Hill’s Prescription Diet I/D Canine (Canned)

Share

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Hill’s Prescription Diet I/D Canine Canned Dog Food is not rated due to its intentional therapeutic design.

Notes and Updates

03/29/2011 Original review
12/04/2013 Last Update

  • frownie

    I did just what your said, talked to an independent pet store owner that was very knowledgeable about nutrition and switched my to Jack Russells to what seemed to be very high-quality food. Needless to say they both got pancreatitis and almost died, the vet told me he has never had dogs come back from such a severe case of pancreatitis so almost $20,000 later my dogs survived, it was determined that it was the dog food that caused this. The vet saved my dogs life so I do trust what they say to feed them. Just sharing my experience so others think before they act. I currently feed my jack Russells prescription diet I/D low fat. Because of having pancreatitis in the past they’re very sensitive to everything they eat, so please be careful of your comments is it can cost a dog’s its life.

  • Constance Frownfelter

    I did just what your said, talked to an independent pet store owner that was very knowledgeable about nutrition and switched my to Jack Russells to what seemed to be very high-quality food. Needless to say they both got pancreatitis and almost died, the vet told me he has never had dogs come back from such a severe case of pancreatitis so almost $20,000 later my dog survived, it was determined that it was the dog food that caused this. The vet saved my dogs life so I do trust what they say to feed them.

  • Margo

    I have been feeding Hills ID and Restore for the past four years and have had the unpleasant experience with my Schnauzer developing bladder and kidney stones (90%) SILICA from the corn in the food. We had the stones that he did pass (not all) analyzed at a special lab in MN and they based the content of the stones from the CORN in his food. HELP, has anyone out there had this occur? Sad that we owners feed and trust a brand that is suppose to help when it actually is harming our animals.

  • Rowena Brooks

    My 15 y/o yorkie has been on the id diet strickly for the past 9 years. Her GI tract is so sensitive that even her treats are the id kibble. She eagerly awaits her mealtime and eats the id with gusto. We went through the recipe change back in ’11 without a hitch (or bloody vomit) but now, with the new canning process, she won’t touch her food! I have tried removing and trashing the top layer which is next to the new tab top but she still senses something vile and tries to eat but leaves her full bowl frustrated. I opened a can left over from my last case purchased was with the usual canned top and she ate all her food heartily! I contacted the company and complained of this problem. She has been checked out by her vet with all teeth in tact and stable and no apparent lesions in her mouth or throat. (she still eats her dry kibble treats with her same gusto). There is no change in storage or presentation of her food. The only change has been the processing and canning of the food with the newly added tab top.
    I was given 2 coupons by the company but what use are they if my dog won’t eat their food? My dilema is the Hill diet was a life saver for my dog and now she refuses it. Now what? Anyone else share this same problem?

  • Bella’s mom

    Try adding Fortiflora to your dog’s food. My little dog had the bloody stools after her surgery for bladder stones and it was irritable bowel syndrome. My dog loves the Flortiflora and won’t eat the Science Diet unless she has the Fortiflora on it. I also found that my little 9lb dog won’t eat the Science Diet unless I heat it for her a tad. You can do this for your dog for treats also, my little dog loves them! Good luck with your dog :-)

    Recipe for homemade Treat Recipe Yield: approx. two dozen treats
    Using canned food:

    Open the can and shake the loaf of food out of the can.

    Cut the loaf into 1/4″ thick slices, and then cut the slices into bite-sized pieces.

    Bake the treats in a microwave oven on high for approximately 2 ½ to 3 minutes.

    Store baked treats in the refrigerator and discard leftovers after 5-7 days.

    Homemade treats should not exceed 10% of your pet’s total daily intake because heat alters the nutritional characteristics of the food.

    Do not freeze homemade treats.

    For a conventional oven, follow the instructions above and place the bite-sized pieces on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes or until crispy.

    Using dry food:

    In a blender, add 2 cups of dry food and grind into a powder.

    Pour powder into a mixing bowl and gradually add about 1 to 1 ¼ cups of water, stirring until it forms a dough consistency.

    Shape into individual “treats” or “cookies” and flatten the dough using the back of a spoon (the cookies will not flatten like standard “people cookies” do.)

    Place treats on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake in the oven at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes or until crispy.

    Store baked treats in the refrigerator and discard leftovers after 5-7 days.

    Homemade treats should not exceed 10% of your pet’s total daily intake because heat alters the nutritional characteristics of the food.

    Do not freeze homemade treats.

    Cookie cutters make treats fun to make and serve.

    Only Prescription Diet® a/d® Canine/Feline food, Prescription Diet® n/d® Canine and Prescription Diet® s/d® Canine foods cannot be made into homemade treats using the above recipe. However, you can use the following recipe for homemade treats for these foods:

    Roll the canned food into little balls and place in the freezer to serve later as a frozen treat. Since it is not possible to bake n/d® Canine into treats, this is a great alternative. Also, this is refreshing to pets during the hot summer.

  • theBCnut

    By your logic, you are not qualified to feed yourself, much less any children you may have. Nutrition is not rocket science. Anyone with half a brain can learn how to prepare nutritious meals. Just as not every meal you eat is 100% balanced and yet you haven’t died from it yet, your dog doesn’t have to have every meal 100% balanced. Balance over time is just fine. There are plenty of resources for people who want to learn about canine nutrition to find what they need to know and their dogs will be moch healthier for receiving a variety of foods than they ever could be from eating just one highly processed food.

