Loyall Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Loyall Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Loyall Dog Food product line includes eight dry recipes, six claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance and two for growth (Puppy Formula).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Loyall Puppy Formula 31/20
  • Loyall Senior Formula 25/10
  • Loyall Active Adult Formula 26/19
  • Loyall Professional Formula 31/20
  • Loyall Weight Control 16/7 (1 star)
  • Loyall High Performance Formula 24/20
  • Loyall Adult Maintenance Formula 21/14 (2 stars)
  • Loyall Lamb Meal and Rice Formula 23/14 (2 stars)

Loyall Active Adult Formula 26/19 was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Loyall Active Adult 26/19

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 21% | Carbs = 43%

Ingredients: Chicken by-product meal, ground whole wheat, wheat flour, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), brewers rice, corn gluten meal, dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, whole flaxseed, dried egg product, extracted hydrolyzed citric acid fermentation presscake dehydrated, bentonite, potassium chloride, menhaden fish meal, sodium hexametaphosphate, propionic acid (preservative), vitamins: (vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, d calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin A supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, biotin, thiamine mononitrate, folic acid, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity)), minerals: (zinc amino acid complex, ferrous sulfate, iron amino acid complex, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, manganese amino acid complex, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, ethylenediamine dihydroiodide), salt, brewers dried yeast, Yucca schidigera extract, mixed tocopherols (preservative), citric acid (preservative), rosemary extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%19%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%21%43%
Calorie Weighted Basis24%42%35%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken by-product meal, a dry rendered product of slaughterhouse waste. It’s made from what’s left of a slaughtered chicken after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except quality skeletal muscle (conventional meat).

On the brighter side, by-product meals are meat concentrates and contain nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

In any case, although this item contains all the amino acids a dog needs, we consider chicken by-products an inexpensive, lower quality ingredient.

The second ingredient is wheat. Like corn, wheat is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider wheat a preferred component in any dog food.

The third ingredient is wheat flour, a highly-refined product of wheat milling. Like corn, wheat is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider wheat a preferred component in any dog food.

The fourth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The fifth ingredient is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Although corn gluten meal contains 60% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

After the natural chicken flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, bentonite is a naturally occurring clay-like compound rich in many trace minerals. Reported benefits include the binding of certain mold-based toxins and even controlling diarrhea and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Next, we note the inclusion of sodium hexametaphosphate, a man-made industrial polymer with no known nutritive value.

HMP is used in making soap, detergents, water treatment, metal finishing and most likely here to decrease tartar build-up on the teeth.

Although some might disagree, we’re of the opinion that food is not the place for tartar control chemicals or any other non-nutritive substances.

In addition, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

Next, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Loyall Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Loyall Dog Food looks like a below-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 21% and estimated carbohydrates of about 43%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 48% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 64%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the corn gluten meal and flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Loyall Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of chicken by-product or lamb meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

07/11/2014 Last Update

  • 1nascarnut1

    My lab developed a couple of sores on his leg and my pug started coughing phlegm within a few weeks of trying this crap. Switched back to Call of the Wild and all is good again. You must work for the company.

  • Vicki Fagundez

    I need a good quality dry food for my jack Russell cross who suffers from itchy skin, does anybody have any ideas ?

  • aimee

    You might be thinking of this study. I think the shih tzu was in a group cluster close to the wolf

    http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2004/05/0520_040520_dogbreeds_2.html

  • theBCnut

    I have read, but don’t have any notion if it was personal belief or based on something, people saying that particular breeds are closer to wolf than others and it is never breeds that look more like wolves. It’s usually breeds with particular behavior traits. Go figure.

  • Shawna

    It’s unfortunate however that some companies “market strategy” is to influence the vets. I don’t think it matters what a commercial says if an uneducated person is told by his/her vet that “any of the name brand kibble is fine”. After all, they have feeding trials and research to back up their perfectly balanced and healthy kibble…

  • aimee

    LOL Somehow I don’t think either of us will ever see a commercial for dog food whose tagline is “Feed ABC Dog food … it’s convenient and cost effective”

    For me I can’t rank one form of commercial food over another.

  • Caroline Capobianco

    It was an article by Dr. Becker. I read it this morning too. Here is the link: http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2014/06/23/dog-cat-dietary-needs.aspx

  • aimee

    Isn’t it amazing considering the behaviorial and phenotypic diversity in domestic dogs that they’ re so close to wolves.

  • theBCnut

    , Sorry,no link, but I read an article this morning that mentioned that because dogs were genetically closer to wolves than they first believed, about 99% identical, they reclassified dogs from Canis familiaris to Canis lupus familiaris. Not necessarily relevant, but I found it interesting.

  • Shawna

    Consumer demand is one thing but these companies tout their kibble as being species appropriate and the best option not convenient and cost effective. MANY vets actually think kibble is the best option for dogs and cats and tell their clients to feed it over canned or balanced home made.

    It is one thing to chose kibble due to the convenience of it or affordability. It is quite another to be led to believe it is the best option. Should we pool those here on DFA to determine what their vets recommend as best?

  • aimee

    Not sure what you mean by the scientific community reclassifying wolves. I do see wolves classified the same as dogs, mesocarnivores. I’ll attach one such chart showing this.

    There is consumer demand is for cost and convenience. It is cheaper to meet energy needs via carb then protein.

    I too am guilty of the convenience factor. My cat is free fed dry food and given canned twice a day.

    When younger when I had her on a lower carb kibble she gained weight and then I’d rotate to a higher carb kibble to get her to lose it.

    Now that she is older I keep her on the lower carb kibble otherwise she gets too thin on a higher carb diet.

    This is I suppose all related to the energy density of the diet.

    Ideally a low fat low-mod carb( enough to make kibble) high protein dry may fit the bill. But I think consumer demand may be poor due to cost.

  • Shawna

    Nutritionism at its finest!!! Industry and science has reduced us all (or many at least) to evaluating nutrients over food even when we know better!!! :)

    “Popularized by Michael Pollan in his best-selling In Defense of Food,
    Gyorgy Scrinis’s concept of nutritionism refers to the reductive
    understanding of nutrients as the key indicators of healthy food — an
    approach that has dominated nutrition science, dietary advice, and food
    marketing. Scrinis argues this ideology has narrowed and in some cases
    distorted our appreciation of food quality, such that even highly
    processed foods may be perceived as healthful depending on their content
    of “good” or “bad” nutrients.” http://www.amazon.com/Nutritionism-Politics-Traditions-Perspectives-Culinary/dp/0231156561

    An industries mantra “Ingredients don’t matter”… UGHHH

  • Shawna

    Yet the scientific community doesn’t reclassify wolves. Maybe that will change if the industry has a reason to create more diets for them… :)

    I agree with you on cats. We KNOW that cats have little use for carbs and need certain nutrients only found in meats or synthetically made. Yet many in the industry feed “obligate” carnivores HIGH carb diets. Higher than many of us here feed our dogs.. What do you think the motive is?

    And yes, I know that they CAN utilize carbs but the question should be, is a diet with more carb than protein best for their overall health. If the answer is no, then why do you suppose the companies you trust so much make kibbled diets with higher carb levels when we KNOW they could add more protein without compromising the kibble making process?

  • aimee

    The wolf may well be an omnivore with a carnivorous bias just as the dog is.

    The kibble industry hasn’t shown that a cat can eat the diet of an omnivore. Omnivores have pathways that carnivores do not have which allows them to synthesize certain nutrients . The kibble industry has to provide those nutrients to cats.

    As far as the evolutionary diet of the dog.. I wasn’t there, but I can see that the diet was varied by virtue of the metabolic pathways dogs have in place.

  • aimee

    LOL” real omnivores” funny… I know… any omnivore with any of those traits isn’t a “real omnivore” despite what the scientific community says.

  • USA Dog Treats

    Hi Losul

    One of the problems with getting into the minutiae of salivary amylase and other things is it detracts from the bigger picture of:

    “What type of diet would a dog do best on”.

    That’s all I really care about. For the answer I would look to nature, not synthetics made in a lab.

    Nature shows us what a dog and their immediate ancestor the grey wolf have been eating for MILLIONS of years. Nature shows us what a dog and his ancestors have adapted to over those same millions of years or else they would have vanished.

    A diet based on science tries to analyze the nutrients in Nature’s diet and reproduce them in a lab with cost effectiveness being their top priority.

    Science CANNOT replicate what a dog has evolved to eat in a lab. What about the form, the moisture, the blood, the bones, the texture and the positive effects a dog encounters from eating his diet in it’s natural form?

    What about all the things in Nature’s diet that cannot be analyzed or measured and replicated in a LAB?

    Point being that once you get into the habit of breaking down the whole of nature’s diet for dog’s into very small components you will open yourself to an herbivore who does NOT have salivary amylase or a carnivore who does have salivary amylase and these things will confuse the big picture of what diet will our dogs thrive on that is environmentally friendly, and species appropriate!

