomace, flaxseed, natural flavor, salmon oil (a source of DHA), salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium animalis fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus reuteri fermentation product, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
Guaranteed Analysis29%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis32%17%43%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%35%37%
Protein = 28% | Fat = 35% | Carbs = 37%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The third ingredient lists garbanzo beans, also known as chickpeas. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (pulse) family of vegetables.

Garbanzos contain about 22% protein, something which must be considered when evaluating the total protein reported in this food.

The fourth ingredient is lamb meal. Lamb meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh lamb.

The fifth ingredient is canola oil. Unfortunately, canola can be a controversial item. That’s because it can sometimes (but not always) be derived from genetically modified rapeseed.

Yet others cite the fact canola oil can be a significant source of essential omega-3 fatty acids.

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The sixth ingredient is egg product, an unspecified (wet or dry?) form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The seventh ingredient is boar, an animal closely related to wild pig. Although it is a quality item, raw boar contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The eighth ingredient is ocean fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Unfortunately, the phrase “ocean fish” is vague and does little to adequately describe this ingredient. Since some fish are higher in omega-3 fats than others, it’s impossible for us to judge the quality of this item.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

The ninth ingredient is pea flour, a powder made from roasted yellow peas. Pea flour contains as much as 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, we find tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

In addition, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Taste of the Wild Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Taste of the Wild Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 32%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 43%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 32% and a mean fat level of 18%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 42% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 57%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the pea products, garbanzo beans, brewers yeast and flaxseed in this recipe, and the potato protein contained in other recipes, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Taste of the Wild is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meats as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Taste of the Wild Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to share news about coupons and discounts with others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is dependent upon the quality of the data a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

10/19/2016 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Crazy4cats

    I don’t have a bag. Better yet, taken off their website:


    Diamond Pet Foods began in 1970 with a shared vision. Our founders, brothers-in-law Gary Schell and Richard Kampeter, believed that premium pet food could be produced at an affordable price. Together, they purchased a former milling company in the town of Meta, Missouri (population 220), and the Diamond company was born.

    Soon, nutrition-conscious pet owners were validating Gary and Richard’s theory and buying Diamond Pet Foods products. Our plant in Meta was modernized with state-of-the-art equipment, and we expanded our production capacity in order to meet the growing demand with plants in Lathrop, California in 1999; Gaston, South Carolina in 2003; and Ripon, California in 2012.

    Today, Diamond Pet Foods remains one of the fastest growing pet food manufacturers in the country. Our products are trusted by professional breeders, trainers, veterinarians and pet owners in all 50 states and in 100 countries around the world. The second generation of Schell and Kampeter families still own and operate the company. And we still believe that every pet is worthy of the best nutrition. Including yours.

  • Beach Girl

    Read the bag. Nature’s Domain is made by “Schell & Kampeter,” which is the same company that makes TotW.
    Diamond may be the manufacturer, but Schell & Kampeter produce/market/sell both TotW and Nature’s Domain.

  • Beach Girl

    I don’t think it’s necessary to gradually switch foods. If a food is the problem, then changing completely and immediately would produce results you can see.
    Humans (and most wild animals) eat different foods all the time.
    I don’t know where the “switch gradually” advice started, but I don’t think it’s valid.

  • Beach Girl

    You’re right to stay away from Science Diet. It’s one of the lowest rated kibbles on here.
    Loose stools can be caused by several things. Sometimes, it’s simply a stress hormone that causes it. If you think it’s the kibble, try a different one. Orijen and Acana are highly rated, but expensive.
    I used to feed Natural Balance, but stopped when I saw the low rating (and because Natural Balance was using Diamond packaging).
    Here’s a “FYI”- Costco sells kibble called Nature’s Domain. It’s made by Schell & Kampeter, the same company that makes TotW, but it’s about half the price.
    My Labrador is going crazy with an allergy I can’t pinpoint; our vet only tested my Lab for environmental allergies, not foods.
    A local boutique pet store will send hair and saliva samples to a lab called Glacier Peak Holistics (you can order the test directly through GPH). They test for every possible food, including foods generally off limits for dogs (like onion & chocolate). The test is about $90 U.S., which is a lot less than what vets charge.
    We’ve tried a few small bags of Acana, and the Labrador seems to like it better than TotW and Nature’s Domain.
    She also does well on raw feeding, which I stopped doing recently because my life got too hectic for a few months.
    In my experience with my two dogs, raw feeding seemed to produce the best results- less poop (2 per day from the Lab instead of 4), less scratching (also the Lab), and she seems calmer on Acana. Also, on raw, the poops were firmer, lighter colored (because they’re eating bone), and less stinky.
    My dogs drink a lot of water no matter what they’re eating.
    Good luck finding a new food. We’ll be doing that today (probably Acana or Orijen).
    I’d like to go back to raw full time again, but need a bigger freezer.

  • Beach Girl

    Diamond is a processing company that dog food companies use. They’ve had so many recalls that I don’t trust any company that uses Diamond.

  • Susan

    Hi if you don’t want chicken meal or chicken fat then look at TOTW Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb or Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon or Southwest Canyon or Pine Forest or their Appalachian Valley small breed formula, you haven’t done your research on all the TOTW formulas..
    You’ve just read the ingredients to the High Prairie formula….I have seen some really poor kibbles that don’t have as many proteins as TOTW formulas & they’re full of carbs…

  • LS Nelson

    The buffalo is water buffalo, from who knows where. Bison is the 7th ingredient, or so, it depends on how much they can get. I got that in response to an email asking them why it’s called Venison and Bison when the first ingredient is buffalo. Most American consumers think that means bison, so I think TOW is one of the most misleading dog foods by label. Some of their other varieties have the “name” meat way down too. Read labels! Some have chicken or chicken fat (many want to keep away from that) or beef instead of boar…

  • Jmeezay

    So I started my rescue dog on Nutro, then switched to Canidae Grain-Free Pure. She liked it overall, but she’s always been finicky and it’s an expensive food. By comparing ingredients, I figured I’d try TOTW since it was less expensive than the Canidae. She really loves the food and I don’t have to talk her into eating it (again, she’s finicky!).

    I have noticed 2 things thus far. She drinks more water and poops less. At this point I’m assuming the latter is because her body is actually consuming the nutrients and so there’s less waste. At any rate, I would recommend it to anyone to give a try. We’re loving it thus far!

  • Deborah Congemi Krause

    Thank you so much. She actually calmed down with the H2O drinking but the information was helpful. Thanks again.

  • Susan

    Hi, yes my boy did the same when he first started TOTW Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb but then he evened out after a couple of weeks, I’m glad he’s drinking water as he was never a water drinker which worried me especially after long walks & eating a dry kibble, kibble needs water being dry.. here’s TOTW site I looked up High Prairie your dog is eating & it said only 0.3mg for Sodium Selenite http://www.tasteofthewild.com.au

  • Deborah Congemi Krause

    Does anyone know what the sodium content is in the buffalo/venison dry? I switched from Blue buffalo to this for many reasons but know I’m seeing her drink more water.

  • Sondra Peters

    I use Taste of the Wild Appalachian Valley Small Breed Dry Dog Food for my dogs, they love it and have never looked better, it’s gluten free and I’ll keep buying it !