  • InfoHound

    OK, When it comes to Prescription Food it all comes down to ingredients and the quality of those ingredients. Things that matter much less are “my dog has done well on it.” and “I heard from someone that….” The facts are in the case of my dog has done well on it that: You can give your dog boiled chicken and rice for the rest of it’s life and they may love it and it will keep it from having diarrhea (probably will be more likely to constipate them) but it is not even close to being a nutritionally sound diet for the long term health of your dog or cat. This is also the reason for not “cooking for my dog”. Unless you are following a specific nutritional plan found in a reputable source. I cannot say how highly I discourage you from “cooking for your pet”. There is just not a way to keep your diet for your dog nutritionally complete and consistent unless you are in the nutrition field and have an in depth understanding of pet nutrition. Next, I highly suggest you look at the ingredients in all prescription dog foods. These are not hard to basically understand to make some basic choices for your furry family member. As an Example, look at Hill’s Prescription ID: Whole Grain Corn (not easily digestible, High sugar (glycemic), and low nutritional value) Brewer’s Rice (Starch that hardens stool and has very little nutritional value), Dried Egg (beneficial protein), Chicken by product meal (Rendered parts of chicken that are not fit for human consumption and vary wildly in quality of what makes up this ingredient. In and of itself is not in my opinion bad, but the possibilities for contamination and extremely low quality to maintain a high profit point for the particular food company are much more probable in this ingredient in my opinion.) Corn Gluten meal (another name for Corn, same as whole grain corn so the amount of Corn in this product is HUGE. look at previous explanation for corn above.) Pork Fat (Very Cheap form of fat in your dogs diet that is nutritionally substandard to other fat possibilities, there is also soybean oil which is better nutritionally But, is used in a much smaller amount proportionally) Powdered Cellulose (Fiber to keep your dog from getting constipated because of all the starch – rice in this food) These are most of the major components in ID Dry. It is basically boiled chicken and rice and low quality chicken at that. Think about this, would you want a diet like this long term for yourself? I am not totally against vet diets. I think they are beneficial to quickly treat some issues. But, as a long term solution it is my opinion, NOT! Please do not judge your dog’s health on “he seems to be doing fine” Think of the long term health of your dog. Also know that your dog may need a significant amount of time to adjust to a good quality food. Do not feed it for a few days and make the judgement, “He isn’t eating it as well as the other stuff” (If you were fed Potato chips and cake would you want to start eating a Chicken dinner instead?) Realize that they have to adjust to the food and that diarrhea is part of the game for a few days, canned pumpkin or boiled sweet potato mush will help) Work with a knowledgeable pet supply store owner. Go in and talk to them and if you feel that they are giving you a balanced view of your situation and asks you many specific questions about your dog and your situtation, then judge for yourself what is best for your dog. We charge Vets to be the caretakers of the health of our pets but think about how much time they really have to stay up on the ever changing world of pet food. It is not their fault but many have not studied pet nutrition since they were in Vet school and many of those programs are sponsored and the information is put forth by Hills/Science Diet. Hmmmm? see a connection there? (Almost always can you get the information you need from a Petco, Petsmart or other big box store employee because they just don’t have a range of knowledge on multiple brands of food and the knowledge they do have is coming from the food companies directly which is meant to sell more of their product.) Find an independent pet supply store that you feel really has a good knowledge of pet food and nutrition and if you can’t find that, seek out independent sources of information to inform yourself so you can make the best choice for your special family member who cannot speak for themselves. You know your dog best but all I ask is that you question the information around you and inform yourself from independent trusted sources. There is no disputing that a complete well-rounded diet is the best for your best friend.

  • HenryAndHicks

    The I/D has been a godsend for us and our 2-year-old lakeland terrier. We went through a year and a half of various digestive problems that have never been fully explained (loose stool/diarrhea, inappetence, regurgitation, vomiting bile in the morning, and lack of weight gain).

    Although we have carefully experimented with different brands of high-quality dog food (under our vet’s supervision), this is the only food that has worked. I honestly do not know what we would do without it. We started with the canned I/D, but we now give her a mixture of canned and dry I/D, which she likes. Every single one of her digestive problems has disappeared.

  • Pattyvaughn

    The only thing we can tell you is to feed the same number of calories as what you were feeding before.

  • Brenda Lee French

    How do I know how much to feed my dog of the wet I/D food? Our vet didn’t give us the info, and I can’t find it online…

  • mandy
  • aden01

    i/d still contained chicken. my pom also has food intolerance. chicken is a no (i’ve been feeding her chicken n rice this many years, so she developed food intolerance w/chicken) and we only found out recently, we thought (and also the doctor’s) she has gastro problem. so we put her on I/D, when i feed her i/d, she still having black solid stools and puking. the doctor then told me to give her hypoallergenic food. been a month now, eat only that, and nothing’s went wrong. i hope we did the right thing now.

  • aden01

    hi :), no we havent test for addison disease. my clinics cant run the test. i feed her hypoallergenic food (z/d) from hills now, its been 1 month, and she did good. the other doctor told me it cpuld be food intolerance, so she recomend me to switch her GI hills (i/d) to z/d. i hope this will make her stay healthy. she’s under a stright observation now. eat only z/d. still consume Omeprazole though. but now, lately i noticed something, she’s been urinating frequently and each time its only a small ampunt of urine. her pH still alkaline (beyond 7) i wonder, this must be bcoz of her food. no pain when urinating though

  • debra

    Has she been tested for Addison’s Disease? Since there are so many symptoms, it is called the “Great Pretender”, and is largely under diagnosed. Our dog was diagnosed, also after multiple testing, with IBS resulting in massive ulcers . The current thinking is the underlying IBS cause is Addison’s. We are waiting to taper her off steroids before testing for Addison’s. Hopefully you have found a cause by now, but if not, have her tested for Addison’s.

  • Dave

    LuvMyMutt – stick with whatever works!!! I’ve raised dogs for many, many years – take it from experience… If the food is working – stay with it! I’ve fed my dogs high-end foods (Blue Buffalo, Wellness, etc.) – some do well on the high-end food… others – diarrhea, vomitting, etc. If Hills helps your dog – stay with it.

  • Michelle

    I don’t know if you will see this note, and your post five months ago, but this sounds like my dog, who is almost eight years old, but has had bloody diarrhea from time to time, lasting only a day, for about three years. Not too many times did it happen, and then, we changed her diet on a camping trip. As a result, she became so ill she was hospitalized and then, fortunately, sent home with medications and Hills ID. She did great, until I tried going back to her former diet of Salmon and Sweet Potatoes! Bad!!! Put her on Purina EN, which isn’t working like the ID, so today, am going back to canned ID. Is so expensive, but she has (they suspect) a rare disease (hemorrhagic Gastritis), which shows up as, “strawberry jam” in the stool. She also had blood loss, but the strawberry jam is apparently plasma. It is a mystery disease, and I am scared, but I’ve spent a lot of money already and absolutely must find the right food for her. I wonder if I should take her to an allergist?

  • US Girl

    I/d is working for us. My boy was on Canidae since birth until May when the gastro problems began. Our breeder also had the same problems with Canidae. Moved to Wellness grain free but problems continued. Moved to TOTW Prairie as our breeder uses, but no improvement. Canine tests show a perfectly healthy dog. (2 fecal, 1 diarrhea panel, and blood work). We are guessing our 7-yr. old Aussie may have a new food intolerance to chicken (boiled chicken and rice was disastrous). Always seemed intolerant to beef. (Neither are an issue in his lineage.) We are scratching our heads on this one. We currently supplement the I/d with blueberries, oatmeal, pure pumpkin and a probiotic powder. He also gets a little apple and carrot as treats. May try to move to fish and sweet potatoes once stabilized, but if I/d continues working, I hate to put him, and us, through another bout of a loud grumbling belly, diarrhea and vomiting (usually during the 3-4 am hours)!

  • Jacqueline

    My beagle only likes a dry dog food with filler and half a dozen other “bad” ingredients. I would rather have higher-rated food for him, but he likes what he likes. So it’s either the Hill’s Prescrip. Diet I/D only (which he LOVES) or that and…wait for it…Purina Dog Chow (which is rated only 1 star)! Go figure.

  • Jacqueline

    ID has a treat also. My beagle does well on it and the canned ID Gastrointestinal Health. He is suffering from liver failure…but this seems to help him feel better.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Mine is a very healthy normal 1 1/2 year old, as long as I’m vigilant about what he eats. I don’t let him get any potato either, but I don’t actually know if he has trouble with it, just a suspicion.

