Newman’s Own Organics (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Newman’s Own Organics canned dog food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Newman’s Own Organics product line includes four canned recipes. However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the product’s web page, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Newman’s Own Organics Chicken
  • Newman’s Own Organics Turkey and Chicken
  • Newman’s Own Organics Turkey and Brown Rice
  • Newman’s Own Organics Chicken and Brown Rice

Newman’s Own Organics Chicken and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Newman's Own Organics Chicken and Brown Rice

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 36% | Fat = 27% | Carbs = 28%

Ingredients: Organic chicken, sufficient water for processing, ocean whitefish, organic brown rice, carrots, oat bran, flaxseed, tricalcium phosphate, dried kelp, guar gum, carrageenan, potassium chloride, minerals (iron amino acid chelate, zinc amino acid chelate, copper amino acid chelate, manganese amino acid chelate, cobalt amino acid chelate, sodium selenite, potassium iodide), salt, vitamins (vitamin E, A, B12, D3 supplements, thiamine mononitrate, biotin, riboflavin supplement)

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis8%6%NA
Dry Matter Basis36%27%28%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%51%22%

The first ingredient in this dog food is organic chicken. Chicken is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken”.1

Chicken is naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The second ingredient is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

The third ingredient is ocean whitefish, a marine or freshwater species native to Canada and the California coast.

The fourth ingredient is organic brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is carrots. Carrots are rich in beta-carotene, minerals and dietary fiber.

The sixth ingredient is oat bran, a nutritious by-product obtained from milling whole grain oats. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, vitamins and minerals.

The seventh ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With two notable exceptions

First, carrageenan is a gelatin-like thickening agent extracted from seaweed. Although carrageenan has been used as a food additive for hundreds of years, there appears to be some recent controversy regarding its long term biological safety.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Newman’s Own Organics Canned Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Since this recipe contains a number of organic ingredients, we feel compelled to grant this line a more favorable status as we consider its final rating.

That’s because organic ingredients must comply with notably more stringent government standards — standards which significantly restrict the use of any synthetic pesticides, herbicides, insecticides, hormones or antibiotics.

With that in mind…

Judging by its ingredients alone, Newman’s Own Organics looks like an above average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 36%, a fat level of 27% and estimated carbohydrates of about 28%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 36% and a mean fat level of 30%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 26% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 81%.

Below-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical wet dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Newman’s Own Organics is a meat-based canned dog food using a moderate amount of chicken or turkey as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Those looking for a grain-free wet food from the company may wish to visit our review of Newman’s Own Organics Grain Free canned dog food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/19/2010 Original review
07/04/2010 Review updated
05/02/2012 Review updated
11/24/2013 Review updated
11/24/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Pingback: Best Canned Dog Food: A Few Extra Years For Your Dog | Best Dog Treats For Your Happy & Healthy Dog !!

  • Tiffani Hallan

    Just noticing when I put the other three dogs 100% on this canned food, they are very burpy. Interesting. Just trying to use up my canned stash before I switch to the honest kitchen.

  • Tiffani Hallan

    My crew does great on these canned varieties. My chihuahua eats it exclusively and looks beautiful, nice coat, healthy ears, small ‘output.’ The others get it as a topper on their dry foods. All are doing well!

  • Annie

    My local wal mart has this food on clearance for $1 a can. I was told they have discontinued this so they are trying to get rid of it but it’s not moving very much at all. With it being 4 stars i’m surprised it’s not flying off the shelf. When it gets down to .75 a can i’m going to wipe it out lol.

  • Pattyvaughn

    States that don’t have TSC have some other similar chain that is related somehow. They carry the “exclusive products”

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi, You’re Welcome. I was not aware that other feed stores carry the 4health brand, I thought it was a TSC exclusive. Thanks for the info. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Labs-
    Thanks for the tip. I didn’t know 4Health made cat food. We don’t have the Tractor Supply stores in the Pacific NW, but we have Del’s farm supply. I’m definitely going to stop by and see if they carry the canned cat food. I’m always looking for a good economical food. It’s so darn expensive for the decent stuff. However, it does seem like the more expensive it is, the less likely they will eat it, lol! While there, I’m going to check out the dog food also for my lab pups. There website shows they carry the brand. Thanks!

  • LabsRawesome
  • Pattyvaughn

    You’re right, that shouldn’t happen.

  • stephanie_j2888

    Last time i looked at tractor supply (about 6 months ago) they didnt have any of the 4Health canned for cats…i will check back though because they have got a lot of new stuff lately.
    Thanks!

