Taste of the Wild (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Taste of the Wild Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Taste of the Wild product line includes nine dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

  • Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon [A]
  • Taste of the Wild Pine Forest (4 stars) [A]
  • Taste of the Wild Sierra Mountain (4 stars) [A]
  • Taste of the Wild Wetlands Formula (5 stars) [M]
  • Taste of the Wild High Prairie Formula (5 stars) [M]
  • Taste of the Wild Appalachian Valley Small Breed [M]
  • Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Formula (4 stars) [M]
  • Taste of the Wild High Prairie Puppy Formula (4 stars) [A]
  • Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Puppy Formula (4 stars) [A]

Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 32% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 43%

Ingredients: Beef, peas, garbanzo beans, lamb meal, canola oil, egg product, wild boar, ocean fish meal, pea flour, brewers yeast, tomato pomace, flaxseed, natural flavor, salmon oil (a source of DHA), salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium animalis fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus reuteri fermentation product, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis29%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis32%17%43%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%35%37%
Protein = 28% | Fat = 35% | Carbs = 37%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The third ingredient lists garbanzo beans, also known as chickpeas. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (pulse) family of vegetables.

Garbanzos contain about 22% protein, something which must be considered when evaluating the total protein reported in this food.

The fourth ingredient is lamb meal. Lamb meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh lamb.

The fifth ingredient is canola oil. Unfortunately, canola can be a controversial item. That’s because it can sometimes (but not always) be derived from genetically modified rapeseed.

Yet others cite the fact canola oil can be a significant source of essential omega-3 fatty acids.

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The sixth ingredient is egg product, an unspecified (wet or dry?) form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The seventh ingredient is boar, an animal closely related to wild pig. Although it is a quality item, raw boar contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The eighth ingredient is ocean fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Unfortunately, the phrase “ocean fish” is vague and does little to adequately describe this ingredient. Since some fish are higher in omega-3 fats than others, it’s impossible for us to judge the quality of this item.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

The ninth ingredient is pea flour, a powder made from roasted yellow peas. Pea flour contains as much as 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, we find tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

In addition, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Taste of the Wild Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Taste of the Wild Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 32%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 43%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 32% and a mean fat level of 18%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 42% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 57%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the pea products, garbanzo beans, brewers yeast and flaxseed in this recipe, and the potato protein contained in other recipes, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Taste of the Wild is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meats as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Taste of the Wild Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to share news about coupons and discounts with others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

10/19/2016 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Valerie Moore

    My dog eats TOTW High Prairie Formula and she vomited three times in one day last week from the last bag I bought. I’ve got the production code so will be contacting the company, as I haven’t had any issues until now

  • Tabitha

    Thank you so much for your replies. you have been very helpful with your advice and knowledge. I’m definitely going to do better about using his puppy wipes to wipe his paws after every trip he takes outside and keep an eye on how his yeasty paws are reacting during the fall/winter season. Haha its funny that you speak of grass.. unfortunately we have two male dogs and they have completely ruined the backyard.. Lol not a of blade of grass to be found.. Just dirt.. But this doesnt mean that its not an environmental allergy. He very well could be allergic to whatever is in the dirt or pollen or whatever maybe mixed in the dirt back there. he doesnt spend much time back there other than to do his business then he comes running back inside to be with me. I’m also thinking it could be just because he is an Australian Shepherd and has long fur.. we take the dogs to our beach house every weekend so maybe the fact that his paws are wet a lot during the weekends and his hairy paws hold in the moisture causing a good living environment for yeast to grow. Im sure this could also be the culprit but if so, i dont understand why he still has it no matter how much i dry off his paws after the beach.. i have been trimming his hairs between his toes and pads so that there is no hair and i can dry his paws easier. but im definitely going to do what you suggested and get a gentle puppy wash and wash his feet off a few times a week to keep them as clean as possible..
    I guess i’m just going to have to wait for another vet visit to find out the cause.
    I’m still concerned about him not being interested in his food though. he doesnt get sick off of it. TOTW has actually done very well for him. he has never gotten sick or had any issues from it. But now that he has had a taste of his brothers Pure Balance kibble, he wants nothing to do with his TOTW.. he also refused to eat a few other choices i introduced to him such as Zignature, wellness, merick, and earthborn.
    He is being an extremely picky eater ever since he was introduced to his brothers food. However, i dont want to give in and give him Pure Balance because it was around that time that he ate that food that he began having these yeast and itching issues, so if it IS a food allergy and he is reacting to something that was in that kibble 5 months ago… (i honestly think it would have gone away by now if it was a food reaction to the kibble though) then i certainly dont want to try giving it to him again..
    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/6baeddd7e2594dde9237683c43a7b802d66110666c7815f0a334664b2a2ad35b.jpg

  • anon101

    You are talking about gastrointestinal upset. The poster in question is talking about pruritus and skin issues. There is a difference.

  • anon101

    Environmental allergies don’t go away. There is no cure. There is effective treatment.
    The food probably has nothing to do with it. However, it would not hurt to try a prescription food/elimination food if your vet thinks it might help.
    You can hope that the environmental allergies are seasonal and will go away in the winter.
    However, in the meantime wipe the dog’s paws off every time he comes in from outdoors, especially after walking in grass covered in early morning dew.
    Bathe in a gentle puppy shampoo a couple of times a week, prescription shampoo if your vet advises.
    If the symptoms continue times 1 year/4 seasons without significant relief then it may be best to see a veterinary dermatologist if your regular vet has not come up with an effective treatment.
    There is no cheap way out of this, allergies are a serious hereditary disorder that causes suffering. It is recommended that you don’t breed this dog.
    If his symptoms become extreme you may have to go to the emergency vet to get a shot of prednisone to stop the suffering, this is necessary.
    Talk to your vet.
    Most veterinarians offer payment plans and accept credit cards.

  • Ryan Hatfield

    Go search TOTW for recent news/reviews. All flavors are causing illness with dogs. My lab just threw up this morning. My friends two labs also went to emergency vet earlier this week. He changed food and they have already seen a huge change. I’m changing immediately until TOTW can figure out what is going on.

  • Tabitha

    Hello Anon!
    Thank you for your quick response! 🙂
    I did go to the vet to have his paws looked at but he only suggested the paw soak solution to get rid of yeasty paws. i tried the solution and it helped but didnt completely go away and just came back immediately after i stopped soaking his paws.
    The vet did suggest some tests to diagnose whether these issues are due to food allergies or not. i just got into a car accident about the same time this happened and simply could not afford $500 for all the tests to be done. i feel awful about it because he is always my first priority but the money just isnt there right now because i’ve been dealing with medical bills and the debt that i went under during the accident. Its a bad situation.
    Im definitely trying to save $20 here and there whenever i can afford it to put towards allergy tests for Koda, but its only slowly climbing and i feel at this rate i wont be able to get it done as soon as he needs it to be.
    As far as why he has no interest in his food.. still has me puzzled. i have been suggesting getting him Limited ingredients dog kibbles but the cheapest ones i have found are about $60 for a smaller quantity.. i just cant afford that right now.. i feel like a horrible momma, although i know in my heart that im not and accidents happen.. its just really put me in a deep rut because i want to do everything i can for him, but the money just isnt there. i’m heartbroken that i cant give him what he needs and get the money to get his tests done.

  • anon101

    Have you been to the vet? You have to rule out medical issues first, this can only be done by a veterinarian that has examined the dog.
    Once medical causes such as allergies and such are ruled out or diagnosed you can discuss diet changes with your vet. He may suggest a prescription food/elimination diet, this is the only way to rule out food sensitivities.
    Otherwise there is a lot of cross-contamination that goes on with commercial food.
    PS: His symptoms may have nothing to do with his diet, he is at the age that environmental allergies tend to show up, they get worse with age.
    If that is the case, your vet may suggest seeing a veterinary dermatologist.

