Canine Caviar Grain Free (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Canine Caviar Grain Free Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Canine Caviar Grain Free product line includes five dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Canine Caviar Grain Free Puppy Dinner
  • Canine Caviar Open Sky Grain Free ALS Dinner
  • Canine Caviar Wild Ocean Grain Free ALS Dinner
  • Canine Caviar Free Range Buffalo Grain Free ALS Dinner
  • Canine Caviar Wilderness Grain Free ALS Dinner (4 stars)

Canine Caviar Open Sky Grain Free ALS Dinner was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Canine Caviar Open Sky Grain Free ALS Dinner

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 32% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 44%

Ingredients: Duck meal, chickpea, duck fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), menhaden oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), sun-cured alfalfa, Aspergillus niger fermentation culture, Aspergillus oryzae fermentation culture, Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation culture, sun-cured kelp, FOS (prebiotic), calcium proteinate, sodium chloride, lecithin, choline chloride, parsley, fenugreek, peppermint, taurine, selenium, whole clove garlic, vitamin E, zinc proteinate, vitamin C, papaya, rose hips, Yucca schidigera extract, niacin, beta-carotene, manganese proteinate, vitamin D3, biotin, vitamin A, riboflavin, vitamin B12, potassium proteinate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.6%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis29%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis32%16%44%
Calorie Weighted Basis27%34%38%

The first ingredient in this dog food is duck meal. Duck meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh duck.

The second ingredient is chickpeas, also known as garbanzo beans. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (or pulse) family of vegetables.

However, chickpeas contain about 22% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The third ingredient is duck fat. Duck fat is obtained from rendering duck, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Duck fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, duck fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The fourth ingredient is menhaden oil. Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. Their oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids, two high quality fats boasting the highest bio-availability to both dogs and humans.

What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not as likely to be exposed to mercury contamination as is typical with deep water species.

The fifth ingredient is dried alfalfa. Although alfalfa is high in protein (18%) and fiber, it’s uncommon to see it used in a dog food. This hay-family ingredient is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

Yet alfalfa can still provide some healthy nutrients to a dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, garlic can be a controversial item. Although most experts favor the ingredient for its numerous health benefits, garlic (in rare cases) has been linked to Heinz body anemia in dogs.1

However, the limited professional literature we surveyed provided no definitive warnings regarding the use of garlic — especially when used in small amounts (as it likely is here).

Next, this recipe contains fructooligosaccharide (or FOS), an alternative sweetener2 probably used here as a prebiotic. Prebiotics function to support the growth of healthy bacteria in the large intestine.

In addition, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Canine Caviar Grain Free Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Canine Caviar Grain Free looks like an above-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 32%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 44%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 32% and a mean fat level of 19%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 41% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 59%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the chickpeas in this recipe and split peas contained in other recipes, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Canine Caviar Grain Free Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of various species-specific meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a grain-based product from the same company may wish to visit our review of Canine Caviar dry dog food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/22/2010 Original review
11/21/2010 Review updated
01/19/2012 Review updated
07/22/2013 Review updated
07/22/2013 Last Update

  1. Yamato et al, Heinz Body hemolytic anemia with eccentrocytosis from ingestion of Chinese chive (Allium tuberosum) and garlic (Allium sativum) in a dog, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association 41:68-73 (2005)
  2. Wikipedia definition
  • The Final Say

    This food has been a bit of a lifesaver for us. We’ve struggled quite a while to find a food that didn’t inflame our Lab’s ears or create anal gland issues. A local feed store recommended the Open Sky (duck) version as a single carb option with a protein the dog would not likely have a sensitivity to. It’s been a couple of weeks and so far so good. It’s also worth it to point out the food is very high in calories, so you need to watch how much you’re feeding vs your regular food to prevent weight gain.

  • jess

    Agreed

  • mebenz

    Literally everything I have fed to my dog (8 kibbles now, cooked food, 100% raw, combo) there is an opinion or an occurrence of a dog having bad reactions, sickness etc. NOTHING will ever be perfect and healthy for every dog. Nothing. You gotta basically test small amounts with each dog, regular vet checks with blood analysis, to know for sure.

  • jess

    My poodle was on wild ocean for about 5 months +. Since then it solved his tears problem. Before this, he was fed fish for dogs which caused serious tear stains. Wild ocean was recommended by one of the pet shop i visited. After reading all the comments here, it makes me worried to have my poodle to feed on this. Is it really that bad but it was rated above 4 stars here?

  • Fdccx

    Mmiikkeee is a ddentistttt and a d an apprrenticeee

  • Fdccx

    Mmiikkee is a joke with his white ccooaat

  • Fdccx

    Faassccist Mmiikkee can take a hike

  • snootifox

    I have been feeding Canine Caviar to my Toy Manchester for about 2 years and she has done great on it until the last couple of bags. I usually feed the fish which she loved and now she will not touch it and has been drinking excessive water for the last month or so. She has a very sensitive stomach and I am desperate to find a GOOD food for a senior toy dog. Any recommendations?

  • Ross C.

    The company also claims that the foods prevent cancer. Everyone is entitled to market a product but claims like preventing cancer are not only illegal but unethical. I didn’t look at all the foods but this one is certainly not AAFCO compliant no matter how you calculate it so maybe the ratings should be removed.

  • Pattyvaughn

    OUCH! That is high calcium! I’m afraid the only way I would want to use this food is with tripe to tone it down, probably not even then though.

  • lfb’sMom

    The Calcium seems high to me, as well 2.4% Minimum… ?!

    Wouldn’t too much calcium and phosphorus possibly lead to crystals in the urine…. ?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Remember that the phosphorus is also defined by it’s ratio to calcium. If the calcium is not excessive and the calcium/phosphorus ratio is correct then it really should not be an excessive amount barring a health issue that requires controlled phosphorus.

  • aimee

    Hi Betsy,

    I wouldn’t interpret it that way. What NRC is saying is that there is insufficient data to establish what the safe upper limit would be.

    CC stated phos min is within AAFCO. We don’t know what the max level is but to carry a AAFCO statement it should be pretty much the same as the min. This would fall under the company’s quality control

    What is very very troubling to me though is how the company’s “nutritionist” answered the OP’s question. The manner in which that question was answered tells me the “nutritionist” doesn’t understand some very basic nutritional concepts.

    I can’t place my nutritional trust in such a company.

  • Betsy Greer

    Thanks, Aimee,

    So, could we assume then that anything more than the recommended level is not recommended and therefore, not safe?

    Is the 1/10th of a percent of Phosphorous that’s in excess of the NRC recommended amount in CC highly problematic? What if it’s fed to a healthy dog, with no known health problems, infrequently as part of a widely varying rotation?

    I appreciate your opinion!

  • aimee

    Hi Betsy,

    NRC has three nutrient tables: growth, maintenance and reproduction. Each table has four columns min amount, adequate amount, recommended amount and safe upper limit.

    For calcium the safe upper limit is 4.5 Grams/1000 kcals in the growth table. But in the maintenance table that area is blank.

    For phosphorus in every table the “cell” where the safe upper limit would be reported is blank.

  • lfb’sMom

    1.6% is the AAFCO’s Maximum for Phosphorus…
    My bag of Wild Ocean says Phosphorus is 1.7% “Minimum”… that is 1 10th of a percent Above the AAFCO’s Maximum.
    If 1.7% is the “Minimum”, then Lord only knows what the “Maximum” in the bag of Wild Ocean is.
    Not only does it Meet AAFCO guidelines, but it Exceeds it’s Maximum, which does not sound good to someone who had a dog pass with Kidney issues.

    There are tons of other foods out there that are just as easily digestible with a phosphorus level well below the AAFCO’s Maximum.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Aimee,

    So when you say that NRC doesn’t report a safe upper limit for Phosphorous, what exactly do you mean by that?

  • aimee

    Well I find it quite entertaining: )

    The best way to compare nutrients is on an energy basis.This is what I did when comparing the AAFCO nutrient profile to their food. I’d have a teeny bit of respect for the company if they could have answered in that straightforward manner.

    I used their nutritional information regarding calories/kg which presumably is where they should have accounted for their digestibility.

    The energy requirements of a dog can vary greatly from dog to dog. Yet nutrient needs/excesses actually are based on lean body weight. A dog with a high energy requirement will be taking in a lot of phos.

    Would this be harmful?? NRC doesn’t report a safe upper limit for phos.

  • Heather

    Lol Well I have been “kicked in the rear” a few times when I didn’t listen to my gut, so you could say I learned the hard way to pay attention. ;)

  • lfb’sMom

    Couldn’t Agree More!!

    My Dog does Excellent on their food…. BUT, It’s unfortunate, that I DO NOT TRUST THEM! This is from my own personal dealings over the past year. With all of the Constant Recalls from dog food companies and knowing people who had dogs who passed back in 2007/2008… I Have to Trust The Company. So now I am going with the approach that I am trying to find a really good Company, first and then I will look to see what food they offer. Am trying Orijen/Acana and Stella & Chewy’s at the moment.

