Blue Buffalo Wilderness (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Blue Wilderness product line includes nine dry dog foods, seven claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance and two recipes for growth (puppies).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Blue Wilderness Senior
  • Blue Wilderness Duck Adult
  • Blue Wilderness Salmon Adult
  • Blue Wilderness Chicken Adult
  • Blue Wilderness Chicken Puppy
  • Blue Wilderness Healthy Weight Chicken
  • Blue Wilderness Small Breed Chicken Adult
  • Blue Wilderness Large Breed Chicken Adult
  • Blue Wilderness Chicken Large Breed Puppy

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Large Breed Chicken Adult was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Blue Wilderness Large Breed Chicken

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 40% | Fat = 14% | Carbs = 38%

Ingredients: Deboned chicken, chicken meal, turkey meal, peas, tapioca starch, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), tomato pomace (source of lycopene), natural chicken flavor, dried egg, potatoes, flaxseed (source of omega 3 and 6 fatty acids), alfalfa meal, potato starch, whole carrots, whole sweet potatoes, blueberries, cranberries, barley grass, dried parsley, dried kelp, taurine, Yucca schidigera extract, l-carnitine, l-lysine, glucosamine hydrochloride, chondroitin sulfate, turmeric, oil of rosemary, beta carotene, vitamin A supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), niacin (vitamin B3), d-calcium pantothenate (vitamin B5), pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid (vitamin B9), vitamin B12 supplement, calcium ascorbate (source of vitamin C), vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, iron amino acid chelate, zinc amino acid chelate, manganese amino acid chelate, copper amino acid chelate, choline chloride, sodium selenite, calcium iodate, salt, caramel, potassium chloride, dried yeast (source of Saccharomyces cerevisiae), dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 7.8%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis36%13%NA
Dry Matter Basis40%14%38%
Calorie Weighted Basis36%31%33%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient includes turkey meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The fourth ingredient is peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fifth ingredient is tapioca starch, a gluten-free, starchy carbohydrate extract made from the root of the cassava plant.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

After the natural chicken flavor, we find dried egg, a dehydrated powder made from shell-free eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The tenth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The next ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, alfalfa meal is high in plant protein (about 18%) and fiber (25%), this hay-family item is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

Next, caramel is a coloring agent made by caramelizing carbohydrates. It’s used by pet food manufacturers to impart a golden brown tint to the finished product.

Even though caramel is considered safe by the FDA, we’re always disappointed to find any added coloring in a pet food.

That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his food is?

In addition, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Blue Wilderness Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Blue Wilderness Dog Food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 40%, a fat level of 14% and estimated carbohydrates of about 38%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 38% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 39% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 40%.

High protein. Near-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effects of the peas, flaxseed and alfalfa meal, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Blue Wilderness Dog Food is a grain-free kibble using a significant amount of poultry, salmon and poultry meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

11/28/2009 Original review publication date
03/21/2010 Review updated (new recipe)
08/19/2010 Review updated (flax meal)
10/12/2010 Recall Alert Added
10/21/2010 Review updated
04/25/2011 Recall alert removed
05/08/2011 Review updated (added 4 new recipes)
02/11/2012 Review updated (added Senior Chicken)
06/03/2013 Review updated
06/03/2013 Last Update

  • theBCnut

    YAY!! That’s excellent news!

  • http://www.FindYourSocialMeidaZen.com/ Yvonne Heimann

    Update on good news.
    Since switching from Iams to Blue Buffalo, Bailey’s seizures have calmed down IMMENSELY.
    From 3 in 8 days to 2 in 2 months and going strong ;)

  • Lana

    I’ve tried several different brands over the years with my dogs and I have found the original Blue Buffalo to be the best. I’ve had my 3 dogs one at a time over 10 years and each one did great on this food. Their stools were just right and they almost stop shedding completely while eating it ! I tried other 5 star foods and within 2 weeks of slowly transitioning over to them they would start shedding and have lackluster stools. I’m sticking with what works for my babies. Each one was a mutt Lab/Bassett, Akita/Shepard and I never did know what the 3rd one was.

  • theBCnut

    Oh, I even agree with you as far as my personal opinion about BB foods, however, I understand how Dr Mike rates foods, and by his system this is legitimately a 5 star food. As I said to someone else earlier tonight, there are several 5 star foods that I would not feed my dogs.

  • Kyburz Willowynd

    I guess I even have the freedom to voice my own opinion on Dr. Mike’s site – get over yourself!

  • theBCnut

    I guess if you want to decide what 5 star means, then you will have to start your own website. Here Dr Mike decides what 5 star means. I think his Editor’s Choice list is more along the lines of what you are looking for, maybe.

  • Kyburz Willowynd

    nope – 5 star foods should be top of the line in my book – a food that includes food dyes that are cancer causing is not top of the line. 5 star should be foods that we think are the absolute best and should be modeled. With this food it’s an absolute shame – because otherwise it looks very good. But of course I know human food contains all this crap too so …. the state of our food industry is just crazy overall. But since dogs are eating kibble and eating a lot of the same food I just don’t feel this stuff is needed – especially the cosmetic stuff.

  • theBCnut

    When you remember just how bad the truly bad foods are, you will realize that while this food isn’t perfect, it is still in the top 20% of dog foods. That makes it a 5 star food. Even among the 5 stars there are several that I wouldn’t feed.

  • Kyburz Willowynd

    also – you might want to note this stuff dog food advisor … this shouldn’t be 5 star by any means – we need to pressure these guys to change their recipes and get this unnecessary crap out of what would otherwise be a good dog food

  • Kyburz Willowynd

    Ugh … looking at this food – why in the world would you need to use dyes like caramel in dog food??? What is wrong with our food industry? Like dogs care about food color – so frustrating to find decent dog food – even those that propose to be healthy grain free!

