Eukanuba Natural (Dry)

Share

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

PRODUCT MAY HAVE BEEN DISCONTINUED
See the Following Related Review

Eukanuba Excel Dog Food

Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula dog food receives the Advisor’s mid-tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula product line includes five dry dog foods, four claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance and one recipe for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Adult
  • Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Senior
  • Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Puppy
  • Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Large Breed Adult
  • Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Weight Control Adult (2.5 stars)

Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Adult was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Adult

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 26% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 51%

Ingredients: Lamb, brewers rice, oat flour, ground whole grain sorghum, chicken meal, ground whole grain barley, fish meal (source of fish oil), chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols, a source of vitamin E), dried egg product, dried beet pulp, chicken flavor, potassium chloride, salt, sodium hexametaphosphate, fructooligosaccharides, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, potassium iodide, cobalt carbonate), dl-methionine, flax meal, vitamins (ascorbic acid, vitamin A acetate, calcium pantothenate, biotin, thiamine mononitrate (source of vitamin B1), vitamin B12 supplement, niacin, riboflavin supplement (source of vitamin B2), inositol, pyridoxine hydrochloride (source of vitamin B6), vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), vitamin E supplement, brewers dried yeast, beta-carotene, rosemary extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis23%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis26%16%51%
Calorie Weighted Basis22%33%45%

The first ingredient in this dog food is lamb. Although it is a quality item, raw lamb contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient includes brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The third ingredient is oat flour. Since oat flour is nothing more than finely ground oats, it provides about the same gluten-free nutritional content as raw oats.

The fourth ingredient is sorghum. Sorghum (milo) is a starchy cereal grain with a nutrient profile similar to corn.

Since it is gluten-free and boasts a smoother blood sugar behavior than other grains, sorghum may be considered an acceptable non-meat ingredient.

The fifth ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The sixth ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The seventh ingredient includes fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

What’s more, the controversial chemical ethoxyquin is frequently used as a preservative in fish meals.

But because it’s usually added to the raw fish before processing, the chemical does not have to be reported to consumers.

We find no public assurances from the company this product is ethoxyquin-free.

Without knowing more, we would expect to find at least a trace of ethoxyquin in this product.

The eighth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The ninth ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The tenth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of sodium hexametaphosphate, a man-made industrial polymer with no known nutritive value.

HMP is used in making soap, detergents, water treatment, metal finishing and most likely here to decrease tartar build-up on the teeth.

Although some might disagree, we’re of the opinion that food is not the place for tartar control chemicals or any other non-nutritive substances.

Next, this recipe contains fructooligosaccharide, an alternative sweetener2 probably used here as a prebiotic. Prebiotics function to support the growth of healthy bacteria in the large intestine.

In addition, flaxseed meal is one of the best plant-based sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Flax meal is particularly rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

And lastly, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula dog food looks like an average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 26%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 51%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 26% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 52% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 53%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the flax meal and brewers dried yeast, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice Formula is a plant-based dry dog food using a below-average amount of lamb as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Those looking for a comparable kibble from the same company may want to read our review of Eukanuba Naturally Wild Dog Food.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Eukenuba, Eucanuba

Notes and Updates

11/14/2009 Original review
06/10/2010 Review updated
11/04/2011 Review updated
05/12/2013 Review updated
03/06/2014 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Wikipedia definition
  • Claire Bee

    It brakes my heart all the stories of dogs getting sick, bloody stools and vomiting, going back to different foods, expensive brands, puppy food, senior food, etc, etc.
    My dogs ONLY eat raw food and more and more owners are turning to raw food, saves a bundle in vet bills, to bad most people are so uninformed that think that cooked and processed food that can keep for years in a shelf is good to eat, not my pets, for my pets it’s only raw.
    Do your homework, the payback and the difference in your pets will amaze you.

  • Sammi C

    But the thing is it worked for her and what a wonderful things it was to have her for 18 years!

  • Sammi C

    Thank you for your honest opinion.

  • Sammi C

    Thank you I appreciate your comments.

  • Alexandra

    Hi Ann,

    You kinda have to do a trial and error. Not one food is 100% perfect and no two dogs are the same. So what works for mine: one meal raw and the other is Brothers or Orijen.