  • Susan

    Hi, are you sure its not a coincidence, normally when they had food sensitivities they will get sloppy poos, start to smell yeasty, red paws, itchy smelly ears, rash on stomach is normally Environment allergies from grass or plant…. give baths twice a week, buy Malaseb Medicated Shampoo & leave on for 5mins massage into the skin, then rinse off, the Malaseb relieves the itch…
    You could stop the feeding the food & see if there’s an improvement, have a look at Canidae Pure Sea Canidae Pure formulas are excellent for dogs with skin problems…I feed the TOTW Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb it has the least ingredients & my Patch doesn’t have any reactions Thank-God…

  • Jordan

    I just started my 3 year old on this and he has developed a rash on his belly! It’s driving him crazy and I’m worried he’s going to scratch himself to infection.

  • Diane

    Susan does the Small Breed formula have chicken in it?

  • Diane

    I requested a sample of the Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb. Going to try that in addition to the Pure Vita Venison and Red Lentil to see if they like it and how they do. I never knew you should try different kibble food. I thought you should stick to one brand. I believe my one dog got the food allergies from being on the Wellness his whole life. He is 7 now.

  • Daniel

    it’s not rated here yet, but the GA is very similar to Southwest Canyon which is 5 stars.

  • Nicole

    TOTW has this new flavor called “Pine Forest Venison” available, anyone tried? What star it is?

  • Susan

    Hi Elise, what breed is your dog & what health problems (EPI) did he have at the time…

  • Elise Sheppard

    My husband’s dog almost starved to death on TOTW. I believe it was a peculiarity of the dog, not the food, since so many dogs do well on it. I started making his food, being careful to use approved ingredients and he looks great. He also was experiencing aberrant appetite, eating plastic, paper, etc. and that is gone now.

  • Susan

    Hi he’s TOTW site, click on the formula you are feeding look at the ingredients & it will tell you the Protein % next to the meats in that kibble, for the Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb it says, Lamb-17%, Lamb Meal-17%, Roasted Lamb-4%, other formulas will have more protein & this is TOTW Australian site….You can email TOTW & ask them to email what you need to know… http://www.tasteofthewild.com.au/portfolio-view/sierra-mountain/

  • LadyDiana214

    I had this problem with my guy for almost 2 years (loose stools & diarrhea, amongst other stomach issues)until about a month ago, when I put him on Orijen. The food before was having such a horrible effect on him, I had to abruptly stop it and abruptly start Orijen, but he had absolutely NO issues with the that and as a matter of fact, this food has truly worked MIRACLES for him! While I have learned that what works for one dog may not work for another, I also recommend you give Orijen a try. Just get a small bag. Besides the fact that it is truly TOP OF THE LINE , you only have to feed 1/2 of what you do with other foods (so don’t let the price scare you away) AND you can always return it for a refund if it doesn’t work for your dog (the place I got mine from said as long as I return it 1/2 full, I could get a full refund). My guy just finished his last bowl of it today and I am looking forward to picking up a new and BIGGER bag of it for him tomorrow 🙂

  • LadyDiana214

    that is ALOT of work to keep the kibble fresh. Why not just ensure to close the bag tightly (so that it has all excess air pushed out), store in a cool, dry place and finish it completely before opening a new bag?. I’m not sure why you would mix the old kibble with the new as that would be a sure way to ‘taint’ the new food if there are any issues with the old that come up!

  • LadyDiana214

    Orijen is approx 70-80% meat based (depending on the flavor combination).
    After almost 2 yrs of my dog having issues of diarrhea, vomiting, weight loss & refusal to eat ALL of the ‘quality’ dog foods I got for him (after about a week it became a struggle to get him to eat the food until he would just stop eating it altogether), I finally found Orijen and started my dog on a small bag.a few weeks ago. It has TRULY been the answer to all his problems and he continues to GOBBLE IT UP EVERY TIME! While it is expensive, he only needs HALF of the amount I was feeding him of the other pricey dog foods so it really is worth it! As much as I praise this food, I have also learned that dogs are as individual as we are. What works for my dog may not work for another and vice versa so I recommend to stick to those foods that have a guarantee if not completely satisfied can be returned for a full refund or exchange. It def helped me to keep the costs down.

  • Bandras

    Hi! Someone knows this food’s meat and vegetable content? (in percentage) [sorry for my bad english] 🙂

  • Crazy4cats

    They call it Bison on their ingredient glossary:


    Give them a call or an email to get the answer. Good luck!

  • Jason Simpson

    Ok, buffalo? There are only two kinds. The Cape Buffalo from Africa, and the Water Buffalo from Asia. So Africa and Asia. Where do they get the buffalo? Bison, is what most call a buffalo but they are different animals and are listed separately. So I’m wondering, China? Cheap, polluted China. Maybe I’m just worrying for no reason. Or?

  • Susan

    Hi I’ve return heaps of kibbles to Pet Circle & My Pet Warehouse, first you must ring or email the product company & tell them what’s wrong with their product.. Canidae is the worse they don’t return any emails or phone calls until you put it up on their F/B page & Pet Food Reviews F/B page… I had trouble with Under The Sun kibble 1/4 of the kibble was kibble crumbs/dust, then after I posted a video on Australian Canidae F/B page a lady from Canidae finally rung me back after 1 month & said she has contacted Pet Circle, you have to put the rest of the UTS kibble & kibble crumbs/dust in a box with ur name & put on your front porch/step & Pet Circle will be picking it up, then Pet Circle will refund your money back into your bank account that you paid with. Patch got real bad farts from the Canidae Pure Land & real smelly & itchy from the Canidae Platinum, so I contacted Canidae & they contacted Pet Circle & I had to pay for postage back to Pet Circle or they would pick up the rest of the open.Platinum bag & charge me $20 pick up fee, then there’s be times I didn’t get charge any fees, You need a nice call person I think…A few times I went post office & bought a 5-10kg plastic post bag & took out enough kibble till it was just under 10kgs, it didn’t cost much, cheaper then Pet Circle’s $20 pick up fee… Send an email to the product company, tell them the problems your having, its best to say the dog wont eat their food & ask them to ring you back so you can explain problems & tell them they have to contact Pet Circle so you will get a refund.. I’ve returned about 5 different kibbles 4 opened kibble bags & 1 un opened 12kg bag of Sunday Pets I had to pay a $20 re shelving fee when kibble bag is un-opened… that’s why I prefer to go to a pet shop… I haven’t tried “Ivory Coat” yet.. I wanted to try the Reduced fat Turkey formula but “Meals For Mutts” posted a post on their F/B page saying a kibble with high protein 32% & low in fat 10% is dangerous for senior dogs especially if they have kidney problems or other health problems so I’ve never tried Ivory Coats Reduced Fat Turkey formula plus the kibble size is too big & Ivory coat will not change the size of their kibbles… Meals For Mutts had to make their kibble size bigger people complained it was small so MfM has 2 sizes in certain formulas & Patch doesn’t chew big kibbles he swallows them & only chews the small kibbles…. Have you tried Canidae formulas, they have nice small kibble same as Holistic Select & Earthborn Holistic formulas…. Taste Of The Wild Sierra Mountain kibble isn’t big & it’s not small, its just right I suppose….I prefer smaller kibble so if they gulp their kibble, when kibble is small the kibble digest easier then a big kibble, Nutragold kibbles are big….. Here’s my email address if you want to ask something you don’t want to post [email protected]

  • Amateria

    Yeah I’ve been emailing them for some time now, just had an attitude whenever I asked about samples and when I wanted another sample she probably thought I wanted as much of the food as I could get for free which wasn’t the case.

    I’m not sure how pet circle or warehouse deal with foods you’ve opened though as I buy from them, I’ve tried to return two items and they told me if its been opened we can’t help you! Like how am I supposed to try it without opening it? Lol

    They wanted to ring me too, but we had a yesterday’s doctors appointment lol you read that right, we were even given a warning letter that we missed the doctors appointment scheduled for the day before, the day that had ended long ago haha and so they couldn’t get in touch with me like that and maybe that’s why their so un trusting of me I don’t know.

