Canine Caviar (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Canine Caviar Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Canine Caviar Holistic product line lists four dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Canine Caviar Holistic Special Needs (2 stars)
  • Canine Caviar Holistic Lamb and Pearl Millet ALS
  • Canine Caviar Holistic Chicken and Pearl Millet ALS (4.5 stars)
  • Canine Caviar Holistic Lamb and Pearl Millet Large Breed Puppy

Canine Caviar Holistic Lamb and Pearl Millet ALS Dinner was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Canine Caviar Holistic Lamb and Pearl Millet ALS Dinner

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 15% | Carbs = 50%

Ingredients: Dehydrated lamb, pearl millet, lamb fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), sun-cured alfalfa, Aspergillus niger fermentation culture, Aspergillus oryzae fermentation culture, Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation culture, sun-cured kelp, FOS (prebiotic), calcium proteinate, sodium chloride, lecithin, choline chloride, parsley, fenugreek, peppermint, taurine, selenium, whole clove garlic, vitamin E, zinc proteinate, vitamin C, papaya, rose hips, Yucca schidigera extract, niacin, beta-carotene, manganese proteinate, vitamin D3, biotin, vitamin A, riboflavin, vitamin B12, potassium proteinate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis25%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%15%50%
Calorie Weighted Basis24%33%44%

The first ingredient in this dog food is dehydrated lamb. Lamb is considered “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered” lamb and associated with skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

Lamb is naturally rich in all ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The second ingredient is millet, a gluten-free grain harvested from certain seed grasses. Millet is hypoallergenic and naturally rich in B-vitamins and fiber as well as other essential minerals.

The third ingredient includes lamb fat. Lamb fat is obtained from rendering lamb, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Lamb fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, lamb fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The fourth ingredient is dried alfalfa. Although alfalfa is high in protein (18%) and fiber, it’s uncommon to see it used in a dog food. This hay-family ingredient is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

Yet alfalfa can still provide some healthy nutrients to a dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, garlic can be a controversial item. Although most experts favor the ingredient for its numerous health benefits, garlic (in rare cases) has been linked to Heinz body anemia in dogs.2

However, the limited professional literature we surveyed provided no definitive warnings regarding the use of garlic — especially when used in small amounts (as it likely is here).

Next, this recipe contains fructooligosaccharide (or FOS), an alternative sweetener3 probably used here as a prebiotic. Prebiotics function to support the growth of healthy bacteria in the large intestine.

In addition, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Canine Caviar Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Canine Caviar Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 15% and estimated carbohydrates of about 50%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 26% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 51% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 56%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the dried alfalfa in this recipe and the linseed, split pea and chickpea contained in the others, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Canine Caviar Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of dehydrated lamb or chicken as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Note: Although this recipe does not appear to have changed, we have lowered its rating due to the greater weight we now place on our estimate of the true amount of meat in the product.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/21/2010 Original review
11/21/2010 Review updated
01/17/2012 Review updated
07/22/2013 Review updated
07/22/2013 Last Update

  1. Adapted by the Dog Food Advisor and based upon the official definition for beef published by the Association of American Feed Control Officials, 2008 Edition
  2. Yamato et al, Heinz Body hemolytic anemia with eccentrocytosis from ingestion of Chinese chive (Allium tuberosum) and garlic (Allium sativum) in a dog, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association 41:68-73 (2005)
  3. Wikipedia definition
  • theBCnut

    If dogs have a healthy gut, they can handle food changes without issues. Feeding the same food day in and day out creates unhealthy conditions in the gut. It limits the number of different strains of the healthy bacteria that can survive in the gut, which makes it easier for bad bacteria to colonize the gut.

  • Ashley Jaquish

    Sounds like he may have an issue with poultry, have you tried a different protein?

  • Ashley Jaquish

    I’d also like to add that any time you switch a dog’s diet, especially cold swapping, they will have digestive issues… If your dog has an issue with the chicken kind, try the Lamb! My dog cannot have poultry.

  • Ashley Jaquish

    My dog (2.5 y/o rot+pit) has a very special needs diet. Many allergies and sensitivities. We have been through MANY brands & vets. We were dealing with rashes and bacterial infections, as well as tummy problems. Canine Caviar Lamb & Pearl Millet has been a godsend. It is amazing and clears my pup’s skin right up. I have no doubt that he is getting all he needs and then some. He eats 2 cups in the AM and 2 cups at night. About 170lbs. Very happy, healthy pup. Would never go back to anything else. 5 stars by me!

  • jgr789

    Why does the Special Needs formula only get 2 stars?

  • Mareedee

    My dog had been eating this food for almost 2 years, without any issues. When the diarrhea began, my vet suspected a parasite, even though the stool samples were negative. It took us a long time to find a food that my dog liked, & tolerated, too. So, my vet wanted him to stay on this food, if possible. It wasn’t until I relayed some of the posts on here to him, that he told us to discontinue the food entirely. We do give my dog a probiotic & a digestive enzyme, as well. Thank you for your advice, though.

  • Storm’s Mom

    You fed “3 or 4 different bags” of the same food to a dog experiencing “explosive diarrhea” on it? Why?? Whichever food you choose (might want to stay away from chicken and go grain-free), you might want to add digestive enzymes and probiotics to help with his stomach.

  • Mareedee

    My dog was also having explosive diarrhea, with the chicken & pearl millet. It began around Thanksgiving, & has only stopped when the food wasn’t given. This was with 3 or 4 different bags. I also called Canine Caviar & asked if they had either changed the formula, or if anyone else had reported diarrhea. I was told “no”. I am feeding my dog a prescription veterinary diet, which he hates, & rotating boiled chicken & rice while I search for a new dog food.

  • Cheryl

    Thank you, Rani.. I thought I was going crazy.. My 2 year old Pit Bull did the same thing and her vet could not figure out what was wrong with her.. I will look into a different food as well..

  • Ry

    Switching from brands so quickly is usually not recommended. Maybe trying another flavor you might see different results. Allergies are not just started at birth but develop overtime. Chicken being the most common and also has a high richness due to the chicken and chicken fat. In my opinion you switching to science diet was a poor decision. Only reason the stools hardened was due to abnormally high grains content not to mention high in corn and wheat. Although they might have high fiber contents they also have no nutritional benefit to the animals. Makes it dirt cheap to produce and by putting “vet recommended” on the bag is just a marketing scheme. Full on by products and animal “plasma”. Mmmm yummy

  • Betsy Greer

    I’m hoping that’s the case too, Patty. We’re actually on a round of Canine Caviar lamb & pearl millet right now. [I had it on hand, imagine that, so I decided to give it a shot next]. It’s too soon to tell, but so far so good.

    Based on the foods that Sam has done well on, they tend to be low glycemic and gluten free foods and this variety fits right in.

    If I’m not mistaken, Canine Caviar is made by Hi-Tek, right? I had contact with a very nice and helpful guy from Hi-Tek about one of the other brands they manufacture and he was very accessible.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Maybe after so many months of complaints about their customer service, they finally decided they were losing enough customers.

  • Donna

    I called 1-800-392-7898 no problem getting in touch with a live person and she was very helpful, so I’m not seeing these problems.

  • Rani

    Doesn’t make sense though. Changed their food and all fine. This isn’t the first time they have gotten sick on canine caviar. And my friends dog that is also on the same food just noted she is having the same problem. The only common element is the dog food. They haven’t been in parks together, they havent played together… the only common factor is we (doggy parents) had bought the food at the same time while out shopping. All signs are pointing to the food. So permanently making a switch.

  • Melissaandcrew

    If both dogs had the same problem, but different food supplies, I would guess either viral or something in the environment. Just like people, some take longer to recover than others.

  • Rani

    So, just so you know this happened with 4 bags of dog food. The girls have two separate bins for their food. That is done on purpose. After having a multi animal household I learned years back to maintain separate food for all in case something is bad you would easily identify it has possibly the food. This case had use confused because they were both sick at the sane time yet different bags of food.

