Wellness Complete Health (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Wellness Complete Health1 Dog Food earns the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Wellness Complete Health product line includes 16 dry dog foods, three claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth (puppies) and thirteen for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Wellness Seniors (3 stars)
  • Wellness Toy Breed Senior
  • Wellness Puppy (4.5 stars)
  • Wellness Large Breed Adult
  • Wellness Large Breed Puppy
  • Wellness Small Breed Senior
  • Wellness Healthy Weight (3 stars)
  • Wellness Toy Breed Adult (5 stars)
  • Wellness Small Breed Puppy (4.5 stars)
  • Wellness Adult Lamb and Barley (3.5 stars)
  • Wellness Toy Breed Healthy Weight (5 stars)
  • Wellness Adult Chicken and Oatmeal (3.5 stars)
  • Wellness Small Breed Healthy Weight (4.5 stars)
  • Wellness Adult Whitefish and Sweet Potato (3.5 stars)
  • Wellness Small Breed Adult Turkey and Oatmeal (4.5 stars)
  • Wellness Small Breed Adult Whitefish, Salmon Meal & Peas (4.5 stars)

Wellness Large Breed Adult Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Wellness Large Breed Adult Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 28% | Fat = 12% | Carbs = 52%

Ingredients: Deboned chicken, whitefish, chicken meal, ground brown rice, oatmeal, ground peas, ground barley, tomato pomace, salmon meal, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), natural chicken flavor, tomatoes, ground flaxseed, carrots, apples, spinach, sweet potatoes, blueberries, vitamins [vitamin E supplement, beta-carotene, niacin, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), biotin, folic acid], minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc sulfate, iron proteinate, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate], choline chloride, glucosamine hydrochloride, chondroitin sulfate, mixed tocopherols added to preserve freshness, chicory root extract, Yucca schidigera extract, taurine, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, rosemary extract, green tea extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis25%11%NA
Dry Matter Basis28%12%52%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%27%47%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is whitefish, a marine or freshwater species native to Canada and the California coast.

The third ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The fourth ingredient is ground brown rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fifth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The sixth ingredient is ground peas. Dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The eighth ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

The ninth ingredient is salmon meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.2

The tenth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Dog Food Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Wellness Complete Health Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Wellness Complete Health Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 28%, a fat level of 12% and estimated carbohydrates of about 52%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 52%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the peas and flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Wellness Complete Health is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of poultry or fish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

We continue to monitor the Internet for dog food coupons. And we’d suggest the same for anyone who would also like to save on the cost of feeding their pets.

In addition, we invite readers to share news about any discounts they find with other pet owners in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the coupon below. Please be aware we receive a fee for each referral made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

05/13/2014 Last Update

  1. New name for Wellness Super5 Dog Food
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Shea

    I recently changed my small terrier back to wellness small breed healthy weight. I thought she would like the smaller bites but she won’t even touch this food! What is a good kibble for picky eaters?

  • Crazy4cats

    OH, poor baby. That is miserable when that happens. Here is a helpful link that gives some great advice on how to relieve diarrhea. Good luck! http://www.dogaware.com/health/digestive.html#diarrhea

  • Gail Taraschuk

    OMG 3 weeks with diarrhea …poor dog ! That must do so much damage inside the dog’s body ..all the inflamation…for 3 weeks…!!

  • Gail Taraschuk

    I tried to give it to other animals and they wouldn’t even touch it..they walked away …and they are hungry strays !!

  • Gail Taraschuk

    My dog also ! I just tried this Wellness brand dry food 3 days ago and had to stop immediately as my dog got severe diarrhea !!His bottom is all rashed now ! He still has it really bad 3 days later even after taking him off it ! Like water coming out of him !! It really messed him up bad ! My dog and myself have not slept well in 3 days ! Up every hour talking him out to the bathroom…he has cramping and just not his usual happy self ! I am up tonight worrying about him….vet asap if I do not see improvement in the morning ! NEVER will I put him on any of their food again !!! WELLNESS made my dog WELL- LESS !

  • belinda

    I have been feeding my mastiffxlabrador of 6months (22kg) the wellness
    complete large breed puppy dry food in combo with wet food, however it
    has been suggested to me that I use the wellness core puppy dry formula
    (even though its not specific for larger breeds) because apparently it
    will be better for him? Does anyone know if this is the case? (large
    breed specific vs core grain free?)

  • ALFRED

    hi,
    i just purchased wellness simple salmon potato grain free and noticed they removed the contains NO GMOs LABEL.
    that means now they make the dog food with GMOs?
    if any body knows please let me know, i buy this food because of GMO FREE ingredients

    THANK YOU

  • Lisa

    Yeah, this was like 28 years ago with the awesome pup I grew up with <3 She was allergic to everything. We tried everything. One fleabite put her through hell. She lived to 14 bless her little sweet heart. She had a very good life though, precious little girl awww I miss her so.

  • Laura

    your doing exactly what the doctor on this site on video said to do. every 3 months switch it up. Ive thought about it and seriously my dog has been eating the same food for 6 years..i couldnt eat the same thing that long so why should they. i believe its a great idea, i just never knew about it.. Once i get jovi settled on his issues..i’m going to switch it up for him too. although i’m reluctant since i’m not sure whats causing all the rashes. If its grain then its a no brainer..i will not buy anything that has grain in it…hoping this new food will tell all.

  • theBCnut

    I rotate. My last food was Nature’s Variety, current is Canine Caviar, next will be Acana.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Oh, poor baby! My vet said that’s the only way to really tell what they’re allergic to.

  • Lisa

    Or rather 5 columns and 10 dots on each column.

  • Lisa

    It was so long ago but they shaved her side and she had little tiny pin pricks all in a row like 50 of them. She was well taken care of though, no pain for the little girl <3

  • Laura

    thanks for your help :)

  • Laura

    its def worth a try…wish there wasnt so many choices out there…it got really confusing when searching for grain free with good ingredients.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Yeah, I live near you. I really doubt the flea connection unless your in an apartment that had the issue from other tenants. And if the antibiotics cleared the rash, it wouldn’t clear fleas. The problem is antibiotics get rid of the skin infection caused by itching, but don’t actually solve the allergy problem.
    I really do think I’d go grain free limited ingredient and see what happens.

  • Laura

    live in chicago….he had the rash a few months back when it was zero here so i doubt fleas were even alive…..and then it went away with anti biotics and then came back again a week ago.. he went from chicken and rice to lamb and rice and it still came back thats why i decided to go zero grain to see if that helps.

