Precise Naturals Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Precise Naturals Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Precise Naturals product line includes seven dry dog foods, two claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance, two for growth and three for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Precise Naturals Senior
  • Precise Naturals Endurance (5 stars)
  • Precise Naturals Weight Management (3.5 stars)
  • Precise Naturals Chicken Meal and Rice Foundation
  • Precise Naturals Large and Giant Breed Puppy (3.5 stars)
  • Precise Naturals Small and Medium Breed Puppy (5 stars)
  • Precise Naturals Lamb Meal and Rice Sensicare (3.5 stars)

Precise Naturals Chicken Meal and Rice Foundation Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Precise Naturals Chicken Meal and Rice Foundation Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 50%

Ingredients: Chicken meal, ground brown rice, rice bran, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and ascorbyl palmitate), oatmeal, beet pulp, flaxseed, fish meal, chicken cartilage (source of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate), natural chicken flavor, sunflower oil, menhaden fish oil, potassium chloride, salt, dicalcium phosphate, choline chloride, calcium ascorbate (source of vitamin C), zinc amino acid chelate, iron amino acid chelate, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, Yucca schidigera extract, biotin, manganese amino acid chelate, cobalt amino acid chelate, calcium carbonate, vitamin E supplement, vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, niacin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6), thiamine mononitrate (B1), vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, riboflavin supplement, dl-methionine, copper amino acid chelate, folic acid, selenium yeast, calcium iodate

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis24%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%16%50%
Calorie Weighted Basis23%33%44%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The second ingredient is ground brown rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The third ingredient is rice bran, a healthy by-product of milling whole grain rice. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, fat as well as vitamins and minerals.

The fourth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The fifth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The sixth ingredient lists beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

The seventh ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The eighth ingredient includes fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

What’s more, the controversial chemical ethoxyquin is frequently used as a preservative in fish meals.

But because it’s usually added to the raw fish before processing, the chemical does not have to be reported to consumers.

We find no public assurances from the company this product is ethoxyquin-free.

Without knowing more, we would expect to find at least a trace of ethoxyquin in this product.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, we find sunflower oil. Sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3’s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

Next, this recipe includes menhaden oil. Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. Their oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids, two high quality fats boasting the highest bio-availability to both dogs and humans.

What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not as likely to be exposed to mercury contamination as is typical with deep water species.

In addition, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

Next, this recipe also contains selenium yeast. Unlike the more common inorganic form of selenium (sodium selenite), this natural yeast supplement is considered a safer anti-cancer alternative.

And lastly, this food includes chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Precise Naturals Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Precise Naturals looks like an above-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 50%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 55%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the mild protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Precise Naturals is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken or lamb meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/03/2010 Original review
10/06/2010 Review updated
07/01/2012 Review updated
02/06/2014 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Tiffani Hallan

    Another update. Stools are getting firmer now that they’ve been on it for a couple weeks in total. Still all good, they are happy to eat it, gorgeous coats. My senior has lost some weight which is great for her arthritic hips. Great food! Will keep this in the rotation for sure!

  • Tiffani Hallan

    Really liking the Foundation and Senior for my PWD and Bichon. My only complaint is that the stools are a bit “large” compared to other foods. Coats are beautiful! Very shiny and lovely dark brown PWD. And my bichon’s persistent yeasty lips/mouth have cleared up completely.

    I also fed canned or cooked topper, along with other fresh add-ins, which could make a difference in the results, but overall, very happy with this food!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hey all, I just scored a great deal on Precise Sensicare! I got 35 lbs. for 26.00! A local store that has a great pet dept. had it and the Precise Foundation in 44 lb. The Foundation was 29.00!! Now my stash is huge….lol.

  • Tiffani Hallan

    I had a problem with the precise puppy but on the adult he is fine.

  • 2 bullies

    My 2 bully dogs have been on that and doing very well. I suspect that they are craving more protein lately (maybe because it’s the cold?) so I got them some 4Health Performance kibble. There is info on this site about the Precise Foundation Formula, (chicken and rice) it is a four star kibble.

  • Kathi Crawley

    Thanks for the info. Precise and nutro ended up not working for my dog. I switched her to Verus about a month ago and she is doing well.