  • Tabitha

    Hello!
    I have an Australian Shepherd, Koda, that i’ve been feeding TOTW to for 2 1/2 years now. My boyfriend feeds his dog Pure Balance dog food. 5 months ago, my boyfriend gave Koda some of his dogs Pure Balance instead of his TOTW when my store ran out of TOTW. Immediately, Koda developed bad yeast infection on his paws and was itching pretty badly all over. i have no idea why this effected him so badly as my boyfriends dog is thriving on his Pure Balance and has no skin issues from it. Maybe just transferring Koda to a dog food with rice (knowing TOTW doesnt have rice as an ingredient)? i’m not sure.. Well, as if the itching and yeast infection in all 4 of his paws wasnt bad enough, when i was finally able to get his TOTW (a week later) Koda wanted absolutely NOTHING to do with it. For two weeks i tried everything.. mixing eggs in it, warm water, kefir, dog gravy.. u name.. he would eat some but was definitely not excited about it and would nudge it away into the corner after a few licks or bites.. eventually it got to the point where nothing i add would make him eat it.. he began starving himself and BEGGING for our other dogs Pure Balance. He went three days without eating his food and would wait for his brothers crumbs of pure balance at the bottom of the bowl… i knew it was time to do something and maybe switch his diet to something that wasnt as boring to him.. I got sample bags of several different brands from my store… (yes i do gradually switch foods as ur supposed to over a course of 10-12 days by slowly introducing new food) anyways… i grabbed samples of ZIgnature, Wellness core, Earthborn, and Merrick.. Which are all pretty decent quality dog kibbles. None of them which i had any luck with…. He turned up his nose to all of the samples i introduced to him.. i even thought, im going to be a stubborn momma and just buy him a big bag of Zignature and just make him eat it.. he will eat when hes hungry and hes going to have to suck it up… well he would just stare at me with those everytime i picked up his bowl from the counter and placed it in front of him.. he would nudge it into the corner and lay down far away from it knowing i would pick it up in the next 20 minutes if he didnt eat it.. just like he did with all the other foods i had given him.. three days go by and he still wants nothing to do with it…. however, he still gets excited whenever my boyfriend goes to grab that Pure Balance for his dog… I’m at a lost… I want to give Koda something he looks forward to eating and something he loves… he seems to LOVE that Pure Balance kibble.. but it just doesnt agree with his skin.. i think thats what triggered the yeast infection and i noticed him itching that week he was being fed Pure Balance… its been 5 months and he STILL has yeasty paws that i cant get to go away. the vet said to soak in a vinegar and hydrogen peroxide solution.. i did that with no luck… but here it is 5 months later and his yeast infection hasnt cleared up he hasnt been eating Pure Balance.. for the last 4 months i have been feeding him his TOTW after he turned down all of the other foods i tried.. he eats it.. but he doesnt like it and only eats i once every two days and its been like that ever since.. half the time i feel like he is only eating so my other dog doesnt eat it.. i need suggestions please… he wants pure balance but im afraid he will begin itching all over and cause his paws to get even worse.. i need a tasty dog food that will be irresistible to him, but not cause him to itch.. so i guess what im asking is for suggestions of good quality dogfoods that have an irresistible taste for dogs that he will enjoy that is about $50 or cheaper???
    thank you https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/f271efaecd22c9a7e40c8a3c85e70041a0db61655ec6eb356550c92a6089bbd6.jpg

  • Susan

    Hi Ella,
    have a look at TOTW wet tin foods, he might prefer a wet food instead of dry kibble, I found Wellness kibbles to be VERY hard & the kibble size was big triangle shaped kibble thet took too long to digest…
    Get a glass of warm water & put a couple of dry Wellness kibbles in the cup of warm water & see how long it takes for the kibble to go soft all the way thru, squeeze inbetween your fingers, Wellness took more then 1 hour to go soft all teh way thru…….
    A good easy to digest kibble should only take 15mins to 40mins to swell & go soft all the way….TOTW digest easy & only took about 20mins & teh kibble was soft my boy loves teh TOTW Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb….
    Maybe start looking at Raw or Freeze Dried Raw Contact “Ziwi Peak” ask can you try a few samples of their Air Dried Raw formula’s your dog will love Ziwi Peak ….Ziwi Peak also makes Raw wet canned foods it smell beautiful so fresh & it doesnt look like raw food it looks like its cooked but it isn’t…. Here’s Ziwi Peaks link https://www.ziwipets.com/

  • Silverfox

    Yes, ducks chickens run wild together. Our dogs and cats love the eggs. Of course, me being a former city slicker….i scramble the eggs and freeze them. Each meal I reheat for them. They love it

  • Anonymous

    I don’t care if it’s not dog food related and if my post gets removed so be it, but duck eggs are amazing and so different than other eggs. We have chicken eggs too but duck eggs are amazing in taste and overall flavor. Our chickens are free range and organically fed and all that good stuff but I’d love to have an egg laying duck for my own palate.
    Our dogs love chicken eggs and our cats prefer egg yolks only, which is fine as we separate the eggs and toss the extra whites in recipes!
    Do your chickens and ducks co-exist or are they separated?
    Our chickens are pets and thanked for eggs but aren’t meat animals, even though our dogs secretly wish differently 😉 Birds are amazingly bright, too!

  • Anonymous

    If this is an ongoing problem, I would suggest a good check up at the vets to make sure there’s not a problem. At 8 months my guess is there isn’t, but wouldn’t it be good to have peace of mind? 🙂 It could be something as simple as a retained baby tooth causing problems chewing that the vet could easily fix.
    If that fails, I agree with InkedMarie–put the food down, pick it up after 15 minutes. Do you keep food down all the time? I would maintain a twice (or thrice) daily schedule; it won’t hurt a dog to get a little hungry and want to tuck into an actual meal instead of grazing.
    Hope you can find a good solution for your pupper, Ella.

  • Crazy4cats

    Which Wellness formula are you feeding that he isn’t eating? Is he eating anything, such as treats? Is he being picky or is there a health or dental problem?

  • InkedMarie

    Put the food down, leave it for 15 minutes then pick it back up. He gets nothing until the next meal. If you keep changing foods, you may create a picky eater for sure.

  • anon101

    Zignature is a quality food (imo)
    No potato, check it out at Chewy dot com

  • Ella Cruz

    I have a 8month old shih Tzu mix I am trying to find the right food now I’m on wellness and he is not eating it for some reason . Very picky eater. Help! Is this a good brand for my pup?? In need of suggestions??

  • Silverfox

    Thank you for writing.
    Been doing the same as you.
    We live around trip 2 hrs to get dog food. Been wanting a cheaper and better food on line. Have it delivered.
    We have chicks and ducks. They produce more eggs than we can ever eat. Our dogs coats are so soft and shinny. Thank you my friends

  • Anonymous

    Not sure if you’re still around Silverfox but I know many people who feed lots of scraps on top of a good quality kibble and it does no harm and seems to improve their dogs’ health. We have an overflow of eggs, offal and scraps of meats and vegetable matter that go into the dogs bowls every night. They’re still alive and healthy 😉

  • Anonymous

    I use a combination of vinegar and water and use a rag with this mixture to wipe down my dogs during the allergen season. It’s not as good as a bath, but with multiples (and with dogs that don’t love water) it’s a nice in between solution. Sometimes a wipe down when coming into the house when dealing with environmental allergens can help a lot. Even though others have had other experiences, I’ve found home remedies like this to be more helpful than allergy shots and the like that last a full day or two at most and can’t be given more than every 30 days. Best part is that our vet approves =)

  • anon101

    If your dog has been suffering with allergies for 1 year/4 seasons without any significant periods of relief despite treatment by the regular vet.
    I recommend seeing a veterinary dermatologist for intradermal skin testing and treatment options.
    My dog does well on immunotherapy (desensitization) now available sublingual as well as by shot.
    Environmental allergies require lifelong treatment, there is no cure.
    Food allergies are rare, but if your dog has food sensitivities I recommend Zignature, otherwise you could try a prescription food/elimination diet if your vet agrees and see if there is any improvement.
    Home remedies such as vingar do not work and may cause skin irritation. Ask your vet for shampoo recommendations, my dog gets bathed every other day even now that she is stable, but only needs a cheap gentle puppy shampoo.
    She gets a prescription shampoo bath about once a week or as needed.

