Professional Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Professional Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Professional Dog Food product line includes seven dry recipes, five claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance, one for all life stages, and one for growth (Puppy).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Professional Adult Lamb and Rice
  • Professional Adult Chicken and Barley
  • Professional Senior Chicken and Barley
  • Professional Active Dog Chicken and Rice
  • Professional Large Breed Puppy Chicken and Barley
  • Professional Adult Rice and Chicken Low Fat (3 stars)
  • Professional Small/Medium Breed Puppy Chicken and Barley

Professional Adult Chicken and Barley was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Professional Adult Dog Chicken and Barley

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 46%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, cracked pearled barley, brewers rice, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), oatmeal, dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, flaxseed, fish meal, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, glucosamine hydrochloride, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, Yucca schidigera extract, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, chondroitin sulfate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%17%46%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%35%40%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The seventh ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

After the natural chicken flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item2 appears to be ethoxyquin-free.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Professional Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Professional Dog Food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 46%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 53%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Professional Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of named meats and meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

08/16/2010 Original review
06/26/2012 Review updated
12/11/2013 Review updated
12/11/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Diamond Pet Foods Customer Service, 7/7/2010
  • Bryan Ledford

    Mike,
    Thinking of using the Active Formula…sort of surprised it isn’t rated 4.5 or 5. Something I’m missing? I’m trying to get better at reading labels.

  • wolfpack92532

    Cyanide: Like many other foods (cashews, some beans, and others), flax contains very small amounts of cyanide compounds, especially when consumed raw. Heat, especially on dry flax seeds, breaks these compounds down. However, our bodies have a capacity to neutralize a certain amount of these compounds, and the U.S. government agencies say that 2 tablespoons of flaxseed (~3 T of flax meal) is certainly safe and is probably an “effective dose” for health purposes. Various researchers who have used up to 6 daily tablespoons of the seed in different studies indicate that the amount they were using was safe.

  • Ivy Denine Fussell-Raymond

    gorgeous

  • doglover

    Flaxseed contains cyanide.

  • Zombie Chick

    Yeah, somehow I am not surprised I would be called out on something. Yes, I am talking about PRA! This is a genetic test done once. Then they are checked yearly for Cataracts. Pleas excuse my error in getting them mixed up, i think it was pretty obvious what I meant. But I was tired and had just taken my pain medication ;) I know what all the tests are that should be done, and the issues that cocker spaniels have. Have a great evening.

  • Melissaandcrew

    HI Zombie chick-
    I just wanted to clarify that to the best of my knowledge there is NO known test for cataract in any breed. There is a prcd-PRA test for cockers and a DNA test for FN-both of these can be done once. Cataracts need to be checked for yearly via a CERF exam. Since cockers also prone to a severe form of Glucoma, they should also have a period goniscopy to check for it.

  • Zombie Chick

    Many things. Not really the place to discuss it I think. But for starters, they are her pets first, they are given all the tests before breeding.

    She never over breeds her dogs and her dogs have such wonderful temperaments, and almost all of her dogs are either champions or come from long lines of champions, and well known lines.

    And the backgrounds of the other dogs in their lines are also tested for genetic issues. The main one being cataracts.

    The test for that is only needed to be done once. I have done the same tests on my own dogs, it gets expensive but important to keep the lines healthy and not go backwards.

    Cockers were once so over bred that it was hard to find a healthy one. That has changed a lot over the last 20 years because more breeders are testing their dogs and not breeding just any dog.

    There are so many things that make up a good breeder and I have seen to many bad breeders and know the difference.

    I used to do cocker rescue for many years and I had to quit, but we got so many poorly bred dogs it was beyond sad.

    My little long haired chihuahua comes from bad breeding. She is a great little dogs but has several issues that she was born with. I got her when she was 8 weeks old, she is 4 now. Open frontal, unfused (broken) bottom jaw with a terrible bite, her tongue hangs out. And she had to have 11 teeth pulled just a little over a week ago.

    We are also pretty sure she has hypothyroid and she is being tested for that next week. Hopefully she will have a long life, but I doubt it and it makes me sad.

    Funny thing about my breeder of the cockers, I talked to her today and she switched her dogs and pups to Kirklands kibble a couple of months ago. I was glad to hear that.

    Also, if for any reason a dog or pup needs to be re-homed, she always insists on taking them back. But it is very rare that happens since she is so picky about where her pups go.

    Speaking of cheap crap dog food, my dad fed his working hounds Purina high pro, and Attaboy hi pro all their lives. All of his dogs lived to be 16-18 years and were all very healthy.

    My dad quit hunting regularly when he retired early due to back issues from his job, and all his dogs had passed on.

    But he still had one or 2 hounds living in the house after that when they moved from WA to ID back in 2002 his last one passed and he got another.

    When he passed away at 66 the end of December 2004 he had a hound still.

    My step mom couldn’t take care of the dog because she had dementia. We brought her back here to WA to live with us but got worse really fast and passed away 8 months after my dad.

    My step brother had to find my dads dog a home because none of us could keep him, and I did try to keep him. It was hard letting the dog go knowing how much my dad loved him. But neither my sister or brother or myself were able to keep the hound.

    I grew up with hounds, my dad was an avid bear hunter. BBefore he passed away he actually got his very first Moose. Before dad hunted bear he hunted deer.

    We never had to buy meat from the store or butcher, even when I grew up, moved out and got married he kept us in supply of meat.

    I was always thankful for that because we sure couldn’t afford anything more then poor quality hamburger. My husband hunted too but wasn’t as good as my dad ;-) lol

    Well this post sure made some twists and turns from the original subject. I think mainly because my dad also bred his hounds when he needed to add to his crew as the others aged.

    So I grew up knowing what a true, good breeder was. He always had friends and his brother waiting in line for one of his pups.

    My dad was a good man, who loved his dogs and taught us kids how to care for animals. And gave us our love for dogs as well. Man I miss him and my step mom, she was only 62 when she passed away.

    My real mom passed away 3 months ago of kidney failure, she was 72. It is lonely without them. And I didn’t get to see or talk to my mom before she died, that makes things so much harder… ok, I will shut up now that I have depressed myself… ~Karla

  • Pattyvaughn

    We all started out in the same boat, not knowing anything about what we were feeding our dogs. I just found this forum a year and a half ago and have learned a lot too. I love it! Especially that there are people here from different backgrounds that bring different knowledge to the table. I learn new things all the time or get reminded of things that I knew but had forgotten or had never thought of in that way.

  • Shawna

    Hi Zombi Chick,

    I’m quite certain, based on your account, that the woman is a lovely person and cares for her breeding dogs and puppies. I’m talking about something different though..

    My guess is that, if the puppies are getting Puppy Chow, the adult breeding parents aren’t getting much better food. Of course that is an assumption but probably accurate. The puppy’s very formation is dependent on the nutrition being supplied by both parents (but mainly the mom). If the parents are fed poor quality food the puppy’s very tissues, immune system etc are likely going to be compromised right from the get go..

    I was reading a Psychiatrists website last night and I think she states it very well….. In this article she discusses the consequences to the child from a parent that had unhealthy gut flora.. This is just ONE of the various aspects of nutrition that would impact the child (or puppy).

    “Conditions as seemingly diverse as ulcerative colitis, autism, endocrine and rheumatological conditions, ADHD, bipolar disorder, epilepsy, eczema, eating disorders, osteoporosis, chronic fatigue, multiple sclerosis, PMS, infertility, to name just a few, respond to her method. Fundamentally all of these conditions link back to the same etiology, gut dysbiosis, which affects a patient’s nutritional status and immunity. She believes that many conditions that are designated “genetic” are not genetic at all, but rather a function of the imbalanced gut flora, which has been passed down from parents to baby.” http://www.judytsafrirmd.com/dr-natashas-army/

    Adequate nutrition is the very basis when it comes to the formation of a healthy kidney, liver, heart, eyes, thyroid gland, immune system etc. If the parents are poorly nourished there is little chance the puppy (or child) will be truly “healthy” right from the get go.. :(

    All of my dogs, I have eight, are rescues or rehomed to me but if I were to give a breeder my hard earned money, I’d want that puppy to have every chance in life to be as healthy as they could be — which starts with the nutrition of the parents. :) On a personal level, I truly meant no offense to your friend.

    PS — your puppies are lucky that they have you in their corner!!!!!!

  • Zombie Chick

    PS: I am just glad we have forums like this where we can learn things, and have others to help show us things we never had a clue about. I know I have learned SO much in the last month or so that I have been coming here.

    If it wasn’t for you and others here I would still be in the dark on a lot. And I love that nobody is ever nasty to each other!! :-D

  • Zombie Chick

    Oh I have no doubt you are right. I just don’t know enough about it. The foods they have recalled I don’t feed so I never really paid a lot of attention to recalls until recently.

    Kirkland I have used many times and I never had any issues. I don’t buy it any more because Costco is just to far for me to run and grab a bag of dog food.

    I only go to costco once in awhile, or I order some things online. It is pretty much a waste of money to even have a membership any more for me..lol

    Diamond also makes another kibble for Fred Meyer (AKA Kroger in some states) called Nutra Nuggets. I fed their Lamb and Rice for years. Last time I looked it was 24.00 for a 40 pound bag.

    However, I noticed a change and it was causing my dogs to itch and have loose stool, so I quit feeding it a few years ago. It is the same ingredients as their more expensive Diamond.

    I get so sick of these companies changing the products that effect my dogs poorly. I also don’t care much for companies like Diamond ( AKA schell & kampeter Inc) who make so many different feeds under different brand names.

    I just wont buy from those companies any more. They are NOT open about it, they are sneaky and I don’t understand why they can’t be open about it.

    I think if they want to have different food, fine, but why not sell them all under the same brand.

    Kirkland of course is Costco’s brand and many name brand companies make their products and put the Kirkland brand on it, that is normal, but most of them say who actually makes it on the back label if you look. Diamond doesn’t.

    I can’t remember what it says on the kirkland dog food label, but it is a company I had never heard of before… at least the last time I looked anyhow.

    And the ingredients for diamond, Professional, Nutra Nuggets, Kirkland, are pretty much identical but all different prices. It is stupid and obviously they think we are all stupid not to figure it out..LOL.. They should know better now days with so many of us doing our own research ;)

  • Pattyvaughn

    What makes her a good breeder?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Don’t believe the company line that no dogs became ill. It is completely false, but it is hard to prove beyond a shadow of a doubt what made a dog ill, and their lawyers tell them not to accept any proof except absolute proof, for liability reasons. People were reporting left and right that their dogs got sick. It cost multiple hundreds of dollars to prove the dog food did it, much less to just treat it. And in most cases, they start a round of anibiotics before it even occurs to anyone to check and see if the dog food might be the problem. People just want their dog better.
    Six people died of salmonella before they finally recalled. It was only voluntary because FDA lacks any power and cannot force a recall with out a long drawn out court process, which looks really bad for these companies and comes with TONS of really bad press stories. Even so they only recalled when FDA started really threatening. This is a really bad company to put your trust in.

  • Zombie Chick

    I have 3 cocker spaniels from a breeder who feeds her pups puppy chow. I keep begging her to change. I love this woman and have known her for 13 years when I bought my Hanna from her in 2000.

    Hanna passed away last year from liver failure after a reaction to a vaccine. But up until then she was a healthy, happy cocker. She was feeding puppy chow back then as well.

    I always just switch my pups over to a better kibble as soon as I get them.

    The 3 I have now are 1yr, 5 months and 6 months. It took a long time to get the 1 year old to adjust to a better kibble. And it has been hell trying to get the 2 new pups to adjust to better kibble. We have soft poo almost all of the time.

    I am feeding Holistic Select Duck right now and most days are good, then some not so good. So I am in search of something better all of the time. But these dogs are so darn sensitive. Cockers are funny that way.

    But this breeder is a good breeder even though she feeds puppy chow!! So to say you would never buy a dog from a breeder who fed it, well that is your opinion of course, but it does not make them bad breeders. ;)

  • Zombie Chick

    I realize this is old. But while doing some research on Costco’s Kirkland brand I found out that Professional, and kirkland, taste of the wild, to name a few are made by Diamond. Professional sells for around 50.00 now, Kirkland around 30.00, same ingredients. Not saying it is bad because I like Kirkland brand and they had a recall a few years ago on their canned cat food. And one voluntary recall in 2012 but no dogs became ill. These companies parent company is schell & kampeter Inc

  • Lisa Parker Simon

    We have a 6 month old Golden Doodle puppy. The breeder was feeding them Iams Smart Puppy, so we kept him on it. He had itchy skin, horrible gas, and he also got car sick whenever we would take more than just a very short (30 mins to an hour maximum in car) drive.
    When he started puppy training classes, the trainer talked about different foods a little, and she recommended Professional puppy with chicken and barley. We decided to give it a try, so we got a bag for large breed puppies. Now that he has fully transitioned to Professional, the itching and gas are gone, and we have taken him on several long car trips without him getting sick. And he hasn’t even finished the first bag we bought! His relief was immediate, and we are so thankful!

  • Kenneth Cypret

    I feed Professional to my pups, good price point for a quality food.

    My big dog is a picky eater but seems to enjoy Professional (though every couple months, I have to rotate in something else) and my smaller dog will eat anything but does seem to be sensitive to a lot of foods. He doesn’t get the itchy skin and sick stomach with this food though.

    Sp both do well on Professional. Recommended by me.

  • Cyndi

    Wow! I sure hope someone has trimmed that dog’s nails!

  • Cyndi

    Awww! :( I am so sorry for your loss!! I hope you get some justice to the A**hole that poisoned her!! Your new pup is very cute! Good luck!

  • Emeralde

    Found out the reason why my dog didn’t want to touch the food. Someone poisoned her and she ended up getting Kidney and Addison’s Disease from it. We fought with it for over a month. She ended up having to be in emergency care for four straight days, but she finally lost the battle last month. Died in my arms the same night I got her back from the vet… Now Im stuck with a large vet bill and people not willing to pay for their actions for poisoning my dog who died at the young age of 4.5 yrs. I miss her so much, she was my baby.

    Am now feeding Professional Small and Medium breed puppy food to my new Pup, Athena. Who is a Shepherd, Husky, Staffy mix.

  • Susan Kaler

    Started my Rottweilers on Professional Brand after my young female developed skin allergies. Vet suggested she may be allergic to the Wheat in her food. I chose Professional and her allergies cleared up and both produced less stools for the remaider of thier lives. Now I have a German Shepherd puppy on Professional Brand and am looking forward to his healthy, happy, long life. I purchase Professional at my local Feeders Supply.

  • Shawna

    Sounds like your pups may have a food intolerance. Barley, in some of the Professinal foods, is one of the foods that is a more common trigger for food intolerances. The longer the food is fed the worse the symptoms get too which would explain them doing well for a few weeks.

    Like Betsy said, please reconsider Puppy Chow. Goldens are prone to cancer and in my opinion should really be on a much higher quality food than puppy or dog chow. The ingredients are beyond pathetic.. I don’t mean to sound rude but there is no way in (blank) that I would buy a puppy from a breeder that feeds puppy or dog chow. That’s just asking for future problems in my opinion..

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Anne,

    Please do some research before you decide on Puppy Chow. There are lots of budget friendly foods that are much better quality than Purina and that are made by manufacturers that you can trust. If you’d like some suggestions, let us know.

  • http://www.facebook.com/anne.conrad.71 Anne Conrad

    When we had the dog food scare a few years ago, we switched our Goldens to Innova. After a while they stopped eating it, and we tried Rachel Ray’s Healthy Weight and they did well. Still not happy with commercial, I switched again to Blue and the dogs liked it but the price went up and 2 large dogs was too expensive. I heard about Professional from a friend, and tried it. The dogs did well, for a few weeks, but now they are having very loose stools. I am getting a new Golden puppy this weekend and had planned to use Professional puppy food, but now I am not sure. I will probably stick to what the breeder has been feeding for 30 years…Purina puppy chow.

  • JellyCat

    Emeralde, there are so many better brands of food. Get something better foe your dog. It’s not hard to find something that she will love. Get trial sized bags or free sample begs before getting a big one.
    I have hard time calling Pedigree food.

  • Emeralde

    I switched from Pedigree to the Lamb and Rice formula with my Beagle/ Pointer mix and she HATES it. She ate hardly anything for 3 weeks, and lost five pounds from it when she was already lean. I have fed it to her before and she loved it. I don’t know why she hates it now, but she or my families other dogs won’t touch the stuff. Wasted $25 on a bag of this brand. Sadly I’m having to switch back to Pedigree Adult Nutrition until I can find a good alternative.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Mikebulldog79, what a beautiful dog! Very healthy looking.  :)

  • Mikebulldog79

    best bang 4 buck i have bullys and they love it no poop and it turns to dust in tha pin its best 4 ur money hands down

  • Stella’s new mom

    All animals deserve good food, even kitties.

  • Stella’s new mom

    We find it only at feed stores for some reason. I don’t think it is a high profit maker for pet stores, so they don’t want to carry it. Everybody seems to put profit before health whether you are human or animal.

  • Stella’s new mom

    Our English Mastiff, came from a rescue vi a puppy mill and the rescue used some cheap stuff from Costco. We put Stella on Purina prolife puppy, not cheap that is for sure and her stools were very soft and her gas could clear a room and you didn’t need to be near her. Stopped at our local feed store for bird food and started talking to one of the guys and he recomended Professional puppy for lg breeds. He new alot about it and pulled up an informational web site to give us more info. Well, thank you sir. her gas smell is getting better and we are still transing her, so her stools are very soft , but could be from antibiotic for sutcher infection from when rescue had her spayed, so we will see, but all in all we are happy, especially with price. ($32.00/35 pound bag, beats $26.00/17 pound bag)

  • Jm Currier01

    I used to give this to my Shar Pei/Doberman mix after a vet suggested it.  We found he was allergic to corn and so this worked great.  No more ear infections, skin problems or stool issues.  The price point was great considering that the quality was so much better then the junk dog food and he ate half of what he would when given the junk.  I really saw little to no increase in cost overall.  We just got a new puppy and he will start with professional.

  • Paradisep357

    I just recently started using the professional brand dog food for my Jack Russell ( Skipper ).  I was checking your locator to find where to by it.  I live in Grants Pass, Or.,  and found it for Skipper at Farmers Feed and Grain.  This location is not on your locator.  Vern helped my husband and I with this choice and was very informative about your product.  You should be proud to know you have caring and informative people looking out for your and our best intrests.  For your other readers if you can’t find professional products in a store near you check your local feed stores.  By  the way after only 3 days of using professional brand dog food Skipper has not been chewing on his feet.  That is why we switched dog food.  Not only to find something healthier but something with no corn or wheat.  Thank you,  Skipper is much happier now.

  • Pingback: Professional Low Fat Adult Dry Canine Food 18lb | Animal Rescue

  • Ken

    All right, I buy the CAT version of this stuff (I have cats), but I will throw in my comments for the sake of all you doggy lovers. (The cat food version is remarkably similar).

    I think of pet food in three categories….elite (i.e. Orijen), acceptable (i.e. this product) and junk (i.e. what you find in grocery stores).

    Professional has proven fine for my cats and I sometimes also feed them Orijen for variety. I never feed them anything less that the quality of this product.

    Diamond (who makes Professional) also makes the Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul product, and I have also used it, and it is of the same quality level as Professional.

    Bottom line, cost effective, reasonable-quality product.  Way better than the corn-based junk, not as good as the elite stuff, but seems fine.

    Cats love it too, and have glossy coats, bright eyes, and lots of energy. (Too much in fact. Maybe I should try something worse. Just kidding).

    So, if you are on a budget, but still want good quality, this stuff is for your dog. (Or cat).

    And say, why is there no cat version of this website?

    Meow. (Sorry)

  • Mikel

    I feed my dog Professional and have so far been happy with the quality of the product. My only question is why can’t I find it in more stores? I have to drive a number of miles to purchase this dog food as the pet stores nearer to me does not carry this brand.

  • Pingback: Best Dry Dog Foods « winnipegfashion

  • MattMan

    I fed my American bulldog Purina the first two years of his life. When I bought my pitbull the breeder feed all they’re dogs Professional. Now I feed both of em this and my bulldogs coat became incredibly soft. I recommend it to all. Great food for the money. Both dogs get the eye snot, don’t know if that’s the food or not, never heard about that

  • Andrea

    I acquired 2 GSD pups from the same breeder and she used Professionals Chicken & Barley for all of her dogs. I must say that I have been happy with the puppy formula. Both of my pups are in great health, perfect weight, and we haven’t had any hotspots, diarrhea, etc. The price is decent but in my area the puppy formula has to be special ordered. My breeder had the same problem.

  • Murphy

    I vomited and had loose stools while eating Iams and Hills Science Diet Large Breed Puppy dry food my first 6 months. My mom transitioned me slowly from each of those puppy brands and then put me on Professional Large Puppy dry dog food and I stopped being sick. I’m now 2 years old and a healthy happy Lab!

  • Bob K

    Krista – What were the dogs eating previolusly what brand and formula? Which formula from Professional did you go to? How did you do the transition from the old dog food to the new food? If you switch from a Beef and corn based food to a chicken and rice based food without transitioning for at least a week or better 2 weeks you may very well experience loose stools.

  • krista johnson

    I foster dogs and this dog gave all four dogs very loose stool and a lot of it . I will be switching their food

  • george orange

    I saw no reviews here, so I thought I would post one, i switched my airedales to professional at around ten yrs old, I had fed them duralife their entire life, I didnt know how bad it was, also like most people, I am not rich and it was cheap but not ol roy cheap. about 14 bucks a 40 pound bag. the professional was 28, so it was about double what i used to spend, but omg, they ate less, crapped less and they used to be gassy and it was so bad it would literally clear the house if they came near you and did release it. they were much more active and healthier, getting around easier, i feel that feeding them that junk dog food, shortened their lives and they always seemed to break out with skin problems, that stopped completely after switching to professional, after reading an article in mother earth news about solid gold dog food, and no corn no soy and no wheat, well they dont sell solid gold here so that was the cheapest one that I could find that held to the same standards as solid gold as I far as I could tell. But my dogs have recently got eye snot, I just read another article from solid gold that the dog food could cause that, hmmmmm.

  • Pingback: Those who have dogs! Must read.. - Page 3