  • Rani

    I have used chicken pearl for my two girls since puppy hood. Initially puppy and now the adult pearl. The only difference between the two is the distribution of fat, carbs etc. But a few weeks back both my girls developed explosive diarrhea with hints of blood. Both were immediately put on homemade chicken and rice. Stool hardened. Both had X-rays, stool samples, blood tests. We could not figure out the problem.
    I started them back on a brand new bag of the adult chicken pearl and after a few days I noticed my older girls stool was soft. Then 1 week later explosive diarrhea while my younger girl was still fine. The older girl went back on chicken and rice then to science diet adult lite small bites to monitor her stools. Then about 2.5 weeks in my younger girl went right into explosive diarrhea. Instead if chicken rice I immediately switched her to science diet adult lite small bites and two poops later and she was back to normal stools.
    Has anyone else had this problem? I wrote the company and they have failed to respond. I am starting to strong believe this company and dog food is not chalked up to what they want you to think.

  • nir

    Hi,
    The answer of Jeff baker from canine caviar is 4240 clories per kg .
    Cup==141 grams == 599 calories.
    The bags are not updated yet.
    They update once a year.

  • nir

    Yes you are right.
    We must check it out.
    I posted on the “off topic discussions” let’s wait for an answer.

  • Boxermom

    Yeah I don’t live in the U.S as well (though I saw people here say the company don’t answer the phon anyway). I actually asked the importer and he said one cup is 100-110g.
    I don’t know, If they at least wrote the calories per kg, we could know how much is in it :-S
    And I still wonder how much to feed (I don’t have their meaurement cup)- I need to feed 2.5 cups/day which is either 297g or 352g…

  • nir

    Hi ,
    Yes. i posted my question on their facebook page ,but till now there is no answer.
    My problem is i cannot phone them cause i do not live in the U.S .
    I have their meaurement cup ,but this not the issue the is how much clories there is in it, 599 or less ,because if 141 gram == 599 clories then we have less clories .
    I hope someone here can help us.

  • Boxermom

    I also wonder the same! I just bought our first bag of lamb and pearl millet and notice there’s a different…(I actually wanted to buy Merrick, but found out they have chicken fat in their lamb food…).
    I measured it myself with electric kitchen weight, I used standard measuring cup, and it was closer to 119g (it was around 115). It’s really weird though, I can’t see why there’s a difference. Maybe the standard cup in the U.S is bigger?
    I hate it when companies write the daily amount in cups and not in grams. It also makes me wonder about the calories- coz it’s also written per cup…
    Did you try asking the company on their Facebook wall? Maybe they’ll answer faster since it’s public…

  • nir

    Hi,
    I feed my dog chicken pearl millet.In web site of canine caviar it says 141 gram per cup but on the bag it is written 119 gram per cup .What is the correct one the bag or the web site ?
    The company was not answered to my question.

    Thanks

    Nir

  • Nir

    thank you so much.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Adding water is a great idea.

  • Nir

    Hi,
    maybe someone knows if there is problem with adding water to dry food for dogs ?
    My logic says no, because immediately after eating dry food with no water most of the dogs drink a lot of water .
    What do you think ?
    Do you think it can dilute the vitamins and minerals?
    thanks
    Nir

  • Olivia

    ive emailed Jeff Baker from Canine Caviar to see if i can get a response. ill let you know how soon he responds.

  • InkedMarie

    I cannot use a food from a company with this kind of customer service, or lack thereof. While we could feed the food and never need to speak to them, what if there is a medical issue & you need to speak to them?

  • Betsy Greer

    That is a bummer, I looked at CC as being a possible regular rotational food for my two ~ but service like that could be a deal killer ~ it just reflects so poorly on the company and their level of concern for their customers.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Same here. One of my biggest pet peeves is poor customer service. However, in this case I guess it’s not even poor customer service – it’s non-existent customer service.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Thats reason enough for me to not buy a companys products.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    The customer service for this company is so horrendous that I feel compelled to comment on it. They don’t respond to their messages (sent through a form on their website) and I’ve called numerous times during business hours and no one answers and their voicemail is full. Grr.

  • Olivia

    my understanding (please someone correct me if im wrong) is that dehydrated meats contain more protein and are processed much less (or should be), usually flash cooked or something. meals are still good but are less protein then dehydrated meats.. i could be wrong .dehydration process minimizes the destruction of the nutrients and enhances the bioavailability to the pet

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I emailed CC awhile back with a few questions about their food and they never responded to my email. So I would have to agree – bad customer service.

  • Lindy T

    I had the same problem with CC. My vet recommended Acana and my dog loves it!!

  • Lindy T

    I love Acana…my dog is doing great.

  • Lindy T

    I researched a food that works even better and I refuse to support a company that doesn’t care about their consumers.

  • Lindy T

    Not a drama queen exotica, just don’t want others to go through the heartache that I did. This company strung me on for a month and I lost money.

  • Lindy T

    I am so sorry that you went through the same thing. They do nothing to improve their service. What is the purpose of having a great product when the company does not have the customer service ethics to back it up.

  • llhawki

    I
    agree with you, Lindy. I have a greyhound with extreme allergies. I can’t feed any turkey, salmon, rabbit or white fish. He also reacts to oatmeal, potato,
    sweet potato, millet, quinoa, and rice. So I decided to start my greyhound on the CC Wilderness Grain Free venison based. Their customer service locator gave
    me a store just around the corner from me. YAY!!! I contacted the store who told me they didn’t have any in stock but the Canine Caviar representative
    advised them they would have it in their next delivery 3 days away. I also arranged for the store to get the frequent buyer cards sent to them from CC.
    And the CC Customer service rep said she would send me some samples of the food and some of their treats. Which I NEVER recieved. The store delivery day came and went but no CC delivered to the store. The excuse was that they didn’t have it in the warehouse. Why did the rep say he could supply it then?? So I waited another week and still no food nor had the store received that Frequent Buyer
    Cards nor did I ever receive the promised samples. Why feed a dog food that you cant depend on the supply being available?

    When I posted the episode to their FB page all they ever said was they wanted the name of the cust. srvc rep. Well there was only ever one who answered the
    phone. They never asked for my address again to try and send me the promised samples nor did they ever say they were sorry. It was only a blaming session on
    someone else in the company.

    I do not want to deal with a company who won’t even try to help or follow up with a prospective customer. At $75 a bag I expect better from a company and I
    am not going to promote nor patronize such a company that treats people that way. Canine Caviar is not the same company that started out back in the late 1990″s. There are plenty of other dog foods out there it just takes time to find them.

    I am now feeding Earthborn Grain-Free Meadow Feast. It’s $20 less a bag and rated 5-stars on this site.

    Oh and by the way CC deleted my FB posts and the whole string of conversation with them. The whole interaction with them just left a bitter, bitter taste in
    my mouth.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That would have been Paige s, you can get much less informed. Oh, look one of her comments is right below this.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    There was someone on the forums awhile ago trying to say that Canine Caviar kibble is the equivalent of a raw food and that the dehdyrated meat and meat meals used in the kibble are raw lol

  • Pattyvaughn

    Dehydrated lamb should be less processed than lamb meal. Note the words “should be”

  • tenar

    Is “dehydrated lamb” just another way of saying “lamb meal”? or does it mean raw lamb?

  • paiges

    there is a fantastic video on canine caviars facebook page, its called training video, it explains how the food is flash cooked for 6 seconds at 180 degrees- chicken and lamb are dehydrated meats, not meals, and so forth. really educational, might help complete the listing and give this fantastic food 5 stars :) hope that helps

  • jgflag

    We just started our Bernese Mountain Dog with kidney problems on the Special Needs, so I can’t comment on the food…yet. But, I feel the need to comment on customer service: They’ve been *amazing* with us, as we investigate their foods for our dog. Multiple phone calls over the last week, and they’ve never failed to be prompt, helpful, and informative.