  • Annie

    Yes, he also has environmental allergies that we try to address with baths and vinegar/water rinses, and washing bedding. It’s not easy to bathe him as he’s 92 lbs. and dislikes water, so I need help to get him into the tub! We did use Canidae Pure Elements (lamb) for awhile, but it also has turkey; the other flavors you recommend and the one with Bison are not available without special order in my area. I prefer to buy local as opposed to online, and would have to get any food delivered to work, as delivery theft is a problem in my neighborhood, which isn’t ideal. If I could try the other flavors out with a sample, I might do that, but have found our dogs tend to dislike fish formulas, and seemed to get loose stools with too much pork. Cost is also a real factor. Just bought Zignature Lamb, as no poultry or grain, and seems to be a good option. It’s an ongoing effort, for sure. Thanks for the input!

  • Susan

    Hi Annie, are you sure your dog has food sensitivities, he might have Environment Allergies as well, my boy has both, he gets Seasonal Allergies n Spring/Summer months & has food sensitivities that causes itchy smelly yeasty ears,paws & skin when he eats foods he’s sensitive too…. I did a food elimination diet to work out what foods made his skin & paws yeasty smelly & itchy…Weekly baths are the best thing to relieve itchy skin & wash off any allergens on their skin & paws.
    Have a look at “Canidae” Pure Wild Boar, Pure Sea Salmon, both formula’s are limited ingredients & chicken & turkey free & high in Omega 3 for skin problems.. click on link below scroll down a bit & click on “View All” look Page 3…. https://www.canidae.com/dog-food/products

  • Annie

    I am so sorry, hope your pups are better. I used to feed High Prarie TOTW also, as it didn’t have turkey and my elder statesman (now r.i.p.) was allergic to turkey. But since seeing all these posts, I have been afraid to get it, as I live in CA. Where do you live; do you think your bag was made in CA, where everyone says there’s an issue?

    Last month, I wrote TOTW to ask what they were doing to address these reports. They pointed to their multiple quality control practices and said they were aware of online allegations that their food made dogs sick, and urged owners to contact them with the code from the bag so they could investigate. The code tells them what batch it came from, and she said they save samples from every batch, so they could then test the relevant sample. They also said they did not have reports of clusters of concerns
    relating to any particular formulation or in any particular geographic
    location.
    One of my remaining dogs has frequent skin allergies, and I have tried eliminating chicken, and would like to also be able to eliminate turkey, to see if that will help. But so many grain free foods use turkey in the formula, it’s difficult.

  • Brooke Baker

    I feed my dogs Hige prairie TOTW, never had a problem. Tuesday night got a new bag and now all three are sick. Pulled food up after considering that could be my problem. Currently feeding chicken, eggs and rice. Is there others who have had this problem recently?

  • anon101

    If your dogs are doing well on their current kibble as a base, I would not switch.

    For example, Zignature is an excellent kibble, for a long time I didn’t try it because I thought it was expensive. Very glad that I did.

    Also, ask a veterinary health care professional what they think of the “clean label project”. https://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/forums/topic/cleanlabelproject-org/ see the latest post 9/20. 1:50 pm

  • Silverfox

    Thank you.
    I am looking for a different dog food. I have been feeding my dogs Blue. Then I read about TOTW. The article had a good write up and testing. Guess I was wrong.
    I have 3 dogs; Weimaraner, Border Collie and a German Shepherd. We live in the middle of nowhere. And it’s about a 90 minute drive to get dog food. Been serving my dog’s blue but the price of Blue is going up quickly. On the acreage we live, we have chickens and I’ve got so many eggs I’ve been feeding my dog’s scrambled eggs in the morning, with the dog food. Plus meat scraps . My dogs are very healthy and look great .So I want to start purchasing online. Now I’m really confused. What are you serving your pups?
    And thank you very much for taking time to send me these articles

  • Veronika

    They are making way too much money to care, did you see Susan Thixtons post on Facebook about the new Purina survey?
    Don’t worry they know what’s good and what’s not, they just want to see what people like to see in a food so they can continue to trick people into crappy foods with nice pictures, words and packaging as that’s what the survey will likely contain.

  • Susan

    Hi Silverfox,
    I feed TOTW Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb & I couldnt work out why some people’s dogs were getting sick while other people dogs weren’t sick(mine) TOTW has 5 plants around America & alot of the dogs thet were getting sick their food seem to came from 1 of TOTW California plants, the TOTW High Prairie & Pacific Stream formula’s seem to be making dogs sick, anyway “Clean Label project” have just released their 2nd test study pet foods high with Toxins, Acrylamides & BPA/BPS & TOTW High Prairie & Pacific Stream formula’s test very high for Toxins & Acrylamides & BPA/BPS this might be WHY a few of these dogs were getting really sick, below is CLP site, on your left click on “Dry Dog Foods” & you’ll see all the 5 stars foods thru to the 1 star brands & formulas are on pages 11 thru to 16, then also click on “Brand report Cards” link on your left, TOTW scored very bad…

    I always tell people too Rotate their dog foods & change with different brands that have a different ingredients & different protein source to the formula they are feeding, this will help especially if you’re feeding a formula that is high in toxins….

    My boy became very sick after eating 4 different American brands that weer fish, DFA rated with 4-5 stars then I seen them all on CLP first test study they did back in April 2017 they were in the worse top ten formula’s high in toxins & contaminates… Pet foods companies need to start testing the food/ingredients they are buying before making toxic pet food that’s making our pets sick, I think they know what’s in their pet food but they are making way too much money to care, that saying people say “It’s Just a Dog Who Cares”
    http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/pet-food-study-2-0/

  • Silverfox

    I read all the comments. It appears everyone is changing food without easying into the new food. All dogs can not be changed from one meal to the next. Given Taste a chance. Feeding my dogs Blue, that is becoming expensive

  • John Enger

    I’ve been feeding my Lab TOTW High Prairie formula for years now, he is almost 7 and he is extremely healthy. I always buy my pet foods from Chuck and Dons here in the Twin Cities, they have a tremendous turnover in product because they sell so much and price is cheaper than online. This TOTW product is produced in Missouri, the 30 pound bags last approx. 40 days and I’ve never had any problem with it getting old.

  • Susan

    Hi Martha,
    there was a lady poster that posted on this TOTW page & she posted she was testing the food but she has never posted any test results, so I’d say the food came back fine….
    Which TOTW formula were you feeding & do you live in the California area & your TOTW maybe coming from one of the TOTW plants in California wheer the problem “might” be coming from??? TOTW have 2 plants in California, I now keep any empty kibble bags until the kibble has been all eaten & finished just incase but Patches TOTW is coming from South Carolina plant & he hasn’t had any problems…
    Yes Canidae is a really dog & cat food, are you feeding the “Canidae Pure Meadow” Senior formula? that’s a really good formula for seniors the fat isn’t real high & the protein is a good percentage.. ..