  • aimee

    Honestly I looked over the 8 noted 2 were carnivores and put the rest into the non carnivore group omnivore/herbivore.

    Does it really matter? The OP said amylase in saliva is something omnivorous and herbivorous animals possess” and the implication was if an animal doesn’t have salivary amylase ingesting plant matter burdens the pancreas. I posted a list of non carnivore plant eaters that don’t have salivary amylase. Should they not be eating plants?

    In regards to salivary amylase I find it reported in some rodents, lagomorphs, and primates. But

  • Shawna

    FANTASTIC article USA!!!

    I will definitely quote from this paper!! LOTS of good information and food for thought.. :)

    Thanks for posting this!!!

  • USA Dog Treats

    Hi Shawna

    Here’s another take on that study:

    http://www.happyhealthypets.co.za/1/post/2013/06/the-genomic-signature-of-dog-domestication-reveals-adaptation-to-a-starch-rich-diet-does-this-mean-dogs-are-supposed-to-eat-kibble-food.html

    In the article “The genomic signature of dog domestication reveals adaptation to a starch-rich diet (1)”,science has shown that domestic dogs today have the genes available to produce starch digesting enzymes, and absorb glucose efficiently. This is indisputable and to be expected, because if they did not they would have died out as soon as we started to feed them processed grain based diets. Most pellet food consists over 60% of processed grains. Some brands are better than others, but all are processed. Grains are mostly carbohydrate and some protein. Some animals have little trouble digesting and absorbing grain, others have huge problems, and just because they can, does not mean it is all that good for them.

    This article (1) just proves that through our feeding habits, the starch digesting gene AMY2B, which can produce Amylase, one of the main starch digesting enzymes, has been expressed more and more in our domestic animals. Naturally it would do so, as this is what the bodies have been exposed to. ADAPT OR DIE. The mere presence of this gene does not indicate that they are meant to digest starch, just that they have been repeatedly exposed to it over several generations. They show that levels of AMY2B range between 4 i.e. double that of the wolf control in some animals (probably ones fed little grains in their genealogical history – i.e. their parents and grandparents etc.) and up to 30 i.e. 15 times that of the wolf control (probably in animals fed grains over several generations). I would be more convinced if there was information on the overall health status of animals with 30 AMY2B gene expressions compared to those with only 4. The same goes for the MGAM gene, which they indicate is expressed 12 times more than in wolves, and is responsible for forming maltase, another starch digesting enzyme. The SGLT-1 gene is responsible for factors that help with glucose membrane transport, indicating that glucose can be used in domestic dogs as an energy source. This gene is shown to also have increased expression in dogs compared to wolves. To strengthen my argument that these gene adaptations are more recent, the authors confirm that they specifically looked for signals of strong RECENT gene selection and variation from wolves (1).

    In the last 30 years that many owners have intensively been feeding a mainly grain based processed diet, just how many dog and cat generations have been born? Many, many, more than human generations! Exposure to an agent will express a gene that reacts to that agent (2,3,4). The apparent increase in degenerative, auto-immune, and endocrine diseases as well as cancer (7) in our domesticated animals should be a warning to humans about what we are doing to our own health (5,6) . They may just be showing us what could happen to us, as we embark on eating a more highly refined carbohydrate and processed diet owing to the increase in fast and convenient food consumption in the human food chain. Difference is that we have a choice as to what we put in our bodies. Our pets don’t. We choose for them.

    This article does not address other factors in grains that cause mineral (8)and vitamin deficiencies (9).

    Proteins are indicated as the primary causes for allergies and reactions. As soon as a protein is heated its chemical structure changes as the protein is denatured. Human and animal bodies have evolved over centuries to digest specific chemical configurations, and if this is changed, the system will find it harder to digest. (10) Through a set of complex immunological reactions and owing to low grade gut inflammation that results from poorly digested food, these foreign proteins enter the blood stream and cause allergic reactions. (11)

    What is not discussed fully is the ACSM2A gene that initiates the fatty acid metabolism and is related to insulin resistance, which the article only briefly mentions. I would be more interested in this. I also notice that they make mention of 4 major genes selected for digestion in domestic dogs compared to wolves, 1 for starch metabolic process, 1 for starch catabolic process (breakdown process) and 4 for fatty acid and lipid metabolism. This would indicate to me that there could be even more selection for fatty acid metabolism than for starch metabolism. More information on this would have been welcome.

    So in summary: dogs have evolved to digest starch, owing to their scavenging nature and living alongside developing humans over many generations. This is true; however the level of carbohydrate exposure has dramatically increased over the last 30 odd years. Thousands of years of low grade carbohydrate exposure cannot make up for the sudden massive increase in carbo-loading over the last several canine generations. Human diets consisted mainly of meat, fruit and vegetables, and only since the advent of agriculture did grains become more prolific in the diet. Even then, it was never 60-80% of the total diet.

  • losul

    “The other 6 are omnivores/herbivores.”

    Really? which of the remaining 6 would you call omnivores?

    Out of those 6, I see no true omnivores. I see either specialist herbivores or ruminant herbivores and having other specialist herbivore systems, i.e. rumen, active cecums, etc. for digesting plant material.

  • aimee

    The second column from the right is the measurement of amylase in saliva from the species tested. The notation “b” under the chart explains what the level designations of + and ++mean.

    From the text “A total of 14 mammalian species was examined for the presence of amylase activity in saliva and ABB on the teeth. Of these, six species were found with amylase activity in their saliva: Cynomologus monkey, hamster, rat, rabbit, dog, and pig (Table 4). Amylase activity in these samples ranged from 0.6 to 17.7 U/pg of total salivary protein.”

    Of the 8 species in which salivary amylase wasn’t detected only 2 were carnivores. The other 6 are omnivores/herbivores.

    Should someone be telling all the omnivores and herbivores to stop eating carbs as they don’t have salivary amylase and therefore they are straining taxing and over burdening their pancreas?

    The lack of salivary amylase argument just makes no sense to me.

  • Shawna

    I was just looking to see what Hill’s considered the “ideal balance” for a “true carnivore”.

    “Chicken, Brown Rice, Yellow Peas, Brewers Rice, Pea Protein Concentrate,
    Chicken Fat, Dried Egg Product, Flaxseed, Chicken Liver Flavor, Lactic
    Acid, Vegetable & Fruit Blend (Green Peas, Apples, Cranberries,
    Carrots, Broccoli), Fish Oil,”

    Protein at 28% and fat at 19%.

    Yep, that looks like an appropriate diet for a true carnivore!!???

  • losul

    “we see these same traits in omnivores.”

    Just wondering who “we” is. I would bet that most of “us” do not see most of those traits in real omnivores.

    There’s no doubt in my mind that a dog’s traits are optimized for a primarily carnivorous diet.

  • losul

    Aimee, I fail to see any real relevance from that chart of “prevalence of amylase binding bacteria in the oral cavities of various mammals”

    I believe some bacteria produce amylase in order to feed on starches. How does that say whether a particular mammals salivary glands produce amylase or not?

    Your chart shows no amylase binding bacteria in pigs.

    from Cornell University;

    Salivary gland: Salivary amylase is found in high concentration in pigs, resultilng in high reference intervals for amylase in this species. Dogs lack salivary amylase.

    https://ahdc.vet.cornell.edu/clinpath/modules/chem/amylase.htm

  • Shawna

    So then you think the wolf should be an omnivore as well? For that matter, I think the kibble industry has demonstrated that cat’s CAN eat the diet of an omnivore. Purina Cat Chow is only 34% protein and 13% fat. That leaves a lot of carbs. And, I notice that soy and corn gluten make up some of the protein.

    I think way too much emphasis is put on omnivore/carnivore and not enough emphasis is put on evolutionary diet. You know I am a follower of Weston Price. He discovered that the diet wasn’t as important as was staying with the food traditionally eaten. Those in the Australian outback ate a different diet than the Inuit’s in Alaska or the Hunza in Pakistan. They were healthy as long as they ate the traditional diet.

    I also highly doubt that a lot of food was thrown out pre-industrialization. Surely “scraps” were a minor part of the dogs’ ancestors diet. Likely, in my opinion, more of a supplement to what they hunted. For the old and ill it may have been a mainstay but the old and ill wouldn’t have bred.

    Also pre-industrial grains were not eaten in the same manner they are now or even the same food they are now. Quality seems to be far less important. Making food cheap is where it’s at now.

  • aimee

    It seems to me the reasons people often cite as to why a dog should be considered a carnivore ( lack salivary amylase, dentition, length of GI tract etc are not valid reasons as we see these same traits in omnivores.

  • Shawna

    I do get the point you’re making. I don’t think it changes anything but I do get it, salivary amylase can not reliably be used to label something an herbivore, omnivore or carnivore.