    Unless I have to, at this point I’d rather not email them ever again, if you don’t want to accept the envelope than tell me, but seriously don’t ignore me, it’s just plain rude.

  • Susan

    Hi, did you email or ring the Australian company “Arnhem Pet Products” ? they import TOTW & Nutragold….ask for the TOTW Booklet…
    The lady in Australia sent me out a small box containing 3 samples of each formula except their new formulas Appalachian Valley & Pine Forest, we didn’t have those formulas in Australia yet…When I contacted some American pet food or supplement companies none would send out any samples from America. I’ve emailed Canidae, Wellness, Holistic Select & others & they all said they don’t have or send samples to Australia, it’s too expensive for the postage, they say, just buy kibble & if your dog doesn’t eat it, then their food is refundable just take back the bag to where you bought it from…..here’s Arnhem link, scroll down to the bottom right & click on email link… I think the lady rung me back cause I asked a heap of questions, it was when TOTW changed their Pacific Stream formula & added Garbanzo beans & Australia & few other countries still had the old formula…. Cause Patch has IBD I was worried, I had just started him on the TOTW Pacific Stream & he was doing real well & I didn’t want him eating Garbanzo beans, peas give him wind, so Garbanzo beans would probably cause wind bowel problem as well….. I told the people on the EPI & IBD F/B groups that TOTW Pacific Stream is changing formula soon, some people & I emailed TOTW telling them we have dogs with EPI, IBD & Skin Allergies that are doing really well on their Pacific Stream formula, its the only grain free kibble in Australia that has NO PEAS, Garbanzo Beans, Lentils & Purified Water reverse osmosis, then I got an email from TOTW International advisor & he said TOTW have discussed the situation & won’t be changing their Pacific Stream Formula, their Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon will stay the same pea & garbanzo FREE in Australia & a few other countries…..
    If a pet food company is willing to change their formula to come to Australia & go thru all the crap they have to go thru then they good in my books, I’ve contacted a few other American & New Zealand pet food companies about their pet foods & products & these companies have said NO, they wont be importing their kibble or supplements to Australia cause of our strict guidelines that need to be followed, So that’s telling me I’m glad my Patch isn’t eating these foods & supplements..
    The Pet food Companies that do obeyed by these strict guidelines are:
    Royal Canine, Earthborn Holistic, all of Well Pet kibbles, TOTW, Ziwi Peak, K-9 Natural & there’s probably a few more.. I know Hills Science Diet DON’T bother changing any ingredients in their formulas, Hills just bring over what will pass & don’t bring the pet foods over that contain Lamb, Fish or Venison…. http://www.tasteofthewild.com.au/

  • Amateria

    What was their reaction to you asking for samples like?
    The first time I asked it was like I was trying to steal all their money with all these sample send outs lol, to be honest they were very rude to me.

    I asked a 2nd time to try another flavour as I missed out on getting samples from a store while we were on vacation, my bad! Anyways I asked if I could send an envelope so they could send me another sample and I got a rude reply, so I told them but it doesn’t cost anything if I send the envelope at least I think that’s how it works and no reply at all after that…

    That’s kinda why I didn’t want to email them back about certain things, because sometimes they were nice but most of the time they acted like children.

  • Susan

    Hi Crissy give it a go & see how your dog does, TOTW is money back guaranteed.. I listen to the bad comments & didn’t try for a couple of years. My boy has IBD & Skin Allergies then I read on a few Face Book groups site for dogs with EPI, IBD & food/skin alllergies group the dogs were doing really well after being on TOTW, so finally I gave TOTW a try in March 2016 & my dog is doing really well now, I want to try the new Appalachian Valley Small Breed formula next… you can email TOTW & ask for samples of the formulas your interested in, the samples are pretty big about 2 cups of kibble…

  • Crissy Ellis Jones

    So is taste of the wild good dog food? It’s says it is but then I read these comments and I’m not sure? Was thinking of buying my toy chihuahua some but if it’s not good then I need to know what is lol

  • Amateria

    Something to think about I guess and yeah sadly there’s a lot of people like that.

  • Susan

    If you mean me, your wrong, If I was talking about you I’d mention your name… I’m talking about people always posting & knocking all Diamond products & some have never even feed Diamond, people can’t seem to let things go… I remember when I started posting on DFA & you feed raw & always talked about feeding all your crew raw & filling up your freezer with this meat & that meat, then all of a sudden your a kibble feeder now???

  • theBCnut

    No, the last part was about someone here who responded to you just to take a snipe at me. And as far as recall alerts go, Diamond has never been quick to recall when they know they have a problem. They only recall after the FDA threatens them with a lawsuit.

  • Amateria

    Is the last part about a certain someone from the company?

    Think about it like this though, if you’ve had that many bad experiences (I’m not sure how many recalls they had altogether soz) with them just don’t use them or worry over using them as there are so many fantastic foods out there, just use them and be happy that your dogs can get the best life has to offer them by using the better ones, the ones that don’t make you wonder if one day your dog may die from them.

    If I was to use Totw I would sign up for recall alerts like no bloody way I wouldn’t, but it’s been awhile since they had any and I feel that maybe their in the clear for now, but how long that clear lasts I don’t know. Things happen with pet and human foods everyday in some form, we can either trust a company and hope for the best or we can make our own food and treats, which also have a chance of causing problems because our food is no safer than theirs in the long run, unless we have our own farm with our own goods than just maybe.

  • theBCnut

    My dogs and/or cats have been affected by every. single. recall. they have had, except the last cat food recall. So obviously, I am capable of trusting them after a recall and trying again, but after the last one, it became a lot harder for them to earn my trust, and earn it they must. And if “somebody” thinks we don’t know all the detail and what was involved or that we are not justified in our distrust of that company, well that just goes to show how much thought went into her opinion. I know you put more thought into things than that, she is just trying to get a dig in on me, as she used to always do. I thought she was finally beyond that behavior. Obviously not.

  • Susan

    Hi I’ve never seen a long haired Staffy before, I’d love to see a photo…what I do is I try & get the same size bags of kibble with the same use by dates as this is the same batch, I never buy the real big bags of kibble, kibble only last around 2-3 weeks after opening it, I buy the 6kg bag & when I open it, I put about 1kg kibble in an air tight container that I use daily then I fold all the air out of the TOTW kibble bag & sticky tape the bag close, (I wish they’d make clip sealed bags) then I get a big shopping plastic bag & put the TOTW kibble bag in the plastic bag & tie a knot then I turn the kibble bag around & put in another shopping plastic bag on the kibble bag then I put the kibble bag in an big plastic container, those plastic containers for storing clothes & stuff & store in my cool room….try mixing some of the new kibble with the older kibble, every time I get a new bag of kibble, when I’m 1/2 way down in the plastic air tight container of the old kibble, I put 1/2 the old kibble in a big bowl & I wash the air tight container in warm soapy water, then dry & I add & mix 1/2 the older kibble & add 1/2 the new kibble….

  • Susan

    I really believe Diamond has learnt from it’s mistakes, it’s people that wont forgive & forget & have to always bring it back up, there were other kibble companies involved in the big recall as well but people don’t seem to remember their names….

  • Amateria

    Hopefully not to many I really do like their foods, but if it really feels that bad to you than maybe just don’t ever use it again, nothing is really worth feeling bad over.

  • theBCnut

    It looks like that last recall finally made them stop and think, for once. I wonder how many years of no recalls it will take for me being willing to risk their food again.

  • Amateria


  • Crazy4cats

    Thanks for the info, Amateria, good stuff!

  • Amateria

    Ripon and Gaston plants are approved for Australia.

    We are aware of the last recall.

    Not sure if you are aware of this, there are full time micro biologists in every plant now. They conduct a lot of tests each day/week/month to make sure our food is safe.

    Below are the on-site production testing breakdown:

    1,075 Mycotoxin Tests/week
    1,300+ Microbiological Tests/week
    180 Oxidative Stability Tests on Fats & Oils/month
    R6,000+ Ingredient Nutritional Tests/month
    45,000+ Finished Product Nutritional Tests/month
    18+ hours of Employee Safety Training per employee/year
    600+ Safety Assessments/year
    There is a detail explanation on our website, please check it out: http://www.tasteofthewild.com.au/quality-composition/food-safety/

  • Amateria

    Likely because there isn’t a great deal of meat like it seems there is, the Australian website the Arnhem one not the other one there’s 2 anyways has actual percentages listed.

    Fish one has 21% salmon so it’s not half bad actually, duck one has 12.5% of duck and duck meal and only 1% of that is quail and turkey and roast duck, bison one has 12% bison and 4% venison, boar is made predominantly of beef at 18% with only 4% actual boar, lamb has a total of 38% lamb, puppy bison is 10.5% bison, puppy salmon has a total of 23% salmon, the two new formulas have 10% venison respectively so some formulas don’t really have much meat at all to be honest and some are quiet decent.

    Listed every single formula in case anyone wants to know 😛

  • Jon Hall

    Why do you think TOTW does not cost more since it has a lot of good meats in it?

  • Jon Hall

    Has anyone ever wondered why taste of the wild is such a good value? For the amount of meat you get, I would expect the price to be higher. I am a little new to the dog food discussions, so this may have been discussed in the past.

  • Susan

    Hi, I have a boy with IBD & TOTW is the only food he does real well on the TOTW Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb it’s a life stages kibble so ur pups can eat it…His poos are small only 2 a day he was drinking water when he first started on TOTW Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon then I changed to the Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb & have no problems… I would take back as TOTW is money back guaranteed get a refund either try one of TOTW life Stages formulas email TOTW ask for their booklet with all their formulas & some samples & tell them what’s happening… Have a look at Canidae Pure Foundation Puppy Formula its grain free or their “Life Stages” All life Stages Formula or their Life Stages Duck Meal Brown Rice & Lentils Large Breed Puppy formula & see how they go, When a food isn’t working change it, see if its money back & get ur money back that’s what I do with Patch also when you do find a food they do well on try & find another brand kibble with a different protein that they do well on as well & rotate between the 2 brand or 3 brands this way if 1 brand kibble is lacking something cause your rotating their kibbles they aren’t on it to long to get ill go on Rodney Habib Face Book page he has a post saying add 1 TBSP of this can make pet food better & Steve Brown says to add tin Sardines in oil or water & add mussels 1 tablespoon… https://www.facebook.com/rodneyhabib?fret=ts

  • theBCnut

    If you haven’t figured out the answer to you question yet, it’s because Dr. Mike tries to use an average formula to represent the whole line when he dissects the types of ingredients the company uses.

  • theBCnut

    Puppy formulas are usually higher in both protein and fat.

  • hcolumbia

    I think it’s because they rate it on the highest protein, and puppy formulas have less protein in them. Rest assured TOTW Puppy formula is well worth the money. I feed my adult medium sized dog TOTW Pacific formula and he thrives on it. You get the most bang for your buck and it’s readily available where I am.

  • Amateria

    A lot of people have had issues with taste of the wild and increased thirst which led to increased urination, as for the poop I don’t know ( I likely just don’t freaking remember ) …

    Apparently there are increased poop reports on a forum mentioning taste of the wild so it appears to be happening to others as well.

  • Hanna Taylor

    I currently have 2, 17 week old Great Danes who I switched over to Taste of the wild puppy formula , before they were on Purina large breed growth formula. I did the typical transition. They have been on it for approximately 1 month. Since being on it I have noticed and increase in urination and deification. Before they were maybe defecating twice a day and now its more like 4 times a day. My one Great Dane will not sleep through the night anymore either. He has to go out to urinate at least twice a night where he was sleeping through the night before. Any suggestions?

  • KariN

    YES! having been on this food for a year or so, we were really happy. they about a month ago, 3 of our 4 dogs got super itchy, One is now on antibiotics for a skin infection due to scratching so hard she broke the skin! Hair loss (so much hair loss), soft and runny poops, chewing feet and legs, bellies…bumps and raw patches….its horrible! TOTW has assured me that all they did is add salmon oil. I’m not sure I’m a believer. When I called them,I got to talk to a vet who assured me they did nothing but add the salmon oil. And tell my we must have ringworm or fleas because the symptoms I described could not POSSIBLY have come from food allergies. At first I thought he was joking…..He wasnt.

  • Tina

    Dr Heldman,
    Thank you for your input. I am always thrilled with you and the customer service team at TOTW. I did not realize how much of a sensitive stomach bulldogs can have when I got Penny. I am starting to become more and more aware of the stomach problems the longer I have her.I look forward to trying the new formulations being sent to me. I will keep you updated. I have heard that your Taste of the Wild formulations often do the trick as opposed to being put on very expensive diets that are sold by vets.

  • Amateria

    Anyone know where their duck and quail is sourced from? Or will I have to ask them?

  • jccmrfrd

    Just an observation: “You people…” is a condescending and ignorant way to reply to a comment on dog nutrition.

  • Susan

    Yes Apoquel is the NEW wonder drug but when skin is all cleared up & when winter is approaching start reducing the Apoquel & stop giving it…or when allergies are low.. It’s a new drug & we are just learning of side effects, Apoquel is best given short term, please read side effects, also add a dog Omega 3, 6 & 9 Oil to diet, it will help the skin/coat & joints…..Glad your dog has finally found some relief…

  • Jona Mariz

    Switching between food, especially with pups, need to be gradual. When you were switching, did you do it in one go?

    Continue feeding him with what he is having now and introduce the new kibble you choose slowly.

    I would personally recommend Orijen. It is pricey, but you do not have to give as much as you would when buying other kibbles.

  • EmpatheticRN

    Hi Scott, I am new to this site as I just rescued a senior English Lab and was looking for a quality food that will help him maintain his weight and help with senior arthritis. I saw your comment, so I thought that I would reply to you and I hope that you can see this. I have an almost 7 yr old Golden Retriever and from the time I adopted her at 6 months, she has had severe skin allergies that always resulted in staph infections. Or, so I thought. I have spent a fortune having allegy testing done, and she’s allergic to molds, dust mites and storage mites (in bags of dry dog foods). My vet basically told me that to avoid these things, I would have to live in Antartica. So, she was constantly on antibiotics, both oral and sprays, antibiotic shampoos, ear drops, wipes and allegy medicine once a day. NOTHING HELPED! I was at the Vet’s office every other month with her. Staph infection was all over her belly, on the inside of her legs, on her hips, between her toes and once she tore all of the hair off of her tail over night, that it looked like someone had a pillow fight in my bedroom. As soon as she was cleared up after 2 weeks of EXPENSIVE oral antibiotics, the staph infections started again. Back in December, she had a nasty “hot-spot” on her back, right by her tail that looked so bad, that I called the VET’s office, AGAIN!! and insisted that someone see her as I was afraid that the infection would go systemic. My Vet wasn’t available that day and I told them that she had to be seen and I would take any vet. So, I saw a young new vet and she looked at it, and looked at the pages of notes on her history. She said that there was a pill, “that was now more avaliable, than before”, that STOPS ITCHING. Really, my dog must have done her scratching while I was at work, or in the middle of the night, because I didn’t notice any out of the ordinary scratching. But she always had these nasty red, scabby staph infections that nothing helped and would only clear up on oral antibiotics. The miracle drug for my dog is call APOQUEL. Her infections cleared up immediately and haven’t returned, AT ALL! It is about $50/month for my size dog but it is worth it to me as she is completly clear. I will finish up the allergy medication and try and see if she really needs it because let’s face it….the 3 things that she’s allergic to, are found everywhere and all dogs are exposed to them. And to think, my poor dog suffered for 6 years with all of this BS. You might want to try Benedryl first, to see if it is just itching. Ask your vet first, (one that your trust to do right by your dog) and ask about APOQUEL.