  • Patti Kelly

    Do you know that Dick Van Patten Natural Balance has sold out to Del Monte Foods? The food has changed, as I use to use it for my two dogs and couldn’t figure out why after all these years they were getting sick. It still may be made in the US (not sure) now
    but wonder where they now get all their ingredients. Think about it before you change. Good luck which ever way you go but I would suggest checking it out further.

  • Jessica Leanna Taft

    ur very welcome :)

  • Kathi Crawley

    Thank you for recommending natural balance. I took a look at the ingredients and might just give the food a try. Precise sensicare did not work – she could not digest the food. She is now eating Nutro venison & rice for sensitive skin and stomach and is doing well so far. It has only been a week though but at least I now have another food to try if it does not work out. Thanks again!!:)

  • Jessica Leanna Taft

    natural balance limited ingrediant lamb & rice… works wonderfully for my GSD… she is allergic to potatoes and chicken… ;)

  • InkedMarie

    Hope it works! If you want other foods to try, for variety, go to our forums. Go to dog food ingredients and look at the grain/potato free foods stickie

  • Kathi Crawley

    I switched to Precise sensicare two days ago. My vet recommended a limited ingredient diet for my havanese. Tried a few different foods – wellness, nature’s variety LID, nutrisource and most recently nutro grain free venison and potato. Vet feels she might be allergic to potato (yeast in ears). Hopefully sensicare will work for my Lola!!!!!

  • neeka

    has precise had any recalls

  • Terry

    Yes. Give her the daily supplement of Osteocart Plus. Daily massage therapy also helps a lot. I have an English bulldog that has hip problems (only 2 years old). Osteocart Plus along with other vitamins keeps and massage keeps him on the road. Diet. I have never fed my dog “dog food”. He eats real food that consists of boiled chicken breasts, all kinds of vegetables, brown rice, black rice, red rice, and whole grain pasta and some fish oil. About twice a week he has rare cooked beef. He weighs 77 lbs and there isn’t an ounce of fat on him – all muscle.

  • Anne

    Elizabeth how long have you used the nzymes ? I have a GSD with a bad yeast infection & am buying precise today…thank you Anne

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Shawnee –

    The vomiting could be due to a food intolerance. Because they started when you switched to this food – I would switch foods immediately and see if that solves the problem. If the vomiting doesn’t clear up, get them to the vet.

  • Shawnee

    I switched to Precise Sensitive care about two months ago They were on Diamond Lamb & rice). I do like the way my four Rat terriers look. Their weight is really good and their coats have a great sheen to it. However, I have noticed that two of my Ratties will vomit about twice a week now. It is only a small clear foamy amount so I am wondering if they could be allergic to one or more ingredients listed…is anyone else having this issue? My dogs see their Vet about every six months and bloodwork is done yearly…everything seems fine other than the vomiting. Thanks for your input.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Wow, Sandi. You and your pup are very fortunate. I have friends who lost their dog to bloat on Thanksgiving Day. Very sad.

    I was reading something recently about bloat and that the condition can sometimes be helped with a dose of Gas-X on the way to the vet the instant you suspect there’s a problem. I don’t know if a vet would recommend it, but I don’t suppose it could hurt anything at that point.

    What did you do as soon as you realized there was a problem?

  • Melissaandcrew

    Hi Sandi-

    While food is often suspect, its very difficult for anyone to determine the causes of bloat. Hopefully your boy was tacked(gastropexy) and you can avoid a repeat of the issue.

  • Sandi

    My Great Dane had Bloat about 3 weeks ago. It the second leading cause of death in dogs. It was from his dog food. the Great Dane Lady recommended Precise lamb and rice. He loves it. I am following her instruction on feeding him 3 times a day and giving him enzymes. This has turn my close to death dog to energetic happy pup. I am very happy with Precise. Please learn about Bloat it can save your dogs life. :)

  • Rubincounseling

    I have a 10 month old yorkie/terrier for the last 8 months. I have researched spend a thousand dollars on differnt dog brands. He puts his nose up and refuses to eat either wet or dry foods. Yesterday, I tried a sample of Precise Puppy Food and he loved it. I am willing to buy this brand and hope this dog food works.