  • aden01

    it could be. i just never thought that the boiled n rice that my girl loves and eat it for almost 2 years will bcome a problem. she’s now on hills i/d. just start 2 weks ago. eat nothing but hill i/d. but her urine pH is bcome more alkaline, i always check her urine using a dipstick urinalysis. while my girl was on her chicken n rice, her pH was normal from 6 to 7. but when she start on hill i/d, her urine pH is more alkaline (6 to 9) and i found blood. i dont knw if this has something todo w/hills i/d, but where else my girls got this sudden change on her Urine? just scare that the hills i/d will bcome a trigger to another problem. high carbohydrate can make more alkaline urine, alkaline urine can lead to bladder infection.
    How’s yours ?

  • Pattyvaughn

    I have to wonder if your dogs problem is food intolerance. My pup was doing many of the same things, but fortunately, early on someone said the right thing at the right time and got me thinking. My dog can’t handle grains or chicken, but as long as I keep him away from those, he has no problems. No matter what, get your puppy on good probiotics.

  • aden01

    i hv a 4y.o female pom, been throwing up since 5 months ago. been to many dif vets (i go to 6 vets), runns many tests, CBC -Biochemistry, Blood smear, Parvo, Giardia, countless xrays, 2times Barrium TESTS, Fecal analysis-floating, Ultrasound.
    spent soo much money. My Pom has this On&off throwing up season. 1 day she’s fine, the next day she thrwn up. a week without diarrhea, then came the black tarry stools for a whole weeks. Put her on rice&boilled chicken, nothing works.she kept throwing up. The CBC came back all good. so does her Biochemistry. No kidney disease, no liver diseas, no pancreatic disease. the vet told me my girl has a gastritis. been giving her Rantin & Sucralfate for these whole 5 months (as whts prescribed by her vets), but the throw always comeback in 3 weeks to 4 weeks range. the black tarry stools is changed into the black solid stools, other vet prescribed her Rantin, Flagyl , sucralfate and probiotic for 3weeks. did good for 1 month, only to comeback again. the vet put her on another 3 weeks of those 3 drugs, did good for 5 weeks, then throwing up again. did Ulrasound, found nothing but the thickening gastric wall. the vet said, it is gastritis. put my girl on another 6-8 weeks rantin & sucralfate. but on her 5 weeks, she was throwing up Blood. did barrium once again, the vet said the barrium stay her antrum and leaved traces there. so my girl has Ulceration. put her on Omeprazole n sucralfate, but she throwing up again at night for 2 days now. give her pimperan (anti-emetic), nothing works. been give her Hills i/d for GI health, already 14 days now, she didnt like it, so i always “force feeding” her. using a spoon. mixed the hills wetit water, so it easier.on her 12 days w/hills i/d and nothing else, i did a urinalysis test using a dipstick, which i always control her urine almost everyday. found out that since she is on hills i/d her urine pH is become alkaline always above 7, one time i found her pH is 9. and then 2 days ago, there’s a trace of Blood found positive on her urine. it showed on her dipstick test. the bLood is +++. anyone has this experience? was it bcoz the food? high carbohydrate such as hills i/d can lead into alkaline urine. which im afraid it causing/triggered another disease for my already unsolved problem.

  • Maria Ramos

    I’m so not a fan of this brand because of the ingredients, but dang it!.. it works so well! We have a Yorkie with a food allergie that this is the ONLY thing she can eat besides chicken and rice. I also have an 8 month lab and fed him Blue Wilderness since he was 16 weeks and recently his tummy became upset and had terrible diarrhea and vomit til he became dehydrated and we took X-rays and gave him antibiotics and nothing helped.. finally I gave in and bought him the I/D and he got better. Does anybody know of a higher quality ingredient yet easy to digest food?

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m glad you found something that works for your boy. Chronic pancreatitis is very painful and hard to keep under control.

  • JLH

    My 11-year-old miniature poodle developed chronic pancreatitis about a year ago, and flared so often and so severely I really thought he wouldn’t make it at all. His vet suggested this food and, with some few additions, he’s been on it ever since, doing quite well indeed — one flare since last October, actually, which was my fault by giving in to his big eyes on my steak.

    I add a handful of quality kibbled food to his twice-a-day meal in order to give his teeth something to do; now and then also a quarter-teaspoon of probiotic powder.

    I truly am very satisfied with the improvement in his health and his quality of life; pancreatitis is apparently quite painful during flares, and it is hard to watch. He will never be cured, but he’s almost his old exuberant self.

  • Sunshine Page

    I have 3 Maltese. We had 2 but I lost my little girl a few years ago. I switched them from hills to blue and with in 3 months she was gone. My husband got me 2 girls in attempt to stop the crying. They are related to the one I lost. One of them was just diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease. They are only 18 months old. I am convinced Maltese dogs can not handle these rich foods. All of them had gas And other problems on those 5 star food. My baby that is sick was just put on hills I/d and with in a few days she is doing so much better. No more belly pain, gas, vomiting, weight loss, mucousy stools. Im convinced it is the food. I was trying to give them a better food for a better quality of life and all I did was make them sick. Never again..

  • Christy Trepkowski

    Hi, I would love to know how your golden is doing now..we transitioned from earthborn holistic puppy vantage to fromm, but it wasnt untill 2 weeks after she got diarrhea..so now we are on the I/d and once things get under control we will go back on fromm.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I can give Micah raw chicken about once a week without seeing any changes and He can handle chicken liver in his kibble daily, but when I started giving him a chicken based kibble once every four days, he started having ear gunk and greasy fur after about a month.

  • Pattyvaughn

    My most expensive dogs have always been the free ones.

  • Cyndi

    Bailey has had problems like that since being on the Deli Fresh Chicken & Vegetables (I didn’t put 2 & 2 together till a few days ago that it might be that food). It’s not bad enough to take her to the vet, but I’ve been cleaning it out just about every day. I’m phasing the Deli Fresh out and doing 100% raw, so hopefully it clears up.

  • InkedMarie

    Boone’s had an icky, gunky ear since being on Hare chicken. I was hoping he’d be ok on raw chicken but now I don’t think so

  • KP

    Yes- quite the mystery. Of course, this dog was the “free” puppy my daughter brought home last summer… ha ha. For now, the Hills is working and I’m grateful for that. I’d become an obsessive poop watcher and I swear it was starting to affect my emotional state- I was elated to see a reduction in the number of bathroom breaks he needed and the consistency & size of the poop. Jeez.

  • Shawna

    My Pom is intolerant of chicken and NSAIDs — gets same colitis / diarrhea from both. The ONLY thing that helped diagnose her (I raw feed) was a homeopathic that my holistic vet prescribed. It would stop the diarrhea IMMEDIATELY — even before it started when I noticed the grumbling tummy. She doesn’t have symptoms other than diarrhea either.

    The pup pictured in my avatar is intolerant of gluten grains. I have a friend whose dog reacts to green beans if they are fed more than two days in a row.