  • aimee

    There are several points I’s disagree with in Dr Hofve’s article, but this is the one that interests me in regards to our current discussion( thought she doesn’t clarify what “primary” means): “the lack of salivary amylase reminds us that nature did not intend carbs to be their primary source of nutrition”

    If salivary amylase is to be a “line in the sand” in determining the carb content of the diet I’d expect to find salivary amylase in omnivores who take in a significant proportion of their energy needs from carbohydrate. But I’m finding little evidence that that is the case.

    Take for example the jackal, very close phylogeneticly to the dog yet very much an omnivore, does the jackal have salivary amylase? Does the maned wolf or the coyote or the bear or the raccoon?

    Do you have the reference for the mice on a raw diet having a smaller pancreas. I’ve only found the opposite: raw food larger pancreas do to trypsin inhibitor research.

  • Shawna

    You’ve often brought up the point that dogs aren’t wolves or humans or whatever. If we look at each individual omnivore/herbivore, we have to look at their entire digestive tract and eating style as well as dietary choices.

    Even though humans make dietary amylase the mantra, and I agree with it, is “chew your food well”. And there is no shortage of data suggesting an enzyme rich diet is healthful.

    The last of enzymes (be it oral amylase or in unprocessed foods) is an argument that is even made by vets. Dr. Jean Hofve discusses it on Only Natural Pet website http://blog.onlynaturalpet.com/2008/11/03/digestive-enzymes/ however it is this article by Dr. Hofve I want to quote from http://www.ivcjournal.com/articles/digestive-enzymes/

    “When heat destroys (“denatures”) the natural shape of enzymes, they become nonfunctional. In dogs and cats that eat heat-processed pet food, those enzymes are absent; the pancreas must provide all the enzymes needed to digest the food.

    In addition, commercial dry kibble is also much higher in carbohydrates than the carnivore’s natural prey diet. While cats’ and dogs’ pancreatic and intestinal tissues can and do produce amylases that are fully capable of digesting carbohydrates, the lack of salivary amylase reminds us that nature did not intend carbs to be their primary source of nutrition.

    “Evidence…strongly suggests that eating foods devoid of enzymes as a result of cooking, food irradiation, and microwaving causes an enlargement of the pancreas and also stresses associated endocrine glands….” writes Gabriel Cousens, MD, in his book Conscious Eating. “In all of nature, the human pancreas is three times larger, as compared to total body weight, than that of any other animal. What is interesting is that when mice are fed cooked foods, the ratio of their pancreas weight to total body weight becomes approximately that of a human’s. When they are switched back to a raw-food diet, their pancreas shrinks back to normal size. The most obvious conclusion is that the pancreas becomes hypertrophied, or enlarged, because it is forced to keep up a high digestive enzyme output.”

    Sorry for the length.

  • aimee

    It isn’t the verification that dogs do or do not have salivary amylase that interests me so much as it is the argument that a lack of salivary amylase “burdens” the pancreas.

    “Thus, feeding dogs as though they were omnivores taxes the pancreas”

    I think she is saying that omnivores have salivary amylase which is important to prevent “extra strain
    on it[pancreas]”

    The information I’m looking for and have not found is that all or most omnivores/herbivores have salivary amylase.

    For example do bears or raccoons or opossums have salivary amylase?

    In the article I cited not all herbivore/omnivores have salivary amylase so how can it be said if an animal without salivary amylase is fed carbohydrate it ” taxes the pancreas and places extra strain
    on it”. If salivary amylase is so important why don’t all omnivores/herbivores have it?

  • Shawna

    Do you remember (or did you read) me once stating that dogs can make salivary amylase if fed high starch foods for long periods of time. There is very little data on this but, in addition to yours, I found one other regarding dental caries in addition to the original article which I can no longer find.

    That said, it is far more common for dogs to be absent of salivary amylase based on almost all data available.

    Edit — hmmm, maybe that’s why Lab’s included the word “normally”..

  • aimee

    LabsRawsome. since you said “amylase in saliva is something omnivorous and herbivorous animals possess, but not carnivorous animals.” will you provide links to the research that supports your statement?

    It is something that has always interested me yet I find little on it.

    I found this article ( Scannapieco, 1994) in which the Cynomologus monkey, hamster, rat, rabbit, dog, and pig were positive for salivary amylase and the mouse, sheep, rat kangaroo, ferret, cat,goat and chinchilla were salivary amylase negative. In this group not all omnivores and herbivores were salivary amylase positive while the dog was positive.

  • Shawna

    There have been several that question the results of that study. Here’s one

    “They discovered the expression of the gene was higher in dogs than wolves, and the levels of amylase in the blood were higher in the dogs than in the wolves. And that’s where they left it.

    ….While the researchers did show the dogs have more genes coded for amylase than wolves, they didn’t explain the significance of the finding. What if a real omnivore (an animal designed to eat starchy foods) has 10,000 genes coding for amylase? In that case, 4 to 30 genes isn’t significant. But the study doesn’t go that far.

    ….Dr. Doug points out that those measures are dependent on the diet the animal is eating. We know from the study of nutrigenomics that an animal’s body can adapt to its diet by turning genes on and off, altering the expression of those genes.

    Wolves eat a diet high in meat, so it makes sense that their amylase genes are turned down. There won’t be many of those starch-processing enzymes in the bloodstream because Mother Nature knows better. By contrast, domestic dogs fed a high-starch diet will have those genes turned on. So as far as Dr. Doug is concerned, that part of the study was essentially meaningless.”

    The title of the next section of the video/article is “Study Bias in Favor of High-Starch Diets Leads to Faulty Assumptions” http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2013/11/18/high-starch-pet-diet.aspx

    Science has been able to demonstrate that fat is bad for you and that fat is good for you, that sugar is bad for you and that sugar is healthful and they even had science, in the day, suggesting cigarettes were healthful. Sometimes you have to review the science and then use your own critical thinking abilities to determine if it makes sense or not.

  • theBCnut

    The study found that domestic dogs has something like 2-14 times the numbers of amylase producing sites as wolves, which to me means that some handle starch slightly better than wolves and some handle starch quite a bit better than wolves, but that doesn’t mean they should be eating a diet that is primarily starch. I happen to have one that doesn’t handle starch well at all, one that handles starch fantastically, and one that is somewhere inbetween. Most people wouldn’t recognize the health issues that alert you to the fact that your dog doesn’t handle starch well and frankly, vets aren’t doing much better in that regard either.

  • Shawna

    You still need enzymes to digest starch. Processing breaks down the cellulose but the body still has to make adequate amylase to utilize the processed starch. And only certain forms of fiber “feed” the gut bacteria.

    I haven’t read your links yet but I will.

  • Shawna

    We’ve had A LOT of discussions on here about what wolves eat and 50% of their diet coming from berries has never been mentioned. I can re-post some of the links that have been brought up — yellowstone, fish & wildlife etc if you want.

    I have a dog that has had kidney disease for eight years eating a raw diet. I’m not aware of anyone feeding kibble that can report that??

    And vet Dr. Karen Becker interviews human and animal chiropractor Dr. Jeff Bergin who is a Newfie breeder. One of his bitches lived to age 17. That is MAJORLY impressive for a Newf. http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/04/05/how-a-newfoundland-pet-dog-reached-17-years.aspx

    I think healthy is often overstated. A dog that NEEDS flea/tick meds is not healthy. A dog that has arthritis is not healthy. Etc etc

  • theBCnut

    They made the regular 4Health all along, but when the grain free first came out Ainsworth was the only maker of it. The two newest flavors of the grain free are made by Diamond.