  • Crazy4dogs

    If you live in an area that gets a hard freeze, most flea/tick/heartworm/worm issues are summer/warm weather problems. I do live in that climate so once it freezes we are relatively safe. I’ve never had fleas on my dogs either. Without actually seeing your dog, I’d say it’s probably not fleas.

  • Laura

    he has such dark area by his legs but i do believe its just the color of his actual skin. I tried scratching it off and it didnt come off.. not sure if this is a high area of flea infestation or not. Ive had dogs here forever and never have had any fleas on any of my dogs. thank you for your input..its helping me for sure…just want my jovi to get better and not go thru this stuff…

  • Crazy4dogs

    Did you have a blood test or actual skin scratch test done?

  • Crazy4dogs

    Your dog probably doesn’t have fleas. Just google “photos of flea dirt on dogs” and you will see what it looks like. I would think your vet would have seen them if they were present. The allergic reaction could be causing the discoloration, especially if there’s a lot of licking involved.
    I don’t use any preventatives on my dogs for fleas as I find them too toxic and they’ve never had them in my care. My newest family addition had them when rescued by was clear of them after I got him. I also foster a lot of dogs that come from rural KY and only use more natural solutions on my dogs WHEN AND IF needed. Do you live in an area with a heavy flea infestation? If not, I wouldn’t worry about it.

  • Lisa

    Laura you could have an allergy test done on your dog as well. Believe it or not I had a dog once that was allergic to three different types of grass!!! She was also allergic to 20 other things, one being mold.

  • Laura

    what do you guys you for flea control??? need to get him some either way

  • Laura

    not sure what his dog bed is made of but hes barely in it..hes on my couch and in my bed… theres a total darkness around his legs on the inside of his belly that looks almost black…could that be flea dirt??? i brought him to the vet she was checking his skin but said nothing about fleas…i havent seen any fleas either..

  • Lisa

    Crazy Dog took the words right out of my mouth :) Take a white paper towel and run a comb through your dogs coat from the back of his head to his tail. Pull the hair out of the comb and lay it on the paper towel. The fleas will be easy to see, but if you see those tiny black things, that is poo from the fleas. And yes, I tell everyone to stay away from cedar shavings as well. They smell so good and repels fleas but can give dogs a bad skin reaction.

  • Crazy4dogs

    If your dog had fleas you would see them crawling if you look at the belly and there would be “flea dirt” (flea feces) easily seen on the belly and anywhere there is minimal hair. It looks like pepper stuck on your dog’s belly. Are you using a bed that contains cedar shavings?

  • Laura

    what food are you feeding your dog?

  • Laura

    thanks hopefully changing food will be the answer. i’m praying it is for his sake…

  • Laura

    wouldnt i be able to see the fleas if thats what it is?

  • Lisa

    Hi Laura, there could be other reasons for your pups allergic reaction. Lots of dogs get skin problems with dog beds containing cedar shavings. Fleas don’t like cedar but a lot of dogs have problems with it. Also make sure the fleas are out of the question. Those buggers uhhhhh. Those eggs hatch every three weeks. If you find your dog has them and you treat him with whatever, in three weeks you can have that problem all over again. One flea bite can do that to your pup. Just wanted to throw that out there just in case :)

  • Crazy4dogs

    An easy way is to cut out the ingredient panel from any food or treat bags you buy.

  • theBCnut

    I know what you mean!! Dealing with allergies/food sensitivities is very frustrating. As soon as I think I have my dog figured out, I find one more thing he is reacting to. Good luck and if this one doesn’t work, or when you are ready to switch, there is a thread for limited ingredient/hypoallergenic foods.

  • Laura

    i will def keep a record of the ingredients. could be the rice, could be the grain…not sure thats why i’m going to try no grain. hoping for the best and i do feel better that it seems to be a way better dog food for him. I’m also going to give it to my pomeranian too..problem with all this is theres too many choices…just like life!!!

  • Crazy4dogs

    It could be the rice but TheBCnut is right. If you don’t keep a record, you have no idea what they are reacting to. I do rotate my foods and use individual proteins rather than foods that have several protein sources. My chocolate lab developed a red bumpy rash on her belly when on Lamb. The vet did a skin scrape and found bacteria but no yeast. It was a hot strange summer that year and she said to wait till the frost to see if it was food vs environmental allergies. I was at the end of the food and switched to fish but the cold weather was only a few weeks away. The next time I was on lamb almost a year later, she quickly developed slightly smelly ears which she hadn’t had in over 8 years when we went grain free. Back to the vet and she had bacteria in one ear and yeast in both. This was a completely different lamb formula from the previous one, freeze dried rather than kibble so I knew it was the lamb. The reactions do get stronger. They also can develop an allergy as they get older, which is what happened with my Lab. She hadn’t reacted to anything in years after going grain free until the lamb reaction and she’d had lamb many times before

  • Laura

    its all been very frustrating, I just watched a video from here on allergies and that doctor said we should change up their dog food every 3 months or so, just to prevent allergies to their food. I had no idea, but it does make sense. when he first starting getting the hot spots, i changed him from chicken and rice to lamb and rice and the rash came back, thats why i decided to go with no grain, its worth a try. and its salmon and sweet potatoe. dont know what else to do all i know it has better star rating than what he was on. It has 4 stars and purina pro plan only had 2 i think…i just want him healthy and not itchy..poor thing

  • theBCnut

    As long as he has been scratching a lot, he has been reacting to some ingredient(s) in the food. Now his reaction has gotten stronger. You need to keep ingredient lists from the foods you try and keep notes on how he does on each food. By comparing ingredient lists, you should eventually be able to figure out which specific ingredient(s) he is reacting to.

  • Laura

    thats sort of what my dog gets, he gets a red bumpy rash on his stomach and he scratches all over all the time. I just bought Rachael Rays Zero grain salmon and sweet potatoe, hoping it helps. Hes been on Purina pro plan chicken and rice his whole life with no issues and he’s 6. he has always seemed to scratch a lot tho, but these rashes just started to come out on his belly.

  • Lisa

    It’s a dermatitis type thing. It’s a round wet red itchy patch of skin where the hair falls off. Linked to allergies.

  • Laura

    what do you mean by hot spot… like a staph infection??

  • Susan

    Hi, Wellness is guaranteed take the un-used bag back to pet store & swap for something else, maybe next time take 7 days & slowly introduce the new kibble…..

