🐱 NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Cotons mom

Anyone have experience with using this for flea control. Any down side to using it? Where can I get it if I do decide to use it?

Thanks

#57242 Report Abuse
    theBCnut

The issue with DE is that if the dog inhales it, it can act like glass dust in the lungs. You really have to think about that while you are applying it.

#57252 Report Abuse
    pugmomsandy
    Participant

You can purchase it online or at the feedstore and garden stores. Be sure to get Food Grade.

#57353 Report Abuse
    Marietta B

I have been using it for over two years and have never seen a flea. I put it directly on my dog and I do it outside because it’s very dusty. I used to buy the food grade from a feed supply store, but now I just buy Only Natural Pet All In One Flea Remedy. It’s easier than buying a 50lb. bag from the feed store. My dog couldn’t tolerate any of the flea treatments from the vet. This has been a lifesaver!

#58782 Report Abuse
    Barb R
    Participant

I have been using it for years after reactions to the topical spot flea treatments. Dog had seizures.
    i get it here.
    http://www.earthworkshealth.com/
    No fleas. I just dump some in an empty shaker
    and spread from the neck-ear area to the base of the tale and rub it
    in. You may want to apply outside cause it can make a mess if the
    dog decides to shake after applying it.

#59142 Report Abuse
    Rich

EDITED: After reading Barb R’s excellent link I have to edit my original post below. It seems that DMV’s recommend DE for parasites in the gut etc. My neighbor however thinks feeding them DE is a way to treat for fleas. So I stand corrected and will share with her this wonderful link that Barb provided.