  • Dr J

    Well my dear you may want to use the Google machine and read about Celiacs and dogs. While it is not strictly Celiacs like in human it is still very close to Celiacs (some even call it Celiacs) and is caused by guess what?????? Our dear friend gluten.

  • Shawna

    Of course they can. They can be gluten intolerant and they can also get celiac.

    “Gluten-sensitive enteropathy in a family of Irish setters.” http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1576718/

  • http://arlingtonanimalclinic.net/veterinary-blog/ Susannah

    Celiacs is a human disease, not a canine one. Humans can get Celiac, obviously, my point is that dogs CANNOT.

  • Debbie

    I’m a veterinary technician, we see alot of urinary stones and pancreatitis in dogs that are fed blue buffalo.
    They change up their ingredients alot, unlike established brands such as Hills that uses fixed formulation, the ingredients in Hills are standard and are strictly quality controlled!

    I don’t mean to hate on any specific food, but it is important to do thorough research before deciding on a brand.

    I personally feed my dog Merrick…

  • dchassett

    They may have gotten that info from consumeraffairs.com Don’t know how reliable that site is. Full disclosure, I don’t feed Blue Buffalo nor have I ever. I just remember someone mentioning a while back about something in consumeraffairs.com

  • Lisa

    Where can you find these complaints? I just bought a bag because I only saw good reviews on it. :(

  • Dedge

    Grain moths can come from any kind of product that has grain such as flours or seeds. My exposure came in from birdseed and as stated above they are very difficult to eradicate as they can spread throughout your pantry area, infesting all your grain products. There are nontoxic grain moth traps, containing a sticky residue that has an attractant, available at Lowe’s or Home Depot. I would definitely return any bag of food that you found contained them as this happens and can happen through any stage of the process.

  • rainbowwildliferescue

    I know right! Probiotics, great idea, thanks! I take them myself and didn’t click, duh :).

  • Betsy Greer

    Wow, that was unexpected. Both the $400 cat neuter and the Iams and Eukanuba.

    Have you ever tried adding digestive enzymes and probiotics to Dave’s food? That might help. But, depending on how long he’s been eating the 4Health, I’d probably switch also.

  • rainbowwildliferescue

    I have to say that I do not trust this vet. He’s horribly overpriced ($400 for cat neuter for example, $21 for low cost rabies vaccine, ridiculous!) and what he recommends is Iams and Eukanuba.
    I personally feed the Tractor Supply brand 4Health and my dogs have been doing pretty good on it, except my senior Dane now is starting to have terrible gas, so I think I have to switch lol.

  • Betsy Greer

    I’m curious. What brands of commercial foods does your vet recommends? Is he a holistic vet or does he practice Western veterinary medicine?

  • rainbowwildliferescue

    My Vet advises strictly against this brand because it contains cancer causing dyes, protein, formaldehyde and nitrates. He also advises against Taste of the Wild, so I thought he’s totally off his rocker, but maybe he’s got a point if there are that many complaints.

  • pashawn

    My dogs did horrible on this food. I’m angry at myself for not switching off of this food sooner than I did. I moved them to Taste of the Wild and now they are putting on some needed weight and not throwing up and going on short spurts of not eating their food anymore. This food was total garbage as far as I am concerned. For any of you using this or planning on using it please monitor your pets closely.

  • Vanessa

    Anyone considering this brand, I suggest you do some research into it. There are 549 complaints as of right now about it, all linked to gall stones, kidney infections, and renal failure. I’m taking my dogs off of it immediately.

  • theBCnut

    Moths can come from dog food being left exposed before bagging or from where the food has been stored. I have no idea what happens in a BB factory(they are copacked at multiple facilities), but Diamond has been cited in the past for leaving kibble in open bins. And I’ve received kibble with red mites in it before that should have died during manufacture, so I can only assume they got in the food sometime after that but before I bought it.

  • sar

    Moths dont come from dog food, they come from outside. All it takes is one getting in to lay eggs in food that isnt stored correctly.

  • sar

    It has nothing to do with the dog food. Keep it in a sealed container as well as your other food in sealed containers and you wont hv the problem. Moths come from outside and all it takes is one from outside to lay eggs in unsealed food.

  • sar

    My dog loves this. He eats the blue wilderness – red meat for seniors. He is doing wonderfully better than before. Its quite pricey. I buy the $57 dollar bag but worth it.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Kathie,

    Dog food shouldn’t have moths, so once your house is treated, it should be perfectly safe to store your fresh dog food in the house, in the original bag (rolled down with the excess air removed) and in a sealed container.

    Garage temperatures (fluctuations, extremes, humidity levels) are less than ideal (even in a sealed container) for storage of food for your canine companions.

  • Kathie

    We had this a few years ago with a different food. We took the food back to Petsmart, and our exterminator treated the pantry. Since then, we have been keeping our dog food in the garage in a sealed container. The moths and their larve were difficult to get rid of. Good luck!

  • Denice Romero

    You may want to do a Google search for Pantry Moths and get rid of them asap. They will get into everything in your pantry and are so hard to get rid of it you aren’t proactive. We had them a couple of years ago and were so hard to get rid of. I had to throw away almost everything in my pantry. I wondered how we got them in the first place…..never considered the dog food. Good luck!

  • dchassett

    You really need to report this to the store, manufacturer and stop feeding BB. There are many, many posts on all the BB sites with complaints on varying issues. Please do your dogs a favor and switch their food.

  • Kevin Smith

    I’ve bought 3 separate bags of Blue Wilderness and each time a moth like creature and what looks like mealworms appear in pantry where bag is kept. Anyone else had this happen?

  • innov8v

    thanks…i’ll take a look…i’m sure he’ll get bored…he’s definitely a picky eater…

  • Beth Knuth

    me, too, but have you tried Nature’s Variety Instinct cat food, the chicken meal, it is the cheapest of them all too. It is very well liked by my seven cats and is well rated for the low carbs, I am not very good at all the nutrition stuff. But this one is high in the meat content. Just my thoughts to help others since I know how hard it is to get the best for kitties and get what they will eat, little picky stinkers!