    The five stars do have some issues and here are a few reasons: they transition from a poorer quality food and it is to fast of a change and their dogs system didn’t adapt.
    They feed too much, with the higher end foods you feed less, some are much higher in calorie.

    Hope that helps

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    eukanuba is decent. in my opinion it beats science diet, iams, purina, beneful, pedigree, kibbles n bits and basically every national brand. that being said, you can get some foods for less money that are about 4stars (kirkland, nature’s domain, authority grain free, pure balance) or some much much higher quality foods for more money (orijen, acana, etc). it depends on your budget and availability. but i think the eukanuba rated above is a decent food.

  • Ann

    I’m so confused on the food I should be feeding my Huskies. One person says one thing & someone else says just the opposite. My vet recommends Iams, Eukanuba or Science Diet. I now have them on lamb & rice Eukanuba. But I see they are only rated a 3..Yet I see some stating their dogs not doing well on a 5 rating. What & who are you to believe?????

  • Pattyvaughn

    Marketing for seniors is a gimick. I would like to see your senior dog getting more quality protein but it doesn’t need to be a food for seniors.

  • paulieb

    My dogs are now 7byears old, considered seniors, small breed. I have been feeding them Hills Science Diet lamb and rice adult. All the senior Hills foods are chicken based. I wanted to keep them on a lamb based diet. I bought Eukanuba Senior nature lamb a d rice. As I gradually switched them over they both got seriously ill. Vomitting, bloody diarrhea. Took them to the vet, fasted, bland diet, then put them back on the regular adult Hills food again. I didnt hear of any recalls. Informed them at Petco where I bought it. They seemed unconcerned. I am keeping them on the regular Hills food now even if they are seniors. They are happy and healthy.

  • jenny

    I can’t speak for it’s quality, only that my aussie’s hot spots on his abdomen completely cleared up and never returned, shedding decreased and coat has been shiny since being on lamb and rice for 2 years after trying numerous other dog foods and making my own for a while. I’m glad to have found something that works. Might try something else on down the road. Our vet bills were pretty pricey treating his hot spot (secondary infection) and I’m not eager to go down that road again.

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    I’d take this opportunity to switch your pup to a better food. Moving away from corn, at least some of it, is a good thing, but there simply isn’t enough meat in this food.

  • Jacque

    I’ve been feeding Eukenuba Lamb & Rice Senior for nearly 2 years. About 3 months ago, she suddenly developed constant diarrhea, right about the time we bought a new bag and noticed that the shape of the kibble changed. We fasted her, put her on a bland diet and then slowly started her back on the Lamb & Rice, only to have the diarrhea reoccur. We bought a different bag of L&R thinking that maybe it was a bad bag – same result. The vet did extensive tests and found nothing. He gave her metronidazole for 5 days, but the diarrhea came back, so we started her on a 10 day dose. In the meantime, our other dog continued to eat the Lamb & Rice with no apparent ill effect. Then we bought another bag around the first of the year and noticed that the kibble was back to the familiar round shape. Her diarrhea disappeared. It was either the 10 day dose of meds or the kibble – we weren’t sure. Two weeks ago we bought a new bag and, you guessed it, diarrhea is back. I emailed Eukenuba and asked if they had a formula change coincident with the shape change. They confirmed that they are now using oat flour instead of corn meal. To their credit, they have requested that I call them to discuss her diet problems, but quite frankly, she didn’t have any diet problems until they changed their formula.

  • Pingback: What is premium dog food? Find out what it means premium dog food | Dogfoodwithoutcorn101.Your resources on dogfoodwithoutcorn

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Just based on what you’ve said… my guess is that you’re exactly right, he would probably really benefit from a switch to grain free. You might also try a food that is not only grain free, but white potato free as well. Wite potato breaks down quickly into a simple sugar and feeds yeast as well.

  • Myra

    i have two 80lb yellow american labs. i bought the breed specific eukanuba for labs and only give them what they recommend.  One of them licks her paw a lot and kinda bites at her paws. should i stop or give it time? i think she may need grain free?

  • Ron Bachtel

    Thank you VERY much for your reviews. My eyes have been opened. . .
    Ron

  • LA

    Look at a bag of the puppy lamb & rice and this is no longer the food sodium hexametaphosphate.

