Hill’s Prescription Diet N/D Canine (Canned)

Share

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Hill’s Prescription Diet N/D Canine dog food is not rated due to its intentional therapeutic design.

Notes and Updates

01/16/2010 Original review
08/02/2010 Review updated
11/14/2013 Last Update

  • Snoopdog

    Isn’t it more likely that your dog has mammary tumours because you didn’t get her speyed when she was younger? Mammary tumours in dogs are hormonally driven as in people. Take a the hormones and you take away the risk, regardless of what you feed.

  • rarnedsoum

    Yes, I too, was feeding healthy raw chicken and grass fed beef, to my 7 & 8 year olds, and then last year, in a lapse of judgement, started buying cheap $2 bags of beef rib bones at the supermarket labeled ‘pet food’ and less than 6 months later, my older one has mammary tumor and now we have to spay and spend a few thousand and put her thru all of that.

    Big mistake! :(
    http://www.dogcancerblog.com/oleic-acid-red-meat-and-mammary-cancer/

  • Melissaandcrew

    Irene-

    Each dogs responds differently to the cancer. My schnauzer was given a short time(mean survival is 1 yr with chemo) and we choose not to do it-she also had chronic problems with pancreatitis and lupus. We did however feed her low fat, grain free and she made it just over 2 yrs from her diagnosis. We had to euthanise her two months ago.

  • Irene

    Sharon,  My 13 year old schnauzer was just diagnoised with lymphoma. I’m interested in a holistic approach in his diet. Can you give me any suggestions?  Thank you, Irene

  • rusterbuster

    My (Rusty’s) holistic vet , who believes in raw feeding, feels that raw might not be a good option because of Rusty’s surgery. I do supplement his food with Prozyme and a good probiotic. I still wonder about going raw though.

  • rusterbuster

    Thanks!  Carolyn

  • hounddogmom12

    Carol Ramberg,

    You may want to look into The Honest Kitchen’s Zeal formula. It is a grain-free, dehydrated, fish formula with only 9% fat on a dry matter basis. The Honest Kitchen also has an herbal digestive supplement called Perfect Form contains papaya leaf, plantain, slippery elm, pectin, organic pumpkin seed, fennel and papain and may be able to help ease the diarrhea. Some foods that are known to be “firming” are bones and below-ground veggies. You may also want to try adding a supplement with digestive enzymes and probiotics (healthypets.mercola.com has some good digestive supplements). The only other suggestion I could make, which would probably be the best option if you are willing, would be to meet with a holistic vet or nutritionist that could help formulate a raw diet plan for him that is low in fat – raw, species-appropriate foods can work wonders on cancer and digestive issues.

  • Carolyn Ramberg

    My mixed breed dog, (he looks like a Finnish Spitz), Rusty,  had an adenocarcinoma of his illium 2 years ago.  I  began giving him an alternative treatment for cancer  (The Budwig Diet:  http://www.budwigcenter.com/anti-cancer-diet.php) which gave him pancreatitis.  At the time I was feeding him Orijen kibble, with some canned food for extra flavor.  I stopped the “diet”, but ever since that time, he seems to be predisposed to pancreatitis – he’s had it 4x, most recently last week.  At one point, he refused all kibble, so I switched to canned food, which he loved! I started on Natures’s Variety Instinct  (http://www.naturesvariety.com) canned chicken flavor.  After a couple of months that also gave him pancreatitis. Then I switched to Taste of The Wild pacific stream, which is much lower in fat than Natures Variety.  That also gave hime pancreatitis.  Then I switched to Weruva Human Style canned foods , using ones that only had 1 1/2 % fat (as fed)  which calculates to about 11% on a dry food basis. He also was given some human food treats by my mother, and after eating some fried chicken tenders from Sonic, he developed pancreatitis again.  He is okay again after a few days of water, then chicken broth, then small amounts of canned food.  I am going to try Fromm’s Four Star Nutritonals/shredded chicken flavor next.  

    His surgeon said that his cancer  was very uncommon in dogs, and that the limited data showed that dogs with that cancer type lived from 9 to 15 months with or without chemotherapy.  (We did not do chemo).. Since he is now 2 years post surgery, and will be 14 in September, and enjoys life, I am happy about that.  But what to feed him is an ongoing problem.  (He weighs 46 lbs.)

    Another result of the surgery is ongoing diarrhea, because most of his intestinal tract was removed.  Loperimide  used to help a lot, but he became tolerant to it.  I am now giving him arabinogalactans  (from larch tree), but it doesn’t seem to help much.  I also tried montmorillonite and bentonite, with moderate results.  What does help him, is a good amount of carbohydrate   (rice, potatato) in his diet.  But according to all my research, and Rusty’s holistic veterinarian, carbs (especially grains) feed the cancer.  So feeding him is a real Catch 22.

