šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Carmen R

she was abused and mistreated.
    I decided to rescue an 11 year old maltese with mammory tumors.
    I am trying to increase wait before taking to Vet.
    She was weighing 4 lbs, now weighing 5 lbs she has been with me for about 1 month.
    I will not give up on her, I want to be her voice and give her the love she deserves.
    I just need to help as to how to properly feed her. She needs dental work, she is missing teeth. He breath smells bad. I am a newbie is helping this dog and I want to do the right thing by her. Please can some one advise me.
    She is on dry dog food crown royal. I hear bad things about commercial dog food I don’t know which is the proper food to give her a fighting chance.

Thank you.

#62917 Report Abuse
    Dog_Obsessed

First of all, thank you SO MUCH for rescuing this dog and giving her a second chance!

I have never heard of Crown Royal dog food, do you mean Royal Canin? If so, it is not a great dog food, and pretty overpriced too. Look around at the reviews of four and five star reviews and choose a few brands. Study the brandā€™s recall history to make sure they are not recently or frequently recalled. If they are not available locally, then you can order online, some sites that are popular are chewy.com pet flow.com. Stay away from doggiefood.com. It is best to have several brands and formulas to rotate between, if she can tolerate it, because no dog food is perfect. Make sure to transition really slowly, over at least a week, more if she needs it. You will want to feed more of the recommended amount suggested, 3-3.5% of her body weight, depending on how much weight she needs to gain.

I would recommend taking her to the vet soon, to make sure she does not have any health problems. The vet may have advice about weight gain as well.