AvoDerm Natural Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

AvoDerm Natural Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The AvoDerm Natural product line includes ten dry dog foods, three claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth, four for adult maintenance and three for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • AvoDerm Triple Protein Meal
  • AvoDerm Weight Control (2.5 stars)
  • AvoDerm Puppy Chicken Meal and Brown Rice
  • AvoDerm Sm Breed Puppy Chicken Meal (5 stars)
  • AvoDerm Lg Breed Puppy Chicken Meal (4.5 stars)
  • AvoDerm Adult Lamb Meal and Brown Rice (3 stars)
  • AvoDerm Lg Breed Adult Chicken Meal and Brown Rice
  • AvoDerm Senior Chicken Meal and Brown Rice (3 stars)
  • AvoDerm Adult Sm Breed Chicken Meal and Brown Rice
  • AvoDerm Adult Chicken Meal and Brown Rice (3.5 stars)

AvoDerm Adult Chicken Meal and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

AvoDerm Natural Large Breed Adult Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 11% | Carbs = 52%

Ingredients: Chicken meal, ground whole brown rice, ground whole white rice, oatmeal, salmon meal, rice bran, avocado, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), tomato pomace (source of lycopene), flax seed (source of omega-3 fatty acid), alfalfa meal, chicken cartilage (natural source of chondroitin sulfate & glucosamine), natural flavor, egg product, salt, potassium chloride, kelp meal, vitamins (choline chloride, a-tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), niacin, calcium pantothenate, vitamin a supplement, ascorbic acid (source of vitamin C), pyridoxine hydrochloride (source of vitamin B6), thiamine mononitrate (source of vitamin B1), riboflavin supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, biotin, folic acid), minerals (zinc sulfate, zinc amino acid chelate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, manganese amino acid chelate, copper sulfate, copper amino acid chelate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate), avocado oil, taurine, rosemary extract, sage extract, lecithin, pineapple stem (source of bromelain), papain, dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation product, dried Aspergillus oryzae fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%10%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%11%52%
Calorie Weighted Basis27%25%48%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The next two ingredients list ground brown rice and ground white rice, both names for rice flour. Rice flour is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fourth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The fifth ingredient includes salmon meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

The sixth ingredient is rice bran, a healthy by-product of milling whole grain rice. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, fat as well as vitamins and minerals.

The seventh ingredient is avocado. Avocado can be a controversial item.

Supporters claim the ingredient to be nutrient rich and beneficial to a dog’s skin and coat — while others worry over what are mostly unsubstantiated concerns over potential toxicity.

These fears appear to originate from a 1984 study in which goats (not dogs) consumed the leaves (not the fruit) of the Guatemalan (not the Mexican) avocado and became ill.2

Based upon our own review of the literature, it is our opinion that the anxiety over avocado ingredients in dog food appears to be unjustified.

The eighth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The ninth ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, flaxseed meal is one of the best plant-based sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Flax meal is particularly rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, although alfalfa meal is high in plant protein (about 18%) and fiber (25%), this hay-family item is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

In addition, we note this AvoDerm product contains avocado oil, a controversial item similar to the other avocado ingredient previously discussed.

Next, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

AvoDerm Natural Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, AvoDerm Natural looks like an above-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 11% and estimated carbohydrates of about 52%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 52%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed and alfalfa meals, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

AvoDerm Natural is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken or lamb meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a nice wet product from the same company may wish to visit our review of AvoDerm Natural canned dog food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

02/14/2010 Original review
04/15/2014 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Craigmill AL, et al. Toxicity of avocado (Persea americana, Guatamalan variety) leaves: review and preliminary report, Vet Hum Toxicol 1984;26:381
  • Joni Micals

    We have used dry Avoderm exclusively since the start of owning beagles, 2002. We changed up the food ingredients from original to chicken, lamb, trout… No difference in the dogs’ eating it, although when older they like the round kibble as opposed to the broken cracker look. Our dogs have the shiniest coats, the vet says they are very healthy. We feed our dogs a lot less than the directions say. 1/2 c x 2ce day for our 27 lb beagle, 1 c x 2ce day for our 35 lb beagle. (And no, avocados are not poisonous to dogs. The seed can get stuck in their throat, so be careful when cutting it out.)