    If you can help with this problem, I wiill appreciate ever so much!!!!!!!

    Sincerely,

    Carolyn

  • Lizziecann

    sorry i just wanted to put this out there for all the people who might be reading this currently 

    In Australia the law states that euthanased animals are NOT allowed to be used as food … for the sole purpose that luthabarb (what you use to euthanase an animal ) will remain in their system and kill other animals within minutes. even if you kill a bird you CANNOT put it in a rubbish bin as an animal could come and eat it , legally you have to have it cremated or taken to an áuthorised burial ground’.
    also lab animals are not allowed to be used in food either for the same reason. either are diseased animals  as the law states here that they cannot enter a slaughterhouse which is because diseases are carried in the blood and blood is everywhere in a slaughterhouse this poses the risk for it to get into human grade food. 
    sorry i dont want to step on anyone’s toes but i am a vet nurse, i also have a double degree in biotechnology and cell biology and have seen first hand where the animals go which have been used in experiments. and i can promise you it isnt into dog food. Also the most nutrient dense areas of animals (in general) is the liver, kidney, and other vital organs hence why animals usually go for these areas first. muscle (meat) is great for humans as its the leanest but bear in mind that dogs have eaten bones for centuries as well as other animal parts. the laws may be different in different countries but in australia offal comes from a non-diseased, non-lab animal, which the good bits were cut off for humans. it DOES NOT come from animals that have been injected with luthabarb!the idea of this hills product is to limit the cancers main sources of food which is CARBOHYDRATES , and SUGARS so basically you want the high fat, low carb diet. my dog is currently undergoing chemo and heAgain i dont mean to be offensive or anything in here so i hope no one takes this the wrong way , there is just so many confusing info pieces on the net i thought it might be worth hearing a first hand example thanks  ps. i also consulted a friend who worked in the ab’s

  • Mary Jones

    I am wondering if the Hills Prescription Dog food could cause cancer because of unregulated (?) meat that it may contain. My 8 year old chuhuahua and austrialian shepard both developed cancer 6 months after I started feeding them this dog food. Has anyone else seen this?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Athena… I’ve sent your contact information to Sharon. Hope this helps.

  • Athena

    Mike,

    Sorry about my imprecision in my Oct 7 message regarding Sharon’s message. It was dated June 27, 2011 at 10 pm. I understand the risks you mentioned, and am willing to share my e-mail address with anyone who may have sincere suggestions.

    I just learned this morning my dog indeed has a hemangiosarcoma, and my trusted vet suggested not treating, given the poor prognosis, although I plan to explore options in my area of Lansing, MI.

    Sharon and Melissa, I already started a modified diet of the sort recommended by Dr. Dressler, and just received his book, as a start. Thank you.

    Athena

    Thank you also Melissa and Shawna for your information. I have read Dr. D

  • Shawna

    I completely agree with melissa….

    You can definitely get some fabulous information from others but a holistic vet can guide you through all of this soooooo much better. When/if you see a healing crisis I am betting a lot that you will freak — a holistic vet can identify what is happening and help you both through it.

    You can also take info you get from online and have a reliable person to bounce the info off of..

    A good place, imo, to start with online research is veterinarian Dr. Demian Dressler’s blog — dog cancer blog.com He talks about how (some) kibbles can actually add to the cancer risks. He discusses both allopathic and holistic approaches — example, “organic” turmeric (the spice) is awesome for cancer. Dr. Dressler has a blog devoted to turmeric (and the ingredient in turmeric — curcumin). I don’t agree completely with him on diet but he does have diet recommendations..

    Learn as much as you can and have a holistic vet available to monitor and for a possible crisis..

  • melissa

    Athena-

    As the owner of a dog with cancer, I would highly rec that you consult a local holistic vet if this is the course you are choosing. Each treatment plan is different and what one requires, may not be what the other needs. For “general info” there are many wonderful canine cancer sites on the internet, some which have been provided in earlier links.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Athena… Please be more specific. When you say “Sharon”, please reference a date and time of her posting as well as which thread (dog food review) so I’ll have a better idea of which Sharon you’re talking about.

    By the way, please keep in mind that sharing email addresses can be risky.

  • Athena

    Hi Mike,
    Thank you for these postings. My dog recently had emergency surgery to remove his spleen, which was bleeding due to ruptured tumors, and part of his liver, also affected. We are currently waiting for a pathology report on both organs. I would appreciate your giving my e-mail address to Sharon to explore holistic treatment.
    Thanks, Athena

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Viera… Unfortunately, in accordance with our stated privacy policy (see link in the footer of this page), I’m unable to provide confidential information of this nature. Wish I could be more help.

