Loyall Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Loyall Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Loyall product line includes eight dry dog foods, two claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth and six for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Loyall Puppy Formula 31/20
  • Loyall Senior Formula 25/10
  • Loyall Lite Formula 16/7 (1 star)
  • Loyall Professional Formula 31/20
  • Loyall Active Adult Formula 26/19
  • Loyall High Performance Formula 24/20
  • Loyall Adult Maintenance Formula 21/14
  • Loyall Lamb Meal and Rice Formula 23/14

Loyall High Performance Formula 24/20 was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Loyall High Performance

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 26% | Fat = 22% | Carbs = 44%

Ingredients: Poultry by-product meal, ground whole corn, brewers rice, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), ground whole wheat, dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, whole flaxseed, dried egg product, extracted hydrolyzed citric acid fermentation presscake dehydrated, bentonite, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, menhaden fish meal, salt, sodium hexametaphosphate, propionic acid (for freshness), vitamins (vitamin A supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, folic acid, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), biotin, vitamin B12 supplement), minerals (zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc amino acid complex, iron amino acid complex, copper sulfate, manganese sulfate, manganese amino acid complex, ethylenediamine dihydriodide, sodium selenite), brewers dried yeast, Yucca schidigera extract, mixed tocopherols, citric acid, rosemary extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis24%20%NA
Dry Matter Basis26%22%44%
Calorie Weighted Basis21%43%35%

The first ingredient in this dog food is poultry by-product meal, a dry rendered product of slaughterhouse waste. It’s made from what’s left of slaughtered poultry after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except quality skeletal muscle (real meat).

We consider poultry by-products slightly lower in quality than a single-species ingredient (like chicken by-products).

On the brighter side, by-product meals are meat concentrates and contain nearly 300% more protein than fresh poultry.

The second ingredient is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The third ingredient is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is poultry fat. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

However, poultry fat is a relatively generic ingredient and can be considered lower in quality than a similar item from a named source animal (like chicken fat).

The fifth ingredient is wheat. Wheat is another cereal grain and subject to the same issues as corn (previously discussed).

The sixth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

After the natural chicken flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

The ninth ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With seven notable exceptions

First, we find bentonite, a naturally occurring clay-like compound rich in many trace minerals. Reported benefits include the binding of certain mold-based toxins and even controlling diarrhea and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Next, this recipe contains menhaden fish meal. Because it is considered a meat concentrate, fish meal contains almost 300% more protein than fresh fish itself.

Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. They’re rich in protein and omega-3 fatty acids. What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not exposed to mercury contamination as can be typical with deep water species.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, the controversial chemical ethoxyquin is frequently used as a preservative in fish meals.

But because it’s usually added to the raw fish before processing, the chemical does not have to be reported to consumers.

We find no public assurances from the company this product is ethoxyquin-free.

Without knowing more, and based upon this fish meal’s location on the list of ingredients, we would expect to find at least a trace of ethoxyquin in this product.

In addition, dried yeast can be a controversial item. Dried yeast contains about 45% protein and is rich in other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

What’s more, a vocal minority insist yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is something we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, we feel yeast should be considered a nutritious addition.

Next, this recipe also contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

In addition, we note the inclusion of sodium hexametaphosphate, a man-made industrial polymer with no known nutritive value.

HMP is used in making soap, detergents, water treatment, metal finishing and most likely here to decrease tartar build-up on the teeth.

Although some might disagree, we’re of the opinion that food is not the place for tartar control chemicals or any other non-nutritive substances.

Also, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Loyall Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Loyall Dog Food looks like a below average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 26%, a fat level of 22% and estimated carbohydrates of about 44%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 48% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 63%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the corn gluten meal contained in several of the formulas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Loyall Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of poultry by-product meal or lamb meal as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note some products may have been given higher or lower ratings based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/20/2010 Original review
11/20/2010 Review updated
04/10/2011 Upgraded to 2.5 stars (due to half star capability)
12/14/2012 Review updated
12/14/2012 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • theBCnut
  • LabOwner

    What do you guys recommend that i feed my 7 month old lab?

  • theBCnut

    It’s due to be updated in June.

  • luvlabs

    Have you considered doing a new review on Loyall dog food? The current ingredient list is different than that on this page. Not sure what
    date the current ingredient list you have is from, but is now changed.
    A new review would be appreciated to help pet owners decide. Thanks so much!

  • Pattyvaughn

    She is paid to believe it with all her heart…

  • Riley

    I witnessed A Nutrena representative blatantly lie to customers about by-products being ‘very high quality’ and the corn being ‘cooked in a way that I is digestible’ I asked her what type of poultry the ‘high quality by-products’ came from and she had no answer. She told
    Me that her ‘supervisor’ told her that they were required to label the ‘ high quality ‘ poultry meal as a by-product but it wasn’t actually a by-product. According to her, it was just chicken meal. She made sense and has no idea what she was talking about. She tried getting people, anyone and everyone to switch from quality brands to this crap. It was appalling.

  • tonia

    My experience.. I picked this up at feed store packaging was good and I liked that it clearly stated calories also was a little cheaper.. ( didn’t do my homework first) feed for about two weeks and returned it when back to eagle pack, 24 hours after scooping the yard it looked like it hadn’t been done in a week or so.. didn’t work out for my dogs

  • Corlin Mitchell Merritt

    Ha I am not so sure I had my pit bull terrier on weight maintenance and she has had loose stools to the point she is having accidents in the house. She is really good about not going in the house… Our 2 year old does great on the lamb and rice. I think I am taking her off dog food until I can get her stools more regulated. very disappointing that the first ingredient is by products and it has corn in it which dogs can’t digest…….(Didn’t realize this or they wouldn’t be on it.) The husband has been buying this band for years. Think it might be time for a change….