  • LabsRawesome

    Nor do dogs have the kinds of friendly bacteria that
    break down cellulose and starch for them. As a result, most of the
    nutrients contained in plant matter—even preprocessed plant
    matter—are unavailable to dogs
    . This is why dog food manufacturers
    have to add such high amounts of synthetic vitamins and minerals (the
    fact that cooking destroys all the vitamins and minerals and thus
    creates the need for supplementation aside) to their dog foods. If a
    dog can only digest 40-60% of its grain-based food, then it will only
    be receiving 40-60% (ideally!) of the vitamins and minerals it needs.
    To compensate for this, the manufacturer must add a higher
    concentration of vitamins and minerals than the dog actually needs.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    BTW this is an opinion.. not scientifically backed like the links I posted. Good try tho.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    Is there science backing that up ? Oh and did they ignore the fact – actual hard fact- that Wolves in the wild eat over 50% of a diet of berries all summer long – even when there is plenty of meat to be had ? Just happen to be opportunistic I guess. Like other’s have mentioned below- When you have dogs living 17 years over and over again on a Raw diet – then come and show everyone. I have to shake my head when I hear that people have GSDs living for 15+ years on Purina (puke) or Iamms.. I wouldn’t touch that with a 10 foot pole. But its more common than you think !! Being a breeder I hear story after story of their fantastic Shadow being feed junk food till the day they died – healthy at a very ripe old age.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    And thus why dog food starches are cooked.. there by reducing the amount of enzymes needed to process it.. its already pre-processed. Its ground and cooked.. can’t get more simplified than that.. and its more than just that..its also a fiber- considering that the meat and bone has been ground up. Higher fiber gives yeast something to feast on and good bacteria eats the yeast- which releases the nutrients. I totally get you with Pancreatic overload, we don’t want that.. so important to feed a BALANCED diet and not one that is exclusive of grain – or basically ‘Chicken flavored corn’ that gives me the hebie jeeves. But anyways ignore the Science biased and tested links if you want.. but everyone else can read it. I won’t just rely on faith, I need proof and must make sure I am doing the right thing for my dogs. I was here just checking out this food (loyall) I am actually a long term Diamond Pet brand buyer – say 15 years. We buy mostly Nutra Nuggets/Kirkland/Natures Domain, 4health, Taste of the Wild, and the Diamond brands like Beef and Rice and Lamb and Rice. Depends on what we are doing with our dogs, if we have litters, who the litters are out of and what store we happen to be at.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    Ainsworth- I don’t know why it wouldn’t mention the grain free formula. I believe you as sometimes manufactures have things done cheaper by using other’s facilities. And maybe its something done back east vs out west ?
    Geographic markets served: North America
    Key product categories: Dry dog food , Wet dog food , Dog treats/snacks , Dry cat food
    Brands: Dad’s, Ainsworth, Back to Basics, Enhance, VF Complete, The Source, Rachel Ray Nutrish, Better Than, Kibble Select,
    Number of production plants: 2
    Number of facilities overall: 2
    Number of employees: 565
    Annual revenue in US$: USD 250000000
    http://www.petfoodindustry.com/AinsworthPetNutrition.html You have to sign up to this website to use it, but it was simple to do.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    We have the California Diamond plant around the corner, they just moved to a bigger facility. They had made the 4health all along. This is what Petfoodindustry.com says about them -Geographic markets served: North America
    Key product categories: Dry dog food , Wet dog food , Dog treats/snacks , Dry cat food , Wet cat food
    Brands: Diamond, Diamond Naturals, Taste of the Wild, Kirkland Signature (Costco), Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover’s Soul, 4Health (Tractor Supply), NutraGold
    Number of production plants: 3
    Number of facilities overall: 3
    Number of employees: 200
    Annual revenue in US$: USD 35000000

  • LabsRawesome

    Dogs do not normally produce the necessary
    enzymes
    in their saliva (amylase, for example) to start the break-down of
    carbohydrates and starches; amylase in saliva is something omnivorous
    and herbivorous animals possess, but not carnivorous animals. This
    places the burden entirely on
    the pancreas, forcing it to produce large amounts of amylase to deal
    with the
    starch, cellulose, and carbohydrates in plant matter. Thus, feeding
    dogs as
    though they were omnivores taxes the pancreas and places extra strain
    on it, as it must work harder for the dog to digest the starchy,
    carbohydrate-filled food instead of just producing normal amounts of
    the enzymes needed to digest proteins and fats (which, when fed raw,
    begin to “self-digest” when the cells are crushed through chewing and
    tearing and their enzymes are released).

  • LabsRawesome
  • Whisper Love Gray
  • Whisper Love Gray
  • LabsRawesome

    The 3 original grain free formulas of 4health are made by Ainsworth. Turkey, Beef, and Whitefish. The 2 newer grain free 4health Duck & Pork recipes and ALL of the original grain inclusive formulas of 4health are made by Diamond. I have contacted (by phone) Ainsworth as well as Diamond. And I was given this same info by both companies.

  • LabsRawesome

    Dogs have a definite carnivorous bias. Dogs have no biological need for carbs. I don’t know where you got the idea that I breed dogs. I do not.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    Dimond makes it, doesnt matter who owns the formula.

  • Whisper Love Gray

    Dogs are NOT carnivores. Cats are carnivores. Domesticated dogs are very high functional omniovores from a scavanger background. Plenty of studies have been done showing that doga can and do process carbs. If your breeding dogs cant, maybe its your breeding program not dogs in general.

  • theBCnut
  • LabOwner

    What do you guys recommend that i feed my 7 month old lab?

  • theBCnut

    It’s due to be updated in June.

  • luvlabs

    Have you considered doing a new review on Loyall dog food? The current ingredient list is different than that on this page. Not sure what
    date the current ingredient list you have is from, but is now changed.
    A new review would be appreciated to help pet owners decide. Thanks so much!

  • Pattyvaughn

    She is paid to believe it with all her heart…

  • Riley

    I witnessed A Nutrena representative blatantly lie to customers about by-products being ‘very high quality’ and the corn being ‘cooked in a way that I is digestible’ I asked her what type of poultry the ‘high quality by-products’ came from and she had no answer. She told
    Me that her ‘supervisor’ told her that they were required to label the ‘ high quality ‘ poultry meal as a by-product but it wasn’t actually a by-product. According to her, it was just chicken meal. She made sense and has no idea what she was talking about. She tried getting people, anyone and everyone to switch from quality brands to this crap. It was appalling.

  • tonia

    My experience.. I picked this up at feed store packaging was good and I liked that it clearly stated calories also was a little cheaper.. ( didn’t do my homework first) feed for about two weeks and returned it when back to eagle pack, 24 hours after scooping the yard it looked like it hadn’t been done in a week or so.. didn’t work out for my dogs

  • Corlin Mitchell Merritt

    Ha I am not so sure I had my pit bull terrier on weight maintenance and she has had loose stools to the point she is having accidents in the house. She is really good about not going in the house… Our 2 year old does great on the lamb and rice. I think I am taking her off dog food until I can get her stools more regulated. very disappointing that the first ingredient is by products and it has corn in it which dogs can’t digest…….(Didn’t realize this or they wouldn’t be on it.) The husband has been buying this band for years. Think it might be time for a change….

  • Therese L

    You may want to consider dogs are living shorter lives because of over vaccines more than dog food changes. I would imagine your father before you likely barely ever vaccinated his dogs. You might ask about that. My grandfather before me did minimal vaccines and fed crap and our animals lived very long lives, they were farm dogs and got scrap meat and veggies added into feed store corn based kibble. Once we started the over vaccination and flea treatment, heart worm, tick prevention we began poisoning our dogs. We would never put that much stuff in our own systems. Our troops that are sent out are over vaccinated research what that has done to our young men and women returning with autoimmune related illnesses and cancer. You might just be barking up the wrong tree on this one, no offense just my opinion.

  • Pingback: Satisfaction with Dog Food Choice.....Loyal

  • Fred

    loyall is manufactured by a animal nutrition company, cargill, that has dozens of phds doing the research and formulation. Why do people e enlistments idiots like on this website who know nothing? Opinions are like &$@holes everyone has one. But I trust companies who make a living with people and animal nutrition, like cargill. I have fed loyall active adult for over 5 years. Great haircoat, healthy, small firm stools. Le these blowhards who think they understand nutrition spout off. The results are in the bag with loyall.

  • Annie

    Very true. Been feeding Kirkland for awhile and have had excellent results

  • Yoki

    My 2 miniature schnauzers do very well on the Lamb Meal and Rice. This brand is what the breeder was using so I continued. Today I went into a new pet store and bought ACANA just because it is too far to travel to get the Loyall (only one place sells it in Charlotte, NC). With my salt/pepper having such a sensitive stomach this was recommended. I must say I did a 75/25 % mix of the old to new food, and my dogs gobbled it up. I will see how their stools appear today and tomorrow. I must agree with the others, there is no loose stool using Loyall and my 2yo and 1 yo both have no health issues; shiny coats; and very little tartar build up. I am looking forward to seeing how the ACANA works for variety. I only buy the Lamb Meal formula by Nutrena b/c it has a schnauzer picture on it-which made me think it was specifically made for this breed. However, my schnauzers do get tired of eating the Lamb Meal formula.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi krazybronco, I think all my screws are pretty tight. :) I recommend 4health grain free, it is made by Ainsworth. NOT Diamond. I doubt you have a degree in nutrition. But, whatever. I don’t need any degrees to know what foods are species appropriate for dogs. And I can’t believe that someone who supposedly has a degree in animal nutrition would choose to feed Loyall dog food. There isn’t even 1 ingredient in this “food” that is species appropriate for a carnivore. AND it also has Menadione in it. Look up that nasty ingredient, and see how bad it is for your dog, Genius. “Complete nutrition”? LOL.

  • krazybronco

    after looking at your other replys to others and recommending 4health. you have to a screw loose. i would never recommend 4 health to any one. if you did some research on this site you would see the recalls 4 healths parent company has had, also 4 health was recalled. just looking at this site and a quick google search loyall has yet to be recalled. 4 health maybe “better food” but not in my book with the recalls.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recall/diamond-dog-food-recall-expands-again/

    also might want to get your info from someone that knows food not teeth. which i did because my GF (degree from tx a&m in nutrition and a masters in animal science from osu) explained and taught alot to me when i was choosing a dog food and loyall has more complete protien and fat than pro plan 30/20 and eukanuba 30/20. i didnt care about price i cared about recalls and complete nutrition. but i will admit i add a fish oil pill to my dogs food for the DHAs (it helps thier eyes and brain) because very few foods provide the amout of DHAs a dog truely needs to see and train for HT and hunting.