  • Viera Whitlock

    Hi Mike,
    Could you please send me Sharon’s email address, I would like to find out about the holistic approach she used to treat her dog. She posted the ,essage on 27.6.2011
    Thank you very much,
    Viera

  • http://www.tripawds.com Rene, Tripawds.com

    Taken out of context indeed. Thanks Mike.

    In response to the angry emails we received from Sandi, here is how I clarified her misunderstanding about our post, as recorded in our comments section:

    “I apologize for the confusion. This post was originally written in February 2010, shortly after Dr. Sagman’s first review of this product. He subsequently revised his review in August 21010 after a closer look at N/D, but we forgot to update this topic. . . The post has been revised to reflect Dr. Sagman’s current ranking of N/D.”

    We understand that Dr. Sagman doesn’t endorse any particular products. Our listing of other foods are ones that he “enthusiastically recommends” as quality food, not specifically for foods that treat cancer. We never said he endorsed this product for cancer.

  • Pingback: Science Diet n/d, Supplements and Recommended Foods for Cancer Dogs | Tripawds Nutrition | Best Canine Cancer Dog Amputation Diet Supplements Health Help

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Sandi… Tripawds is one of the most helpful dog cancer sites on the Internet. It’s been graciously built with love and a lot of hard work by its founder. Renee is someone I have only the utmost respect for. So, I have absolutely no intention of dictating to her what she says on her own website.

    Since DFA is a blog, the link you refer to was not placed here by me but is what’s known as a trackback (a link automatically generated by all WordPress blogging software to allow readers to “track back” a link to another website when one article mentions another).

    In any case, it’s important to remind you I’ve repeatedly observed your recurring arguments with other DFA regulars. And I’ve had to come to your rescue before.

    Posting here (or on any blog) is a privilege. And one that must never be taken for granted. Please don’t abuse that privilege.

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    I have been interviewed numerous times by newspapers & magazines – I’m well aware of being misquoted. Once in print, it’s not the same as the internet where a change is easily made. You might want to get in touch with the owner of that website to revise it. I only found that website because you added the link at the end of the page. I saw no need to mention “In theory….”- that was clear to me.

    How was that unfair when you just admitted it was taken out of context. Misinformation to me is “unfair” when a pet’s life is at stake.

    You might want to get in touch with the author to revise this unless you believe Hills is the way to go. “In a nutshell, for dogs dealing with the negative consequences of chemotherapy or cancer treatment, Hill’s Prescription N/D Canine makes a logical choice”.

    I wasn’t critiquing the article – just want the correct info to be given to the reader.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Sandi… Are you kidding me? Your comment has taken something said and published by another author on their own website completely out of context.

    Unlike you, I would never want to give folks the impression I would ever recommend any food for treating cancer (or any other disease, for that matter). I believe I’ve made that abundantly clear many times throughout this website.

    As a human healthcare provider (and one that has many times had to make this horrific diagnosis myself), it would be misleading and irresponsible for me to suggest to my own patients that a specific food would cure their cancer.

    The words you chose to quote were selectively taken out of context from an interview with the publisher of the tripawds.com website. Here’s a section posted from that same interview you failed to mention in your comment:

    “In theory, there’s probably no reason your readers can’t add taurine and arginine. I say “in theory” because in actuality, these are amino acids (the basic building blocks of all proteins) and they could possibly be dose-specific. I would imagine that some ready-made commercial canine amino acid supplements are probably a lot safer than just guessing at the dose. And fish oil can be an anti-coagulant. In excessive doses it is theoretically possible to affect a dog’s clotting times… and encourage bleeding. And this could be detrimental to a pet with a recent history of surgery.

    My best advice to your readers would be to run the supplement idea by a licensed veterinarian.”

    This review (like every review on this website) is based upon the label, the ingredients and the Guaranteed Analysis. And nothing else… especially the suggestion any commercial dog food would ever successfully treat or cure cancer.

    For proof, you may wish to go back and re-read this review.

    I hope this clears up any misunderstanding of the message conveyed in your intentionally provocative critique of an article you read elsewhere.

    I say “intentionally provocative” here because of your decision to post a duplicate of your comment at the end of another article on my website (an article having nothing whatsoever to do with this subject).

    Sandi, what was your point of doing that?

    If you have something critical to say about an article published elsewhere by another author on a different website (something for which I have no control), I would have hoped you would have had the courtesy to say it on their website. And not mine.

  • Jonathan

    Sandi, the article says at the end

    “Meanwhile, if you’d like to try Five Star healthy canned foods that Dr. Sagman recommends, check these out”

    That’s not Mike saying that, it was the writer of the article making that leap.