  • LabsRawesome

    Stephanie, I agree, that doesn’t sound right. I free feed dry kibble, and every morning I put out a whole can of cat food. It doesn’t take my 3 very long to eat the entire can. And they have zero issues. Have you tried the 4health canned cat food?

  • stephanie_j2888

    I normally buy my cats multiple different kinds of canned cat food and every few days i will give them a spool full with there dry food and they have never had that reaction. I have bought them different kinds of canned cat food for years now (all healthy kinds) and they have never had a bad reaction. And they only get a small amount (litteraly a spoon full).

  • LabsRawesome

    I’m not a fan of Newman’s own pet products. Even tho they use organic grains, they are still grains. To be fair, did you make a gradual transition? I feed my cats a grain free kibble/canned combo. They love the gf 4health kibble and canned. The cans are like .50 cents. And the large 14oz cans are .99 cents. I rotate kibbles. They also like TOTW and Earthborn.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Maybe a gradual transition would have been a better idea.

  • stephanie_j2888

    I know this is “dog” food adviser but i just wanted to say i bought this (cat food version) for my cats and they have all been running back and forth to the litter box for the last hour because they have the runs :( I will def. not be feeding this to them again!
    Just thought i would post incase anyone on here has cats as well. I know every animal is different, but the fact that ALL of my cats have been back and forth to the litter box since….obviously it doesn’t agree with there tummies.

  • Pattyvaughn

    No need to name call someone that made an ill-informed post 2 YEARS ago, someone might say the same thing to you.

  • FattyMcgee

    Of course Paul Newman is no longer there. He died in 2008, dummy.

  • Smith1957

    Dawn, I was a supervisor in a chicken plant 30 years ago and know all about what goes on there at that time. I was also raised on a chicken farm and know they feed them arsenic and hormones along with antibiotics.

     Now the USDA is hiring mostly inspectors who were born in Mexico. They pay them an hourly rate with no benefits.  Our USDA has gone to hell in a hand bag make sure you really wash your $10 a piece chickens becuase they are nasty. The after the death of Paul, Newman’s claims the are USDA organic on the label then on the bottom can it says Uruguay on the beef flavor. Now seeing they spend no money on inspectors for what we now eat due to cut backs in the USA, I can tell you for certain that there is no USDA inspectors located in Uruguay. 

    It is ground chicken guts and who knows what else. If you want to feed your dogs that you can buy the cheap stuff from out of a rendering plant there is no need paying a $1.89 for a small can of it. No one knows what they grind up and call food in foreign countries it could be road kill and you would never know. The chicken plant workers called me Johnny Carson because I like to joke.I think their label is a big joke USDA organic certified in in Uruguay now that is funny but it is not for my dogs no thank you.Johnny Carson

  • Hound Dog Mom

    michelle –

    Most of the 4 and 5 star foods on this site are corn and wheat free, just check the ingredients list. You may even want to consider going completely grain-free. Homemade is a great idea too, if you have the time. I make all my dogs’ meals from scratch. If it’s something you’re interested in here’s a great website with a lot of information on homemade diets: dogaware.com.

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/MU74PWWEHRMY2SJYJ2ERAYV2SM michelle

    I am in search of corn and wheat free dog food. Currently the dogs have been eating Chicken Soup for The Dog, good organic food but I have a dog that I suspect is allergic to wheat and corn, she is breaking out with hot spots. But trying to find good quality food, it makes me what to make me own. I am a pet sitter and have several clients who make their own pet food and the dogs coats and skins is great.

  • NORMA JAFFE

    Dear Dawn… What did you actually find out; it was
    very general information…. You should let others be
    informed as it could be serious. 

    Please tell all…. MANY THANKS!!!!!!! 

  • LillyPie

    I realize that this was composed several years ago, but I did want to point out the Newmans Own grain free mixes all say on the can that they are AAFCO approved for all life stages. Just wanted to point that out! Cannot speak for the other variety only because I have never personally purchased it before.

  • Shawna

    Steve ~~ your post piqued my interest so I googled “poison in organic brown rice”.  What I found was a bit disturbing — arsenic in brown rice “syrup”.  I didn’t pull anything up for rice itself though.  Don’t get me wrong I am anti grains I just haven’t heard anything about “poison” and organic brown rice.  Do you remember what or where you saw the info?  Thanks :)

  • Steve jocelyn

    what about the claim of poison in organic brown rice?

