Precise Holistic Complete (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Precise Holistic Complete Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Precise Holistic Complete product line includes seven dry dog foods, four claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages, one for adult maintenance and two for growth (Puppy).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Precise Holistic Complete Senior
  • Precise Holistic Complete Wild at Heart River Line
  • Precise Holistic Complete Wild at Heart Flight Line
  • Precise Holistic Complete Large and Giant Breed Adult
  • Precise Holistic Complete Large and Giant Breed Puppy (3.5 stars)
  • Precise Holistic Complete Small and Medium Breed Puppy (5 stars)
  • Precise Holistic Complete Small and Medium Breed Adult (4.5 stars)

Precise Holistic Complete Wild at Heart River Line was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Precise Holistic Complete Wild at Heart River Line

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 49%

Ingredients: Salmon meal, ground brown rice, potato, oatmeal, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and ascorbyl palmitate), rice bran, citrus fiber, flaxseed, dried egg product, natural flavor, fat product (natural source of omega-3 DHA from algae), lecithin, chicken cartilage (source of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate), dried kelp, alfalfa, peas, dried apples, dried carrots, dried cranberries, dried blueberries, chamomile, dandelion, peppermint, rosemary, turmeric, menhaden fish oil, Bacillus coagulans gbi-30 6086, chicory root (a source of inulin), potassium chloride, salt, dicalcium phosphate, choline chloride, Yucca schidigera extract, calcium ascorbate (source of vitamin C), zinc amino acid chelate, iron amino acid chelate, biotin, manganese amino acid chelate, cobalt amino acid chelate, calcium carbonate, vitamin E supplement, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, niacin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6), thiamine mononitrate (B1), vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, riboflavin supplement, dl-methionine, copper amino acid chelate, folic acid, selenium yeast, calcium iodate

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis24%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%17%49%
Calorie Weighted Basis23%35%42%

The first ingredient in this dog food is salmon meal. Because it is considered a meat concentrate, fish meal contains almost 300% more protein than fresh fish itself.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears2 to be ethoxyquin-free.

The second ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The third ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The fifth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is rice bran, a healthy by-product of milling whole grain rice. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, fat as well as vitamins and minerals.

The seventh ingredient is citrus fiber. Citrus fiber is a by-product obtained from the waste of citrus juicing operations. This item is most likely included here for the usual benefits of dietary fiber.

The eighth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, we find menhaden oil. Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. Their oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids, two high quality fats boasting the highest bio-availability to both dogs and humans.

What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not as likely to be exposed to mercury contamination as is typical with deep water species.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

In addition, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

And lastly, this recipe also contains selenium yeast. Unlike the more common inorganic form of selenium (sodium selenite), this natural yeast supplement is considered a safer anti-cancer alternative.

Precise Holistic Complete Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Precise Holistic Complete Dog Food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 49%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 47% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 58%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Free of any plant-based protein boosters, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Precise Holistic Complete Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of salmon, duck or chicken meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

09/17/2010 Original review
07/06/2011 Review updated (2 new products added)
01/13/2012 Review updated (ethoxyquin free)
07/12/2013 Review updated
07/12/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Texas Farm Products Customer Service, email dated 1/13/2012
  • Pingback: Global Pet Foods St. Catharines

  • losul

    I agree. I have used and still have sample bags of PHC. There is nothing reminiscent of mold nor is there any white powder on any that i have.

    Check the expiration date. Like Storm’s Mom, I would ask for a refund regardless of the date.

    Edit: Woops, somehow i thought the above was just posted today.

  • Lovemybellaroo

    When I first got my german shepherd she was 8 weeks old and on Eukanuba, over the next 2-3 months she had A LOT of loose stoole, so i then put her on Blue Buffalo for about 6 months, still have very loose stool and wasnt gaining very much weight. THEN i put her on California Natural ( LOVED this food!) No loose stool, and licked the bowl clean, she was on this for about a year and a half then all of a sudden she started getting diarrhea again. So I found Precise Holistic( I switch between the Duck, and Salmon). She has been on it consistantly for almost 3 years now and is doing GREAT! The only time she gets diarrhea now is when she gets into “human” food she isnt suppose to have. I will say this though, she isnt very interested in eating it some days, but she also have never been a big food gobbler like some dogs.

    She is 5 year old german sheperd. 80 pounds, I give her 4 cups in the morning and she nibbles on it all day.