  • Momma Dog

    I mix it in with what was left of the previous bag of food for a few days. The pup will eat around the Wellness and leave it in her bowl untouched.

  • DogFoodie

    Momma Dog,

    Can you describe the process by which you transitioned them from the Kirkland to the Wellness? My guess is that you might have transitioned too quickly as it’s unlikely that all five of your dogs were intolerant of the new foods you’ve introduced.

  • Momma Dog

    I have tried Wellness a few times, mostly because of dogfoodadvisor’s reviews. Unfortunately, each time, all 5 of my dogs get diarrhea. I bought the puppy formula for my youngest and she won’t even eat it. She would rather eat the Kirkland Chicken and rice or the 4Health Chicken and rice. I thought I would try better and more expensive foods, but if they won’t eat them, or if they give them diarrhea, then it is not worth it.

  • Dale

    Rated a premium food Wellness Complete Health(dry) has a foul smell. Both of my dogs (Boxer and Maltese) like it but I find the smell objectionable.

  • Taryn Dismang

    I feed that to my senior chihuahua and she does great on it. She loves it and at nearly 14 years old, she’s as spry as she was 10 years ago.

  • Susan

    Hi, just make sure you slowly introduce new food wth old food over 1 week period, just incase, yes I like the wellness range, my boy was on the Wellness Simple LID kibble for his stomach & bowel problems…

  • Midtownmagic

    I’m so glad to have found this website. I saw Wellness recommended on chihuahuawardrobe.com as a good food and began looking it up. I had been feeding Royal Canin Chihuahua to my pup and was dismayed at seeing its review! Then I spent the last few days here educating myself and am happy to see the Toy Breed food get a five star rating. I went to pet smart today and picked up a small bag, these duck based treats, and a can of the Wellness Stew for transition

  • KTJH

    I already read that. They could use sodium yeast in all foods

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    For a clearer understanding of this controversial dog food ingredient, you may wish to read this footnoted article about sodium selenite.

  • KTJH

    Most of the food you rate high have Sodium selenite added in them, this is toxic to dogs and is not needed.

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    Ok I got it, thank you, i will be very careful with the dosage.

  • Andy L

    I quote myself

    “I spend a lot of time on eBay as there R certain products that I like
    that I could not afford to buy if I got them online the normal methods
    yet alone from a store which is sometimes 50 or more % higher. Plus many of the products I like to use from certain companies have MAP in place which is similar to what Tempurepedic has in place.

    If you sell their products via the normal methods, store or online and if you sell the whatever for a penny less than what the Mfg
    says is the Minimum Accepted Price they legally can and will rip you a new one in a court of law. “

  • Andy L

    How much do you personally weigh? 110?120? Your Yorkie weighs. 6 8 10 pounds. Never and this is directly from Holistic Veterinarians, never give more than 1/10th of whatever you take to your pet. If your Yorkie weighs around 6 pound then the rule of thumb is 1/15 of whatever you would take with the exception of MSM.

    You want to give her five X of what is allowed? Have you ever heard of Systemic Shock? Give a dog that small as much as you indicated in your previous reply and you could do a lot more harm than good.

    As for your dad’s hair color, let me know if you find anything that works as I was only concerned with reversing my Periodontal Disease, Liver Disease, Diabetes, Insulin Resistance, Mis-firing nerves, and other things that I had. My hair color was never a priority for me.

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    What is “MAP”?

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    I see what your saying about focusing on one and not the combo.

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    Well what if I put it in a smaller capsule that was safe? I have tiny empty capsules that I use for her, I just open the big capsules and make 3 tiny ones. Some amazing things are in it that are really impressive, I just got it in the mail today, I at least want to take it for myself.

  • Andy L

    My info is on the entry concerning Publix the grocery chain

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    I replied on your blog

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    Ok I will check out your blog.

  • Andy L

    Just went and looked at Stem Cell 100. Avoid it with a passion. No I did not say it was no good however when you want to target any problem you first must have specific issues to address.

    The ingredients inside Stem Cell 100 by themselves are good but when you are dealing with a patent-pending propriety combination ingredient list similar to the BS that you have with Protandim by Life Vantage or Xymogen’s NFR2 Activator, then you get things that you do not want to utilize as a group at one time especially since your baby is fourteen years old.
    Stem Cell 100 ingredient list below.
    1 – Polysaccharides, flavonoids, and astragalosides

    2 – Proprietary natural blueberry flavonoids and other compounds from a stabilized pharmaceutical grade medicinal Vaccinium extract.

    3 – Flavonoids and oligo-proanthocyanidins (OPCs) extracted from Pine Bark

    4 – L-Theanine

    5 – Pterocarpus Marsupium

    6 – Polygonum Multiflorium stem

    7 – Schisandra Berry

    8 – Fo-Ti Root (aka He-Shou-Wu)

    9 – Camellia sinensis

    10 – Drynaria Rhizome

    I did not start using the amount of
    stuff I am using by using combination products not that they are not any good
    but what I learned was that if you have multiple problems as I used to have that you need to put a load dosage in of an individual product that was nothing but the individual product without fillers.

    Veg caps are the best however if you are going to get any dog let alone a fourteen year old little guy or girl to take a cap that is a beef based gelatin, be aware that the gelatin that is used is from the cheapest beef by-product out there and it is the same crap that are in the cheap dog foods.

    Most people taking supplements would not feed their dogs this manure and if they knew how and what the gelatin caps were made of then they would not take it themselves.

    I spend a lot of time on eBay as there R certain products that I like that I could not afford to buy if I got them online the normal methods yet alone from a store which is sometimes 50 or more % higher. Plus many of the products I like to use from certain companies have MAP in place which is similar to what Tempurepedic has in place.

    If you sell their products via the normal methods, store or online and if you sell the whatever for a penny less than what the Mfg
    says is the minimum accepted price they legally can and will rip you a new one in a court of law. Sellers who sell on eBay bypass the Mfg’s BS and that helps me immensely as I do not want to pay $114 a bottle for something although helpful, when & if I catch it just at the right moment on eBay that I can get six bottles for less than $95.

    Contact me back as I have to go out. And contacting in person would be better as you could tape me as when I expand your mind with knowledge although I due to the disability talk a lot (look at this response), I dislike people that cannot keep up with me and that is why I said before about hearing an inflection in your voice, as I become antagonized when people cannot grasp what I see. Taping me allows you to go back and listen later and then if you have any questions, then you can ask and maybe keep up with me.