    As Patty stated, intolerances can be a nightmare to figure out.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Intolerances are hard to deal with, that’s for sure. One of mine is intolerant to many grains and chicken. Sometimes you have to feed what works. All of the ones you mentioned are much higher protein, so he may not be producing enough digestive enzymes to deal with that.

  • KP

    Definitely not a toxicity (bacterial, fungal, chemical or otherwise) problem with food, plus I switched a couple of times when the symptoms first appeared thinking that might be a possibility. He was on Darwin’s raw, then I went to TOTW, then Nature’s Variety and then home cooked rice & chicken. It is a problem/dysfunction with the dog himself. He most likely has some sort of sensitivity or intolerance to something that we haven’t found yet (nothing is showing up on the test panels we’ve done so far). He also is/was completely asymptomatic except for the diarrhea-it is/was strange. Bottom line is that the Hills brought relief very quickly when nothing else did and he’s put on some weight again.

  • Pattyvaughn

    What food were you feeding before, and have you contacted the maker? It could have been contaminated with something.

  • KP

    Hills i/d really helped my dog. He developed sudden, severe diarrhea several weeks ago. He has always been on a high-end, grain free dog food (5 stars per this site). Vet and I went through test after test for every imaginable bacteria, parasite, etc., and we’re still scratching our heads. Put him on a different food, home cooked, boiled chicken & rice, pumpkin, every enzyme, antibiotic supplement and probiotic we could think of… we finally put him on the Hills i/d and he is now functioning properly. Highly recommended for therapeutic purposes as it helped my dog!

  • http://twitter.com/megamyron pirun uawithya

    my chihuahua got loose stool after i gave him this canned food too.i think he’s allergic to some ingredients.

  • Sneakers Mom

    My shih tzu is about 1 1/2 years old. She has been having bouts of diareah with mucusy blood. She has been to the vet several times for medication. I used the I d low fat g i restore canned dog food and she recovered nicely. I then gave her kibble and the same thing happened. She is back on I D canned and will remain on it. Thus food is great dor dogs who have sensitivities to kibble and gastro intentional problems. She loves this food. I am in the process of looking for a compatible treat.

  • LuvMyMutt

    I tried the pumpkin. Pure pumpkin not the filling, and it didn’t work. At the time she was half way through 4 star rated Kirkland dry so that wasn’t it.. She always has her nose to the ground so g*d knows what she picked up. Parasite test was clear. I’m trying fromms gold now. I wanted to try since I learned about the recall but it was tough trying to find a dealer and one that carries the puppy line at that.

  • Dog Food Ninja

     Rather than buy this gross stuff, you should try adding some canned pumpkin to your dog’s food if he gets diarrhea.  What does your dog usually eat? 

  • LuvMyMutt

    Just used Science Diet i/d for my 7 mo old girl who had her first bout of diarrhea.  After suffering through making steamed chicken and rice for five days I gave up and went to the vet.  Two cans a day of this stuff and it was gone in 24 hours.  Next time I’m not going to bother with cooking; I’m just going straight to the vet to buy a few cans.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I used to mix foods together so my dogs would always get some old food with what ever new food I chose to get.  This way I was able to try a dozen different foods without transitioning problems and I could make my own mixture in whatever ratio I wanted.

  • Betsy10360

    Thanks, Melissa!  It’s good to know I’m not the only crazy dog food junkie here!  : )~

  • melissa

     Betsy-

    I think we all get a little crazy wanting to try different foods at some point in time, lol. I know I have! : ) Just think-he is a growing tyke and will be eating quite the amount of food, so all you have will not go to waste: )

  • Betsy10360

    Grrr!  If I were still flexible enough, I’d kick my own butt!  I tend to get a little “overzealous” at times and all this dog food research is making me want to try so many different brands / varieties.  I can’t help but think this is my fault!  

    OK, pity party over… back to the business of getting Sam well.  He’s definitely perked up and is obviously getting hungry… the poor little guy was desperately trying to get to the dozen or so pieces of kibble on the other side of his crate that is blocked off by the divider.  Whew, the poor guy is definitely still gassy though.  No food until tomorrow morning for poor, hungry Sammy.  

    So, after when we’re ready to start “real” food again, we’ll go back to the Earthborn Puppy Vantage.  If that works, we’ll stick with that for a while.  “Of course,” I have a Petflow order on the way and was wanting to try Wellness Core dry for puppies since I like their canned for toppers.  I’m eliminating Darwin raw for now and will slowly re-introduce no more than just a couple of toppers (I do like Wellness Core for puppies and Sam seems to like Blue Buffalo Wilderness duck).  I ultimately have my eye on Brothers and think the pre/probiotics might be good for little sensitive tummy boy.  

    See, I’ve already got other foods on deck and he’s not even eating the prescription diet yet!  

    Thanks for your help, Melissa!  : )

  • melissa

    Betsy-‘

    Every one  will have their own opinions_ Personally I do not rotate puppies food until they are 4-5 mths old, and I am careful to keep the fat/protein/quality of the foods about the same when I do. I  just find it easier to be able to rule out foods in case of runs when they are always eating the same thing-and pups just seem to me to have sensitive stomachs more so than the adults.

    If Sam had excessive amounts of runny stool on the Proplan, then it was not working for him. He could have a bacterial overgrowth from 1) Stress of new food 2) Stress of new home as well. If that is the case, after the meds, he should be able to transition to the Earthborn-if that does work out, I would limit the rotation of toppers until he has settled down his tummy.

  • Betsy10360

    I’m in need of your opinions, and help, again… 

    So, Sam, my 11 week old Golden pup went to the vet bright and early this morning.  It seems that he possibly has a case of gastroenteritis.  The vet gave him a shot to help with the vomiting and diarrhea and he’ll be getting some medications for the next five days.  We’re withholding food for the next 24 hours and then, if we agree that he’s shown improvement, I’ll start with very small “doses” of Hills Prescription Diet I/D Canine every four hours.  I’ll slowly reintroduce regular food after 24 hours of the prescription food, again, if he continues to show improvement. 

    I should add that Arabella, my Cavalier, who eats just about everything Sam eats, is completely fine; and who now, of course, isn’t eating because lil bro’ isn’t eating.  : (

    Sam was eating Earthborn Holistics Puppy Vantage with various canned toppers; ie: ZiwiPeak; Wellness Core (puppy); Merrick (puppy); Darwin’s and Blue Buffalo.  He occasionally would find the small hidden stash of ZiwiPeak (air dried) that I put in Bella’s crate, just for her.  I had just finished transitioning Sam to Earthborn from the Purina Pro Plan that he was on when I got him from the breeder.  He seemed fine on the Pro Plan, just an excessive amount of pooh, some of which was runny.

    I knew I probably had a little boy with a sensitive tummy when Sam polished off the bit of Orijen kibble Bella left behind and had horrible gas the entire following day. 

    I’m definitely not thrilled with the Hill’s Prescription Diet I/D Canine, but will certainly give it to him as part of my vet’s protocol.  However, after Sam’s perked up and it’s time to reintroduce “regular” food, I don’t know where to go.  Granted, it could be something disgusting that he ate outside under one of the evergreen trees; but, he is still a baby and obviously that tummy issue is something that I need to address ~ poor little guy. 