  • Azul

    You should be able to return the TOTW. Just tell them it gives your dog diarrhea.
    I use grain free 4health from Tractor Supply. My dogs do great on it. 🙂

  • Andrew Price

    Hello all,

    I recently adopted a long haired staffy and pup him on TOTW High prairie. He ate it fine with firm stools. The wife and I went on a anniversary trip and he got loose stools while my parents watched him (this was his first time there).

    They gave him nutro and it firmed them up. We get him back, finish out the high prairie and switch to pacific stream. Go though a 5 pound bag with firm stools, pup loved it, so got the 30 pound bag.

    Now he has has loose stools for 4 days! Anyone have an idea ablut what it could be? We took him to the vet and they confirms he does have environment allergies, but he got a shot two days ago for it. Should I switch his food? (Vet recommended science diet, but think I’m gonna pass on it). Natural balance maybe? Don’t want to spend over $50 for food.

  • Susan

    Be careful with the antibiotics, antibiotics kill all the good bacteria in the gut….. Feed some sardines in spring water, add a couple sardines with his kibble boost his omega 3 fatty acids…Yes he could be allergic to the fleas salvia. When 1 flea bites Patch, he goes nuts & starts itching like crazy…..probably a combination of the 2, environment & flea bites..

  • Gabriel Gonzales

    Thanks for the info….took him to
    The vet today….they said it was either allergies or fleas but he didn’t have a lot of fleas so I’m
    Thinking allergies….they gave him some medicated shampoo and antibiotics so see if it clears up soon…will
    Invest in some of those wipes also

  • Susan

    Sounds like Environment allergies, baths are the best to wash off any pollens & allergens, normally when they have food sensitivities they have very sloppy poos sometimes with blood streaks thru the poo…..

  • Susan

    Hi Gabriel, yes this sounds like environment allergies baths are the best for this & I use Huggie baby wipes Cucumber & Aloe & wipe down Patches fur/skin down when we come back from walks, when I cant bath Patch… Buy a good shampoo, I use Malaseb medicated shampoo the Malaseb relieves any redness & itchy skin.. Bull dogs & Pit Bulls are prone to skin & stomach problems.. When they have food sensitivities they normally have sloppy poos, sometimes streaks of blood thru poos, my boy also gets red paws 20mins after eating an ingredient he’s sensitive tooo… the lumps are hive like lumps are from the environment. Patch gets lumps all on the white fur on his body, best is to give a bath with a good shampoo for allergies…

  • Sanz

    Is the new appalachian valley flavor for small breeds going to be reviewed?

  • Sanz

    Is the new Appalachian Valley Canine Formula with Venison & Garbanzo Beans for Small Breeds going to be reviewed?

  • theBCnut

    He may have a staph infection going on. Those can start to spread from the original location.

  • Gabriel Gonzales

    I was thinking that but then I noticed small bumps along his back so I’m starting to think it’s possibly the food….??

  • theBCnut

    This is usually a sign of a contact allergy. He may have an issue with your grass when it is pollenating. Or you may have used a new cleaner on the floor or laundry detergent on his bed. Look into where he likes to lie down.

  • Gabriel Gonzales

    Have been feeding TOTW WILD HIGH PRARIE and just recently noticed rashes under my pups armpits and chest area anybody else have this
    problem before? he is about 19 weeks and a pitbull/bulldog mix

  • Minna O’Leary

    Agree Nikki – Cactuslady needs some long overdue education. Shame on you Cactuslady for suggesting vets and MD’s are all in it for the money. We work hard, have invested much time and effort into our education so that we can help people and animals who are ill. God help you if you are ever in need of a physician when you are sick or injured. Your attitude needs to be straightened out.

  • Laynie

    Hi Scott.
    I’m not a vet, but I have a pit mix with allergies so I have done a TON of research and had the same symptoms your dog is having. According to my vet, pits and pit mixes commonly have a chicken allergy. That should be the first ingredient you try and isolate out. My dog also has a beef allergy, which causes hard bumps on his body. Chicken and beef are snuck into a lot of food/treats so be sure to read every ingredient. “meal”, “by-products”, “chicken protein” etc. Not just their food, but treats, raw-hides, etc. Even eating another animals poop who has eaten an allergen can cause a reaction.
    I would recommend the salmon dog food of this brand. My poor pup can pretty much only have fish based protein, which is often recommended for dogs with allergy issues.
    Hope this helps!! Good luck.

  • Nikki

    First of all I am not a vet. Second why are you on a dog food review site if you don’t like any dog foods? While I agree most commercial dog foods out there use inferior ingredients I don’t know how you can say they all are crap. Have you worked for every dog food manufacturer out there? While homemade food is probably best it just isn’t practical for many people. This site is a great place to go to get information on different foods and feedback from others who have tried them. I’m not sure what your hangup is about doctors and vets but I hope you or your pet never has to depend on one to save your life.

  • cactuslady

    You won’t educate me, baby! Yeah, right, it’s not about the money….gotta pay those big loans back. You people are just like, MD’s never think out of the box. Invested in big Pharma and bought off. If you did you would know that all dry and wet dog foods are garbage. The dog food companies are all about the money. The cheapest by products they can find even the grain free crap is crap. All cheap by products.

  • Nikki

    And went through YEARS of schooling to EARN that title to educate ignorant people like you! A good vet is not about the money.

  • cactuslady

    Are you kidding……it’s about the money, I wish you people would stop putting MD’s and Vet’s on a pedestal! Get a grip, they are just people with a title. And have a license to prescribe pharmaceuticals.

  • Scott Gmcg

    Dr. Heldman,

    First let me say thank you very much for the thorough reply it is greatly appreciated. I cannot believe a pet food company actually has a Veterinarian reply to inquiries I think that is amazing. I will be telling all my friends that have pets about this quality service.
    The dog’s name is Sophia (4 years old and with me for a little over 2 years) I am not sure of her breed as I got her from the local shelter but I think she has some terrier/pit bull for sure. I have included a picture of her and her “sister” Chloe Gagne. I just had the testing done a couple of weeks ago and we are just getting started with controlling all factors. I asked them for a list of foods that she could eat and I didn’t see your company on there so that is why I asked about what you may offer. I looked at the list again after getting your emails and that one food you recommended was actually on the list so I missed it the first time.
    The reason I had the test done is she get’s these sores on her belly and only on her belly/inner thigh area. They got really really bad and even now they don’t seem to be healing all that well. I’m trying everything I can to get her better. Her sister Chloe is diabetic and recently had two surgeries so I’m not a stranger to special needs if that helps.
    I really appreciate all this help and if nothing else you now have a loyal customer provided Sophia tolerates the food. I can provide the testing results if that helps because I am also looking for a wet food to top her dry on occasion. I know the Pacific Stream wet had some things she doesn’t tolerate.


