Homemade Dog Treat Recipes ♥

Dog Food Advisor Forums Dog Treats Homemade Dog Treat Recipes ♥

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Jaxons Mom

Hey everyone I’m brand new to raw feeding and I’m trying to learn as much as I can. Like all of you, feeding my lab mix pup the healthiest, most nutritious and enjoyable food and treats possible is extremely important. I think it would be fantastic if there was a thread for anyone who would be so kind to share any recipes they may have for homemade healthy treats that compliment a raw diet! Also I will be investing in a food dehydrator, so recipes & tips for making dehydrated treats is welcome as well.

I go through a lot of treats currently as I do 1-3 sessions daily that last anywhere from 5-15 minutes. I break them up to be pea sized, and I use dehydrated liver, but it gets pricey. Looking forward to trying out some recipes!!

#83173 Report Abuse
    pugmomsandy
    Participant

I actually use food for treats so I don’t have any homemade suggestions. I’ve used Core Air Dried as treats. They are almost peanut-size.

#83174 Report Abuse
    El

Hi Jaxons Mom, Welcome to the forums!

I make jerky treats for my crew. Here’s a recipe;

Boneless skinless chicken, turkey, or duck breasts. You can also use beef, pork, fish, etc.

– Trim off ALL the external fat.
    – Slice meat as thinly as possible, 1/4 inch MAXIMUM thickness. Try to keep all meat the same thickness.
    – Place on a slightly greased rack in oven.
    – Set oven to lowest temp, usually 200 degrees F.
    – If possible, leave the oven door slightly open, this will allow the moist air to be removed faster.
    – Jerky is done when it snaps in half when you you bend it.

If you are going to use a dehydrator, I recommend this type;

http://www.amazon.com/TSM-Products-Stainless-Dehydrator-Shelves/dp/B002UUT4BY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1456011819&sr=8-1&keywords=tsm+dehydrator