  • Andy L

    What do you want to know? I apologize as am going to ask you to go to my blog which is below this paragraph. I did not have this blog when I wrote what I wrote on this site. I am not being sarcastic but if you want to speak to me directly, go through most of my entries on my blog starting with the oldest ones which one of them I do not recall which, has my complete address, telephone number and email address. Be aware with my disabiliuties if I perceive an inflection in your voice of disbelief or sarcasm then with my US Social Security disabilities then there is a chance that you will be blessed or cursed with a first hand taste of what I live with daily.

    ibelieveintheada2013.blogspot.com

  • Rebecca Wood Alworth

    Andy L,
    if you are alive will you let me know, I have a question and I’m done with vets and their lack of knowledge, I need help with my 14 year old yorkie, she is having serious issues and I know your not a vet but after reading your post, it sounds like you have much more knowledge than most of the ones out there.

  • Kimberly J

    It seems Wellness changed some ingredients. Others have complained about the smell as well and that their dogs, who used to love it, doesn’t go near it anymore.

  • Bobby dog

    I have never fed Dr Tim’s, but it’s on my list to try. There are several regulars on DFA that feed and recommend it! Good luck and you’re welcome. She looks like a beauty, I am glad she found a home!

    Edit: If you were referring to plain pumpkin, it is good for diarrhea and constipation.

  • winboys

    Thank you…did not know this. I will give her some just to see if it can settle her stomach issues some

  • winboys

    Chewy.com gave me a refund for the unused bag. I’m thinking when I get her back in a normal range I might slowly introduce Dr Tim’s Kinesis food. I just put her back on the Kirklands and discontinued the Wellness cold turkey

  • Susan

    Hi Winboys, Wellness has a guaranteed money back on all their kibbles, it just might not agree with ur girl, change kibbles & maybe try the “Wellness Simple” Lamb & Oatmeal or the Duck & Oatmeal, The Wellness Simple has less ingredients then the Wellness Complete Health.. thats if you still want her on a Wellness kibble…My boy didnt do well on the Complete health deboned Chicken as it has barley & rye in it but he did better on the limited ingredient Simple Lamb & oatmeal & the Duck & Oatmeal…. the people at the petshop will swap kibbles or refund ur money if needed even if the bag is nilly empty..but if its been 3 weeks & she still has diarrhea I’d stop feeding or re-introducing as the diarrhea should of clear up by now… even if you pick another kibble that has similar ingredients & same Protein%, Fat% & Fiber % as the Kirklands ND that she does good on…

  • theBCnut

    Go back to a food she did good on and transition slower for a while. There was probably a difference in fat or protein level that she couldn’t handle. I have a dog that I used to have the same issue with when I switched her food. It took about 6 months of working on getting her gut healthy before she stopped being so sensitive to food changes, but it did finally work and now I switch her food all the time with no transition.

  • Bobby dog

    If she were my dog I would try feeding her what she did well on to get her system back to normal. The probiotics should help also. If she has lost interest in eating Wellness it is more than likely not agreeing with her and she is letting you know by not eating it.

    I would suggest when she is well again to keep looking for at least two more kibbles that she likes and does well on. I buy small bags for my dog to try and when I know the food agrees with him I buy a larger bag. I change kibbles after each bag. With each new bag I also change the protein and carb source. When you have several kibbles your dog does well on you never have to worry about recipes changing, being discontinued, or worse yet recalled.

    Edit: You can also add plain canned pumpkin (1 t – 1 T), The Honest Kitchen Perfect Form, or Fruitables food supplements for the diarrhea.

  • winboys

    I adopted a 3 1/2 yo Chocolate Lab. She had always had Beneful. I switched her to Kirklands’ Nature Domain and she did ok (stool was normal but had the worst smell ever). So I switched her to Wellness Complete Health deboned chicken. Although I may have transitioned her too quickly, it’s been almost three weeks and she still consistently has diarrhea. She also has just lost interest in eating it, altough she loved it in the beginning.

    I bought Kirklands ND again today along with some probiotics. Should I just let change back to the Kirklands or should I still be mixing in the dog food which clearly does not agree with her?

    I am not aware of any food allergies.
    I am not opposed to spending a bit more on dog food but cannot afford to keep buying bag after bag and leave it unfinished.

    Any suggestions?

  • theBCnut

    You should call the manufacturer and report to FDA.

  • Gatormom

    The last bag of Complete Health Oatmeal&Chicken has a terrible odor, and my dogs won’t go near it! They are not picky eaters and have loved it until this bag. The exp date is Aug 2015, but there’s something horribly wrong with this bag. Do I return it to Petco? Should I let the manufacturer know?

  • Susan

    Hi, Im pretty sure that Wellness has change its bags from the Super 5 Mix to just “Complete Health Adult” I was in pet barn yesterday & they have the Super 5 mix coloured bags reduced for clearance & the new bags look the same with the different colours for the different flavours but have Adult & the flavour of the kibble written in the middle of the bags, Super 5mix had just the coloured bags before
    Why not feed both? start introducing the wellness Complete Health Adult (Super5mix) with their Halo & see how they go, what I did after transitioning
    my boy onto his Wellness Simple I then
    gave the Wellness for breakfast & his other
    kibble for dinner, here’s their link to see the whole wellness range & the super 5 Mix is called Complete health Adult 3rd one down
    http;//www.wellnesspetfood.com/recipes.aspx?pet=dog&ft=1#Complete

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-
    Wellness is a very highly regarded brand on this site. I want to say that the super 5 mix is the same as the complete health line. Maybe a name chang? But, yes it would be a great food to add to your dog’s menu!

  • Gina P.

    Can someone help me? My dogs are currently on Halo Spot’s Stew Wholesome Chicken (dry) and I was thinking of switching them to Wellness Super5Mix Complete Health. The only problem is this review doesn’t have the Super5Mix listed and the ingredients vary a little bit than the ones above. Does anyone have an opinion on the Super5Mix? Am I better off keeping them on the Halo food or should I switch? Super5Mix is the only Wellness brand available where I’m shopping (other than small breed formulas which I can’t use), so please don’t suggest others. Thanks for any help.

  • kelly

    How about Wellness Small Breed Senior??

  • Natalie Perline-Norman

    No health problems. Just not a dog food lover.

  • Ruth Kaempf

    My doxies who eat everything and are not difficult at all developed diarrhea on Blue Wilderness so I returned the bag to the pet store. I had never fed them this food before but there was a Blue rep in the pet store who convinced me with talk and a $3. off coupon. So no more Blue of any kind for us.

  • sue66b

    Hi Natalie, does she have health problems, there’s also the Wellness Small breed,

  • Natalie Perline-Norman

    That’s exactly what I do. Chicken, meat, veal, eggs, vegetables, plus Wellness as a chaser. Have no problem with my Shih Tzu eating. and her stool is perfect since I started feeding her the petite entrees as well.

  • Natalie Perline-Norman

    I have a year old Shih Tzu and only want to feed her the best possible so was wondering if she can eat the 5 star wellness toy breed adult dry food? Anyone?

  • Andy L

    Hi I am not being sarcastic as I have a Social Security Disability, which is a combination of Tourettes and Aspergers Syndrome and Verbal Intermittent Explosive Disorder. I have been using and once again not to be sarcastic, not going to a Holistic Board Certified Internal Medicine doctor and also a Holistic Forensic Psychiatrist but using both of these professionals as sounding boards to what I have personally read and correlated to postulate my own valid theories to what is necessary for me to prevent most of the problems that have occurred with my life.

    Yes I know this is long but that is part of my disability so please bear
    with me a little longer. I am once again not being sarcastic but in order for me to get valid hypothetical postulations on what reversed periodontal disease I had, caused me to lose 37 pounds in three weeks without changing my caloric intake, improved my eyesight, and numerous other problems that I had, I read over 120,000 pages of info and over 20,000 articles from sites such as Pubmed.gov and MSKCC-Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center for integrative medicine. I have read so much that I had to teach myself everything that I read to understand and evolve beyond what I read which is a curse in some ways as both of the above mentioned doctors cannot keep up with my knowledge.

    Now that brings me to your dogs. Take them to a holistic veterinarian as most holistic docs are trained in both fields natural and pharmacological. When I lost the 37 pounds in three weeks my wife just “HAD” to know what I was doing and now she goes with me to the same holistic internal medicine doc I go to plus since she talks to her mom daily(many times a day) now her mom comes to visit once every three months and also goes to the same doc. I also take our
    dogs to a holistic vet and with three of them it runs up the cha-ching meter.

    There was a Shibu Inu that lived to be 25? Years old before it died of natural causes. I bet you did not know that a dog could take Theanine or Relora or Gaba. I could go on but I would be here for weeks. Look up the benefits for your dog about the three things I mentioned above but if you want to know how I learned about everything I read then either get a hold of the DFA staff or do what I did and read back about 30 pages or 300 indexes of clinical
    research on each item and then cross reference them to postulate your own theories. It is not hard but time consuming and your dogs are dear to you. The last two things I will impart to you are these two terms:
    1 NFR2 activator
    2 Pterocarpus Marsupium.

    Everything that I have read is not all approved by the so-called great FDA and that is too bad as number 2 has been clinically proven to regrow Islets and new beta cells In Vivo and In Vitro and also if it does not do just that, it also has an insulin like activity that provides allocation of the glucose to the proper areas for distribution. Sad thing is that even though there are clinical trials going on right now to prove just that, I found an article about five years ago three years prior to the clinical US clinical trials that was buried from over fifty years ago by the whom else the FDA. Right I am a quack but the
    fact remains with the amount of stuff I use, you cannot fool a dental x-ray (remineralized bone in my jaw), cannot fake or beat an eye test, or many other things and if all of this can be accomplished by people to me dogs can use the very same things that I use but taken into account that the ratio is 1/10 to 1/20 of what I use.

    Wordy. The Pterocarpus Marsupium I got in to demonstrate to a pharmacist friend that had a dog that was Diabetic that I could eat a half gallon of Ice Cream and take the pills and that my sugar would not go up even five points informed me that her dog died the night before I could reverse the dogs diabetes. Right as I said before I am a quack. Read up the possibilities of number 1 as it relates to Methuselah.

  • Boxer mom

    Thank you again soooooooo much. Egg shells aren’t sharp even when crushed? I will check out the cookbook. Thanks again for your help. As you know Boxers are so sensitive to things and bunch of meds on top of that it can be a challenge to say the least. However, challenges with health or not I wouldn’t have it any other way. I often hear why don’t you get a different breed you have had so much cost into them. I say yup and they are worth every penny and sleepless night! I have been told by my vet that I love and dogs cardiologist that God gave us these babies because he knew we would take care of them :) of course he is right and I’d do it again in a heart beat!!!

  • sue66b

    Hi, If they were happy on cooked then I’d cook, there’s alot of good doggy cook books out their that help you balance their meals with the bone meal & other things, “Lew Olson” Raw & Natural Nutrition for dogs”” has good cooked balanced meals in her book & there easy, her book online is around $11…dried out egg shell u can use for their caluim,,, so dont throw out ur egg shells leave them to dry, then crush them… in Lew Olsons book she says how much to add, its about 1 teaspoon I think a day….. 1 egg shell crushed is about 1 teaspoon.. I boil the egg for my boy & mush it thru his tuna & pumkin..also I wouldnt look too much of what u read on the reveiws, when you end up hearing their whole story, it wasnt the kiibles that caused their dogs health problems in the end, people are always quick to blame the food, Id still do their R/C if they liked it, as the R/C would be a balanced diet & I’d cooked maybe give them their kibble just once a day lunch & 2 cooked meals breakfast & dinner… my boxer she was 10 when I put her to sleep she had Mast cell Tumor it was high grade 2 cancer, when I had it removed it didnt even look like a lump, It looked like a little wort… stupid vet up the rd said ah that’s nothing just an old ladys wort, so I did nothing, then 1 year went by & Angie wasnt herself sleeping more not interested in things like before, so I took her to another vet & she made me leave her there that morning & they operated that day & removed anything that was a lump & looked weird, she came home looking like a patch quit. the day she was PTS the vet that came to my home said thats she was in such excellent condition her teeth were still beautiful & white, her fur her body & she just ate her chicken & what ever we ate, I miss her soooooooo much, my new rescue Patch is a boy & totaliy different to Angie but I know Angie would of loved him..I Love Boxers they are the best dogs I’ve ever owned..Patch was a foster failure that I kept as he had to many medical problems to adopt out, I was too scared that whoever adopted him wouldnt keep up with his vet care & just wanted him for his looks & that he was a Staffy …they have a tuff life some staffies, what some people use them for is awful.. so I kept him..Good-Luck with ur 3 babies….u’ll work it out..