  • Therese L

    You may want to consider dogs are living shorter lives because of over vaccines more than dog food changes. I would imagine your father before you likely barely ever vaccinated his dogs. You might ask about that. My grandfather before me did minimal vaccines and fed crap and our animals lived very long lives, they were farm dogs and got scrap meat and veggies added into feed store corn based kibble. Once we started the over vaccination and flea treatment, heart worm, tick prevention we began poisoning our dogs. We would never put that much stuff in our own systems. Our troops that are sent out are over vaccinated research what that has done to our young men and women returning with autoimmune related illnesses and cancer. You might just be barking up the wrong tree on this one, no offense just my opinion.

  • Pingback: Satisfaction with Dog Food Choice.....Loyal

  • Fred

    loyall is manufactured by a animal nutrition company, cargill, that has dozens of phds doing the research and formulation. Why do people e enlistments idiots like on this website who know nothing? Opinions are like &$@holes everyone has one. But I trust companies who make a living with people and animal nutrition, like cargill. I have fed loyall active adult for over 5 years. Great haircoat, healthy, small firm stools. Le these blowhards who think they understand nutrition spout off. The results are in the bag with loyall.

  • Annie

    Very true. Been feeding Kirkland for awhile and have had excellent results

  • Yoki

    My 2 miniature schnauzers do very well on the Lamb Meal and Rice. This brand is what the breeder was using so I continued. Today I went into a new pet store and bought ACANA just because it is too far to travel to get the Loyall (only one place sells it in Charlotte, NC). With my salt/pepper having such a sensitive stomach this was recommended. I must say I did a 75/25 % mix of the old to new food, and my dogs gobbled it up. I will see how their stools appear today and tomorrow. I must agree with the others, there is no loose stool using Loyall and my 2yo and 1 yo both have no health issues; shiny coats; and very little tartar build up. I am looking forward to seeing how the ACANA works for variety. I only buy the Lamb Meal formula by Nutrena b/c it has a schnauzer picture on it-which made me think it was specifically made for this breed. However, my schnauzers do get tired of eating the Lamb Meal formula.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi krazybronco, I think all my screws are pretty tight. :) I recommend 4health grain free, it is made by Ainsworth. NOT Diamond. I doubt you have a degree in nutrition. But, whatever. I don’t need any degrees to know what foods are species appropriate for dogs. And I can’t believe that someone who supposedly has a degree in animal nutrition would choose to feed Loyall dog food. There isn’t even 1 ingredient in this “food” that is species appropriate for a carnivore. AND it also has Menadione in it. Look up that nasty ingredient, and see how bad it is for your dog, Genius. “Complete nutrition”? LOL.

  • krazybronco

    after looking at your other replys to others and recommending 4health. you have to a screw loose. i would never recommend 4 health to any one. if you did some research on this site you would see the recalls 4 healths parent company has had, also 4 health was recalled. just looking at this site and a quick google search loyall has yet to be recalled. 4 health maybe “better food” but not in my book with the recalls.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recall/diamond-dog-food-recall-expands-again/

    also might want to get your info from someone that knows food not teeth. which i did because my GF (degree from tx a&m in nutrition and a masters in animal science from osu) explained and taught alot to me when i was choosing a dog food and loyall has more complete protien and fat than pro plan 30/20 and eukanuba 30/20. i didnt care about price i cared about recalls and complete nutrition. but i will admit i add a fish oil pill to my dogs food for the DHAs (it helps thier eyes and brain) because very few foods provide the amout of DHAs a dog truely needs to see and train for HT and hunting.

  • LabsRawesome

    Well if feeding my dogs species appropriate foods is considered ignorant, I guess I’m busted. Dogs are carnivores, and should be fed as such. Which means they should be fed meat. The only “meat” in Loyall food is “poultry by-product meal”, if you consider that meat. Do your dogs a favor, put them on a better food, with some actual meat in it. Instead of this cheap crap, that is all grain. You might think your dogs do well on Loyall, but if you put them on a diet of canned meat, and add some fresh meat, fish, and eggs. You will see what your dogs can really do. Good luck.

  • Jpc

    Wow…Funny how you call others ignorant!! Loyall is a great food, I train labs for hunt tests and field trials and all my dogs do great on Loyall….I work with hard charging working labs and nutrition is key and Loyall provides everything they need and more. You are the ignorant one, you have bought into the hype of all these over priced and over marketed dog food company’s! Good luck.

  • LabsRawesome

    Exactly! :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    And why sign on as Lab Lover if you don’t love them enough to want better for them?

  • LabsRawesome

    Seriously, I read Lab Lover’s post, and I was like, what the hell? Why would someone want to start out with a 4 star food, and down grade to a 2.5 star food? I mean if 4health didn’t work for them, fine. But I wouldn’t feed Loyall to my dogs even if it was free. I guess I’m just crazy like that. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re “THRILLED” to be feeding your pups this trash?! And “highly recommending” this product shows just how ignorant you are. Hopefully you find them good homes, where they are fed something better than this crap. Roadkill would be a step up. Poultry by-product meal, ground whole corn, brewers rice, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), ground whole wheat, dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, whole flaxseed,

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I somehow doubt that the peas were causing your dogs to have loose stools, but if they were there are many foods that have received a better rating than Loyall, that are around the same price as Loyall/4Health and that don’t contain peas: Diamond Naturals Chicken and Rice, Diamond Naturals Lamb Meal & Rice, Eagle Pack, Pro Pac, Victor’s grain-inclusive formulas, Professional, NutriSource grain-inclusive, etc.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If firm stools are your only concern, then congratulations, more power to you. If however, the long term health of your dog matters to you, you might want to consider again the igredients in this food.