    It took “16”-days for them to answer that 1 question. With technology, these days… email, etc. it should Not have taken “16”-days. Just Sayin’!!

    =)

  • Pattyvaughn

    In light of the email you just got, I might consider it a pattern.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Nice gut you have there! I have to be kicked in the gut a few times before my gut feeling kicks in.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If you are missing something, I’m missing it too.

  • lfb’sMom

    This, also, had been brought up to me, as well:

    Was just reading one of their brochures/papers (I wouldn’t call it a White Paper since it doesn’t really source anything) and HOLY CRAP, did you read/see this:

    Quote from CC: “”A buildup of protein waste products causes kidney or liver damage. High-protein diets often promote foods such as red meat and full-fat dairy products. Some experts believe a diet rich in these foods can increase your risk of heart disease. A high-protein diet may cause liver or kidney problems because the body may have trouble eliminating all the waste products of protein metabolism.””

    Those bolded parts are absolutely false / wrong. I’m actually shocked they not only put that chronic myth in there, but that *no one* caught it…???!! High protein diets DO NOT cause any liver or kidney damage in dogs or humans. There are a billion journal articles that cover this exhaustively (for humans and dogs); geesh, go to the Mayo Clinic website or any other reliable site and search this issue. Kidneys and livers work the same in humans and dogs.

    The only time excess protein might be a concern is if there is an already diagnosed health issue specifically tied to protein issues (ie, already diagnosed liver or kidney disease). And on that note, some vets are even saying protein restriction in liver/kidney disease isn’t really needed (awesome article, a must read, very journal-sourced): http://www.orijen.ca/orijen/Myths_of_High_Protein.pdf

    If such a big mistake is in Canine Caviar’s brochure, I’d be really concerned what else is wrong in there. It seems to be such a great food for so many dogs here, but I hope the company really knows what they’re doing/saying. That type of oversight/mistake is not good at all =(. Hopefully it’s not indicative of larger mistakes and untruths. I hope they correct it.

  • lfb’sMom

    So it appears that some are not approved but they have decided to make it appear that they are (unless I am missing something).

  • Pattyvaughn

    To me it is like Diamond, just not quite as bad. They make a high quality food, if you can trust them. I may be wrong, but I don’t trust them. Trust has to be earned and they may earn it in the future, but I have read and heard too many accounts of their customer service being nonexistant. To me, if you are proud of your product you want to answer questions, not dodge them.

  • Betsy Greer

    I know I’m in the minority here, but I love Canine Caviar! Same and Bella both love it. It’s one of those foods that Sam doesn’t exceptionally well on. Should I not love it!? LOL!

  • Heather

    Very shady indeed. This food is def. off my list now.
    Interestingly enough, I got a bad feeling about this company just from looking at their website before I read anything on here. I am def. sticking with going my gut feeling.

  • lfb’sMom

    Did you see what they responded with?
    Does this make sense? What are your thoughts?

    I have had such bad dealings with them the past year which is why I want to switch. I feel like a hypocrit if I continue feeding it…. I feel like I need to somewhat support the company who is feeding my dog. You know?!

    The phosphorus level is 1 10th of a percent above the AAFCO guideline and is in a safe range. As our kibble is 91%-93% digestible, dogs will not be consuming as much Canine Caviar as they would other formulas. This keeps the actually ingested amount of phosphorus well below the AAFCO guideline.

  • Pattyvaughn

    So basically they are saying “Thank you, the rules do not apply to us.”

  • aimee

    Glad to have helped!

  • lfb’sMom

    Funny… they just responded:

    The phosphorus level is 1 10th of a percent above the AAFCO guideline and is in a safe range. As our kibble is 91%-93% digestible, dogs will not be consuming as much Canine Caviar as they would other formulas. This keeps the actually ingested amount of phosphorus well below the AAFCO guideline.

    Thank you,

    Julie

    Julie Campbell
    Canine Caviar Pet Foods, Inc
    4131 Tigris Way
    Riverside, Ca 92503
    Phone 714-223-1800
    Fax 714-223-1801
    [email protected]
    http://www.caninecaviar.com

  • lfb’sMom

    Hi Aimee,
    Thanks. So confusing… =/

    I am in the process now of switching.

    The pet food store near me pulled all of their bags about a month and a half ago because there were a couple of customers who reported hives and yellow stool. I could not get my dogs stool to firm up on the last bag I bought… until I gave him some pumpkin.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thanks Aimee! I know this came up on the Nature’s Logic thread, but I didn’t have a full understanding and was rushed for time at that point so I forgot to look into it further.

  • aimee

    The family rule applies only to a food trial and this company’s AAFCO statement doesn’t reflect that.

    An example of statement meeting AAFCO via a family rule food trial is this: XYZ provides complete and balanced nutrition for All Life Stages and is comparable in nutritional adequacy to a product which has been substantiated using AAFCO feeding tests.

  • Pattyvaughn

    So the family rule doesn’t apply here?
    I “failed” this company a long time ago, though for different criteria.

  • aimee

    Hi Ifb’s Mom,

    The AAFCO profile is standardized to a diet with an energy density of 3500 kcal/1000 grams. Calculating that out the max phos level on an energy basis is 4.57grams/1000kcals.

    Using the information from the CC site the Wild Ocean calculates out to a min of 4.35 grams/1000kcals.

    The max Phos needs to be near the min in order to conform to AAFCO. I guess that is possible.

    Personally I wouldn’t ever feed food from this company.

  • Pattyvaughn

    High phos levels for a long period of time can be hard on kidneys in dogs that are prone to problems, but the dogs in the shelter are likely getting foods that are much worse than that. Here they get Ol’ Roy unless people donate better.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Figures. I agree.

  • aimee

    To meet AAFCO the food must either meet the profile or pass a feeding trial ( However, a food can meet AAFCO because of the “family rule” even if it hasn’t passed a trial)

    In this case it is stated that the diet is formulated to meet nutrient profiles, so it must adhere to the profile.

    P.S. I’d “fail” this company after looking at the website as it doesn’t pass my criteria for evaluating a dog food company.

  • lfb’sMom

    I don’t think high phosphorus levels are good for a dogs kidneys… I have a bag I ordered from Chewy.com and when I found that out I called them for a refund. They were Great about it. They said they would give me a full refund but asked that I donate the bag to my local shelter. I would Love to do that but not if the High Phosporus Level isn’t good…

  • lfb’sMom

    THIS is why I like to get responses from them, via Email…

  • lfb’sMom

    Ohhhh I went to their FaceBook Page when they were having Issues with Sourcing their Duck and the stores were out of the bags for a while… I had genuine concerns and they Deleted All of my Posts. The store near me was following the posts and emailed Me asking if “I” had Deleted them. I had No Idea what they were talking about. I went and looked and Everything was Gone. I asked CC if they had Deleted the posts and they “Lied” and said: NO! Come to find out a couple of weeks later, they admitted to Deleting the Posts so as not to alarm any of their other consumers. “SHADY”!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    They are known for taking a lot more time than that to get back to customers. I have heard that you get better response if you go to their facebook page to ask questions. I know that there is more than one way to meet AAFCO guidelines, they don’t all have to do with actual nutrient levels, so I imagine they have found a way. Good Luck!!

  • lfb’sMom

    So 10/22/13… 16-days ago, I emailed Canine Caviar, with this:

    The phosphorus on the Wild Ocean is 1.7% minimum. I am wondering how CC can claim that their foods meet AAFCO
    nutrient profile guidelines with a phosphorus value higher than the allowable limit. The AAFCO max is 1.6%. On the Wild Ocean feeding page it does say it meets AAFCO guidelines. Very confusing since that is not possible.

    After 7-days and no response on it, I emailed them, again letting them know I was still waiting for an answer. 6-days later, I get this response [Why would it take so long for an answer??]:

    I am checking with our nutritionist who is traveling. I am hoping for an update soon.

    Thank you for your patience.

    Julie

    Julie Campbell
    Canine Caviar Pet Foods, Inc
    4131 Tigris Way
    Riverside, Ca 92503
    Phone 714-223-1800
    Fax 714-223-1801
    [email protected]
    http://www.caninecaviar.com

    HANGOUT with us http://www.caninecaviar.com/blog/2013/08/canine-caviars-google-hangouts/
    LIKE us on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/caninecaviar
    FOLLOW us on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/caninecaviar
    VIEW us on YouTUBE http://www.youtube.com/user/CanineCaviar

  • Peace of Mind Pet Sitting

    I have been feeding this dog food to my dogs–one with severe allergies–most successfully using it supplementing a raw diet instead of commercial dog cookies. I do think there must have been a formula change as after getting this bag of Wild Ocean my dog has been destroying his feet. It didn’t dawn on me until I had aleviated everything else that this was the common denominator!! I just got a new bag …switch to the Wilderness Formula and within a few days he is not bothering with his feet at all!! Feet were raw and slimey for WEEKS!!! I will by smaller bags now and rotate as usual.
    Other than this incident I am and have been very comfortable with this dog food for a number of years now.