    So, I’m wondering about your kibble, topper, ingredient and rotation recommendations. 

    Any thoughts?  I really appreciate any advice you have.  You guys are great!  : )

    Blessings, Betsy

  • Tswcwc

    I have a golden retriever, 11 yrs. old. She has had regurgitating and diarrhea for years. She recently had a bout of  a huge amount of diahrrea/blood. The vet told me some breeds, and in my case, her age are suseptible to lower bowel problems. I gave her I/D canned only and she did fine. When I mixed with Rx I/D dry, she regurgitated it and had diarrhea. There is obviously an ingredient in the dry that does not agree with her.  The canned alone has worked well so I have stuck with that.  Although she is 11, the hill’s science diet gastrointestinal for ages 1-6 works very well for her. Look for dry food without by-products, corn, and rice bran (causes loose stools). There are dry foods out there with limited ingredients. Look for those.

  • http://www.facebook.com/bryanv21 Bryan Van Dusen

     What dry food are you mixing the i/d wet with? If it’s simply the i/d dry with the i/d wet, then perhaps the issue is with the fact the wet uses turkey while the dry uses chicken (by-product… yuck).

  • Dez

    We have 2 Retrievers, 6 months old, they have had diarrhea , Bella has had regurgitating problems recently. Pearl is now managing mostly ok on normal dry wainwrights puppy but Bella is back on Hills I/D wet food, but as we have started mixing in gradually the dry food she has now got the diarrhea back. 1st time we had the diarrhea vets did test and was a certain bug most likely caught from farm traffic but we don’t walk that way and it seems to be back again, anyone help? I feel like we are going in circles!

  • Moliie & Maggie’s Dad

     Pretty much the same experience with our 10 lb. Shih Tzu Maggie.

  • Pingback: Teddy puking - Page 2 - Boxer Forum : Boxer Breed Dog Forums

  • Kelley Erin Parsons

    My dog was having gastrointestinal problems for a long time. He had been tested for many things and none were conclusive.  He was eating meat baby foods for a while and I tried switching him back to his old dog food, Wellness small bites. He became sick again. I put him on this canned food and he did well, turns out he is very sensitive to a lot of food. I had tried everything and I was so frustrated. He is now on a diet of a combination of the canned ID and the dry ID food. He is a 9 lb Maltese. His energy level has increased and he no longer suffers with irritated bowels. We had tried Innova, Bill Jac, Wellness, and a variety of other holistic foods that always just left him with soft stools and diarrhea off an on. We have been so happy with the Hills diet.

    I always thought it was important to find dog food without fillers and such. Every dog is different and he did not do well with the rich extra’s in the higher meat content dog food. I am happy with his health now. So even though it may contain corn as a filler he is happier and healthier than he has ever been. I would have liked to have him on a higher quality food nutrition wise, but with my dog doing so well on this I am not switching. His health is important to me. So this is a great dog food for a dog with a stomach that is sensitive to the rich ingredients in many holistic dry dog foods. 

  • mss

    I gave my foster dog some of this for a few days after she had a dental involving many extractions and I was told she should eat soft food only. She got very loose stools on it, but when I switched her back to her old food made soggy with water, she went back to normal pretty soon. 

    She had previously been on a kibble with bison and fish as protein sources. So perhaps she’s particularly sensitive to the proteins in this food. My vets were surprised. They said the new formula has been found to be much more palatable than the old, and apparently they haven’t had other complaints about it. I think the formula has been changed several times since I got my first dog as an adullt back in the 1980s.

  • Stefanie

    Sandy, I just had him tested at the vet. Test results showed tapeworms only. We treated that and began the Science diet I/D to clear up the diarrhea. I have tried pumpkin. The results were orange diarrhea! Not overfeeding. He barely eats the amounts I carefully measure. I transitioned the food slowly back into his diet. He eats Simply Nourish chicken and brown rice. Also, I mixed in a little Taste of the Wild (lamb flavor) b/c I was trying to switch him to grain free. He is very itchy and scratching alot. I am adding the I/D back in until I run out. When it runs out, the diarrhea comes back!

  • sandy

    It’s only at the vet. What is your puppy eating? Have you tried some canned pumpkin or adding some psyllium husk powder for fiber? Are you over feeding the pup? No worms or other parasites/protozoa/amoeba??

  • Stefanie

    This food really does make diahrrhea go away. My puppy finally has solid stools. But the vet only gave me three cans, now I’m trying to transition him back to normal food, and the loose stools are coming back. Can you buy this food at a store? or you have to get it from a vet?

  • melissa

    Azathiprine is used for IBD/Colitis, potassium bromide-seizures,furosemide-heart conditions,chlorthiazides for edema from renal conditions.,L-asparaginase is a chemo dru and oestrogens are hormone which can also induce aplastic anemia. With the exception of the tetracycline(antibiotic) most are powerful medications used for serious disease issues, and not commonly prescribed medications for the ‘average dog”.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Janice… You stated, “I said a moderate protein diet; not a diet low in protein.”

    The numbers being discussed here mean nothing unless you have something to compare them to. The average protein on a dry matter basis for the hundreds of canned dog foods in our database is 39%. The 28% protein (DMB) reported by Hill’s on its canned I/D label is one of the very lowest recorded in our files.

    That’s not a figure that could be considered “moderate” protein for a wet dog food. It’s actually very low.

  • Shawna

    Janice — Bummer!! My Audrey is allergic to barley, cow bone, cow tripe and goat dairy.. I know what you mean!!! It stinks trying to manage a disease when the diet is limited by allergies!!!

    Everyone — I’ve been researching this a bit tonight and just came across something that made my mouth drop wide open. I wanted to share with you all (just in case)…..

    I found a paper titled “Acute pancreatitis in dogs: a review article” I only made it to page 2 when the jaw dropping words appeared.. Take not of the word “organophosphates”..

    “Aetiology
    The inciting cause of canine AP usually remains unclear. However, the following trigger factors should be considered:
    Diet: low-protein, high-fat diets seem to induce pancreatitis
    probably by stimulating oversecretion [9-11]. It is still indefi nite whether hyperlipidaemia causes AP or it is the result of AP [9- 11, 17, 18].
    Drugs: the drugs most commonly used in veterinary practice and suspected of causing canine AP are azathioprine, oestrogens, tetracycline, chlorthiazides, thiazide diuretics, furosemide, L-asparaginase, potassium bromide and organophosphates [9-12]. The role of steroids in the aetiopathogenesis of AP is controversial. It has been found that steroid administration is related with high serum lipase activity. However, there is still no evidence of steroids inducing pancreatitis [19, 20].” http://www.fecava.org/files/ejcap/871.pdf

    Organophosphates is (or at least was) an ingredient in some flea and tick meds!!! I just pulled up the Hartz website and Hartz still uses an organophosphate — they don’t list it in the ingredient list but there is a “Note to Physicians and Veterinarians”. http://www.hartz.com/Hartz_Products/Dog_Products/Parasite_Protection/Collars/3270094267_hartz_ultraguard_plus.aspx

    Note — it appears to be used with the Hartz collars but not the topical applications. Haven’t looked at other products.