  • innov8v

    i follow this site for cat food as well…it’s the only food after 10 different tries with different brands that my cat will eat…

  • Dennis

    Did you follow the recommendations that you gradually switch to Blue by mixing starting at 25 % Blue with your current food and then gradually increasing it over a two week period until you are at 100% Blue? Most problem like you mentioned are from the sudden change in diet, and can also be from owners not following the feeding amount recommendations either. Many owners who are switching from lower quality foods are used to feeding more food daily than with Blue and this leads to the problems you listed also. Most who follow the instructions do not have any issues.

  • trixiesmama

    At my local pet store, they want nearly $20 for a 5lb bag :/

  • Mictian

    When switching dog foods, you always have to introduce the new food in increments regardless of brand/type/etc. You continue giving your current dog food with some of the new food and slowly increase the amount of new food as you progress. Dogs digestion is much different from ours and do not take kindly to drastic diet changes.

    Switching to any foods abruptly other than what they are currently eating can lead to upset stomach, diarrhea, etc., in some cases.

  • Kim Hyun Yoo

    how much is Blue Buffalo?

  • LiLi Artiste

    I feed my 2 Silky Terriers Blue Buffalo Wilderness brand dry and canned, and have had no issues with diarrhea. It actually stopped a diarrhea problem we were having with another brand of food. My dogs are happy, healthy, their coat has improved and they love their Blue Buffalo foods.

  • Rhonda Melton

    I have been on a kick now trying to find out exactly how much meat some of the better food companies use and I love Orijen & Acana because they tell us how much protein actually comes from the meat, but Blue could not or would not tell me how much meat they actually use. Do they really not know? Even TOTW gave me the breakdowns of the amount of protein that comes from their meat. I think Blue spends most of their money on advertising and they do not put those dollars in the bag. Also look how many formulas they have. They get businesses to stock all these, thus giving a lot of revenue to the company. Many are very very similar with just a different name on the bag. They have a compare your pet food page but why are their no really good foods to compare with. Makes one wonder….

  • dchassett

    It’s tough work taking two puppies at a time but it’s so rewarding in the end. Lots of us have done it. Admittedly we have found ourselves wondering if we were nuts while going through it but it does pass. Good luck.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Cayce-
    Do you have other people that will actually help you with the dogs? I’m not going to be popular, but as much as I want as many of those dogs to go to good homes, getting two pups at the same time is A LOT of work! I totally agree with having multiple dogs, but two puppies at the same time are really hard to train unless you have a lot of time and a couple of good helpers. It’s important to try and train separately as they will constantly distract each other and be naughty. I have two lab brothers and I do like the fact that they have each other and that they are VERY bonded. They are just like humans, they love each other, but then again are extremely jealous and competitive with each other also. There are definitely pros and cons. You sound pretty level headed. I’m sure you will figure it out. Good luck!

  • Cayce H. Cronk

    They are precious! Hoping to go pick up my pup this week! Getting everything in order. I may come home with two….we shall see. Not sure I can handle two puppies at a time though.

  • shih tzu momma

    Petsmart will take it back as long as it is 50% of the bag, a receipt will get a refund, no receipt a store credit.

  • shih tzu momma

    Also if you give them a high protein food and do not slowly add to the current food you will have diarrhea. Each dog is different just as people are different. I have 3 shih tzu’s that have been on Blue Basics since they were brought into our home(we weaned them off of Eukanuba) So far we have no food related issues. It does not mean a food is bad it just may be bad for your dog. The below mentioned recall for the vitamin D is from years ago. I have 2 children who work at 2 petstores and 1 keeps saying people are complaining, the other child has had no complaints. There are also many other holistic limited grain or grain free food, maybe Blue isn’t for you. (My babies only get Blue Buffalo treats as well)

  • weezy86

    Did you switch suddenly or ween your puppy off the food? Their stomachs can’t always handle the change from one food to the next immediately and you need to mix the two foods together for a while gradually using less and less of the old stuff.

  • LabsRawesome

    You are very welcome. I am keeping my fingers crossed for two. I have 3 dogs, and they play, snuggle, and sleep together. They are best friends,

  • Cayce H. Cronk

    Patty,

    Thanks! I’m actually very mad at my sister for what she did. I think she knew the dog was pregnant. They kept her chained outside and didn’t seem to like her at all. My mo really needs to get her fixed. This pup is gonna be our new family member!

  • Cayce H. Cronk

    Thank you! I will check them out! I considered getting two. We will see! Not sure I can afford that! Lol.

  • dchassett

    Hi Labs. I totally agree with you. I’ve got three dogs. I would never have only one dog again. I did that the first time I ever adopted a dog after that I always wound up having multiple dogs and it is such an enormous difference for them and for us and all good. I have a 14 year old and two 4 1/2 year olds. Yes, I do agree with Crazy4Cats. When we first got the two younger ones (same breeder different litters they were born a day apart) at 9 weeks old they had already bonded with each other so we didn’t want to separate them. We didn’t go looking for two. I thought I was going to go crazy having two young puppies corralled in the kitchen most of the time other wise big messes. Of course, crate trained. In separate crates. But I’ve got to say I will never do it any other way. They are a joy to watch and play with and my 14 year old has honestly a renewed interest in life as she interacts with them. I also feed them all in their own crates making sure everyone gets their fair share. I know some crate together but if I’m out I don’t want to worry that they got into a tussle over anything, sometimes they can have some rough play times, and I can rest easy.

  • dchassett

    Please read the reviews of this site for BB and also check out on this site Dog Food Recalls. I don’t feed BB but it’s been quite a while that I’ve been reading posts about the problems that this brand has been causing with dogs. Diarrhea being one of them. I recall that it was recalled at one point because there was too much Vitamin D in the food. Also, there quality control appears to be lacking. They may still be going on their old reputation which was good. Please read reviews. I’m sure people that have or had experiences with this food will chime in soon.