    Is your vet 100% sure it’s not the Prednisone & Gabapenten nerve pain med that might be causing bad side effects??…
    My boy was suppose to take Gabapentin 100mg capsule twice a day with food about 1-2 months ago after vet did Xray for a urinary blockage & she found a bone growth growing out of the top left back leg that had nerve endings that are connected to his spine, she thinks his pain might be getting referred somewhere else cause he’s walking. running & jumping just fine but I thought “no” the pain he gets is in his stomach & is cause of his IBD nothing to do with this bone growth we have just found & my vet showed the Osteo & IBD vet the Xray he said the same thing Patches pain he gets sometimes is from his IBD not this bone growth, he said this bone growth could be a defect since birth & may not be bothering him, so I was very hesitant about giving him the Gabapentin capsules & have only given him 2 Gabapenten capsule 2 separate times when Patch has been really whinging & seem to be in pain but I couldn’t work out what the problem was, the next day Patch had poo problems, he didn’t do his morning poo on his morning walk then when I came home for lunch last week there was 2 x poo on my carpet they were firm poo’s not sloppy or diarrhea, Patch has IBD & in the whole 5yrs I’ve owned him he has NEVER pooed inside, so I don’t know if it was cause of the Gabapentin he pooed inside?? Vet said she has a few dogs on Gabapetin that have IBD & Pancreatitis pain & the Gabapetin doesn’t affect their stomach pancreas or bowel like other pain meds can do, also Patch can NOT take Prednisone he gets sloppy poo’s then diarrhea when he takes just 5mg of Prednisone & he drinks & drink water & is very tired & sleepy…

    Do you think the Gabapentin is helping your girl pain or it doesn’t seem to be working?? did you see a big defference when she first started the Gabapentin & does she sleep alot more since being put on the Gabapentin?

  • haleycookie

    I would get in contact with your vet. They typically know of atleast one lab that tests in the off chance a patient wants to do such a thing if their pet is ill from a suspected toxic dog food. If you do end up having it tested let us know what is found.

  • anon101

    Take the dog to the vet, as soon as possible.
    As a senior dog (over age 7) anything is possible.
    Medical issues can develop quickly. There are aggressive forms of cancer that tend to show up between ages 8 and 10 for dogs.
    Testing dog food is very expensive and may not be able to rule out the cause of her ailments.
    I think your money would be better spent having some lab work and whatever testing your vet thinks is indicated. Rule out medical issues first.

  • Martha

    Where can we get suspected tainted dogfood tested? I don’t have the bag, but I switched foods for my schnauzer about 2 months ago. She had been on TOTW for 9 years. It had always been great for her. She’s had a back problem for many months now and been on prednisone and had to start Gabapentin for pain. About 3 months ago she suddenly started getting very sick and extremely thirsty. I thought it was related to the medications. When the bowel issues and extreme lethargy appeared I took her to the vet. No explanation other than maybe there was spinal deterioration. I really thought we were going to lose her.
    She refused to touch her TOTW but was constantly scouring for food. That’s when I found all these posts. I switched her to Canidae. There was almost instant improvement. When the bag ran out she had one meal with the TOTW we still had until I could get to the store for more of the Canidae. And she got sick again. Now I have the Canidae shipped every 3 weeks so that I don’t have to go crosstown. But the holiday weekend has delayed the shipment and I had to resort to that leftover TOTW again. After months of improvement, not only in her bowels but her mobility, she is backsliding again quickly… So tonight her dinner will be chicken and rice. And tomorrow we will be back on Canidae but I want to find a way to test this remaining food I have to see if it’s tainted. We are in Florida and purchased it at Pet Supermarket. But I’ve no idea how to go about testing it.

  • Shannon

    So glad I came upon this! My 1 1/2yr old bulldog mix started vomiting Monday and it lasted all day and all night. Come Tuesday morning her stools were very watery, so bad to the point she had explosive diarrhea in her crate 3 days in a row. I was beating myself up trying to pin point what she ate that was making her sick and today was going to bring her to the vet. After reading this last night I am throwing away what taste of the wild food she has left and switching to another brand. I also have about 50 bags of samples I will be trashing, I refuse to even give them to someone else after this ordeal. And may I add the bag I bought was purchased the 1st week of August so more than likely it is a July manufactured bag.

  • Luther1517

    I have tried TOTW for my 5 y/o GSD. The Ingrediens are Good, my K-9 did better on the chow, but the kibble size is very smal-too smal for large breed K-9′. Mine never ate too fast; with this small kibble he did. Special bowls did not help. My Vet advised to swich to a larger kibble. TOTW says they have no plans to make one–To Bad! Lost Customer.

  • QOH

    My 17 year old Retriever was looking pretty rugged until I switched him over to Taste of the Wild puppy chow. He’s still no spring chicken but I can tell he’s much happier. He’s got his swag back. Thanks

  • Geena Vah

    I can look at ANY top quality dry dog food on this site and find NUMEROUS anecdotal comments of owner’s dogs becoming sick from ANY of the VARIOUS BRANDS. It’s not related to TOTW. And “Linda”, do you have a chart displaying the actual cost of food in EACH BRAND? No I didn’t think so.

  • anon101

    Of course, every dog is different.
    I have never tried any of the foods you mentioned.
    However, I have noted excellent results using Zignature. My vet agrees, their coats are shining.
    My terrier had loose stools on Natural Balance because of all the cheap potato filler, chickpeas and lentils are a much healthier choice, imo.
    My friend’s dog is doing very well on Zignature too, prior to the switch she needed prn Pepcid for GI upset. But, now only once in a while.
    If you have any questions their website is user friendly 🙂
    http://zignature.com/?page_id=333&lang=en

  • Susan

    Hi, have you read the ingredients to Zignature formula’s?? this is a very poor diet to feed a dog 24/7 especially a growing dog, the ingredient list has a novel protein, Lamb, Lamb Meal, peas, chickpeas, pea flour sunflower oil, pea protein, the Kangaroo is the worse, to up the protein cause Kangaroo is expensive to buy in America they use red lentil, green lentils as well as the chickpeas & peas, pea flour, poor dogs this isnt the way a dog should eat a pea & bean diet, stick with Victor & here’s “Ellite Sport Dog food” very similair to Victor but cheaper here’s their site click on a few formula’s then scroll down & Sport Dog compares some of their formula’s to the Victor matching formula’s, Sort dog has real ingredients & there’s no fillers (chickpeas or lentils) https://www.sportdogfood.com/dog-food/top-brands/sport-dog-food/

  • Susan

    Yes I’m starting to think it’s coming from one of TOTW Californian plants cause the pet store that first had a few returned kibble bags in 1 week was a pet shop in California..

  • Susan

    Hi Patch has IBD & does really well on the TOTW Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb, it’s an all life formula, it only has 1 meat protein Lamb & has no chickpeas or lentils, alot of these newer grain free brands are using Chickpeas or lentil they are harder to digest & can cause intestinal problems, so make sure you read the ingredient list, less ingredients is best & then you add ur own fresh foods as a topper.

  • Crazy4cats

    Where did you get this information from?

  • Randy

    Yeah, that actually sounds like good advice. It’s now in the trash. I think I am going to stick with the victor and muenster varieties I’ve tested them on. I may eventually try to find a third and fourth choice that he does well on. He eats anything I put in front of him, and nothing has bothered him to this point.

  • anon101

    Consider Zignature, a quality food, in my opinion
    I wouldn’t go near this food TOTW with a ten foot pole, considering all the similar complaints.
    “Where there is smoke, there is fire”.

  • Randy

    Thank you, it’s the high prairie. He accepts new foods pretty easy. I started him on fromms lbp, thinking he was going to be bigger than it now appears he will be. His poops were always a little soft and mushy on the fromms, so I tried some victor samples, which he did well on, and some Muenster samples , which he has also done well on.

  • Susan

    Hi, he should be OK, just don’t feed anymore kibbles for today cause your suppose to slowly introduce any new foods, 1/4 of a cup new kibble to 1 cup old kibble but you take out 1/4 of the old kibble & add 1/4 cup the new kibble to make 1 cup & mix all together…..
    Which TOTW puppy formula sample are you feeding? there’s Pacific Stream puppy smoked salmon it’s15%-fat, protein-27% & there’s High Prairie Puppy bison7 venison 17%-fat, protein-28%, the Pacific Stream just has the 1 meat protein, salmon/ocean fish, with the High Prairie, has 5 different meat proteins, buffalo, lamb meal, roasted bison, roasted venison, beef, ocean fish meal…

  • Randy

    I opened one of the packets and used maybe 30-40 kibble as treats on two little walks and one fetch session in the back yard. If that doesn’t bother him I may try to introduce more tomorrow.