  • michelle

    Avoderm triple protein is a horrible food. after about 2 weeks of feeding this to my dogs I started noticing that their coats were very dull, they were losing weight and going through the food faster than normal. my 5 lb chi was starting to look malnourished and When i weighed him he had lost a pound in a month, which imo is way too much in a dog that small, so i switched back to sun dancer and he is now back to the correct weight and their coats are nice and shiny again.

  • Ana

    I’m getting a chiweenie puppy in 6 weeks, not sure if I should feed her BLUE BUFFALO PUPPY FOOD OR AVO DERM PUPPY FOOD SMALL BREEDS? I would appreciate honest answers. Also, the PROS and CONS of each of them….Or if there’s any other puppy food you recommend I would love to hear about it!

  • theBCnut

    I add a good bit of oil too, including some good coconut oil.

  • Linda Ericson

    This winter has been hard on the dogs skin! I had to add a lot more oil, I use Nordic Naturals, to get the itching to disappear! Currently owned by 5 PWD’s! ;-)

  • Shawn Milligan

    I have feed my dog the Lamb and Brown rice blend for a number of years (at least 7 of his 9). He is healthy and coat is super soft and shiny. I can’t say he is a picky eater, but he seems to enjoy! His stools are always regular and solid (I like to refer to them as tootsie rolls!) I did mistakenly by the weight control once and had to return it as he was having no part of it! He has plenty of energy and therefor gets lots of play time. I always recommend this brand to all my new dog loving friends.

  • Shawn Milligan

    I feed my dog the Avoderm Lamb Meal and Brown Rice…I’d like to say he’s a picky eater, but he isn’t, but he eats this to no end. His coat is super shiny and his stools are like tootsie rolls (SOLID!) I was worried about the avacado in it after hearing that it is posionous to dogs, but my boy is approching 9 and he has eaten this for 7 of those years. He’s energy and activity levels are high. I seriously do recommend Avoderm to all my dog owner friends!

  • Pattyvaughn

    The fiber helps the large intestine to retain the right amount of water, neither too much or too little. It slows passage through the large intestine if the dog would have had diarrhea, so the the extra fluid has time to be resorbed. If the stool would have been dry, then it retains moisture and speeds that stool along.

  • Ca

    So the groupies lie and cheat about the facts and when you say something they bullie and flag you and block ypu
    Making up stories.
    But the groupies break all the rules and that is ok of course

  • Ca

    I meant text book said to increase protein from18-26% not 40 or 50% like they falsely claimed

  • Ca

    The on wellness complete they claimed textbook sid increased protein for seniors is rec in texts but what they said was increase it from 18-56% when I pointed it out they blocked and deleted me for dubios reasons. They were misconstruing the text book claiming it sai 40% or more

  • dchassett

    Actually, and I don’t know why, but pumpkin (not the pie type) works for constipation as well as it does diarrhea. Not only because my dogs vet has said so but because I have used it for both situations with my three dogs at different times. It has something to do with the fiber regulating consistency.