  • Mommaluvmorgan

     Thanks so much for your reply. My guys have been doing well on the Turkey/lamb combo and one of the reason I switched to it was because of the lower protein. My guys have different needs than a lot of dogs as their metabolisms are quite slow and Pyr’s do better with a lower protein level.  I also add home cooked food and an occasional raw meat for them. It’ so hard to know how to see to it that our guys get the proper nutrition…I never stop learning. Thanks again! It’s good to hear others opinions!

  • Stormsmom

    Hi Mommaluvmorgan,

    I just finished up one 6lb bag of the Pork Meal Grain Free, followed by one 6lb bag of the Lamb Meal & Turkey Meal Grain Free.  Granted, 12lbs of food might not be a big enough amount to judge with, but I’m just “meh” about Precise… although my guy did love the Pork Meal!!! It was a new protein for him, so I’ve ordered in some Wholesome Blend Grain Free Red Meat to keep pork in his rotation, but I think Storm might not digest garbanzo beans as well as he does peas, in particular… his poops were quite a bit larger than normal, and seemed like there was more of it, just like another food he had whose primarily binder was garbanzo/chickpea. Other than that I didn’t really see anything different/better in him that would justify keeping with it. I just don’t think Precise is one I’m going to keep in the rotation.  

    Hope this helps!

  • Mommaluvmorgan

    Have you guys checked out the Precise Grain Free…that’s what we are feeding and our guys (Great Pyrenees) are doing we on it….just wondering. Would like to know what you thing.

  • nes

    Commented with what information was supplied. End of subject, end of using the food.  :-P

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Precise is made by Texas Farm Products….their DRY.  Their canned food is made by Simmons (which I believe bought Menu).  Most, if not all, companies that make their own dry foods do not make their own canned foods.  There are only a small amount of canneries in the USA and most of the dog food companies use them.  I don’t see what your comment above has to do with the dry food problem you have had…sorry.

  • nes

     and the thing is .. on Precise’s website, they say they are made in the USA by Texas Farm Products. No mention of Simmons.  I remember Menu!

  • nes

     I had a problem with Precise as well.  My dog ate it and threw up yellow goo for a day.  My other dog refused the food and wouldn’t even try it. (It is good she didn’t!) Now going through the process of seeing if I can get a refund for big bags of food I bought online out of state without also paying to ship them back. I can’t afford to pay shipping both ways. Oye.  Anyway, I’m seeing more and more posts on this food agreeing with dogs and some like mine even getting sick on it.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Have you checked your adult bag to see if it is for “all life stages”?  That way they can eat the same food.

  • Tracy

    When I got my beagle at 4 mths, she had been on Precise small breed puppy for about a 2 weeks and was told that her poop would be runny for some time until she got used to the Precise. I’m used to larger breed dogs (Huskies and labs) and where I lived in Canada before moving back stateside there was no “gourmet” dog food. You had kibble and bits, alpo etc. Anyway… after about 2.5 months on the Precise and 3 vet visits because her poop was still watery, it never firmed up, and she seemed to be thirsty all the time, only gained 2 pounds, and her coat started to get lackluster; the vet basically said that Precise was not for her and to put her on (gasp) a reg food, because I am used to the grain product foods we switched her over to Puppy Chow complete and balanced. And have had no problems with it, after about a week- 2 weeks, her poop began to firm up, her coat was better, and she was drinking reasonable amounts of water because she was no longer dehydrated from pooping it all out. 

    Not saying that Precise isn’t a great dog food, because my Lhasa Apso has no problem with it, he’s on the adult kind. Maybe it’s the different formula they use for the adult vs the puppy, I don’t know, but Precise for small breeds/puppies was not for my beagle.  

  • Pingback: precise plus dog food | All About Pets()