  • Susan

    Yes try & feed 4-5 smaller cooked low fat meals, if the poos don’t firm up on the boiled rice then boil some potatoes instead, boiled rice can irratate the bowel….. If it is the TOTW food then they will have to pay all your vet bills but you would need blood test done to see what’s wrong why he’s so ill & what is causing him to go down hill, the vet would need to write a letter so you can get reimbursed… you might have been better getting a vet diet formula when you were at the vets, the Hills I/d Digestive Care formula is good it has electrolytes, all the B vitamins he needs to replace lost nutrients & get him back on his feet, then you work out what new brand food your going to feed him..
    I’d be feeding a formula that has only 1 meat protein & the Sweet Potatoes, Potato & peas, the TOTW Wetlands formula has alot of different proteins Duck, Chicken, Fish, Quail,Turkey…

  • Randy

    No way of telling-I searched the sample packets and see nothing. I am in Texas, so I assume they are from the Missouri or Arkansas plants.

  • haleycookie

    From what I’ve heard it seems to be a certain production plant that’s having the problems. Not sure if samples will have production number or not. But the only way you’d be able to be sure is if you give them a call and confirmed the samples weren’t from the problematic plant. I believe it’s the California plant(?) but if there isn’t a way to check then I wouldn’t chance it tbh.

  • Junior Bones

    We are just now getting home. His normal vet was not there but they pumped him up with iv and anti nauseous. Told us to get him eating again with something light like boiled chicken and rice. Then switch his food if no improvement by Wednesday come back. The iv and meds are finally helping him. Hopeful we can get him to accept some of this chicken soon.

  • Susan

    Hi, what happened at the vets, what was wrong with your boy?? is he OK…

  • Randy

    I went to my local feed store to pick up a bag of victor hi pro, and the young man gave me several sample bags it tote puppy formula. So, after reading all these reviews of totw making dogs sick, I’m a little leery of trying it on my 7 month old mutt. Have there been any problems with the puppy formula?

  • Crazy4cats

    Scary stuff. I hope your dog recovers fully. Best wishes!

  • anon101

    I hope your dog is okay. I have never tried TOTW, and most likely never will.
    When your dog recovers, consider Zignature (if your vet approves).
    I believe it to be a quality product.
    Ps: If you are receptive to science based veterinary medicine go here http://skeptvet.com/Blog/
    Nothing is being sold there.

  • Junior Bones

    We are on the way to the vet now because he is more unresponsive i can’t even get him to stand up this morning. We are in California and that is where TOTW factory had it’s problems stem from everyone has been reporting the same symptoms. Kodie was eating the wetland duck and pacific salmon formulas. I’m taking it to the vet with us.

  • Susan

    Hi, take your boy to vet get blood test done to make sure this is what is happening??, cause some of us are not having any problems at all… I’m feeding TOTW Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb & my boy has IBD if anyone would be sick it would be him, he has a very sensitive stomach, the use by date on my last 2 bags is 14 /Jun/2018, that came from TOTW South Carolina facility… TOTW has 5 different facilities all over America, work out where your TOTW came from..

  • Junior Bones

    Taste of the Wild has made our dog very sick and lethargic. He had an infecting toxin affecting him from all the other people having the same issues with TOTW we assume it’s the food. We will never purchase this or any other diamond product.

  • Daniel

    Can you elaborate on your $12 of food claim?

  • haleycookie

    Are you serious? Do you really think the navy seals are poisoning DOG FOOD???? Lmao wth. They have much more important things to do then poisoning the neighborhood dogs lol.

  • Linda Luette Turpin Messersmit

    this company puts exactly $12.00 dollars worth of actual FOOD into each bag….how you can give this a four star rating is ludicrous

  • Christina

    The US Navy SEALS are poisoning dog food, baby food and other products. This has been occurring for three months now. DO NOT FEED YOUR DOGS THE TASTE OF THE WILD ANYMORE. THERE MIGHT BE NOROVIRUS IN THE TASTE OF THE WILD DOG FOOD!!! I KNOW THE CANIDAE AND COSTCO DOG FOOD IS SAFE TO FEED YOUR DOG AND IS NOT POISONED.

  • Charlotte Byler

    Mine was the wetland roasted fowl.

  • Travis Cook

    I live in Minneapolis, I was using the Salmon. Idk know where it was made. I threw the bag out so I dont have the details. I know I always check exp date before I feed her the food, bc I purchased it online.

    I have had my 4 year old lab mix on totw salmon and high sierra her whole life. In June she got crazy sick. Took to vet and had many tests for limes, lepto etc. All negative. Ended up at an emergency vet with over $2k in vet bills. She wouldnt eat, would urinate where she slept, and overall lethargy.

    After searching the web, I found many other ppl with the same issue with their dogs who used totw. I had never had an issue until now. I have since switched to another brand. I was really surprised how many other ppl had this issue. It may have just been a bad batch but that batch cost me over 2 thousand dollars. I think Totw should do something about this.

  • Travis Cook

    I live in Minneapolis, I was using the Salmon. Idk know where it was made. I threw the bag out so I dont have the details. I know I always check exp date before I feed her the food, bc I purchased it online.

    I have had my 4 year old lab mix on totw salmon and high sierra her whole life. In June she got crazy sick. Took to vet and had many tests for limes, lepto etc. All negative. Ended up at an emergency vet with over $2k in vet bills. She wouldnt eat, would urinate where she slept, and overall lethargy.

    After searching the web, I found many other ppl with the same issue with their dogs who used totw. I had never had an issue until now. I have since switched to another brand. I was really surprised how many other ppl had this issue. It may have just been a bad batch but that batch cost me over 2 thousand dollars. I think Totw should do something about this.

  • Crazy4cats

    I would guess one of the California plants. I don’t feed it to my dogs very often, it’s probably been about three or four months since they’ve had it. I don’t know if we are having issues in my area or not. I haven’t heard of any.

  • Susan

    Hi, which plant would the TOTW you get be coming from? Australia’s TOTW is coming from South Carolina plant & we are having no problems, Ive éven rung a of the most popular online store’s & they have had no complaints or return of TOTW formula’s, the man said TOTW is one of their best selling brands, it moves pretty quickly thats why it’s never on special like some other brands.

  • Susan

    You”re suppose to take enough kibble out for 1-2 weeks & I put in air tight container then put in kitchen cool cupboard, then the rest of kibble stays in kibble bag & is put in a storage container so the kibble stays fresh, always leave any kibble in its original kibble bag, most ofthose big kibble containersare not air tight…well thats what Rodney Habib recommends in a video, also kibble only last 2 weeks as soon as the kibble bag is open air/oxyge gets to the oils then they start to go rancid, TOTW removes any salmon or fish oil for all their international TOTW formula’s. I wonder if thats the problem the salmon oil going rancid?. …When I emptied the rest of the kibble into the air tight container I cut off the use by date & bar code nb off empty TOTO kibble bag & put in cupboard, just in case..

  • sandy

    I’ve always had good results with feeding foster dogs on Nutrisource grain free lamb and Pro Pac Ultimates grain free formulas (lamb, beef and fish). My fosters don’t get any kind of transition period. They never come with their own food.

  • ryan bell

    I tried switching my dobermans over too totw wetlands from rachael ray grain free. but all three dogs have been puking and had the poops for a week so i stopped last night and no more puking. Whats another brand i should try? i Hate to throw out 30lbs of dog food but i dont want my dogs puking anymore. btw i bought it aug 1st from tractor supply in pc florida

  • Crazy4cats

    I keep all our kibble in the original bag inside a storage tub or bin with the bag rolled down to try and keep the food as fresh as possible.