  • Mary Lou

    That brings tears to my eyes. I am soooo happy you found each other. I am sure she is a precious little girl. Congrats again. Very heartwarming.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Mary Lou,

    We rescued Molly – a small white mix – back in March from a 6 foot chain. This is the only home in which this precious creature “lived” – with one other dog – for nearly 2 years before she was discovered by an angel (a relative of her uncaring owner).

    It never ceases to amaze me just how cruel our fellow humans can be.

    Now, Bailey (our other rescue) has a sister. Thanks for asking.

  • Mary Lou

    Dr. Mike ~ I must really be out of the loop. Who is Molly? Did I miss out on a new family member? If so, congrats!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Goldeagle502,

    In my article about menadione I tried to convey the fact that this supplement is controversial. AAFCO doesn’t even require any vitamin K in a dog food recipe to meet their nutrient profiles.

    I base my “recommendations” on a number of factors – and menadione is only one. There are no 5-star products with menadione. And VERY few that contain this ingredient rated 4-stars.

    There are indeed more rated 3.

    There are NO perfect recipes in the world of commercial dog food products.

    I would have no problem feeding our Bailey and Molly a dog food containing menadione. But I would never feed one of these foods every day for a lifetime.

    Diet rotation (a form of dietary diversification) minimizes the importance of finding that perfect food.

    Hope this helps.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Guest,

    My reviews have absolutely nothing to do with whether or not a dog food is “holistic” or not. As some of the replies in this thread rightfully point out, the word “holistic” is more a marketing term than a scientifically descriptive term.

    After all, the word holistic is not recognized by AAFCO (the standard-setting quasi-government arm of the pet food industry) or the FDA.

    Neither do my reviews give any weighting to whether a food is made with grains versus potatoes. The higher ratings go to the foods made with more meat and fewer low quality ingredients.

    By the way, like with human food, pet food recalls are for specific lots or product runs – not for an entire brand.

    So, my ratings have nothing whatsoever to do with recalls. And they never will. They’re based strictly upon my evaluation of the government regulated label.

    And nothing else.

    However, like with our own human food supply, dog food recalls are inevitable and unpredictable. There are hundreds of pet food brands that have never had a recall. And many of them advertise by bragging “we’ve never had a recall”.

    However, it’s only a matter of time before many of them do.

    Can you (or anyone) predict which ones they will be?

    Trying to choose a pet food (or a human food) based upon the likelihood of it becoming involved in a recall event is a fool’s game.

    Your best and only scientifically based defense is to stay informed. And when a recall does occur, simply become aware of it – and act – as quickly soon as possible.

    Hope this helps.

  • Addie

    The average lifespan for a JRT isn’t 10-12 years, it’s 15 years on average. They’re known to be a very healthy, hardy breed with a long lifespan. 

  • HealthyDogs

    Guest,
    I am glad you are doing your homework!  It is a great place to  start, but I think you have some inexperience and misunderstanding.  The Dog Food Project has not been updated since 2009.  It was a great site and still a nice source of information.  On her own site it talks about outdated research. On the avocado issue I think you misunderstood, she was debunking myths, avocado is okay as long as there is no bark, stems, leaves, skin or pit. 

    As far as Iams and Eukanuba go, 15 years ago they WERE the best foods on the market.  This was before Proctor and Gamble bought them.  Also there weren’t companies offering higher meat, no by products etc.  It was the best available, not great foods, and what we see in the store today is not what the food was 15 years ago. 

    You are very correct in not reading Holistic=Better, it is just a word, you need to research the ingredients, manufacturing and results.  This site addresses ingredients and percentages and Mike clearly states at the bottom of each review “the problem with dog food reviews.”  Whenever we generalize there will always be exceptions because we are, and our dogs are individuals who do not always fit into a box.

    Nutrition is especially tricky that way.  There are an amazing amount of variables, genes, age, disease, breed, size, allergies, individual biochemical synthesis…..