  • Sbrown79

    I have 3 dogs and one is a 9 year old diabetic Schnoodle (who otherwise is very healthy).  For years I have been feeding them Whole Earth Farms Adult Formula (which is also rated highly by you with 4 stars).  When Macy was diagnosed a little over a year and a half ago, the vet said it was not diet related, so we have to do insulin and continued feeding Whole Earth with some canned WD prescription food mixed in.  When I went to get their food this week, I found out the store is no longer selling the Whole Earth line!  Had to act fast in finding a similar dog food, since changing diet can throw off her blood glucose levels…so the Store Manager and I reviewed protein and fat percentages and some of the other ingredients and we narrowed it down to a few different formulas within a few different brands…I ended up going with the Precise Chicken Meal and Rice…lower carbs and slightly higher fiber (which is good for diabetics), but slightly higher in fat (14% vs 12%).  However, one thing I noticed in your Whole Earth review is that the ingredient Barley (which is not in the Precise food) is included and you stated “Unlike grains with a higher hyper glycemic index (like Rice), Barley can help support stable blood sugar levels in dogs”.  The Precise food does have Brown Rice and Rice Bran as the 2nd and 3rd ingredients instead of Barley…Whole Earth does have some ground rice, but it is the 5th ingredient. 

    Now I am concerned!  While I know the Precise is an excellent food (and love that is is Made in the USA and in Texas!), I am wondering which one is best for my dog.  The store manager did say he could order the Whole Earth as needed (which would really be a major pain for me) or I am sure I can also find it online, if you feel that would be better for my diabetic dog?

  • Lauralemke87

    I have used Natural Balance and they have had recalls.  I would never use it again.  I am well taught on the foods out there as I lost my cat in 07 to the big recall and I will never loose another pet to another.  I know the Precise company and pretty much everything about it.  I trust them with my pets.  Be careful, Diamond is not very reputable anymore and they are getting ready for more recalls very soon.

  • Lauralemke87

    I have been using Precise for a long time now and would not use anything but Precise.  They are family owned and operated and do not go to one of the big guys like Diamond for their food.  Never a recall, it helps with allergies and the food is from a company you can depend on.

  • 0000

    Is there any info on Precise Canine Foundation?

  • Barb

    I have used Precise for my dogs for 13 years.  My lab had the shiniest healthy coat and was very healthy all her life.  They have never been overweight, nor underweight.  I started fostering a Husky/Sheperd mix last year, within 2 months of getting him on Precise, his coat was in better shape, and many people commented on how healthy he looks!  I’ve thought about finding another food just because of the price increases and the sizes of the bags getting smaller…….but when I look at the ingredients on others, I stay with Precise.

    Also — love that the landmines they leave in the yard — are small landmines and only once or twice a day.  To me this means they are digesting their food very well.

  • OESMUM

    Unbeknownst to me, one cannot remove comments with disqus/on this site; any attempt to do so results in the comment being relabeled as “Guest.”  Since I am new to public-comment websites, I did not know.  I have asked that all be removed by the moderator.
    Since I have dogs with muzzles coated in white hair, I  do not feed canned food, know little about its manufacture, and do not follow any recalls of it.I have spoken with Heather at Natural Balance and have enquired about their plants.  Based on where I live, the dry food I considered buying from them is currently manufactured at Diamond’s Gaston, SC, plant that is having problems with salmonella.  While Natural Balance has a solid hold-and-release testing program for 9 contaminants and is certain that their food is not affected, they are now looking to other companies for the future manufacturing of all their foods that are currently being produced in Diamond’s SC plant.  Heather also said that the labels on dog food only show the “guaranteed analysis,” not the “as fed” information that gives the actual percentages of the components in the food.  Additionally, their dry food has a “90% digestible.”  She was very forthcoming with information.  This is what I was told, and simply I wanted to pass it along as my last comment here. 

  • melissa

     Guest(formerly Oesmum?)

    Thanks. I figured they did not have their own cannery as most places do not. My point was to simply point out that while Natural Balance uses Diamond(and  it was pointed out here that there  have been many recalls) That it was only fair to point out that Simmons foods makes this companies canned(and formerly Menu) Both of which have had their own product recalls in the past. This is not to say that this particular brand was effected, just to show the manufacturer has had its own problems.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Then this is similar to what Natural Balance does for some of their foods (wet & dry).  Sorry, unless a company owns all the plants that make all their foods then are truly outsourcing something.  I think Precise looks decent and I would consider feeding it, however I’m happy with our Natural Balance atm.