  • LabsRawesome

    Well if feeding my dogs species appropriate foods is considered ignorant, I guess I’m busted. Dogs are carnivores, and should be fed as such. Which means they should be fed meat. The only “meat” in Loyall food is “poultry by-product meal”, if you consider that meat. Do your dogs a favor, put them on a better food, with some actual meat in it. Instead of this cheap crap, that is all grain. You might think your dogs do well on Loyall, but if you put them on a diet of canned meat, and add some fresh meat, fish, and eggs. You will see what your dogs can really do. Good luck.

  • Jpc

    Wow…Funny how you call others ignorant!! Loyall is a great food, I train labs for hunt tests and field trials and all my dogs do great on Loyall….I work with hard charging working labs and nutrition is key and Loyall provides everything they need and more. You are the ignorant one, you have bought into the hype of all these over priced and over marketed dog food company’s! Good luck.

  • LabsRawesome

    Exactly! :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    And why sign on as Lab Lover if you don’t love them enough to want better for them?

  • LabsRawesome

    Seriously, I read Lab Lover’s post, and I was like, what the hell? Why would someone want to start out with a 4 star food, and down grade to a 2.5 star food? I mean if 4health didn’t work for them, fine. But I wouldn’t feed Loyall to my dogs even if it was free. I guess I’m just crazy like that. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re “THRILLED” to be feeding your pups this trash?! And “highly recommending” this product shows just how ignorant you are. Hopefully you find them good homes, where they are fed something better than this crap. Roadkill would be a step up. Poultry by-product meal, ground whole corn, brewers rice, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), ground whole wheat, dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, whole flaxseed,

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I somehow doubt that the peas were causing your dogs to have loose stools, but if they were there are many foods that have received a better rating than Loyall, that are around the same price as Loyall/4Health and that don’t contain peas: Diamond Naturals Chicken and Rice, Diamond Naturals Lamb Meal & Rice, Eagle Pack, Pro Pac, Victor’s grain-inclusive formulas, Professional, NutriSource grain-inclusive, etc.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If firm stools are your only concern, then congratulations, more power to you. If however, the long term health of your dog matters to you, you might want to consider again the igredients in this food.

  • Lab Lover

    I just switched from 4 Health foods to Loyall. 4 Health puppy food was giving a lot of my puppies loose stools. Our vet said that the peas in the 4 Health food was more than likely causing the problem. Some puppies and dogs have problems digesting the peas (doesn’t set well with them). So we tried Loyall ….even though this website gave it a low rating. All I can say is …..that I AM THRILLED!!!!!! All of those same puppies now have FIRM stools!!! They love it and eat it right up! Highly Recommend!!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve got working dogs, Border Collies. And one of them would do fine on whatever I gave him, including cheap garbage. The other one has problems with grain based and high carb foods, serious problems. I feed both of them the best food that I can afford, just like I do with my kids. They both earn it. But as I’ve said before, you have to go with what works for your dog.

  • dogger

    By the way Rice has to have waaaaaaay more pesticides and crap harmful to your dogs than corn. It is a much riskier and more susceptible crop to disease. Just ask any 3rd year chemist working in the industry around the Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi region. I know that I will get all kinds of grief over this post, but that is cool. Cause maybe a few will just use a bit of common sense vs. the typical being led by what they see in marketing.

  • Dogger

    I hate these dang sites. People say do your research. But the internet has made information so abundant that people do their research and still get bad info. Funny thing is how many people that have WORKING dogs are giving positive feed back. I am 3rd generation with working dogs and I remember when the drive for rice started. I talked to my pops about it and changing the food. He said something very simple to me. Son if corn is the problem it is not the corn, but what they have done to the corn with pesticides and gene mutation. How do I know that? Well because my father before me fed corn based foods and the dogs lived to be 17-20 yrs old and some even into their 20’s. Sparky was 23 yrs when he passed and worked until 19. Now my generation that age was backed down to 13-18 yrs. And I see now that dogs are living to be 10-13 yrs. So what has happened. If all these dog foods are so much better then why are dogs living such fewer years? Why did cancer used to be known in a few breeds like Boxers, but now is prevalent in all breeds? Why did you never used to see a dog with patches of missing hair unless it had mange? Now it is common place. Why did stools used to turn white and ground into powder the next day? Now they stay greasy for several days before drying out and takes a month if your willing to leave it and watch it turn white and powder? Obviously everyone has to clean stools up now, but when I was a kid that was not part of owning dogs. So how are the foods more digestible and better today if they do not have corn. Every food we ever fed had corn in it back in the day. Corn based foods were all there were.

    Funny thing is now I have even seen where they did research to prove rice was better and more digestible and the findings were just the opposite. The corn based dogs were digesting better and were showing signs of better health. But you have to dig hard to find that type of stuff. Why? Because the rice industry that paid for the research buried it. Just like they bury negative findings about corn. Just like the recent ads telling us that the body can not tell the difference between high fructose corn syrup and regular sugar.

    You see the real problem is that all research is paid for by a company that is looking to use it to make money. So if the findings are not what they want then they bury the research or change or alter the research to get the results they want. No one pays for research that they will not get their money back and turn a profit. That is just the way the world goes round.

    In short let me say that I have fed Wysong that only comes in 8# foil sealed bags bundled together to make larger quantities. Supposedly all top ingredients and one of the greatest foods. Arguably the best food out there. You know what happened. The bitch I tested it on first would not touch the stuff. I continued for about a week to mix it with her other food and found her picking at it trying to get her old food. So I went cold turkey with the Wysong. Guess what she starved herself for three days and never touched a bite. Got so hungry I couldn’t keep her from eating grass and sticks and anything she could find in her kennel. And when I let her out to run that was all she did was nose to the ground trying to scavenge scat or whatever she could find. Tried it on bitch 2 with very similar results. Except bitch 2 finally gave in and started eating it only to get bloody stools. Which I am sure was from the flora of her stomach having wasted away by the time she started to eat it. So I did the usual pumpkin and a little cottage cheese and metamucil. You know what she did then? She started trying to survive by just eating them. So I had to mix it with her food. As soon as I got the stools hard and tried to go back to the straight food — well she stopped eating.

    I have tried many different high dollar foods with similar results. The latest of which were Blue Buffalo (Just a cool name had to try it. LOL) and Castor Pollux. Which gave me the same type of results. So I have to agree with one of the posters that said what good is it if they won’t eat it. Someone then responded to her well it is better than letting your kids eat McDonalds just because they prefer it. But if I take them to Red Lobster for a week and they won’t eat it, and out of stubbornness I won’t let them have McD’s either; so they start eating out of dumpsters. Then which is worse? You can not keep an eye on your dogs 24/7 and if they are going to be eating whatever they can get into their systems to stop the hunger pain over the red lobster then that is pretty bad.

    In closing I will say it is all a load of hog wash. I fed Diamond for near 20 yrs until they started trying to please these types of sites and supposedly made their food a bit higher quality. Guess what my dogs went to gas and sloppy stools. And after a few years of trying every food they had I just gave up being a customer and went to Sport Mix after trying a bunch of foods they would not eat. Sport Mix did well and then they changed and my dogs started getting lame after long days. So I went to Loyall and so far so good. But to be honest every time someone has had a problem with a puppy and loose stools and transition over the last 40 years I have suggested Pedigree to them and it has always fixed the issue inside of 24 hrs. That is an awfully quick recovery. My wife asked me one time why I don’t just feed Pedigree since it always works. I had to confess that I even get caught up in this crap and feel it is not high enough protein for my working dogs. LOL

  • Edson

    I recently changed my dogs food from a 80 dollar 30 lb bag brand to Loyall professional formula. I was very concern about it because I always gave my dogs the “best ” expensive food however I am extremely pleased with Loyall professional formula, my dogs are exited and happy at feeding time and their coat, muscle, and activity level are better that before, specially since me and george my catahoula mix run about 5 to 8 miles every day. I am surprise this dog food has that low rating. I must say expensive is not always the best option, but this is just my experience and I wanted to share it Thanks!!

  • beaglemom

    All dogs may be different but all of them also need quality nutrition each day just like you and me. I would never feed this to my dogs.

  • JellyCat

    CHAR, taking a tour of a plant that makes dog food with low quality ingredients is not going to change the fact that the food is poor quality.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I want to read the positives and negatives for myself and make my own decision. And you’re right it might turn someone away from using this food. In my opinion that would be a good thing.

  • InkedMarie

    First, please stop using all capitals. It’s yelling in the internet world. Second, great you love this food but that doesn’t make it a good food. The ingredients speak for themselves. I have no personal experience with this food; I never will, it’s not up to my personal standards of what to feed my dogs. That doesn’t mean I can’t comment negatively about the ingredients because i can.