  • Susan

    Hi my boy is 18kg=40lbs & I feed 2 cups of the Sierra Mountain Roasted lamb (338Kcals per cup) + under 1 cup cooked lean pork made into a baked rissole with 1 spoon pumkin & 2 spoons sweet potatoes, If I don’t feed the Cooked pork rissole meal then Patch gets a extra 1/2 cup TOTW kibblke, try feeding 3 cups & watch body weight… I weigh my boy weekly, he has IBD & drops in weight very quickly, he loves the Sierra Mountain Lamb he was eating the Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon but would vomit every now & then, he was gulping the smoked Salmon kibble & not chewing the kibble then he’d spew undigested kibble, if I didn’t catch him when he spewed, he’d eat the spewed undigested kibble.. lol TOTW is the only kibble Patch has done real well on with his IBD & food sensitivities….I wish I tried it earlier..

  • DashingWhovian221

    I’ve had two of my dogs on the Pine Forest formula for around a month and they are THRIVING. I used to feed them Blue Wilderness Salmon Recipe but they ended up with a yeasty ear a couple times a year, so I decided to try something without chicken or potatoes (the former being a common sensitivity, the latter being starchy and not great with yeasty dogs). The Pine Forest formula was one of the only formulas that contained no grains, chicken, corn, or potatoes for less than $60 a bag. If you’re interested in switching out, the Southwest Canyon formula is just as good and also chicken and potato free.

  • SilverPig

    I have been using taste..wild since 07′ recommended by my vet . at first they gained a lot of weight because I was feeding them the same amount as my premium dog food. I found out that these higher than premium brand contain more digestible meat, fish, etc. They can use all the nutrients. U’ll see their volume of poop declined significantly. I used to scoop up two shopping bags of poop a week for my two dogs. Now barely 1/4 of bag. This is because they can digest most of the food. Unlike dog food wi fillers [buy products, some sort of meals, corn …].
    I now feed my 50# dogs 2/3 of a cup per day (previous brand I gave them 2 cups per day). In the morning to decrease separation anxiety, I put 2 table spoons of pnut butter in a Kong tire traxx and freeze it overnight. They get it when I leave for work.
    I really like taste..wild. I have rotated the various taste..wild variety so they get something new every couple of month. It’s actually cheaper cause u feed less. I also give them one raw egg per day.
    We run about 30 miles a week, too..

  • Minne_gurl125

    Anyone else noticed the calorie count is kind of low for for how high the Protein, Fat, Fiber is for this one?

    How much did you feed? My dog is 50 lbs

  • Clifford

    allergies? food, maybe…check the ingredients. If you had good results with Wellness, why not switch back and see if the rash goes away?

  • Shavina J

    I bought my puppy food at a Feed Store. My poor puppy had really bad diarrhea. I switched to Tasteof the Wild puppy food and she hasn’t had any case of diarrhea since. There is something in this dog food that isn’t agreeing with majority of the puppies/dogs.

  • Lia Brown

    I have an 11 month old German Sheppard/Rottweiler mix (that may also have some pit and lab mixed in according to everyone we meet). Got him from the animal shelter about 6 months ago. He was started on Wellness puppy food and then I switched him to TOTW High Prairie formula about 3 months ago because a friend’s sister’s dog was doing so well on it and had such a beautiful coat. Two weeks ago I realized that the food I had was adult formula so I switched to the TOTW High Prairie puppy formula. Since then my dog has developed a rash in the armpit area and is scratching more than usual. Does anyone have any idea if there is something in the puppy formula he could be reacting to, or do you think that he is having a seasonal reaction that coincidentally coincides with the food? I have to also state that the last 3 days, while waiting for my new shipment of TOTW High Prairie Adult food to come, I have been feeding him Rachael Rays Nutrish Beef, vegetables and fruit formula, adding in olive oil, a benedryl once/day and spraying with Vets Best Hot Spot spray and the hot spot seems to be getting better. What do you all think? Is the TOTW Puppy Formula the culprit or is it environmental allergies? I’ve never had a dog with this before. Had two Rott/Boxer Mixes (RIP) before this puppy and never dealt with allergies.

  • Roberta Liford

    I notice the TOTW newest formula dry (adult) Pine Forest, Venison, is not listed. It looks really good to me and I’m going to try it. I also don’t understand why a 4 star puppy formula is used for the TOTW rating, when 3 of their adult formulas get 5 stars.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m very happy for you, Susan! I’m sure it’s a relief. I wish you continued success for you and your pup!

  • DogFoodie

    Wow! He really has come so far. You’ve been so patient, worked so hard, and have learned so much in your effort to help him.

    Good luck with the Canidae! I hope it works as well.

    Have you had him on TOTW for a while? There are so few foods that my sensitive pup can eat that when I finally found something that he seemed to do well on, I decided to keep him on it for a little while to give him some time to heal. I’ve also found that my guy has pretty distinct environmental sensitivities and it’s tough figuring out to what he’s reacting, and whether it’s the food or the environment, when I’m switching foods all the time.

    But, I really am happy to hear about Patch and I know you’ve worked really hard to get him there. That’s very commendable.

  • Susan

    Yes finally its taken 3 yrs lol, maybe his stomach & bowel has gotten better & stronger, now he can eat potatoes & sweet potatoes, I’m going to try the Canidae grain free next the Pure Land…. Canidae has some new formulas they’ll be here in June but we have problems with Canidae in Australia, it sells out too quick, Canidae mustn’t order enough, then you have to wait till the new month for the next shipment to come…Canidae mustn’t have a warehouse like the other American kibble companies have here in Australia, something is wrong..

  • Susan

    The only formula that has Tapioca is the new Pine Forest canine formula…I have TOTW book & I’ve looked thru all their formula’s cause my boy itches when he eats Tapioca.

  • DogFoodie

    Hi Susan,

    So glad you’ve found something Patch does so well on! That’s great news!

  • CoolSpring Labradors

    Susan i suggest you look at some of their below 32% protein totw bags…they do indeed use it.

  • Melanie

    Totally agree. People are always going to nag about this food. My sweet 87 pound lab has the best coat he’s ever had thanks to this food. I would never feed him purina. Costco’s ingredients are even better than purina.

  • CoolSpring Labradors

    Your correct I did edit it for better flow but was not sure of your original intent from your post as it read as a challenge so I edited to see what your response would be….when it comes to pet foods what works best for your dog is quite a conundrum from the old days. Thus the issues that were once simple are now complex for many reasons. We offer as users experience and knowledge to others here to help others not to challenge or overwrite others here. best of luck to you. My experience may differ from others but I actually called the owners of this company and the one I spoke to was quite rude about the recall of TOTW and apparently in business they are quite heavy handed with their client too…with that we choose not to use it as did a few stores here with regard to product liability and public confidence. That is their choice but please don’t take my posting as personal and specific to you, it posted for everyone. All we need is one company to form that makes the finest and vast array of dog foods that meets the standards well above the non-standardized and seldom regulated existing pet foods marketplace in the US of A. All the best.