    Tetracycline is an antibiotic. I’m not sure what the other drugs are used for?

  • Janice

    Mike;
    I said a moderate protein diet; not a diet low in protein. Hill’s i/d has 7 grams of protein per hundred calories, DMB. I also include some baked turkey cutlets and cooked egg white in her diet every day. She needs one gram of protein per pound of body weight to maintain her muscles. She weighs 60 pounds and gets about 66 grams of protein a day. By the way, she was on a home cooked diet which had been formulated for her by Sabine Contraras (AKA Mordanna), when she had her pancreatitis attack. It was about 35% protein and 40% fat.

    Shawna;
    My dogs many food allergies limit our options. For example, she’s allergic to the barley in the recipe you posted.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Janice… It appears that not all veterinarians are in agreement with yours. Most sources agree that a low fat diet can be beneficial for treating dogs with pancreatitis.

    However, many veterinarians (like Dr. Mike Richards at vetinfo.com) believe a low protein diet actually increases the risk of developing pancreatitis in the first place.

    Another article published by Michigan Veterinary Specialists clearly warns “There is evidence that low-protein, high-fat diets may induce pancreatitis, and that pancreatitis is more severe in pets being fed high-fat diets.”

    That is why we never judge the efficacy of a “prescription” dog food… only the apparent meat content and quality of its ingredients.

  • Shawna

    Sorry, one more thing. Soluble and insoluble fibers are important in kidney disease. However, cellulose and beet pulp are lower quality sources.. Cellulose can actually be sourced form wood fibers — not really a food however very soluble..

    I give Audrey pumpkin and sweet potato which are high in soluble fiber and have extra nutrients to boot. I also give acacia fiber (a human supplement called “The Fiber 35 Diet”) for insoluble fiber. Better quality foods use “chicory root” or inulin or FOS for fiber……..

  • Shawna

    Actually, the food listed here is the canned I/D… I don’t hate it… I do, however, HATE their kibbled foods….

  • Shawna

    Janice,

    Hi, I’m so sorry you and your dog has to go through this. I know from experience however that prescription foods are NOT what they have cracked up to be!!

    My dog Audrey, pictured to the right, was born with (congenital) kidney disease. A life threatening disease that animals NEVER recover from. The disease causes their blood to become SOOO poisoned that it eventually kills them. The Merck Vet Manual states that dogs with congenital kidney disease die from the diease by the age of 2 years. Most don’t make it 6 months past diagnosis.. Audrey had symptoms right from weaning but wasn’t diagnosed til age 1.. Audrey turned 5 years old on June 28th 2011.. She is still in excellent health, still has kidney disease and hasn’t eaten even a teaspoon of prescription food her entire life.. As a matter of fact, the Hills K/D foods, up until about 2 years ago, had ethoxyquin in them. Ethoxyquin is KNOWN to cause liver and kidney disease.. KNOWN to and yet Hills still put it in their food?? To this day the kibbled food is HORRIFIC however the canned food isn’t too bad. I feed Audrey a home prepared diet however that is high in protein (k/d is low). Dogs with early stage k/d can eat higher protein diets however vets usually start k/d at the very fist sign of kidney disease? Dogs with kidney disease are known to have an increased need for protein. Yet vets usually start k/d at the first sign of disease? I could go on..

    Prescription foods do what they are intended to do but not without consequences. Cooked or home prepared diets will supply your pup with far more nutrition then what is in the bag of Hills Science Diet. If you doubt me, consult an animal nutritionist.

    Lew Olson has a PhD in natural nutrition, is a rottie breeder, author of canine diet book etc. She does not recommend Hills. One of her recipes for pancreatitis

    Recipe #4
    1 cup cooked stew meat or cut up lean roast, fat drained
    1/2 cup low or nonfat cottage cheese
    1/2 cup cooked Broccoli
    1/4 cup cooked zucchini
    3/4 cup cooked barley
    1/2 teaspoon of Berte’s Digestion Blend
    http://www.b-naturals.com/newsletter/pancreatitis/

    This provides far more healthful (lower fat) nutrition then Hills I/D. That’s all most here are trying to say. The ingredients in Hills are questionable at best…

  • Janice

    According to the internist we saw at Purdue Small Animal Hospital, dogs with chronic pancreatitis need a diet that is moderate in protein and low in fat. In pancreatitis, the pancreas produces too many enzymes and basically digests it self. Over time, that can result in pancreatic insufficiency and diabetes. I belong to a forum for owners of dogs with this condition, and they can die from it if the diet isn’t not carefully managed. Fat and protein, in that order, are what cause the pancreas to produce the most enzymes. A dog with pancreatitis needs to get most of the calories in its diet from carbohydrates. The diet also needs to be low in fiber, and the type of fiber is important too, which is why Hill’s i/d has both insoluble (cellulose), and soluble (beet pulp) fiber. You need to really know what you’re talking about before judging a prescription food.

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    aimee – From peanuts and dairy…. back to dog food:
    More anecdotal/empirical ‘evidence'; Benefits of Real Food vs Fake Food (or whatever one wants to call adulterated, fortified, enriched, synthetic-chemical-enhanced, artificially preserved, concoction of ingredients)

    You write “So let’s really examine the data before repeating what we hear. This is how we learn from each other!”

    If I waited to ‘examine the data’, my precious pooch would still be eating Fake Food. The first I ever heard of someone feeding raw to their dogs was about 6 years ago, when a friend/colleague told me her distant cousin feeds raw turkey necks to her big dogs. I thought “gross”. But, curious, I quizzed my friend (who had a cat; no dog) what she feeds her cat. She named a cheap grain-based kibble. This friend/colleague is a R.N., her husband a M.D. (radiation oncology). Trusting that their knowledge of medicine, science and nutrition was more than mine, I didn’t delve any further into changing my grain-based dog food choice for my puppy. I figured this raw-turkey-neck-feeding was just an “out there”, crazy cousin story!

    Fast forward about a year (5 years ago, 2006) and I started working part-time for Blue Buffalo as an in-store product demonstrator. I occasionally encountered people who fed RAW and ‘listened’ to what they had to say. No I didn’t ask for ‘peer reviewed journals’ nor did anyone ever offer any research studies of feeding dogs raw food. For a couple of years I kept questioning the raw feeders. Some of the raw feeders turned to raw only after their dog became ill and they were at their ‘wits end’ with Rx food, multiple vets, conflicting diagnoses, etc. In ALL the stories related to me, RAW remedied the dog’s problem. I never once heard a tale of anyone curing their dog’s illness by switching to kibble from raw dog food. I admit this must have been pure coincidence. Keep in mind, during this time, I am still feeding only dry kibble to my dog! If my dog could talk, I imagine him saying “Please learn quick because I want Real Food!”