    I typically don’t believe a lot of the negative posts about food on this site. But, I’ve been hearing enough about TOTW now, that it seems as there is something going wrong. I hope it gets taken care of. It is a very popular food in my neck of the woods. We have not been affected by most of Diamond’s recalls so far here in the Pacific NW. Best wishes to you!

  • anon101

    In the future, just cut out the proof of purchase bar code and the best buy date info and tape it to your fridg.
    No need to hold on to the entire bag.
    Throw out when you start a new bag.
    Or take a pic of the above mentioned items and store on your phone for a while, and remember to keep your receipts.

  • Melonie Manning

    Looking at how many dogs are effected all over the usa Im assuming its multiple plants that are using a contaminated ingredient between the at least 3 flavors causing issues. Note to self Ill keep my bags from now on

  • Melonie Manning

    Thats the problem right now. Most people have a storage unit they put their food in and throw out the bags. Thats how the company is getting away with this. i have talked to a few of the owners and same thing. They all r lost on what to do since they do not have their bags. And when I called the distributor they denied everything and wouldnt even look into it. Fact seems like the company doesnt care

  • Susan

    Hi, this scares people when they start reading bad post about a pet food they feed….so if you have a dog that has become unwell while feeding a TOTW formula,
    You have to write where you live? to work out which TOTW facility your TOTW came from,
    What TOTW formula you’re feeding when dog got sick?
    The Use By Date on the back of the bag?
    TOTW has 5 manufacturing facilities thru out Amercia, Northern California, Central California, South Carolina, Arkansas, Missouri, I live Australia & we are NOT having any problems with none of the TOTW formula’s our TOTW comes from the South Carolina Facility…

  • Melonie Manning

    As i stated avove it was Sierra Montain

  • Susan

    Which TOTW formula did you just feed that has made just them sick??

  • Melonie Manning

    Iv been fedding TOW since last year and loved it up until my dogs got sick. No also the flavors having issues is pacific stream and sierra mountain. I had sierra mountain

  • Susan

    Hi, was TOTW their regular food? if not did you slowly introduce & buy TOTW formula’s that were lower in fat & protein like their Pacific stream or Seirra Mountain formula’s ? Which formula did you buy & feed?
    I can’t work it out, why some of us are not having any problems with TOTW & I have a dog with IBD he has a very sensitive stomach. I’m starting to read it’s the High Prairie formula people seem to be having problems with this formula is high in protein-32% min & high in fat-18% min, so a rich formula, I know my boy wouldnt be able to eat a kibble with 4 different meat proteins…

  • Melonie Manning

    Stay away! My 5 of 9 dogs were sick on this. Thought I was buying high quality food. NOPE! guess what dogs were not sick and eating another brand? hmmm but TOW is denying anything

  • agnes

    Hi .I have read your link and wanted to say thank you- I just could not believe that Origen scored so badly on it, Orijen is very $$$ and my 15months old American bulldog has been feed Orijen large puppy since day one ..after reading your link I definitely will try to find some other food -lukullus dry food is low in fat 10% and is full of dried meat ..

  • Susan

    Hi, start rotating between a few different brands with different proteins & try the TOTW Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb it has the same amount of fat% & protein % as the TOTW Pacific Stream Smoked Salmon formula…. also if you shop at Costco the Kirkland Nature Domain Salmon Meal & Sweet Potato is the similar to the TOTW Pacific Stream formula, the fat & protein is a 1 % less, it’s a bit cheaper, also if you live near a Tractor Supply store 4Health is the same..

  • CCretarolo

    My dog loves the Pacific Stream variety! I’m having to work to bulk him up (he was malnourished for a long time) and chose TOTW because I’m on a budget and he’s a big boy!

    As for the “this food killed my dog” comments… It’s a tad bit fishy that in each one, the dog in question died 2 days previous to the comment. Also, if my dog died from a food related cause, I wouldn’t be on here… I’d be talking to a lawyer and taking to social media to sue their butts off!

  • Susan

    Hi Agnes, you should rotate between a few different brands & proteins so your dogs get variety in his diet & if a kibble he’s eating isn’t balanced properly or has something wrong with it like toxins then your dog isn’t eating this brand & formula long enough to cause any long term health problems..
    If you don’t want to try TOTW then look for another brand & protein beside Orijen just in case, have you read the “Clean Label Project” testing that was done on dog & cat foods?? Click on link below then scroll down & read the top ten dry kibbles that had the highest amount of harmful environment & industrial contaminate & toxins..
    http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/project-ratings/pet-food/

  • agnes

    In spring 2012, Taste of the Wild recalled thousands of units of dog and cat food because of positive tests for salmonella.
    Cause: Salmonella potential. Announcement: FDA report dated May 5, 2012. What was recalled: All sizes of Taste of the Wild dry dog food and cat food with Production Codes with the number “2” or “3” in the 9th digit AND the letter “X” in the 10th or 11th digit; AND “Best by” date of Dec. 9, 2012 through April 7, 2013.

  • agnes

    i am very sorry for your loss. I feed my dog Orijen (only Orijen ) and wanted to buy Taste of wild to give my dog some variety , but after readimg your post i will stick with Orijen .

  • Susan

    Hi it doesn’t mean cause a dog wont eat a kibble something is wrong with it, the fat & protein % might be to high causing acid reflux, the dog might be sick of eating the same food 24/7 for 365 days……I always tell people rotate between a few different brands with a different protein, this way your not feeding the same brand kibble & IF something is wrong with a certain brand then the dog isn’t eating the same kibble long enough to get health problems cause your feeding a new brand a different formula all the time… look for a few different brand kibbles as well as the Natural Balance the fat & protein is lower in the Natural balance so maybe stick with other brand kibbles around the same fat & protein % so she has a few kibbles she likes & agree with her…
    Canidae, Pro Pac Ultimates, Holistic Select are good kibbles that have limited ingredients with 1 single meat protein, just read the fat & protein % as they varies in different formula’s but they’re not real high in protein & fat %….

  • Jordan Winslow

    I actually did a lot of research on this today because i. Relieve Taste of the wild was starting to make my dog sick. People are saying TOTW/Kirkland food is giving dogs tummy troubles. Which the Costco brand is also taste of the wild. I decided to buy natural balance after talking to people at pet club and extensive research on ingredients. My dog had been hesitant to eat the taste of the wild for the past week probably because it was making her sick(she’s been eating TOTW for the past year). As soon as I poured her a bowl of natural balance she chowed it down.

  • Ann Hall

    I’m sorry for your loss, we had a dog become very sick while on totw, I emailed them, they replied via email, and phone, they spoke with our vet, after intensive tests we found our 3yr old had a rare tumour which ended in us doing the kindest thing for him, no way was it totw food, so get a necropsy done, it will put uour mind at rest, as you will know why he died

