Staffordshire terrier

Dog Food Advisor Forums Diet and Health Staffordshire terrier

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Randy D

Thinking about adopting a staffy mix, she is almost a year old and weighs 40 lbs currently. I have no experience with a staffy-do they have any diet issues, necessities,etc. I am looking at trying the fromms family classic food, pro PAC, victors or muenster perfect balance.
    She is pretty active, so what might she need in terms of protein, calories, carbs, etc?

#101804 Report Abuse
    Bobby dog

Hi Randy D:
    I have no experience with Staffies, but I do feed Fromm’s Classic Mature and the Four Star Whitefish recipes. My dog does well on them and enjoys each meal.

Here is a dog food calculator to help you figure out calories. I have not used it, but many regular posters on DFA do and find it helpful.
    /dog-feeding-tips/dog-food-calculator/

Through trial and error I found several foods with a good balance of protein, fat, and fiber %’s along with kcals/C and good digestibility for my dog. Although I found some foods through recommendations keep in mind how a dog does on a food will be individual to them. Not all recommendations worked out for us so don’t box yourself in to one brand or recipe.

Good luck and I hope you are able to adopt her!

#101807 Report Abuse
    Randy D

Thanks Bobby. She is young, and is quite active, according to the fosters. I am just trying to find a general idea of protein level to keep her fueled and muscular as she is now. Some are as low as 23-24%, and idk if that’s high enough.
    My other choice is a heeler/shepherd mix that is more my ideal dog, but he is verrry dominant to other dogs. He’s good with people but I would have to be real careful what dogs he is around. I don’t think he will work.

#101808 Report Abuse
    Bobby dog

You’re welcome. I have some kind of a heeler mix. He’s a ton of fun!

Hopefully some other bully owners will stop by with some input.