    Fast forward another year to the infamous 2007 pet food recall. There were more customers switching to REAL FOOD – cooked and/or raw. More awareness led me to astutely ‘investigate’ raw dog food. I came to the conclusion that RAW FOOD is the optimum nourishment for dogs. I started out with Raw Meaty Bones, then ventured into full raw meals from primarily organic ingredients. If my dog could talk “Thank you. Finally, Real Food!”

    I don’t desire to “examine the data”, although I do find it fascinating there are those who make fundamental life choices only after they have “examined the data”. Again, I’ll stick with Mother Nature.

  • Shawna

    I meant to quote the following that Shameless wrote

    “They are allergic to pasteurized (adulterated) milk. Is there published “peer reviewed journals that verify” this phenomenon? There might be; I don’t know; I happen to not care.”

  • Shawna

    Shameless,

    You wrote “They are allergic to pasteurized (adulterated) milk.”

    Yes, there is however it’s not always easy to find. Much of the information is not available to non-members and I can’t afford the subscription price (nor do I care to spend my monies that way). However the doctors etc that Shameless and I research do have subscriptions and share information that we are not privy too.

    I will also mention that a cyber friend of mine on Healthy Pets, Toxed2loss, is a toxic injury specialist. Toxed has written a white paper on dairy and the information (with peer reviewed sources) BLEW ME AWAY. She intends to publish her white paper. When she does I’ll link to it….. You ain’t seen adulterated til you read this paper… Obviously, this is all here say til I can link to her paper. Those that choose to disregard, please do….

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    aimee – Nope, I can’t direct you “to any publications in peer reviewed journals that verify this occurs and at what frequency”

    I should have ‘qualified’ my last phrase, like I ‘qualified’ the rest of my statement! Forgive for that? Best to state “In my experience, RAW proteins sometimes do not cause allergic reactions.”

    Your peanut example is good, as I have known several people who had consistent allergic reaction to cooked peanuts, but who can eat raw peanuts with no resulting allergic reaction. These people ‘discovered’ that heat alters food nutrients, and that cooked foods can cause undesirable, and sometimes deadly, bodily reactions. They ‘discovered’ that raw foods are more often accepted by the body without causing allergy symptoms. I can’t direct you to the ‘science’ behind this.

    Similar to raw dairy products (live nutrients) vs pasteurized dairy (mostly dead nutrients, and what isn’t dead is altered). I currently manage a Raw Dairy Co-op of which I have been a member of for several years. I, like many others, initially resisted consuming raw dairy because of the entrenched fear-mongering that has been rampant by our government and BigAg. Some of our co-op members were medically diagnosed as ‘allergic’ to milk (lactose intolerant, typically). But they ‘discovered’ that they are not allergic to RAW milk. They are allergic to pasteurized (adulterated) milk. Is there published “peer reviewed journals that verify” this phenomenon? There might be; I don’t know; I happen to not care.

    What I *know* is anecdotal, but I am so very thankful that I didn’t disbelieve the truth of Mother Nature just because someone couldn’t provide me with “peer reviewed journals that verify” Mother Nature.

    Most of what I write is NOT science-based, because I believe Nutrition Isn’t Rocket Science, although I know there IS science-based nutrition information. I think we have made things oh so very complicated by analyzing so much so scientifically. There are modern medical marvels, for sure. I don’t doubt that, nor do I dispute it. I believe that much (but not all) of what nutrition science has accomplished is to remedy maladies that we have created ourselves. How? We’ve steered too far from Mother Nature and Real Food.

  • aimee

    Shameless,
    In regard to your statement that raw proteins do not cause allergic reactions. I think this can be occur in certain situations.but IMHO it is the exception rather than the rule. Can you direct me to any publications in peer reviewed journals that verify this occurs and at what frequency?
    For example if a person has anaphylaxis to roasted peanuts can they eat raw peanuts with abandon since the protein is raw? Thanks!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Janice… The following quote is taken directly word-for-word from this (and every) prescription-type dog food review:

    “Even though this is a prescription product, we continue to limit our judgment to the estimated meat content of the recipe as well as the apparent quality of its ingredients. And nothing else.

    “Our ratings have nothing to do with the accuracy of claims made by the manufacturer as to this product’s ability to effectively treat or cure a specific health condition.”

    As you can see, our ratings have nothing whatsoever to do with the claimed efficacy of any dog food product. A food can still be designed to be low in fat and yet still contain a more notable amount of quality (low fat) meat-based protein.

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    Janice – Maybe read about feeding RAW.
    COOKED food can be causing problems. Cooking alters the proteins, fats, vitamins, and minerals in a food. COOKED proteins can be altered to the point where they cause allergic reactions whereas RAW proteins do not cause allergic reactions.
    http://www.thewholedog.org/artcarnivores.html

  • Gordon

    So let’s add even more grain loaded carbs to the diet. So the pancreatitis can be treated and Hills can profit. When the pancreatitis gets worse over time, then we’ll do further tests and you can pay us extra money for those tests and we can be happy, and all is just as Hills and the like as exactly wanted!

    Sorry. I let my emotions get carried away. Ummm, yes listen to your Vet. After all, you’re meant to trust their educated judgement, right?

    I wonder if a high protein and very low fat and carb raw diet, with added digestive enzyme supplements would treat your dog’s condition?

  • Janice

    My dog has chronic pancreatitis and is allergic to chicken, fish, and potatoes. Generally, I’m not a fan of Hill’s products because of the ingredients, but canned i/d is an important part of he diet. You need to understand the needs of a dog with a gastrointestinal condition before judging the food.

  • Ron

    People like Ron will now leave the link to the low-fat commercial diet. Scroll down to about the middle of the page down, where
    Mary has them listed.

    http://dogaware.com/articles/wdjlowfatdiets.html#commercial

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Mark… Don’t worry about our review. Short term, there’s not much in this recipe to be overly concerned about. I’d be inclined to think of Hill’s I/D as a “medication” designed to treat a specific problem (your dog ate goose feces). However, once your dog is completely well, you may wish to consider gradually re-introducing one of your dog’s previous favorites. Transitioning slowly over a week or two might be a good idea. And of course, run my suggestion by your vet, too. Good luck. Hope this helps.

  • Mark

    my Lhasa Apso recently was ill with very bad diarrhea from eating goose poop. In addition to prescribing him Flagyl, the Vets suggested I feed him the Hill’s ID for a few days. I have always fed him either Wellness, Canidae or Natural Balance food, so when I looked at the ingredients in the Hills ID I have to say I was less than impressed.
    Well, for what it’s worth, since feeding him this food, his poops have been absolutely perfect. I’m seriously considering now if I should feed it to him regularly, in addition to the Wellness dry food which he also gets.