    Switch food. In the mean time you can add pure pumpkin (comes in cans BUT do not use pumpkin pie filling which has sugar, etc.) to whatever you are switching her to. Pure pumpkin is a fiber and works equally as well for diarrhea as it does for constipation.

  • Betsy Greer

    Great idea, Labs! I just told someone the other day that I would never only have one dog at a time again. My two are best buddies and I love that they’re never alone when no one is home.

  • LabsRawesome

    What?! Two puppies is a great idea! And they can be crated together, when you’re not home. My dogs don’t spend any time outside alone. If they’re outside I’m outside. I have them all trained that just because the door is open doesn’t mean that they can go outside. I step out first, and they aren’t allowed to follow, unless they are given the command, come.Recently though it’s been so freakin frigid, they go potty, and then it’s a mad race to the door, to get back inside. Poor little Blue takes turns holding his paws up. Lol.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh boy, Labs, that’s exactly what we thought when we got two pups. Honestly, I don’t think I would ever do it again. We thought they would keep each other company outside. But, mostly, they keep each other company on our couches, getting on the counter, getting in to the cat boxes and eating socks! I do like the idea of having two dogs though to keep each other company when we are not home. Just not two pups at the same time. I would, however, like to see more of the pups make it to good homes.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh, here’s a pic of my dog family. You can click on the pic to enlarge. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Cayce H. Cronk I agree with Patty. Check out Victor dog food for your Pup. If you can get it locally it’s a real bargain. The grain free varieties, and the Active Dog and Puppy receive 5 stars, on this site. I pay $38.99 for a 30lb bag of grain free. The grain inclusive is probably a little cheaper. Idk Here’s Victor’s site, they have a store locator. victordogfood.com

  • Allison Plitt Basile

    I know that Blue has an excellent reputation, but when I fed it to my cavapoo puppy, she almost immediately suffered from rampant diarrhea, all over the house. She’d never had loose stool before.
    What a mess. Proceed with caution.

  • Pattyvaughn

    There aren’t very many organic dog foods and some of the ones that have organic in the name have some, but not all, ingredients that are organic. If you just want a good dog food at a good price, then look up Victor and use their store locator to find a place near you that sells it. Use the money you saved to help your mom spay the mother, and maybe twist your sister’s arm too. BTW, thank you for helping this pup!!!

  • Cayce H. Cronk

    crazy4cats,
    You have been so helpful! Im so nervous about giving this pup the blue due to all the negative feedback about Diareah! I can access organic brands and some tops brands at my local health food store but they are over an hour away. We have to travel an hour every ten days to get our organic food when grocery shopping. I will see what brands they have there but was hoping for atleast a good premium brand that I could find rather easy. Not a big fan of petsmart but that is where I found the Blue and thought it was a good find being in a big company store like that. I have access to raw liver, heart, etc from my health food store. Which raw foods should I incoorperate into his diet. Im sure the vet will give me a lot of advice as well!

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, feeding half canned and half kibble would be fine. Is your pup large breed? There are some threads on the forum about special requirements for large breed pups. If not, any of the 4 or 5 star foods for puppies or all life stages would be good. I have used the Natures Variety and Northwest Naturals frozen raw nuggets with my dogs’ kibble on occasion with no problem. But, they are a little expensive. Good luck to you.

  • Cayce H. Cronk

    Wandering if this would be a good first food for my new ten week old puppy I am rescuing! Would doing half canned and half kibble be ok? Also want to feed some raw. What are some easy and inexpensive ways to add raw in?

  • InkedMarie

    Some of us get email notifications!

  • Pattyvaughn

    She didn’t state that before she made the comment, and I feel that you are the one being rude here, and extremely so in your response to Jan.
    This is what Jan wrote”….please save the bags from the food, even if you put it into another container! It helps if there are problems with the food to have the bag, and also the expiry date and other info. that may be on the bag. Please, please save all your bags until the food is gone. If you end up not using the food it is easier to donate or return to the store, as well.” Then she said she doesn’t want to come across as rude.
    I’m sorry but that was not rude, that was educational. What part of that exactly was rude? Just because someone says that they don’t want to come across as rude, does not make what they said rude.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Did you notice the Recent Comments column on the right hand side of the page. There are many of us that keep up to date on what is going on on every page by reading every comment made to The Dog Food Advisor.
    I’m sorry that no one can give you what you are looking for. For some problems, advice doesn’t produce a cure, only a way to avoid the same problem in the future.

  • InkedMarie

    HA, you talking about Boone? LOL, you know he’s been eating the same foods prior to last April then bam! ear infections again. In his case, there were no ingredient changes in any food he had eaten so who the heck knows.

  • jackc

    I’ve heard a lot about the value of rotating foods also and in some cases supposedly, it lessens the chance of allergies developing. In that vein I do rotate my dogs food between the different varieties of Origen food. Our rotation is between the regular version, then the fish, then the red, and back to the regular version. I called Champion regarding the need to make the change gradually and they said it wasn’t necessary. Typically we do mix in the new food when the old food gets down to about 20% left. We’ve seen no gastro issues in making the changes with our two dogs. A Caviler King Charles Spaniel, and a Doxie/Shih-Tzu mix.

  • Betsy Greer

    How many times are people caught off guard by their dog having a reaction to a food that they’ve “always eaten,” only to find out later that there was a reformulation that they weren’t aware of. The bag looks the same as the one they normally buy, but the ingredients are suddenly different.

  • InkedMarie

    In case ingredients change, your dog gets sick, a recall, whatever, you should always save the UPC, best buy date etc, or best, the whole bag.

  • Janet M Skinner

    YEP, if its a new food I save the bag ingredients side keep it inside the plastic sealed tub.

