🐱 NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Mark G

I am new to DogFoodAdvisor and am surprised to see Evanger’s canned food rated a 5 on your list not listed on the recall list. We used Evanger’s for a couple of years because of the variety of all meat foods they offered. One of our pets Anna, a female blue heeler would throw up her food on a regular basis. This is a dog that I rescued out in the wilds of the Texas Panhandle who was emaciated and near death. She has always eaten anything fed to he with exuberance. I began to search on line and discovered articles about the quality of Evanger’s, recalls and problems. Some of these from former employees. I stopped feeding her the food and the throwing up stopped. We now use Halo rated a 4 by your site and never recalled.

#49619 Report Abuse
    crazy4cats
    Participant

Hi Mark-
    That is a great question! And welcome, By the way. All of the ratings are done by the food’s ingredients and guaranteed analysis labels. Check out the article on how we rate dog food under the FAQ in the library tab. Many regulars are aware of Evanger’s history and will not buy this brand. There is also a recall history tab as well. I believe that is why Dr. Mike added a forum section. So fellow users can compare notes. Glad your dog is doing well on Halo. Have a good day!

#49620 Report Abuse
    DogFoodie

Hi Mark,

Like C4C mentioned, based on Evanger’s ingredients alone, it would look to be an excellent product. Many of us who post here regularly wouldn’t touch it with a 10 foot pole, however. I live in the Chicago area and it seems there’s frequently something in the paper about their cannery. I think the company is so shady as a whole, that even though their kibble diets are co-packed, I have nothing to do with them either. Transparency is so important!