  • Pattyvaughn

    The only way a food helps with environmental allergies is by boosting overall health and keeping the immune system at optimum. This is supposed to help the over reaction in the skin to happen to a lesser degree, i.e. a flea allergic dog will still be flea allergic, but won’t react as strongly to each individual bite.
    I’m glad you have found a food that is working for her, and it maybe that over time she will show less reaction to her environmental allergens as her system has a chance to calm down.
    BTW, the star system never addresses how an individual dog will do on a food. It is based on ingredients and the guaranteed analysis. There is no way for anyone to know how an individual dog will do on any particular food barring known allergies and intolerances.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Exotica,

    Unfortunately, your recent remarks here compel me to remind you to please adhere to Our Commenting Policy which states:

    “… we delete comments that exceed the boundaries of courteous behavior. This includes remarks that are rude, profane, mean-spirited, disrespectful, lack good manners or otherwise unrelated to the topic at hand.”

    Please consider yourself duly warned.

  • exotica

    you tell me what is more important the owners of the company or your dog? u tell me now. Is your dogs health really worth you being a drama queen?

  • exotica

    this is by far the best dog food in canada, how on earth can it get 4and a half stars that is just stupid, it is what my dog ended up with and is the only food she can handle and have perfect stools with always and no itchy or gooey eyes. stuff like orijen almost klled her. She still has enviromental allergy though like red paws. I am still curious about brothers I wonder if it is better than this food as in it could even combat the enviromental stuff?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Lindy,

    I totally get that sometimes you don’t even want to patronize a company with poor customer service. That aside, if the food works well for your dog, why not consider keeping it in your rotation and purchasing it elsewhere. I buy 99% of my dogs food online (despite having abundant local access ~ as it’s way more convenient for me).

    They carry Canine Caviar at:

    Petflow.com: http://www.petflow.com/explorer?x=-772&y=-61&search=canine+caviar+dog

    Dogfooddirect.com:http://www.dogfooddirect.com/store/Search.aspx?SearchTerms=canine%20caviar

    Chewy.com: http://www.dogfooddirect.com/store/Search.aspx?SearchTerms=canine%20caviar

    …to name a few, I’m sure there are others.

  • Lindy T.

    Food is excellent but worst company to deal with. It is very difficult to get their food in regular stores as most have to special order it from Canine Caviar. Their customer service lacks genuine caring for their customers. After weeks of heartache and being given the run around, I dumped the product in favor of Acana. Their is also a company called Nature’s Pet Cuisine that carries nothing but Canine Caviar and they are also diffcult to deal with.

  • paige s

    HI ! i work for a global pet foods in Barrie, Ontario ! and I AM IN LOVE with your food !! my dog is doing SOOOO fantastic !!!!! i wish they offered a staff feeding program, but even tho they dont, its still worth all the money :) i recommend this food to so many customers, its one of my 1st go to pet foods for dogs with diabetes, liver, kidney, colitis, almost any issue this food really does help :) straight transition is amazing because the way this food is formulated, its so fantastic, i need to be the spokesperson for this food i am literally SOOO in love :) i clap my hands when people come in for it ! again thankyou soooo much for making such a fantastic food !!
    yours truly, Paige

    [email protected]

  • Paige S

    hi there, my 10 year old Choc Lab has elevated liver enzymes as well, i feel her the special needs formula. ALSO i recommend highly Atlantic sea kelp you can get from global pets and its by healthy paws. I do this for my girl and omg shes doing SO fantastic !! you can try also adding for extra fiber instead of benefiber – pure pumpkin or sweet potatoe. Just make sure its PURE pumkpin. Global pet foods also carries it made by fruitables. my girl is so shiny and soft, and healthy looking. shes at a perfect weight, i am so impressed with this food !!

  • Paige S

    I would think its the stores who arent moving this product, i have been on this food and NEVER had any problems. if stores have product that sit on their shelves, they should be pull them off their shelves whe they come close to expiring. thats just not fair to the consumer. but its excellent food, and not always the company who produces the food, but the particular store themselves.

  • paige s

    completly agree with alexandra :) my dog is doing amazing, absolutly amazing on the special needs formula, and she has a liver disease. fromm is an excellent food but can have to much potatoe and ingrediants for some dogs. CC is a nice limited ingrediant food :)

  • Paige S

    I am in love with this food. its a fantastic product !! i have been on a number of vet foods and store bought foods at nutritional based pet stores (global pets) and by far this is the most amazing food i have my dog on. The pre and Probiotics help with dogs digestion, the kelp is amazing for organs (special needs formula) my girl has a liver disease. I work at a global pet foods, and Dogs are doing AMAZING with this food.. picky dogs to dogs with ALOT of stomach issues and allergies, this food by far has surpassed my expectations and i would recommend anyone to try it

  • karyssa

    Care to explain?

  • Charlie_Driggs

    Very poor customer service. Be warned.

  • Charlie_Driggs

    I had the same experience with the Lamb and Pearl Millet. Called Canine Caviar and they were very blase about the whole thing, and the packaging was very murky as to how they could trace it.

    Canine Caviar promised to pick up the returned bags for testing and they never did.

    Consequently, the store decided not to carry their products any more.

    After this experience, I would NEVER recommend Canine Caviar. Switched to Zignature, which my 17 year old border collie mix loves.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m starting a card file.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    My mistake. The weepy eyes were from NVI. I came across that in an old post on a different thread. As many different kibbles as I’ve used, I really ought to write this stuff down especially since my memory has gone to the “dogs.”

  • Alexandra

    Hi AJ,

    I have fed CC in the past with my last dog, he did very well on it. This was about 15 years ago when CC was first put on the market.

    I fed their grain free venison about two years ago before the current formulas. Again my dogs did very well on it.

    I like CC over Fromms as they use a lot of potato in their grain free lines and that can be problematic.

  • Alexandra

    LMAO Betsy and Jan, you make it sound like we hoarders have problems!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Okay….I think CC is a fine food, but it’s hard for me to get. I don’t mind ordering online occasionally, bu I do prefer to buy my main food locally. My Cavaliers do okay in the 26-30 percent protein percentage range. Laverne is turning 8 and Hazel is turning 6, both have the same birthday…Aug. 16 lol. I lost my beautiful blenheim at 12 years old this past Jan. 13. to SM :(…..still miss her dearly!

  • AJ

    Well my cav can’t be on a high protein grain free diet. So that’s why I’m lookin at CC cause so far I like the protien ammount and I was thinking about the chicken and millet one. Personally to me life’s abundance is the best but he’s getting tired of it I suppose.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi AJ,

    I, like Jan, am a dog food hoarder… I once fed my Cavalier the Canine Caviar Wilderness. She definitely wasn’t too wild about it and if my memory serves, it made her eyes runny. She has a healthy gut, so there were no digestive issues or anything. I wanted to like if, so I went a different route and picked up bag of the Lamb & Pearl Millet, which I have on hand that we’ll eventually open.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Ahh….I know of Life’s Abundance but have never fed it. Well….I can say that Fromm is a great brand. I have fed it a lot and actually have 2 small bags of the Beef grainfree on hand. (I’m kinda a dog food hoarder lol!) I haven’t thought about feeding Canine Cavair because I can’t get it locally. I’m not totally adverse to ordering online but prefer to buy locally. I was feeding Merrick until I had some inconsistencies in the kibble pieces in a few bags. So I switched to Acana Duck. I’ve fed that for the past 2 months but it looks like my mixed breed (who’s 12) is having issues with it. So…now I’m feeding Wellness Small Breed Healthy Weight because I wanted to get the fat percentage a little lower. I also do toppers like Weruva, Fromm 4Star and Simply Nourish canned food.

  • AJ

    Thank you. I am currently feeding mine lifes abundance but it seems like he got tired of it. He litteraly won’t eat it unless i feed it to him by my hand. This recently started. So im debating to change it to this brand or fromms.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hi AJ! I have 2 Cavaliers and though I’m not feeding it now I have fed Canine Caviar in the past. I fed the Chicken, Lamb and Special Needs. The dogs did well and liked it. I would not be adversed to feeding it again in the future.

  • AJ

    Anyone have a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and is currently feeding them canine caviar?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yes, those are probiotics.

  • Sean

    Aren’t these considered probiotics?”