    Love Precise! Am interested in looking in grain free, but am hesitant because I am a nutrition major and while dogs are very different than humans obviously, beans, legumes, and certain fruits can cause GI issues, and with an already senstive dog I worry it might make her too gassy.

  • http://www.facebook.com/matt.mcfaul.9 Matt McFaul

    “wild wolves eat grass , berries, apples, strawberies , leaves etc in
    big amounts out of stomach and intestins from every thing thay eat”- not sure where you came up with this info. Wolves, like many carnivores tend to leave the stomach sack of their prey behind. They do not forage for vegatation or fruits. What an odd post you have here.

  • Paula

     My dog keeps getting high Ph levels. She did not display normal systoms of a urine infection but is at the vet awaiting a diagnois if she has bladder stones. She had a high ph once before but had the normal systoms. She is a mixed breed of possible boarder collie/german shep. She has been on Precise Holistic Complete Wild at Heart Salmon food. Anyone else have problems with this? I have her litter mate and no problem and this same food I believe saved my sheltie from hemoragic gastroentrenitis. Thanks for any assistance!

  • Kiahcasun

    We’ve used this product for our greyhounds for the past week 1/2 and I am amazed!  They love the dry dog food.  I have very picky eaters and they lick their bowls clean.  Thank you from San Diego, CA [10/9/12 KA]

  • Storm’s Mom

    The bag of Precise Holistic Complete grain-free pork that I had did not have any white on the food. 

  • dspo

    I purchased the Precise Holistic Complete grain free pork dog food and was surprised to see it had what looked like white mold on the food. The store owner said it was normal and was a probiotic that they spray over the food b/4 closing up the bag. Anyone know what I am talking about?

  • BryanV21

    Thanks, I’ll keep this in mind.

  • melissa

     HDM-

    Yes, I expected a slight weight loss before balancing out, but what I got instead was a dog who went from fit to way too thin  within 3 weeks. The other girl got thin and held at about 6lbs too light( did not regain even after 3 mths) She was easily able to gain back that 6lbs when I went to 50-50 gf and grain inclusive. The first girl began a battle of keeping/getting weight back on her which lasted for months. She would gain a bit, then her stomach would go off again, back and forth. Finally, after many courses of metronidazole and tylan powder, she seems to have corrected (and probiotics/enzymes did not make a difference) She now eats a very controlled portion diet of Instinct &  raw Instinct every day,  and a grain inclusive topper three times a week.

  • melissa

     Bryan-

     As I said, I do not have giant breeds : )I don’t go by breeds as a whole. I prefer to consider each dog as an individual. For example, two of my dobes are high drive/high energy. They run, wrestle,  retrieve and are non stop energy wise. They will go for hours if you allow them to. Unfortunately, or fortunately, I have almost 1 acre fenced and they take full advantage of it. My male dobe on the other hand, feels that he has spent adequate energy to run to the other end of the yard, throw in a few wrestle moves, and then lounge in the sun-and he is the youngest of the dobes. Boy can eat anything and hold or gain weight. The girls, not so much.  When put on a grain free, the one got thin, the other started to look emaciated. It took months upon months to find the right balance to keep her in top shape. Right now, all look great-two are eating Instinct grain free(with grain inclusive topper) and the third eats a combo of grain free, raw and grain inclusive topper. Increasing the GF to have her gain weight, resulted in diarrhea, which of course then caused more weight loss etc. The proverbial hamster wheel if you will.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Melissa,

    I did notice the “Atkin’s effect” when I first switched to raw – both of my dogs dropped about 5 pounds during the switch. Bloodhounds, which are considered high energy/high drive (I’ve read some sources stating they actually require up to 4 times as many calories per pound as some other breeds…which I believe after feeding mine). After they adjusted to the change they put weight back on, but as muscle (they weigh the same as before but look leaner). They’re maintaining their weight now eating the same amount of calories per day as they were when eating higher carb food (2,200 – 2,500 kcal. per day). My vet told me it’s normal for a dog to drop weight initially when going from a high carb diet to a low carb diet, but it should level out.

    Edit: I’ve found that feeding more fat rather than more carbs helps keep the weight on – I feed a 0.75:1 fat to protein ratio rather than the suggested 0.5:1, this seems to help.

  • BryanV21

    Thanks for the information. Could you give me an example of a breed you believe to be “high energy/high drive”? When I think of large/giant breeds I think of Newfies or Danes, and I wouldn’t really call them “high energy”.

