šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Soph M

So, I’ve recently started feeding my 16 lb dog a cooked homemade diet. I really want to read Dr. Becker’s book about different recipes and supplements, but the book is out of stock EVERYWHERE! Do any of you know where I could find this book?

Also, what supplements should I add to my dogs homemade food? Is it enough to just add cooked eggshells for calcium? Do any of you have a recipe for a homemade dog food supplement?

I’m really new to this homemade dog food thing! I really appreciate all of your help! 😀

#100650 Report Abuse
    Jo R

Hi Soph M

I don’t know where you can find Dr. Becker’s book, but may I recommend another great book that I really like. Dr Donald Strombeck, professor emeritus from Univ of Calif, at Davis Vet School book, Home Prepared Dog and Cat diets. This book is out of print, but Dr Strombeck has put it on line for free, just search for the title to find it. You may also find hard copies on line. Great information on dog diet requirements and step by step diets for healthy dogs and cats and for ones with health problems.

It is very in depth so take your time and really read it before starting, it should really help you understand what it takes to prepare balanced meals for your furkid.

Hope this helps

#100652 Report Abuse
    Susan
    Participant

Hi Soph,
    Dr Karen Becker is always with “Rodney Habib” on his f/b page & post healthy foods like berries, broccoli, almonds, tin sardines etc https://www.facebook.com/rodneyhabib ….
    I borrowed Dr Karen Beckers book from my local library, they bought it & I borrowed, your local library may already have her book, Amazon sells it….