    “Aspergillus niger fermentation culture, Aspergillus oryzae fermentation culture, Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation culture”

  • Tom Fitch

    Re: Canine Caviar Special Needs
    I just bought this for my dog with Lepto as it is lower in phosphorus and supposed to be easier on the kidneys. Got it home and it smelled like paint. I phoned the company and was told the fats had gone bad and to return it to the store. At the store we opened the two other bags and they were both also bad. Tried two other stores and opened all of their bags and they were all bad. All of the “best by dates” were at least 6 months away. In my opinion, this food should be recalled.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Doxxie322 –

    Senior dogs do not need less protein than adult dogs – in fact senior dogs need up to 50% more protein than adult dogs. As dogs age they become less efficient at metabolizing protein – however their dietary need for protein and the amino acids it provides does not decrease with age. For this reason senior dogs should be fed foods higher in protein and, ideally, the protein should be less processed and easier to digest (canned foods, raw foods, dehydrated foods- instead of kibble). Enzymes can be very beneficial for seniors as well and help to increase the efficiency of their digestion. Some also believe that high levels of protein can contribute to renal failure in older dogs – this is not true either. Low quality protein that is not biologically available can stress the kidneys – however high quality food, with biologically available protein is beneficial to the senior dog. Adding moisture to the diet puts less stress on the kidneys as well – the reason why canned, dehydrated, homemade and raw foods are preferable to dry foods (especially for seniors).

    Here’s an article from Dr. Becker:

    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/04/26/make-this-mistake-with-your-pets-food-and-you-could-destroy-their-kidney-and-liver.aspx

  • Doxxie322

    I feed TOTW.  I use Wild Pacific Stream for my adult dogs and I use Wild Wetlands for my senior dogs as it has a lower protein.  My dogs love TOTW.  Maybe that will solve the protein level issue and the fact that your dog doesn’t like Canien Caviar.  Good Luck

  • Pattyvaughn

    You could try adding digestive enzymes to his food and see if that gets him to stop poo eating.

  • Becki76

    My dog was eating Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream and loves it (all of my dogs do).  His vet said he should be on a lower protein food because he had some off kidney levels.  I switched him to Canine Caviar Special Needs because it’s lower protein and lower phosphorous.  But he doesn’t seem to like it that much and ever since we switched him he’s been eating poo.  He’s NEVER done that in his life before.  I’m a bit put off because of this behavior and not sure if I should switch him back and just use a kidney support additive.  I read such great things about this food so I’m sad :(

  • Marc

    My 17yo dog was on this food for about 8 months. It seemed to rejuvenate him. We recently ran into a problem with a bag of the food that had gone bad and I was not pleased with how Canine Caviar it.  So I’m switching him to Orijen Senior.  

  • Jenifermorrell

    *Sigh* I had such high hopes for this non-extruded kibble, but we ended up with screaming diarrhea the two times we tried to switch our Dane over. Extremely sensitive gut, so didn’t dare do the quick transition recommended. Instead did 1/8 at a time. By the time we got half way, his gut was not at all happy. Glad it’s good for some folks, but, evidently, not for us.

  • exotica

    starting this food soon gona hope it gets rid of my dogs issues i prey to god it does ears are really a problem also right now but the eye go is gone with probiotics

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    A few years ago I used CC Special Needs for a kidney issue one of my dogs had. I really liked it. However, I can’t get it locally anymore. I have thought about feeding it again, they have some new grain frees that look good to me. I like that you don’t have to transition this food like others. I might order some eventually.

  • Mareedee

    My 2 year old German Shepherd had issues with vomiting & loose stools after receiving immunizations. The vet gave him meds & put him on Purina’s EN diet for 8 weeks. Then, the super storm Sandy hit our area. We could not find the Purina EN, anywhere. At the advice of our local feed store, I bought a small bag of the Canine Caviar Special Needs Dinner. We were forced to almost immediately switch our dog over to this. Much to our surprise, he did not have any gas, vomiting, or loose stools. And, he actually liked it! Now, he’s eating Canine Caviar’s Chicken & Pearl Millet, which he also enjoys. I caught a glimpse of his coat in the sun the other day. The colors are rich & shiny, & it feels like silk. He is happy to come to his bowl at meal times, has tons of energy, & his poops are perfectly formed, with low odor.

  • EvesHumanMom

    Since his first real summer in the heat and humidy, my friend’s year old Shiba inu wouldn’t eat in the morning.  Even with the cooler weather he seems to prefer eating later (he isn’t very interested in his bowl until noon.)  They used little canned or tripe, like Storm’s Mom says, also, dried goats milk shaved on top seemed to help.  Do you wet your food?  If you heat it a bit, or pour a little warm (not boiling) water over the kibble, it releases the yummy smells, which can stimulate his appetite.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Could it be that he’s staying fuller, longer and isn’t as hungry? How old is your dog and what’s his activity level like? How much are you feeding him and how is his weight? Has he lost or gained weight?

  • Storm’s Mom

    Have you tried topping it with wet/canned food?  Tripe, in particular, is something practically no dog can refuse! :-)

  • woodmt

    My dog for many years has alwasy eaten a lot of grass and had allergies so I picked up cc special needs to try something new. Went with special needs because of the low protien percentage as he has high enzyme levels and has to be carefull with his liver. But after about 2 months he seemed to not like the taste of it and would pass up many meals and only then eat later in the day. Not sure what to do? The itching has practially stopped althogether and rarely eats grass. Much improved enought to stay on it, but any suggestions what I could add to get him to eat the food again?

  • Chris

    I just started my dog on S.N. by C.C. and  1) he loves it &  2) it helped him with the colitis he had for several weeks despite being on Hills I.D. After his first meal of CC Special Needs he was better and has improved every day since.  He’s actually pretty much recovered now.  Tonight I started giving additional protein, which I plan to rotate weekly, but he needs at least 27% instead of 18%.  I’ve also added extra fiber in the form of Benefiber as he needs at least 12%, plus I’ve added some fruits & veggies.  He was on a Purina Rx diet which helped his elevated triglycerides a great deal, but the ingredients are just garbage, so while it helped his triglycerides, which is extremely important, he got seriously thin, his skin/coat were TERRIBLE and this food litterally went right through him.  I’ve never seen any dog poop SO MUCH EVER.  He desperately needed a healthier diet that had the same protein, fat and fiber % as the Rx diet.  When I walked my dogs tonight, he looked just a little bit heavier to me.  This is great as he was so thin.  It’s only been a week since starting the Special Needs diet and I’m still holding my breath, but he has improved.  If I have found a healthier diet that is low fat, I can easily increase the protein and fiber so he gets higher %. Additionally, he gets Omega 3 (1500) by Nordic Naturals for pets, the multi vit supplement & probiotic by Arks Naturals and a CoQ10 (30 mg).  He also takes Denamarin Chewable by Nutramax Labs for an elevated liver enzyme and I am also adding their other liver product, Marin.  I’m hoping he’s now on a healthy regimen. 

  • Chris & Joshy

    Have you tried calling the company.  They should have all that information and be able to make it available to you.

  • Chris & “Joshy”

    Yankee,  My 10 year old neutered Min Pin has an elevated liver enzyme & elevated triglycerides (were at one time at 1700, but last time tested a couple months ago were at 40, that’s FOUR ZERO – major improvement). The vet had him on Purina Rx OM (Overweight Management for weight loss) canine dry which is super low fat and sure helped his triglycerides. Problem is it’s made out of GARBAGE (corn, corn meal, corn digest, soy, soy meal & way down the list, protien digest meal, which is probably rodent tails). So I searched for a high quality food low in fat, 8% max, high in fiber, about 12%, and at least 27% protein.  His coat, skin & coat hair were terrible.  He’s always been lean but muscular, but he’s so thin now.  He didn’t have flakes, he had white chunks. He scratched, chewed & licked constantly.  Then he got colitis for about the 6th time since he’s been on this OM food. This time I just couldn’t seem to get him better.  Miraculously I came across Canine Cavier – Special Needs.  He’s been on it for a week. The instructions tell you not to transition the dog and just start the food at 100%, so I did. I was so worried what his deahrrea would be like the next day, but over night with just one feeding of this food he was close to normal and in about 3 days he was normal.  He loves this food.  I’m going to start to add more protein to get the % higher for him and I’m adding Benefiber to each meal to increase the fiber %.  In another week or two I’ll have his liver & Triglycerides tested to make sure they are doing ok on this food, so I’m praying.  But, I am so impressed with this food.  So far I give it 4+ stars only because he’s only eaten it for a week.  I hope you have good luck with this food.  I’m really happy so far.