  • Lab Lover

    I just switched from 4 Health foods to Loyall. 4 Health puppy food was giving a lot of my puppies loose stools. Our vet said that the peas in the 4 Health food was more than likely causing the problem. Some puppies and dogs have problems digesting the peas (doesn’t set well with them). So we tried Loyall ….even though this website gave it a low rating. All I can say is …..that I AM THRILLED!!!!!! All of those same puppies now have FIRM stools!!! They love it and eat it right up! Highly Recommend!!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve got working dogs, Border Collies. And one of them would do fine on whatever I gave him, including cheap garbage. The other one has problems with grain based and high carb foods, serious problems. I feed both of them the best food that I can afford, just like I do with my kids. They both earn it. But as I’ve said before, you have to go with what works for your dog.

  • dogger

    By the way Rice has to have waaaaaaay more pesticides and crap harmful to your dogs than corn. It is a much riskier and more susceptible crop to disease. Just ask any 3rd year chemist working in the industry around the Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi region. I know that I will get all kinds of grief over this post, but that is cool. Cause maybe a few will just use a bit of common sense vs. the typical being led by what they see in marketing.

  • Dogger

    I hate these dang sites. People say do your research. But the internet has made information so abundant that people do their research and still get bad info. Funny thing is how many people that have WORKING dogs are giving positive feed back. I am 3rd generation with working dogs and I remember when the drive for rice started. I talked to my pops about it and changing the food. He said something very simple to me. Son if corn is the problem it is not the corn, but what they have done to the corn with pesticides and gene mutation. How do I know that? Well because my father before me fed corn based foods and the dogs lived to be 17-20 yrs old and some even into their 20′s. Sparky was 23 yrs when he passed and worked until 19. Now my generation that age was backed down to 13-18 yrs. And I see now that dogs are living to be 10-13 yrs. So what has happened. If all these dog foods are so much better then why are dogs living such fewer years? Why did cancer used to be known in a few breeds like Boxers, but now is prevalent in all breeds? Why did you never used to see a dog with patches of missing hair unless it had mange? Now it is common place. Why did stools used to turn white and ground into powder the next day? Now they stay greasy for several days before drying out and takes a month if your willing to leave it and watch it turn white and powder? Obviously everyone has to clean stools up now, but when I was a kid that was not part of owning dogs. So how are the foods more digestible and better today if they do not have corn. Every food we ever fed had corn in it back in the day. Corn based foods were all there were.

    Funny thing is now I have even seen where they did research to prove rice was better and more digestible and the findings were just the opposite. The corn based dogs were digesting better and were showing signs of better health. But you have to dig hard to find that type of stuff. Why? Because the rice industry that paid for the research buried it. Just like they bury negative findings about corn. Just like the recent ads telling us that the body can not tell the difference between high fructose corn syrup and regular sugar.

    You see the real problem is that all research is paid for by a company that is looking to use it to make money. So if the findings are not what they want then they bury the research or change or alter the research to get the results they want. No one pays for research that they will not get their money back and turn a profit. That is just the way the world goes round.

    In short let me say that I have fed Wysong that only comes in 8# foil sealed bags bundled together to make larger quantities. Supposedly all top ingredients and one of the greatest foods. Arguably the best food out there. You know what happened. The bitch I tested it on first would not touch the stuff. I continued for about a week to mix it with her other food and found her picking at it trying to get her old food. So I went cold turkey with the Wysong. Guess what she starved herself for three days and never touched a bite. Got so hungry I couldn’t keep her from eating grass and sticks and anything she could find in her kennel. And when I let her out to run that was all she did was nose to the ground trying to scavenge scat or whatever she could find. Tried it on bitch 2 with very similar results. Except bitch 2 finally gave in and started eating it only to get bloody stools. Which I am sure was from the flora of her stomach having wasted away by the time she started to eat it. So I did the usual pumpkin and a little cottage cheese and metamucil. You know what she did then? She started trying to survive by just eating them. So I had to mix it with her food. As soon as I got the stools hard and tried to go back to the straight food — well she stopped eating.

    I have tried many different high dollar foods with similar results. The latest of which were Blue Buffalo (Just a cool name had to try it. LOL) and Castor Pollux. Which gave me the same type of results. So I have to agree with one of the posters that said what good is it if they won’t eat it. Someone then responded to her well it is better than letting your kids eat McDonalds just because they prefer it. But if I take them to Red Lobster for a week and they won’t eat it, and out of stubbornness I won’t let them have McD’s either; so they start eating out of dumpsters. Then which is worse? You can not keep an eye on your dogs 24/7 and if they are going to be eating whatever they can get into their systems to stop the hunger pain over the red lobster then that is pretty bad.

    In closing I will say it is all a load of hog wash. I fed Diamond for near 20 yrs until they started trying to please these types of sites and supposedly made their food a bit higher quality. Guess what my dogs went to gas and sloppy stools. And after a few years of trying every food they had I just gave up being a customer and went to Sport Mix after trying a bunch of foods they would not eat. Sport Mix did well and then they changed and my dogs started getting lame after long days. So I went to Loyall and so far so good. But to be honest every time someone has had a problem with a puppy and loose stools and transition over the last 40 years I have suggested Pedigree to them and it has always fixed the issue inside of 24 hrs. That is an awfully quick recovery. My wife asked me one time why I don’t just feed Pedigree since it always works. I had to confess that I even get caught up in this crap and feel it is not high enough protein for my working dogs. LOL

  • Edson

    I recently changed my dogs food from a 80 dollar 30 lb bag brand to Loyall professional formula. I was very concern about it because I always gave my dogs the “best ” expensive food however I am extremely pleased with Loyall professional formula, my dogs are exited and happy at feeding time and their coat, muscle, and activity level are better that before, specially since me and george my catahoula mix run about 5 to 8 miles every day. I am surprise this dog food has that low rating. I must say expensive is not always the best option, but this is just my experience and I wanted to share it Thanks!!