    Furthermore, yes, diet is very important for a cancer dog. In fact, diet probably causes most of the cancers we see in dogs and people. Food is what your body is MADE OUT OF. Literally. If you are eating damaged proteins and processed crap with chemicals in them, then you are replacing your cells with that trash. I bet you more cancer dogs could benefit from a raw diet with some supplements.

    In any account, there was no inappropriate information in what Mike said for that interview, and he clearly differs solid advice to your dog’s vet.

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    Monica Segal is a Nutritonist. She recommends for a cancer dog diet that is formulated to address cancer – low carbohydrates, moderate protein and fairly high in fat, especially omega 3 fatty acids. There isn’t one ideal diet because some of this depends on what a dog tolerates. She favor foods such as smelt and veggies, but diets based on very lean beef can be excellent when large amounts of fish oil (not fish liver oil) are added. Of course, any diet should be balanced.

    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/K9Kitchen/
    http://www.monicasegal.com/aboutus/index.php

    I thought you might like these cancer links. The members are very supportive.

    Bone Cancer
    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/bonecancerdogs/

    Canine Cancer
    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/CanineCancer/

    Canine Cancer Comfort
    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/CanineCancerComfort/join

    Delphi Forums
    http://forums.delphiforums.com/petcancer/start

    Dog Cancer Care
    http://www.dogcancercare.com

    Lymphoma Heart
    http://www.pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/LymphomaHeartDogs

    Tri-Pawds
    http://www.tripawds.com/forums

    Canine Cancer Awareness
    http://www.caninecancerawareness.org

    Financial Aide:

    Care Credit
    (800) 300-3046
    http://www.carecredit.com/practices/veterinary

    Cody’s Club
    (614) 620-2476
    http://www.codysclub.bravehost.com

    In Memory of Magic
    http://www.imom.org

    Land of Pure Gold Foundation
    (410) 363-1434
    http://www.landofpuregold.com

    National Canine Foundation
    (866) 262-0542
    http://www.wearethecure.org/grant_info.htm

    Perseus Foundation
    (202) 406-0227
    http://www.perseusfoundation.org

    The Magic Bullet Fund
    themagicbulletfund.org
    http://www.themagicbulletfund.org

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    “Dr. Sagman’s Healthy Foods for Cancer Dogs”

    I just came across this article and would like to know if you changed your opinion on feeding Hill’s N/d to cancer dogs? Luckily, this brand was never suggested to me.

    http://nutrition.tripawds.com/2010/02/06/dr-sagmans-healthy-foods-for-cancer-dogs/

    “Recently, Dr. Sagman rated Hill’s Science Diet n/d, a prescription food formula for dogs fighting cancer, giving it four out of five stars. His review summary says: “In a nutshell, for dogs dealing with the negative consequences of chemotherapy or cancer treatment, Hill’s Prescription N/D Canine makes a logical choice. Our only reservation seems to be Hill’s unfortunate decision to use meat by-products as its primary ingredient. If it wasn’t for this one shortcoming, this dog food might have earned our highest rating.”

    “Meanwhile, if you’d like to try Five Star healthy canned foods that Dr. Sagman recommends, check these out:”

    I’m wondering why you have a disclaimer on your website that you’re not a veterinarian, yet you are recommending other brands for their cancer dogs. They also didn’t clarify your medical background. I certainly would have thought you were a Vet.

    Diet is extremely important when dealing with cancer!!!!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Nancy… I’m so sorry to hear about your baby’s lymohoma. Unfortunately, since I’m not a veterinarian and due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, it would be inappropriate for me to provide specific health advice or product recommendations. You may wish to check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

  • Nancy

    Hi,
    My 14 year old baby was just diagnosed with lymphoma. Because of his hip displasia and having 3 bouts of vestibular syndrome and knowing chemo will compromise the immune system, I’m afraid of another inner ear infection and one more would be too much for him to handle with his hip displasia and what they go through with the vertigo and falling over. Do you see a benefit of using ND with one that’s not going through treatment? I know from being a cancer survivor, cancer loves sugar and want to get on a food that doesn’t feed the cancer, so maybe he can enjoy a longer quality of life. Thanks

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kenny… Done.

  • Cheryl

    May I suggest the following yahoo groups for anyone wanting additional info on fighting cancer? These ppl are currently fighting and have much more current information on protocols and the supportive drugs.

    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/PetswithCancer/
    This group is owned by Vicki but mainly moderated by Jean. You couldn’t ask more a more compassionate group. It’s for all pets/types of cancer.

    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/CanineCancer/
    This group is owned by Paulette. It’s for all types of canine cancers. This group supports ppl whether or not they choose chemo.

    http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/LymphomaHeartDogs/
    This group is owned by Donna whose dog is one of the long-term survivors of lymphoma. To belong to this group your dog must be in chemotherapy.