  • Janet M Skinner

    great..well lets hope everyone in the world reads this website page, .but for my first experience at this page its clear Im not the one with the CHIPS….God bless you Patty V& Jan ..this page must be you 2′s fav page, to follow daily..as for me it was my first time and now my last.

  • Janet M Skinner

    thanks for your help Jan..I appreciate your desire to have everyone be as you are..2 Blue Ribbons for you !..if all else fails and I really need the bag food info there are lots more at the store and the internet wil also have the info. I don’t care to keep clutter around my home. just my personal choice. I have had many dogs in my 55 yrs of life cats as well..just not a finicky eater. I will look for help else where..after this online experience. God Bless you and have pleasant journey along your road of life here forward..constructive advice is hallways welcomed in life, the mean spirited kind not so much..thanks Ladies 2/10/14..no chips here BTW

  • Janet M Skinner

    thanks,but that was reference to a whole another person and topic..so I wasn’t implying Jan’s comment wasn’t helpful ..she was just rude in her delivery as she herself stated before she made the comment..we need to be helpful not nasty was my point for anyone leaving comments..

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Technically, dogs are facultative carnivores (although the difference between a facultativee carnivore and an omnivore is primarily academic).

  • Emma

    Dogs are omnivores, not carnivores.

  • dchassett

    Another good reason for keeping the dog food in it’s original bag in the air tight containers aside from keeping the food fresher, most reputable pet stores will gladly take back the food that your dog either did not like or did not agree with him but, it has to be in the original bag. If you do it that way then the cost does not become prohibitive. I’m sure none of us are in a position to just throw money away. Also, and I apologize if I’m asking or saying something that someone else has mentioned (can’t find where this post began) but are you feeding him grain, soy, poultry, rice and white potato free? It’s shocking how many dogs are sensitive to these ingredients. I’ve just recently realized that my allergy/intolerance dog cannot have anything with tomato in it. It can get very discouraging but if you just hang in there, return in the bags your dog won’t eat, eventually it’ll all get resolved. Oh, are you feeding him a digestive enzyme with his food? Just trying to help and throwing out some thoughts. Anyway these are some of the things that I’ve learned since adopting Katie 4 1/2 years ago. She’s the one with all the problems. I knew she would come with difficulties. We adopted her at 9 weeks of age. She was the runt of the littler and already exhibiting health problems. The breeder was going to have her euthanized, my friend who heard about this called me knowing full well that I would freak out and that’s how Katie joined our family. I’d never had a dog with digestive issues before so it’s been very frustrating but I will say she is the sweetest most loving dog that has been in our family. Her lower canines grow straight out the front so we had to have her four top teeth removed to make room, at less than a year old she had to have surgery for a luxating patella because we could no longer pop her little knee back in. There are many days and nights I felt overwhelmed but let me tell you she is so worth every tear, ever grey hair I now have, and every dime we’ve spent on her. And at long last we have her food figured out. She also has many allergies to the outside world. I was mentioned that I thought she was basically allergic to life but seriously she is simply the best. Love her to pieces.

  • Betsy Greer

    I have to quote you here, Janet. This is what you said yesterday:

    “EVERYONE’S Opinions are helpful, just because YOU don’t like the content doesn’t make it not worthy.”

  • InkedMarie

    You said you use a container so you do what I do: put the bag in the container.

    Do a search on what happens to dog food when you dump it. If you still insist on dumping it, I hope you’re saving all the important info from the bag.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    See my post to Pattyvaughn. Thanks!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Thanks, Pattyvaughn for your support…..I’m also not one to cause “drama”, at least knowingly. Instinctively I knew she would think I was being rude, which is probably why I prefaced my post with that statement. Yes, I just want to educate people. In this day and age of recalls and companies constantly changing ingredients I just think it’s very prudent to save the bags. If you have lots of dogs (I only have 3 small ones, atm) it might be harder to find room for them. If it were me, I would just cut out the pertinent info. and save that or fold up the bags and put them in a container just for that purpose, but Idk everyone’s situation. Well, enough said, I made my point. Let’s hope in helps someone. :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    We’ve known Jan for a long time and she isn’t rude, but she is direct, which people with a chip on their shoulder tend to take as rude because they are already looking for offense. She is right and her reply, while it is to you, is not really pointed at you so much as trying to educate you and ANYONE who finds themselves in your shoes. We’ve been telling people for years to always keep the bag, in case of recalls, but obviously that message has not yet gotten out to the general public, so we keep repeating it, and will keep repeating it.

  • Shawna

    Some may not want to, but I’d give the uneaten to the local wildlife.. Or donate it to a wildlife rescue or a dog rescue. You can write off the cost you donate to a 501c3 rescue.

    Lots of companies have samples that you can try before buying. If you can find several he likes you can then rotate between them to keep his interest. And mixing in raw egg (if he likes it) makes it hard to pick out just what he likes. Thoroughly mixing in canned green tripe can get some picky dogs to try new things as well..

  • Janet M Skinner

    ah we are so blessed to have you share and “not want to be rude” comment..maybe WE don’t have room to keep so many BAGS of food the storage buckets stack easier..all knowing ..FYI..when someone like yourself says..”I don’t mean to be rude” well thats a clue they already know they ae about to be rude and are doing it anyway. If I had known the puppy/dog would be a finicky eater I would have saved them..2/10/14

    I just don’t understand the need to be disrespectful to people who simply want some help..alot of bitter condescending commentator’s here. if you have to be rude then don’t offer your advice or opinion in life period!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I hope this is a lesson learned for you (and others that read this)….please save the bags from the food, even if you put it into another container! It helps if there are problems with the food to have the bag, and also the expiry date and other info. that may be on the bag. Please, please save all your bags until the food is gone. If you end up not using the food it is easier to donate or return to the store, as well. I don’t want to come off sounding rude, but this is something all cat and dog owners need to start doing.

