Canidae Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★½☆

Canidae Dog Food earns the Advisor’s mid-tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Canidae Dog Food product line includes seven kibbles, four claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages, two for adult maintenance and one recipe for growth.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Canidae Life Stages Platinum (3 stars)
  • Canidae Life Stages Large Breed Puppies
  • Canidae Life Stages All Life Stages (4 stars)
  • Canidae Beef and Ocean Fish Meal (4 stars)
  • Canidae Life Stages Large Breed Adult (3 stars)
  • Canidae Life Stages Lamb Meal and Rice (3 stars)
  • Canidae Life Stages Chicken Meal and Rice (4 stars)

Canidae Life Stages All Life Stages recipe was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Canidae Life Stages All Life Stages Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 49%

Ingredients: Chicken meal, turkey meal, lamb meal, brown rice, white rice, rice bran, peas, potatoes, oatmeal, cracked pearled barley, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), millet, tomato pomace, natural flavor, flaxseed meal, ocean fish meal, choline chloride, sun-cured alfalfa meal, inulin (from chicory root), lecithin, sage extract, cranberries, beta-carotene, rosemary extract, sunflower oil, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), minerals (iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite), papaya, pineapple

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis24%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%16%49%
Calorie Weighted Basis23%34%43%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The second and third ingredients are turkey meal and lamb meal, two more protein-rich meat concentrates.

The fourth ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is white rice, a less nutritious form of rice in which the grain’s healthier outer layer has been removed.

The sixth ingredient is rice bran, a healthy by-product of milling whole grain rice. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, fat as well as vitamins and minerals.

The last three items were all rice ingredients: brown rice, white rice and rice bran. Though they’re a mixture of different quality cereal grains, there’s a bigger issue to consider here…

The questionable practice of ingredient splitting.

You see, if you were to total all rice items, the combined amount would almost certainly occupy a higher position on the list.

The seventh ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The eighth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The ninth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, we note the inclusion of inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and typically sourced from chicory root.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

Next, sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3′s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Canidae Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Canidae Dog Food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 49%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 25% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 53% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 55%.

Below-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the peas and lentils contained in some recipes, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average to average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Canidae Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a below average to moderate amount of poultry, lamb or fish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Note: Although this recipe does not appear to have changed, we have lowered its rating due to our decreased estimate of the full product line’s meat content. This was caused by the addition of two new recipes apparently containing less meat.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a better kibble from the same company may wish to check out our review of Canidae Grain Free Dry Dog Food.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

12/06/2009 Original review
07/17/2010 Review updated
11/09/2010 Review updated (ethoxyquin free)
08/12/2012 Review updated
07/06/2013 Review updated
07/06/2013 Last Update

  • PrivacyInA9M80

    Wow, the amount of misinformation being spewed by people in the comments is incredible.

    Shame on everyone using this as a forum to trick people.

  • losul

    Or at least it can’t be hidden from savvy DFAer’s. :-)

  • aquariangt

    you know that this is http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com yes?

  • Crazy4Buckskins

    Sorry there’s a typo on my part.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com

  • Dori

    They do not make all their food in Ethos. They still outsource their grain free dog and cat kibble to Diamond. Just google it and you’ll find many many articles on this very issue.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Here’s a screen capture of those “pretty good honest reviews”.

  • Dori

    Though Canidae dog food is a family run business, it continues to outsource their dog and cat grain free kibble. This information is easily obtained on google.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    You said, ” To obtain a pretty good honest review try http://www.dogfoodadvisory.com….. Check it out for yourself.”

    So, I took your advice. The website you recommended in your comment has absolutely no reviews at all. Every link I clicked on appeared to be a paid advertisement.

  • aquariangt

    Make some calls, your misinformation isn’t something that canidae has hidden

  • aquariangt

    It’s fine to be uninformed, it’s another thing to be aggressively uninformed, just saying.

  • theBCnut

    They make a small amount of their foods at Ethos and use co packers for the rest. They never planned to move all their food production to Ethos, though they would like you to believe that food made by Diamond is just as good as/identical to food made by Ethos.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Only some of it that is shipped to the immediate area by Ethos. I called them last yr and they confirmed still using Diamond due to shipping costs and production capability. If it changes I would use the food..

  • Mainer71

    Actually the do make the food in Ethos and have been for about 2 years.