  • Susan

    Gee I wish I took a photo of your first post, that’s not what you said in your first post, you have edited it now, your first original post you wrote “you feed Costco puppy & it’s good food with good results”, now it’s gone, you have deleted it…. that’s why I replied to your first post saying “also the puppy food at Costco is made by Diamond” why else would I post that for…… a lot of dogs with EPI & IBD are doing really well on the Taste of The Wild Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon & the Kirkland Signature Salmon, finally I gave in & started my IBD & Skin Allergy boy on the TOTW Pacific Stream & his skin coat is beautiful & shinny & his acid reflux has gone & his poos are 1/2 the size & the firmest that they have been..Diamond has had their problems in the past but as long as they have learnt from their mistakes…

  • Susan

    Yes that’s it, you have explained it better..

  • LabsRawesome

    I use Costco’s Kirkland Nature’s Domain in my rotation
    My dog’s coats look great on it.

  • Crazy4cats

    Kirkland Signature’s Nature’s Domain is similar to TOTW, but not the same. However, they are both manufactured by Diamond.

  • CoolSpring Labradors

    Kirkland signature is not Taste of the Wild, this company would never rebrand their direct product line, in fact I just looked at it’s ingredients yesterday…that is incorrect. I always take a picture of the ingredients, this way IO can compare to see not only what’s in it, but want may have changed if our results have changed with the dogs. Some have tapioca some use other fillers to help the bowel movement…all of Costco’s food is made by Diamond yet under the specific formula by Costco same as Sam’s Club which is made by Purina to their specific formula. Over a decade ago Sam’s club exceed was basically a dead on copy of Eukanuba Performance and it was outstanding food they then went to another and then another and then another supplier now being Purina. We never get good coats on anything from Costco or Sam’s. They are brittle and dry every time.

  • Susan

    Hi, send “Taste of The Wild” an email.. telling TOTW that your getting a new large breed puppy & can you please have some samples & their booklet with all their formulas & ingredients & Guaranteed Analysis … http://www.tasteofthewildpetfood.com/formula-finder/formula-results/ also some of their other formulas are all Life Stages formulas, Pine Forest, Sierra Mountain & South Canyon….

  • Susan

    Taste of the Wild doesn’t have Tapioca in their formulas.., also the Puppy food at Costco is made by Diamond….Kirkland Signature is Taste Of The Wild….

  • CoolSpring Labradors

    Jeremy hello I have been showing Labs for 30 years…..what does your breeder use? If they are eating solid food mixed with warm water…this is what I use for puppies…..believe it or not…lab puppies do great with Purina puppy food…the puppy food at Costco is also good…puppy gets three small feedings a day at four months two feedings then at 5.5 months switch over to adult prior to six months…..never had a problem with Performance Eukanuba 30/20 for them….hope this helps I have #3 Yellow in Nation right now and moving up….he weighs 94.6lbs and is still growing…..he uses Eagle Pack 30/19 mixed with their standard Chicken formula….he’s an English Tank. Also to comment below…Taste of the Wild and Grain Free foods are not good for large breeds as they get either constipated or if they have tapioca they get diarrhea from it. I don’t use Diamond made foods as they are #1 in recalls that kill pets.

  • cheryl179

    Been using TOTW Pacific Stream for 3 years for My Bull Terrier last bag was “enhanced” Chumlee pretty much starved himself before he’d eat any of it…he had loose stools also, switched to Only Natural Pet Canine Powerfood Fish Feast…he snarfed it down and w/in 24 hours stool was normal again…. so no more TOTW here…sad was a good food until they changed it.

  • cheryl179

    Yeah I got my first bag of “enhanced flavor” Pacific Stream Chumlee pretty much refused to eat but the bare minimum to keep from being starved…had loose stools just got my order of only natural pet fish feast canine powerfood he snarfed it down and w/in 24 hours stool was normal again…no more TOTW for him.

  • Sue Aston

    I got TOTW Fowl for my two dogs…Shihtzu x and a Westie X. The Westie eats anything no problem. My other dog was lethargic and unwell for days after eating it. He had diarrhoea, was eating grass and just not happy. He’s eaten a variety of food in the past with no problems and I thought this was a more “natural” dog kibble. Finally, after $300 at the vet, I worked out it was the food. Took him off it for a week and then tried mixing some TOTW in….again, not well. Lethargic, diarrhoea and looking miserable.

  • Pitlove

    Hi Jeremy-

    With large breed puppies, feeding grain inclusive or grain free isn’t really the issue or concern. What is first and foremost important is choosing a food that has appropriate calcium levels since this will help to slow their growth and reduce the risk of developmental orthopedic disorders.

    If you’re looking at Taste of the Wild, both puppy formulas do have the calcium levels needed for a large breed puppy.

  • Jeremy

    Is a grain free diet good for puppies? Getting a lab at the end of April and looking into different food brands/diets. Thinking about taste of the wild, Nutro ultra or Performatrin Ultra. Any suggestions?

  • Susan

    Try & find another kibble with just fish, sweet potatoes & potatoes it will be hard a lot of dogs with IBD EPI & Skin Allergies were doing so well on TOTW Pacific Stream, We should start a petition asking for the old formula back, TOTW Pacific stream was the only Grain free kibble without peas & chick peas in Australia….I’m going to try the Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb it has no Garbanzo beans & the fat is the same at 15% the fiber is a little bit higher at 4% but the Sierra Mountain has the least ingredients then all the other TOTW kibbles…

  • Susan

    You know why there’s no fish smell with new enhanced formula (noticed they didn’t put new improved formula) cause now they’ve added Peas & Garbanzo, TOTW have added more plant protein to up the protein % & the kibble is probably less meat protein with15% Salmon/fish & the rest is potatoes, peas & garbanzo beans plant protein… all kibbles should have the meat protein % & the plant protein % on the side of all kibble bags…. go on face book & start following “Rodney Habib” he’s a Dog Nutrition Blogger exposing all these companies with all their little tricks to make their kibble sell….

  • Susan

    Hi, how is she doing now the formula has been changed in October 2015 TOTW added Peas & Garbanzo beans to their Pacific Stream, the new formula bags have it on the front of bag new Enhanced Flavour… I have still been buying the old formula in the smaller bags as all the big bags have the new formula now..
    So many dogs with IBD EPI & Skin allergies were doing really well on the Pacific Stream Formula it was the only grain free formula in Australia without peas & chickpeas its a shame … Chickpeas are harder to digest & can cause gas/wind pain, bad farts.

  • Melanie

    Try the Southwest Canyon formula. My dogs love it and there’s no chicken in it which makes my dog very itchy. I think there is beef in it though.

  • Melanie

    My dog’s did terrible on Fromm. Too many ingredients in that food. It made them both very itchy. They do well on TOTW southwest canyon. Their coats look great, they never itch, and they love it. This one is free of any chicken which seems to cause a lot of issues with my fur babies.

  • Amy

    Has anyone tried the new Pine Forest version? I think it is supposed to help with weight management.

  • Michael

    I rescued a blue nose put bull and found out quickly she had food allergies manifesting in severe skin rashes leading to hot spots and secondary infections. I switched her food from Diamond to TOTW Pacific Stream. She does very well on this food and am glad to have found it.

  • SabiJ

    Our dog has started doing this also. Wonder if it has to do with the food. We did switch from TOTW for a while, but it was to another Diamond Brand dog food (seems like most of the dogfoods are Diamond Brand), so made absolutely no difference. Think we’ll be switching to something completely different, get some non-Diamond brand food.

  • SabiJ

    I’m so bummed to hear it. Obviously it doesn’t agree with them at all. Ours haven’t stopped vomiting, first time since we switched to this brand 3 or so years ago. Now on the lookout for some non-Diamond brand, which seems to be hard to come by.