    I find it most interesting that your vet says they see as many diseases on “holistic” food as others.  Because ”holistic” is pretty much a marketing word it depends on the food.  What people consider premium foods (which they think because they are expensive)  I wouldn’t ever feed my dog, but I AM going to feed him good quality ingredients. Personally vaccines, chemical pesticides on their skin or taken internally probably have a bigger negative effect on health, but over decades I have seen the same dog feed on different diets change dramatically when fed appropriately for that dog or that dog’s condition.

    I actually love your observations and questions because that means you are interested in learning, I just see a lack of experience, and we were all that way at some point.

  • melissa

    Eukanuba and Iams are the same company-

    Dogs get sick every day, no matter what they are being fed. I can say that my dogs have never looked as good in the past as they do now-People always said my dogs look healthy and well cared for, but its the little things-ears, coat teeth that have improved immensily that I can see. Coats shiny, softer etc Energy levels in old dogs that are unreal.

    I lost a dog at almost 18yrs of age that ate Purina One and Proplan-it worked for her and she was as healthy as they come, passing away with a mouth full of pearly white teeth. However, just because it worked for her, does not mean it was the best choice : )

  • hounddogmom12

    Hi Guest,

    I understand where you’re coming from. However, Mike doesn’t just promote “expensive brands” – he promotes brands that have ingredients and fat/protein/carb levels most closely resembling a dog’s ancestral diet. Unfortunately many of the high quality foods are more expensive (due to higher meat content, lack of fillers, and higher quality ingredients). However, there are some 4 and 5 star foods that are a good bargain. I personally feed my dogs a raw, grain-free, species appropriate diet modeled after the ancestral diet. They have no issues with “mush stools” – they eliminate once a day, small and firm. They have gorgeous coats, clean teeth, and good breath. I used to feed “grocery store brands” and after seeing the difference high quality, fresh, species appropriate food can make on an animals health I will never feed any kibble again  – “holistic” or “grocery store brand”.

  • http://www.facebook.com/bryanv21 Bryan Van Dusen

    You seem to be misunderstanding me too. There are no such thing as extremes. What works for some may not work for others. Meaning not all holistic foods are good for a particular dog. On the flip side of that, though, is the fact that some dogs do better with holistic foods.

    Just check ingredients and go from there. Don’t get caught up in buzzwords like “holistic”.

  • Guest

    Sorry you misunderstood. The vet clearly stated he is seeing just as many pets sick with all these new products claiming to be holistic.
    I read the dog food project – pet food for dummies.
    15 years ago Eukanuba and other pet store brands claimed it was the best and what I am saying now is ever since the so called new products appeared suddenly the older is garbage and their the best. So in another 10 years are we going to find out that these new products are wrong as well?
    Read the DOG FOOD PROJECT. It actually shows ingredients to avoid. And all I’m saying is I’ve talked to several that say holistic was not working. The vet said his stools should be firm and no smell.
    Well we tried the so called holistic and he has mushy stools and gas so bad you want to run away from him. Going back to read the dog food project – really is good and they tell you again which ingredients are bad and what to avoid. Mike just seems to promote the more expensive newer brands. I mean on his list he recommended Iams simple and natural? Isn’t Iams a grocery store brand? Avoderm it clearly states in many articles do not give your dog avocados. Just saying is all. Seems contradictary.

  • http://www.facebook.com/bryanv21 Bryan Van Dusen

    Not all dogs are created equal, so you can’t treat them that way. What’s good for your JRT is not necessarily good for somebody else’s JRT. Just like not all food that’s good for one male Dutchman is good for this male Dutchman.

    As for Mike’s rating, I’ve read a couple times now that you don’t believe a food deserves 5 stars if it’s been recalled. WHY a food is recalled, and what’s done about it, matters more than it being recalled in the first place.

  • Guest

    I do feed human grade I usually put like chicken and he gets boiled as well as he eats apple and banana. What I am trying to say is Mike only seems to like the holistic and even though some have been recalled they still get 5 stars? He wrote the article on Vitamin K. Not me. Honestly I just found the “DOG FOOD PROJECT” And it explains every ingredient. Not only that it explains in simple language ingredients to avoid. I think the best thing to say is even the Holistic – Etc. might not be good for all pets. My wife had a JRT that died from old age she was 14 almost 15. And she only fed her Eukanuba. She was never sick only seen vet 1x per year. And I have heard this from other Eukanuba users as well. Pets are supposed to have firm not smelly stools. We have tried every holistic out there and not good for our dog. Going back to Eukanuba.

  • hounddogmom12

    Goldeagle502,

    1. Just so you know, Eukanuba has had recalls. The reviews on this site are not based on whether or not a food has had a past recall, recalls can happen to any food – good or bad – even human foods have recalls.

    2. When your vet says “Don’t feed human food to your animal”, the vet means foods such as leftover mac & cheese, donuts, bread, etc. Foods that have no place in an animals diet. If you were to put some left over steamed veggies, or unseasoned grilled lean meat into your dog’s food that would be fine and actually beneficial to the animal. Also “human-grade” references the quality of the food, meaning that it is the same quality that could be sold in grocery stores. Are you saying you’d rather have your dog eat 4D meat (meat from dead, dying, diseased, or downed animals)? Because that’s what’s in these lower quality grocery brands. You may be comfortable feeding that to your dog, but I’m not comfortable feeding it to mine. Also, there is speculation and a lot of evidence to support that some very low quality foods include euthanized animals in their unnamed byproduct.

    3. Eukanuba and other grocery brands aren’t has bad as this site makes them seem? You really need to read a canine nutrition book. The distribution of calories in Eukanuba is: 22% from protein, 33% from fat, 45% from carbs. That is no where near what a dog should be eating. Ideally 49% of calories should come from protein, 44% from fat, and only 6% from carbs. Carbs or horrible for dogs! They are not species appropriate, contribute to weight gain, and support the development of cancer.

    In your latter comment you ask what did pets eat in the wild. They didn’t eat cornmeal, beat pulp, and brewer’s rice I can tell you that much. :)

  • melissa

    Goldeagle-

    Mike describes each component of a food, and then rates it as a n overall product. If you do not want Vit K(artificial) then so be it. Your personal issue with one ingredient does not factor into the overall. Some people do not see it as controversial.

    As for human foods-why would you NOT want to feed human quality foods? I would much prefer human grade chicken then roadkill in my pet’s food. All dogs are different and what works for one, may not work for another-I have had dogs that do not do well on some pricey foods, as well as some “less pricey”-does not mean that there is an issue with the food itself.

  • Goldeagle502

    Also Mike you had a review on Vitamin K in pets foods and I refuse to buy any food with Vitamin K after reading the dog food project as well as your site. Yet you say it might be bad you Recommend foods containing it? The dog food project seems more reliable.
    What did pets eat in the wild?
    Just do not understand why you say vitamin k is bad yet on some you recommend it?
    If your only for holistic foods just say that. I agree with vet they are going to far with this holistic and human grade ingredients. But vitamin k no thanks.

  • Goldeagle502

    My wife fed her JRT Eukanuba for almost 15 years. The dog died from old age.
    My opinion and it’s just my opinion I feel these ratings are based unfairly. Mike you only give high rating to so called holistic. Yet many of them have had recalls. Not only that our vet said today they are over doing the holistic and they are seeing just as many pets ill from all these new foods.
    Personally I am one whom cites that beet pulp helps.
    Her JRT was never ill until she hit 15. – The average for a JRT was 10-12. I think if you want to include human grade ingredients then give them an apple or a banana.
    Everyone should check each ingredient individually on their own. When our dog now was a puppy he came with Eukanuba then we fell into this find better. Well after several trials of this holistic with no success we are going back to eukanuba or authority. When he was eating foods with beet pulp his stools were firm and no smell. Now all he gets his gas and very soft stools. And his gas now would send you running out of our house. I now agree with the vet enough is enough and go back to where years ago it was said never buy grocery store brands. But come on Eukanuba and a few other brands aren’t as bad as you seem to make them. And as the vet said never feed human food but yet apparently it’s in all these new foods. Confused is to say the least. Nor would I buy any foods that have been recalled yet your giving all foods that have been recalled more then once top stars. Just saying.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi J Curry… Unfortunately, the only folks that would actually known the true answer to your question would be the manufacturer. You’ll probably do better to call the company with your question.

    In addition, you may also wish to read my article, “The Problem with Dog Food Reviews” Hope this helps.

  • sandy

    J Curry,

    You might want to ask customer service at Eukanuba, and we would love to hear what answer they give you.

  • J Curry

    Where are the ingredients from and where is Eukanuba made?
    Also, where is the Eukanuba Small Breed dog food made ad where re the ingredients from.
    Thank you, Jean

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Loni… Even though your praise of this product is based upon your dog’s individual experience, our reviews are never based upon results. This fact is stated at the end of every review on this website. It is based upon the label contents only. Ingredient quality and apparent meat content. And nothing else.

    Using these criteria only, this rating is appropriate for this product. Hope this helps explain our differences. Thanks for writing.

  • Loni

    I keep coming across these middle of the road reviews on this food. My dog has extremely sensitive skin and gets ear infections like you wouldn’t believe. After 4 years of trying every high end and natural dog food on the market I gave in and bought Eukanuba Natural Lamb & Rice Large Breed, just to find something she wasn’t allergic to. I thought for sure since it was Eukanuba that I would end up throwing it out after a week, but I’ll be honest, my dogs skin hasn’t looked this good since she was 3 months old. She hasn’t had 1 ear infection and she likes it a lot. It fills her up too, she isn’t begging for food in the middle of the night anymore and her weight is better than its ever been. I really can’t tell you how much of a difference it has made on her, so why is it that its rated so low on EVERY site? One site even rated it below supermarket brands!

  • http://amalgamationspp.com Peter Paul

    @Cait:

    Hi cait. I am all over the internet looking for the best dog to give my lab. I heard quite interesting things about Eukanuba and learned that most Eukanuba products have grain-based formulas combined with chicken and chicken by products as their main source of animal-based protein.

    Grains, particularly corn grains are hard for dogs to digest and chicken by-products are known to cause skin problems to dogs.

    I am currently feeding my dog this product from Australia called Vitality High Energy which promises to have lamb meat and beef in them, but even that, I’m really not sure all the other ingredients in it is good for my dog.

    I am seriously considering raw feeding my dog or probably cook meat medium-rare. This is the only way I can think of to ensure my dog has a high protein diet.

  • Cait

    So, this isn’t a horrible food to feed your dog??
    I’ve really been researching different dog foods recently, because a woman that I work with was telling me how she gives her dogs the BEST organic food (I cannot recall the brand), and she researched all dog foods and she will only give her dogs the BEST. When I told her I feed my dogs Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice she shrugged, “It’s alright.” Which gave me the impression that it wasn’t good and she didn’t want to offend me.
    To be honest I thought Eukanuba was suppose to be a great dog food, I’ve always heard pretty decent things about it, and I chose the Lamb and Rice because it sounded better than the regular Eukanuba, plus my specific breed of dogs have sensitive skin and stomachs so I thought it would be good for them.
    Both of my dogs seem to like it, and I haven’t had any problems with them while they have been on it. . .and I don’t mind the price. So, honestly I just want to know if Eukanuba Natural Lamb and Rice is a good food (obviously looking at the ratings there are better and worse), but I will feel better knowing I’m not feeding my dogs crap. . .

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Roger… Most dry dog foods look this way when they list a whole meat in the first position. As I mention, after cooking, the moisture is lost and the meat’s impact on the finished product is less (thus it would be in a lower position on the ingredients list if that list was organized after cooking).

    Compare almost every food I review. You’ll see a similar pattern. Always keep in mind, most all kibbles are carb based. The carbs (grains, tubers, etc.) are the predominant ingredient in dry foods. So, this is a nearly perfect example of a 3-star product.

    For a better understanding, re-read the whole review.

  • Jonathan

    Roger, it still has an average amount of protein, with no plant based protein boosters, meaning it has an average amount of meat. If you wonder why it’s a three star food, look at some two star foods. This food doesn’t contain any synthetic vitamin K, BHA, animal by-products or generic animal fats or meats.

  • Roger Prows

    I am confused as to how this gets a 3 star rating when the likely true first ingredient (and quite possibly the second as well) are cheap filler ingredients and the meat base is extremely low.

  • anthony

    all this time i’ve been feeding my 15 month old german shepherd eucanuba only to find it’s not even a 5 star food. I guess it’s an ok food cause he seems to like it, but it’s a big hit on the pocket.