  • OESMUM

    Since I feed dry food only, I called Precise Customer Care to enquire–1-888-477-3247.  They do not have their own cannery, like many other dog food manufacturers. Simmons (formerly Menu) cans for them.  They use Precise’s recipes and ingredients, and Precise oversees production and tests batches.  Precise manufactures all their own dry food in Nacogdoches, TX.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    First of all, I should’ve been clearer….this site belongs to Dr. Mike Sagman and they are his ratings.  He does so much work to give us this information!  He is the one (I’m sure he will respond later) who selects the criteria used.  As for Natural Balance, yes they have contracted some of their formulas to Diamond for manufacturing, however, not all of their foods are made there.  They also have great customer service and a testing program of their own where you can enter in your bag of food’s data to check.  These tests are done after it comes from Diamond.  I’m not saying Precise isn’t a good food or company….in fact, I’ve never fed it.  Have you fed Natural Balance?  If not, then I’d withhold your judgment.  Thank you.

  • melissa

     OESMUM-

    Didn’t I read somewhere that their canned products are made by Menu foods?

  • OESMUM

    Jan_Mon2Cavs, I have already done exactly that and even have all the data on spreadsheets.  None of that nor your ratings speaks to the quality of the ingredients or the digestibility of the food.  The company itself must be willing to be interviewed and be forthcoming with these facts.  Precise Pet can be relied on for both and more, and this deserves to be included in their rating or, at a minimum, in a comment.
    As for Natural Balance LID, it is contracted out for manufacture to Diamond Pet, who recalled food for deadly contamination in 2005 and 2012.  People who look at it as “a life saver” may want to consider other options.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Dog foods on this site are rated on their ingredient panels.  Precise may be a 5* food (to you), but according to the criteria on this site (ingredients) it’s a 4*.  Natural Balance LIDs are rated 3* on this site, but to many people this food is a life saver for their dogs and I know they would rate it 5* in their book.  What I suggest is looking here and starting your research.  Find a food that looks good for your dog ingredient-wise and “star-wise” then research the “heck” out of it…..company’s reputation, who manufactures them, where do they source their ingredients, how do they conduct (if they do) food trials, etc.  Then if you’re satisfied, feed it for a couple, or more, months to see if it works for your dog. 

  • OESMUM

    Why do you not rate this a 5* food?  Dog food labels tell only half the story.  Precise is a solid family-owned company whose mission is to make quality food and serve their customers.  They test every batch of food, and their in-house vet, Dr. Lisa Drapela, is available to answer questions at any time.  Nutritionists will tell you that beet pulp is a prebiotic.  Precise has 3 lines to accommodate a wide variety of canine needs and palates–Precise, Precise Plus, and Precise Holistic Complete.  They stand behind their food with a money-back guarantee.  I have been feeding Precise Pet since 1998, and my dogs live to very old ages.  This company and its food deserve a 5* rating!

  • OESMUM

    I am a tremendous fan of Precise foods and have fed their Holistic Select Large & Giant Breed Puppy, Sensicare, and Foundation Formula foods to different dogs and puppies with great success over many years.  Precise Pet is a solid, family-owned company that tests every batch of food.  They are always available to answer questions, including their in-house vet, Dr. Lisa Drapela.

  • Vonderhossgsd

    I switched to Precise Chicken and Rice about 3 months ago. My dogs all have lost weight, look thin, and have flaky skin. I’m going back to Exceed Chicken and Rice. They did much better on that food.

  • Lv_frenchies

    I have 3 frenchies and my daughter has 1. We switched to precise last year. Her frenchie lost a lot of weight and my male is losing weight as well. I see from the scale, this food does not have a lot of fat content, maybe thats why they lost weight, I don’t know, but I’m going to try Merrick, better reviews than precise. I agree with everyone here, it all depends on your dog.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Ann… Thanks for stopping by. We’ve already reviewed your Precise Holistic Complete product line. You can find it on our Search by Brand list on the left navigation bar of every page of our website. Since our ratings are always based upon the government-regulated product label only, the information you shared may be useful to some of or readers. Thanks again for your comment.

  • Ann Flanigan

    Precise Pet Foods (http://precisepet.com/tag/ingredients/)
    Curious about where ingredients found in Precise pet food are sourced? We are happy to explain.

    All of our products are naturally preserved and come from trusted distributors. Our chicken products (meal, chicken fat, chicken flavor) all originate from birds that are raised with the same standards and practices as those raised for human consumption.