  • CHAR

    WE CAN FIND NEG. IN ALL DOG FOODS, LIKE I SAID DO YOUR OWN RESERCH. ALL DOGS ARE DIFFERNT AND HAVE DIFFERENT NEEDS. WITH THE NEG. YOU MAY BE TURNING AWAY A PERSON WHO THIS FOOD WORKS FOR.

    MAY GOD BLESS

  • Pattyvaughn

    Why would you tell someone to not write negative comments? No one would ever know if there was a problem with a food if everyone ignores all the negatives and only writes the positives. I would rather know that someone had a bad experience than for all my info to be whitewashed. I’m capable of deciding for myself if I want to make a decision based on what I read on the internet. I don’t need you to filter for me.

  • CHAR

    I HAVE BEEN USING LOYALL FOR 8 YEARS, AFTER BREEDING DOGS FOR 40 YRS, I’VE TRIED THEM ALL.I’LL STICK WITH WHAT WORKS FOR ME.

  • CHAR

    YOU KNOW ANYBODY CAN BE A RETAILER,I KNOW OF HARDWARE STORES WHO SELL IT, I EVEN FOUND A SPORTING GOODS STORE. JUST BECAUSE THEY LIKE A PRODUCT DOESN’T MEAN THEY HAVE SOMETHING THEY HAVE IN THEIR STOREIS BEING USED IN IT.SOMEONE IN THE STATION MAY BE A DOG BREEDER, AND LIKES THE PRODUCT.

  • CHAR

    I JUST HAD TO MAKE A COMMENT, I’VE BEEN RAISING DOGS FOR 40 YRS. I’VE HAD STOOL, GAS, FLEA,NUTRITIONAL,HAIR LOSS,ALERGYS. I HAVE BEEN USING LOYALL FOR 8 YRS NOW, AND HAVEN’T HAD ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS SINCE. NOW DOGS ARE LIKE PEOPLE ,THEY ARE ALL DIFFERENT, I HAVE A CARGIL PLANT DOWN THE ROAD, YOU CAN TAKE A TOUR, THEY ARE ALL OVER THE US. YOU CAN ALSO TAKE THE FOOD TO BE CHECKED AND TALK TO YOUR VET. HE WILL SAY IF IT WORKS ,USE IT IF NOT DON’T. IF YOU HAVE SOMETHING THAT WORKS, WRITE A COMMENT,IT MAY HELP SOMEONE.DON’T WRITE NEG. . LIKE I SAID ALL DOGS ARE DIFFERENT.

  • Linda D

    I have fed Loyall Lamb & Rice for 5+ years to our dogs and rescues that we foster. ALL of them have looked amazingly better (coat, eyes, energy, weight) within as little as 5-6 weeks. I buy the 40lb bags for $35- at the feed store which is great since I buy 3-4 bags at a time. At night I split one canned food with gravy among them for a special dinner time treat. They all eliminate well and are happy dogs.

    I was very disheartened when I saw the 2.5 stars and the information about rice sometimes containing arsenic. Does that include the rice we eat also? Anyway I felt like I should run out and immediately buy a new food but I had 160 pounds of it so what was I to do?? I’ve researched and found a couple others I may look into but I’m really satisfied with the results from Loyall Lamb & Rice.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Breeding animals and puppies need better nutrition. Unfortunately dog food companies are in it for the money so they are going to tell you that their food is good enough. You have to really learn about reading dog food labels if you are going to breed quality animals.

  • http://www.facebook.com/francis.andrews.14 Francis Andrews

    I’ve had 2 litters of pups get in trouble on the Lloyal puppy food in the last week. I am very sick too and my doc is running test to see if I may have samonella. The pups are better, but only because we finally realized what was happening.

  • http://www.facebook.com/francis.andrews.14 Francis Andrews

    Just a word of advice for my lab friends. Stan and I have both been feeding Lloyal Puppy food for some time now. My pups go home with the puppy kits etc. Yesterday I delivered 4 pups with loose stool very loose. But I thought it mite have something to do with the vaccine a couple of days back. 2 called my last nite to say there was a spot of blood in the stool. Last week I took the smallest male to my vet for the same loose stool and he gave me albon, but said there was not a thing in the stool that was causing that problem.

    Last nite Stan called to say his pups all had very loose BM and he switched them over to adult food yesterday. Today all has cleared up. I switched mine over to adult temporarily until I can change the food for another puppy food. I also wrote Lloyal an email last nite, but will follow up today or tom with phone call.

    One of the new owners called me this am to say he saw a tinge of blood so went to the vet this morning. His vet says the puppy’s BM is clear of everything, NO worms, NO coccidiosis, but the loose stool and he changed pup over to gastro canned food for the time being. So this tells me it the FOOD, 2 vets and myself and Stan all agree the food is the problem. I have called everyone and recommended they stop the Lloyal. This has happened now 3 times to me in 12 yrs and I am personally sick of it. Dog food is becoming a real issue at my house. I’m going back perhaps to my old cooking routine, combined with some raw food.

    But I wanted anyone here feeding Lloyal Puppy to beware today. I still have 2 pups left here, and I am going to hold onto them for a while until I make certain all this has cleared. They are sold but I am not willing to let them go under these conditions for the time.

  • cin3dee

    Oh I like that idea too sandy. I will get the pumpkin puree. Yes she is coming with a weeks worth of food.  

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You might also pick up some probiotics/digestive enzymes to help with the transition to the new food.  Is the pup going to come with some of the current food that it’s being fed?  If not some pure pumpkin puree or some ground psyllium (like metamucil) will help with the loose stools that come with changing foods cold turkey.  I’ve been fostering for almost 4 years now and they never come with their “previous” food!

  • cin3dee

    Thanks Patty  I really think that makes sense to switch things up. I picked a five star food for her just now at Petco.  Hope she likes it as its costly!  

  • Pattyvaughn

    When changing foods start with a small bag until you know how it’s going.  Get a small bag of what the pup is used to and a small bag of what you want to change to.  Don’t start to change until you’ve given the pup a chance to settle in(a couple days), then slowly start mixing a little of the new food in with the old.  When you get to 50/50 you should have an idea how it’s going.  It’s usually easier to switch foods on a pup than it is on an older dog that has been on the same food for a long time.

    Something to consider, pick a few different foods that you like and keep rotating through them to keep your pup’s gut healthy.  Staying on the same food long term does not allow the widest variety of probiotics to live in the gut and that is detrimental to the immune system.

  • cin3dee

    Yeah Thanks Bryan.. I was thinking same thoughts. I guess I just want to bring this large bag of food back to Petco and get a five star food.  I dont have the puppy yet so its hard to know what to get. Trial and error I guess, as long as its not error with her health and only with her taste buds!  

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    Like just about everything else in life you’ll have people for something, and other people against that same “something”. It’s our job to educate ourselves and make an informed decision.

    Keep in mind that there’s not one great food for everybody. Just like humans, dogs are all different and may not like the same thing or do well on the same thing. That’s what leads to negative comments about a number of good foods.

    In my opinion Royal Canin is junk, and Loyall isn’t a whole lot better. Look at the 4-5 star foods and see which fit your budget and your dog’s dietary needs (meaning if it’s allergic or intolerant of certain ingredients).

  • cin3dee

    I bought a huge bad of Royal for my new puppy I am getting on friday. I thought the breeder was feeding this one , but she decided to go with Loyall. Now i am SO confused after going on this website. SO many reviews but even the 5 star foods have lots of negative scary comments. This site I feel has made me even MORE confused and worried now. UGGG  not sure at this point I trust ANY of them but I dont have the time or money to feed all raw. 

  • Guy

    I have 10 Pointing Dogs and compete them in AKC / AF field trials. Conditioning is a important part of my program.  I have used the Loyall product for the last 3 years with success.  I road my dogs (in harnesses) 5 miles, 3 times a week and their stamina and energy are very good. Their stools are firm and small and the eat the food with gusto.  No problems with coats or maintaining weight.  The texture of the feed appears to be keeping their teeth in good shape..which is important when is costs at least $200 for cleanings at my vet.  I am very happy with this product and its price point.

  • Lauren

    I’ve had the same result Ruth. This is the only food I’ve found that prevents my dogs diarrhea. I feed the Lamb and rice though which they did not rate. They only rated the base level food. The lamb and rice is $10 more per bag and has much different ingredients.

  • HerdingDogRescuer

    I tried this food a year ago, before I knew about this site and less about the dog food industry. I started a transition regiment with about 20-30% Loyall and my other food. All 3 of my dogs got diarrhea the very next day. I immediately stopped their food. I contacted them and was told it’s because it’s “so nutrient dense”. What a joke. Loyall is a Cargill company and they use the waste products from their vast ag industries to make this crap they call food. Steer WAY clear of this garbage. Their website looks pretty polished, but it’s all for show.

  • K42744

    Compare this with Science Diet, & Royal Canin, sadly there’s not much of the difference. 