    You can tell any of them on the application that Scitzo’s / Oneida’s mom referred you.

  • Kenny

    Can you please forward my email address to Cheryl? My dog was recently diagnosed with lymphoma and I’d love to talk to her and her advice on her dogs diet. Thanks.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sharon… It took me over an hour to search through over 15,000 comments to find these folks’ emails. Then I had to write to each one (so they’re emails would remain confidential”. One of them was not accurate so the email was returned.

    As much as I wish I could help, I’ve made the editorial decision to avoid providing this personal service again. Hopefully, David will check back here for your response. Wish I could be more help.

  • http://www.adomesticfriend.com Sharon

    Mike
    I saved my dogs life without the surgery if you don’t care give David my email address, phone number etc. if he would like to talk to me.
    If anyone would like to know of how I treated my dog when she was said to have a highly aggressive cancer and needed surgery. I opted out of the surgery and did a holistic approach which worked for my dog. I learned this from a person that saved his boxer’s life by using this approach.
    Sharon

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi David… Forwarded your email to Cheryl, Lauren and Gwendolyn. But could not find info on Lee. Hope this helps.

  • David

    My shepherd/husky has recently been diagnosed with lymphoma and is in the CHOP protocol with the vet teaching hospital in Madison, WI. He’s in partial remission after 4 weeks, and I’m searching for ways to complete and prolong his remission. I would appreciate it very much if you would forward my email address to Cheryl, Lauren Spalding, Gwendolyn Glaser and lee in hopes that they may have some uselful advice from their experiences with this disease.

  • Pingback: Tripawds Blogs | Tripawd Talk Radio Interiews the Dog Food Advisor | Three Legged Dog Amputation Canine Bone Cancer Support Information Help Advice

  • Cheryl

    Hi, it’s me again posting an update on Scitzo. We just celebrated her 3 year in remission from lymphoma. Yep, we are still using Hill’s N/D. We have changed from the EVO to Acana Pacifica though after EVO was purchased by PG. She still gets an additional fish oil capsule daily.
    While I can not say for certain that Hill’s has any thing at all to do with her maintaining remission, I am not planning on changing foods.
    To those looking for advice, remember dogs going through chemotherapy do get “off” their food. It’s best to have lots of different foods available to try, everything from baby food, cottage cheese, eggs, hot dogs, cheese, yogurt, gravy, even liverwurst. Sometimes the more smelly the better. The dogs need to eat and often you forgo the “best” nutrition just to get them to eat.
    Low carb, high protein are the best choices for a cancer dog.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Ryan… Sorry to hear about your Boxer’s lymphoma. Unfortunately, since I’m not a veterinarian, I cannot provide specific or reliable health advice or product recommendations. I did forward your email address to Lauren. Hope you guys are able to share helpful information for your pets.

  • http://www.newhealthypets.com Ryan

    Hello, my 5 yr old boxer was diagnosed with lymphoma. i was using Life ABundance food that i am so confident in this food its so hard to switch to anything else! I am looking at ND science diet. NOT a fan really. By-products!! the thing it is to help out with them going through chemo. Could i use SD for the 25 week protocal of chemo and then go back to life’s abundance? Mike if you don’t mind i would like others to check it out http://www.newhealthypets.com
    Mike can you forward my email to Lauren Spalding? I would like to hear if she had any results and if she kept on feeding the science diet? Thank you!!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Akitamom… I’m so sorry to hear about your reservations regarding these products. They may be perfectly acceptable in the results they deliver (for that is not what we evaluate here. In any case, you’d probably stand a better chance of returning unused product if you go directly through your vet. After all, this is a consumer product and I’d like to think your vet would probably be gracious and accept the return. Hope this helps.

  • akitamom

    I just adopted an adult akita and our vet, during the initial check up, recommended the hills prescription dry food for weight loss. Without thinking I agreed and left the vet’s with a huge bag of this ‘stuff’. As I read these posts and the ingredients list on this large bag of dog ‘food’, I see corn, corn meal, soy, chicken meal, animal by product and a host of other less than savory ingredients. I suspect this prescribed stuff is probably garbage. I can’t believe any vet would sell this stuff. Will Hills take it back? I hate to sour a relationship with our veterinarian…
    Has anyone else successfully sent this stuff back to Hills and received the requested refund? Did anyone successfully return this to the vet and receive credit or refund? I have noticed a fierce devotion to the Hills label from those in the pet care industry that seems almost fanatical. I miss the old fashioned honest, country docs that just want to help keep your pets healthy.