  • beaglemom

    All dogs may be different but all of them also need quality nutrition each day just like you and me. I would never feed this to my dogs.

  • JellyCat

    CHAR, taking a tour of a plant that makes dog food with low quality ingredients is not going to change the fact that the food is poor quality.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I want to read the positives and negatives for myself and make my own decision. And you’re right it might turn someone away from using this food. In my opinion that would be a good thing.

  • InkedMarie

    First, please stop using all capitals. It’s yelling in the internet world. Second, great you love this food but that doesn’t make it a good food. The ingredients speak for themselves. I have no personal experience with this food; I never will, it’s not up to my personal standards of what to feed my dogs. That doesn’t mean I can’t comment negatively about the ingredients because i can.

  • CHAR

    WE CAN FIND NEG. IN ALL DOG FOODS, LIKE I SAID DO YOUR OWN RESERCH. ALL DOGS ARE DIFFERNT AND HAVE DIFFERENT NEEDS. WITH THE NEG. YOU MAY BE TURNING AWAY A PERSON WHO THIS FOOD WORKS FOR.

    MAY GOD BLESS

  • Pattyvaughn

    Why would you tell someone to not write negative comments? No one would ever know if there was a problem with a food if everyone ignores all the negatives and only writes the positives. I would rather know that someone had a bad experience than for all my info to be whitewashed. I’m capable of deciding for myself if I want to make a decision based on what I read on the internet. I don’t need you to filter for me.

  • CHAR

    I HAVE BEEN USING LOYALL FOR 8 YEARS, AFTER BREEDING DOGS FOR 40 YRS, I’VE TRIED THEM ALL.I’LL STICK WITH WHAT WORKS FOR ME.

  • CHAR

    YOU KNOW ANYBODY CAN BE A RETAILER,I KNOW OF HARDWARE STORES WHO SELL IT, I EVEN FOUND A SPORTING GOODS STORE. JUST BECAUSE THEY LIKE A PRODUCT DOESN’T MEAN THEY HAVE SOMETHING THEY HAVE IN THEIR STOREIS BEING USED IN IT.SOMEONE IN THE STATION MAY BE A DOG BREEDER, AND LIKES THE PRODUCT.

  • CHAR

    I JUST HAD TO MAKE A COMMENT, I’VE BEEN RAISING DOGS FOR 40 YRS. I’VE HAD STOOL, GAS, FLEA,NUTRITIONAL,HAIR LOSS,ALERGYS. I HAVE BEEN USING LOYALL FOR 8 YRS NOW, AND HAVEN’T HAD ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS SINCE. NOW DOGS ARE LIKE PEOPLE ,THEY ARE ALL DIFFERENT, I HAVE A CARGIL PLANT DOWN THE ROAD, YOU CAN TAKE A TOUR, THEY ARE ALL OVER THE US. YOU CAN ALSO TAKE THE FOOD TO BE CHECKED AND TALK TO YOUR VET. HE WILL SAY IF IT WORKS ,USE IT IF NOT DON’T. IF YOU HAVE SOMETHING THAT WORKS, WRITE A COMMENT,IT MAY HELP SOMEONE.DON’T WRITE NEG. . LIKE I SAID ALL DOGS ARE DIFFERENT.

  • Linda D

    I have fed Loyall Lamb & Rice for 5+ years to our dogs and rescues that we foster. ALL of them have looked amazingly better (coat, eyes, energy, weight) within as little as 5-6 weeks. I buy the 40lb bags for $35- at the feed store which is great since I buy 3-4 bags at a time. At night I split one canned food with gravy among them for a special dinner time treat. They all eliminate well and are happy dogs.

    I was very disheartened when I saw the 2.5 stars and the information about rice sometimes containing arsenic. Does that include the rice we eat also? Anyway I felt like I should run out and immediately buy a new food but I had 160 pounds of it so what was I to do?? I’ve researched and found a couple others I may look into but I’m really satisfied with the results from Loyall Lamb & Rice.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Breeding animals and puppies need better nutrition. Unfortunately dog food companies are in it for the money so they are going to tell you that their food is good enough. You have to really learn about reading dog food labels if you are going to breed quality animals.

  • http://www.facebook.com/francis.andrews.14 Francis Andrews

    I’ve had 2 litters of pups get in trouble on the Lloyal puppy food in the last week. I am very sick too and my doc is running test to see if I may have samonella. The pups are better, but only because we finally realized what was happening.

  • http://www.facebook.com/francis.andrews.14 Francis Andrews

    Just a word of advice for my lab friends. Stan and I have both been feeding Lloyal Puppy food for some time now. My pups go home with the puppy kits etc. Yesterday I delivered 4 pups with loose stool very loose. But I thought it mite have something to do with the vaccine a couple of days back. 2 called my last nite to say there was a spot of blood in the stool. Last week I took the smallest male to my vet for the same loose stool and he gave me albon, but said there was not a thing in the stool that was causing that problem.

    Last nite Stan called to say his pups all had very loose BM and he switched them over to adult food yesterday. Today all has cleared up. I switched mine over to adult temporarily until I can change the food for another puppy food. I also wrote Lloyal an email last nite, but will follow up today or tom with phone call.