  • Patricia Olmedo

    Yes, I got a very quick reply. I sent the bag of food back to them for testing and recieved a refund on the bag.

  • InkedMarie

    I can’t answer your question but did you get a response from CC?

  • Patricia Olmedo

    I have been feeding Canine Cavier Special Needs to my elderly basset hound for about 6 months with great success until very recently. 2 weeks ago he developed an ear infection which he has never had in the 10 years I have had him, over the weekend, he started severe vomiting. Once he cleared all the food out of his system, he was fine. We had fed him homemade chicken, rice and broth for a couple of days just to make sure but last night, gave him the CC Special Needs and immediatley started vomiting again. It has to be the food. I have contacted the company but anyone know of any changes to the special needs formula? The bag was only opened last week and does not appear spoiled.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    You’ll never get in touch with their customer service. They don’t respond to emails, answer their phones or return messages. Very shady company.

  • chiapink

    Here is a question I had asked C.C about this recipe on the12th of October 2013:

    Hi everyone, wanted to ask if any
    of these ingredients in the ALS duck meal and chick pea recipe, Open
    Sky, are from China, I realize not telling the truth may be advantageous to
    this company but to the pet people out here it is totally without integrity and
    ethics, so nothing holds you to the truth but I would really like to know so I
    can make a good decision about my new pup’s food and health, thank you,
    Spencer

    Hearing nothing but crickets, will not purchase this food

  • animal lover

    Can you tell me what kind of digestive enzymes & probiotics you use?I have been wanting to try enzymes for my GSD who has IBD.He is currently on Embark formula by Honest Kitchen.Thank you for any input you may have!

  • GSDsForever

    LOL. Yeah, I don’t know, but am disappointed.

    This company seems to be trying to do a lot of things right, things I respect and value in their formulations: free range meat, exclusively wild caught fish, no GMOs, no high glycemic ingredients (including white potato & tapioca), higher digestibility %, holistically medicinal herbs, etc. I think they deserve some kudos.

    But it’s odd to me that a company VERY concerned with cancer in dogs — it’s one of CC’s major emphases — wouldn’t offer a high protein/low carb formula, the standard of care recommendation among many cancer specialists for dogs. Their formulas are even designed to be alkaline to create an inhospitable environment for cancer cells to proliferate. 26% isn’t really suitable at all for most dogs with cancer or a history of cancer.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I wonder if the price of venison has gone up. There are new venison foods on the market now, so maybe that drove the price up. I’ve seen more than my share of obvious mistakes on websites, so I don’t know why I would expect it to be right, but there you go, I do.

  • GSDsForever

    You would think, right? LOL.

    I know, I know. And I knew that someone would say that! :-)

    But in all honesty, when I look through a bunch of websites for dfferent foods, I’ve found many with errors and not up to date. So I guess I was hoping that the higher % would be correct.

    A local shop that just got it in, all latest bags, has the 26% though. Bummer. Off my list it goes. :-(

  • Pattyvaughn

    You would think that their own website would have the most up to date info on it.

  • GSDsForever

    p.s. I am seeing CC GF Wild Ocean 31%, Buffalo 30%, Open Sky (Duck) 29% protein respectively . . . but GF Wilderness was the brand highest at 38%.

    The CC website conflicts with multiple suppliers’ websites and I wasn’t sure which info (ingredients or GA) was current. I have a query into the company . . . waiting to hear back.

  • GSDsForever

    Could someone familiar with this food please tell me the *current* GA for CC’s GF Wilderness Venison & Split Pea formula?

    I am updating my data sheets for various categories of high protein dog foods, and am finding very conflicting info for CC online: 38/20 for the formula and then 26% (protein) for this formula. Which is the current, newest formula?

    I’m also seeing 2 lists of (slightly) different ingredients, perhaps corresponding to 2 versions (past & present) of this formula:

    Venison Meal, Split Pea,Canola Oil, Dried Pumpkin, Sun-Cured Alfalfa

    Venison Meal, Split Pea, Lamb Fat, Sun Cured Alfalfa, Aspergillus Niger Fermentation Culture

    Thanks!

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s too high for one of my dogs, the other does just fine on pretty much anything. But even though he does fine on it, I still don’t like to feed that much carb, so I would say yes, it is too high.

  • Tae

    so under estimated nutrient content, dry matter basis, carbs, it says 44%. Does this mean carbohydrate in this food is 44%? Isn’t that too high?

  • Pattyvaughn

    If I’m understanding you right, no, the food does not need extra vegetables. It is complete the way it is.

  • Chloe

    it is a few of vegetable in their ingredients, it should be need to feed extra vegetables for supplement in each meal, right?

  • R

    Hi, CC Wild Ocean formula has Ca and P levels that are relatively high at a min. of 2.4% and 1.7% respectively. I’m concerned about the high levels, using AAFCO guidelines as a reference, so was wondering if my concerns are valid or unfounded? I’ve a small breed puppy. Would love to hear your thoughts abt it. Thank you!

  • LawofRaw

    Thanks HDM. Watched the review just then. Isn’t that funny….yet another anecdotal account….Ted Kerasote says, “I was not happy how I fed Meriel. It was clear that there were some things wrong, which I relate in the book. He started out on a corn based kibble. When I brought him home from Utah, he started itching, we changed his diet, his itching was reduced and finally disappeared when he went over to a more meat based diet.” Hmmm I wonder what pro-corn and cereal ridden supporters like Dr. Mackenzie and Dr. Fascetti think about that anecdotal account which is just another in millions upon millions!!!! They’re thinking, well there is no supporting studies hahaha. Makes my blood boil!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    It’s been on my “to-read” list, haven’t gotten to it yet though. Was it good?

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • LawofRaw

    I haven’t read it but thank you for bringing it up. I may look into it. Sounds scarier than Dr. Tom Lonsdale’s “Raw Meaty Bones” expose.

  • Alexandra

    Hi AfghanDad,

    I read the book and absolutely loved it. What he mentioned about the dog food industry is enough to scare anyone away from kibble. It was an eye opener.

  • AfghanDad

    Has anyone on DFA read “Pukka’s Promise, The Quest for Longer-Lived Dogs”, by Ted Kerasote? There are some interesting things on the history of commercial dog food.

  • Korteztk

    Yes, ma’am. I used to give my dogs yogurt with every meal. I seem to have forgotten. I’m not sanguine on most of the probiotic products available because they dry the bacteria out and claim they are still alive. Unless they freeze-dry the product and store it in a deep freeze I’m not catching on how the bacteria remain alive, especially since desiccation is a known method for killing bacteria.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Looser…as in loose stools? I think whether or not a dog has loose stools on a higher carb kibble versus a lower carb kibble depends on the dog. I tend to hear more reports of dogs have loose stools on high protein/high fat grain-free foods (like Orijen). My dogs haven’t had issues with loose stools regardless of protein or fat levels. If you do switch foods and find you have issues with loose stools try adding a spoonful of plain canned pumpkin to each meal and supplementing with a high quality multi-strain probiotic supplement.

  • Korteztk

    These are great ideas. Thanks, and I like sardines and salted mackerel, as they have great levels of omega-3 oils.

    I feed vegetables, raw and slightly cooked, giving them the juices, when they cool, to drink.

  • Korteztk

    Thanks to ALL of you for your love of dogs and our help! My dogs mean the world to my wife and I. We would do almost anything to keep them healthy, happy, and stimulated.

    A quick question on kibble. Do you think too many carbs, as Canine Caviar as compared to Orijen, might keep a dog looser? I’m contemplating a switch in kibble, than toppers, as I educate myself and then see if we can go to raw food. My prior attempts were not well thought out so they did not go well. I have to do better, if I do it again. I promise to read up thoroughly this time! Thanks again!

  • Shawna

    If you want to add raw as a topper you can do so without having to worry about balancing the raw if you keep it at or under 20% of the diet.

    If you want to feed more than 20% raw you have LOTS of options. You can buy commercial premade complete and balanced products like Darwins, Nature’s Variety Instinct Raw, Primal, Bravo Balance and more.

    You can add premixes to meat you purchase. The Honest Kitchen Preference or Steve’s Dinner Mix are just two of many examples.

    If you want to make everything homemade and want it to be complete and balanced you can buy books like “Dr. Becker’s Real Food for Healthy Dogs and Cats” or Steve Brown’s “Unlocking the Canine Ancestral Diet” and follow the recipes within. And/or you can use websites like Balanceit.com to customize your own complete and balanced recipes. Monica Segal also has a recipe book for creating balanced raw diets. I haven’t seen her book so can’t say anything about it though. http://www.monicasegal.com/Raw_Food_Recipes.html

    Some do very well with “balancing over time” versus complete and balanced meals.. This is definitely doable but takes LOTS more research and LOTS more variety which can be hard for some.