  • melissa

    Hi Bryan-

    I do not have large/giant breeds for the most part) and while I can not answer for the GDL(who btw IS Linda-posting below) I can tell you that several of my dogs appear to do better with some grain in their diet. These are the high energy/high drive ones. When initially put on grain free, it seemd to work as an Atkins diet for them-and I tried many brands.

    These days, they seem to do okay on a grain free/grain inclusive mix, and I am once again, trying to phase out or limit even further the grain portion. It may or may not work.

    Besides some being thin when on all grain free, I ran into other issues-rock and poop eating being the major two that concerned me. Interestingly enough, when I add a lower quality canned food(meaning higher carb content, not additive etc content) the issues seemed to lessen and in some cases resolve-or perhaps its the higher fiber? I have no idea, lol.

  • BryanV21

    Okay, that makes sense. Not that I agree with it, but there’s some sort of logic to that argument.

    But it’s not like you can’t get a grain-free food that’s lower than average in protein, so I still don’t get the “go grain-free” side of the argument.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    BryanV21: In the past many vets/breeders believed high protein diets caused large/giant breeds to grow too quickly and this be more prone to orthopedic problems. This idea has been disproved by several studies, it’s now known that overfeeding (too many calories) and high calcium levels are what cause abnormal growth. However (unfortunately) there are still many breeders (mostly older generation) that are stuck in their ways (because what they did worked in the past…kind that same as the “my dog lived to be old on crap food so why should I change argument”) and refuse to acknowledge the evidence that disproves the theory that large/giant breed puppies do best on low protein food. This is why you hear of many breeders telling their adopter to feed their puppy adult food rather than puppy food (lower protein/lower fat).

  • BryanV21

    I’ve never heard of large/giant breed dogs doing better on foods with grain. Care to explain why? I mean, logic tells me any dog is better grain-free, so why do I need a food trial to say otherwise?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Okay so let me get this straight….even though numerous studies have been done to disprove the assumption that high protein causes large breed puppies to develop orthopedic problems and numerous studies since have proven that it’s the calcium level that affects growth in large/giant breeds she’s unwilling to recommend a grain-free food with appropriate calcium levels because there are non that have gone through a feed trial? Feed trials conducted by dog food companies only require 8 dogs to participate and only 6 of the 8 have to be healthy at the end of the trial (determined through blood tests, weight, etc.) and generally the trials are only 6 months long – sounds like a gimmick to me. I think she should read up on some of the current studies done on large breed growth because this information is a bit outdated.

  • Linda Arndt

    She is still only on board with Grain Free diets for cancer diets, diabetes, yeast (provided no potato), some allergy and dogs who are not working…really working dogs (based on research done in Finland and Sweden with sled dogs. I do not support any grain frees for large/giant breed growth because there have never been any feed trials by any company on L/G Breed Growth. There needs to be at least a year long trial on it before I would recommend it, and I can’t find the breeders willing to risk their litters regardless of brand. There is a time/place for Grain Free foods and I recommend them when it is needed, but they are not a diet I would normally recommend without looking at each case individually. One thing you can’t find on a bag is the quality of the vitamin/mineral premix that goes on the foods. They have the % and forms of the nutrients, but no one knows the quality unless you know the company very well and you do your own lab testing. Signed, The GreatDaneLady.

  • Sharja81

    The Small + Medium breed food works well for my dogs…no weight gain & most importantly, no sodium selenite. 

  • Pugsonraw

    Hi Mike,
    That is what I thought too….. I passed on trying the new GF varieties. 

  • Mike

    Another change of heart by TGDL?????? She’s been totaly against grain free dog food. in the past. Something about that “dogs have no endurance/energy on a GF diet”‘ Precise must have her on the doll for her support of their foods. I’m sticking with their Small and Medium Breed HC food. Rated 5* by Mike and cost about $2.15/lb.

  • Waterwings

    Trying this again: would “chicken cartilage” be more like “chicken fat” which doesn’t cause an allergic reaction in my chicken-allergic dog …or more like “chicken chicken” :-) and thus likely to cause a reaction?  Thanks!

  • Waterwings

    I just discovered I can get the Precise grain free varieties locally, so I’m thinking about trying it to see if it’s one to add to the rotation… question, though: my guy’s allergic to chicken, is the “chicken cartilage” more likely than not to cause an allergic reaction, or is it more like chicken fat, which doesn’t?  Thanks!

  • OESMUM

    Why do you not rate this a 5* food?  Dog food labels tell only half the story.  Precise is a solid family-owned company whose mission is to make quality food and serve their customers.  They test every batch of food, and their in-house vet, Dr. Lisa Drapela, is available to answer questions at any time.  Nutritionists will tell you that beet pulp is a prebiotic.  Precise has 3 lines to accommodate a wide variety of canine needs and palates–Precise, Precise Plus, and Precise Holistic Complete.  They stand behind their food with a money-back guarantee.  I have been feeding Precise Pet since 1998, and my dogs live to very old ages.  This company and its food deserve a 5* rating!

  • Barbara

    I had been waiting for this product to come out. A little disappointed. It looks like a good dog food but not a great food. The price is as high as the high end foods but it seems to be lacking in meat in the top 3 ingrediants compared to other foods in this price range. May still try it as the dogs really liked the other products they sold.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I checked.  It’s on the To-do list.

  • Pugsonraw

    Hi Mike and Sandy,

    I would also be interested in knowing your thoughts on the new Precise Hollistic Complete Grain free line.  They have two types of lamb/ turkey and one with pork. 

      http://precisepet.com/dog-formulas/precise-holistic-complete/dry/grain-free-lamb-turkey-with-garbanzo-beans-2/

    I’ve been corresponding with the Great Dane Lady (Linda Arndt) and we should start to see this food out this week. 

    She recommends this for dogs with yeast issues, allergies, diabetes and cancer. 

    Just wondering how it rates. 

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Mike,

    Precise Holistic Grain Free is currently on my To Do list. However, due to my current backlog of products awaiting research, it could be a while longer before I get to it. Thanks for posting this reminder.

  • Mike

    Mike,
    Precise has just jumped on the grain free bandwagon with both canned and dry food additions to the Holistic Complete line. Like Nutrisca they use a bean and pea products to replace the grains. However their protein % is <30%. This probably means it's not a low glycemic food.
    I'd be interested in your overall evaluation/comments on the grain free dry foods. I'd really like to know if you feel these foods are better than their Small and Medium Breed Adult grain inclusive food, that you rated as 5*. 
    Thanks

  • Ssunday234

    I had my dog on Wellness Puppy and then Origen,Evo, and Acana from 9 months until a year and a half. She had very inconsistent stool. She would be absolutely fine and then all of a sudden should would have diarrhea for a day or two and then be fine again. We switched brands and profiles ( more protein, less protein, etc) to see if anything would help. Our pet food stored gave me sample of Precise holistic large breed and my shephard has been on it ever since (a year in May) and hasn’t had a single bout of diahrrea.

  • Lynne

    Has anyone tried any of the Precise canned dog food varieties and, if so, what did you think? I think the Lamb & Rice Sensicare might be a good fit for my senior dog. Thanks.

  • Pingback: Best Dry Dog Foods « winnipegfashion

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Rhonda… I’d be happy to change this review to reflect the ethoxyquin free status of this product. But I’d need an email or some kind of official public assurance from the company itself to make this modification. Thanks for the tip.

  • Rhonda

    email from the manufacturer of PRecise Holistic: Yes, our foods are ethoxyquin FREE.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Bonnie… Unfortunately, since dog food manufacturers do not routinely provide this information, I don’t track the sodium content of the foods on my website. Wish I could be more help.

  • Bonnie

    Mu dog makes kidney crystals and we have to watch her sodium, any idea what the sodium is in the precise.

  • Missy

    Yes, I do know that seniors do not need a decrease in protein which is why I had all the dogs on the Pinnacle grain free. Unfortunately, as I said, the vet believes the change to the grain free is causing urinary issues with my seniors and wants me to try something with lower protein. While I believe that higher protein is normally fine, I just can’t believe it is just coincidence this happened when I changed food and upped the protein. I do trust our vet and I have no problem changing food to see if that is the issue. The pinnacle grain free was 27% protein as is the Precise Holistic small & medium breed. So I do need to go with the senior since is lower, but not much, at 25%. I am trying to only do small increments and hopefully I won’t have to go any lower. I am really wanting to see if anyone has tried the Precise Holistic and has good results with it. Other than the senior urinary issues their coats, skin and digestion were much improved on the Pinnacle and I would hate to lose that.

  • sandy

    Missy,

    Your Senior can eat what your Small Breed is eating if it’s “All Life Stages” or “Maintenance”. No need to deprive your senior of good quality and quantity of protein just because of being “senior”. They require and deserve just as much protein as you would feed your other adult dog. Senior food is just a marketing tactic. Like “diet” or “skin and coat formula” or “healthy radiance formula”.

    From the Orijen White Paper:
    More recent studies show that it is harmful to restrict protein in senior dogs, and that high quality proteins are needed for our older pets. Protein restriction for healthy older dogs is not only unnecessary, it can be detrimental. Protein requirements actually increase by about 50% in older dogs, while their energy requirements tend to decrease.
    When insufficient protein is provided, it can aggravate the age-associated loss of lean body mass and may contribute to earlier mortality.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jennifer… You should be able to find my review for Precise Plus on my Search by Brand page. You’ll find that function in the left navigation bar. Hope this helps.

  • Jennifer

    I have a chi that is out of dogfood and saw the Precise Hollistic Complete coupons , she has been eating the Precise Plus . Any feedback on this dogfood ? she has been prone to have skin issues .

  • Dave M

    My mistake it is a Lamb and Apple formula Acana has.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Dave M… I’m not aware of Acana having a Pork and Applesauce product. Maybe I missed it? If you find this recipe on the Net, please provide a link. Fromm does indeed have a Pork and Applesauce formula. Is it possible this is what you’re thinking about?

  • Dave M

    Acana has a pork and Applesauce line.

  • Missy

    I was interested in trying the Holistic Senior, wondered if anyone had tried it yet or any of the Precise Holistic for that matter. I did have the dogs on the Pinnacle grain free which we all loved, but having urinary problems which the vet believes is due to the food. Both dogs have high urinary Ph and one is forming crystals. Happened a couple months after I switched them from Innova. So she wants me to switch back to a grain food to see if it was the Pinnacle and I am not going back to Innova. I like everything about the Precise Holistic and that they manufacturer their own. I see the Great Dane lady worked with them on the formulas and feed it to her Danes now. Does anyone feel strongly one way or another about her endorsement as well? I was interested in the small breed formula for my younger dog, and was excited to see the 5 stars, it is harder to find then the senior though for some reason and I will have to have them both shipped. Thanks for your help!

  • Jenny

    Back to Basics has a pork kibble

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Betty… The company has apparently made a number of changes to its product line since we last reviewed it on 9/17/2010. As my current report states, we were unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements at the time of our analysis. In addition, some of the recipes have either been renamed or replaced with others. So, I’ve added this brand to my list for updating in the near future. Thanks for the tip.

  • betty

    ALL Precise Holistic line for dogs has AAFCO nutritional statements of adequacy. See below the caloric count.

    http://precisepet.com/dog-formulas/precise-holistic-complete/dry/large-breed-adult/

  • scott

    you have to have carbs to burn ,for energy and protien to rebuild muscles… just like body building… want to get big calories and carbs at night and an hour befor work out and protiens with in an hour after work outs and threw the day with light carbs….. wild wolves eat grass , berries, apples, strawberies , leaves etc in big amounts out of stomach and intestins from every thing thay eat…. look at an elk and see how big it is ..or a moose..that is a lot of vegitation to go around a pack and then 20lbs to 40 lbs of meat thay will eat in on sitting….you feed your dog only meat no supplements, no intestinse, harts liver etc.. and you will kill your dog.. so 50% carbs for a mastiff.. yes bring it on and 23% protien to 27% if its quality digestable protiens of 3 or more meat veriety.. yes bring it on.. a growing mastif plays hard for a little time and sleeps 18 hours or more a day.. i know i have them.. and thay gain a pound to 2 pounds a day in growth…so if you feed barf look at the real pic..my uncle had artic timber wolves he crossed for arctic expadition resurch and feedinh 12 ofthem growing up whole cacases of elk etc.. will open your eyes of what thay eat

  • scott

    Kim , FROMM 4 STAR select has Pork and Applesauce dry dog food.. Good company good food.

  • Gordon

    Pork Liver treats by Love’em from Dr. Marie Rowe are great! But, then these are treats only and liver in concentrates is an overdose in protein, unless I stand corrected.

    Isn’t Ketosis the result measured that weight loss is occuring according to Dr. Atkin’s high protein, no carb diet? Again, I digress. Belchhhhh….Excuse moir.

    I think pork unlike chicken is considered a dearer meat source, hence less likely to be used by manufacturers in dog food than chicken, lamb, and beef, and is obviously readily available at the butchers or the abattoir if you’re going to indulge in a spit roast. Just speculating.

  • Kimm

    Thanks for the info on the pork dog food. There are not many, but hopefully I can find one that does not have the toxins in it. If anyone has any more suggestions please let me know. I think my lab has an allergy to chicken.