    One of the new owners called me this am to say he saw a tinge of blood so went to the vet this morning. His vet says the puppy’s BM is clear of everything, NO worms, NO coccidiosis, but the loose stool and he changed pup over to gastro canned food for the time being. So this tells me it the FOOD, 2 vets and myself and Stan all agree the food is the problem. I have called everyone and recommended they stop the Lloyal. This has happened now 3 times to me in 12 yrs and I am personally sick of it. Dog food is becoming a real issue at my house. I’m going back perhaps to my old cooking routine, combined with some raw food.

    But I wanted anyone here feeding Lloyal Puppy to beware today. I still have 2 pups left here, and I am going to hold onto them for a while until I make certain all this has cleared. They are sold but I am not willing to let them go under these conditions for the time.

  • cin3dee

    Oh I like that idea too sandy. I will get the pumpkin puree. Yes she is coming with a weeks worth of food.  

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You might also pick up some probiotics/digestive enzymes to help with the transition to the new food.  Is the pup going to come with some of the current food that it’s being fed?  If not some pure pumpkin puree or some ground psyllium (like metamucil) will help with the loose stools that come with changing foods cold turkey.  I’ve been fostering for almost 4 years now and they never come with their “previous” food!

  • cin3dee

    Thanks Patty  I really think that makes sense to switch things up. I picked a five star food for her just now at Petco.  Hope she likes it as its costly!  

  • Pattyvaughn

    When changing foods start with a small bag until you know how it’s going.  Get a small bag of what the pup is used to and a small bag of what you want to change to.  Don’t start to change until you’ve given the pup a chance to settle in(a couple days), then slowly start mixing a little of the new food in with the old.  When you get to 50/50 you should have an idea how it’s going.  It’s usually easier to switch foods on a pup than it is on an older dog that has been on the same food for a long time.

    Something to consider, pick a few different foods that you like and keep rotating through them to keep your pup’s gut healthy.  Staying on the same food long term does not allow the widest variety of probiotics to live in the gut and that is detrimental to the immune system.

  • cin3dee

    Yeah Thanks Bryan.. I was thinking same thoughts. I guess I just want to bring this large bag of food back to Petco and get a five star food.  I dont have the puppy yet so its hard to know what to get. Trial and error I guess, as long as its not error with her health and only with her taste buds!  

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    Like just about everything else in life you’ll have people for something, and other people against that same “something”. It’s our job to educate ourselves and make an informed decision.

    Keep in mind that there’s not one great food for everybody. Just like humans, dogs are all different and may not like the same thing or do well on the same thing. That’s what leads to negative comments about a number of good foods.

    In my opinion Royal Canin is junk, and Loyall isn’t a whole lot better. Look at the 4-5 star foods and see which fit your budget and your dog’s dietary needs (meaning if it’s allergic or intolerant of certain ingredients).

  • cin3dee

    I bought a huge bad of Royal for my new puppy I am getting on friday. I thought the breeder was feeding this one , but she decided to go with Loyall. Now i am SO confused after going on this website. SO many reviews but even the 5 star foods have lots of negative scary comments. This site I feel has made me even MORE confused and worried now. UGGG  not sure at this point I trust ANY of them but I dont have the time or money to feed all raw. 

  • Guy

    I have 10 Pointing Dogs and compete them in AKC / AF field trials. Conditioning is a important part of my program.  I have used the Loyall product for the last 3 years with success.  I road my dogs (in harnesses) 5 miles, 3 times a week and their stamina and energy are very good. Their stools are firm and small and the eat the food with gusto.  No problems with coats or maintaining weight.  The texture of the feed appears to be keeping their teeth in good shape..which is important when is costs at least $200 for cleanings at my vet.  I am very happy with this product and its price point.

  • Lauren

    I’ve had the same result Ruth. This is the only food I’ve found that prevents my dogs diarrhea. I feed the Lamb and rice though which they did not rate. They only rated the base level food. The lamb and rice is $10 more per bag and has much different ingredients.

  • HerdingDogRescuer

    I tried this food a year ago, before I knew about this site and less about the dog food industry. I started a transition regiment with about 20-30% Loyall and my other food. All 3 of my dogs got diarrhea the very next day. I immediately stopped their food. I contacted them and was told it’s because it’s “so nutrient dense”. What a joke. Loyall is a Cargill company and they use the waste products from their vast ag industries to make this crap they call food. Steer WAY clear of this garbage. Their website looks pretty polished, but it’s all for show.

  • K42744

    Compare this with Science Diet, & Royal Canin, sadly there’s not much of the difference. 

  • InkedMarie

    I’m so very sorry for your loss :(

  • Kweeks1

    I wish I had found this website before our dog died last Monday, he started eating from a nestaff of the lite 3 days prior to his death. Ive tried to feed our other dog whom is normally very hungry but he hesitantly eats i t, I really think it is tainted. Conversly, my surviving dog gobbled up the call of the wild food i purchased this afternoon with a thankful look in his eye after he was fed tonight.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Ash_velez, look around on this site at the 4 star rated foods. A few that I would recommend are 4health (Tractor Supply) Hi Tek-Naturals, and Victor dog food. Make sure you buy puppy or all life stages.  :)

  • Ash_velez

    I purchased the loyall puppy food for my 6 month old Australian Cattle Dog, he immediately had a change in appetite. He refuses to eat it unless something is mixed in it. He scratches himself constantly to the point of a hotspot. I would not recommend this food at all. Complete waste of money.

  • InkedMarie

    Yep, sounds like a wonderful food eh? Not.