  • Janet M Skinner

    they told me he was 8 weeks,but I took him to the same vet his mother goes to they said is is just now 14 weeks. he was born on Halloween. hes growing, weights 15lbs @ last vet visit 2 weeks ago. I have had him for NEARLY 3mos.

  • Janet M Skinner

    no longer have the original bags, . I pour the food into a huge plastic container with a lid. Im going t give it to the parents of my puppy now. hes now eating dry Simply Nourish Puppy Food mix with wet Alpo. the Alpo is what gets him to eat the dry food. I only mix 1/2 can with 2 cups of dry…I just get frustrated when he won’t eat and I end up throwing away so much yet he’ll whine when I eat in front of him or cook, so I try to feed him first..when I eat my veggies I do share them with him.2/10/14

  • InkedMarie

    He’s only four months old….you’ve had him for almost three months? How old was he when you got him?

  • Janet M Skinner

    Cindi I do use canned as toppers, it only helps for the few bites he wants. I have been tiring many dry foods in the nearly 3 mos I have had him many. Hes not my first dog. I have trained many since I was 14 and studied in in 4H..he just seems to be wasting so much. I feel Im doing more harm than good for him. He is also the first dog I didn’t get from a shelter or a Rescue. this testing foods is costly I have tired mixing the foods /rotating them Bil Jac seemed to work mixed with the older stuff but then he grew tired of that as well I’ll bet I have 50lbs of dry food going to waste with a hungry puppy here. don’t be so quick to judge .I’m concerned for HIS welfare and health if I run out of money then theres NO health care or food, so the puppy shots stop too..Thanks for your reply 2/9/14

  • Pattyvaughn

    You can donate it to your local shelter.

  • Crazy4cats

    Have you tried taking any of the food back for a refund or donating it to a shelter if there is nothing wrong with it? What are you feeding now and what have you tried? You sound very frustrated. Puppies are a lot of work. I really hope you can get it figured out.

  • Cyndi

    “maybe he’s not the dog for me”????? You’d give up your dog just because you spend money on him? :( When you own a dog it’s supposed to be for life. You don’t give up on him just because you run into a problem with him! That’s why the shelters are full and they have to kill so many healthy dogs every day!

    Do some research and find a good food, gradually switch him over to it, use canned or fresh food as a topper to entice him to like it and then start rotating good foods. Eating the same thing all the time isn’t good for dogs. The cheap crappy foods like Puring and Iams use all kinds of stuff in their foods to entice dogs to eat them, because there is nothing but crap in them.

    Don’t give up on your dog, figure out what he needs.

  • Janet M Skinner

    what did you do with the dry food they/he didn’t eat?

  • Janet M Skinner

    excellent comment ^^ maybe BB is in denial also like Beneiful*(sp) was until it was proven to cause Kidney failure in dogs.

  • Janet M Skinner

    so what do I do with ALL the lbs of the dry food he doesn’t eat???? hes 4mos old such a picky eater..he poops just fine.gas has stopped. hes not eating enough I can tell by looking at him I can’t afford to keep food hopping and throwing away good Dog food, just because he turns his nose up at it..maybe hes not the dog for me..$$$$$ =food shopping to please a dog

  • Fcvvv

    Ppattyy is a bullyy no hullie

  • Fxfgvvfgfc

    Pattyy is a blullyy no hullie

  • Gffcv

    Pattuy is no fun with her gun

  • Fgccv

    Ppaatty is no fun with her gun

  • Fccvvv

    Ppatty is a bully not a hully

  • Gffcv

    Paatyy is a bully no hully

  • Pattyvaughn

    Evolution takes time. Domestication has had only an extremely small effect on the dog’s digestive tract, and some dogs are much less affected than others. The change from a primarily meat and undigestable vegetables and starches diet to the extremely starch heavy kibbles we have now is even more recent.

  • Jane

    It’s also important to remember that we have domesticated dogs to the point where they are not the same animals as they once were. Like humans they’ve changed and adapted to a different lifestyle. And with that change comes a change in their eating habits and what dietary needs they have.

  • Cyndi

    They are so cute! I bet they are double trouble! :)

  • stephspov

    Also, it’s not necessarily the high protein and fat causing the gas. With my boxer, it is a lot less. I believe it was the gluten and the lack of pre and probiotics in his food. Performatrin Ultra GF is high in protein and fat and he does great on it… not a lot of gas.

  • stephspov

    After 8 years of major stinky gas, runny poo, and trying several different brands of high quality food for my boxer, I tried PetValu’s Performatrin Ultra Grain Free. For the first time ever…he has solid poo!! The gas is considerably less, and doesn’t clear a room like before. We haven’t woke up to diarrhea all over the downstairs either. I think a good quality dog food with pre and probiotics is important. Also, I think it may have to do with it being gluten free.

  • Charles

    They blocked the the vet who made them sweat

  • Charles

    Shhaawwnma lies and ceats wit deceit

  • Judi Aguiar

    Yes Maam So true

  • Judi Aguiar

    Thank you

  • dchassett

    Check Dog Food Recalls on this site and judge for your self. Diamond has had many recalls through the years.

  • dchassett

    Check Dog Food Recalls on this site and see the numerous foods that have been recalled that are manufactured by Diamond. Judge for yourself

  • Annie

    I just got a Puggle who is now 16 weeks. I was told to get Diamond brand puppy food that is gluten free.. Anyone have good/bad experiences with this food?!

  • Cavalier mom

    Another lie Shawna. On wellness compl you denied that and sai only one dog gets 48-52% protein the others not. Here you say your 8 dpgs get between 40-54. Average is 47%.When pointed out the stdy that showed26% max you clearly down played the amounts you are feeding on wellness com. We see it Shawna the deceptive mind of yours

  • ming

    They had been on BB for over 6 mos when they refused the 2 bags I had bought that they would not eat. And yes of course when I switched to BB I mixed old and new and eased them into it, they were older and I thought I was giving them something special. Turned out for me at least BB was not a wise choice. I will stick with flint river or halo stew.

  • shannoncookie

    Im pretty sure no animal eats the same food all its life in nature… its not natural for an animal to eat the same thing all the time… im pretty sure for all animals but def for dogs…

  • Ellena

    If your dogs are use to one kind of food you should have mix BB with there old food first cause they can be picking if they have no idea what it is they can tell the difference in what it looks like I know at first with my dogs they wanted nothing to do with it so I mixed and they would eat it and its not healthy to just change the food you should always mix first

  • Ellena

    I would like to say one thing to everybody our dogs are all descendants of wolves or huskys and they eat mostly raw meat and that is very high in protein. We all need to think back before we domesticated the dogs what did they eat raw meat and some veggies so for people saying there is to much protein in our dogs food our dogs are all carnivores not herbivores. That’s what you need to think about and its not about if its a working dog our not they all play and run around if they just lay on the couch you may need to take them for a walk or a run in the park cause dogs are very active animals.

  • Alexandra

    Where is Jack correct? The so called breed specific nutrition is nothing more than a marketing campaign.

    My 50# mix and my 90# GSD eat the exact same high protein diets. My mix, Booker, has the ambition of a couch potato. My GSD, Dante is active in Schutzhund.

    Why would I give my couch potato less?

  • Shawna

    Funny, if you look at some of the breed specific dog foods, the foods designed for toy breeds are higher in protein than those designed for larger breeds. Royal Canin Yorkie, as an example, has 28% protein while Royal Canin German Shepherd has 24% protein.

    My eight toy and small breed dogs as well as all the small breed fosters I’ve had eat between about 40 and 54% protein with no issues. Higher protein is not specific to working dogs or any breed.

    Edit – sled dogs, such as the Malamute, require higher fat diets during competitions, working and training.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Eating the exact same thing limits the variety of probiotics that can live in the gut and a huge part of the immune system is those same probiotics in the gut. There is no such thing as a perfect food. They are all a little high in one thing or a little low in another. Some are very high or very low in necessary nutrients. Rotating foods is a way to minimize problems from imperfect foods.
    A dog not being able to handle the amount of protein in a food is not the same thing as the food having too much protein. It’s a dog health issue, not a food issue, except in the case of BB, many people have been complaining lately about BB causing diarrhea in their dogs, even people that have been feeding it for a long time, once again not a protein issue.

  • Jerry

    Well biologically speaking I might have to disagree with that. Eating the same thing day in and day out having the proper nutrients for said animal could actually be a good thing considering that that animal’s body will then be able to process and metabolize those nutrients more quickly and easily. I’m not sure although in what you are in reference. And on the note of excessive gas and by-productive excrement I am fairly surprised of the amount of negative attention Jack’s post has received. He is actually quite correct in some aspect or another, however I will have to say that it is more of the over-feeding of protein that may cause these issues more than the specific food although I do see where he is coming from.

  • Pattyvaughn

    My Border Collies and Jack Russell Terrier handle higher protein than that every meal. It’s not the protein level that’s the problem, it’s the damage we do to our dog’s digestive system by feeding the same thing day in and day out for long periods that’s the problem.

  • Jack

    Seriously people should research not only quality of their dog’s food but also their dog’s lineage. Blue Buffalo Wilderness from what I have been told by their representatives is made for specific breeds. These breeds include dogs such as Shepherds, Huskys, Wolfs, and other working/prey dogs. It is very high in protein content and if your dog is pooping liquid, passing gas frequently, and/or it is not agreeing with them in some way then maybe it is not for them. Your Pekingese is not an Alaskan bred Malamute. Enough said.

  • Janet M Skinner

    his is just the type of post I was looking for. I just got a Boxer boy
    4mos old now and the fart bombs got him dethroned from sitting next to
    me on the couch..but also that was also a signal that when he woke up
    he was out to go poo.. thanks or your post. 1/26/14

  • Janet M Skinner

    giardia worms come and go the dog needs to be test once a month for six months straight to really rule it out. my puppy came from Humane Society to me with them the vet screamed at me to take him back. so don’t be so quick to blame the food. I’d never give my dogs Rawhide’s,just too dangerous for their stomachs. buy large bones from your grocer or meat market.

  • Guest

    this is just the type of post I was looking for. I just got a Boxer boy 4mos old now and the fart bombs got him dethroned from sitting next to me on the couch..but also that was also a signal that when he woke up he was out to go poo.. thanks or your post. 1/26/14

  • Janet M Skinner

    and some people just sound bitter and nasty too doesn’t mean you have to post to let everyone else know too..good lord. EVERYONE’S Opinions are helpful, just because YOU don’t like the content doesn’t make it not worthy

  • jill

    Thanks so much for your reply. I decided to try Vet’s Choice because every time I would visit my friend, who fed her poodle Vet’s Choice, my dog would inhale it. So far so good and it has been a week now. I believe, with the BB Wilderness, the protien was just too high.

  • Doggy Buddy

    I had problems with the vets choice of food, I put my lab on BB Salmon Potato sensitive and her digestive issues went away.

  • LabsRawesome

    Maybe it’s just your dogs. I feed mine Victor Ultra Professional GF. It has 42% protein and 22% fat. No gas issues. You should try digestive enzymes & probiotics.

  • TeTe

    OMG akginer .. I just laughed so hard at your description!

  • jill

    I thought this to be top of the line and maybe it is for some but it did not agree with my Standard Poodle, who is appproaching 6 years of age and is in great shape. She was constantly passing gas, and I just opened a new bag and she got the runs. I am going to try Vet’s Choice Health Extension.