  • Shawna

    Hi Dbarraco ~~ I appreciate your post :).. Thank you… AND, thank you for taking the time to post on the site.. We consumers really appreciate hearing from maufacturers!!

    I’m not sure what “special” needs you are referring to but the ones I consider special needs need protein just as much as healthy dogs.

    1.  Dogs with kidney disease (like my Audrey born with the disease) need high quality protein and as much as they can get (at least until they become uremic).  However phosphorus needs to be restricted earlier on in the disease.  I’m not sure how much phos is in your diet though.

    2.  Liver disease (especially shunts) also need protein to help regenerate the liver.  However because protein becomes ammonia that the liver has a hard time converting to urea — they may need a lowered protein.  But, fish protein creates the least amount of ammonia so they should be eating the highest amount of fish protein they can without symptoms.

    3.  Senior dogs don’t metabolize protein as well as younger dogs.  Senior dogs, they now know, should get as much as 50% more protein then adult dogs. 

    If I’m missing a special needs I do apologize :)

  • Dbarraco

     There was no intent to be deceptive.  We did a whole educational blitz on our latest formula. We shared that it now simply includes a fermentation product that once into the dog acts as a probiotic. Studies show that a probiotic is not only good for their digestion, it  helps them to absorb all the good stuff in the food.  We hope you found what you need for your beloved pet. 

  • Dbarraco

     I have a sample I can share of the Grain Free if you would like to try it.  ;-) 

  • Dbarraco

     Hi Shawna,
    THANK you for being passionate about pets..  Cannot ask for more than that.  I do not disagree with you.  I just have to share that the special needs formula is listed on the Vet Alternative diet list because of what it is specifically formulated to do and that is to provide  what is need for “special” needs..  Some older dogs and those will illness do GREAT on this particular diet.  The results and testimonies tell us that it works, but as you can see by our other formulas that we do AGREE with you.  We do use quality Meat proteins and in high levels to serve the needs of pets.  We welcome any individual need questions or consultation at our support line 800 392 7898. 

  • Dbarraco

     The ingredients and nutrient content are listed on the website.  If you have any further questions.. please contact us at 800 3927898

  • Dbarraco

     This is great news and hope by now you are doing 100% Canine Caviar as it is not recommended to mix.  Please feel free to contact us through our website. 

  • Dbarraco
  • corgimom

     okay folks – since my post at the end of March, I have now managed to go through every possible high-dollar dog food that I could find that might be simliar to CC’s original formula.  The results?  HORRIFIC!  I now have three sick dogs again, my specialty winning champion looks like garbage because of a dry coat and ORANGE feet due to the ongoing licking AND he’s resumed eating …… well, he’s, um…a “recycler” of sorts -.  Now the other bitch corgi has begun the same habit NEVER BEFORE DID I HAVE THIS ISSUE with her AND the dog had stopped while on CC!  I always think the yard is clean, but I swear – they must HIDE it somewhere. SO now I have two corgis with horrible e-coli bladder infections which are frequently (apparently) resistant to many antibiotics, so now we’re on the heavy duty stuff which she doesn’t tolerate all that well. The bitch had previously had ongoing UTIs but resolved while feeding this food.  I have a national breed specialty in a little over 30 days, I QUIT! i’ve asked my pet store to do a specialty order from the local distributer for the chicken and millet formula.  I’ll give it one more shot! 

    Ms. Barraco – you really need to talk w/ your distributer in Portland Oregon, pet stores in salem advise they have and continue to have communication issues with the distributer and difficulting getting product when it’s ordered.  If things improve I will let all of you know right away.

    In addition – any of you have a secret formula to grow undercoat on a recently neutered dog????????  sigh.

  • Yankee

    My Doberman had developed into having a lot of gas, slime dumpies.
    She was adopted when she was 3 and was on Innova Evo so I had always kept her on this.
    When these issues developed, I found the Doberman people were writing their opinions on several dog foods.
    So………I went on the site they reccommeded, Mr. Chewy, and they had a person available online to converse with.
    I did so and the even more expensive food that I contacted them on was NOT reccommeded for her.
    He did however reccommend this Holistic Special Needs food by Canine Caviar.
    Let me tell you………….we are up to 50/50 mix now and there is NO GAS……….NO SOUPY DUMPIES………..
    And she loves the flavor so this is really working out wonderful for us.

  • Sabrinafaire

    I agree with the above posts regarding the new formula.  My dog did wonderful on the original Special Needs formula.  However, the formula was changed and now the phosphorus percentage has almost doubled, resulting in a sick dog again.  I am quite upset that the pet store did not tell me about the new formula before I bought a 30 lb. bag.  I am now back to trying other foods on a sick dog.  I find this totally irresponsible of Canine Caviar to not label their bags as a new formula.  Very deceptive on their part.

  • Cheryl & Pepper

    I am by no means an ‘expert”, but so many people on this site have helped me, I just want to pass along what I have learned from experiencing the exact same problem you are having.
    I have an 8 1/2 y.o. mini schnauzer that had such severe gas, she had to be taken to the ER.
    Digestive enzymes and probiotics at EVERY meal has  made a tremendous difference.
    I also got a pill from my vet-called “FLATUEX made by NUTRAVET-it is simethicone that can be given 3-4 times a day after meals that you can use while trying to find a food that agrees with him, can also give before a plane ride to control the gas.
    I can’t find any research on long term side effects with simethicone-but just to use while he has the issues, i don’t think it could hurt. My schnauzer is on her 2nd bottle-i have dosed her down from 3-4 a day to 1 per day. 
    Another to try, don’t know if someone mentioned this already, if so, sorry for being repetitive- “a slow feed bowl”, I got mine at “dog.com and it’s made by Durapet, comes in sm,medium and large, that has helped also.
    Hope this helps. Good luck.

    Cheryl & Pepper

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hi Dawn.  I used to feed Canine Caviar, and used/loved the Special Needs food when needing a lower phosphorus percentage in a dry food.  I do know that you’ve changed the formulas a little since I used it, though, and the phosphorus has increased a little.  Still good, imo.  I can’t readily get Canine Caviar here where I live…drats!  I also love the fact that you could switch “right away” with no transitioning.  I’m assuming you still can.  My dogs all liked the food and did well on it.  I never used the grain free (you only had the venison at that time).  The new grain frees look pretty good to me.

  • Dawnbarraco

     I was simply referring to the concern of keeping the weight down of a dog over 100lbs.  Obesity is a huge problem and the special needs formula has had great results and is listed on the Vet’s list of alternatives.  Thank you for sharing all your information.  

  • Toxed2loss

    Nice posts Shawna!!!!!

  • Toxed2loss

    Dawn,
    You said, ” If you choose a food with a higher protein count that you increase the calories which will defeat the goal of keeping weight down.”

    That depends on the protein source. Meat based protein sources don’t. Grain based protein sources do. Grain cause insulin surges, which causes the body to store fat.

    If we’re also careful to avoid all Excito-toxins (addictive food additives) our dogs quit eating when they’re full. My two will walk away from a raw meaty bone when they are full. I pick it up and put it in a ziploc bag and back to the refrigerator it goes til the next meal. But, you have to avoid all the hidden sources of MSG & aspartame. :-} Food for thought!

  • Shawna

    Increasing protein in the diet will actually help with weight loss as protein builds lean muscle.  Fat should be moderate and carbs should be low as carbs/sugar is turned to fat by the liver when the glycogen needs are met (which is a small amount).

    “Protein and carbohydrates supply the same number of calories, but protein is preferentially used to build lean muscle, while carbs are more likely to be stored as body fat. L-carnitine, an amino acid derivative found in meat, fish, and dairy products, helps to burn fat.

    Dogs thrive on high-protein diets and find them more satisfying, while they have no nutritional requirement for carbohydrates. Diets to help your dog lose weight should be high in protein and low in carbs.”  http://www.whole-dog-journal.com/issues/12_9/features/Canine-Weight-Loss-Advice_16158-1.html

    Dr. Becker talks about “diet foods” in her video entitled “The Skinny on Low Fat Diets:  What to Never Ever Feed Your Cat or Dog”

    “The carbs added to commercial pet foods are starches like corn, wheat, rice, potato and oatmeal. And although these starches are low in fat, they are high in calories. Excess calories, unless they’re burned away, will be stored by your pet’s body as fat.

    The bottom line is even if a pet food is labeled low in fat, if it’s high in carbs and therefore calories, and your pet isn’t moving around enough to burn off all that extra fuel, it will be stored as fat.

    Next to water, protein is the most important nutrient for your dog or cat. Every cell of your pet’s body requires protein and when he doesn’t get enough of this essential nutrient, a host of negative side effects can occur.”  http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2010/07/07/the-skinny-on-low-fat-diets.aspx

    Weight loss is best achieved by feeding a high protein, moderate fat and low carb diet while moderating portions and providing opportunities for exercise.  :) 

    Sorry I butted in!!!  The lower protein myth is just a pet peeve of mine.

  • Shawna

    Newer research has now found that senior dogs actually need MORE protein then adult dogs.

    Dog nutritionist Lew Olson PhD Natural Nutrition discusses it here
    “More recent studies show today that it is probably more harmful than it is good to restrict protein in senior dogs, and the high quality proteins are needed for our older pets.”  http://www.b-naturals.com/newsletter/proteins-kidneys-senior-dogs/

    Dog nutritionist Mary Straus
    “Reducing dietary protein in the older pet will not protect them from the development of renal disease. In fact, reducing the protein in the older dog’s diet may have adverse effects. As pets age, their ability to utilize nutrients decreases. The older pet actually requires a higher level of protein to maintain its body stores of protein than does the younger adult dog. . . .”  http://www.dogaware.com/health/kidneyprotein.html

    And a vet Dr. Karen Becker
    “Protein Requirements Do NOT Decrease as Your Dog Ages

    In fact, studies point to an increased need for protein as your pet ages.The reason senior dog food formulas have reduced protein content is based on flawed logic.”  http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/05/05/surprising-findings-from-tufts-study-of-37-senior-dog-foods.aspx

  • Dawnbarraco

     If you choose a food with a higher protein count that you increase the calories which will defeat the goal of keeping weight down.  It is the reason why Special Needs got a low rating was lower protein.  It is formulated to be just enough protein needed with more herbs and nutrition needed for older, overweight and those dealing with health issues.  I agree that the excess gas is caused from undigested proteins and more than likely is decreased with Canine Caviar because those herbs are included within the food to help with gas and digestive issues.  Do you find that your furry friend eats really fast?  I get better help with Canine Caviar with my dogs digestive issues cause it is smaller size kibble. I used to blend the other kibbles to a smaller size so it helped with digestion and now I don’t have to.  I am sticking with Canine Caviar

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    In addition to probiotics, digestive enzymes will help with the stinky gas coming from not-fully digested proteins. And some folks give greens to help cover the smell – dried parsley, alfalfa. Maybe you can try this with the previous foods you liked.

  • Cdkirkwood

    I have an 8 yr old Old Eng. Sheepdog who after he eats farts constantly and loud and the stench will clear the room.  In the past two years, I had him on Science Diet reduced fat, Wellness core grain free reduced fat and now I am trying the CAnine Caviar Special needs.  He still farts, but they don’t stink as bad.  I feed him twice a day.  I’m concerned with the low rating.  Is there something you could recommend?  I am trying to keep his weight down too….he was 114 and is now 100 so that is on track.  He is a service animal and goes on the plane with me so I can’t have him smelling up the plane.  He deserves a good quality food that will not make him so gassy.  I give him beano before he eats too, but he still farts….Can you please help me?  I need something that will address the gas for a senior dog, who is on thyroid meds and I want to keep his weight 100 or less.  Not sure the Canine Caviar is a keeper at this point and the vet says to keep trying till I find one that works.  He had three weeks of very soft stools on the CC, but they are firming up now.  The bag says no need to transition slowly but I recommend to others that you do because I had to get some probiotics from the vet to help him and revert back to slow transition after the first week of soft poop.

  • Dawnbarraco

     The special needs has a lower protein content for a reason as it is used as an alternative to Vet prescribed diets.

  • Dawnbarraco

     you should find it on their website  http://www.caninecaviar.com  or call 800 3927898

  • jc

    My dog has been diagnosed with heart congestion.  Recommend she be on low-sodium diet.  But I can’t find any info on sodium content in the lamb and pearl millet dinner, which she loves.  Anyone know?

  • JChanis15

    I have a 8 month old Pug. She LOVES LOVES LOVES this dog food. I used to have her on Innova but switched to this and she hasn’t had any problems. Her coat is nice and shiny and she doesnt shed that much! I would definatly recommend this product. We use the Lamb and Pearl Millet.

  • Corgi Mom

    I agree and I don’t want anyone to misunderstand.  I was the biggest promoter of this food it was PERFECT!  However I could tell there was a change in the previous back prior to the new formula. Something changed which caused me to call them, I was told nothing of the impending modifcations.   I agree my first though was concidence but I (okay, I wasn’t but you know…) was on this food for three years and the seasons bring some itchyness, but I”ve never seen coat blow out like it did and not just seasonal coat, pet the dog and guard hairs flew off.  When I opened the first “new” formula bag and found a triangle kibble with a bunch of little round ones, it was obvious their processing QC was less than stellar…… that was enough to send me over the edge.  That doesn’t mean I won’t try it again, but enough of the quality dog breeders (in various breed clubs) are finding the same thing and have dropped the food.  I hope you’re right…..   ANd, I”m so glad you boxers are doing well!  They’re wonderful dogs.

  • Nir_g5

    Thank you !

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Nir_g5,

    Here’s the reason the Special Needs Dinner only gets 3 stars. These words are taken directly form my review:

    “Due to the apparently lower meat content of the Special Needs Dinner, we have downgraded its rating to suit its lower protein content.

    “Excluding the lower rated Special Needs recipe, the brand features an average protein content of 30% and a mean fat level of 18%.”

    Hope this helps.

  • Nir_g5

    Jan_Mom2Cav  i saw your answer only today thank you so much again

  • Nir_g5

    Hi ,
    Why this food:
    Canine Caviar Special Needs Dinner (3 stars)
    got only 3 stars ? i cannot find this analysing .

  • Nir_g5

    Thank you so much !

    Nir

  • Guest

    Hi Corgi Mom,
    I’d suggest contacting their customer service about your issue. My Boxer had too many issues to count (allergies, nail fungus, upset tummy, etc.) and after 2 years of searching for ANY food that would help her, this food is the only one that has even come close. I know that when the seasons change, my pup does start to itch but then it subsides shortly afterward. Maybe it’s not the food and just a conincidence??
    Definetely try contacting them! :)
    Boxer Mom

  • Caninelover1969

    As a user of Canine Caviar for many years now, I have to say that the Special Needs is the best food I have ever fed my dog that has had issues with pancreatitis and kidney issues caused by the high protein foods on the market. I cannot say enough about this product as I truely believe it has saved my pets life. If you have a pet that has any issues with this or skin and coat i cannot reccomend this food enough. The proof of this product is in the pudding.

  • Dbarraco

     Hello,  Please allow me to address your concerns.
     I am actually in a position at Canine Caviar to hear direct from customers and I have been collecting a lot of great testimonies about the difference between Classic and Grain Free formulas.
     There are many reasons why a nutritional product, like a Holistic Dog Food changes but most of all it is because new research discoveries of healthier results demand that we do.  Some ingredients have to change when supply is no longer available and/or some are added because it will produce a healthier product for your pet.  I know that is what we both want.
     I would appreciate an opportunity to work towards a healthy solution as I can tell you care about your dogs.
      You are surrounded by people at Canine Caviar that will support you in your efforts for a Healthy Pet. You are welcome to call me or anyone at our support hotline.
    Please feel free to call toll free 800 392 7898
     M-F 8-5p.