  • Dog Food Ninja

     Okay, where to begin… there’s wheat, which is one of the worst dog food ingredients.  Brewer’s rice, a by-product.  There’s hydrolyzed citric acid which I guarantee you have free glutamic acid in it.  The bad synthetic vitamin K.  Wheat middlings, a floor sweeping of the cereal grain industry.  Generic poultry by-product meal.  This food is trash.  I think the extra half star is very generous of the good doctor.   

  • Dog Food Ninja

     LOL!!!

    Lamb meal, brewers rice, poultry by-product meal,
    ground whole wheat, rice bran, poultry fat (preserved with mixed
    tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, whole
    flaxseed, dried egg product, extracted hydrolyzed citric acid
    fermentation presscake dehydrated, menhaden fish meal, wheat middlings,
    bentonite, salt, vitamins: (vitamin A supplement, vitamin D3 supplement,
    vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate,
    riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate,
    folic acid, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K
    activity), biotin, vitamin B12 supplement), sodium hexametaphosphate,
    propionic acid (for freshness), monocalcium phosphate, potassium
    chloride, minerals: (zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc amino acid
    complex, iron amino acid complex, copper sulfate, manganese sulfate,
    manganese amino acid complex, ethylenediamine dihydriodide, sodium
    selenite), brewers dried yeast, yucca schidigera extract, mixed
    tocopherols, citric acid, rosemary extract.

  • Dog Food Ninja

     well, just by the name alone… “Loyall Lamb Meal and Rice Formula 23/14″… I can already tell you there’s not enough meat in it.  But, give me a sec…

  • Lbl07

    Please review the lamb & rice version. As another poster noted the ingredients are very different then the one reviewed here.

  • R M

    I’d like to see a updated rating, especially on the Professional food, since the ingredients have changed some……….

  • FruityBizzles

    i give my pit loyall lamb and rice.  it is a better quality then the rest of the loyall line.  lamb meal, not by-product is the main source of meat product.  also, there is no corn in it.  i rescued my pit and the shelter fed him purina for the almost two months he was there.  after a two weeks with the lamb and rice his coat was fuller and shiny, he also put on some weight and is now a healthy dog.  

  • Karen Covington088

    A garbage/slaughterhouse waste food. I would never feed this trash to my furbabies. My show heifers even turn their noses up to nutrena cubes.

  • Woodj7

    My dogs love Loyall dog food and are doing great on it. I do beleive the Opti-cook method they use makes it very tasty and digestible. I could not be happier with the the way my dogs are doing on it and the price is helping our family budget.  

  • Bob K

    guest -  You must have a huge Lab that gets lots of exercise or you overfed your dog Proplan for 3 years, then you overfed him TOTW now you feed him Lloyal which he does not like as much but you are saving money, his coat looks great and has less gas.  Which specific formulas were you feeding your Lab?  How did he do on ProPlan?  Why did you transition him off ProPlan?    

  • guest

    For the first three years I fed my lab purina pro plan He was up to 5c per day (split between two feedings) as an adult.  I then tried taste of the wild at twice the price and he was eating his 5 cups and asking for seconds.   I have sinced changed to the Lloyal brand, feeding 2 cups per day,  and eventhough it was only givin a 2.5 star ratingon this site I’m having much better results.  He has been on it now for 3 years and is coat and gas problem have seemed to be resolved. 

  • Pingback: Stay away from this food!

  • Pups

    I have a dozen dogs on 3 Loyall formulas and I just love them. I have used them all over the years and this food gives the best results. Best coats, best endurance, least poop, white teeth, clean ears and extremely palatable.  A site like this can be very misleading because none of the reviews are actual tests, rather just a reading of the label.  This food is great!!!  Ruth, this food is very digestible and that is why your dogs have small, odorless poop. Poop odor is large undigested protein.

  • David Brown

    I recently tried Loyall and all 3 of my dogs got bad diarrhea after 1 day on this food. I blended it at about 25-30% of Loyall with the reminder their regular food for 2 meals. But when all three got BAD diarrhea I pulled it. After exploring Dogfoodadvisor.com I can see why they had issues. I don’t think I want to feed my boys slaughter house waste and corn anymore. Several years ago they were on Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul and they did just wonderful on that, but when we moved we couldn’t find it. I found it in a local store and will be buying that from now on. I would recommend to all to steer clear of Loyall.

  • Ruth

    My Great Pyrenees love Loyall! It has been the only food I have found that keeps their stools firm. Top of the line $65 a bag dog foods are what they grew up on but they were always gassy. I was so happy when someone recommended this food to me. They have shiny coats and white teeth. They poop less and there is very little odor. I always thought that was the sign of a good dog food. Please dig deeper into this product. I would like to know why it helps with firmer stools.

    Thank you

  • Becky

    I would also like to say that I find Kirkland Brand dog food, ( Costco product), a highly economical and above average feed. The problem with feeding it, is they unvariably keep dog food at the back of the warehouse and there is no way I can go into costco for just dog food, and come out with just dog food. A trip to the store for a $25 bag of dog food inevitably ends up costing me $100 in other stuff I didn’t realize I couldn’t live without. :)

  • Becky

    I have been a long time fan of Diamond Brand dog food as I felt it to be an above average food for an economical price. Recently though, they took a huge jump in price so I began to look for something else. I decided to give Loyall a try for my six month old pup. I have been very pleased with the result. I thought this pup was just going to be a gassy dog but after a few weeks on the Loyall the flatulance has diminished a great deal, his stools are firmer and smaller and he eats it with great relish, moistened or dry. I have to admit when I decided to check on line for comparisons I was a bit deflated by the low scores but am happy to see the positive feedback from users. That to me is worth more than anything else.