    Some great sources of balance over time info are http://www.b-naturals.com and http://www.dogaware.com Dr. Ian Billinghurst and Dr. Tom Lonsdale have books on the subject as well.

    Warning — Dr. Pitcairn has a book that is fantastic regarding holistic treatments etc but the diets in the book are NOT species appropriate at all..

    When you are feeding raw you don’t have to worry about breed or age. My 16 year old Chihuahua eats the same food as my eight year old Pomeranian. My Chihuahua mix was weaned on the same diets that the others eat as well… She’ll be seven soon.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Korteztk –

    I’d recommend Steve Brown’s book “Unlocking the Canine Ancestral Diet.” Is has very simple recipes that are AAFCO compliant. Dogaware.com is another great resource. If you head over to the forum section of DFA there’s a raw food section as well.

  • Korteztk

    So, if I want to learn how to do raw food correctly, what to feed a pair of border collies, one ten and the other a shade over two, where can I go, what books can I buy, and what can I do to become really well-versed in the subject? I’ve messed with it befor entirely unsatisfactorily. I’d like to know enough to be very knowledgeable about it. Thanks for the help. We love our dogs!

  • Shawna

    Hi Korteztk,

    I agree with HDM, Canine Caviar isn’t bad at all but I too prefer a bit higher protein for my toy breed dogs. I also agree with her that rotation is very important. I like NV Instinct, Orijen, Earthborn Primitive Naturals and a few more. I rotate between six different brands and as well as well as the differing protein sources within the same brand.

    To their higher protein kibbles I add a high protein canned and a little bit of raw as toppers. If raw isn’t your thing you can add lightly cooked. Eggs are a great addition to add a few times per week (best to leave the yolks raw so as not to damage the fats in them). Sardines are another good topper. Species appropriate left overs are good as well.

    Note — I have eight dogs, five of them eat primarily raw and three get some kibble in their diet.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Oh there’s no shortage of opinions here. :)

    Canine Caviar isn’t a bad food. I no longer feed kibble, but when I did I preferred grain-free foods with at least 35% protein. I think rotating through several brands with different protein sources is better than sticking to only one brand. My two favorite foods were Orijen and Nature’s Variety Instinct.

  • Korteztk

    Thank you for the feedback. I’m always looking for the best dry grain-free dog food. I wonder if any people here have opinions. I’d appreciate them all. Thanks in advance.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I believe it received 4.5 stars rather than 5 because the protein levels are slightly lower than the protein levels of most of the other 5 star foods and chickpeas are the second ingredient and likely making a significant contribution toward the overall protein levels in the food – ideally, most of the protein should be coming from animal sources, not vegetable sources.

  • Korteztk

    I think you should review this food again, sinc IMO 4.5 stars is low as a rating.

  • Peterson

    Oh, and I would like to share that canine caviar has a lot more variety than what is in their website. Like they have venison dinner – grain free, some other recipes I already forgot the name since I just saw them in passing in the pet store. It would be great if their website is updated so I can guard against fake products. Before now I was afraid that the puppy dinner is a fake product, but I saw amazon sale them so I thought I might be just paranoid.

    I would be very careful about dog food made other than in USA, Canada, Germany. I saw some pedigree from thailand, some brazillian dog food. They are sure cheap, but I don’t trust them much

  • Peterson

    I live in a place where the “recommended” dry food is science diet, proplan, and royal canine. They are the most expensive and I would never give them to my babies.

    My golden breeder feed him eukanuba, so I gave him eukanuba. Then my pitbull used to eat meradog (made in germany). But eukanuba went kaput with their distribution, the only one available is expired product. I went ahead and read meradog ingredient, but I’m not really happy with it. So I went to try other like nutrisource lamb (It has 4 stars here but both of my dogs refused to eat it, even my golden preferred to eat tissues than nutrisource!)

    So a friendly petshop told me to try canine caviar. I let my pitbull tasted the free trials he had in his shop and she loved it. Mind you, she starved herself for two weeks because she didn’t like the food I gave her. I immediately bought the largest packaging (12.7kg) grain free puppy dinner (that would be the chicken and split peas I think) since two large dogs will finish them in no time. The price is the same with crappy science diet/royal canine. But this is GRAIN FREE and on the plus side, golden has a high risk of cancer and tumor and canine caviar is the only one with reduced cancer risk. I have never turned back. The best value so far for the money/benefit. No more diarrhea, stools less smelly, they add like 1kg per day – which is good because they were so skinny due to being sick alot with other food. The downside is that my golden coat is not as pretty as it used to be, so I’m still trying to figure out the solution. But the most important to me is their health, if they are healthy, I’m a happy camper.

    My babies are happy and I am happy they are happy. Please don’t change these great products and keep up the distribution, it’s getting hard to get canine caviar here.

  • ralphmclovin

    After many many years eating Pedigree, I wizened up and did some research and switched my dogs to a better food that I could still afford. I chose Canidae for that food and bounced around the various formulas and was happy with the results as far as weight loss for my fatty lab/cattledog and palatability for my picky JRT.
    After a year of Canidae, about a month ago I switched them to Canine Caviar. I wanted to be 100% grain and potato free, including sweet potato.
    If I thought I was happy before, I am amazed after a month on Canine Caviar! My dogs love it, and it seems to be an even better choice than the canidae.
    On canidae, my overweight dog was losing weight, but she was almost losing more muscle than fat. On Canine Caviar, I can feel her muscles rebuilding themselves, while the fat over her ribcage is finally melting away.
    I think this food is giving me the results I wanted all along. It also makes me feel better that the company is involved in canine cancer research and that fact seems to play an important role in their food manufacturing(hopefully not just marketing).
    I have all the grainfree formulas and rotate them daily so my dogs eat 1 known different animal a day. I also like the buffalo tendon treats as my dogs teeth have never been cleaner which translates to decent breath!
    As factual evidence to me of the the benifits of the changes Ive made, on pedigree as a 9yr old, my mutt would tire out on a walk around the block, on canidae as a 10 yr old she was dragging me on 4-block walks, now after a month on canine caviar I take her on runs with my bicycle!
    Oh, and their poops… I almost want to leave them on the sidewalk, they are really something to behold!

  • Linda

    I just came across your comment but earlier today I purchased some of the NZymes product for my super itchy GSD.  It’s nice to hear from an actual user.  I’m hoping we have as much success as you’ve had.

  • Digitalcassidy

    You need to try NZymes. They have been amazing for my Bull Terrier. She is allergic to nearly every food I have tried with her. NZymes have really helped her stop biting her feet and digging in her ears until they bleed. Best 25 bucks I’ve spent… Ever…

  • Melissaandcrew

     We all have to follow our hearts and do with our free time(as limited as it always seems to be) what brings us the most enjoyment and fulfillment. Good luck in your future endeavors-

  • Melissaandcrew

     And here I sit w/out a clue as to what that all is, lol. I have to get a new computer soon as well, but alas, it will have to wait until the new puppy arrives as she will probably consume a good bit of my “extra”  $$ for the next several months. She is either going to be from a litter available this month, or one next month. I am VERY excited, and to keep it food related, perhaps this will make a decent food for her

  • Doggonefedup.

    totally new. 64gb ram 8core 4ghz cpu 8tbs of hard drive inluding 2- 512gb solid state had drives level 3raid and 3 crossfired 1gb hdmi video cards. 3 blu-ray dives and two dvdram drives. All set up to help me figure out how much food to feed my dogs properly };o)  

  • InkedMarie

    omg, thats great!  Glad you’re back. New computer or  a fixed old one?

  • LabsRawesome

     Doggone, LMAO!! To keep this sort of on topic…my dogs laughed as well…  :0)

  • Doggonefedup.

    Labs,
    took a few tries to get a picture to post. still working on this computer. I’ll still be around. sorry about being off topic. had to test with something.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Especially if we’re actually staying on topic with these posts.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Well this sure is going to be different..

  • Doggonefedup.

    Labs,
    still here just had some computer problems. Still working out some of the bugs…

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I will be waiting for the new forum!  I’ve learned a great deal about dog food and other topics from yall.  I’m only on the first book on my To-Read list, The World According to Mansanto…Yikes!! is all I can think of to not be bleeped!  I had to read the sections about rBGH to Randy as his favorite liquid is milk!!  Come visit us step children in your free time!  Will miss yall!

  • LabsRawesome

     Hey HDM, Mike P. And JohnandChristo, I think? Maybe Doggone??   :(

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Shawna, So sorry to hear that you guys are going. You will be missed, and this site is going to lose a lot of valuable info. I agree that the posters that constantly feel the need to attack Brothers/Richard are VERY ANNOYING and should be banned from the site. But I am glad to hear that you guys are starting your own forum. Please post once it’s up and running. I will hit you guys up for sure! And it will be so nice to have all friendly people there, with good intentions… And NO haters!! Good Luck!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    So who all has left besides Shawna and Toxed?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Bye Shawna. We’ll miss you. :(

  • Shawna

    Hi Labs :)

    I am leaving DFA, but not because Brothers was closed..  Toxed and I are starting a forum and its going to take all of our free time to get it up and running.  I won’t have time for much else.  I/we want to talk about things other than food and Mike told me in an email that he wants to keep the forum about dog food too.  

    Most relevant though, I’m (we are) tired of getting crapped on by posters like losul, “guest”, dugitup and a few others.  I can think of so many better ways to spend my free time ;)..

    I adore Mike and think he has created something very special here but I think I can get more personal fulfillment out of a site that lets me talk about food and my other interests as well—-similar to what Mercola Healthy Pets used to have.  We plan to have links on our site to “Sites we like” (or something like that).  DFA, Mercola Healthy Pets and others will be in that section.  We have NO ill will towards DFA or Mike..

    Of course, anyone who wants can reach me via email at shawnadfaemail (the at symbol) yahoo.com.  Or you can reach us by linking to Toxed’s Facebook page.

    SonicMama ~~ THANK YOU for your wonderful comment..  I VERY much appreciate it :)..  Sorry I won’t be around now that you are posting but I know others here will continue to be of great help..

    All my best to all the friends I’ve made while here on DFA!!!!!!!!!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I agree with Melissa!  I’m glad there are new posters on here.  Of course, the regulars are missed, but maybe they’ll be back soon.

  • LabsRawesome

     Melissa, I was referring to Shawna, and Mike P. And I’m not sure, but maybe some of the other regulars?

  • Melissaandcrew

    Labs-

    What makes you think everyone is leaving? LOL! I have actually been shocked at the number of new contributing posters over the course of the last few days or week. I was just thinking “Wow! New faces, new thoughts and opinions”

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Labs,

    Apparently, some folks are disappointed because I’ve temporarily closed the Brothers thread.

    Don’t worry, though. Only a few have left. Everyone else is still here.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    You know, Mike P….I don’t have a stake in what went on…I don’t know what happened…mainly because I haven’t been reading the comments on the Brothers thread.  I feel, myself, that sometimes there was just too much personal info. and inside conversations. The reality of it is that Dr. Mike S. has a right to do whatever he wants with HIS site.  Your defamatory comment here is not appropriate at all.  I get that you’re upset but frankly I can now understand why Dr. Mike S. did what he did.  While Brothers is a fine food and I’m glad it’s working for your dog and I know it has worked for many others, but so has Fromm, Orijen, Acana, Merrick (the list goes on).  I would think that any food’s thread would have been closed if similar activities occured.   The forum is a fantastic addition, imho, and lengthy discussions or comments not relative to the actual food can go there so newcomers can actually read the reviews and comments on the foods without getting bogged down in them.  I don’t agree that some posters “hold more weight” than others at all.  And I do believe that Shawna, Toxed and Richard were all appreciated for their vast knowledge and comments.  They will be missed.  I’m sorry this had to happen.  I don’t usually comment like this and wrestled with myself over it, but I was just so taken aback by your comment I decided to go ahead.  Please, Dr. Mike S., if you feel you need to delete it, I understand.     

  • Mike P

    Mike S caved in to all the Brothers haters and closed the Brothers site for a “long period of time” in his words.He made the decission to throw away the expert advice from the Shawna’s,Toxi’s,and Richard’s because the melissaandcrew’s and her haters aparently hold more weight or because of finacial reasons.PetFlow does not sell the most popular dog food(Brothers Complete) and must of came down on Mike for allowing all the post on the the Brothers thread.You can send me your email via FB message and I will send forward you so you will be up to speed.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hey Mike, what’s going on? Everyone is leaving the site? What did I miss?

  • Mike P

    Hi SonicMama,
    To bad Shawna will never post here again for some difference of opinion issues.I will deeply miss her contributions to this site.

  • SonicMama

    Shawna – Please forgive me for this post being out of context to what is being discussed, but I just want to thank you for sharing so much of your knowledge on dog nutrition. I have learned a ridiculous amount by coming here from you and everyone that has shared their different experiences. After a year of coming here to research and see if people are having any of my same issues/frustrations, I finally created a profile last night to start contributing and say thanks to all! :-)

  • doggonefedup

    My mistake. I meant to write Amylose.
    Amylose is a part of starch, and it is a polysaccharide.
    Amylase is an enzyme. This catalyses the breakdown of starch into smaller units.

  • Shawna

    I think it was supposed to say amylose :).

  • Solimarchin

    Amylase is an enzyme that acts as a catalyst to breakdown starch into sugars . . . it is not a starch.

  • doggonefedup

    There
    are two basic types of common potatoes. Potatoes used primarily for baking are
    high in a starch called amylase. Those used for boiling have a lower degree of
    starch in them; that starch is called amylopectin. The starchy potatoes
    used for baking are generally longer than their lower-starch counterparts. They
    also have coarse skin and their insides have a dry texture. However, when baked
    or fried, they become light and fluffy, making them the perfect pick when you
    want baked, mashed or fried potatoes. These potatoes have names like Norgold
    Russet, Long White, Norkotah, Goldrush and Idaho.
    The lower-starch potatoes are also known as waxy potatoes. They come in many
    shapes and they can be round or long. Their skin is smooth and feels a bit
    waxy. Although they are low in starch, they are high in sugar and moisture,
    making them perfect for potato salads, casseroles, soups, barbecuing and
    roasting. You can also mash them, but the instead of having smooth, creamy
    mashed potatoes, you’ll probably get thick, lumpy ones instead. These potatoes
    are known as Red Nordland, Yellow Finnish, Round White and Australian
    Crescent, among others.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Russet potatos are a type of white potato.  If you find a food on the list has russets in it you should make a post there to let everyone know.

  • AfghanDad

    Is there a distinction between russet potatoes and other white potatoes? That is, assuming that russets are white potatoes. I noticed in the DFA potato free list of dog foods, that some of them include russets.

  • AfghanDad

    Such heartache for your little gal, and such dedication of you! Thank you for your post.

  • Angel

    I have tried I and Love and you. My dog seemed to like it but I noticed that her coat just wasn’t as soft. I liked all the nautural ingredients. Ones I especially look for are the meat ingredients first, but am all for Tumeric!!! as a cancer fighting agent, chicory root, yucca sangria, helps the stool not smell as much, and a few others, like no sugar or salt and no high carbs. I have a 10 year old eskimo/pom? mix, and lost 2lbs on it from 24 to 22. Great for her as she has sure had her share of medical problems. I got her at 4mo. the seller would not tell me what vet she had, she splayed out on the floor, had lymes disease. A luxating patella surgery, an umbiblical hernia they fixed when I had her spayed, and a vet took blood from her throat to check for diabeyic or thyroid issues to maybe be her weigh issue, or cushings. Was none of those and got her liver counts all back to normal in 3 mo. with the herb milk thistle. She had 5 laser treatments on the knee that had the surgery, supplements from Herbsmith she has taken for years, and can run like the wind, but the vet that took her  blood nicked the larnyx/nerve, so she sounds like she has a collapsing treachea. But was no prior history til after that still sent home bleeding , test. And almost lost her through a dental she didn’t need, and a bee sting, as now she can’t be intibated. Blue also changed something in their food as I saw changes in her coat, and constant ear yeast infection. She has been on Go Fit Senior, by Petcurian, and no more ear or coat issues and has many ingredients to love.

  • AfghanDad

    Has anybody tried  I and Love and You dog food?  Any thoughts on this?  Also, since I am posting, does anyone remember Show Results dog food? This used to be advertised on the back of Dog World magazine back in the 80’s. Whatever happened to it? Who owned it? Did it morph into another brand?

  • Maxmabi777

     Thanks, Shawna. I will contact you.
    No, that wasn’t me. :)

  • AfghanDad

    Thank you Shawna and Aimee for good explanations. I will take note! I am blessed to have a very healthy dog, and I want to continue to learn and do the best for her.

  • Shawna

    Aimee has a good point but it is important to consider that nuts and shellfish have lectins too.  About 35% of food does.

    “By Carolyn Pierini, CLS (ASCP), CNC

    Lectins, Food Allergies and Intestinal Concerns
    There is an abundance of literature from the most prestigious journals that lectins such as WGA initiate allergic reactions in the gut causing the release of IL-4, IL-13, and histamine from human basophils producing noticeable allergic symptoms.8-9 WGA has also shown to interfere with protein digestion and increase gut permeability.10-11 Peanut lectin, kidney bean and soybean lectins are other examples of lectins that have influences on bodily tissues. On the bright side, the lectins in broad beans (VFA), jackfruit (JAC), and culinary mushrooms (agraricus bisphorus) have been shown to slow the progression of colon cancer.12-13

    Lucretius said, “One man’s food is another man’s poison” and lectins give us part of the reason why. It is our individual genetic inheritances that determine how and to what degree lectins can affect us. Almost everybody has antibodies to some dietary lectins in their bloodstream. Many food allergies are actually immune system reactions to lectins.14

    The trend toward consumption of less processed grain foods, although more nutritious in many respects, results in consumption of more lectins. After ingestion, most dietary lectins bind to the absorptive microvilli of the small intestine (the microvilli are the tiny finger-like projections on the epithelial cells). From there lectins may gain access into the blood and lymph system through a process called endocytosis which carries the intact lectin across the microvilli membranes as a vesicle.15 Then, the lectins may enter the liver, pancreas and systemic circulation. It is estimated that about 5 percent of ingested lectins enter the body systemically, where, depending on the lectin and depending on the person’s unique glycoconjugates, lectin binding occurs on other tissues such as nervous and connective tissue and the bladder, which are very sensitive to the agglutinating effects of lectins. It is a clinical observation that the complete avoidance of wheat lectins will help ameliorate the symptoms of interstitial cystitis. The reactions of lectins in the gut are more potent since the gut is more heavily glycosylated (more sugar receptors).”  http://www.vrp.com/digestive-health/lectins-their-damaging-role-in-intestinal-health-rheumatoid-arthritis-and-weight-loss

    There’s a ton more excellent info in this article but this post is probably long enough already..

  • aimee

     Hi Afgandad,

    The development of food allergies isn’t well understood. In dogs it currently seems to be that allergies develop to something that the dog has been exposed to a long time. This is where the idea of rotating proteins sources to prevent allergies originates from. Yet most dogs are exposed to the same protein and do not develop an allergic reaction to it so other factors are likely in play.

    When I look at the common allergies in people and see that they are to items not consumed on a daily basis: shellfish, nuts. I have to ask “Does this occur in dogs too??”

    If rotating protein sources and carb sources I’d stick to  just a few common sources and keep some of the more  “exotic” in reserve.

  • Shawna

    Oops, misread your post…  You had talked about the pups here before — forgive me for being brain dead today.. :-)  Still wondering if I don’t know you from Mercola though?  :)

  • Shawna

    Hi Judy,

    Yeah, you can reach me offline by emailing me at shawnadfaemail yahoo .com.  Remove the spaces :)  Thanks for your kind words!!! :-)

    Max and Mabi sound really familiar.  Were you on Mercola Healthy Pets forum?

  • Shawna

    I forgot to address the reserving a protein question..  Sorry

    IF your pups digestive tract is healthy and functioning properly then the likelyhood of an allergy is dramatically lessened.

    I give all my dogs (even the raw fed ones) supplemental enzymes to help ensure they are digesting their proteins properly.  However enzymes don’t help with lectins.  I feed as “species appropriate” as I can — no grains, high protein etc.

    But here’s were a glitch could happen.  Lets say your pup gets a bacterial infection that his immune system is having trouble eliminating.  So you get antibiotics for your pup.  The antibiotics eliminate all the good bacteria which are keeping candida yeast in check (not everyone here believes candida can become systemic but I do).  Candida can burrow into the gut wall and cause the same inflammation as lectins.  If pup is older and, even with digestive enzymes, not digesting protein to the fullest, the protein could still leak through even if rotating properly..

    Because of unique situations like the above I do think it is a good idea to keep one or two proteins out of the diet.. 

    My dog was born with kidney disease (very healthy and 6 1/2 years old now).  I started her on small amounts of barley but fed it with every meal (a substance in barley and other foods can help clean the blood).  What I didn’t know is that Audrey is intolerant of gluten grains and after only two short months low and behold she developed leaky gut.  I wasn’t giving enzymes with EVERY meal at the time..  Undigested proteins got into her blood and she had an allergic response.  Because I raw feed and rotate between LOTS of protein sources when I put her on an elimination diet to find the cause I had to feed her ostrich (for three months).  That was an EXPENSIVE lesson…

    Through elimination it was found that Audrey is allergic to cow bone protein (any other kind of bone is ok), cow tripe (but can eat tripe from other animals — she can eat cow muscle and organs without issue too), goat milk (I used to give goat milk yogurt but would use up a whole container before stopping) and gluten grains..

    So yeah, can’t hurt to keep one or two proteins out of the diet just in case..  :)

  • Maxmabi777

    Hi, Shawna. Is there a way for me to contact you offline? I have been on here for almost a year and followed your posts and respect your comments and would like to ask your opinion, but don’t know where to go to start a post, since my question is not related to a particular food.  

    I am the Cocker mom who lost my Max a couple of months ago, and don’t want to be doing something that will impact Mabi’s life.

    Thanks.
    Judy Parker

  • AfghanDad

    Shawna and Pattyvaughn – Thanks for the info. Wow, that was impressive. So, the point about “reserving a protein” for future use is basically bunk? I would imagine, that with all the options available to us now, rotating proteins and carbs, would certainly take a while to run the rotation cycle, and that not one particular one should cause a problem, particularly if corn and wheat are never used.

  • Shawna

    I’ve been at this for 20 plus years…  If you were learning and bringing it to the forefront too quickly I’d have to feel really really bad about myself :)…  It really amazes me how quickly some of you guys pick this stuff up….

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thanks Shawna

    I have to totally agree with you, but my brain is still not automatically bringing all the new stuff I’m learning to the forefront.  Not even close.

  • Shawna

    PS — lectins, in addition to causing allergy like symptoms, can also cause autoimmune diseases affecting any part of the body (thyroid, heart, pancreas, kidneys, arthritis etc).  The lectins in dairy, gluten grains (barley, wheat, rye and contaminated oats), soy and corn can also damage that hairs in the small intestines that absorb nutrients (called villous atrophy).  Villous atrophy can cause malnutrition.  Malnutrition, obviously, can cause a whole slew of symptoms from poor eyesight to nerve damage.

  • Shawna

    Hi AfghanDad (this is long – sorry up front),

    This is my understanding of allergies.  I agree that food repetition is a cause but for a slightly different reason.  There are proteins that nourish the body and then their are proteins that protect the food they are in and can, in suseptible people and pets, damage the body.  Those proteins are glycoproteins (also referred to as lectins).

    Lectins are the protein in wheat, as an example, that causes gluten intolerance and celiac disease.  Our digestive tract makes mucin and Immunoglobulin A (IgA) to protect our guts from lectins.  If lectins, that are damaging to us, are eaten too frequently they can wear down the bodies resources of IgA etc and can then “stick” to the gut wall. This causes inflammation (colitis, IBD etc) and eventually leaky gut.  Once the gut is leaky, undigested proteins (like poorly digested muscle meat) as well as bacteria etc can get into the blood stream.  Once in the blood stream the immune system goes on the rampage.  The immune system can then consider that muscle protein a foreign invader and any subsequent exposure will cause an immuglobulin E (IgE) reaction.  TRUE allergies (IgE reactions) are considered less common or even rare.

    So for a true IgE allergy to happen the gut has to leak, the protein has to be poorly digested and the immune system has to over react to the protein that leaked into the blood. 

    Intolerances can exhibit the very same symptoms as allergies (as well as others) but they do not stimulate and IgE response. 

    Lectin intolerances are much more common than true allergies.  Lectins can be found in MANY foods.  The most problematic ones are reported to be in grains (rice being least reactive), legumes (including peas, green beans and soy), nightshade plants (especially potato), corn and dairy.  Chicken and eggs can be an issue too.

    The thing to consider is that not every dog (or person) is going to react to every lectin.  I react to dairy but seem to be okay with wheat.  I have friends that react to wheat but seem to be okay with dairy.  My Pom Gizmo reacts to chicken.  My friends Sheeba Inu reacts to green beans.  I also know dogs and people who react to strawberries, cucumbers, garlic etc etc.. 

    The Merck Vet Manual mentions that German Shephard Dogs are more prone to “GI allergies” because they have a genetic predisposition to being IgA deficient.  Since IgA protects the gut from lectins, dogs with an IgA deficiency are prone to gi issues caused by lectins (as well as bacteria etc).  Several of the GSD owners here on DFA (that post) have had issues with potato.

    When it comes to rotation, in my opinion, you do want to do it and you want to make sure you are rotating protein as well as the carb source. 

    I hope this all makes sense..  My brain is fuzzy today from lack of sleep etc.. :(

  • Pattyvaughn

    The differences in philosophy come from veterinarians calling food intolerances “allergies”  When thinking of allergy, think of bee sting reactions, they are life threatening reactions and each subsequent exposure increase in risk in the extreme and they are very rare.  Food intolerences cause IBS, itchy red skin, sebhorrea, yeast infections, etc.  They occur because the gut is unhealthy and proteins that are not fully digested enter the blood stream.  Rotating foods is one of the things you can do to help keep the gut healthy.  When you feed the same food long term, all the different microbes in the gut multiply or die off according to what nutrients are available.  Sometimes they get badly out of balance. 

    I hope Shawna chimes in here because she is the one who will know if there are studies to cite.  I can’t, but I can tell you my dog was one of the ones vets label as allergic, but because I started treating his gut he is much better in just 2 months. 

  • AfghanDad

    Mike, I have a question on the rotation of protein sources. I understand the wisdom of food rotation, which has helped me with my own food allergies. In other words, repetition of the same foods over time has the potential of setting off an allergic cycle in the body. I have read some dog food forums and blogs,    as well as spoken to several dog people who say that rotation isn’t a good thing, because you need to reserve protein sources in case my dog does have allergies in the future. Especially in the use of “exotic” meats, like beaver and kangaroo. (Currently, my 6 year old afghan hound shows no signs of allergies). This seems to be a contradiction of two philosophies. Where does the truth lie? Are there any researched papers written that address my specific question?
    I really enjoy your website and have learned a great deal!

  • Shawna

    Just got it…  I’ll try to reply tonight but my email is acting up… grrrrrr  If not tonight, I’ll try again tomorrow.

    That’s a pretty intense panic!!!  My daughter’s ex-boyfriend used to panic himself into an asthma attack once in a while!!  :(  Hopefully we (or your vet or someone) can help you get her to a point that doesn’t cause you so much stress.  It may take some time though.. 

  • exotica

    i sent u an e mail she is doing better than she has been i just get so scared that she she go downhill again and panic. I am using vetrycn because i found a bald spot on her stomach but the hair grew back in a week. NOtice some redish paws agan shes a bit itchy at night it happens at midnight not too bad but i can hear her itching a bit. But the vetrync seems to help. I just went into a panic today and my throat locked up.

  • Shawna

    My Audrey’s gut was damaged from feeding barley for just two short months.  It took over six months for her symptoms to completely resolve.  It took another year for her to be able to eat a food she is allergic to (by accident) without having a reaction.  However, if she has the food for more then a few days (even in small amounts) her symptoms will come back.

    It took my Pom, Gizmo, over a year to completely heal from her colitis.  She would have explosive diarrhea if she got a food she was reactive to.  Now she can eat that same food but after 3 days she will have symptoms again. 

    However with both girls, symptoms started getting better within weeks on the new food.

    What exactly is going on with your dog??  I never got an email from you?

  • exotica

    HOW long does it take for this food to work fully? I am starting to worry about my own mental health. I had a panic attack today thinking about it. I am not going to lie. I went to the hospital. Anyways My dogs stool is soft. NO more splattering no more inconsistant stools. So it is an improvment. But they arent perfect firm stools like people say dogs stools should be? I don’t think my dog has a anal gland issue right now either. NOt 100 percent? but does not seem it. But when will this food really do its magic? and heal the digestive track? how long? I really got scared. I am perscribed klonopin right now by my dr.  I really could use some answers fast.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    There was a pug that had multiple issues (gut/eye/coat).  Turned out he had some teeth that needed to be removed although he had a dental done under anethesthesia, the vet’s office did not do a good job.  These bad teeth led to infection and problems throughout the body and once the teeth were removed he was fine.  It took a couple vets to find this out.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    If the probiotics are helping with some of her other issues, I bet they’ll help with the stool issues too. Healing the gut takes time though so stick with it and give it time. Keep up with the probiotics and digestive enzymes and keep in mind that sometimes the eye goo, loose stool etc. is the yeast’s swan song!

  • exotica

     i have 3 vets right now from diff practices do you think brothers will succeed in shipping to canada? canada has every other food right now. Do you have a dog with similair symtoms? My dog also gets the eye goo and rashes tho but the pro biotics took care of the eye goo and dull coat.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Also, have you thought about seeing another vet? I was happy with my vet and after a conversation with some nice folks here, I found a vet who practices integrative medicine and am so happy I did! If your vet is more that of conventional medicine, maybe you’d benefit from at least a consultation with an integrative or holistic vet.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer
  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    If you know someone in the US to whose address you could ship it and pick it up from, I think that’s your best bet for right now. I do recall Richard saying that he was working on being able to ship to Canada sometime within the past couple of months.

  • exotica

     yeah but i live on the border

  • exotica

     any idea why it might effect her so extreme? the brown rice the constipation so bad? and then the rest like potato will give her really soft or gooey stools?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Right now, I believe, Brothers is only shipping in the US? Are you in Canada?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Well, that would seem to make sense in that rice is sometimes used as part of a bland diet when a dog has diarrhea. It does sound like you’re on the right track with grain free for your girl.

  • exotica

    yeah ideal weight 85-90 for her build high energy

  • exotica

    no just yesterday iw as going to try it last week but held off and finished the old stuff or most of it, are most able in canada and america to get brothers also?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    So, she weighs in excess of about 70 pounds, right?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    No, you haven’t tried Brothers Allergy yet. : )

    You might find Brothers is actually very cost effective because you might not need the additional supplements, etc. and you might also find you’re feeding less food because it’s so nutrient dense.

    I hope the CC works great for your dog so she can have some relief right away. You just started her on it about a week ago, right?

  • exotica

    5 cups but if she eats 4 she gets too skinny anorexic looking shes really active
    If she eats any food with brown rice in it her stool will turn so hard she might scream she when she goes to the bathroom isnt that wierd? It turns light colored and will be hard like a rock and break like sand. Any food with brown rice does not matter what kind.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Also, how much are you feeding her – is it well within the guidelines for her weight and activity level for the food you’re using. Sometimes, loose stool is just the result of eating too much.

  • Dave’s Hounds

     pumpkin – a good size spoonful, also add in probiotics and digestive enzymes. Made a world of difference for my hounds. I have to add pumpkin to every meal – mine need additional fiber

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I would think so (and hope so). : )

    Be careful with the pumpkin though. I found smaller amounts of pumpkin work better for firming up loose stool, but it seems as though too much seems to have the opposite effect.

  • exotica

     will the anal glands empty themlseves with the new food plus a lot of pumpkin?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    This food has pre & probiotics as well. Maybe until your dog is over the hump, he could use the extra boost of that which you’re adding. It seems like, unless there’s something more going on, that once the stool firms up the anal glands will improve.

  • exotica

    I think herbal enzymes are included in the mixture It is a huge mixture.  Maybe i am not giving it enough time with the proper food.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    What about digestive enzymes? Have you tried those in addition?

  • exotica

     there is no info to give my dog is just having anal gland issues recent my vet said look at her food once again for the 100th time He said i can try hills z/d if I like people online say it is horrible. I guess if this does not work I will stop everything and go to hills z/d.

  • exotica

    maybe i should be giving the pro boitics a couple of months? I noticed them helping right away by making my dogs coat nicer and they got rid of any
    eye crusty and eye goo.

    They also help with the ears

  • exotica

     yes i just started the probiotics a few weeks ago some really nice ones that have helped a bunch of dogs locally they are helping my dog but still the anal glands are acting up and shes still itchy so its not enough

  • exotica

    I thought CC was on another level than natural balance thats why it was so expensive? Like brothers.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Have you thought about adding digestive enzymes and probiotics? I had great luck adding them to my dog’s diet. I think they’d really help your dog as well. Check out healthypets.mercola.com

  • exotica

     but my dog has always been fed high quality food never junk right now shes on back to basics pork but i dont like it

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I’m very partial to Brothers Allergy formula. That being said, it appears as though the CC is grain and white potato free which us a big step in the right direction.

    Just stick with it for a while for your dog to get used to it and remember that his system will have to purge lots of old junk… so he’ll very likely look worse before he looks better.

  • LabsRawesome

     How do you know that she’s allergic to everything? Did a vet do testing? Sorry if I’m asking questions that you already answered, but I haven’t been on for awhile. I know it’s frustrating. But all you can really do is put your dog on a food, and see how she reacts.

  • exotica

     i can’t try anymore ok i have tried everything shes allergic to everything and nothing like other people say its not allergies, dogs just have issues or something because brothers uuses turkey and chicken in their ingredients so it is not allergy dogs just have issues with diguestion.

    My dog is starting to get anal gland issues now from all the poor digestion. I can’t deal with it anymore.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Labs, Several of us were talking with exotica last week and discussed the possibility that his dog might have a systemic yeast overgrowth. He isn’t giving a whole lotta info about what exactly is going on and I think he’s pretty frustrated and wishing someone would just break out their crystal ball for him. I totally get that. : )

    exotica, have you compared the lists of ingredients in those foods that didn’t work to see if there’s a common denominator?

