Most palatable dry cat food?

Dog Food Advisor Forums Off Topic Forum Most palatable dry cat food?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    puppypiles

My cat has been on an all wet and raw diet since he was about 8 months old, and he’s nearly 3. He’s the picture of health, very svelte, and the vets just love him.

However, I am interested in adding some dry food into his diet. This is for several reasons.

Firstly, it’s a cost issue. Feeding high quality wet and raw foods (Weruva, Natural Balance, Earthborn, Rad Cat, Feline Naturals) is pretty pricey, and dry food, even the highest quality, is significantly cheaper per pound.

Secondly, I work in retail and work long hours (50+ a week). When you’re only feeding wet foods, it’s difficult to leave some out as it will go bad. I’d like to give him the option of having SOMETHING there if he gets hungry.

I realize the diet I’m feeding him now is a good one and dry food is not as good for a cat as wet and raw. My intention is to find a food he likes so it can be used in an emergency, and up to 25% of his current diet.

When he was younger and eating some dry, he ate California Natural Grain Free chicken. I haven’t tried that again, but I did try some Orijen red meat, which he totally snubbed. He also hates all things fish, and only eats canned/raw foods with poultry, lamb, or beef.

#68825 Report Abuse
    crazy4cats
    Participant

Sounds like you are feeding your lucky cat an awesome diet. I try to feed mostly wet food also. My cats are not too picky about their kibble as long as I don’t go too low on the fat. I bought them a weight control recipe once that they snubbed. Lol! I have been rotating between Wellness Core, Merrick and Earthborn dry. I have one cat that I am feeding Royal Canin Rx Urinary dry food due to a urinary tract blockage he suffered about five months ago. Again, welcome to DFA!

#68829 Report Abuse
    Bobby dog

Hi puppypiles: