Solid Gold Holistique Blendz (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Solid Gold Holistique Blendz receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

Solid Gold Holistique Blendz is a dry dog food claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance.

Solid Gold Holistique Blendz

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 20% | Fat = 7% | Carbs = 65%

Ingredients: Oatmeal, cracked pearled barley, peas, ocean fish meal, potatoes, canola oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols) , dried eggs, dicalcium phosphate, flaxseed, tomato pomace, natural flavor, potassium chloride, salt, dl-methionine, choline chloride, salmon oil (source of DHA), taurine, dried chicory root, amaranth, parsley flakes, spearmint, almond oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), sesame oil (preserved by mixed tocopherols), Yucca schidigera extract, kelp, thyme, blueberries, cranberries, apples, lentils, quinoa, vitamin A supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin, copper sulfate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, manganese sulfate, zinc proteinate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, cobalt carbonate, folic acid, sodium selenite, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, rosemary extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis18%6%NA
Dry Matter Basis20%7%65%
Calorie Weighted Basis20%16%64%

The first ingredient in this dog food lists oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and is also (unlike many other grains) gluten-free.

The second ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. Unlike grains with a higher glycemic index, barley can help support more stable blood sugar levels.

The third ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. Plus (like all legumes) they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is fish meal. Because it is considered a meat concentrate, fish meal contains almost 300% more protein than fresh fish itself.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears2 to be ethoxyquin-free.

The fifth item is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is canola oil. Many applaud canola for its favorable omega-3 content while a vocal minority condemn it as an unhealthy fat.

Much of the objection regarding canola oil appears to be related to the use of genetically modified rapeseed as its raw material source.

Current thinking (ours included) finds the negative stories about canola oil more the stuff of urban legend than actual science.3

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The seventh ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The eighth ingredient is dicalcium phosphate, likely used here as a dietary calcium supplement.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, chicory root is naturally rich in a substance called inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

Next, this recipe also includes lentils and quinoa. Lentils are a quality source of carbohydrates. Plus (like all legumes) they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, lentils contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Quinoa, (pronounced keen-wah) is not a true cereal grain but a plant prized for its gluten-free seeds.

Compared to most other grain-type ingredients, it is high in protein (about 12-18%), dietary fiber and other healthy nutrients.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Solid Gold Holistique Blendz Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Solid Gold Holistique Blendz looks like an average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 20%, a fat level of 7% and estimated carbohydrates of about 65%.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 34%.

Below-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the peas, flaxseed, lentils and quinoa, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a limited amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Solid Gold Holistique Blendz is a plant-based kibble using a limited amount of ocean fish meal as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Those looking for a better kibble from the same company may wish to visit our review of Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Dog Food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

02/07/2010 Original review
07/16/2010 Review updated
09/13/2010 Review updated
03/03/2012 Review updated (recipe change)
08/31/2013 Review updated
08/31/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Solid Gold Customer Service, 4/24/2012
  3. Mikkelson, B and DP, Oil of Ole, Urban Legends Reference Pages (2005)
  • aquariangt

    lower protein doesn’t help older dogs. 20% protein is too low for pretty much any dog, if not every dog. Some solid gold is ok (Barking at the Moon) but this one I wouldn’t feed

  • Linda Gail

    I’m confused too. This food is supposed to be for less active older dogs who don’t need the protein, but do need an easy to digest formula, generally need less calories, and certainly benefit from the extra fiber and probiotics.

  • DogMa

    The low protein and fat are a plus for me. I have a Yorkie who had liver shunt surgery and must be on low fat food for life. Quality low fat food is hard to find, and he is doing great on Holistic Blendz.

  • Papabrrr

    Thanks for the info!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Although the ingredients are quite ok, it only has 20% protein and a whopping 65% carbs.

  • Papabrrr

    What’s the reason for the Holistique Blendz getting such a low rating compared to the other dog foods in the Solid Gold lineup?

  • Elizabeth

    Some of us blame the food for diarrhea or vomiting.  Any chance any of these dogs are on Trifexis or Comfortis heartworm/flea prevention?  Curious as the symptoms sound so familiar after using these products.  They are toxic to your dogs liver/pancreas.  Perhaps not the food but another toxin?

  • CJ

    Hi Snooks, Corn, wheat & soy are known allergiens. Blue Buffalo would have corrected the problems had you not been feeding the bad treats.
    I was feeding what I thought was a good food but I failed to read the ingredient label.I was also giving “junk” treats which my vet said to trash. My dogs were getting steroid shots on a regular basis & my older Shih Tzu developed pancreatitis which led me to study dog nutrition 3 yrs ago.  I chose Blue & everything cleared up including pancreatitis. They are healthy & happy. The Shih Tzu had her 15th birthday in July.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Snooks, didn’t realize your dogs had health issues. You didn’t mention it in your original post. Have you ever heard of Brothers complete Allergy formula? The owner of the food posts on this site daily. He is very helpful & knowledgeable. He is willing to answer questions via this site, email, or you can call him directly. You can check out the Brothers Complete dog food website, or just go to his page on this site and click on his name, it will take you there. His food has a money back guarantee. So many animals have been helped by Richard Darlington & his food.

  • BryanV21

    The senior formulas of Wellness, Fromm Gold, Blue Buffalo, and Best Breed have lower protein than their adult counterparts. This particular Solid Gold, after looking, is the same.

    The only mistake I made is not checking this particular brand when responding, NOT in saying “senior diets tend to be lower in things like protein”.

  • BennyandJoon

    Most senior formulas have equal or higher protein then the regular food. Orijen, Evo, Iams all have equal or higher protein. 

  • Snooks

     The Yorkie Spice, Nashville, TN president wanted Buff to have a vegetarian based dry dog food due to the extreme skin allergy Buff has. She had been on Blue Buffalo Lamb and Rice for well  over month but no change.  President said they have much more luck, especially with rescues with skin problems,  in feeding Solid Gold Holistique Blendz than any other dog food. Buff’s blood red cells and white are fine and not anemic. Both she and her pal yorkie here had been on Science Diet for years.  But for the last year (since age 6) she has been on antibiotics and benedryl daily and this is not good vet said.  Her skin clears up due to antibiotics,  finishes a 24 pill (48 days) clavamox, goes off them, and in less than 2 weeks starts to break out again. The vet said could be airborn or food or both. After food change if no luck then extensive tests. Neither dog is ever outside except porch screened in but airborn pollen there.   So now we have backed off milk bones 3 weeks ago, beef chewies and were down to Buffalo Blue, dentastick(their teeth Sept is perfect tartar free almost teeth  and cleaned in Jan) and tiny, tiny piece of cheese to take her pills in.  Off all other foods period.  So it takes approx 6 weeks for food to have a result skin wise if it is going to clear up.  Therefore we are going to the Solid Gold Holistique Blendz now and not waiting on results of the Blue Buffalo since high percentage helping rate for dogs with allergic skin conditions has been discovered by our group using Solid Gold Holistique Blendz brand.  The Barking at The Moon formula will have too much in it for her to have due to her condition.  Thanks for the reply however.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Snooks, I’m sure they’ll be OK, it’s just one bag. But if I were you, in the future I would buy the solid gold barking at the moon formula.   :)

  • BryanV21

    The problem with senior diets tend to be lower in things like protein, fat, and calories. So on top of getting less of things like protein, your dog may be hungry more often since they aren’t getting as much out of the senior diet.

    I’d say send it back for an exchange. If that’s not an option, then you may need to feed a bit more of it, and look into a supplement to add to the food to boost those nutrient levels up to where an adult dog needs.

  • Snooks

    I just bought Solid Gold Holistique Blendz and now realize I bought the Sr Citizen black bag container and not the lighter dark green.  Can my 6 to 7 year old yorkies be okey with this.  It is being shipped

  • luvgry1s

    I just contacted Solid Gold about the ethoxyquin that might be in the fish meal in the Holistique formula dry dog food. They responded in less than 24 hours with this information:

    “All of our formulations specify Ethoxyquin free ingredients.
    We do not add Ethoxyquin to our diets nor is the fish meal used in our formulations preserved with Ethoxyquin; the fish meal used in our diets are preserved with the natural preservative Naturox and additional Naturox is added to our formulations during production.
    We receive a sample of every production run that the manufacturing mill produces, each of these samples is then sent out for Ethoxyquin testing; the test results we have received show no presence of Ethoxyquin.
    Solid Gold Health Products for Pets, Inc.”I was very relieved to read this and pleased with their fast response. I feed 1/3 cup daily of this higher fiber lower fat dog food to my Standard Schnauzers to keep the intestinal tract moving and stools firm. They also get homecooked food. Works very well for us.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Yorkmom,

    We’re currently working on updates to our reviews for Solid Gold. Sandy’s already completed the spreadsheets and Patti’s working on the content.

    The new reviews should be posted shortly. Thanks for the tip.

  • Yorkmom

    Mike Sagman,
    Solid Gold has changed the recipes of several of their dry foods, Hundchen Flocken Puppy, Holistique Blendz, Mmillennia Beff and Barley, and Wolfking, do not know if this changes any of the ratings, but gives insight to people having digestive issues with their pets because of recipe changes, hope this helps!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Oh, and for a raw protein boost there’s now Instinct Raw Boost – a freeze dried powder you can just sprinkle onto kibble. Very convenient.

  • MotherofPearl

     Sandy, An update.  We switched (gradually) to Nature’s Variety Instinct (grain free chicken) and she couldn’t tolerate it.  May have been too much to go from a very low protein, high carb low fat diet to a very high protein, low carb and fat diet.  She vomited (projectile) after eating only a small amount mixed in with chicken and rice.  She is now gradually being switched (2 days so far good) on Wellness Simple Rice and Lamb (and we are waiting to see if she is truly allergic to lamb).  If we can get her stabilized we will try to gradually top it off with the canned for more protein.  As I was looking for another dog food to switch I noticed on the new bags of Solid Gold a bright neon tag that said “New Ingredients”..  If she does well on Rice and Lamb, I will finally throw away her allergy blood test results.

  • Angeloneandonly

    I have been researching for new dog foods since my dog was recently diagnosed with Pancreatitis and this is one that I have found suggested by another vet. This food is low in protein and fat for a reason – not all dogs can handle the higher amounts. Mine certainly can’t anymore. This food accornding to the link was designed to help balance out other diets such as RAW where dogs may be missing certain nutrients/vitamins. Meat sources can be added to this if need be….

    http://www.solidgoldnorthwest.com/products/pro_dry/pro_hol.html

  • sandy

    The recipe is slightly different on the Solid Gold website.  Maybe you got a bag with the new recipe. Also, manufacturers can use up old bags even though there has been a recipe change. Maybe your dog does not agree with the change.

  • MotherofPearl

    Interesting about your dog suddenly having diarrhea on this food.  My Westie has suddenly started to have a couple of bout of diarrhea and she has been on this brand for 2 yrs without a problem.  I am thinking of switching, it may be time.  My Vet said she has built up an ‘intolerance’ or ‘food sensitivity’ to her food.  She is on allergy shots for environmental allergies, and hasn’t had a food allergy reaction since I switched to this Holistic Blendz.  She is not have any allergic reactions (other than diarrhea), so we will probably put her on a food trial (Royal Canin soy based, as she is allergic to lamb, venison, duck, rabbit, brown rice, sweet potatoes, and yeast.)

  • Terryann

    Veterinarians usually know very little about food, in my experience. My vet seems to push whatever her sales rep has pushed on her.

  • http://www.slideshare.net/flexmassager/plantar-fasciitis-quick-guide-to-stretch-it-away-for-treatment Harold Cordner

    I have been reading Solid Gold Holistique Blendz Dog Food | Review and Rating for a while, but I finally got around to posting. Thanks for all of the information, you have created a great resource here.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Robert… Canola’s only red flagged because it’s controversial. Not because I’m against it. But when it comes to beneficial fats, canola’s nowhere near as healthy as fish oil.

  • Robert

    I just switched my Dog to this food from Iams. He seems to like it and he hasn’t had any bouts with Diarrhea. So far so good.
    A girl I worked with who’s also a dog owner suggested I eliminate Wheat & Corn from his diet. She said it helped with her dogs itching and flaky skin.
    I see that Canola Oil is highlighted in Red. I have read elsewhere that Canola Oil is good for a Dog. Later on I see you mention most applaud Canola Oil while a vocal minority condemn it. I assume you’re in the vocal minority since you have it as a red item?

  • Michelle

    Hi Allyson, If I were you, I would look around for a LID – limited ingredient diet, for your dog with the sensitive stomach.Their are lots to choose from,but a few that come to mind are: California Natural, and Natural Balance.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Allyson… Not sure how to answer this question since I’m not privy to the manufacturing history of this product. Only the label. Unfortunately, due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, I cannot provide customized reviews and product comparisons for each reader. For more help, please check out my reviews and visit our FAQ page. Look for the topic, “Help Me Choose a Dog Food”. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers. Wish I could be more help.

  • Allyson

    I opened a new bag of Holistique blend yesterday and I noticed the kibble was much smaller than ever before. I tried serving to my dog (who has been eating Solid Gold for 10 years!) and he refused to eat it – no matter what I tried to mix it with.

    I called Solid Gold and they were very rude and said their manufacturing process has changed, not the formula and hung up on me!!!

    I don’t know what to do – my dog has a very sensitive stomach and I don’t know what food to try – any suggestions????

  • Jonathan

    Hey Solid gold user, this is a great example of why I favor product rotation. It’s amazing how “stubborn” a dog’s system can become from eating the same exact thing ever day for years… so stubborn that just a product source change can cause a problem. Maybe consider rotating proteins every bag (slowly at first with long mix times!) then getting him to where you can rotate on different brands every few months.

  • Solid Gold user for years

    I always thought Solid Gold made a good product. Even now, I wouldn’t say it is bad, just that there is a problem. My older dog has been eating solid gold for years. When we opened the latest bag, I noticed the food was lighter in color. I also noticed the kibble was slightly smaller. I didn’t think that much of it. When my dog had diarrhea, then later refused to eat the Holistique Blendz, I thought I should contact the company. Their response was very surprising to me. It was basically that the manufacturing had been changed. While the ingredients had not changed, the sourcing had. OK. Now, here’s the kicker. It went on to say “Pets that are a bit more sensitive may exhibit food refusal or minor digestive concerns such as soft stools, with changes in ingredient sourcing”. Well, to this I say — dogs don’t talk, they can’t say “the food is different” — I can see that it looks different, but I don’t know whether the ingredients have changed or just the sourcing of them — if my dog, (who by the way has never missed or refused a meal — ever) is having diarrhea — and is refusing to eat the food — I think (and this is just my conclusion) there is more to this than “sourcing”! Buyer beware.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jody… Although we’ve not been impressed with quality of some of Hill’s ingredients or meat content, there are number of experts who endorse their urinary products.

    There’s an excellent article about urinary stones that discusses this problem and makes some practical suggestions for controlling the problem.

    In any case, since I’m not a veterinarian, I cannot provide specific health advice or product recommendations. Please see our FAQ page and our reviews for more information. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers. Wish I could be more help.

  • Jody

    Hi Roger,
    I have had my dog since he was a pup (almost 3 1/2 years) with no health problems and had fed him California Natural’s Lamb/Rice up until 3 months ago when the price at my local stores skyrocketed overnight, so I decided to switch him to a comparable food. I took the ingredient label to a local pet food seller (not the normal one I’d been using, but this stroe was simply a little more convenient) and was told Black Gold Lamb/Rice (the green label) would be comparable… Within that time he formed Urate stones in his bladder, one of which obstructed his urethra requiring surgery… I promptly started researching foods after being informed that stones could form in as little as a few weeks to months and diet could be a factor. It would appear (research on various review sights) that I downgraded my dog to a fairly crumby food to say the least. The vet recommended Hills Science Diet U/D (as a low purine diet), but after researching ingredients, this looks even worse (I don’t want to offend anyone who feeds this to their dog, as this food may work fine for them, but after researching the ingredients; I will simply say it does not appeal to me). I tried to explain my concerns of feeding corn and flour or brewers rice to my dog but all three of the vets I’ve talked to are VERY defensive of science diet for some reason. They seem mor interested in treating the symptoms versus the root cause of the problem. I am under the impression that a more balanced diet would be better than removing a dietary need all together.
    I have switched my dog to Solid Gold Holistique for the time being (back to where I was buying before) as I wanted to get him off the other food asap. I have read varrying ideas about feeding low protein diets versus feeding a normal level protein diet with simply higher quality ingredients. I wanted to know what (if any) low protein diet dry dog food would be of good quality and if you had an oppinion either way about feeding a low protein diet or normal level protein diet.
    Thanks,
    J.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Roger… The body is an amazing thing. It’s very likely your dog’s only kidney has compensated for the missing one by growing larger and more efficient. So, you’ll likely be OK if you simply feed your pet any good quality dog food. However, since I’m not a veterinarian, I cannot provide specific health advice or product recommendations.

    Please check back for a possible response from one of our other readers. Wish I could be more help.

  • Roger

    I have a two year old Standard Poodle that has one kidney what food do you reccomend to protect the healthy kidney?

  • Christi C

    I feed the Holistique because I have a dog with Addison’s and she is in need of a lower protein diet. She is doing quite well on this food, I do however supplement with a variety of quality treats containing more protein, such as Ziwi Peak jerky, and Dogswell treats.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lori… The feeding method you speak of here I like to call “topping”. I’ve been topping Bailey’s dry dog food with a quality meat for some time now. Sometimes I use fresh meat but usually we simply top his kibble with a high quality canned dog food. Thanks for sharing your excellent feeding technique with the rest of our readers. This is an easy way to really improve the food quality of any dog’s life.

  • Lori A. K

    I use this food daily for the dogs but I add Quality beef to it from hearst ranch which is expensive. Solid gold’s bag used to say it was formulated so you can add another protein of your choice to it. I want to know where the meat is from when feeding my dogs. I don’t trust any meat source in human food let alone pet food. They’re also vegetarian 3 days a week they love avoderm, pet guard and natural balance canned food I use to feed calif natural but they prefer the vegetarian canned.