  • Betsy Greer

    Actually, Canidae is co-packed by Diamond. Canidae opened a new facility, Ethos, but has not moved their production there. Ethos operates primarily as a research facility.

  • Crazy4Buckskins

    You must pay attention to which websites you read reviews on. Consumer Affairs is not a valid website for honesty or truth. That website is run by a bunch of lawyers who hire bloggers to write dishonest facts on ALL COMPANIES (trying to obtain lawsuits), not just dog food companies. Check it out for yourself. To obtain a pretty good honest review try http://www.dogfoodadvisory.com I’ve been using Canidae for a decade, for both my cats and dogs. Never had an issue.

    FYI – Canidae is NOT made by Diamond. Some of the food is co-packed out of the state of the art Diamond facility in California. The rest is manufactured out of their Texas plant. Once the Texas plant is ready to take on the larger manufacturing of the food, the Diamond facility will NOT be co-packing for them any longer.

    Also – Proctor and Gamble does NOT own Canidae.

    Just thought I would clear up some misconceptions of this dog food.

  • Betsy Greer

    Are you talking about the Canidae Pure foods?

    Canidae is made by Diamond, so it’s anyone’s guess.

  • TAM

    I’ve been buying Canidae grain free dog food for the last month and notice the salmon food smells really bad; the duck brand also began to smell very and now my dog won’t eat it. I was feeling her Natural Balance before (potato & duck) and someone told me the quality had gone down. Never had dry dog food smell this bad.

  • Shar24

    that is discouraging

  • theBCnut

    When they first opened Ethos, they put out a statement that led me to believe that all of the Pure line was going to be made at Ethos, so I definitely felt that they were being purposefully deceptive.

  • theBCnut

    Only a small portion. Ethos is mainly a research facility. And they won’t disclose how to tell which manufacturer made which food. They just state “Canidae is Canidae” even as you are showing them that you got two obviously different foods that are supposedly identical.

  • Betsy Greer

    The whole concoction of Ethos smacks of deception to me. I feel like its purpose was to serve as a distraction so we’d think that’s where Canidae was making all of their foods.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    That is correct. Only some foods are made at Ethos, others still made by Diamond. You can try and ask Canidae which plant a particular bag was made at, but I think some folks have received the run-around asking that question.

  • Shar24

    So they don’t use their own manufacturing facility for all of their food, only some?

  • theBCnut

    There were 38 negative reviews about Canidae Life Stages, on the link you provided, since January 1st.

  • theBCnut

    I don’t think they are owned by P & G, but if you live in FL, you would be getting food made by the Diamond plant that all the recalls and quality control problems are coming from, which is far worse than P & G making this food.
    I have heard, I don’t know yet if it’s going to turn out to be true, that P & G might be selling off their pet food interests. Unfortunately, the likely buyers are probably worse.

  • Florida Potter

    pets are dying from eating this food….don’t jeopardize your pet’s health to save poisoned food!!! Check this website for about 300 NEGATIVE reviews all posted in the past 60 days!!! consumeraffairs.com/pets/canidae.html
    This is a very serious issue….with their cat food as well. the company was just purchased by proctor & gamble… they have not been responsive to serious complaints!!!

  • Susie Baranski

    Glenn, I’m 60 years old and I have never followed mainstream ideas, but I know that mainstream people get very nervous when they see that there are others who choose to think for themselves – that applies to every area of life. So perhaps as you get older you may get a clue yourself.

  • Glenn Adams

    you really need to get a clue!

  • Tracey South

    Since I have a Schnoodle I would love to know if you mean all poodle hybrids, or just the Labradoodle or Goldendoodle. Since my dog is not referred to with the “d” before the “oodle” . I am not joking though. I bought this food recently decided to look it up here now am worried so I did not open it and will try to return it. My dog is now on Comfortis by the way and I would love to also know which flea meds doodles may have problems with.

  • Gilberto Elvir

    i’ve been using Canidae now for about 7 years my siberian loves it i been giving Her the Grain Free Pure Sea and Pure Sky. Early in life i gave her the chicken & rice and all flavor and the lamb & rice but once they came with a salmon thats all she wants she’s been eating that for about 4 years now and i haven’t had a problem with at all. My vet give me complaint ever year i see her and say her coats is great and she has some good weight on her.

  • Paul Naski

    Thanks for providing quick input! Both dogs were tested for lepto and it came back negative. They had vaccinations months back for it too. They did change to Vectra from Frontline in October so with that being so far back it probably isnt likely? How long were those dogs on it for?

  • HealthyDogs

    Had they recently started or changed flea/tick meds? While anecdotal, it seems “doodles” are more sensitive to flea/tick meds, systemically. I’ve had two of my customers doodles have complete system failure while on one med. These dogs were not related. Other thought is Leptospirosis, which is hard to get a firm diagnosis. Lepto generally attacks either liver or kidney. Recently had a friend’s dog contract Lepto, was a bugger to diagnose, easy to treat. I am very sorry to hear about your dogs. Warmest sympathies.

  • Paul Naski

    Hi, I am looking online for any posts related to Canidae as our (2) young Labradoodles went through liver failure. (10 month old passed this Monday and the 2.5 year old is in the hospital still with severe liver issues) Although we do not know 100% if it was the dog food, there are a lot of signs it was. The dog that is still alive started experiencing issues earlier than the dog who passed away. Symptoms of minor spitups started first, and a slight disinterest in food such as grabbing a small moutful of food and walking away from the dish (this is something she never did before!!!). Both dogs were having softer stools for many weeks but we contributed that mostly to them having been dewormed in the same time period and never thought of the food as the issue as we have been feeding Canidae for more than a year now. The symptoms for the other dog were rather abrupt, vicious throwing up/not holding down any food or water.

    Our thoughts are the 10 month old who passed may have eaten a larger portion of contaminated food at one sitting which caused later symptoms yet more abrupt and eventually lead to his untimely death.

    The 2.5 year old may have had very small portions earlier which is why she had earlier symptoms but didn’t get dealt a deadly blow in a large one shot. Bear in mind she eats 3 cups per day versus his 4 cups per day so his odds of hitting a bad cup were even higher than hers!

    If anyone has seen or heard of anything close to this please let me know!

  • MJfromGA

    I tried this as well. Decent price on Amazon. About $50 for a 44 lb bag. Didn’t go so well. Usually Nigredo doesn’t seem bothered by fish meal in dog foods, and I buy them because the fish is good for him so long as he cannot taste it. But he was able to taste/smell the fish in this food and rejected it 100%

    I have no money to throw away so gave it to our other dog (I do not buy her food normally, another family member does) who is on a special diet (11 years old, has serious weight management problems)… but had to take a break because I cannot throw away a huge bag of food.

  • junkytrunk

    I am sorry .. I don’t understand … where did I say that chemicals in food are good? where did I say that? You mentioned in your original post about vaccines.. I shared my opinion. you have your opinion about vaccines (and apparently a lot of other things) and I have mine. It just floors me that people are willing to risk their pets health with mass hysteria. The same mentality was responsible for a local person here that decided her horse didn’t need the EEE vaccine.. ($20 vaccine) …well.. her beautiful warmblood wasn’t protected by the ‘natural mosquito repellant oils’ and died. I don’t like HAVING to get my equine vaccinated but if it keeps his brain from swelling causing death (all from a bug bite) then I think the benefit outweighs the risk. said my 2cents.. i’m done.

  • Susie Baranski

    Sorry junkytrunk, I just can’t cope with people who cannot think for themselves and use common sense. I just wish that everyone here would realize that both people and dogs thrive on natural foods, leave out chemicals and all adulterated products like dry food, it’s rubbish. (As is canned).

  • junkytrunk

    you son and dogs are not ill because the majority of the population IS vacinated (both human and canine). However, more are thinking just like you and refusing to get children (and dogs) vaccinated because of the mass hysteria associating vaccines with autism (which was emphatically dismissed as bad scientific technique). but I suppose the measles and pertussis outbreaks are just collective imaginings? http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/01/25/265750719/how-vaccine-fears-fueled-the-resurgence-of-preventable-diseases

  • Jessica Wollberg

    I have fed Canidae for nearly a decade and have never had any issues with the product, in the past or as of current.

  • aimee

    I don’t know that the role of heavy metals is well elucidated. No mention of them as risk factors in Mayo’s Disease and Conditions section.

    I did get some info. I contacted the Rabies challenge fund and was told that article the list is from was written by Dr Dee Blanco.

    She got the list from Dr Pitcairn nearly 30 years ago, as she remembers it. So I went to Dr Pitcairn’s site and found that Dr. Pitcairn generated this list based on what he thinks would be seen in “chronic rabies”?? It all seems rather odd and backwards to me.

    From what I can tell he embraces a classic homeopathy idea that “The effect of vaccination…. is to establish a chronic disease.” I’m not sure how a killed vaccine results in chronic rabies but apparently he is saying a dog vaccinated for rabies can exhibit the same signs of rabies but in a muted presentation.

    So it appears that these “documented reactions” are not referenced or documented at all; no controls, no data of any type, nada, nothing.

  • Shawna

    That’s pretty interesting considering mercury and aluminum have both been linked to alzheimers..

  • aimee

    It’s true I want to see the data.

  • Shawna

    Dr. Schultz as well as his University are associated with the Rabies Challenge Fund site and the list is on the site so….

    Behind the Challenge
    Rabies Challenge Fund Researcher Dr. Ron Schultz bio

    I simply doubt that Dr. Schultz would allow himself and his employer to be associated with a list like this if he did not agree with and support the data of list/article. My guess is that he is somewhat restrained as to what he can actually state himself though. Since he gives advice to vaccine manufacturers and all.

    There may or may not be studies on the rabies vaccine but is there studies on the adjuvants in the vacc?

    “Predictable post vaccination time frame” — Dr. Blaylock states that just one vacc can cause encephalitis for up to two years. He also states.

    “Normally, the brain’s immune system, like the body’s, activates quickly and then promptly shuts off to minimize the bystander damage. Vaccination won’t let the microglia shut down. In the developing brain, this can lead to language problems, behavioral dysfunction and even dementia.

    A recent study by the world-renowned immunologist Dr. H. Hugh Fudenberg found
    that adults vaccinated yearly for five years in a row with the flu vaccine had a
    10-fold increased risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease. He attributes this to
    the mercury and aluminum in the vaccine. Interestingly, both of these metals
    have been shown to activate microglia and increase excitotoxicity in the brain.”

    Alzheimer’s happens YEARS after those vaccs.

    Yes, I know that mercury isn’t and aluminum isn’t much used in pet vaccs but I don’t know what actually is however it still needs to preserve and others to cause an immune reaction.

    Dr. Blaylocks list includes

    “One can see:
    Confusion
    Language difficulties
    Disorientation
    Seizures
    Memory problems
    Somnolence
    Low-grade fevers
    Irritability
    Mood alterations
    Combativeness
    Difficulty concentrating
    A host of other behavioral problems” http://www.whale.to/a/blaylock34.html

    I understand your need to see the science but I’ve never been that way. I like it when I can find it but I also understand that there is much I simply don’t have access to. I trust that the experts have access to those papers I don’t and that they know how to comprehend and report the findings. Not to mention their own anecdotal findings.

  • aimee

    I don’t disagree that post vaccination neuro events can happen. I think they can be seen and would likely occur in a predictable post vaccination time frame.

    What I disagree with is that vague behavior changes, in absence of other clinical signs, can be attributed to a rabies vaccine esp when a given time frame for their appearance is non- existent

    Also I’m not sure that Dr Schultz would agree with those postulated behavior changes being attributed to Rvacc. The list seems more like a Dr. Dodd’s thing, though neither have their name attached to it.

    I do agree it is pointless to look for research papers to support the first items on this list… they don’t exist.

  • Shawna

    Hi aimee,

    It was my vet who suggested the relation as do many holistic vets. But I think many will acknowledge that it is probably not one thing that leads to these extreme disease states. The vacc therefore wasn’t technically the cause but it was the trigger, a part of the cause.

    Although this is the human vaccine it does demonstrate that the vacc can induce neurological disease. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/2436091

    Interestingly, while looking I found an article (that I didn’t bookmark — duh) that described Gizmo’s reaction to the tee except her issue was short lived while the described was for a much longer duration. She was completely paralyzed and unresponsive. A little more searching and the name for the reaction may be neuroparalysis versus a seizure? May

    Dr. Russell Blaylock has some intriguing data on how vaccines can cause damage to the brain.

    Between Dr. Blaylock and Dr. Schultz, this is one topic I don’t need to see the research papers on. At least not enough to spend hours looking for them. If someone else finds one I’d be more than happy to read it..

  • aimee

    Poor Peanut. : (

    Many years ago I wrote a thesis paper on using dogs as an OCD model in people. As I recall extreme sudden onset can be a feature in both species.

    In the canine behavior literature I’ve never seen it reported that there is a link between RV and aggression fear/ CD etc. Most dogs are RV.How do you account for correlation?

    Most people are not RV yet a subset population is. If RV triggered fear aggression and OCD I’d think we might see a higher incidence in people vaccinated for rabies. Yet this is not reported that I’m aware of.

    Without references I remain skeptical.

  • Shawna

    Peanut went from a normal puppy to EXTREME fear. She was fearful of everything and is still pretty bad. I think some pet parents (none here on DFA of course :) would have put her down of taken her to the shelter where she would have been put down.

    She REFUSES to eat out of a bowl. I’ve played hard ball a few different times over the years and she’s gone hungry for days. She won’t eat out of a metal bowl, a plastic bowl, a ceramic bowl, a wide mouth bowl, a small bowl a dinner plate, salad plate, dessert plate etc. She will eat off a plastic mat but gets spooked so easily, the mat can actually spook her, that she was getting the food on the floor. So, we just started feeding her off the floor. Not only off the floor but she won’t eat if not locked in a room by herself and close to a “get away” such as under the bed or under a nearby chair. I now put her food at the edge of the wing chair in my bedroom and she eats while still under the chair on her belly. Seems awkward to me but…. She WILL drink out of a bowl.

    She jumps over painted lines and thresholds. She will jump over the garden hose if it is laying east/west but will walk over it if laying north/south. She jumps over the sidewalk sections and gaps between the sidewalk and driveways. She circles multiple times before going up or down stairs, before pooping and peeing, before eating and drinking.

    Just recently she started becoming less fearful. They only thing I can contribute it to is the fermented fat product I recently started giving the dogs. Now instead of spending her entire day and night under my wing chair she comes out at dawn and will let the babies pet her. She also will now roll over when I approach her and ask me to scratch her belly. AND she’s started sleeping on the pet bed by her chair instead of under the chair. Oh, and she’s coming out of hiding during the day to get drinks of water.. Everyone has noticed these changes in her!!! The “fermented fat” product I’ve been giving her has higher amounts of a specific vitamin that Dr. Weston Price referred to as “activator X” now referred to as vitamin K2.. :)

    She was even worse before my holistic vet recommended a homeopthic for her. Noticeable improvements but we still wasn’t anywhere near the dog we had at six months of age. I had also given some bach flower essences which helped minorly. The behavior vets recommendations including specific instructions on exercise etc didn’t help at all with the OCD symptoms but she was happy getting her way on walks. Walks took an hour or more of time I already didn’t have :). She likes to meander and smell the roses on walks. EVERY rose… :) Herbal products or other recommendations didn’t help either.

    One of the biggest improvements we saw after the homeopathic is that she would go out in the far part of the back yard (we have a HUGE, football field size, yard) and she would run like she was being chased — but in a happy way.. Then when it was time to come in she would toy with us in the cutest of ways.. She’d head towards the gate but she’d make MANY detours and expect us to herd her back. You could tell the disappointment if you didn’t play the game her way so we started heading in a little sooner so we’d still have the time to play the game.. :)

    There’s more but you get the gist. :)

  • Susie Baranski

    With a name like junkytrunk are you seriously giving me advice? No my dog will not get any diseases because we stay away from vets. Just like I stay away from mainstream medicine. No chemicals for me and none for my doggie. Only good things going in to our systems. Oh and it’s the one’s who vaccinate who are fearful. No it’s not the one’s who are vaccinated that keep mine healthy, that’s the same rubbish they tell mothers about their children. I never had my son vaccinated either and he’s doing fine age 27.

  • Shawna

    That may be but Peanut’s case is EXTREME.. I’ll explain more tomorrow time permitting.

  • aimee

    I can understand some of these reactions but for others, without a control group how would you know?

    Genetics plays a role here. I can’t remember who did the work with the nervous pointers. They interact normally as young pups but when enter adolescence fearful behavior emerges on a predictable timetable.

    Adolescence/young adult is a time that behavior problems emerge in both people and pets. RV is given right before adolescence.

    We can’t know if Peanut would have developed OCD even if she was never vaccinated.

  • Shawna

    HI aimee,

    No, honestly I haven’t. I’m quite certain that Dr. Dodds and Dr. Schultz have access to publications I don’t have access to and will never see.

    I too would be interested in anything on behavior (or any of the others for that matter) if anyone finds anything. I’ll see if I can find anything as well but it will have to wait till a different day. I’m going to drop off here soon.. :)

    Anecdotally, my Pom Gizmo twice has had a mild seizure four days after getting her rabies shot. I was on the phone with her vet the second time it happened and explained what I was witnessing. Vet said it was a seizure ant it “might” have been caused by the vacc.

    My other Pom Peanut was a normal healthy puppy and within months after her 6 month rabies shot she developed severe obsessive compulsive like symptoms that have continued to this day 11.5 years later. She’s better now than ever before but still not like she was pre 6 month mark. We’ve had her to a veterinary behaviorist, holistic vet, veterinary recommended supplement, herbs, exercise etc. :(

  • aimee

    I’ve seen this list before but never any references in peer reviewed publication which document many of these wide and varied signs and the frequency that they occur. I’m primarily interested in the documentation of behavior changes. Have you seen any references? If so can you point me to them.

  • Shawna

    Unfortunately those same vaccines can be the cause of some pretty serious diseases. Pathobiologist Dr. Ronald Schultz, Vet Dr. Jean Dodds and others discuss this topic often. Below are some documented disease/symptoms caused by the rabies vaccine.

    “Reactions that have been documented include:

    Behavior changes such as aggression and separation anxiety

    Obsessive behavior,self-mutilation, tail chewing

    Pica – eating wood, stones, earth, stool

    Destructive behavior, shredding bedding

    Seizures, epilepsy

    Fibrosarcomas at injection site

    Autoimmune diseases such as those affecting bone marrow and blood
    cells, joints, eyes, skin, kidney, liver, bowel and central nervous
    system

    Muscular weakness and or atrophy

    Chronic digestive problems”

    http://www.rabieschallengefund.org/education/why-challenge-current-rabies-vaccine-policy

    For the record, I do give my own their puppy shots and then titer to confirm immunity. Then I don’t vaccinate for anything again except rabies as dictated by the law.

  • junkytrunk

    I hope your dog doesn’t get any diseases that are easily preventable by vet – administered vaccines. Although – I like to think that most responsible dog owners get their pets vaccinated against diseases which decreases the likelihood of less responsible (or uneducated pet owners who won’t get their pets vaccinated due to fear or out of ignorance or both. Thank those of us who vaccinate our pets – they are the reason yours isn’t sick (yet).

  • Anna Martinez Sorokina

    Thank you for your answer, I really appreciate! :)
    The thing is that I wanted to know if anybody else had trouble. Or if new people is feeding Canidae and everything is OK.

  • theBCnut

    A couple months ago, someone posted side by side photos of 2 different samples from bags of the exact same Canidae food. They were obviously very different and Canidae was no help at all about getting to the bottom of the problem.
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/canidae-dog-food-grain-free-dry/#comment-1219453544

  • Anna Martinez Sorokina

    Hello all!!

    The breeder of my puppy recommended me Canidae chicken&rice as she fed her dogs with it forever and was very happy with the results.
    But then, about a month ago, she wrote to me and said that all her dogs got ill. First she thought they had a flu or something like that. But then, one day, she ran out of Canidae and bought another brand, and her dogs, as for magic, got well.

    And it wasn’t only her dogs, but her breeders friends too.

    So, my question – all of you who feed Canidae, have you noticed any changes in your dogs?

    Thank you for your answers!

  • Crazy4cats

    For sure, good luck!

  • Kristen Michelle Kuehl

    I just spent 45 minutes in the pet store reading ingredients and the
    Canidae Limited ingredient Lamb and rice was literally the ONLY one that
    had absolutely no chicken anything and no fish anything, listed. I have
    an English Bulldog who (true to its breed) has, from what I can tell,
    an intolerance to any chicken (and I assume poultry) product. His puppy
    food was Nutro Ultra Lamb and rice and he was fine with that. Once he
    turned 1 and he went to the adult blend (of the exact same food) he had
    HORRIBLE gas. We had not had this issue with him since we first got him
    and tried Royal canin science diet then landed on the Nutro Ultra. Very
    confused as to how the puppy blend can be okay but not the adult, I was
    on the search again. We tried slowing him down during feedings, we
    “took the blue challenge” (hahaha) and used the “no poultry” blend with
    Blue Buffalo (it has fish in it) and that was a HUGE mistake. the same
    night he had so much gas that I feared he would explode all over the
    house. this went on for 3 days before I returned the food and that
    brings us to today…. I found one other food that has no poultry of
    fish at all but Canidae was more cost efficient. If he settles in well
    with this then I feel comfortable after reading the information above,
    that it will be a healthy choice. Not as healthy as I could use but as
    close to it, that his little body can tolerate. I will keep you posted!
    Wish me luck with our little Bastogne!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve found many foods made by Diamond smell that way to me.

  • SLB

    Hi I agree with you I have gotten Canidae chicken and Merrick senior farm. Both of them smell like the farm… Like old horse manure it (and I was raised around horses). I alwys have gotten fairly good foods like Science diet or pro plan,each time they would change the formula after a while. I could tell by the color,texture and the dogs not liking it. i am surprised that a 4 and 5 star food smells yucky. i feel if it smells that bad it cant taste that good, my dog eat it cause i put parm cheese on it to help. i will be again looking for a a better smelling and tasting food. The merrick turns to mush when soaked in water(to prevent GVD)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I wonder it the problem is a food intolerance after all.

  • GSDMom<3

    I have 2 german shepherds (1 is 1.5 and the other is 9 mo) and a 7 year old Chihuahua.I was feeding them ALL different foods- so finding an all life stages food that works for all of my dogs works great. My older GSD has a VERY sensitive tummy and allergies. I’ve tried every food imaginable (Orijen, Acana, Taste of the Wild, Blue….The list goes on) with no luck. I even began preparing my own dog food for her as suggested by my vet.
    I bought Canidae Chicken Meal for my other two dogs, who loved it. I was surprised when my girl took an interest in the other dog’s dry food it. She scarfed down the whole bowl (which was rare for her-esp with dry dog food)
    After being on this food for a month and a half, her rash is gone, her coat looks wonderful, and she’s beginning to gain weight.
    Although I wasn’t super excited about the ratings and some of the ingredients, it was a huge blessing to find something that has worked for her……and for my other two dogs as well.

  • Stephanie

    I’ve had my dachshund on Canidae ALS for 11 years…recently he got sick — vomiting and diarrhea — and when I noticed the kibble didn’t look the same, I checked Consumer Affairs and found complaints of other dogs getting sick. This is not the dog food it used to be: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/canidae.html

  • Pingback: Taste of the wild, for a standard puppy? - Poodle Forum - Standard Poodle, Toy Poodle, Miniature Poodle Forum ALL Poodle owners too!

  • Jaykob Owens

    So frustrating finding a good reliable food. My dog is my kid and I do not understand why the fda is not regulating this industry. These foods enter our homes when our dogs eat these kinds of unsanitary foods and get sick or carry illnesses. I really wish there was something that can be done.
    I doesnt matter if its wally world brand kibble or natures variety raw food diets there are no real regulations that are stopping these false labels and with how many fellow Americans that own pets this is just outrageous, I feel that if we actually knew the real atrocities causing these illnesses (what does china qualify meat as chiken by product, the facts would probably point to violating our human rights .

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Robin,

    I would switch, but then I wouldn’t feed any one thing alone for years.

    The slightest ingredient change will throw your poor pup into a tail spin. His gut is only accustomed to processing this one thing and the first time you switch to something different, be prepared for some loose stools and that what you’re switching to might not be a success.

    Find three or four foods your dog does well on, buy smallish bags and rotate between them. I would make sure they were all different proteins and even different brands as well. Add nice fresh toppers, like sardines or fresh cage free eggs, some fresh leans meats or cooked pureed veggies left over from your dinner. Or, you can try topping your kibble with canned foods. I’d also give him some pumpkin puree if he has some loose stools and to aid in the transition. You might also find that he’ll need some digestive enzymes and probiotics since his gut flora isn’t very prolific from eating the same food for a prolonged period of time.

    One food that I find very easy to switch to is NutriSource. Since your dog has been eating grains, I’d choose the Adult Chicken & Rice. But, I’d make the next rotation to a food that doesn’t contain the proteins that he’s been eating. Prolonged exposure can set your pup up for a food intolerance / allergy.

    Good luck!

  • Robin Davis

    Again these posts make me rethink Canidae and try to find another food for my 12 year old Heeler.

  • Robin Davis

    I have been feeding Canidae platimum for years. My dog is ok but now this thread worries me. I moved to a different state and wondering if I should change foods up. I’m almost to the end of my back. Any thoughts?