    Today some have a ‘how dare you question our authority’ kind of attitude to real concerns. One vet told me that it would be better if patients stopped trying to research medicines and pet health themselves because they wasted too much time with questions that dismissed the authority of those in veterinary medicine.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jen… Sorry to hear about your pet. Since I’m not a veterinarian it would be misleading and inappropriate for me to recommend a specific dog food to treat your dog’s condition. And I’m not at all familiar with the supplements you mention. However, my personal opinion is that the foods which contain the healthiest quality ingredients are the best way to feed any “sick” animal (including us humans). Hope this helps point you in the right direction.

  • Jen

    Would organic chicken or other dog foods be better than N/D? My vet recommended that for my almost 8 year old shepherd-akita mix, who has osteosarcoma. He had his leg amputated 3 weeks ago, and started chemo a few days back. I also give him arteminisnin two times a day, 200 mg total. Have you heard anything about that herb? He was eating Hills J/D, but it lists corn and grain, which are suppose to be bad for cancer.Is Hills as bad as they say?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jane… Sorry to hear about your dog’s diagnosis. However, I’m not a veterinarian and I don’t make or sell dog food. I only review and rate dog food products. Maybe you should ask a professional in your town. Sorry I can’t be more helps.

  • Jane

    I just received a call from my vet today. . I had a tumor removed from my 9 year old lab and it was cancerous. I have decided not to undergo chemotherapy. What can your dog food diet do for my dog. I want to treat her through diet to build a healty immune system to help fight her cancer. Can you help me or refer me to someone who can. Thank you so much.
    Jane Brice

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sharon… Sorry to hear about your dog’s cancer. I can understand your concern for finding a quality dog food for your pet. However, since I’m not a veterinarian, it would be misleading for me to assure you a particular food would deliver specific health benefits. If you decide to forgo the Hill’s N/D, then you may want to consider a high quality, high protein (meat-based) product. Once you find one on our list, be sure to discuss it with your vet before purchasing. Hope this helps.

  • sharon

    I was recommed n/d by the vet for my German Shepard, she just had a ca ncer tumor removed, I want a food that starves the cancer cells if any are left behind,and I do not want road kill or product’s in her food that I just read about,What is the best dog food for a dog that still may be a risk,Thank you for your help.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Christine… Yes, AAFCO does define meat by-products as those parts “other than meat”… which “includes, but is not limited to, lungs, spleen, kidneys, brain, livers, blood, bone, partially defatted low-temperature fatty tissue and stomachs and intestines freed of their contents”.

    But while you (and others in the pet food industry) defend the use of meat by-products by citing this official-sounding definition, most with common sense recognize this ingredient for what it REALLY is… slaughterhouse waste.

    Meat by-products are nothing more than what’s left of a slaughtered cow after all the good cuts of meat have been removed. With the sole exception of “hair, horns, teeth and hooves”, this ingredient really can contain just about anything… anything (that is) BUT meat.

    Heads, ovaries, developing fetuses… you name it.

    Yes, Christine… wild animals do (sometimes) devour the internal organs first. But not always. And not just those internal organs exclusively. They feed on the entire carcass… muscle meat and all.

    However, our pets aren’t so lucky. They don’t get to choose. Our pets can only eat what we place in front of them. So, with meat by-products… they’re forced to consume ONLY the by-products.

    By the way, think road kill isn’t used in meat by-products? Well, think again. Although beef by-products must be sourced from beef, meat by-products can come from any mammal.

    Yes, even road kill.

    So, you ask… “who has that kind of time to go around picking up road kill, packing it up and sending it to a major food company?”

    The state departments of transportation. That’s who.

    You see, each state regulates the disposal of dead animals. For example, according to the Official Code of Georgia (OCGA 4-5-5)…

    “It is the duty of the Department of Transportation to remove and dispose of the carcasses of all dead animals found within the rights of way of all highways within the state maintained either totally or partly from state funds.”

    And more dead animals…

    “Many facilities such as livestock markets, livestock slaughter establishments, animal feeding operations and licensed animal shelters, kennels, pet dealers, and stables should have in place written and approved methods and place of disposal of dead animals and their wastes for animals that die on their premises.”

    So, how does the state recommend disposing of these animals?

    “Methods to be used for the disposal of dead animals include burial, composting, burning to ash, incineration, rendering, or any method using appropriate disposal technology, which has been approved by the Commissioner of Agriculture.”

    Rendering plants across the country regularly receive deliveries of out-of-date supermarket meats, euthanized animals from shelters, dead farm and zoo animals… and road kill.

    They then produce meat by-product meals and fats and sell them to the pet food industry.

    Oh, one more thing. My original review mistakenly reported here the use of meat by-products. I have today corrected this error. This report now reflects the inclusion of beef by-products.

    Since this is a named source, these by-products certainly do NOT contain anonymous meat (like road kill).

  • Christine

    As the “Dog Food Advisor” I would think you would want to have correct definitions in your articles. Your above statement: “The first ingredient in this dog food includes meat by-products… slaughterhouse waste. Meat by-products are the inedible leftovers of slaughter deemed “unfit for human consumption”.

    Basically, they’re what’s left of a slaughtered animal after all the marketable cuts have been removed.

    Since (in this case) the source animal is anonymous, the meat can come from almost anywhere. Road kill, dead zoo animals, diseased or dying livestock… even euthanized pets and laboratory animals.

    When you see the phrase “meat by-products” you’re looking at one of the lowest quality meat ingredients in commercial dog food.”

    is grossly incorrect. While I most definitely do not work for Hill’s, I want to help clear up the many rumors over by-products that are out there. So many people are ill-informed and chosing lower quality pet foods that have been through no regulatory process, are not complete and balanced, nor have under gone AAFCO feeding trials at the expense of their pets.

    This is the actual LEGAL definition of by-products:

    The definition for meat by-products by the Association of American Feed Control Officials is:

    The non-rendered, clean parts, other than meat, derived from slaughtered mammals. It includes, but is not limited to, lungs, spleen, kidneys, brain, livers, blood, bone, partially defatted low temperature fatty tissue, and stomachs and intestines freed of their contents. It does not include hair, horns, teeth and hoofs. It shall be suitable for use in animal food. If it bears name descriptive of its kind, it must correspond thereto.

    While this may not sound appealing to a lot of people, I personally, wouldn’t go out and eat a mouse by choice either…but I sure hope my cats do! The by-products are the first thing they eat!

    One last thing, Road Kill? Really? Who has that kind of time to go around picking up road kill, packing it up and sending it to a major food company? Let’s think logically and realistically.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lee… Sorry to hear about Maggie Mae’s diagnosis. I’m planning to revisit this Hill’s N/D review shortly and am reconsidering its current rating… primarily due to your very same concerns.

    Unfortunately, I don’t keep up with supplements. But there must be some out there that can closely duplicate those in the Hill’s product. If so, it makes some sense (at least to me) to use a better quality dog food along with your own quality supplements.

    In any case, you should probably run this solution by your vet before you try this “do it yourself” formula with Maggie.

  • lee

    My beautiful Airedale, Maggie Mae has just finished her 2nd week of the Madison Protocol for lymphosarcoma. My vet has recommended Hills N/D but I am not happy with the ‘meat by products’ component of the food. It seems that the EVO Turkey and Chicken Dry has a similar profile with the exception of the amount of Omega 3’s, arginine and taurine (crutial ingredients) Can you recommend supplementation to the EVO that would give us the benefits of the N/D without the ‘by products?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Gwen… It’s stories like yours that make me wish I knew what to recommend as the “perfect” food for your little Shih Tzu. Your home cooking history tells me how much you care about your little friend. Our Bailey has always been a fussy eater and we have been successful by topping his kibble with a quality canned food at each meal. I’m sorry I can’t be more help.

  • Gwen Tirreno

    I’m hoping you could recommend a nutritious dog food that my 8 yr old Shih Tzu might be able to enjoy eating. He was diagnosed in Jan 2010 with auto-immune encephalitis and has been on an agressive regiment of steroids and Atopica which has knocked out his immune system. He has been fed an organic, home-cooked diet most of his life based on fresh veggies, nutrients, brown rice, and chicken. In spite of all the meds to help his stomach, he’s refusing his regular food and I have to come up with new options. His latest faves have been pasta with butter and cheese and Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal. I’m worried about his nutrion. Do you have any suggestions?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kristine… I’m so sorry to hear about your Chihuahua. I wish I knew of a special dog food that could help you more, but since I’m not a veterinarian, I haven’t been properly trained to provide you with the kind of advice.

    However, it would seems to me it would be better for your dog to eat a nutritious food he liked rather than one that may help… yet he refuses to touch at all.

    If your vet agrees, maybe you should consider a dog food with better quality (and tastier) ingredients. Most older dogs have a very difficult time chewing due to poor dental health. So, I’m inclined to think about feeding a nice 4 or 5-star canned dog food. Hope this helps.

