Advice for 4 month old puppy

Dog Food Advisor Forums Raw Dog Food Advice for 4 month old puppy

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Megann D

Okay, please go easy on me….I’m new at raw and I am very confused about my puppy’s reaction to raw. He is a 4 month old standard poodle.
    We started him on raw bone in chicken (wings, leg quarters, breast and feet) after reading about raw for weeks. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find chicken backs near me. Anyways, we’ve been feeding him for about 2 weeks like this. By now, I thought he would be more adjusted, but its not getting better. He has soft serve during the day and then at night for the last 4 nights he has been waking us up crying to go out around 3-5am and having what I believe is “cannon butt”…aka diarrhea. A few mornings he also vomits bile (I think hunger pukes?). He loves eating his food, and other than being a little extra tired he seems pretty normal. He’s eating his food still, and drinking water.
    I’m wondering if its just that the chicken itself doesn’t sit well? Like maybe too much sodium or something, or just doesn’t do well with chicken in general? I am also wondering if he potentially could have giardia? Early on he was having a bit of blood in the stool. I am considering taking him to vet if this doesn’t get better soon though! Has anyone had this happen or have any advice?
    I really want to do raw, but its been kind of horrid so far!

#101025 Report Abuse
    anonymous

STOP IT!
    http://skeptvet.com/Blog/?s=raw+food
    Of course, take him to the vet, asap, only a veterinarian that has examined your dog can diagnose and prescribe treatment.
    Please, make an appointment today. Stop listening to people on the internet.
    Dr Google is not only inaccurate, but dangerous.
    Give us an update, if you remember. Good luck.
    Ps: Do you eat raw meat? How do you think you would like it……….

#101026 Report Abuse
    aimee
    Participant

Megann D,