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    Linda – It is annoying when people like Ron leave a blip of a comment.
    Mary Straus http://dogaware.com/index.html

    I don’t find a “list of lowest fat canned and dry food” on that website. Maybe you’re looking for low fat for a particular health issue; but if you are looking for low fat for weight loss, there is a webpage titled Weight Loss Diets for Dogs, which explains ‘counting calories’ while keeping fat at a moderate level (not low fat):

    http://dogaware.com/articles/wdjweightloss.html#dryfoods
    Diets to help your dog lose weight should be high in protein and low in carbs.
    Fat has more than twice the calories per gram of protein and carbs, so the amount you feed should be limited. Fat, however, is also what satisfies the appetite best. A diet that is too low in fat will leave your dog feeling hungry. . . It’s better to feed a diet with moderate fat and reduce the portion size as needed rather than feeding a low-fat diet. #

  • Linda

    Hi, Ron.. Call me stupid, but who is Mary Strauss? (or her website address) for the list of lowest fat canned and dry food? Thank you!

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    Valerie – Regarding your comment “I’ve heard that dry food is better for a dogs’ oral health.” – – That’s a myth.

    Be sure to read Mike’s article on that topic –
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosing-dog-food/dry-dog-food-cleaner-teeth/

    For good dental health, a raw meaty bone is the perfect solution!

  • sandy

    Also, I’ve had some friends with dogs with IBS or sensitive tummies do well on Salmon & Sweet potato by Nature’s Select. It has salmon, brown rice, sweet potato & pumkin.

  • sandy

    Valerie,

    The new Blue Buffalo Wilderness Healthy Weight is only 30%protein/10% fat/and has high fiber at 9%. My dogs always has solid waste on the regular Wilderness that has 6.5% fiber.

  • Valerie

    Ron

    My only intent here was to share that I finally found a superior recipe (Canidae) that has a similar effect on my dog’s stool as the Hill’s i/d did. I was doubly thrilled that the Canidae recipe my dog does well on is the dry recipe since I’ve heard that dry food is better for a dogs’ oral health. I did not mean to imply that the two foods (Canidae and Hill’s i/d) are the same or interchangeable; sorry if I gave that impression.

  • melissa

    Ron-

    I have used both the I/D and the Purina version, EN when medically necessary, and had the same results as you-very quickly the stool firms up and the digestive issues resolved. Not a food I would use long term, but it did what it was supposed to.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Valerie… Please remember your comparison here is between a canned food from one manufacturer (Hill’s I/D) and a dry product from the other (Canidae). All our reviews compare and rate each product based upon its peers.

    Considering their Guaranteed Analysis (nutrient content, dry matter) only, the canned version of Canidae appears to contain significantly more meat than its Hill’s I/D counterpart.

    Yet when comparing the dry kibbles, the nutrient percentages do appear to be very similar. But please note the significant difference in the apparent quality of their ingredients. Using these criteria, the Canidae recipe appears to be far superior.

    Although both products may offer similar GI results (a factor we’re unable to properly verify when rating dog foods on this website), these foods are not the same.

    Thanks for sharing your experience with these two recipes.

  • Ron

    I forgot to mention that the Hills i/d canned has a range of fat % of 25-30%. There are better foods with lower fat %, so I’m not sure what is in the ingredients that do seem to help and bring the bowels back to a fairly normal state.
    I have had to use I/D canned and it does work better for my dog than the other foods I tried prescription and non-prescription,although it was a last resort and I was very hesitant to use it.

  • Ron

    Mary Strauss on her site gives a breakdown of the lowest fat canned and dried foods.

  • Valerie

    F.Y.I. – The same Protein/Fat/Carb ratio reported here in Hill’s i/d exists in Canidae Dry. My Lhasa Apso had similar problems listed here and on other pages (see Hill’s i/d dry) — gastro-intestinal upset, bloody stool, diarrhea, vomiting, and a high vet bill — until a vet recommended Hill’s i/d. He did well on the Hill’s i/d, but every time I tried to re-introduce a high-protein dog food, he got the same loose stool and stomach upset. I concluded that the high ratio of carbs in the Hill’s i/d was the key to keeping the diarrhea at bay, yet so many four-star foods are high in protein. Well, I tried Canidae dry and Canidae canned while visiting out of town recently — strictly out of necessity — and he did well on both. The Canidae dry is more similar in carb-ratio to the Hill’s i/d than the Canidae canned, so I give him more dry than canned, about 75% to 25% respectively.

  • Pingback: Hills Prescription Diet | | BEAUTY REVIEWSBEAUTY REVIEWS

  • Stephanie

    Karen, I think it depends on the dog. Our puppy is doing so well on this food, and it happened practically over night! I sprinkle the Tylan powder over the food (it is supposed to be almost impossible to hide the flavor) and Frankie eats it anyway!

  • Karen

    Our min-pin was put on Hills I/D after almost dying from a bout of pancreatitis a few years ago. The corn and grains in this food almost killed him. I found Royal Canin low fat low fiber canned and although the ingredient list was full of crap, he did okay on it until the recently changed the formula and now it has no meat at all (even by products) at all and his stools are yellow (color of the food) and mushy and round. I have been having the worst time trying to find him a quality canned (easier for us to hide meds in…he has other problems) low fat (less than 10%) and low fiber (he does much better on a lower fiber) dog food with quality ingredients that I can divide into three small meals a day. Our vet chain sells Hills and we had him on three different kinds (r/d and w/d also) at different times in his 6 short years, and the grains in these foods he could just not digest and it upset his whole digestive tract from top to bottom. I would not recommend them to anyone.

  • Stephanie

    btw – the goal is to get his intestinal track back in balance because he is susceptible to everything until his system is under control. He was given a dewormer and flagyl, and I was worried when the diarrhea started again since it was after he was done with the flagyl.

  • Stephanie

    Hi Meagan – Frankie (at age 4 months) came eating IAMS Puppy. I kept him on only that for 10 days, then started adding Orijens Puppy kibble. The first time he went to the vet (24 hours after I got him) they noticed that he had been given many doses of antibiotics, and many bordatella vaccines along with the regular vaccines. The vet was a little concerned. He tested positive for exposure to Giardia which she decided not to treat because he was already being treated for kennel cough. By about 10 days ago (3 1/2 weeks after we got him), he woke up really sick (diarrhea and vomited). Vet gave him IV fluids, and started him on homemade organic chicken and rice. After 5 days, I added Well Balance wet (very basic chicken, sweet potatoes, etc.) which started the diarrhea rolling again. This time I asked the Vet for a real comprehensive plan. He is doing great on the I/D with the Tylan powder.

  • Meagan

    Stephanie- Just curious what was your puppy eating for kibble before you adopted him? And did you start him on any kibble or did you go right in with the organic?

  • Stephanie

    We rescued a schnorkie puppy. He came loaded with parasites :(. After an extended period of an anti-diarrheal, antibiotics, cooking for him and giving him organic baby food, and still he wasn’t okay, I started on Hills Prescription ID yesterday with some white rice and a sprinkle of Tylan powder. This morning, he is a new dog. He had his first normal poop in 10 days, and has new energy. Say what you will about the product, but I am a believer in it!

  • Jonathan

    Come on. Knock half a star off of this. Just ’cause it’s Hill’s. Lol… just kidding.