  • Kristine

    My sweet 15 year old chihuahua has been diagnosed with salivary gland adenocarcinoma which has unfortunately spread to his lungs. My vet recommended Hill’s Science Diet n/d. Approx. 1 week ago, I tried to introduce it slowly into his diet. He seemed to like it a lot, only eat the new food and leaving his old food in his bowl. Around day 7 I stopped putting his old food in the bowl (even though he stopped eating it all together) and only put n/d. Now he refuses to eat the n/d at all. He does receive a few small treat through out the day so that he will consume his chemotherapy pills and stomach protectant, certainly not enough to sustain his hunger. I would appreciate any tips you might have. Thank you!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Gwendolyn… Your message has been forwarded. Hope this helps.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?v=info&ref=profile&id=100000070279290 Gwendolyn Glaser

    Good Afternoon,
    I am interested in Lauren Spalding’s experiences. My 7 year-old Boxer just finished week 1 of the Wisconsin Madison protocol. I would appreciate you forwarding my email to her. Thank you very much, Gwendolyn.

  • Gun-Sofie Rautiala

    Hello! My dog has got a really rare illness called “white shaker syndrome”, She is ordered a diet of Hill´s prescription d/l both dry and canned. I have not been able to find out if the recommended amount on those two exclude each others. If so, the amount seems very small. She is on cortison and hungry all the time and has put on some weight. There are no recommendation to mix the food with other things. The vets we have met have never seen nor treated a dog with this illness befor so they too are puzzled. Can anyone help? For the moment my dog is getting better and her liver tests has improved dramatically since we started with Hill´s prescription.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi David… arginine is one of the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life. The article you reference shows both sides of the discussion regarding its use in cancer therapy. It appears only certain types of cancers can be negatively impacted by the use of arginine. Although this information appears to be disconcerting, most of the literature I’ve seen presents arginine as a positive agent in cancer therapy. Wish I could tell you more.

  • http://www.ehow.com/about_6463282_canine-cancer-arginine.html David Bui

    Hi Mike,

    As I was researching arginine, I found this information in the website that I referenced:
    ========
    Arginine is converted into either nitric oxide or L-ornithine. If arginine is converted into nitric oxide, it will help the immune cells that fight cancer. If it is converted into L-ornithine, it apparently helps the cancer grow, rather than attacking it.
    ========
    Have you heard anything about this? If true, perhaps arginine is not good for dogs with cancer?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lauren… At your request, I’ve forwarded your comment and email address to Chery. Hope this helps.

  • Lauren Spalding

    Hello Mike…..I am currently using Hills N/D to feed my 7 year old dog Ellie who has been diagnosed with Lymphoma along with the Madison Wisconsin Chemotherapy protocol (we are at week 6 of her treatment). I was wondering if it was possible for you to forward my email address to: Cheryl who posted a comment to you on March 14, 2010 at 10:26 pm. I am very keen to ask her questions about the treatment of her dog and how he is coping. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Kind Regards. Lauren

  • Lawrence Chase

    Hello Mike… I also found the staff at Hill’s truly disappointing in their responses when I contacted them in regard to an issue over their canned Prescription Diet L/D. I found that the canned product, on occasion, varied greatly in consistency from solid and firm to soft and mushy. I explained to Hills that the vet put my dog, Abby, on this food because of her liver issues, but Abby would vomit up the food if it came from a mushy can. Hill’s initial response to me was that there was nothing wrong with the mushy food and that this condition was a result of the product “aging in the can”. When I pointed out that the can was a sealed anaerobic environment and in all my years I had never seen any other canned product, be it dog food or human food, change unless the was a problem, Hills then claimed that the variations were due to the “differences in temperatures”. When I pointed out to Hills that this new explanation seemed just as implausible as the first, they effectively said that the explanations they put forth were the reason for the texture variations and that was that. No longer confident in their product, I stopped using Hills Prescription Diet L/D so as not to put Abby under any undue stress and discomfort.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Cheryl… Thanks for sharing your post-cancer feeding regimen with us. Sounds like you’re pleased with the results.

  • Cheryl

    I’ve been using the N/D for my dog for almost 2 years with spectacular results. Scitzo underwent 6 months of MW chemotherapy for lymphoma and has been in remission since 2/20/08. She has had no maintenance chemo. She eats 1/2 can of N/D per day along with Innova Evo Red Meat Kibble and Purina Fit & Trim. While this combination may seem unusual to some, it has worked wonderfully for us. Her eyes are bright, her coat his shiny, her energy is good and best of all – SHE IS STILL IN REMISSION!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Elizabeth… unfortunately, not so far. But I’ll be reviewing a lot more products over the next few months. In the meantime, why not check with your vet about the possibility of feeding your sweet dog one of our other four or five-star-rated dog foods. During cancer recovery, good nutrition is a must. Hope this helps.

  • Elizabeth

    Do you have any canned or dry food for dog’s suffering from cancer (specifically bone cancer) that did receive your highest rating?

  • http://www.tripawds.com Rene

    Thank you so much for reviewing this one. A lot of pawrents on our site, Tripawds.com are sure to find this interesting reading, since many of our pups are tripod dogs because they’ve been diagnosed with bone cancer.