  • SabiJ

    We had the same thing happen. After 3 or so years of feeding our 3 dogs TOTW without any problems, now all of a sudden the food makes them throw up every single time. All the food, all the dogs, and every time. Now searching for a new food.

  • Susan

    I msg TOTW on their Face Book page & yes, last October 2015 they added Garbanzo Beans & Peas to their Pacific Stream formula, TOTW said it says “New Enhanced Flavour” on the kibble bag…

  • Susan

    Earthborn Holistic have never had a recall…..

  • Susan

    I live Australia & we have a company that imports TOTW so the UK would be the same, you need to ask whoever imports the UK TOTW what plant are they getting it from, Diamond has 4 plants…unless you ask Diamond I asked on their Face book page & the lady posted back saying send them a private msg…

  • Susan

    Do you know what the use by date was? & what plant was it made at…. Diamond has 4 plants….I just ordered a bag I’ve never feed TOTW Pacific Stream before, I live Australia & TOTW said Australia TOTW is coming from the South Carolina plant….

  • Susan

    Your better off feeding TOTW then feeding a vet diet, a lot of dogs with IBD & EPI are doing really well on the TOTW Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon the fiber is lower at 3% maybe that’s why they’re doing better, sometimes dogs with diarrhea need a lower fiber diet…..

  • Elvia MacLean Bahena

    I have been feeding TOTW lamb and smoked Salmon to my dogs for many years and my dogs love it. There coats are very healthy. I have two Shih Tzu and two Olde English Bulldogges and have no problems with this food.

  • Christina

    My puppy (german shorthaired pointer) had diarrhea for two and a half months. I took her to the vet every week basically. She had the most extensive testing done, because she was overheating after 10 mins of play as well, and hyperventilating and sometimes throwing up. To make a long story short… after a lot of time and money spent on this, I thought I would change her food from Canidae Life Stages in the 44lb bag that I had been feeding her since she was 10 weeks old until 8 months old to TOTW. Few days later… BAM. Regular poop. Still keeping an eye out for the exercise fatigue. But, I couldn’t afford any of the Prescription Dog Food that the Vet recommended. Great alternative. Same manufacturer as Canidae. Some dogs just react differently to different foods I guess.

  • theBCnut

    Um, yeah, it was caused by the food, or better to say it was caused by the abrupt change of food. Some dogs get this due to food sensitivities or sudden increases in fat in the diet, but the bottom line is Freckles didn’t have this issue before the new food. This doesn’t mean there is something wrong with the food, just that your dog need more time to acclimate to it.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Robert. After feeding Dog Chow for years, any abrupt diet change will cause problems. It’s like a shock to the digestive system. You have to go extremely slow when changing foods after being on the same one for so long. You would start with 75% Dog chow and 25% Taste of the wild. I’d do that for about a week. Then for week two I’d do a 50% 50% blend of the two foods. Week Three 75% Taste of the wild 25% Purina. Week four 100% Taste of the wild. Its good to hear that Diamond gave you such great customer service.

  • Hi Robert

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your pup.

    Great review! Here’s some info on;

    What causes canine hemorrhagic gastroenteritis?

    “Stress, anxiety, and hyperactivity are thought to be possible contributing factors in many cases of canine hemorrhagic gastroenteritis.”

    The exact cause of HGE remains unknown (idiopathic). It may be related to dietary indiscretion (ingesting non-food items or even dramatically different foods than what the dog is accustomed to), immune-mediated disease, toxins, or pancreatitis. Stress, anxiety, and hyperactivity are thought to be possible contributing factors in many cases. Recent research indicates that HGE may be an allergic reaction (food or inhaled). Intestinal parasites and bacteria may also be causes. Dogs who experience HGE may be more prone to developing HGE in the future.


  • DogFoodie

    Hi Robert,

    I’m so, so sorry to hear about your wife. You have my prayers for peace.

    I tend to think that the sudden change in diet, to a food to which your pup was unaccustomed to eating, may have played a role in the HGE diagnosis. I don’t necessarily believe the food caused the HGE, but that the sudden change itself did. It’s for this reason that a gradual change would be recommended if your pup isn’t accustomed to diet rotation or has been eating one specific food for a prolonged period of time.

    What are you feeding Freckle now and are you looking to change foods or are you happy with what you’re feeding?

    Here’s a link for a little more information: http://www.vcahospitals.com/main/pet-health-information/article/animal-health/hemorrhagic-gastroenteritis-in-dogs/764

    Wishing you many happy, healthy years with Freckle! 🙂

  • Robert Clements

    After my wife passed it’s been just my dog Freckle, and me. After feeding Purina Dog Chow for years a friend pointed out to me that Freckle’s coat looked dull. When I was out shopping at Menards I discovered the Taste of the Wild line of food. Freckles was with me and got excited about sniffing the TOTW bags. I bought her Pacific Stream. She developed bloody diarrhea barely 2 days later and I just started fuming thinking it had to be the food. I called Diamond, not really expecting much, and was surprised that they offered me the opportunity to speak to a live vet. Dr Heldman took the time to talk to me for a half an hour. We were able to rule some things out as the cause of the diarrhea, and she provided me with a clear path to take to get to the bottom of his diarrhea problem. Ultimately Freckles was diagnosed with “Hemorrhagic Gastro Enteritis”. This was not caused by the food. I’m grateful to the staff at Taste of the Wild.
    If you buy it and have questions, call their vet!

  • Packmomof4

    My two small breed dogs loved the new venison & carbanzo bean flavor of kibble. At first I was afraid to use this brand of food bc diamond owns it but I have not had any issues with it at all. Iv tried a few brands to. I use to use Merrick but it now does not agree with my dogs and new ownership of the company so maybe food changes. Sad bc it was a great brand in my opinion.

  • Jeannie Priddy Hayes

    My 3 dogs are sick from.Diamond chicken and rice. I’m searching g for another brand…..

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Tyler,

    I don’t have any puppies at my house right now, but you should be able to feed Beagles any All Life Stages food. I don’t use TOTW in my rotation, so I’m not sure if they are all life stages. The fact that the they are suggesting the puppy formula might indicate that the other formulas are considered adult maintenance. If you’re unsure about TOTW, I would call the customer service line directly. In general either the bag or the website of any food will tell you if the food is suitable for all life stages. This DFA link will help you find some that are considered all life stages, which would be fine for both. Just click on the links for 4 or 5 star puppy foods and there is a list. Good Luck!


  • Karen Edwards Ragano

    Wow. Such hateful disagreements over a food for our loved 4-legged children. Amazing. People, please relax and stop being so ugly to one another!

  • theBCnut

    Diamond makes about 20 different brands, so when they mess up, it’s pretty widespread.

  • debij65

    I would never buy a Diamond product after I heard how sick dogs were getting from the Costco brand.

  • debij65

    Diamond also makes the Costco brand that was making a lot of dogs sick.

  • Tristan

    Yes my thoughts exactly, smells like a cheap cereal based food. Such a shame as my boy was thriving on it. Anyway thanks for you time.


    I called Diamond direct and thats what they told me and I didnt see any difference in the packaging. It was the same bag. I went to the pet store that I buy my food from and they opened two more bags with different skew numbers and they were all that different color. It was dark with a distinct fishy odor and when they changed the formula the color went to a light chicken color and no smell of fish at all.

  • Tristan

    Thanks for the reply. Did you notice that the packaging had changed also? They told me yesterday that formula hadn’t changed. I’m awaiting a reply from them with regards to production code. I live in the UK and there isnt any local shops that sell high quality so I have to always buy online, it’s difficult to know what your getting. Hope your dog is feeling better.

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!