  • Kyle

    the only group that can register .gov domains is the federal government, the
    certificate issue no longer present and was probably due to it expiring
    and a new one not being installed before it expired. Certificates are
    generally replaced for any website once a year, though they can be valid
    for up to 99years. going to that website now redirects you to the
    federal governments registrar (www.dotgov.gov). Without more detail on the error “google” gave you, I can’t tell you exactly want caused the error.

  • Wendy

    fed.gov is a spam web site not the federal government. The troll who posted the comment about the food being bad is just trying to get into your computer. There is NO federal government investigation into Newman’s dog food. If you google fed.gov you get a warning about the security certificate of that site.

  • Stefanie Norton

    This food is available at some of the wal-marts in my area. It’s nice to see a 4 star food at Wal-mart for a change!

  • Lena

    Thank you, Mike! I do myself often eat Newman’s human foods! So I am hoping, the pet foods are as good and safe.
    I hope you will update, if you find something….
    FYI Mike- I just joined your facebook page:)

  • Adam Clive

    This might be a dumb Q but is this one of those products based on the actor Paul Newman name? its cool if it is coz i heard his company gives to charity.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lena… I found this note disturbing, too. However, please notice this comment was posted 6 weeks ago. And since then, there have been no follow-up responses. In a superficial search of the Internet (including the FDA website itself), I’ve found nothing to back-up this statement. Until someone can confirm this claim with a link or other “official” proof, I’d (at least for now) suggest considering this post nothing more than an unverified rumor.

  • Lena

    Well, Dawns post is disturbing as I just started feeding my dogs this food, as advised here, as good food. Is there any validly to what she is saying?
    Thanks, for any info!

  • donut71

    Dawn, what government site did you find this information.
    Thank you!

  • Dawn Leder

    PLEASE…..EVERYONE THAT FEEDS NEWMANS DOG FOOD…GO TO FED.GOV YOU WONT BELIEVE WHAT THEY FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS FOOD..WE’RE SO TRUSTING CUZ IT HAS OUR FAV ACTORS NAME ON IT…BUT GUESS WHAT..HES NO LONGER HERE AND WHEN INVESTIGATED THE GOV FOUND NOT GOOD THINGS…REALLY BAD THINGS…WORSE FOR EVENAGERS FOOD OMG I ALMOST CORKAED WHEN I READ WHAT THEY FOUND OUT WHAT THEY RECENTLY …JUST…FOUND IN EVANGERS CANNED FOOD..I WANNA CRY JUST TYPING..WHY WHY WHY?? DO THESE COMPANIES DO THESE THINGS :o*(

  • Deb

    Just curious what kept you from rating this 5 stars? Thank you so very much for all that you do. It is most appreciated by dogs… and those who love them!

  • Don

    I think it would be a good idea for some of these HIGHEND DOG FOOD companies to put “SAFE FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION” This would give the consumer a clear cut idea its safe for their Dog.. Some people might think this is extreme(my family thinks i am nuts), but hell we pay 1.25 for a can of meat raviolis or 2$ a pound for chicken breast, but DOG FOOD MADE WITH ROAD KILL cost 1$ a can.. So i think it would be cool for a dog food company to step up to the plate and just say “Our food is safe for a human”.. This CHINESE dog food companies are horrible.. The packaging looks so acceptable, but the product it junk… For you dog lovers who buy CHINESE MADE DOG treats research CHICKEN CRACK – google it.. I use to buy my dogs a chinese made orgainic chicken treat with all type of good stuff.. and thought WOW my dogs LOVE THIS STUFF.. Well the stop eating their normal food and really only had desire for these treats.. They sell them at Target in a ORANGE and WHITE BAG.. The USA company who imports them states ” We send people over the China to inspect the facility” Yeah right. if they did they could careless..

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Susan… Unfortunately, I don’t know. All it states on the Newman’s Own website is these dog foods are all “complete and balanced”. It does not say for which life stages (adult, puppy, etc.) the products are designed for. The company doesn’t appear to have a customer support phone number so I’ve written them an email to get the answer.

  • Susan Butler

    Is the Newman’s Own Organics canned dog food also good for puppies?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi SK… Originally, this review lumped all the canned products together (even the 95% Organic Grain Free dog foods).

    However, thanks to your comment, I’ve removed the grain free product line from this review and created a separate one for Newman’s Own Organics Grain Free Dog Food.

    Thanks for pointing out this confusing part of my original review.

  • SK

    Does this include Newman’s Own 95% Organic Grain Free canned food, or is that a seperate review?