  • ss

    Some of the finest hunting dogs in the country eat this food. For $35 for 50lbs it is a great deal. The “red flags” you mentioned are not really “red flags” because there is not one shred of evidence that the ingredient does any harm. It is true that if a dog has a real sensitivity or allergy to wheat then maybe it is not a good choice, but that dog is 1 in a 1000.

    This is great choice if you have many mouths to feed.

    My local store says it has much higher repeat buying by all types of pet owners than Orijen.

  • Mike P

    9 red flag items in this food and the great results ?? pretty amazing considering they used to eat a 5 star food before .

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    i am getting twice the results at half the price

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    i fed them taste of the wild

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    i forgot to add that, my cats also prefer the loyall dog food over their cat food. They sneak into the dogs bowls and eat with them and now the cats gleam too!

  • Bob K

    marsha – What did you previously feed your dogs before Loyall? If they were eating a 1 star food then Loyall would be a nutritional step up for your loved ones. Now that you are aware of this website how about moving to a 4 or 5 star food.

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    after feeding my dogs what i thought was high quality food, i attended a working dog demonstartion and was given sample bags of loyall. I mixed it with my dogs food and every one of them picked out the loyall and left their own food behind. I have 3 jack russells a chocolate lab and an english bulldog. Results speak for themselves. My dogs now have gleaming coats, bright eyes, and smaller firmer stools. It has drastically decreased the gassiness of my bulldog. They didnt get such dramatic results from their other food. Peoplle ask me what i feed my dogs and i tell them. My neighbor has a variety of breeds also, when i recommended loyall she switched and had the same dramatic results i did. Also being a horse owner i was already familiar with nutrena, and have always found their horse, chicken, and rabbit feed to be of good quality. You only have to look at my critters to see what they get on the inside really shows on the outside! I highly recommend loyall!

  • alicia

    I bought my first bag of Loyall Lamb and Rice today. I have a BullMastiff with horrible allergies, a Pit Bull (that has never had a problem), and fostering a Black Lab/Boxer mix, and a Beagle. The BullMastiff is the problem. He eats large quantities of food and it is a constant battle with his skin. I bet I have tried every food sold at Petco. No matter what the Pit Bull adapted to it well. I gave up on high priced foods and went to a feed store to see what they had. Main concern is beef and corn. I started feeding Diamond Lamb and Rice 2 mos ago. OMG!!! The Mastiff’s hair is falling out by the hand fulls and is itching all over. The Pit Bull’s hair is falling out by the hand fulls. The Beagles hair is falling out by the hand fulls. And the poor Lab/Boxer mix came here fine and now has constant loose stools and her hair is falling out by the hand fulls. She has been vetted recently and was checked. No parasites. No bacterial or viral intestinal infections. It’s the food!!! I have to say Diamond has been the worst food I have tried on my dogs in 4 yrs. I’m praying for better results from Loyall. And I agree, the price is great!!! I paid $35 for a 40lb bag.

  • Meagan

    That is your opinion! My two dogs are doing great on Diamond Naturals and they make a few other great products. Dogs are so different what works for yours may not work for mine. So I could say Loyall is grocery store JUNK

  • Scott A

    I tried to find this below average feed in my area just see who sells it and was surprised to find that a local OIL company that owns and operates many large name gas stations is a retailer.
    Although i have never seen this feed in a gas station they own i find this is strange.
    So, i tried to call this company several times during business hours and got voicemail everytime.
    This company has gas stations only no other types of stores, so i called the gas stations and they only sell canned pedigree or no food at all.
    A 38 year old non BBB oil company as a retailer for Loyall is just fishy.

  • Trisha

    I have been using Loyall for my breeding program since january of ’08. I’ve trialed every single formula they offer, including the cat/kitten, which my cat also loves! I had an ingredient test done by the veterinary college here…It tested 100% true to it’s labeling, far more than can be said about MANY other brands or formula’s. I’m not gonna argue who is right or who is wrong. My dogs have thrived on the brand for a long time, and I raise show dogs. With that said, Technically speaking, Turkey is a better more lean ingredient than is chicken so to me it doesn’t matter if it’s one or the other, or a mix of the two, it’s still better than beef (for my breed anyway) The Lamb and rice far superceeds the eficacy of other lamb and rice products I’ve tried. That price Melissa spoke of, is a joke, their retailer is raping them. I am a loyall dealer as well, and the average cost of Loyall in any formulation is $20 to $23 for the 40 lb. bags. I’ve never heard of $30+ per bag and I have puppy owners all over the country using it. And diamond is not a quality food. I suppose if you don’t mind your dog looking dull in his coat, and having disgusting gas and stools…but for me the few dollars more is wwwaaayyy worth it….I drove 75 miles roundtrip to buy this product before I became a dealer, also wwaaayyy worth it. Walmart, Petsmart and Tractor Supply are a whole lot closer if I wanted to feed my dogs that Diamond or Retreiver brand “grocery store” junk. I rely on results not opinions…….

  • Melissa

    I have never seen this food in my area until yesterday, when I stopped at a “feed store” and there it was on the shelves. A very quick glance told me I would not feed it-However, I was a bit surprised over the pricing-40 lb bags and the prices ran from $27.99-33.99-Waaay to much IMO when one can get the Diamond naturals for similar pricing.

  • Tyler

    I started feeding Loyall Puppy then Professional (same protein/Fat content, puppy just has smaller kibble) dog food three years ago to a couple registered English Pointer pups I was training for future trial dogs. These pups had been started on a cheaper (corn based) puppy food and they were a mess when they arrived. After being on the Loyall for three days, their stools begin to firm up and in no time at all were healthy and happy. I have since gotten out of the bird dogs and just keep an old border collie, a chihuahua, and a shi tzu here and they are fed Loyall Professional. They are shiny, fit, and have firm oderless stools. I would highly recommend this food!