  • ming

    My senior Aussie did not do well on BB Wilderness or Basic. The protein was evidently too high for him. Also had to return 2 bags as they both seemed to “go bad” after only a few days in an airtight container (sealed in its original bag). I knew it was bad because even my garbage disposal dog (the one that loves hunting for treats in the cat litter box) all of sudden would not eat the food. He NEVER turns down food and for him to do that 2x with 2 different bags of food was pretty amazing. I went back to flint river or Halo spots stew and he is back to scarfing :). Maybe it was just a bad batch as I got them both from the same PetCo, but I hate wasting food and was really surprised that I had bought 2 small bags in a row that my papillon and chi would not touch.

  • akginger

    Porter and Suzie Q at about 18mo old

  • akginger

    and just FYI: high protein high fat diets cause farts in almost any breed. And I mean terrible, eyes watering, gag reflex triggering, paint peeling farts. Ones that even the dog themselves look back and wonder what the heck just happened. The BB Wilderness Healthy Weight Chicken also has the high gas issue BUT NO SMELL! Unlike so many others that have nearly required us to buy gas masks to be in the same room as these kids.

  • akginger

    I have 2 boxer mixes. Brother & sister from the same litter. The male is very sensitive to fat content and I have used many different brands of food. I also worked at a vet clinic a few years ago and learned some tricks of the trade about dog foods. I did not however learn much about boxers until I started having problems with Porter and his UTI’s. That is when I learned even more so that different breeds are susceptible to different illnesses from food content. Boxers are very susceptible to pancreatitis. I have to keep his food as low in fat content as I can. The BB Wilderness Healthy Weight Chicken has the lowest I have been able to find and he does great on it. It has been over a year since he has had any issues. His sister has benefited from the lower fat content as well and has lost the extra weight she was carrying since she is fixed. Now a note about people switching their dog food quickly. Going from a grain based food to a protein based food is a shock to the domestic dog we call our furbabies. I started out our kids on Natural Balance puppy formula for the first 8 months and they did just great. Switching then to Taste of the Wild. It was at the 2 yr mark that I started having problems with fat content with Porter yet his sister, Suzie Q was just fine with ZERO issues other than weight gain. Breed is an issue as is food and the metabolism of the dog itself. I understand people have had issues and I am quite sympathetic to them but it isn’t just the dog food. It is trial and error. Take into consideration there are many factors to finding the right dog food for your furbabies BUT a high protein, high fat dog food is going to cause some distress to animals that are used to grain diets or that are just not used to a ‘rich’ food like these quality ingredient brands. Thank you for this website, I like having this as a resource. I will research for other foods that are close to the 6.5% fat content that I am using right now. I would be willing to try something else that does not have so many complaints against them.

  • Matt

    We discovered after dog got sick was the food once opened got old because we bought a large bag for a little dog and it was taking her to long to finish it. Switched to smaller bag and sealed container; hadn’t had a single problem since and it has been a little over 2 years. Certain flavors will give her gas. Needless to say not all dogs respond differently.

  • Ggrowdy

    My male cocker spaniel had severe digestive problems for the first year of his life, including numerous bouts of bloody vomiting and diarrhea, usually lasting 3-5 days each time. We rushed him to 3 vets and had blood work and xrays taken but no cause found. After cooking for him for 6 months, I tried various premium grain free dog foods and blue wilderness is a life saver. He’s happy and healthy now after 2 years of eating this food.

  • Paula

    I fed my dog Wilderness for 1 week. My dog had head tremors for the entire week. I took her off it and they stopped. The only things that have given her head tremors before were flea drops and pain pills.

  • Paula

    This dog food gives my dog head tremors.

  • Dog Lover

    My GSD currently eats Wellness Core but I wanted to share his past experience with BB Wilderness Dry. The reason he no longer eats this is because he now has EPI and the fiber content is to high (6.5%) Most EPI dogs do better on a lower (under 4%) fiber diet. After several years of trying to find a food he would do well on and like we settled on BB Wilderness. He had awesome results. Super soft coat, loved eating it, his weight held steady, perfect stools and he just seemed to be in incredible shape. I have tried to reintroduce this food twice since he got EPI but the fiber just isn’t tolerated by him anymore. Everyone needs to understand that not every food works for every dog. I still and will continue to recommend this food to people when talking about dog food. Maybe one day BB will produce a lower fiber grain free version.

  • Pattyvaughn

    You are absolutely right that people tend to think that if their dog doesn’t do well on a particular food, they tend to think the food is bad. And I tend to ignore those and tell people it’s time to move on to another food. This food is a prime example of that. People have been talking about their dogs having issues with vomitting and diarrhea on this food for many months now. At first, I assumed it was dogs that just couldn’t handle the food or bad transitioning. Then I started wondering if these dogs were not getting the Life Source bits at the top of the bag because they were settling, then getting a huge dose of them toward the bottom of the bag, making dogs that had been doing fine sick. But more and more reports have been coming in from people who have been on the food longterm and now their dog is getting sick. So I quit ignoring the posts on BB. I wish I could tell people what would make their dog better, but other than getting them off this food, nobody knows whats wrong. And BB is still saying they haven’t got any complaints.
    Educating people and keeping them informed is what this site is for. BTW, who says they are a receptionist at a vet clinic? Who’s talking about awards?

  • GracieThePitBull

    I had adopted a pit mix who was on science diet at the humane society. I had her on it for a few weeks and then decided to switch her to BB since it is a better quality food. I also had switched my last dog to BB later in her life (12 yrs old) and it really seemed to help her overall well being and she no problems with it at all besides only eating it if it had some of the soft food in it as well. With Grace, my current dog, she just could not handle the BB. Well I should say I couldn’t handle the BB. It gave her the nastiest case of gas I have ever smelled. It was vomit worthy and not to mention some really dark runny stool. I don’t know if maybe I didn’t give her enough time to get used to it (2weeks) and that caused it or if I should have let her finish the bag to adjust but we couldn’t take the smell and we were concerned about bloat. I don’t think it’s the foods fault, just some dogs react differently to foods.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy