Taste of the Wild (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Taste of the Wild Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Taste of the Wild product line includes seven dry dog foods, three claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance and four for growth (Puppy).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon
  • Taste of the Wild Sierra Mountain (3.5 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Wetlands Formula (5 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild High Prairie Formula (5 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Formula (4 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild High Prairie Puppy Formula (4 stars)
  • Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Puppy Formula (4 stars)

Taste of the Wild High Prairie Puppy Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Taste of the Wild High Prairie Puppy

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 31% | Fat = 19% | Carbs = 42%

Ingredients: Bison, lamb meal, sweet potatoes, egg product, pea protein, peas, potatoes, canola oil, tomato pomace, roasted venison, roasted bison, flaxseed, potato fiber, natural flavor, ocean fish meal, salmon oil (a source of DHA), salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, Yucca schidigera extract, tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis28%17%NA
Dry Matter Basis31%19%42%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%39%35%

The first ingredient in this dog food is bison. Although it is a quality item, raw bison contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient includes lamb meal. Lamb meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh lamb.

The third ingredient includes sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

The fourth ingredient is egg product, an unspecified (wet or dry?) form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The fifth ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The eighth ingredient is canola oil. Many applaud canola for its favorable omega-3 content while some condemn it as an unhealthy fat.

Much of the objection regarding canola oil appears to be related to the use of genetically modified rapeseed as its source material.

Yet others find the negative stories about canola oil more the stuff of urban legend than actual science.1

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The ninth ingredient includes tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, salmon oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, salmon oil should be considered a commendable addition.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Taste of the Wild Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Taste of the Wild Dog Food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 31%, a fat level of 19% and estimated carbohydrates of about 42%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 31% and a mean fat level of 18%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 43% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 57%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the pea protein, peas and flaxseed in this recipe as well as the potato protein and garbanzo beans contained in other recipes, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Taste of the Wild Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of named meats, meat meals and fish as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a quality grain-free wet food may wish to visit our review of Taste of the Wild canned dog food.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

12/11/2009 Original review
07/21/2010 Review updated
10/31/2010 Review updated
07/14/2011 Review updated
10/27/2011 Review updated
11/20/2011 Review updated
10/02/2012 Review updated
10/17/2012 Review updated
10/17/2013 Last Update

  1. Mikkelson, B and DP, Oil of Ole, Urban Legends Reference Pages (2005)
  • matt

    Thanks, we are debating going back to is as we speak.

  • matt

    Never tried adding anything, I will look into it. Thanks.

  • theBCnut

    I haven’t gone and checked for sure, but I believe the Extreme Athlete is a higher calorie food, so that alone could account for the weight loss.

  • Crazy4cats

    Have you tried adding any digestive enzymes or probiotics? You could also try a different variety of TotW. I use Victor grain free with good results, but I do add some enzymes and probiotics occasionally. Good luck!

  • matt

    I started using the wetland blend a few months ago on my 18 month old labs. My black lab lost several pounds (she has been checked by the vet for worms and other issues, nothing popped up). My yellow’s weight stayed the same but her gas is absolutely horrid! (We made a switch from the diamond extreme athelete.) Any suggestions on what I should try next?

  • Avram Cohen

    wow, your way to sensitive

  • Lindsay

    We just switched her onto the food to see if that helps an she took a complete 180! Her coat looks amazing now, she doesn’t itch as much (still a bit but nothing like before) and she has so much more energy. Her hair even started growing back in some spots. I’m really impressed with this food!

  • Lana

    Dogswell Nutriscia Salmon & Chickpea. My English Bulldog has been on it for 4 years and I’ve saved trips to the vet. It’s a 5 star food. IMHO it’s the BEST for dogs with yeasty skin issues.

  • [email protected]

    I had a golden retreiver in the past and fed him what I thought was pretty good dog food. He had allergies, smelled bad, shed terribly and bad breath but the best dog in the world :). After he passed away last year I got another golden. He is 10 months old. I was determined to feed him only the best. A trainer i spoke with said he only used Pioneer for his dogs, but i could not afford that. So I found TOTW. he has been on this since birth and his coat is beautiful, shiny and silky. no bad breath, itching or allergies. He has NO smell whatsoever even if he has rolled in the dirt or carries dirt on his coat legs from outside! He has lots-sometimes too much energy, but I have been totally pleased with this food. :)..PS I usually feed him the Pacific salmon dry food.

  • dchassett

    Oh, so sorry for your families loss. This is very sad. RIP Lola.

  • Van Butler

    How’s your pup doing? Did you switch to anything that helped with the itching?

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m very sorry for your loss of Lola. I’m glad your feeding routine is working well for your Bear.

  • Van Butler

    After almost Two months now on TOTW High Prairie, Bear(GSD) has completely stopped itching and biting. His shedding has reduced to almost nothing. His coat is rich and healthy. We do mix in a raw egg or chicken livers once or twice a day. One big improvement that’s surprised us is his breath. Bear, has good breath odor. The first dog Ive ever known not to have ” doggy” breath.

    On a sad note. My parents Long hair Dachshund, Lola, passed away this past week. She was 5 and suffered an injury to her back which led to a Prednisone treatment that caused Liver and Kidney failure.

  • theBCnut

    Victor may work for you or Earthborn.

  • Kaylee

    Also, do you have any recommendations as to what food I could switch to? I have had blue and totw and it seems like those stir up a lot of emotion with people. I feel like I shouldn’t feed them those, but completely unsure where to turn to now.

  • Kaylee

    Thank you for your response. I appreciate it. I live in Michigan so I am unsure where the food comes from? I would have to call and ask or ask the store I buy it from.

    That’s really upsetting that they had all of those issues :/. I really hope they get things together and stay on top of it. It’s sad that money trumps the health of dogs anymore :(.

  • dchassett

    My feeling, as well as others, still avoid it because it is a product produced by Diamond. I have no issues with Taste of the Wild’s ingredients, I have an issue with any and all foods produced by Diamond. Too too many recalls for my liking. Just sayin! That’s my opinion and my choice for my dogs.

  • theBCnut

    I don’t worry about salmonella recalls because I scrub my hands, wash dog bowls, and don’t allow children to handle any dog food in any way that isn’t immediately followed by sanitation measures, but Diamond has also had massive recalls for aflatoxin and melamine, as well as a minor recall for getting a vitamin premix wrong. The problem I have with their massive salmonella recall was what the FDA found when they inspected the facility some days later, open bins of unlabeled unbagged dog food, repairs to food handling equipment made with cardboard and duct tape, as well as other sanitation issues. Also, it took them nearly 6 months to issue the recall from when they were first made aware of issues and then they let it trickle out instead of just going ahead and recalling everything they make. I think TOTW would be a great food if someone else made it and maybe even if you live in some area where the Diamond plant isn’t always the one with problems, but anyone in an area that would get food from the SC plant should be very skeptical. And frankly, since Diamond, as a company, didn’t do a very big and very public shake up of operations at the SC plant, I don’t believe the company cares at all about the health of dogs, just the almighty dollar.

  • Kaylee

    also **sidenote.. It wasn’t that I don’t take recalls seriously..because I do.. I just thought that salmonella didn’t affect dogs like it does humans. I basically thought that the recall affected people and that dogs had no adverse affects. Again, correct me if I am wrong. I have only done a little research, not enough to claim I know much about the situation. Thanks!