  • corgi_mom

    First….I love this site and I sincerely appreciate all the hard work that goes into maintaining it! 

    As for Canine Caviar.  I am so angry with this group.  I switched to this brand 2.5 years ago – I have never found such a wonderful food which ALL three dogs could eat (1 GSD and 2 corgis).  Their new “receipe change” has sent me over the edge.  I LOVED this food for my dogs.  They took the fish out, they changed how the millet is processed and changed how and where they’re processing the food.

    I saw the difference in my dogs immediately. everyone started itching again.  Then in the first bag of the new receipe if find a lone triangle shaped kibble among all the super tiny round kibble (kibble much smaller than before I have to ad). ooops!  clearly quality control is not part of the new “process”.  So I”m back in search of the perfect dog food for everyone at my house (and all the friends I convinced to change over to CC).

    Sigh……

  • Anonymous

    The vet has verified its a combo of yeast and occasional bacteria, but at such a low level that she does not want him back on antibiotics/steroids (since he was on them for almost for 5 months last year). I know the steroids really compromise his immune system so I’ve got him on the digestive enzymes, spirugreen, probiotics, salmon oil in addition to feeding Darwins raw and Brother’s or Great Life kibble.  Just trying to figure out if I’m missing something I could be trying. 

    The skin issues started first with him chewing all 4 paws like crazy, then a few months into the steroids is when I saw the black spots start to show up. 

    He seems to be energetic, happy and completely itch free for the past 3 months since he went off the steroids. Just can’t get rid of the spots…. I think they must give off a slight odor as my other pug likes to try to get under his arm and lick his armpits.  I can’t detect any odor though….
     

  • sandy

    I was giving her Brothers Allergy formula plus a chicken wing daily.  Since your dog’s already on raw, don’t know what else to suggest.  Has a skin scraping been sent of the black spot to verify it’s yeast?  I’ve also read black skin spots can be endocrine related.

  • Anonymous

    Hi Sandy,

    I thought I saw you mention something about a new foster pug that came in and she had yeast/skin issues. I can’t recall what you suggested you were going to feed her. 

    If you have a minute, can you share what has worked for you with this issue? 

    My one pug has been off of steroids for months but can’t seem to get rid of some blackened spots right under his armpits…. He is fawn and it’s the strangest thing to see.  He goes to a Vet that specializes in dermatology and I’ve just been using Duoxo wipes in the area as well as weekly baths.  The spots don’t seem to itch or bother him at all.  They are not getting any worse or any better. 

    Let me know if you have ever seen this before…

  • sandy

    I  like that these are gluten free as well, except the Special Needs formula. Not that many gluten free dog foods around for those that feed grains but want gluten free.

  • BradsDads

    Update- we are now on our fourth bag.  No strong fish odor, and the hounds are eating without  hesitation.   

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I contacted Canine Caviar via their FB site and they said they are ethoxyquin free.  Thanks!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Nir_g5….Mike Sagman is the owner of this site and he does all the wonderful reviews of the foods, which is a lot of hard work on his part.  We appreciate it very much!  He can correct me if I’m wrong but he reviews by ingredients only and if the company lists that their food is ethoxyquin free, or if he knows this ahead of time, he will put that info. on the review.  He may contact the company for you, but the easiest way to find out is to email or call the company yourself.  They should have that info. at the ready.  I’m not sure if they say whether or not (ethoxyquin free) on their website.  If not, then an email or call is best.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Nir_g5,

    Unfortunately, the answer to your question lies in the condition of the fish meal at the time it was procured by the manufacturer.

    And the only way to get a reliable response to your question is to contact their Customer Service.

    Wish I could be more help.

  • Nir_g5

    I tought maybe the reviewer knows .
    Does someone checked this metter ?
    Is there forum of this site?

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Nir_g5….you would actually need to contact Canine Caviar’s company to ask this question.  Their site is http://www.caninecaviar.com.  Hope this helps.

  • Nir_g5

    About the whitefish .is it Ethoxyquin free ? is it free of metals ?

  • Pingback: Best Dry Dog Foods « winnipegfashion

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I’m not sure what could be “wrong” (if anything) with your CC Chicken and Pearl Millet bag of food….I think it’s a great food and company, btw.  Anyway, CC has recently come out with some new formulas of food (grainfrees) and maybe they “tweaked” something in all of their formulas….not saying they did, because I really don’t know and I think maybe you should contact the company.  And this is for Mike S……are you going to review these new formulas soon?  I’m very interested in them.  Thanks!

  • BradsDAds

    We switched to Caninine Cavier Chicken and Pearl millet dinner from Innova and have had a very positive outcome.  Our Basset Hound, Bradley, is a very fussy eater but inhales this kibble (mixed with the canned Turkey).  We are on our third bag since making the switch.  I noticed that this third bag has a much stronger fish odor that the previous two bags.  Has anyone else noticed this?  Since opening this bag, the hound is more reluctant to eat and is eating less. 

  • Dbarraco

    Please contact Canine Caviar at 1 800 3927898 and our customer service can help you with your question. 

  • Rich Vacanti

    Sandi
    The reason most vets push science diet is because they pay for the vets schooling and books. Science diet is JUNK

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Greg…I can’t comment about the adding of veggies (I really don’t know the answer), but I just wanted to say that I also think Canine Caviar is a good dog food company. When my mixed breed, Lucy Mae, had some urinary issues and I needed a lower phosphorus food I used CC’s Special Needs (only for a short while). It worked for her at the time. So….I would not be adversed to using this food again.

  • Greg

    Hi Everyone,
    I wanted to leave a short comment on Canine Caviar chicken and pearl millet food. After 8 months, six Vets, and six different (premium) dog foods, this food in finally the one that agrees with our 1 year old goldendoodle puppy. All other foods gave him loose stool. This food is the only one that actually firmed up his stool and made his elimination “much” smaller. Having said that, I noticed the food contains no vegetables so I started adding some carrots and green beans to his daily diet. Now I have somebody telling me the addition of vegetables may be bad because I am adding too much calcium to my dogs diet [again, he is 1 year old]. What opinions do you all have? Am I safe to add veggies to my dogs diet with this food?

  • Cathy

    This food has been a marvelous addition to my dog’s rotation. When I give him foods that are much higher in protien, he starts to get ketones in his urine and becomes lethargic, with stinky gas to boot. Having the option of several foods with excellent quality protien and high digestibility WITHOUT having extremely high protien is very valuable to me.

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    Impressive training, thanks!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sandi… Thanks for the kind words. Here’s a short bio on Dr. Spector. Dr. “Donna” is very knowledgeable about canine nutrition. And I’ve always found willing to help. For more details, just click on the link to her website mentioned in that brief. Hope this helps.

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    “If your dog was prescribed a renal diet, and is accepting the prescription dog food(s), then please keep your dog on the prescription diet.” There are other renal diets, if Sherry wants to home cook for her Sheltie, that would be better than the prescription food her Vet recommended. Sherry, it’s very time consuming for everyone to find a kibble that works for their furry “healthy kids”, let alone one that is ill. If you read Mike’s “About The Dog Food Advisor,” he says, “I Obsess Over Dog Food So You Don’t Have To”. Yeah right, I’m still obsessing and so are all the other people I know LOL.

    As far as Mike’s background, there is another website who charges for her “dog food reviews” and her background is “journalist”. Who do you think is more credible? At least Mike was honest and lists his background. I read somewhere Dr. Spector is Mike’s Advisor. Perhaps Mike can list her full background. I believe she’s a “nutritionist.”

    Thanks Mike for all the time you put into this. I worked for an internet pet website who was pulling over $2M/yr. between sponsorships/google reimbursements. The President’s background was “computers” and never shared his space with a dog until he started working for this company. They do have Vets writing the articles and he doesn’t get involved with answering questions.

    I always check Mike’s “Notes and Updates” to see when he did his last review. Companies do change their formula and come out with new lines. I’d recommend calling the manufacturer. You can either google their phone number or it’s listed on the bag.

    Questions you should ask:

    Where are the ingredients coming from (US/overseas)?
    Who is manufacturing your food?
    What is the “actual” percentage of protein/fat, etc.?
    Does the lining in your canned pet food contain BPA?
    Does your company or your supplier use ethoxyquin in the fish meal?

    Gordon – I don’t always agree with my Vet’s advice. I always get other opinions. The Oncologist wanted to amputate his leg when he was 10 yrs. I went holistic, he’s going on 15, and still has all four legs.

    I know Mike will appreciate this story since he’s a dentist. I recently saw about 7 Vets, some said Kevin had an abscess and wanted to remove 2 teeth, some said they didn’t see an abscess. His root was exposed and the front tooth was dead. He was a crated dog for 3 years when I got him. My friend is a mobile Vet, cleaned his teeth, saw no abscess and the gum went back to normal. I also used Myrrh tincture on the gum area. I would have spent $1200 with a board certified Dentist and Kevin would be without 2 teeth. Bottom line – be proactive in their health and choosing the right food which everyone on this list is doing.

    I will leave you with this article http://www.ourdogsonline.com/content/sciencedietscam.html

  • Gordon

    Ralph – Whilst no one disagrees with following a Vet’s advice, albeit, most, in my opinion, don’t actually know how any particular mainstream prescription diet works, other than what those mainstream companies advise Vets when enticing them to prescribe these types of diets. …..(I mean they know how they work or what they are meant to treat, but they don’t consider or spend time to study better and alternative diets that contain better quality ingredients compiled to treat the same ailment).

    Instead of stating, “he is a dentist with a deep passion for animal food products, but should be seen as a hobbyist -and until he actually becomes certified in animal nutrition, should be seen as no more specialized than a sales representative pontificating over a product.”, you could have said, “he is a dentist with a deep passion for pet nutrition and can be seen as a particular unrelated professional, who is interested in the latter as an additional personal interest, who’s worked hard in creating such an informative and helpful website, for all who actually care about improving their pets health through better understanding of commercial pet nutrition. And whilst he doesn’t represent any of the products rated on this website, he sermonizes (NOT pontificates – infers pompousness or exaggeration) on his beliefs better than that of a salesperson who would be more inclined to pontificate over certain products he or she is trying to sell.”

    If you read this post Ralph, can you see the arrogant connotation in yours?

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    Funny Mike, I was just going to ask Ralph the same question about his background. Ralph, she can get 4 opinions from other Vets but will see the Hills/Prescription Diet/Science Diet in all their offices. Most Vets know nothing about nutrition. Why don’t you find out the real reason they all carry Hills. IMO, I would never feed that brand even if my Vet recommended it. Actually, one Vet recommended Royal Canin, but I didn’t agree.

    “And– only after the dog refuses the prescription food. Got it? Even the creator of canine caviar admits so much. His dog refused the prescription food and he had to come up with an alternative. ”

    Smart dog!!!!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Ralph… Please go back and re-read this thread. I never gave any advice to the individual you mentioned here in your criticism of me and my website.

    As you’ll see, Ms. Bureman mistakenly believed she was addressing Canine Caviar about the advice she had received from one of the company’s “salespeople”.

    She wasn’t addressing me. I don’t have any salespeople. That’s why I never responded to this commenter.

    As I repeatedly remind readers throughout my website, the articles here are designed to help consumers read and interpret government regulated pet food labels. Nothing more. And to read a pet food label, one does not need to be a licensed veterinary professional.

    So, your harsh criticism of my efforts here was uncalled for. Got it?

    By the way, I believe it’s significant to note the total absence of any websites (like The Dog Food Advisor) provided free of charge to consumers by any member of the veterinary profession.

    It took nearly three years of hard work and the dedication of a “hobbyist” as well as the participation of thousands of commenters to make such a website available to this woman… and the general public… a public that is obviously starved for the kind of well-meaning help provided here.

    Just curious, Ralph. What do YOU happen to do for a living? Hm-m-m?

  • Ralph

    Sherry Bureman:

    If your dog was prescribed a renal diet, and is accepting the prescription dog food(s), then please keep your dog on the prescription diet.

    The concept of canine caviar “special needs” (or any other non-prescription canine food for that matter) is as an alternative to your doctor’s recommendation. –And– only after the dog refuses the prescription food. Got it?

    Even the creator of canine caviar admits so much. His dog refused the prescription food and he had to come up with an alternative.

    Again: Stay on the prescription diet; the supportive clinical data is not subjective.

    The clearest path in medical science to prolong your animal’s health is by introducing and maintaining the Rx diet and finding a veterinarian who will field all of your questions and prepares you to understand the role of supportive care with kidney insufficiency.

    Remember this very important point about the above website: the author is not licensed nutritionist, is not a veterinarian, is not an internal medicine specialist: he is a dentist with a deep passion for animal food products, but should be seen as a hobbyist -and until he actually becomes certified in animal nutrition, should be seen as no more specialized than a sales representative pontificating over a product.

    Stick with your doctors protocol and find a second or third or even a fourth opinion from the field of veterinarian science. Your doctor should encourage you to seek a second opinion.

    Best wishes as you combat kidney failure. My heart goes out to you.

  • Meagan

    Sherry- This site is for reviewing and rating dog foods. Mike and the others do not produce or sell dog foods. Here is a better place for you to direct your question. http://www.caninecaviar.com/general_information.aspx
    Good luck to you and your pup. Hope you can find a food to help.

  • Sherry Bureman

    I was told by one of your salespeople that you “Special Needs” diet would be a replacement for Science Diet K/D and Royal Canin LP that I am cirrently feeding my 12 year old Sheltie that is showing the start of kidney disease. He littermate just passed away two months ago. It seems to have quite a bit of protein conpared to the commerical Rx diets. Do you have a lower protein diet? She realy likes your food! Please respond, Thanks, Sherry

  • Kat

    I tried the chicken & millet formula for my Aussie and she really LOVED it. Great acceptance, very small output. I am including Canine Caviar in my kibble rotation.

    The only complaint I have is that the kibble is VERY small. Small dog owners will probably appreciate this.

  • marlene

    I am very happy with the puppy canine cavier that the breeder recommended. The problem is where to get it close to home. We are seniors on a limited income. Or would you recommend another food close to the same values?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lisa… Usually adult dog foods are not OK for puppies. But in this case, the Canine Caviar Chicken and Millet adult food is rated for “all life stages”. So, no problem there. However, dogs are a lot like us humans. Each will respond to different dog foods and ingredients in its own unique way. For this reason, it’s impossible for me to make a specific recommendation for your puppies. For most all of us, finding the right food is almost always a bit of a trial and error process. Sorry I can’t be more help.

  • Lisa Miller

    I have been feeding my english bulldog puppies the canine caviar adult chicken and millet along with the puppy food. I split it half and half on the recommendation of my breeder. She uses it for all of her dogs and swears by it. However, my dogs have excessive tearing, which is not related to plugged tear ducts, and they have a lot of gas. Could it be related to the food? She generally feeds just the adult millet and not any puppy, but she told me to mix it half and half, because the puppies were a little tall and lanky due to the bil jac they were on initially? Their stools are generally solid, but at times like pudding.

    Should I just go back to the adult only or switch food entirely?

  • Penny Golden

    We have been feeding Canine Caviar for app seven years and love it! Our dogs like it. Almost ZERO gas and smaller stools. Healthy skin and shiney coats on our Irish Setters.

  • Jan McCollam

    I also like the fact that the Special Needs food may be a decent substitute for some presc. veterinary diets. It is a much healthier alternative. It is very low in calcium and phosphorus.

  • Jeremy

    The main sales pitch of Canine caviar is the natural bacteria they gain from using the raw lamb and chicken, which is better for the dogs digestive tract. Also, even though the meat content is not very high, the calorie count (absortion amount) on the food is remarkable, and you cant do better than 91-93% digestable.