    Kimm

  • melissa

    Kimm-

    By Nature I believe has a pork product, but check the label to be sure there is no chicken in it if it is a problem for your dog!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kimm… Strangely, pork is not one of the most common dog food ingredients. In any case, just go to the search box and enter the word “pork”. Many of the product lines that contain pork will appear near the top of that list. Then, simply browse that group and look for a 4 or 5-star dog food. Hope this helps.

  • Kimm

    I have been trying to find a dog food that the main meat is pork but I have not been able to. I would like this food to be at least a 4 star. Any suggestions? The breeder where we purchased out puppy fed Hunters Edge Enhance and it has Menadione in it which I know is not a good ingredient. We started feeding Eagle Pack Lamb first then Chicken immediately and within about 3-4 weeks he started scratching horribly and also biting his legs and feet.. We have now gone back to Hunters Edge. Any help in finding a dog food with Pork for the meat in the food? Help !
    Thanks, Kimm

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Mike… The number of red flag ingredients in a food can be helpful in determining a star rating. But since not all of these items are of equal importance, red flags should not be given more weight than they deserve. Hope this helps.

  • Mike Tann

    Mike,
    A “technical” question
    In any given ranking, are the foods with NO red ingredients considered better overall than foods with red items?

  • Mike Tann

    Unlike my 2 standard poodle rescues who have to be portion fed because they’re pigs, my Siberian has always been a self feeder. Some days she eats and some days she doesn’t. She can go 2-3 days without eating; but she’ll consume 3 cups of food at one sitting when she decides to eat. She’s lived this way the 12 years we’ve had her since rescuing her at the age of 4 being fed all types of foods. She’s just following her ancsteral heritage as a hunter.
    I appreciate all the comments. Unless I’ve missed something here, I haven’t discoverd a low/lower carb grain inclusive food regardless of manufacturer.

  • Jonathan

    Ed… Ketosis would be a very unnatural thing for a wild dog to experience. And now I think I now know why working dogs can’t go from a carb-heavy diet to a grain-free diet… their bodies have become addicted to using sugar. Feeding dogs high carbs (very unlike the extremely small amount of carbs dogs would eat in nature) “damages” their body into only operating with immediate blood-sugar inducing ingredients. I would be willing to bet that a working dog eating high protein his entire life would not suffer any weight loss when being worked, because his system is allowed to do it’s evolved job of using proteins and fats. I mean, a wolf is the biggest “working dog” there is, running down prey for miles, pacing their territory… yet they have no trouble staying healthy on almost nothing but dead animals. What do you think, ed? If you really give it some thought, wouldn’t the bodies dependence on high carbs be the only reason high protein wouldn’t work on a carnivore?

  • Cathy

    Mike Tann – Why do you think you want 50% of your dog’s diet to be carbohydrates, which is what the Precise foods have, per Mike’s calculation? The grain-free brands you named, Acana and Orijen, both have carb content of 30% or higher. 30% carbs in a dogs diet is more than any dog needs.

  • Cathy

    ed – I didn’t say NO carbs; I said LESS carbs. And a grain-free formula doesn’t always mean LOW carbs. An example is Nutro’s new grain-free kibble which is whopping high in carbs, and according to Mike, has “a carbohydrate content of 55% for the overall product line”

  • ed

    Cathy you are incorrect. Dogs experience ketosis just like humans. There are many great grain inclusive formulas like Pro Pac, Fromm, Blue Seal, Canidae, Annamaet, Precise, Eagle, etc.

  • Cathy

    Mike – It’s not that your dog is getting ‘too few carbs’ on a GF diet. Your dog is getting too few calories. Calories consumed vs. calories used is what results in weight loss or weight gain.
    Mike has a Food Calculator page that helps with feeding guidelines.
    Less carbs and more protein is a better feeding formula for dogs. Sounds like you just need to feed more quantity of food for your dog’s activity level.

  • Mike Tann

    Mike,
    I’m attempting to find a high quality grain inclusive food because right now Champion Pet Food has stopped the production of ACANA and is only making Orijen because of a sourcing issue. Besides, grain inclusive ACANA isn’t available to me locally. I did quite a bit or internet research on both this particular line of Precise Dog Food and the company that produces it. Because of my positive finding I decided to the salmon based formula on my Siberian Husky who had loss 6 lbs on a high protein grain-free food. I’m assuming that it GF diet was just too few carbs for her. The other food I looked closely at was Fromm’s Salmon a la Veg.
    Any thoughts or guidance?