  • Susan

    Hi Claire, gee my Patch started drinking & drinking water some days then he stops, I thought it was the TOTW food but before the water drinking happened I rotated a few different brands last Summer/Autunm January-April 2017, I asked vet to do full blood test, I thought he might have Diabetes or Pancreatitis cause he had vomited & had very sloppy smelly poo’s but I had feed a new UK kibble that caused smelly diarrhea poos & his poos wouldn’t firm up till I put him back on the TOTW Lamb formula then his poo’s firmed up & he got better again running around acting like a puppy…..he has IBD, food intolerances & skin allergies, the blood test came back all clear he’s healthy but his liver levels were a little high his vet said that’s normal when they have diarrhea/sloppy poo’s it’s nothing to worry about, we just got the new Hills D/D Venison & Potatoes vet diet kibble so we put him on vet diet Hills D/D Venison & Potato kibble, some days he was normal with his water drinking then some days he was drinking & drinking in excess again, I thought he’s got kidney problem or urinary crystal the drinking started up again when I started the new D/D Venison kibble then he started crying & whinging around 9.30am after eating his 9am feed sitting near the front door he wanted to go for his walk ASAP he normally waits & goes around 10am, I thought cause we started this new Hills D/D kibble he has to poo urgently so we went for his walk but no poo but he was weeing & weeing, so I went to the vets on the Saturday & talked to the vet nurse I know she said Patches vet isn’t in till Tuesday here’s a container to bring in a morning wee sample Tuesday he whinged & cried all weekend to go toilet around 9.30am Tuesday morning I took in a wee sample at 8am his vet rings me 1.30pm to bring him in ASAP he needs an X ray he may have a blockage she said the wee sample I gave her was positive for urinary crystals she said we also need a sterile urine sample as well & we’ll do an X ray, the vet nurse rings me & said when you get Patch we need to make an appointment for 4.30pm, I see his vet she is all excited takes me in another room to see his Xray it hadn’t been put thru onto his file yet as we were walking she said look at this, I have never seen anything like it in my 35yrs of being a vet this might explain why Patch whinges with pain a lot, (I have been back & forth for 3-4 yrs Patch gets pain right side stomach & pancreas area) vet said look at this there’s a bone growing out of the top of his left back leg that’s connected to all his nerve endings going into his hip/spine.. I said what happened with these crystals he had she said have you taken him outside while you were waiting to see me I said yes, he wee’d like a fountain heaps of wee, she shock her head & grab her hair & went aaaarrrrrh I’ve never seen a dog like Patch, he must have a few Angels watching over him, now he’s weeing, she said there was no blockage on the Xray just this bone growth coming out of his top of the left back leg we were thinking he may be getting nerve pain I’ll have to see Johnathon he knows more about Orthopedic he’s in surgery at the moment, Patch was put on a nerve pain tablets but I stopped them I don’t think this bone growth is causing his pain in the stomach pancreas liver area cause he jumps up to say hello to visitors he runs & plays with his balls & the second vet Johnathon said what I said he might have had this extra bone growth all his life & isn’t causing him any pain or discomfort, I said what about the excess water drinking she said sometimes when a dog has pain they will drink & drink water or lick paws, chew & chew blankets, it relieves their pain, we think it’s his IBD pain, the vets always blame his IBD when they have no answers …. Now I rotate between the TOTW & Hills D/D Venison kibble & feed him a cooked meal for lunch or wet tin food, he has stopped this water drinking BUT all of a sudden once a week or once a fortnight after lunch or after his dinner he starts his drinking water & is real whingy that afternoon then the next day he’s back to normal….
    Are you balancing his meals look at “Balance It” or start adding Omega 3 & B Vitamin’s or look at a wet tin Hills I/d Digestive Care, Chicken & Vegetable Stew the vet diets are balanced properly & have electrolytes & B vitamins what’s needed when they’re unwell, try the I/d stew & see does he starts to pick up, I feed 5 smaller meals a day, even if you feed 2 cooked meals & 2 meals are the Hills I/d Chicken veggie Stew wet tin food & see if he picks up again.. I think these dogs have a pre-existing medical condition & the food had nothing to do with what has happened…..
    Vets just shake their heads cause all their science they have studied isn’t giving them any answers for what is wrong, like Patches vet has told me she has 3 dogs like Patch she cant work them out, tests all come back good but you can see the dog is unwell & has pain…Please tell us when you get these test results form TOTW….
    I was feeding the Hills D/D venison kibble the Venison is from New Zealand when Patch started whinging crying drinking & drinking water then not weeing then weeing the vet said it’s not the Hills D/D kibble & she doesn’t like Hills lol she prefers Royal Canine…I’d hate to be a vet, they need to be a mind reader for these animals..

  • Claire Marple

    I have cooked for him from five days after he came home from the ICU.
    Sweet potato, white rice with Tumeric, kale, brussels sprouts, carrots, sugar snap peas, peas, soy beans, parsley, blue berries,broccoli, egg, boiled chicken and beef. I have added a probiotic enzyme digestive aid. He still has polydypsia and polyuria, had one set back day with diahrrea, his energy level is much lower than before he got sick, coming from the liver issues we assume.

  • Susan

    Hi Claire what’s he eating now & what health problem is he still having?

  • Claire Marple

    I’m waiting for the test results from TOTW too but will have the food tested for Aflotoxins by an independent lab. My dog is still having severe issues with his health and I have to know why this came on so suddenly.

  • ballstothewall1

    Sorry for the loss of your dog. As many have cautioned you “correlation does not mean causation”. Without any autopsy data you are just putting two instances together. If you are right, we want to hear about it FACTUALLY. If you are wrong, you are doing a big injustice.

  • junasari

    Zoom Teeth Whitening Before And After
    http://paysius.com/zoom-teeth-whitening-before-and-after/

  • Crystal Yarbrough
  • Claire Marple

    Amanda, my heart goes out to you and I can relate. My dog is still extremely ill ( previously healthy three year old shep mix) and has been on TOTW grain free high prairy since Febr. 2017. The batch I started in June looked lighter in color, my dog did refused to eat it before he had to be rushed to the emergency veterinary hospital. $6000.- later…still baffled as to why he got violently ill ,he has been tested for everything under the sun, the only thing we did not look into yet was his food. We are going to find out if this batch of food could be the culprit.

  • Angela Tallent Mccain

    How do you know it was this food? I feed it to my 2 dogs and have for 9 months now and no issues at all.

  • Birther 2.0

    First, I’m sorry for your loss.
    Second, it sounds like you have no proof. You have no evidence that totw caused anything. Haleycookie was not disrespectful, just honest. Again, I’m sorry for your loss. Don’t let emotion cloud your better judgement.

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    Thank you and bless your heart. I just sent a request to join.

  • Maggie Meneses

    Amanda, sorry for your l https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/49d2f0260af05d6bc4f8573244407512a2e9bfbda4f5efec3eb25cf471bb3f5f.png oss. Ignore those that think they have the answers to everything. My pup is still not 100 percent. I’ve been trying to get this food tested and it seems imposible. I’m not giving up. I’m just going to contact a lawyer and let them do the leg work. I had my pup tested and they ran several test. Vets and specialist cannot determine what is going on. But come join our group. Share what happen. We need to make everyone aware. Taste of the wild vet sent me an email telling me she couldn’t reach my vet. All lies she never called. Please whom ever is interested I posted a pic for a Facebook link. There is also a consumer affairs.com. You could go to and post complaints. It just takes longer. But there are 74 people that have reviews. Hang in there prayers to you and your family.

  • Susan

    Hi Amanda ,
    Sorry about your loss but did you take your deseased dog to a vet to have autopsy carried out? You cant say that TOTW killed your dog stop feeding this food without any proof, your dog may of had an underlining health problem that you weren’t aware off & didn’t pick up on any health issues….also how old was your dog was she a pup or a senior….

  • anon101

    I am sorry for your loss.
    I agree, it is best to ignore anyone that you feel is being disrespectful to you.
    Peace.

  • haleycookie

    Lady that was not an ignorant or hateful comment, it’s the truth. You need to understand that if you’re going to bash a huge company and accuse it of killing your animal you need real actual proof not just how you feel or what you believe happened. I hope after all the tests you should have done that you do find what actually happened to your dog.

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    You’re a heartless monster. I hope nothing like this happens to your pets because clearly you won’t advocate for them. I can contact whomever I choose and let people know what happened once our dog started consuming this food. As I said it happened two night ago so all the crap you mentioned didn’t happen yet. Have some compassion and empathy I just lost my beloved dog that WAS healthy and I never thought to blame the food until all this was brought to my attention. If you could prevent the heartache and loss that me and my family are experiencing right now i would hope you would too. If you can’t step outside yourself for a minute and imagine my side I pray for you. I won’t respond to anymore ignorant and hateful comments.