  • ed
  • ed

    The grains are precooked at low temperatures separately. “Poultry Meal” is generally 60% Turkey & 40% Chicken. The only other poultry that is commercially raised in big enough amounts is Duck and that is pricey. So poultry meal is a mix of chicken and turkey. Makes sense right?

    You should do more research. The internet is filled with misinformation about a lot of things. Pet Food grade chicken or poultry by-product meal is just as good if not better than Poultry or Chicken meat meal, and its much cheaper.

    http://www.hilarywatson.com/chicken.pdf

  • Bob K

    John R Dean – How did you “Properly” check out the product? Read the label and analysis provided above. If you have some magical insight to Loyall please let us know.

    Ed – The more they cook the kibble mush, the more the nutrients are removed of course the digestibility is increased since its double cooked and becomes gelatinzed. What makes you say its high-grade low ash….. and great protein? What makes you say its Turkey? The label clearly stated by-products. Have you read the ingredients and analysis provided above? 60% turkey what? Beaks, intestines and assholes? Where on the label does it list “60% Turkey”

  • ed

    This is another food that uses high-grade low ash poultry by-product meal, saves you money and the dog gets great protein. I think “poultry by-product meal” is 60% turkey.

  • ed

    Opti Cook is just a fancy term for pre-cooking grains so they are fully gelatinzed before the food is cooked during extrusion.

    It makes a big difference in digestibility but it is not a unique process to Loyall.

  • CAROL

    We have kenneled 8 champion cattle trial border collies, that on previous dog foods, had irregular loose stools, and i was daily hosing runs, we switched to LOYALL 12 months ago, and i rarely have to hose out a run anymore, other than weekly cleansing, there coatS shine, they seem healthy & full of energy, & there stool is consistant, for middle priced dog food i would recommend LOYALL over many other types of dry dog food.

  • John R.Dean

    Ihave Loyall Premium Pet Food to my Weimaraners for 1 1/2 years with no bad effects just GREAT RESULTS !!
    Stool harder with everything great coat teeth etc.
    I really believe that who ever wrote this article just genearlized theproductsd with out PROPERLY checking the products out such as I have,then they would know what they have said to make a great feed look bad is wrong just a gerneralization of whats in the feed.
    I would NEVER SWITCH FROM LOYALL !!!
    John R.Dean

  • Bio

    I feed working catch dogs and I must say Loyal proffesional, puppy and maintenance are really good foods. I can’t speak for the others as I have not tried them. Lamb, senior, lite etc etc. But the 3 I have tried are really high quality foods. I will not bother feeding anything else. If fed gradually from whatever you are feeding you will not have a problem.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Vicki… I’m not familiar with Opti Cook. Check our FAQ page to see why I can’t give a specific product recommendation.

  • vickie

    I have labrador retrievers and originally had them on Merrick’s line of foods. We moved to a Texas 3 years ago and I had a heck of a time finding Merrick close by. Closest was @30 miles away, one way. So I started looking around for other food. Tried 2 or 3 Diamond, Exlusive and one other. I would switch them gradually, as recommended. The first few weeks stools would be acceptable, but then they would start to loosen. I would reduce the feed but nothing changed the firmness. I had been to a dog show and was told about Nutrena’s Loyall Dog Food line by a breeder of Labrador Retrievers. Once I found the feed stores that sold it, I started using it, but before that I met with a Cargill rep and voiced my concern over the corn and other grains as I was concerned about “chicken lips” in the dog food as well as potntial allergy concerns. I was told that it is the Opti Cook that makes the difference in the food. Has this been confirmed?

  • Jonathan

    It’s fine that your pup is going well on this food. But feeding it to him specifically because he “won’t eat” any thing else, is like letting your child pick McDonald’s for dinner every day because they “just won’t” eat anything else.

  • sandra

    When I got my Pomeranian puppy I took him straight to the vet for an exam to make sure he didn’t have any problems and they gave me a puppy kit that had a very popular small bite puppy food in it. When I tried to feed it to him he would literally turn his head he even did it with the can food version so I went online and ordered a sample of what is suppose to be the very best dry puppy food they make but while I was waiting on it to come in I had find something he would that wouldn’t tear his stomach up like alot of the supermarket pet food will do so i went to the feed store to see what they had and told the owner about my problem I was having and he gave several samples of premium puppy food he had and told me he bet anything he would go straight for the loyall puppy food over all of them. So I went home with all of them and put each in a bowl and let him choose and sure enough he chose the loyall! Even when I received what is suppose to be the best food in the mail I put a few pieces in his bowl with the loyall and he ate all around the other food eating only the loyall and leaving the other! That has been eleven weeks ago and he is still on the loyall and doing great! He is full of energy, he’s very intelligent, his coat looks wonderful, and he has regular firm bowel movements. I asked the vet about the food and he said they have never had any problems with loyall or nutriena and as long as he ate it and is doing good on it he didn’t have any issues with me keeping him on on it. I also love that it comes in the small pieces that he can eat with his small little mouth that pomeranians have! It doesn’t matter how much you pay for puppy food if they want eat it the food it isn’t worth anything!

  • http://www.loveyourpet.biz Alisa Cook

    I’m always looking for quality foods to recommend to my clients (we offer natural/holistic health services). At a recent dog fair, I spoke with several dog food representatives and was told by the Loyall rep (when I challenged her about the prevalent use of by-products) that their by-product was ‘high quality’ because it didn’t include the ‘by-product slough…’

    Needless to say I won’t be recommending this brand!

    Thanks for the website – I send clients here often!

    Alisa