  • Ca

    Shawna said on wellness complete that she does not give her dog medication to promote her high protein diet but admitted it yesterday then after studies have shown the dangers she all the sudden knew nothing about her 48% protein diet she recommended on blue wild

  • Ca

    Edit Shawna is giving 50% meat protein to her kidney dog and claims it is nessessary. That is high phosporus and very bad.
    She kept lying about facts to promote her diet.
    She misconstrues studies and lied

  • Cac

    Another example how Shawna is wrong
    You guys rather have a sick dog and want to be right
    Arrogant bastards

  • Ca

    You guys should be happy that she has a healthy dog now thamls to a vegetarien diet

  • Ca

    Shame on you Patty and inked mary for downvoting the poor woman who proves Shawna wron

  • Cac

    Shame on you Patty and Inked mary fpr downvoting on v dog the poor woman who proves Shawna wrong

  • Cav

    Shame on you Patty inked mary for down voting woman on v dog who proves Shawna wrong

  • Cac

    Shame on you patty and inked for downvoting woman on v dog who proves Shawna wrong

  • Cav

    Shame on you on v dog to down vote the woman who proves Shawna wrong

  • Ca

    Shame on you patty inked mary for down voting on v dog the woman who proves shawna wrong

  • Ca

    Shame on you Patty and inkt mary for down voting the poor woman on v dog.
    She proves Shawna wrong

  • marie

    I have two dogs one is a pit and one is a boxer, pit, lab mix and they have been on adviser for a couple of months there stools look fine they at not getting fat or losing any weight. My pit had skin problems and is a very picky girl and I tried the lamb and Brown rice she liked it ok but then I tryed the salmon and they love it they eat it all gone every day and there skin looks good and they love it I like the food.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Start by comparing ingredient lists and see if you can tell what they might have in common.

  • Guy Carter

    My GSD scratches like crazy & he’s been on Blue Buffalo Salmon & then another Blue Buffalo Life Style food. Even Worse. Starting him on Avoderm Beef & Chicken. Petco marked it down 50% for the exp. date so I thought I would try it. My Beagle eats anything in site & no skin problems just gets FAT as a little Pig. And she’s on Nutra Lite Food.
    Thanks for any comment.

  • Bob’s Mom

    He gets a tsp mixed in with his kibbles. He is now on Fromm’s Grain Free Game Bird Reciepe and that helped his stools tremendously. I got several grain free samples and placed them in similar bowls and lined them on the floor randomly. I did this two different times and each time he picked the Game bird ( I had them labeled on the bottom) I didnt want to buy another expensive food he would not eat.

  • Quincy’s Mom

    au contraire. 3 different friends have had their vets tell them to use basic canned pumpkin to eliminate loose stools. Just don’t get the kind that has a lot of spices in it. Most likely, the doggie is allergic to the type of food. My year old mini schnauzer cannot eat any chicken based brand. I have to give him lamb based and now have him dry Avoderm Beef. My Westie, before this dog, also ate Avoderm and lived to over 16 years.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s the fiber in it that works. When you are experiencing diarrhea fiber absorbs fluid and helps to slow passage through the large intestine where excess fluid should be resorbed. When you are constipated the fiber helps some of the fluid stay in the stool so it is softer. Fiber helps your or your dog’s stool to be consistant.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Actually, it depends on how much canned pure pumpkin you dole out. A teaspoon or so mixed into kibble is great to use while transitioning from one food to another, to help prevent diarrhea.

  • Riley’s Mom

    Canned pumpkin actually loosens stools! It is good when your dog is constipated, not when he has loose stools already.

  • Blue Bird Vision

    Has anyone fed their dog Avoderm Lamb Meal and Brown Rice? My dog eats Taste of the Wild, but my aunt had to put her two dogs down and wanted to give us the rest of her food. Would it be wise to feed a food with grains in it after feeding grain-free with no issues for the past two years? I don’t want my dog to go through her eye and skin problems again. We’ve worked too hard to go back to that.