  • Boxer mom

    Thanks so much for the tips. i will share a bit of my babies history with you. I have one with Congestive heart failure. She is 6yrs old. She had cancer at 2yrs old and had her back leg and part of pelvis removed. During that time as you can imagine she wouldn’t eat. I finally got her to eat oatmeal home made. She loved it! Well, because that’s wasn’t the best experience for her she no longer will eat oatmeal :( Vet says flavor brings back negative experience for her and that’s why she wont eat it. My youngest male is 1.5 yrs old. He was diagnosed with Cardiomyopathy at 9 months old. My oldest is 10.5 he has Cardiomyopathy as well however he has never needed meds. thank goodness. So, due to two of them being on meds. they eat 3 meals Breakfast, lunch and dinner because they have to eat with their medications. ;( I’m now back to Royal Canin and mixing in vet canned food or peanut butter or coconut oil. I have tried everything. I actually used to cook them meals and they ate every bite however, the vet told me that just meat, veggie and noodles wasn’t good all the time. I would have to figure out a way to get calcium (I think is what she said) into the diet. So, now that i have shared my daily dilemmas with you can see why i’m so frustrated in trying to get them to eat. I have searched for bigger kibble food with better ingredients and each time i think i have found something i see a horror story and am afraid to give them the food. Years ago i used to feed Nutro Max i believe is the name. I see the ratings are good but, i read stories and get scared to try. They have so many issues with hearts i’m terrified to give them something that could cause any other issues. Thanks again for your tip i soooo appreciate them.

  • sue66b

    Hi Boxer mom, cant you find another brand that is similer to the Royal Canin ingredients but a bit better ingredients, Also why not rotate kibbles so they dont get sick of the same food day in & day out, I had a beautiful Boxer ‘Angie’ she was a real lady & she too liked 1 kibble then got sick of it, she prefered wet tin foods & home cooked chicken,I’d always surprise her with different meals, also they mite prefer just wet tin instead of mixing with the kibble, maybe do wet for breakfast & kibble at nite never give the same flavour kibble more then 3 times in the week, also homecooked is cheaper then wet tin foods they’d loved that…cook a big pot in a slow cooker then freeze small meals, you watch them sit in the kitchen waiting for it to be ready…also Wellness has their Wellness Simple Limited ingredients range, Im trying the Duck & Oatmeal the protein is only 19% the fat is 11% my boy loves it but I’m still mixing the Simple with his Vet Prescription Diet Eukanuba as he has IBD, then if they like the Duck & Oatmeal try the Lamb & Oatmeal, then there’s Turkey & Potatoes change their flavours around so they dont get bored even give them their Royal Canin in the rotation, I still keep my boy on his Eukanuba..

  • Boxer mom

    Hi I would love some advice. My boxers had been in royal canin there whole lives. Now 1.5, 6 & 11. About 4 months ago they all stopped eating. We tried several foods. Fromm they wouldn’t eat at all. Tried different variations of wellness. They liked the wellness deboned chicken and oatmeal. We had to mix in wellness can food. Now a month ago they want nothing to do with this food. I didn’t want to do this but I bought royal canin boxer as had in past mixed with wellness to get them to eat. They have heart issues and take meds so I had to get them to eat. I started adding wellness canned stew to the food and gradually removed the royal canin to get them back on wellness only. Now that they have only wellness again they won’t eat ;( I’ve had to get the natural balance beef logs to get them to eat enough that they may take their meds. Any suggestions would get greatly appreciated. They seem to like the large pellets rather than the smaller pellets too. Thanks so much in advance.

  • theBCnut

    That’s exactly what I do, plus digestive enzymes, if I think they are needed.

  • Shawna

    I rarely have the luxury of transitioning when pup comes in so I keep canned pumpkin and good probiotics on hand and start fosters on them immediately as a preventative before there is symptoms. :) Not knowing past diet and med history, I just assume they’re going to need probiotics anyway.

  • theBCnut

    That’s not been my experience either. In my experience, it takes time to create the sensitive stomach issues that older dogs have. However, puppies are more likely to become dehydrated if they do start having severe diarrhea problems, so I always try to do transitions instead of switching cold, or take measures to avoid diarrhea if no transition is possible.

  • Shawna

    Interesting. I haven’t experienced this with any of my foster puppies. I foster Boston Terriers and Papillons and have had them on a rotational diet as young as 5 weeks old. In my experience, the puppies have the easier time with rotational feeding. The foster dogs and puppies get kibble with raw and canned toppers. I rotate kibble every other week(ish). I rotate raw every other day(ish) and canned every four(ish) days.

  • nadia2664

    also if the pup has loose stools they say to give him a tablespoon of pumpkin it regulates him. I usually buy canned pumpkin not the pie one it is not good for your dog.

  • nadia2664

    hey thanks for replying. well when I say homecooking for my puppy, I have a recipe dog food book at home and it tells me what I need for her and the vitamins I need to put in my food this book tells what the dog needs and why dry commercial foods are killing the dogs. The book if you want to look into it is called HOME COOKING for your dog by Christine M. Filard

  • Shar24

    I really like the idea of homecooking, but you can achieve a rotational diet (great idea btw) with commercial food too…lots of regulars on this site rotate commercial food. One issue with really young puppies is they have really immature digestive systems so diet changes can affect them more than they would an adult dog. For my puppy when I switched him to the grain free Wellness puppy food it did seem to help a lot. I am also mixing in some of the Canidae Pure Sky (duck and sweet potato) grain free food too, because I got it on sale, it is also 5 star food, and it adds a little variety to his regular food. He hasn’t had any digestive problems with this, and I do think that since he is almost 5 months old now, being a little older his digestive system is a little less delicate then it was at 8-10 weeks old.

  • nadia2664

    I don’t think proplan is the best I have heard one of the worse ones

  • nadia2664

    i do have soft stool with wellness puppy, I well change the food again maybe get fromm they say it is the best but quite expensive. After the first year I will make her home made food. The bad thing about dog food is that you give that same one all the time and dogs get allergies from giving the same food all the time. So I will be making food for my dog but different kind of meals everyday

  • nadia2664

    fromm is the best

  • Shar24

    Switched puppy over to Wellness CORE and no more soft stool issues

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Shar24-
    Glad things are improving. Did you mean probiotics, not prebiotics? And yes, I know you mean about not knowing what they pick up. My dogs are terrible about eating everything when we are on walks. It’s so frustrating! You might have transitioned too fast. Since he is such a young guy, I wouldn’t worry about transitioning too quickly. Their little bodies are already going through so much as it is. A little pro plan for a while is not going to hurt him.

