šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    puppypiles

Hello everyone! I am an assistant manager at a pet store, and have been working in them for the last nine years. It’s something that I really love, and I try my hardest every day to educate pet parents and help their animals. While I recognize that I am not a vet, I try to stay abreast on animal care and nutrition to answer questions as best as I can.

That being said, I can’t tell you the amount of times I’ve heard on forums or even in the store about “that pet store employee” who told me the wrong thing, who wasn’t educated, who did not know what they were talking about. I don’t think I’ve ever been that person, but I can never be sure.

My questions are, what do you wish your local pet store knew? How do you wish they could better help you? Have you ever been impressed by the knowledge of a pet store employee? Have you ever been completely unimpressed by their lack of knowledge?

#68905 Report Abuse
    aquariangt

Completely depends on the store. PetSmart and PetCo have barely been able to answer simple questions I’ve had, and I don’t ask anything crazy (arrogantly, I assume I know more than most of their floor staff so I don’t ask anything about manufacturing or other more difficult details-not necessarily right of me to assume) but things like “Kibble Size” shouldn’t be too off the wall.