    Botanical ingredients (vegetables and fruits) found in Precise Holistic Complete also come from the same sources that stock your local grocery store. Additionally, the grains used are purchased based on specific USDA standards. When they are received, we check them very closely to make sure they meet our standards before we even unload them from the truck!

    Our chicken products come from Arkansas, Mississippi and Oklahoma, while our lamb meal is from New Zealand and Australia. Our fresh-caught salmon in Precise Holistic Complete is imported from Norway. Additionally, the grains and botanicals we use are both of U.S. origin.
    ******************
    Just wondering Mike, have you had a chance to review the Precise Holistic Complete Line? I’m particularly interested in your thoughts of the Precise Holistic Complete Sm/Md Breed food. Thank you.

  • Sandy

    I had a walker hound that developed a serious staph infection of the skin with open sores, scabs, loss of hair and a terrible stink. The vet claimed flea allergy and put him on prednesone. I spoke to a breeder of bichons and she suggested Precise Sensicare because some dogs are allergic to bone ash, an ingredient that is not even mentioned in any of the lists. I asked how long it might take to see results and she suggested 2 months. I bought the dog food and started him on it. WOW! Within a week, the sores had healed and hair was growing back and within 3 weeks he looked like a new dog. Now I’m dog sitting for my grand dog and noticing some allergy issues. I’m going to hunt down the nearest retailer and start him on it as soon as possible. I can’t recommend this product enough. It saved us from having to put down our Buster many years ago.

  • Bob K

    PAT – Why would you want to pay a premium for a 3 star dog food when you can often drive a short distance and get a better more nutritious food at a lower cost. The dog kibble Jonathan mentioned are expensive for what you get. Other options include: Costco (Kirkland Brand), Menards (Diamond Natural), Farm & Fleet, Tractor Supply (TSC). local farm coop often have a variety of foods.

  • Jonathan

    Pat, the short answer is “not really”. There is NO decent dog foods in Walmart unless the one you shop at has started to carry Purina One Beyond or Iams Premium Protection. Those are okay. At up-scale grocery stores you can usually find something like Evolve, Harmony Farms, Lassie Natural Way, Newman’s Own and a few others. The best thing you as a consumer can do is educate yourself about ingredients by reading up on sites like this and knowing what to look for (and look out for!) on dog food labels. Good luck.

  • PAT

    IS THERE A DECENT DOG FOOD THAT IS SOLD IN
    SUPERMARKETS OR WALMART?
    THANKS SO MUCH

  • Bob K

    Dawn – Its near impossible to track what you call the “quality of ingredients” Manufacturers of most products have multiple sources of materials and minimum quality stds. to maintain for their products and in order to manage costs and quality multiple sources are required.

    For a real insight to our food supply for humans read the book, The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals is a nonfiction book by Michael Pollan published in 2006, Its a real eye opener.

    The way foods are graded and sold by mfgs can also be a real eyeopener.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Dawn… Please see our FAQ page and look for the topic, “How We Rate Dog Food”. By the way, as difficult as it is to accept, the country of origin is in no way an absolute predictor of quality. Many overseas manufacturers use superior ingredients and manufacturing practices to produce some of the finest products I’ve reviewed (check out Weruva or Orijen, for example).

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but some of the very worst foods I’ve ever encountered are made right here in the USA.

  • dawn

    I have done A LOT of rotating. Would you like the list? Try feeding a dog that is disgusted with the smell of fish and fish oil. Oh, and I have done the multiple foods. Pretty interesting when she picks out the kibble she wants and leaves the rest. Then your just wasting food. when I offered up the latest 2 dog foods side by side, the dog completely refused the one and dives into the other, over and over and over again, trial after trial, I guess I’m going to go with the one she “thrives” on rather than force her to eat a food she doesn’t find appealing. My whole point is that you have to go with what works for your individual dog(s). Don’t try to cram ideas and opinions down everyone elses throats. And if you are so into low carb diets and getting back to what a wolf 15,000 years ago would have eaten, why aren’t you feeding a raw or BARF diet? Wolves also actually had 5 useful toes both front and rear back then too… they evolved, just like our domesticated versions have. Maybe their intestinal tracts did too. I came to this web site to get various reviews on different foods not to argue about how to feed my own dog.
    To Mike, I’ll check back when you have updated the site to include the additional individual foods rather than lump summing an entire line together for a review, but I do believe you also need to take into account not only the written ingredients but the quality of those ingredients as well when rating a food. Another thing people may be interested in is whether or not the company gets all of their ingredients here in the US or has specific ingredients shipped from overseas, and where overseas. That is actually where the 2007 tragedy started.