  • haleycookie

    Nobody will listen or care unless you have real actual proof. Do you? Have you had the food tested by multiple sources and proved that it is in fact containing something toxic? Or did your dog just have an adverse reaction because he was intolerant of something in the food? Did you have the dog’s blood tested? A necropsy preformed? Company lawyers will destroy you unless you have real proof that their food is containing something that shouldn’t be in the food

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    It is true it killed our dog. Please stop feeding this to your dogs asap

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    It is true it killed our dog. We lost her 2 nights ago. Please stop feeding this to your dogs asap

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    Susan, this food killed our dog, please stop advocating for it. We are heartbroken and devastated and I don’t want anyone else to go through this

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    It is the company that makes the food not the distributors the food killed our dog

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    It is true it killed our dog. We lost her 2 nights ago. Please stop feeding this to your dogs asap

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    This company is so busy trying to cover themselves while innocent pets are dying!! Our family pet Lucy died 2 nights ago and the only change was this food. This would never have happened if the company did ANYTHING at all from these complaints. My parents feel like they failed their dog and killed her and if this company stopped for one second and had any decency to announce that something was going on rather than BS all these poor pet parents this and other dogs would still be alive. THEY HAD THE NERVE TO OFFER A 100 DOLLAR COUPON FOR MORE OF THEIR TOXIC FOOD!!!! WHAT ABOUT THE NEARLY $1,000 SPENT AT THE VET AND THE LOSS OF LIFE. THE PAIN THE SUFFERING???? Are they serious? I am contacting lawyers and the news and anyone that will listen. This is disgusting and shameful.

  • Amanda DiRienzo

    No it is true it killed our dog

  • anon101

    I would bring him to the vet and rule out medical causes for his symptoms before assuming his symptoms are related to the food.
    A sudden change in appetite or behavior are often red flags.
    Refusal to eat may indicate nausea or pain.
    This might be a good time to take him in for his annual physical and some labs. If he is a senior it is even more important to get him checked out.
    Seniors are vulnerable to all sorts of things, best to catch it early if anything is wrong.
    This is not veterinary advice; consult your veterinarian.

  • Susan

    Hi Melissa, there’s no recall, the Pet shop involved that started all the panic has said Sorry they panic when a few people had returned TOTW dog formula & 1 cat formula in 1 week period, they thought something might be wrong with the food, these batches were tested & everything is all good…..
    The TOTW High Praire is higher in fat & higher in protein, my boy wouldn’t do too well eating 18% fat & 32% protein it’s too high for him, he’s gets acid reflux when he eats a kibble that’s higher protein & higher in fat….He does real well on the TOTW Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb formula, it’s a single protein, Lamb with limited ingredient the fat-15%max Protein-25%…..
    also might be getting sick of eating the same food 24/7 that’s why I rotate between 2-3 different brands that have a different single proteins, that I know he does well on…..My boy eats the TOTW Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb & Canidae Pure Wild Boar has only 7 ingredients, he has IBD & Skin Allergies & TOTW & Canidae seem to be the only 2 kibbles he does real well on, so I give TOTW for Breakfast & the Canidae for dinner & also give him fresh cooked foods & foods I eat… Rotational diets allows a better chance of providing a more complete & balanced diet & strengthens their immune system…..Plus they are happy at breakfast & dinner time especially when they know there’s a new kibble…. I ask Patch which one do you want & he smells the kibble in the containers & licks the one he wants, he always picks the more new kibble at first….

  • Melissa Ocon

    Ive read through some of the comments here and am experiencing my dog refusing to eat his food when normally he chows down. I dont see anything wrong with it nor does it smell funny. And I keep it stored in an air tight container. But I know something is up if he wont eat it. I assumed that maybe he was being picky but he has had TOTW for almost a yr and literally this variety style ( High Prairie formula) plenty of times before and didnt seem to have trouble. I am really concerned now because he is now certainly more lethargic and sickly than normal. He is on a grain free diet because he has intolerance to many dog foods and TOTW seemed to be one that hasnt ever made him sick and he likes to eat it. What is going on though??? I cant find anything on a recall other than the comments here!

  • Susan

    Hi, anyone that has heard rumours about TOTW formula’s being bad this is not true, a pet shop owner in Chico CA had nothing better to do with his spare time, he had a few bags of TOTW return in 1 week, so he posted this on Face Book & scarred a lot of poor people…. He should of just returned bags of TOTW & waited for bags to be re tested…before stressing out people….
    TOTW acted quickly & re tested these bags of kibble that were returned & they have nothing WRONG with them TOTW Veterinarian & TOTW Representative have assured the Pet Shop that they have tested & researched the batches original testing record before the kibble leaves the plant & that there are NO problems with any TOTW formula’s….
    If you have a sick pet with diarrhea & vomiting, fast them for 12 hours make sure you keep their fluids up then restart feeding again on a bland diet, chicken & boiled potato, is the new bland diet these days, either boiled potato or boiled sweet potatoes..if there’s no improvement then take your dog to a vet…

  • Lisa Fitzgerald

    Thanks Susan. I brought it back and was fully refunded, I do keep it in a cool, dry place. I store kibble in the pantry which has old fashioned flour bins where I leave it bagged, rolled down and clipped shut as tightly as possible. I have been storing dog food this way for the 5 years that we have lived here. This is the first time my dogs have refused to eat.

  • Sarcastra

    We purchased a new bag of this the other day. He never gave us a problem eating it but refused to eat from this bag. After the second day I removed it and gave him another food we had on hand for emergencies. He ate it right away. I did some research and found people stating the same as you. I won’t be feeding him Taste of the Wild until they address and fix this issue. I hope your dogs are okay now.

  • Di Faulk

    All of a sudden my pups are turning their noses up on their food. I am concerned that there is something going on currently with TOTW. There is a lot of online chatter about elevated liver enzymes. This need to be investigated before it sickens our fur babies.

  • Linda Weinacker

    look at their facebook page. tons of questions and it’s going on for a couple of months now

  • Linda Weinacker

    I have 3 cocker spaniels and I have had them experiencing vomiting after eating Taste of the wild salmon. one has urine infection and after reading consumer affairs, the taste of wild facebook page-community questions I refuse to further feed my pups this food. if you experience any hesitation from your pup with not eating this food, well there nose is better than ours..listen to him and don’t make him eat it. Do not continue to feed your dog this product.

  • Linda Weinacker

    do not feed them Totw! I stopped

  • Linda Weinacker
  • Ivana PK

    Why order something so important (i.e. food products) from Amazon? No no no! You never know what you’re getting from Amazon! I use Amazon all the time but never for products we eat or apply on our bodies. I have always purchased my cat’s food at Target. One day I ordered on Amazon and the food was BAD BAD BAD!! It smelled so awful we couldn’t even give it to stray cats! It was most likely a fake from China or who knows where (higher priced cat food). I have never had that issue when I bought it at Target. Now that we have a puppy we are buying Taste of the Wild from a reputable/legit retailer! NEVER on Amazon! Call/email TOTW and ask them who their authorized distributors/sellers are. I heard great things about our local Tractor Supply store. Probably Chewy.com can be trusted also. NEVER Amazon for dog food!!!

  • Susan

    Hi so you were feeding the TOTW High Prairie puppy formula & then went to the High Prairie Adult formula? Have you looked at the ingredient list? the Adult High Prairie formula has a few more proteins, it has Chicken Meal as 3rd ingredient & ocean fish meal further down the ingredient list, have you done a food elimination diet & tested certain proteins & seen if your dog reacts to any? What is she eating now you home cook? When my boy was put on Eukanuba FP fish & Potatoes vet diet, he got real sick on the 4th day that I was introducing with his old kibble, he bad water diarrhea for 1 week, vet thought he cant eat potatoes, 3 years later I worked out it might have been either bad fish or green potatoes they could have bought bad batch & green potatoes & cause bad diarrhea, it happened again with another fish kibble & the kibble has come 7th on the Clean Label Project bad list…. Go on this site, “Clean Label Project” they tested 299 pet foods, they started testing pet foods this year, they found the worse pet foods with environment toxic contaminates are grain free kibbles that have fish in them…… http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/product-ratings/pet-food/