  • theBCnut

    From Pro Plan to Wellness is quite a change so it very well could have been too much for him.

  • Shar24

    So we seem to have the tummy pretty normalized feeding about 50/50 pro plan/wellness. Sometimes his stool is still soft but for the most part its been well formed and who the heck knows what kind of stuff he winds up swallowing when we don’t catch him in time to pull it out of his mouth. You know, moss, leaves, things off of the floor invisible to my naked eye. Think we just transitioned him too quickly? I am going to try adding in prebiotics and see how that works out.

  • Shar24

    Thank you for the suggestion, I will have to check this out. This is my Mom’s puppy and she is pretty set on going back to the pro plan (she didn’t really want to try Wellness from the get go) to normalize his stomach. I will have to see what I can do, if it was entirely up to me I would order the victor tonight.

  • LabsRawesome

    OH No!! Not Purina!! Seriously tho, since the dog already has diarrhea I’d just go with Victor. If she wants to try it.

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, Labs is correct. I should have recommended Victor to you. After many dry foods, it has worked the best for me so far. I use the grain free with beef, sweet potato and chicken. I just thought you might want to go with the purina first to get the tummy back to normal. But, I do think Victor would be great to try. It uses either sweet potatoes or rice as binders. Which, I personally think would be better than peas for sensitive tummies. I also use either pumpkin or chia when adding canned. And as I mentioned before I often use probiotics.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Shar, check out Victor. I’m surprised that C4C didn’t recommend it to you. She uses it for her 2 Labs with IBS. It has Montmorillonite Clay which is the ingredient that clears up diarrhea issues. It also works for my Moms sensitive stomach Sheltie. Here’s their site, they have a dealer locator at the top of their page. victordogfood.com I haven’t read thru all the posts, but if you need poultry free, their Yukon River is a good choice. And it’s grain, gluten, and GMO free. http://www.midamericapetfood.com/victordogfood/pdf/Brochure-GF-Yukon%20River%20Canine.pdf :)

  • Shar24

    Yikes, that sounds unpleasant, maybe that isn’t such a good idea then. I have read about the nutrisource but I was hoping to find something I can buy locally so we can try out a small bag first. I think we are going to put him back on the pro plan and if that clears up the stool issue we will just leave him on that until his next drs appointment which is on the 13th. If it doesn’t clear up his stool then we will bring him this week.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Shar-
    Have you had a fecal test done to rule out giardia, coccidia, and worms? Puppies are very prone to these. Many posters on this site recommend Nutrisource chicken and rice as a great transitional food. The Earthborn meadow feast did not work for my two. I think it was the peas that caused mushy green poop. I sure hope you find something that works. I know what it like struggling with this issue.

  • Shar24

    I am thinking about giving the Earthborn grain free lamb formula a try

  • Shar24

    Puppy is still having loose stools so the vet says to mix some of the Pro plan back in to see how he does. bummer

  • http://batman-news.com Keri Hill

    Wellness (Complete Health Dry) just came out with a new Toy Breed line that features three products: Adult, Healthy Weight, and Senior. It is separate from the Small Breed line that has already been reviewed on this site. I was wondering if it would be possible to add the reviews for these products to this page? “Wellness Small Breed Complete Health Toy Breed” is listed, but that product has been discontinued with the release of the separate Toy Breed line. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!

  • Kimi_Forever

    Fromm is a really good company. You made the right choice. I hope he likes it as well.

  • Debra Linari

    Thanks for the advise. This can get confusing and I keep second guessing myself. I am going to get the Fromm LBP tomorrow and hopefully he likes it.

  • Crazy4cats

    No problem, I’m glad you are having some progress! Puppies are a lot of work. But, just like human babies, they are SO precious, especially when sleeping. LOL!

  • Shar24

    Thank you for the suggestion with the fruitables supplement its definitely something I would like to try in the future. For now I think we are going back to just the dry and to give him a month or so to adjust to the new dry formula before making any other changes. I did give him plain white rice mixed in with some dry kibbles last night, and he had no interest in eating that so I mixed in a teaspoon of plain greek yogurt and that made it very high interest to him, he gobbled it up and this morning his stool was firmer than it has been since we started the kibble transition so it worked its magic. It seems like we have had this puppy longer than 2 weeks , we love him ever so much, but 2 weeks is all its been.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Shar24-
    Too bad the canned gave him loose stools. I’m transitioning to a new dry food right now and I’m using the Fruitables Pumpkin Digestive Supplement along with a little canned food and it seems to really help. You could also try just plain pumpkin, but I’ve had even better luck with the Fruitables supplement. Of course, it is a little more expensive as it also contains some other ingredients as well. I can find it at our feed store and the smaller specialty pet stores. Good luck with your transition

  • sue66b

    Wellpet also makes Holistic Select They have the Grainfree puppy health that is 4.5 stars he mite like that one better..

  • Shar24

    I started adding a couple of table spoons of the complete health puppy canned food to the dry and his stool has been getting softer, tonight it is liquid. So I guess its just back to the dry. We only just switched him to the Wellness dry less than 2 weeks ago, transitioned him over 5 days so I guess I should let him get adjusted to being on that food for awhile. Too bad that he isn’t crazy about it. :(

  • Kimi_Forever

    I used to feed Innova back when natura pet was independent but stopped trusting them when they sold to P&G and now they are being sold again as i understand to MARS. Personally i would not trust Innova any longer…Fromm is a trust worthy brand and Wellness i’ve learned now also makes most of it’s stuff in house too and i trust them now as well. However that being said, the wellness you speak of did not make HDM’s list of approved foods for large breed growth, while the Fromm did and does have appropriate calcium levels so i would suggest it over the wellness for that simple fact…I would steer clear of Blue but thats just me, for some of the reasons you mentioned…You could also consider trying a GF formula (with higher protein then 26%) for your LBP, i would suggest Wellness Core puppy (it’s on HDM’s list) and would be appropriate for a LBP, or Fromm GF surf and turf, or Annamaet Salcha or Aqualuk…you may also want to stop by the forums section to check the thread on Large and Giant breed puppy nutrition http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/forums/topic/large-and-giant-breed-puppy-nutrition/

    And make sure no matter what when you select a food for your LBP to make sure it’s on this list of approved foods for them, due to calcium levels:
    https://docs.google.com/viewer?srcid=0BwApI_dhlbnFTXhUdi1KazFzSUk&pid=explorer&efh=false&a=v

  • Debra Linari

    I am getting a bernese mountain dog puppy. I am deciding between Wellness large breed puppy, Innova large breed puppy (heard they had several recalls), or Fromm lg breed puppy. Not sure about Fromm as they use duck as the 1st ingredient and I would like to stay with chicken.
    I hear Blue is starting to have problems outsourcing out of the country which I don’t like even though I still use their cat food. Any help would be appreciated.

  • Crazy4cats

    I am definitely the wrong person to ask about the technical stuff. lol! But, you are not the only one using two different names. I believe they are actually two different sites. And, no, it’s not always simple finding the right food. Good luck with the search!

  • Shar24

    my cats love wellness canned foods and the regular core dry food, although they aren’t crazy about the indoor core. Our new puppy just transitioned off of Pro Plan to Wellness complete health puppy, and the one thing I will say is that he seems to find it a little less palatable, although he is the only animal in the house now, and in my experience a little competition for food makes everything seem to taste better to them.

  • Shar24

    definitely Wellness… where I live the CORE seems to be just a little more expensive than the Wilderness, the Complete Health though is about the same for a bigger bag. Anyway, I don’t like that Blue subcontracts their manufacturing, I used to feed my cats wilderness until I learned that. Basically everything Betsy said I enthusiastically second….it is a very concise summary of the reasons I chose Wellness after scoping out my options.

  • Shar24

    I am puppy sitting so I took the liberty to mix in a tablespoon of canned wellness complete puppy but this is my parents dog and my mom is really really wary about creating a super finicky dog which is what our last dog was especially in the last couple years of his 15 year life. The breeder had this puppy on the proplan grain free adult maintenance which he seems to like a little bit more than the wellness complete so I mixed in a handful of that and he liked that a little bit more, but boy did he love that canned food mixed in. I don’t want to give him all of his meals that way while they are gone because my mom will be really mad, and will blame it on me if he doesn’t want to eat his kibble when they get home. lol

  • Shar24

    seems like puppy doesn’t really like the wellness so much after all. it never really is just that simple I guess is it? Also, I don’t know why but on the discussion boards here it uses my disqus profile Ithink, but in the actual forums, its using the account I registered on this site wtih. I am not really tech savy so I don’t know how to reconcile this, but I don’t want to be simultaneously posting on two boards under two different names without saying so. I have been posting about cat food under SharonJ, hmmm

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Brittni,

    Good job! Glad to hear you’re switching!

    I’d choose Wellness, no question! I trust the brand and they have a wide variety of excellent quality products to choose from. Years ago, when Diamond was still manufacturing some products for Wellness, and they had another recall, Wellness immediately severed ties with Diamond. The manufacture all of their own products at their Wellpet plant.

    I’ve used several of their products and have been very happy with all of them.

    I wouldn’t use Blue Buffalo and can’t recommend it at all. They use multiple co-packers and there are inconsistencies between bags and the company won’t reveal who manufacturers the food.

    If I were you, and assuming you’re thinking eventually going grain free, I’d probably choose a grain inclusive Wellness product to start to make an intermediate increase in quality.

    Good luck!

  • Brittni Nicole Goodman

    I am about to switch my dogs (who are currently on purina pro plan) to a better quality food. I have narrowed it down to either wellness or blue wilderness. Any thoughts on these two? Im leaning more towards wellness because they have a bigger bag for the same price as wilderness, and I have 2 large dogs and 1 small one. (The dogs are a lab/german shepherd cross, a siberian husky/timber wolf cross, and a chihuahua/daschund cross) Any thoughts?

  • Crazy4cats

    You are lucky to have a vet you trust. Have fun with your pup!

  • Shar24

    My vet is awesome, I trust him implicitly, including for nutritional advice and when I told him that the breeders instructions were “no puppy food no matter what” he said “its hard to believe this kind of stuff is still going around” Especially weird since they are a very medium size dog breed…max 50lbs. Everything about this breeder checked out, totally legit except this weird advice that apparently came from other breeders. The good news is he was on the Pro- Plan puppy after being weaned up until a little more than a week before he came home so he wasn’t off of puppy food for very long.

  • Crazy4cats

    I remember when my previous extra large dog was a pup, a vet told me to start feeding adult food so he wouldn’t grow too fast. Of course, I did it. Now I realize it probably wasn’t for the best. There are probably still people recommending this. I’m glad you know better! Have fun with your pup!

  • Shar24

    Just added an 8 week old standard schnauzer to the family (9 weeks now) For whatever misinformed reason, the breeder had recently switched his whole litter over to Pro Plan grain free adult maintenance. After extensive research I decided on Wellness complete health puppy and just finished transitioning him over. My cats have both done really well on primarily Wellness grain free canned, supplemented with Core Indoor dry, and one is highly sensitive. I like that it is GMO free, that they manufacture their own food, are a pretty well established brand at this point and not a tiny brand new start up, and very importantly their products are much more budget friendly than others I might consider feeding. Puppy has accepted the transition without any issues and seems to be doing well on just the kibble. Vet says to hold off on adding in canned food for now.

  • sue66

    Probably the Wellness is filling her up more, did you read how many cups to give per day My boy is on the Eukanuba Intestinal, & for his weight I have to give 3 cups but in the Wellness Deboned Chicken oatmeal, I had to give only 2 cups,

  • MommaB

    I just finished switching my Australian cattle dog over from Iams sensitive to the Wellness complete Senior. At first she would eat the Wellness before the Iams and now that we have completely switched I find she is leaving it in her bowl longer. I am not sure if she likes it anymore. Or could it possible that the Wellness fills her up more. Any ideas?

  • LabsRawesome

    My 3 love Victor. Here’s their site- victordogfood.com If you want 3 free samples go here. https://www.facebook.com/sportdogfood?ref=br_tf I pay $38.99 for 30lbs of GF Ultra Professional Formula. They have a dealer locator on their site.

  • Sami

    I am trying to find a dog food that will help with my dogs’ shedding and keep them healthy since they are both barely over one. One of them is a border collie/pit bull mix and the other is a maltese mix (I really don’t know what all he has in him), I know it is going to be difficult finding a dog food to fit both needs but any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

  • Jeannette Siukola Chwaliszwski

    I use the super 5 mix complete Health weight dry food.(healthy weight)

  • englishanne

    My Coton de Tulear snubs his nose at Wellness Super5/Complete, but gobbles up Wellness Core. I bought the Complete because it was on sale…we’re back to Wellness Core and he loves meal time.