  • Guest

    I was wondering if this food is really all that bad? I know a lot of people have issues with Diamond. I saw something the other day that alerted me to do more research. I was feeding Blue with no problems, but switched to TOTW because of easier accessibility. I have both of my dogs on it and don’t seem to have any issues. The only issue I can think of is my dachshund has bad breath a lot. Idk if that’s just him or the food. I love my dogs more than anything and only want what is best for them. I chose to feed Blue and then TOTW because I thought I was doing them good. I will always stay away from anything sold at Walmart and especially dog food/treats made in China. Althought I thought I was helping by staying away from those, the things I see online tell me that I am not doing them good by feeding TOTW though :(. Anyways..those that know more can you tell me why exactly you are against TOTW/Diamond. I understand they have had recalls, but I assumed the recalls were minor and had to do with a little salmonella. Please feel free to correct me. If you personally feel like I shouldn’t be feeding them this can you please give me suggesstions on a high quality food that is easy to get a hold of. I have a dachshund (14.5 lbs) and a mutt (54 lbs).. To be honest my dachshund could stand to lose a couple pounds.. The vet says he is healthy, but not to gain any weight. He has an over obsession with food.. Idk if he is not getting what he needs or if that is part of who he is.. He has been like this thought since he was a few months old.. He is 1 year and 5 months old now. I measure his food out daily.. Trying to do what I can.

  • Kaylee

    I was wondering if this food is really all that bad? I know a lot of people have issues with Diamond. I saw something the other day that alerted me to do more research. I was feeding Blue with no problems, but switched to TOTW because of easier accessibility. I have both of my dogs on it and don’t seem to have any issues. The only issue I can think of is my dachshund has bad breath a lot. Idk if that’s just him or the food. I love my dogs more than anything and only want what is best for them. I chose to feed Blue and then TOTW because I thought I was doing them good. I will always stay away from anything sold at Walmart and especially dog food/treats made in China. Althought I thought I was helping by staying away from those, the things I see online tell me that I am not doing them good by feeding TOTW though :(. Anyways..those that know more can you tell me why exactly you are against TOTW/Diamond. I understand they have had recalls, but I assumed the recalls were minor and had to do with a little salmonella. Please feel free to correct me. If you personally feel like I shouldn’t be feeding them this can you please give me suggesstions on a high quality food that is easy to get a hold of. I have a dachshund (14.5 lbs) and a mutt (54 lbs).. To be honest my dachshund could stand to lose a couple pounds.. The vet says he is healthy, but not to gain any weight. He has an over obsession with food.. Idk if he is not getting what he needs or if that is part of who he is.. He has been like this thought since he was a few months old.. He is 1 year and 5 months old now. I measure his food out daily.. Trying to do what I can.
    Anyways..please someone with suggestions/advice/concerns please respond. I only want what’s best for my dogs. My little dachshund is my whole world.

  • LabsRawesome
  • Crazy4cats

    The circle on my bag does not say GMO free. Huh? I buy the grain free joint health. They must not all be. What else is GMO besides grains? I actually don’t know much about it.

  • theBCnut

    Dr Mike tagged the special alert onto every review, not just the ones with rice in them.

  • Paulette Canam

    Why does this review mention Rice.There is no rice in the food.Its grain free.

  • theBCnut

    Which one of their recalls are you referring to? Diamond has had at least 4 that I know of, and 3 of those were quite extensive.
    It appears that you do not understand the nature of recalls in the US. FDA has no power to force a recall. That means that all recalls are voluntary unless the FDA goes through the court system and a judge orders it. What company do you think wants that kind of publicity? So all we get, no matter how bad the company is, is voluntary recalls. If a company waits until the FDA threatens to sue before issuing the recall, that does not make the companies practices acceptable. And I haven’t heard of a human compay yet that has had that many recalls.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    It was part of a pretty extensive recall:

    http://www.poisonedpets.com/your-complete-guide-to-the-diamond-pet-food-recalls/

    Information about the FDA inspection:

    http://truthaboutpetfood.com/the-plot-thickens-clues-to-big-issues

    I believe theBCnut’s concern is with the manufacturer/parent company (Diamond) – this company was involved in recalls prior to this one and also had another recall (last year) after this one.

  • Paulette Canam

    It was a self recall and if i am not mistaken it only happened once.There is recalls on human food all the time.

  • Paulette Canam

    It was a self recall on a batch of food.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi mward –

    I think we may be reading two different conversations. :)

    In my initial post I said that I’m glad TOTW is working for you and agreed that raw isn’t right for everyone. You then replied by saying that you’d rather spend time with your dog then spend time prepping raw. I simply pointed out that despite making a raw diet I still have plenty of time to spend with my girls – prepping actually doesn’t take me much time. No one’s trying to make anyone feel bad.

  • mward1993

    “Personally, I don’t mind spending an extra 15 minutes or so a day prepping.” –This sounds very sarcastic, almost like taunting or like you are superior. ” I still manage to walk them twice a day so for me there is no tradeoff between feeding my dogs well and spending time with them. I guess Mabel and Gertie are lucky girls in that they get the best of both worlds – quality time with their mom and good ol home cooking…err thawing.” —Ummmm ok so my dog is not lucky to have me? You make it sound like I am a crappy dog owner. This post contradicts your post about “raw isnt for everyone” because it sounds like you are saying I am sub par because i feed a 5 star kibble and not raw.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi mward –

    Not sure what I said that made you feel bad about yourself, but sorry if I did. I clearly said in my post raw isn’t right for everyone’s lifestyle just that I don’t mind taking the extra time to do it. No one should feel bad about what they’re feeding as long as they’re doing the best they can.

  • mward1993

    Wow…just wow. You never quit. You make me feel like s*** like I am not trying hard enough for my baby. She is my daughter. You have no idea how much I love her, she is my world, my hero, and my inspiration. Just because I don’t do things your way means absolutely nothing. I was 11 years old when I started researching healthier food for my child hood chow mix, who ate kibbles n bits for 7 years of his life. He was a back yard dog and I fought tooth and nail to get him indoors and on a holistic food. Then at 17 I rescued Natalia and fought to keep her because back them my parents were very ignorant about pit bulls. She was emaciated and covered with demodex. I brought her back to life. But I guess that doesn’t matter, since I dont feed raw I am a terrible mom.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I don’t have a whole food/trader joe’s either. Have never even seen one. I have a regular grocery store. Personally, I don’t mind spending an extra 20 minutes or so a day prepping to ensure that my dogs are eating the healthiest meal possible. I still manage to walk them twice a day so for me there is not trade off between feeding my dogs well and spending time with them. I guess I’m lucky in that I’m able to give them the best of both worlds.

  • mward1993

    I think feeding raw/homemade would be nice. The only issue is that I live in a small town with no whole foods or trader joes to get “health food” from. My nearest whole foods is in Chapel Hill NC (UNC Tar Heels). I work in Durham (DUKE is there) so I guess I could be there to get the ingredients I need. But right now I am just not making enough to afford home made raw. I have to save to move into Durham. And finding pit bull friendly housing is no easy task.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I’m glad you found a food you’re satisfied with. Raw isn’t right for everyone for sure – many people don’t have the time to prepare it, can’t afford it, aren’t comfortable feeding it or simply aren’t willing to research how to make it. However none of these reasons make it “inaccessible.” If someone wants to learn there are many great resources out there – books, informational websites, forums, etc. I think most anyone who wanted to learn to make it would be able to figure it out.

  • USA Dog Treats

    Hi mward,

    I feel your frustration with feeding raw. I feed lightly cooked homemade without any raw meaty bones.

    I read and continue to read about canine nutrition and my philosophy is fresh is best, quality counts and a dog is a carnivore.

    Steve Brown’s Unlocking the Canine Ancestral Diet. is my favorite book on canine nutrition. I learned a lot especially about balancing the fats in a dog’s diet. No other book I read goes into balancing the fats with the details found in this book.

    It’s true that a homemade diet has to be balanced. I use Steve Brown’s dinner mixes, Wysong’s call of the wild and Balance-it’s Carnivore blend to make sure my dog’s get all their vitamins and minerals.

    I further supplement with sardines, algae oil and anchovy or sardine oil for Omega 3′s. I use probiotics and enzymes for digestive and immune health and I use coconut oil for yeasty skin.

    I feed a ratio of about 80% lean meats, fish and poultry to 20% mostly non starchy vegetables with a little fruit. I occasionally feed them organs , no more than 15% of their meal.

    That’s basically it. Take it slow, feed them homemade whenever you can and adjust things to fit your particular dog’s issues etc.

    Your dog’s will thank you with better health and longer. happier lives.

    Whatever you do enjoy yourself! People are here that will always lend a helping hand when you need it!!!

  • mward1993

    First I would do everything for my dog. ANYTHING! I would feed home made raw if I needed to. But raw does no good if it isn’t complete and balanced. It is tricky to get things right, its not like you go to the butcher, buy some bones and toss them to your dog. It takes lots of research and calculations.
    Commercial raw is out of the question for 2 dogs and 5 cats. I am unable to afford it (hence it is “inaccessible” to me) I used to feed primal to my personal dog but it was $50-70 per package that would only last her one week. So then I had her on Natural Balance for a long time until I became concerned about the high carbs/low protein ( largely thanks to people on this site) Now she is on TOTW High Prairie and returned to a healthy weight. She is doing much better on TOTW so thanks :)
    To make things more complicated my dog is extremely picky so many foods she simply wont eat and instead gets stressed out over it.

  • dchassett

    I have also posted that same sentiment and have been down voted (not that any of those little arrows up or down mean anything to me) and commented on how can I blast foods that Diamond makes and that I am essentially being narrow minded. I’ve never posted anything other than it is my opinion that it is truly another accident waiting to happen. Unfortunately for all feeding Diamond produced foods, it’s going to happen again, and again. That’s my opinion.

    Mike, before you say anything about what I have said I will clarify my post and say to everyone and anyone reading this: IT IS ONLY MY OPINION! No facts behind this. Not trying to scare anyone off of any food or any company or any manufacturer. It’s just my opinion.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Agreed. I think it’s safe to say that everyone has access to a grocery store. There’s a difference between something being “inaccessible” and someone being unwilling or unable to invest the extra time and/or money required to feed a raw diet.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I don’t find raw to be inaccessible. You can make your own for cheap : )

  • theBCnut

    One of the posts that didn’t show up was somewhat shocked that I would say that, but I really do feel like Diamond is an accident waiting to happen and I really don’t understand when others don’t also see it that way with their history.

  • dchassett

    Love your response “nut”. I’m right there with you. HAHAHA! So true.

  • dchassett

    Taste of the Wild is made by Diamond. A lot of us avoid foods produced by Diamond due to their numerous recalls. Taste of the Wild has also been recalled in the past. Please look on the upper left hand side of this screen and you’ll see Dog Food Recalls. Also sign up for the Dog Food Recall Alerts.

  • Cindi James

    I wanted to try this brand but the only store that carries it is about 30 minutes away. If anyone else is having this issue, wag.com carries this brand and you can get 20% off your first order (code SAVE20). It cost me $37.59 for a 30lb bag and free shipping after I got my order over $49. The prices aren’t anything special after you make your first order, but they are a little bit lower than the other sites.

  • mward1993

    oohhhhh thats right. My dog gets huge stools and gas on foods high in legumes so I know what you mean.

  • mward1993

    I feed TOTW and I am happy with it as is my dog. I use Natural Balance canned as a topper. Both are manufactured by Diamond and TOTW is a brand they own. Recalls are very scary because you always wonder if your food is next. But for me, I am on the lookout no matter what I feed. Do you know specifically how Diamond has made improvements?

  • theBCnut

    It’s not that I dislike Orijen, but it isn’t great for any of my 3 dogs, and 2 of them do well on just about anything. I think maybe all the peas, beans, and lentils are hard to digest or something. IDK, all of my dogs can handle legumes, but they don’t do great on Orijen. I’m just not a fan.

  • theBCnut

    It’s not that I think it isn’t a great food. It’s that I have a dog with issues and there are too many things about Orijen that won’t work for him. And my 2 other dogs that do well on anything, don’t do great on Orijen, they just do so so. So Orijen is OK, but I’m not on the bandwagon.

  • mward1993

    you dont like
    Orijen?

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Just wondering why you aren’t a fan of Orijen? I’m considering trying my two dogs on this and i know how knowledgeable you are. Thanks!

  • theBCnut

    Actually, what I’m saying isn’t about what food I like. I like TOTW. It’s the manufacturer that I don’t like. I think TOTW is a great food, I started to switch my dogs to it, not realizing it was a Diamond food, right before the last major recall. I was feeding Diamond products before the 2 major recalls before that and had decided then that they weren’t to be trusted, but I didn’t do my due diligence before I tried TOTW. If someone else made it, I’d use it, but I don’t trust Diamond anymore.
    BTW, I do spend my energy warning people away from those foods too. And I am a fan of good quality kibble, but that includes a few less expensive foods too, like NutriSource, Earthborn, and Victor, as well as high end foods. I do like to feed some raw foods. And no, I’m not a fan of Orijen, though I do like the company that makes it, Champion.

  • Crazy4cats

    Ok, good. I knew that I had seen it somewhere, but couldn’t find it on their site. You think they would make it big and bold on their site as it is a hot topic these days. Thanks!

  • LabsRawesome

    I have a bag of Active Dog & Puppy, it says GMO Free grains on the back of the bag. On the front of the last GF bag I had it said GMO Free around the circle that reads GF. If you look at the circle that has GF it is there. http://www.midamericapetfood.com/victordogfood/pdf/Brochure-GF-Yukon%20River%20Canine.pdf

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Labs-
    I thought at one time, they advertised on their site that they were GMO free. I don’t see that claim now. Where do they state that info? I can’t find it.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Nancy, Check out Victor, their GMO free. And 5 star. victordogfood.com

  • Nancy Calloway

    For peace of my mind I am transitioning OUT of TOW to foods from producers who SO FAR, based on performance, appear to be more on top of quality control than is Diamond. I’m with BCnut on this one. Don’t want my furries to be sick due to my not doing EVERYTHING I CAN to provide safe food. Will check out the 5 star GMO Free foods when the list comes out. Thank Goodness for this site.

  • Crazy4dogs

    I agree. I’ve never actually fed TOTW due to the recalls.

  • Nancy Calloway

    I have been using the two 5 star TOW grain frees and have been very satisfied. NO problems. My concern is Diamond – NOT the food recipe / ingredients itself. I ask myself, “WHY risk it when there are many excellent foods from companies with a better track record – NO recalls?” Don’t those diamond recalls infer that someone is not watching closely enough? It’s too bad bec TOW at it’s best is great.

  • mward1993

    Not knocking Orijen because I think its awesome, but it is harder to find and very expensive. TOTW High Prairie and Wetlands are both pretty similar to Orijen. They are 32% protein so pretty close to Orijen’s 38%, as they are both foods with ample amounts of protein. The other TOTW formulas are good too, and they are mostly at 25% or 29%. NO SHAME IN THAT. A great option if you cant pay $4 per pound of food. Seriously why are we knocking TOTW when we could be b****ing about Ol Roy ect.

    And yes Van, there are many “raw fanboys” on this site. Raw is great but again inaccessible to most people.

  • mward1993

    oh wooowww

  • Van Butler

    I’m not sure what your motivation is behind this but I think your energy would be better spent WARNING folks about Alpo, Purina, Iams or such.

    I’m guessing your a huge fanboy of feeding raw or some high end boutique brand like Origin.

  • theBCnut

    I haven’t been hit by a car yet, but I still know better than to play in the street.

  • Van Butler

    Like I said earlier, we have only had good results with TOTW. If you haven’t then Maybe a different brand is recommended for your dog.

  • theBCnut

    I give second chances too, but when it comes to food, how many chances are too many? 4? 5? They have had that many recalls.

  • theBCnut

    Yes, but would you keep going back to a restaurant that you keep getting food poisoning from?

  • Van Butler

    Just like in the human world. Have you ever had a bad meal or got sick from something you ate? Nothing is perfect.

  • Carissa

    He will be 1 next month. It has done wonders with him . I hope it helps her too!!

  • Van Butler

    YES! He’s doing great. His itching has stopped and his shedding has also dramatically decreased. I wish I could post pics of how his coat has darkened. In addition to TOTW I put a raw egg in and sometimes raw chicken livers. Anyhow, no complaints here just improvements.

  • Lindsay

    Hey how old is your pup! I have a 6 month old GSD with the same skin issues I just put her on this food too. Hopefully it works for her

  • Lindsay

    We just switched our GSD to this food too. Is yours still doing good on it?

  • Ellie Noe

    We were feeding Taste of the Wild dry dog food and our Corgi developed crystals in her urinary tract. We caught it before stones formed; but my vet says that she has removed stones from other small breeds when they were feeding Taste of the Wild. Anyone else know anything about this?

  • mward1993

    This site does take the GA into consideration, that is true. What I meant is the site does not really factor in the company’s reputation and quality control. It rates based on face value, the ingredients and GA.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    This site doesn’t judge food on “ingredients alone” – the general analysis is factored in as well.

  • mward1993

    this site judges food on ingredients alone.

  • mward1993

    Because sh!t happens and companies have bad batches at some point. Human error. No I am not trying to defend companies with poor quality products, nor good companies who make mistakes (which TOTW is not a poor quality food, but even the best are not perfect. Honest Kitchen recall. Champion kitchen fire.) but it happens to the best. Ingredient wise, TOTW is great. Lots of meat most of the formulas and no red flags. But there is no perfect company, no one size fits all food. All dogs are different and some will react poorly, and every now and then a bad batch will show up at some point.

  • JoAnna S.

    I am confused, how can a dog food rated 4.5 stars, cause the death of a dog, was it just a bad batch, or this dog food in general? thanks. I was buying PureBalance (grain free from walmart) without difficulty, but thought i’d invest in a better dog food.

  • Van Butler

    I just switched my boy (GSD) over to Taste of the Wild and after one month we are seeing startling improvements in him already!!

  • Freeholdhound

    So sorry to hear of your loss – I hope your other Dobe will be okay. I just recently tried TOTW for the 1st time & my boy loved it but after a week his breath was unbearable. I took him off it, like so many foods it wasn’t working for him.

  • InkedMarie

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Heather. I hope your other dobe will be okay. Please keep us posted.

  • Heather Lyn Carlucci

    Thank You Betsy. I am so heartbroken. I took food to the Veternarian, they said since they dont sell it, they cant help me. Yet when Diamond was recalled years ago, I worked at Banfield, they contacted the comoany (My babies were not on it, TG). Banfield found it and allnowners were reimbursed. I also need my older girl tested and just put out $2,000 between the Veternarian bills and his buriel. Not to mention the grief myself and my other baby feels. Thank you so much. I want to save others from the grief I am goimg through.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Heather Lyn Carlucci,

    I’m sorry to hear about your doberman.

    If you haven’t already, please make a report to the FDA and ask your vet to do the same on your behalf.

    You can make a report on the FDA’s website here:
    https://www.safetyreporting.hhs.gov/fpsr/WorkflowLoginIO.aspx?metinstance=913345125BE4E3137A1BCAA67A11C94EBE0872EE&IncompatibleBrowser=true

    You should save the food and the packaging. If you choose to send out some for testing on your own, be certain to reserve the bag and the rest of the product.

  • Heather Lyn Carlucci

    I let holistic Pet Store know. As it is not their fault. Who has Taste of The Wilds number? I will be reimbursed and you can NEVER reimburse my baron, EVER!!!!!! I AM.SO UPSET. As a Veternarian Technician I think I am feeding the best to my dog. Now I laid him to rest at the pet cemetery.