  • Jonathan

    So why don’t you try rotating the food you feed your dogs so that they don’t become intestinaly stubborn to one product? My dog eats three foods mixed together and is in perfect health and has no trouble with new foods.

    Oh, and one of the foods in her current mix is Nutro Natural Choice Herring. I have no problem with using a bag of Nutro. I would just never keep her eating it forever.

  • Dawn

    Jonathan, just so you know. I did also try Precise for my dogs, it was on the very short list after researching brands. The finicky one wasn’t interested but the others ate it just fine. As it is cheaper per # than Nutro Natural Choice I will probably feed this to the retired dogs in my kennel but the ones actively showing, we’ll see. Eating over starving is always better.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi JP… Haven’t yet reviewed Medi-Cal but it’s currently on our To Do list. You may wish to find a dog food that contains above-average omega-3 fatty acids (fish oil or flax). Like with humans, chondroitin and glucosamine are known to be helpful to dogs with joint problems. Unfortunately, pet food manufacturers do not usually publish the amount contained in each product. Most dog foods do not contain enough of these two neutraceuticals to be considered a therapeutic dose.

  • JP

    My vet recently tried to push Medi-Cal Mobility Support to assist my aging dog with her hips. Second ingredient is…corn. Would this brand be a good alternative for joint support, or would there be something else that someone can recommend?
    Thank you!

  • Laurie M.

    I previously fed my 3 dogs the Precise Chicken Foundation formula for quite a while until the store I got it from stopped carrying it (they said it wasn’t selling well.) The only other way I could have continued to feed this great brand would have been to order it on-line and pay shipping costs. So I had to wean my dogs off the Precise. This is an excellent food, I just wish it was more readily available at stores in my area.

  • JASTECH

    Correction: I had jumped too soon on ordering w/o looking at the ingrediants, shame on me! I called and changed order to Fromm 4Star dog food. I will post this in the Fromm section too.

  • JASTECH

    I had to sub dog food while new things were done and used Diamond out here. The dogs look really bad! I have 2 Int. Champs and 7 Champs so far. I called my vendor today and ordered 10 bags of Precise Endurance to start with. New website comming soon.

  • Jonathan

    Joe Patrick, what, exactly, are you basing your rude, three sentence, insulting critique of this site on? If you wish to argue a point using facts and theories, go ahead. But popping up on a review and making baseless, condescending statements does nothing to enhance the discussion.

  • Jonathan

    See? Told ya. ;-)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Alex… Since each dog responds to a particular food in its own unique way, it would be impossible for me to compare two or more dog foods and predict which one would be the better choice for your dog.

    Since the products you mention here have been awarded favorable ratings, I don’t see how you could go wrong with either one. Unfortunately, selecting the right dog food still involves at least some trial and error.

  • Jonathan

    Given that Mike has rated both the products you are asking about as 4 starts, then I assure you he will not have a preference. You should get a small bag of each and see which your dog likes!

  • alex

    Which would you say is better precise chicken meal and rice foundation or Diamond naturals chicken and rice???

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Joe… Precise contains probiotics, chelated minerals, no corn, no chemical preservatives and no by-products. These are considered by many to be desirable features. Lower quality foods (like Bil Jac) tend to omit these favorable attributes from their designs. In reviewing a food, this is something we simply cannot ignore.

  • Joe Patrick

    Well, Joe check this out. Precise is listed as 4 star dog food. Bil-Jac is a 2 star dog food. So much for reviews.

  • elizabeth yates

    Hi Mike,
    I sent an e-mail a few weeks back about my chocolate lab mix and his multiple allergies. He has been on Precise Sensicare and has made a complete turnaround. His coat looks great, no flaking, and no odor. I highly recommend this dog food. FYI, he is also on “Nzymes” granules. I also highly recommend this product. The website is great and the help provided is excellent. I am so thrilled to see the improvement after searching for over 2 years to get the help that he needed.
    Thank you for your website and your up-to-date information.

    Elizabeth Yates