  • InkedMarie

    I’m so very sorry for your loss :(

  • Kweeks1

    I wish I had found this website before our dog died last Monday, he started eating from a nestaff of the lite 3 days prior to his death. Ive tried to feed our other dog whom is normally very hungry but he hesitantly eats i t, I really think it is tainted. Conversly, my surviving dog gobbled up the call of the wild food i purchased this afternoon with a thankful look in his eye after he was fed tonight.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Ash_velez, look around on this site at the 4 star rated foods. A few that I would recommend are 4health (Tractor Supply) Hi Tek-Naturals, and Victor dog food. Make sure you buy puppy or all life stages.  :)

  • Ash_velez

    I purchased the loyall puppy food for my 6 month old Australian Cattle Dog, he immediately had a change in appetite. He refuses to eat it unless something is mixed in it. He scratches himself constantly to the point of a hotspot. I would not recommend this food at all. Complete waste of money.

  • InkedMarie

    Yep, sounds like a wonderful food eh? Not.

  • Dog Food Ninja

     Okay, where to begin… there’s wheat, which is one of the worst dog food ingredients.  Brewer’s rice, a by-product.  There’s hydrolyzed citric acid which I guarantee you have free glutamic acid in it.  The bad synthetic vitamin K.  Wheat middlings, a floor sweeping of the cereal grain industry.  Generic poultry by-product meal.  This food is trash.  I think the extra half star is very generous of the good doctor.   

  • Dog Food Ninja

     LOL!!!

    Lamb meal, brewers rice, poultry by-product meal,
    ground whole wheat, rice bran, poultry fat (preserved with mixed
    tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, whole
    flaxseed, dried egg product, extracted hydrolyzed citric acid
    fermentation presscake dehydrated, menhaden fish meal, wheat middlings,
    bentonite, salt, vitamins: (vitamin A supplement, vitamin D3 supplement,
    vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate,
    riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate,
    folic acid, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K
    activity), biotin, vitamin B12 supplement), sodium hexametaphosphate,
    propionic acid (for freshness), monocalcium phosphate, potassium
    chloride, minerals: (zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc amino acid
    complex, iron amino acid complex, copper sulfate, manganese sulfate,
    manganese amino acid complex, ethylenediamine dihydriodide, sodium
    selenite), brewers dried yeast, yucca schidigera extract, mixed
    tocopherols, citric acid, rosemary extract.

  • Dog Food Ninja

     well, just by the name alone… “Loyall Lamb Meal and Rice Formula 23/14″… I can already tell you there’s not enough meat in it.  But, give me a sec…

  • Lbl07

    Please review the lamb & rice version. As another poster noted the ingredients are very different then the one reviewed here.

  • R M

    I’d like to see a updated rating, especially on the Professional food, since the ingredients have changed some……….

  • FruityBizzles

    i give my pit loyall lamb and rice.  it is a better quality then the rest of the loyall line.  lamb meal, not by-product is the main source of meat product.  also, there is no corn in it.  i rescued my pit and the shelter fed him purina for the almost two months he was there.  after a two weeks with the lamb and rice his coat was fuller and shiny, he also put on some weight and is now a healthy dog.  

  • Karen Covington088

    A garbage/slaughterhouse waste food. I would never feed this trash to my furbabies. My show heifers even turn their noses up to nutrena cubes.

  • Woodj7

    My dogs love Loyall dog food and are doing great on it. I do beleive the Opti-cook method they use makes it very tasty and digestible. I could not be happier with the the way my dogs are doing on it and the price is helping our family budget.  

  • Bob K

    guest –  You must have a huge Lab that gets lots of exercise or you overfed your dog Proplan for 3 years, then you overfed him TOTW now you feed him Lloyal which he does not like as much but you are saving money, his coat looks great and has less gas.  Which specific formulas were you feeding your Lab?  How did he do on ProPlan?  Why did you transition him off ProPlan?    

  • guest

    For the first three years I fed my lab purina pro plan He was up to 5c per day (split between two feedings) as an adult.  I then tried taste of the wild at twice the price and he was eating his 5 cups and asking for seconds.   I have sinced changed to the Lloyal brand, feeding 2 cups per day,  and eventhough it was only givin a 2.5 star ratingon this site I’m having much better results.  He has been on it now for 3 years and is coat and gas problem have seemed to be resolved. 

  • Pingback: Stay away from this food!

  • Pups

    I have a dozen dogs on 3 Loyall formulas and I just love them. I have used them all over the years and this food gives the best results. Best coats, best endurance, least poop, white teeth, clean ears and extremely palatable.  A site like this can be very misleading because none of the reviews are actual tests, rather just a reading of the label.  This food is great!!!  Ruth, this food is very digestible and that is why your dogs have small, odorless poop. Poop odor is large undigested protein.

  • David Brown

    I recently tried Loyall and all 3 of my dogs got bad diarrhea after 1 day on this food. I blended it at about 25-30% of Loyall with the reminder their regular food for 2 meals. But when all three got BAD diarrhea I pulled it. After exploring Dogfoodadvisor.com I can see why they had issues. I don’t think I want to feed my boys slaughter house waste and corn anymore. Several years ago they were on Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul and they did just wonderful on that, but when we moved we couldn’t find it. I found it in a local store and will be buying that from now on. I would recommend to all to steer clear of Loyall.

  • Ruth

    My Great Pyrenees love Loyall! It has been the only food I have found that keeps their stools firm. Top of the line $65 a bag dog foods are what they grew up on but they were always gassy. I was so happy when someone recommended this food to me. They have shiny coats and white teeth. They poop less and there is very little odor. I always thought that was the sign of a good dog food. Please dig deeper into this product. I would like to know why it helps with firmer stools.

    Thank you

  • Becky

    I would also like to say that I find Kirkland Brand dog food, ( Costco product), a highly economical and above average feed. The problem with feeding it, is they unvariably keep dog food at the back of the warehouse and there is no way I can go into costco for just dog food, and come out with just dog food. A trip to the store for a $25 bag of dog food inevitably ends up costing me $100 in other stuff I didn’t realize I couldn’t live without. :)

  • Becky

    I have been a long time fan of Diamond Brand dog food as I felt it to be an above average food for an economical price. Recently though, they took a huge jump in price so I began to look for something else. I decided to give Loyall a try for my six month old pup. I have been very pleased with the result. I thought this pup was just going to be a gassy dog but after a few weeks on the Loyall the flatulance has diminished a great deal, his stools are firmer and smaller and he eats it with great relish, moistened or dry. I have to admit when I decided to check on line for comparisons I was a bit deflated by the low scores but am happy to see the positive feedback from users. That to me is worth more than anything else.

  • ss

    Some of the finest hunting dogs in the country eat this food. For $35 for 50lbs it is a great deal. The “red flags” you mentioned are not really “red flags” because there is not one shred of evidence that the ingredient does any harm. It is true that if a dog has a real sensitivity or allergy to wheat then maybe it is not a good choice, but that dog is 1 in a 1000.

    This is great choice if you have many mouths to feed.

    My local store says it has much higher repeat buying by all types of pet owners than Orijen.

  • Mike P

    9 red flag items in this food and the great results ?? pretty amazing considering they used to eat a 5 star food before .

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    i am getting twice the results at half the price

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    i fed them taste of the wild

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    i forgot to add that, my cats also prefer the loyall dog food over their cat food. They sneak into the dogs bowls and eat with them and now the cats gleam too!

  • Bob K

    marsha – What did you previously feed your dogs before Loyall? If they were eating a 1 star food then Loyall would be a nutritional step up for your loved ones. Now that you are aware of this website how about moving to a 4 or 5 star food.

  • marsha gibson-luttrell

    after feeding my dogs what i thought was high quality food, i attended a working dog demonstartion and was given sample bags of loyall. I mixed it with my dogs food and every one of them picked out the loyall and left their own food behind. I have 3 jack russells a chocolate lab and an english bulldog. Results speak for themselves. My dogs now have gleaming coats, bright eyes, and smaller firmer stools. It has drastically decreased the gassiness of my bulldog. They didnt get such dramatic results from their other food. Peoplle ask me what i feed my dogs and i tell them. My neighbor has a variety of breeds also, when i recommended loyall she switched and had the same dramatic results i did. Also being a horse owner i was already familiar with nutrena, and have always found their horse, chicken, and rabbit feed to be of good quality. You only have to look at my critters to see what they get on the inside really shows on the outside! I highly recommend loyall!

  • alicia

    I bought my first bag of Loyall Lamb and Rice today. I have a BullMastiff with horrible allergies, a Pit Bull (that has never had a problem), and fostering a Black Lab/Boxer mix, and a Beagle. The BullMastiff is the problem. He eats large quantities of food and it is a constant battle with his skin. I bet I have tried every food sold at Petco. No matter what the Pit Bull adapted to it well. I gave up on high priced foods and went to a feed store to see what they had. Main concern is beef and corn. I started feeding Diamond Lamb and Rice 2 mos ago. OMG!!! The Mastiff’s hair is falling out by the hand fulls and is itching all over. The Pit Bull’s hair is falling out by the hand fulls. The Beagles hair is falling out by the hand fulls. And the poor Lab/Boxer mix came here fine and now has constant loose stools and her hair is falling out by the hand fulls. She has been vetted recently and was checked. No parasites. No bacterial or viral intestinal infections. It’s the food!!! I have to say Diamond has been the worst food I have tried on my dogs in 4 yrs. I’m praying for better results from Loyall. And I agree, the price is great!!! I paid $35 for a 40lb bag.