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I agree with Labs.  It depends on the dog.  One dog might do better on CC and another might do better on Brothers.  Then again, Natural Balance might work for another.  I think you just have to try different foods for your dog until you find what works.  It really can be a trial and error process unfortunately.  No one can say, “feed THIS because it’s the best food for all dogs”.  Sorry….I know this sounds like a run-around, but you really do have to try foods with your dog.  

  • LabsRawesome

     exotica, what is your dog allergic to? What do you mean by the strongest food? This food looks ok, but the only way to really tell, is to feed it to your dog. And see it’s reaction, good or bad.

  • exotica

    ok is this food just as good as brothers for allergy dogs? is it the strongest food out there? better than natural balance? i need someone to really answer tonight.

  • Alexandra

    Mike S,

    Why is the garlic red flagged?

    Thanks

  • Wally Wonder

    Hi I’m looking for a good dog food for my 3 month old lab . What problems did you have

  • Sampson96

    dont buy this food it is no good  it just a high name  pennical just as good.

  • Jewelsyah

    Thank you for your review. I feed my Corgis Canine Caviar & have been very happy with it. Their weight is in line & I like that it is healthy for them.

  • Pingback: Can A Grain Free Canine Food Be Good For Your Canine? | Animal Rescue

  • monkey

    Has anyone fed this lately? Thinking about trying it in the rotation sometime. A store near me has started carrying it.

  • Morgan Royse

    My extremely picky, allergy prone adopted 6-year-old Pomeranian (know nothing about his past) has made it very difficult for me to get him to eat. I have had him on the Venison Split Pea dinner for about 4 weeks. It was the only grain free Canine Caviar flavor that my pet store carried. I am trying this formula as part of a food trial. I have to say that while my dog is definitely not fond of the flavor, he seems to be itching less. I am going to keep him on this dog food for another month to give it a full two months. My pet store informed me that Canine Caviar is coming out with new flavors that are grain free by the end of December. I have just finally realized that my dog loves the flavor of fish and so I have been mixing grain free Wellness whitefish flavored wet food in with the venison to get him to eat. I am excited to hear that one of their new flavors is grain free Ocean whitefish! My vet has been trying to get me to put him on Royal Canin or Science Diet prescription hypo allergic dog food, but when I compared the ingredients they are almost identical to Canine Caviar using only one protein source (which makes it hypoallergenic) so why would I pay $40 for prescription dog food that has a 2.5 star rating when I could be feeding him higher quality, with simplier ingredients Canine Caviar at a cheaper price with a 5 star rating?

  • Alexandra

    Me too. I am looking forward to placing this into my rotation. My dogs have always done well on it. My mix loved the venison.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Wow! I’ve always liked Canine Cavair (and I used to feed it), but these grain free formulas look awesome!! I might have to check into them soon. My dogs always did well on CC. What I like best about them is that you don’t have to transition to them slowly (or at least you didn’t used to have to do this). Thanks for giving a heads up!

  • Alexandra

    Mike S,
    Just wanted to let you know that Canine Caviar has expanded their grain free formulas. And changed their formulations, lower protein content is among the changes. The new formulas are to hit mid December. The new info is up on their web page.
    Thanks

  • Gordon

    Stephanie – You’re thanking Canine Caviar, right? Not this website. Anyway, if thanking the latter, just FYI, this is just an independent dog food rating website. Albeit, the best one there is. I just wish it was Australian, lol. This site has nothing to do with the making of dog foods.

  • Stephanie

    Thank you for making this food! I have 2 young labs and a 14 1/2 year old lab mix. One of my labs was diagnosed with hip dysplasia at 8 months old. He also has allergies. Between being in pain and surgeries and allergies, getting him to eat was a huge challenge. I tried a lot of (good) foods but his tummy was still upset and his (right) ear was still gunky. His right leg had atrophied and even with physical therapy he wasn’t getting any muscle back. I found the Venison and split pea and thought it couldn’t hurt. The first two meals he ate hesitantly (but he ate it all), the third meal he ate with enthusiam. By the fourth meal he was eating like a lab!
    He’s been on the Venison for 4 or 5 months. What a huge difference! He is building muscle in his right leg, no tummy trouble and his ear is totally clear! This food is worth every penny – even though he eats 4 cups a day I save money because he doesn’t need any of his allergy prescriptions anymore.
    I’m so glad you make this food, and so is Riley!

  • Michael

    Daniel is blowing smoke. He is simply trying to justify why he spends $90 a bag on Orijen when he can have a very high quality food for considerably less. My kids have been on Canine Caviar for a while now and are doing great. One gets working dog diet and the other a normal diet. They are both in excellent health and have tons of energy. I even recommended their low protein diet for my mom’s Maltese who has some sort of liver function issue. He too is doing extremely well and her vet is thrilled. Orijen is good food no doubt, but for Daniel to come in here and discount a high quality food simply simply because he thinks that is not on the same level as his overpriced selection is preposterous. Show us some proof or offer your experience with this food or jog on!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Daniel… Why should a recipe need to have multiple sources of protein to make it a good dog food? Or to be on “the same playing field” as other products in its category? Please cite the scientific study that would support this method for judging dog foods.

  • Ron

    Hello Daniel,

    Maybe their idea is to go with a single protein source which is helpful if one is trying or has a allergy that is causing problems.
    It says on its site that it is 34% which is a healthy amount, but
    I’m not sure how the split-pea may fit into the equation.
    I have never used this food or Orijen that I know of, so I have no bias. But if I was to try one I would have to consider
    the Canine Caviar, for the simple fact that it is a single protein and the biggest factor to me is that it has No white potato’s.
    I would think one could always had a canned meat or fresh meat product too it if it was necessary.

  • Daniel

    I would have to disagree with such a high and favorable review of this food. I would have liked to see a secondary meat source of protein, or two, following venison meal, particularly- Venison, and say salmon meal or any other named meat or meat meal. When thinking of adding reviewed foods into your highest category, one cannot forget about other deserving foods there in comparison. While the food should be reviewed objectively on its own merit, it should also be thought of in terms of some of the other, extremely high 5 star foods you have- such as Orijen and Acana. I do not work for them, but I do feed those foods and work in a retail store that carries many of these foods, and Canine Caviar’s bag make up is not in the vacinity of Orijen or it’s less expensive cousin- Acana. By giving them all a ranking of 5 stars, you whether you wanted to or not, are implying they are on a even playing field when they aren’t.

  • http://www.thedogmaonline.com Valerie Marshall

    Hi there,
    Just want you to know that the Beet Pulp used in Canien Caviar is not a sugar beet. It is a white beet that is used for digestion-prebiotics. This Beet is at the bottom of the glycemic index.
    Thanks!

  • Samantha

    Love love love this food. As momma to two Irish Setters, & more cats than I care to admit to, I am so lucky to have had this food recommended by my distributor (thedogmaonline.com). I had never heard of raw feeding & such high quality grain-free diets until our dog, Ethan, became so ill. Thanks to a Facebook rant (not knowing what to do because the vet’s only answer was to keep pushing pills), & two life-changing responses (thank you Dawn & Beth!), we got pointed in the right direction. We now feed this amazing kibble, along with raw food & the occasional supplement (such as coco therapy), to ALL our fur-kids. I am happy to report that, while Ethan is still somewhat under weight, he is on NO pills! And that makes me a HAPPY momma! Thank you for doing something that is sorely needed – rating pet foods based on FACTS! Keep up the good work!
    Sam~

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Carol… Here’s an article I wrote about a year ago. “Low Fat Dog Food… Good or Bad for Your Pet?” Our good friend (and the Advisor’s veterinary consultant), Dr. Donna Spector, is planning to write an article about pancreatitis sometime in the first half of 2011. We plan to include a list of some suggested low fat dog foods along with that post. Hope this helps.

  • Carol

    This food looks great but we cannot get it in Canada. When will you write about low fat food :)

  • jaimee

    We have a severely allergic boxer that had been on every natural diet and every prescription food. We tried this food on recommendation of a pet store owner because of the lack of grains and minimal ingrediants and it is amazing. It is pricey but no more than most prescriptions. We made the transition very drastically because we were out of her prescription food and she had no stomach irritation and she had no itching. We mix this food with Evengers rabbit which is something she has been on for years. I am thrilled with this food. This food lasts longer than the prescription as well because she eats less due to the protein. A great food for allergic dogs. Trust me we have tried them all and spent an absurd amount of money over the years trying foods. I highly recommend this food.

  • Deborah

    My dog is on a raw meat diet and We used to buy some of these ingredients seperately and combine them in a bowl for him with raw meat. We recently found this product and gave it a try. Combined with the Canine Cavier canned food and their kibble form we gave it to our dog and he loves it. He is so energetic and looks Great! We are very Happy with this Product and no more mixing ingredients for him, it’s already done for us!