  • Meagan

    That is your opinion! My two dogs are doing great on Diamond Naturals and they make a few other great products. Dogs are so different what works for yours may not work for mine. So I could say Loyall is grocery store JUNK

  • Scott A

    I tried to find this below average feed in my area just see who sells it and was surprised to find that a local OIL company that owns and operates many large name gas stations is a retailer.
    Although i have never seen this feed in a gas station they own i find this is strange.
    So, i tried to call this company several times during business hours and got voicemail everytime.
    This company has gas stations only no other types of stores, so i called the gas stations and they only sell canned pedigree or no food at all.
    A 38 year old non BBB oil company as a retailer for Loyall is just fishy.

  • Trisha

    I have been using Loyall for my breeding program since january of ’08. I’ve trialed every single formula they offer, including the cat/kitten, which my cat also loves! I had an ingredient test done by the veterinary college here…It tested 100% true to it’s labeling, far more than can be said about MANY other brands or formula’s. I’m not gonna argue who is right or who is wrong. My dogs have thrived on the brand for a long time, and I raise show dogs. With that said, Technically speaking, Turkey is a better more lean ingredient than is chicken so to me it doesn’t matter if it’s one or the other, or a mix of the two, it’s still better than beef (for my breed anyway) The Lamb and rice far superceeds the eficacy of other lamb and rice products I’ve tried. That price Melissa spoke of, is a joke, their retailer is raping them. I am a loyall dealer as well, and the average cost of Loyall in any formulation is $20 to $23 for the 40 lb. bags. I’ve never heard of $30+ per bag and I have puppy owners all over the country using it. And diamond is not a quality food. I suppose if you don’t mind your dog looking dull in his coat, and having disgusting gas and stools…but for me the few dollars more is wwwaaayyy worth it….I drove 75 miles roundtrip to buy this product before I became a dealer, also wwaaayyy worth it. Walmart, Petsmart and Tractor Supply are a whole lot closer if I wanted to feed my dogs that Diamond or Retreiver brand “grocery store” junk. I rely on results not opinions…….

  • Melissa

    I have never seen this food in my area until yesterday, when I stopped at a “feed store” and there it was on the shelves. A very quick glance told me I would not feed it-However, I was a bit surprised over the pricing-40 lb bags and the prices ran from $27.99-33.99-Waaay to much IMO when one can get the Diamond naturals for similar pricing.

  • Tyler

    I started feeding Loyall Puppy then Professional (same protein/Fat content, puppy just has smaller kibble) dog food three years ago to a couple registered English Pointer pups I was training for future trial dogs. These pups had been started on a cheaper (corn based) puppy food and they were a mess when they arrived. After being on the Loyall for three days, their stools begin to firm up and in no time at all were healthy and happy. I have since gotten out of the bird dogs and just keep an old border collie, a chihuahua, and a shi tzu here and they are fed Loyall Professional. They are shiny, fit, and have firm oderless stools. I would highly recommend this food!

  • ed
  • ed

    The grains are precooked at low temperatures separately. “Poultry Meal” is generally 60% Turkey & 40% Chicken. The only other poultry that is commercially raised in big enough amounts is Duck and that is pricey. So poultry meal is a mix of chicken and turkey. Makes sense right?

    You should do more research. The internet is filled with misinformation about a lot of things. Pet Food grade chicken or poultry by-product meal is just as good if not better than Poultry or Chicken meat meal, and its much cheaper.

    http://www.hilarywatson.com/chicken.pdf

  • Bob K

    John R Dean – How did you “Properly” check out the product? Read the label and analysis provided above. If you have some magical insight to Loyall please let us know.

    Ed – The more they cook the kibble mush, the more the nutrients are removed of course the digestibility is increased since its double cooked and becomes gelatinzed. What makes you say its high-grade low ash….. and great protein? What makes you say its Turkey? The label clearly stated by-products. Have you read the ingredients and analysis provided above? 60% turkey what? Beaks, intestines and assholes? Where on the label does it list “60% Turkey”

  • ed

    This is another food that uses high-grade low ash poultry by-product meal, saves you money and the dog gets great protein. I think “poultry by-product meal” is 60% turkey.

  • ed

    Opti Cook is just a fancy term for pre-cooking grains so they are fully gelatinzed before the food is cooked during extrusion.

    It makes a big difference in digestibility but it is not a unique process to Loyall.

  • CAROL

    We have kenneled 8 champion cattle trial border collies, that on previous dog foods, had irregular loose stools, and i was daily hosing runs, we switched to LOYALL 12 months ago, and i rarely have to hose out a run anymore, other than weekly cleansing, there coatS shine, they seem healthy & full of energy, & there stool is consistant, for middle priced dog food i would recommend LOYALL over many other types of dry dog food.

  • John R.Dean

    Ihave Loyall Premium Pet Food to my Weimaraners for 1 1/2 years with no bad effects just GREAT RESULTS !!
    Stool harder with everything great coat teeth etc.
    I really believe that who ever wrote this article just genearlized theproductsd with out PROPERLY checking the products out such as I have,then they would know what they have said to make a great feed look bad is wrong just a gerneralization of whats in the feed.
    I would NEVER SWITCH FROM LOYALL !!!
    John R.Dean

  • Bio

    I feed working catch dogs and I must say Loyal proffesional, puppy and maintenance are really good foods. I can’t speak for the others as I have not tried them. Lamb, senior, lite etc etc. But the 3 I have tried are really high quality foods. I will not bother feeding anything else. If fed gradually from whatever you are feeding you will not have a problem.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Vicki… I’m not familiar with Opti Cook. Check our FAQ page to see why I can’t give a specific product recommendation.

  • vickie

    I have labrador retrievers and originally had them on Merrick’s line of foods. We moved to a Texas 3 years ago and I had a heck of a time finding Merrick close by. Closest was @30 miles away, one way. So I started looking around for other food. Tried 2 or 3 Diamond, Exlusive and one other. I would switch them gradually, as recommended. The first few weeks stools would be acceptable, but then they would start to loosen. I would reduce the feed but nothing changed the firmness. I had been to a dog show and was told about Nutrena’s Loyall Dog Food line by a breeder of Labrador Retrievers. Once I found the feed stores that sold it, I started using it, but before that I met with a Cargill rep and voiced my concern over the corn and other grains as I was concerned about “chicken lips” in the dog food as well as potntial allergy concerns. I was told that it is the Opti Cook that makes the difference in the food. Has this been confirmed?

  • Jonathan

    It’s fine that your pup is going well on this food. But feeding it to him specifically because he “won’t eat” any thing else, is like letting your child pick McDonald’s for dinner every day because they “just won’t” eat anything else.

  • sandra

    When I got my Pomeranian puppy I took him straight to the vet for an exam to make sure he didn’t have any problems and they gave me a puppy kit that had a very popular small bite puppy food in it. When I tried to feed it to him he would literally turn his head he even did it with the can food version so I went online and ordered a sample of what is suppose to be the very best dry puppy food they make but while I was waiting on it to come in I had find something he would that wouldn’t tear his stomach up like alot of the supermarket pet food will do so i went to the feed store to see what they had and told the owner about my problem I was having and he gave several samples of premium puppy food he had and told me he bet anything he would go straight for the loyall puppy food over all of them. So I went home with all of them and put each in a bowl and let him choose and sure enough he chose the loyall! Even when I received what is suppose to be the best food in the mail I put a few pieces in his bowl with the loyall and he ate all around the other food eating only the loyall and leaving the other! That has been eleven weeks ago and he is still on the loyall and doing great! He is full of energy, he’s very intelligent, his coat looks wonderful, and he has regular firm bowel movements. I asked the vet about the food and he said they have never had any problems with loyall or nutriena and as long as he ate it and is doing good on it he didn’t have any issues with me keeping him on on it. I also love that it comes in the small pieces that he can eat with his small little mouth that pomeranians have! It doesn’t matter how much you pay for puppy food if they want eat it the food it isn’t worth anything!

  • http://www.loveyourpet.biz Alisa Cook

    I’m always looking for quality foods to recommend to my clients (we offer natural/holistic health services). At a recent dog fair, I spoke with several dog food representatives and was told by the Loyall rep (when I challenged her about the prevalent use of by-products) that their by-product was ‘high quality’ because it didn’t include the ‘by-product slough…’

    Needless to say I won’t be recommending this brand!

    Thanks for the website – I send clients here often!

    Alisa