  • Jessica Leanna Taft

    MY dog is on nutrisource and im thinking of changing to avoderm because my german shepherd is shedding a ton and eating alot of grass since i changed her to nurtisource…

  • Jessica Leanna Taft

    nutrisource is 6% fiber ;) cheaper than wellness

  • Jessica Leanna Taft

    my dog doesnt like blue buffalo either… or TOTW’s wetlands

  • Bob’s Mom

    Help. I finally found a dry kibble my dog LOVES to eat. Avoderm Oven baked original beef. I read all the reviews and did my studies . I saw where others had mentioned runny stool with Avoderm use. I have always given him a tsp of canned pure pumpkin a day for his digestion and any runny stools, but nothing seems to help his runny stool since he has been on the Avoderm. He has been on it for approx 3-4 months. I hate to change foods as he LOVES this Avoderm and would hardly touch the Taste of the Wild and Blue Buffalo. Any ideas on what can be done with him on the Avoderm. The runny stools are about 4 or 5 days a week. My reason for the Avoderm was skin allergies and also food taste for him.

  • caroljanegibbs

    BTW, I’ve seen a bit about Blue Buffalo here – my dog wouldn’t touch it. She would sniff her bowl and walk away, lay down and pout. I don’t know what it was, but she would have nothing to do with it. People tell me dogs don’t allow themselves to starve, but i started to wonder. We switched her to canned food after awhile and she perked right up. Up went her head at the sound of the can opening and she started to act more than interested. I had to wonder if the previous owners, who lost her had fed her canned food.

  • caroljanegibbs

    losul, thanks for the response. We did quit feeding her so much – we were feeding according to the instructions. But she was getting older and probably less active, and we should have taken that into consideration.

  • caroljanegibbs

    Bryan, this makes sense. I believe they’re blanched, at the very least. However that doesn’t account for breaking them down and pureeing them. I should do that. My dog loves to chew on ice and frozen things and I’ve just put them into her bowl, frozen. I would have no problem pureeing them, though.

  • losul

    Barring any health issues, you’ll need to resist and learn to control her portions no matter what food you feed, for her own good.

  • InkedMarie

    I believe it’s the pit that is dangerous to dogs. If your dog is waddling around, then he/she is overweight. Try a different food for weight loss. I used Wellness Core’s reduced fat to help a dog I adopted lose weight. You can stick with what you have and feed less but it may be too fatty for your dog.

  • caroljanegibbs

    I feed my dog a raw diet including veges to provide balance. She really loves the veges, including a little avocado, bananas and other fruits.

  • caroljanegibbs

    It was a lifesaver for us and our dog. We tried everything to resolve her skin problems which could have become serious, given the fact that she was a Samoyed with dense fur.

  • caroljanegibbs

    Thanks. I appreciate that. I’ve given her small amounts of avocado with no discernible problems.

  • caroljanegibbs

    Yes, very fat. poor dog. But she survived both the skin trouble and the waddling. She was our “baby.”

  • Pattyvaughn

    Avocado is fine for dogs, but not too much. It is poisonous to birds and for some reason that got attached to dogs too, but it isn’t so.

  • losul

    What do you mean by waddling around? Waddling as in the way an overweight dog would walk?

    Avocado contains alot of fat.

  • caroljanegibbs

    We fed our Sammy Avoderm for skin problems and it worked well, until she started waddling around the back yard. Now I hear that avocado is dangerous to dogs. Is this true, partially true or not true at all?

  • Swanee300

    My dog itched like crazy on Wellness. I’ve raised my last two dogs on Avoderm, and received many complements on their healthy coats.

  • http://twitter.com/steveweaver10 steve weaver

    avoderm recall on its lamb+rice product, was an in-house, ive feed my dogs this product for over 10 years no problem. i think they have been making pet food since 1947.for me that speaks for its self

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Petco currently carries it, I believe.

  • LuvMyMutt

    FYI – PetSmart is discontinuing AvoDerm in its stores.  If you like this food you can pick some up on sale.

  • Jennybeth032

     Hi!  I’m only reading these reviews now, sorry to come in so late in the conversation!  I have a Boxer/Hound mix who seems to be ideal at 70-72 lbs and we have tried the same foods as you.  We had him on the normal B. Buffalo for months, but he is susceptible to UTI’s so we had to keep changing his food because his urinary Ph would get too high and he’d go on C/D.  We have finally gotten him off of the prescription food and through a recommendation at our regular PetCo tried a grain free diet for him.  First we tried Blue Buffalo Freedom and it worked like a charm.  Downside?  Ph levels went up and the Vet said try a different brand.  Now he’s on the Grain Free Avoderm for the past two months and his stool has stayed solid and easy to pick up after!  If your Golden starts to have issues on the new food (sometimes Roscoe would be fine for a few weeks, then get runny before we went GF) maybe try a grain free mix?  It’s done wonders for our buddy and his sensitive system :)

  • Sad faces

    My dog developed screaming constipation from Avoderm, tried pumpkin, antibiotics, wormings, fiber supplements, everything, two vets couldnt find a diagnosis, switched to wellness and things look like they are getting better. What a nightmare.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Dawn,

    I’m not sure where you found this recall dated October 30. My records show it was recalled on September 11. So, I’ve already announced this recall back in September. There’s also a link to my announcement of this recall posted at the top of this review.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    If you want your dog to derive any nutrients from the green beans you’ll have to cook and puree them. Dogs don’t produce the enzyme cellulase so they can’t digest raw plant matter. Cooking and pureeing will in a sense “pre-digest” the veggies so your dog can get some benefit. If you’re doing it for weight loss purposes however then it would be okay to add the raw veggies merely for bulk, they wouldn’t be digested though. Generally you’ll find raw veggies come out the same way they go in.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I find that the recommendations on the bags are typically way off -from my experience. I never followed them, my dogs have always eaten much more that what was recommended on the feeding chart. Lol 4 1/2 cups for a 115 lb. dog? If I fed that to my 110 lb. male he’d waste away. At 360 kcal. per cup so he’d need 7 cups per day…

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    Raw. You can buy a bag of frozen ones and just thaw some out.

  • Jen

    Yes it is a lot of food. However, last winter she was eating about 3.5 cups/day and was losing so much weight she was malnourished and starved. It took me 4 months to put almost 15 pounds back on her feeding her 9 (!) cups/day over the summer. she is now almost 75 lbs and still very fit and on the slim side. She has been on 6-7 cups/day for over 2 months and is maintaining weight, not gaining or losing. And yes, even on 6 cups/day, she begs and acts hungry in between meals.

    If you do the food calculator tool on this site it says that she actually needs 6.86 cups/day to maintain weight based on her weight, activity level and the amount of calories/cup in wellness core reduced fat.

    Thanks for the tips on the green beans though – do you feed them raw, cooked, canned?

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy
  • BryanV21

    That is a ton of food. Wellness recommends feeding only 4.5 cups a day to a 115 pound dog for weight maintenance, so there’s no way that 6-7 cups is right.

    Keep in mind that there is a lot more animal-based protein in Core than W/D, therefore you don’t need to feed as much for the dog to get as many nutrients.

    I’d go with the feeding guidelines and adjust from there if needed. If the dog is still begging for food, try adding green beans which will add bulk without excess fat and calories.

  • Jen

    Jan – thank you for providing the information on Wellness Core reduced fat. I have switched my golden over to it and she is doing great! Completely off the W/D. My only complaint is that it is more expensive and she goes through it quick as she eats 6-7 cups a day to maintain weight (she is very active). It is worth it though to be off a terrible food. Thanks again!

  • DAWN

    THERE WAS A RECENT RECALL ON AVODERN 10/30/12 JUST A HEADS UP :o)

  • DAWN

    I HOPE YOU SEE THE RECALL ON THIS EXACT BRAND YOUR FEEDING AND CHECK YOUR LABELS FOR THE CODES BEING RECALLED :o)

  • DAWN

    MIKE..I dont see anywhere on your site about the recent recall (10/30/12) of

    Recall — Firm Press Release

    FDA posts press releases and other notices of recalls
    and market withdrawals from the firms involved as a service to consumers, the
    media, and other interested parties. FDA does not endorse either the product or
    the company.

    Breeder’s Choice Pet Food Recalls AvoDerm Natural
    Lamb Meal & Brown Rice Adult Dog Formula Because of Possible Salmonella
    Health Risk

    JUST A HEADS UP IN CASE YOU DIDNT RECEIVE A NOTICE AND FOR YOUR READERS…

  • Lilmama764

    My dog usually eats Canniday, I went to Petsmart, because the Breeders store(OBS) was closed. I read the label, purchased it, My Greman Shepard seems to like it very much.I am happy with the product, I did add some wet Wellness Core, Turkey &Sweet Potatoe. Read the lable. You get what you pay for. 

  • Katieboohoo

    Canned plain Pumpkin

  • EvesHumanMom

    Aloha, Dr Mike Sagman!

    Thank you and your helpers for all the research and information. 

    Just wanted to let you know I recently contacted Avoderm about the ingredients because of the discrepancy between what is listed above, the bag, and their homepage.  Apparently they no longer include the chicken cartilage/ glucosamine, chondritin in the regular formulas, but have it in the Large Breed and Senior:  “The Large Breed Formula contains 900mg of Chondroitin and 650 mg of Glucosamine. The Senior Formula contains 2000 mg of Chondroitin as well as 1000 mg of Glucosamine.”
    So when you do your next update…

  • ML

    My dog is on Avoderm Lamb & Brown rice.  He has been since he was about 4 months old.  I got it b/c the avocado is good for his skin.   He is healthy, happy and the only time his stool is loose or runny is when he’s not feeling well or he’s had something he shouldn’t have.   Yes it more expensive then your commerical brands you find at the big box stores, but you feed less b/c it is more nutrientally dense.  So in the long run it balances out.    And for the comment about it smelling bad… umm no.  I work part at a boarding kennel and it smells fine.  It’s commerical and cheap brands that smell horrible. 

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    One of the highest fiber commercial foods, that I know of, is Wellness Core Reduced Fat at a max of 8.5%.  I’m sure others might know of other foods.  Hope this helps some. 

  • Jen

    I have a one year old golden retriever who I’ve had on both Avoderm and Blue Buffalo.  On both foods she has had soft stools/diarrhea, to the point that this spring my vet put her on Prescription Diet W/D.  As soon as she went on that her stools were perfect.  As soon as she went back on Avoderm, she was back to diarrhea.  Currently I mix the W/D with Avoderm and she is able to do fine with that.  I would really like to get her off the W/D completely since it is such a horrible food, but I think the extremely high fiber in it helps keep her regular.  Does anyone know of a good quality food that is very high in fiber (like 10%)?  The highest I can find is about 5.5%.  Thanks.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Jackie, I’m glad you found this food and that it’s working well for your dogs!  Avoderm is made by Breeder’s Choice and has been around for quite some time, though I feel it’s an often overlooked food.  It’s available in Petsmart and Petco.  They’ve never had a recall.  Some people are “scared off” by the use of avocado, but this food is a perfectly fine food.  Imho, it’s also reasonably priced.  Breeder’s Choice makes Pinnacle as well, which doesn’t use avocado btw, and is another fine food.  I’ve used both and like them, and the company.  I also believe they make a food (don’t remember its name) that actually does contain a therapeutic amount of glucosamine and chondroitin.  Oh….I think it’s called ActiveCare or something like that lol.  Anyway, sorry for rambling!  Glad you found a food that’s decent and working well!  :-)

  • Jackie

    I have a Golden and a maltese both on AdvoDerm grain free Salmon both dogs love it,are very healthy never a problem.My golden used to have seizures twice a week on the cheaper dog food that had all the grains and garbage in it,she has not had a siezure in 4 years since switching her to the better dog food.I highly recommend it..My maltese has a beautiful soft white coat and also loves it.

  • Thelifeofrue

    I just started my puppy on this food. I read a few comments that said their dogs had loose stools for the first few days. That WILL HAPPEN if you put a dog on a rich food like this. If you put your dog on Innova, Blue, anything like that, they will loose stools also because they are rich foods, BUT they are also extremely good for your dog because they are rich in vitamins, minerals, and good ingredients. Im excited about using this food

  • Davenportmare

    Here is a food that does not deserve 4 stars, it smells bad, identical to Canidae made my dogs not want to eat after 2 days & loose stools smelled bad also. I don’t understand why dog foods like these get by with 4 stars, Ideal Balance Science Diet much better food and formulated by Vets, they must know something all these other company’s don’t!!

  • Shawna

    Should have read all the way up :)

    You and Hound dog mom had this already covered :)..

  • Shawna

    “Is An Avocado Toxic to Dogs and Cats?

    This much is true: Parts of an avocado contain an oil-soluble toxin called persin. Specifically, the fruit’s seed, bark and leaves are composed of this toxic, fatty acid derivative.

    But is persin poisonous to our dogs and cats?

    “Despite the rumors, avocado is not poisonous to dogs, nor likely to cats,” says Dr. Justine Lee, a board-certified emergency critical care veterinary specialist and the associate director of Veterinary Services at Pet Poison Helpline, an animal poison control based out of Minneapolis, MN.

    “Dogs and cats don’t seem to be affected by persin,” explains Lee. “However, birds and large animals (such as horses and cattle) have issues with persin toxicity, as it can be deadly in these species.”  http://www.petinsurance.com/healthzone/pet-articles/pet-health-toxins/Avocados-and-Pets.aspx

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I’m not saying Avoderm will work for every dog, in fact, one poster below says her dog got sick eating it, but all I know is that Breeder’s Choice and Avoderm have never been recalled.  Lots of people feed the food with great success.  I have used it in the past with success.  Like all dog foods, it all depends on the dog whether or not it will work.  I like the company.  I’m actually using their Pinnacle brand atm. 

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Any ingredient included in a dog food has to be GRAS for dogs – meaning the FDA has to determine it is “generally recognized as safe” therefore if the part of the avocado included in Avoderm’s food were poisonous to dogs they wouldn’t be able to sell it commercially. 

    According to Dr. Justine Lee (board certified emergency critical care veterinarian): “Despite the rumors, avocado is not poisonous to dogs, nor likely to cats. Dogs and cats don’t seem to be affected by persin (the substance in avocado accused of being poisonous). However, birds and large animals (such as horses and cattle) have
    issues with persin toxicity, as it can be deadly in these species.”

    “Dogs and cats don’t seem to be affected by persin,” explains Lee.
    “However, birds and large animals (such as horses and cattle) have
    issues with persin toxicity, as it can be deadly in these species.

  • Eve’sHumanMom

    Hi Lapr60,
    After seeing a tv special featuring a homemade food for a dog including avocado, I wondered myself.  In addition to the information on the Avoderm site that Hound Dog Mom notes, there are these references: http://www.pawesome.net/2010/08/are-avocados-really-toxic-to-dogs-raise-a-paw/

    http://www.petinsurance.com/healthzone/pet-articles/pet-health-toxins/Avocados-and-Pets.aspx

    http://www.petmd.com/blogs/fullyvetted/2010/january/bad-dog-breath-try-garlic-and-avocados-oops-second-thought 

    Basically, it is the leaves, pit, and skin that contain the toxin persin, the Guatemala variety of avocado, which has the highest quantities.  Birds are especially sensitive, but dogs are more likely to choke on the pit or get indigestion from the fat (as they would if they ate a stick of butter) than be poisoned by the fruit.

  • Jess

     MJ, the avocado is toxic to dogs. I am surprised any dog food would have it in it, My dog got sick on Avoderm and thats why I researched it.  It doesn’t bother all dogs, but it sure did mine.

    http://www.missouriscenicrivers.com/baddogfoods.html

  • MJ

     The seed in the avocado is poisonous to them not the pulp! The seed is not used to make the Dog food.

  • Hound Dog Mom

     http://www.avodermnatural.com/About/why_avocados.htm

  • http://www.vibrantcruises.com/ Jo-Ann

    They’ve been in business for a very long time. Ask your vet about toxicity. I think quantities are so low it’s not an issue, but I’m not an expert. My dog continues to thrive on it. That’s all the proof I need.

  • Lapr60

    My dog Love it. But, I am worry about Avocado on it.
    Is the avocado toxic for my dog?

  • Jcvmar

    Is this dry dog food recommended for my 3 and 9 month old dobermans? Their currently on nutro ultra. What would be the ideal choice

  • Jcvmar

    Would this dry dog food be good for my 3 and 9 month old dobermans, I’m currently feeding them nutro ultra. What would be better

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Nature’s Select Hi-Protein (puppy) green bag comes in 50 lbs.  I get the green bag or the grain free bag for my fosters.

    http://naturalpetfooddelivery.com/

  • Ashley85

    Our store sells 30 lb bags of adult food… the puppy food is 15 lbs, but most puppy food comes in smaller bags.

    My pup loves this food.

  • Kishirian

    PetSmart still sells the big bags of Large Breed Puppy…

  • http://www.vibrantcruises.com/ Jo-Ann

    End of May, and my dog is still doing GREAT on Avoderm chicken and rice. For the first time in a year I was able to buy a huge bag of food. No more ear infections and itching. The price for this food is half of what I was paying for his last food (Great Life, Buffalo) and he has fabulous energy. Shinier coat … I really can’t tell. He’s a goldendoodle and a curly-q kind of dog.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    This review is up now….Avoderm Revolving Menu.

  • Wynfieldck

    Would like to see reviews on the new revolving menu also.

  • Jen CB

    Mike – I wonder if you could review the new line of Avoderm called Revolving Menu.  It seems that many grain free dog foods are only 3 stars when their meat and grain counterparts are 4 stars.  The new Avoderm line is grain free so I would love to know how that rates.  Also, how important is it to feed large breed dog food versus regular?  I have my 65 lb. golden retriever on Avoderm large breed but it only comes in one flavor so she gets no variety.  Is there a big difference between large breed formulas and regular?  Thanks for your help!

  • Skryvania

    All I can add is that I was feeding a$60-70 a bag food I purchased at a “doggie whole foods” as I call it. I noticed my Standard Poodle was getting mushy and fat. I began to feed her less but never thought anything about the food because I had highest confidence in the brand. I went to purchase the food and a different employee said to me, “Oh, that’s just so high fat!”. The next week I purchased Avoderm Chicken and brown rice And she’s never looked better! I am alternating with the other food for other protein sources and because they LOVE some of the other favors, but keeping Avoderm as their primary food. I’m a believer!!

  • http://www.vibrantcruises.com/ Jo-Ann

    My dog has had allergies for almost a year, and I’ve tried one dog food after another. I switched him to Avoderm about two weeks ago, and I don’t know if it’s coincidental, but the itching has completely stopped. I have him on chicken and brown rice, which he’s never had. I’m thrilled and hope it lasts.

  • Pwieseler

    Try NutriSource, it is made here in Perham Minnesota. Highly recomended.

  • melissa

    I have used Avoderm in the  past, but I simply refuse to buy 15lb bags of anything : ) A shame as I had good luck with their products in the past, but this decision will lose my business and I am sure many other people who have larger dogs and ant the 30lb size.

  • Imlittleturner

    Hi Melissa, thank you for your response.  I contacted the company yesterday and they confirmed they were discontinuing the larger bags and increasing the price of the smaller bag. They said their costs were also going up, but they “refused to compromise on using quality ingredients.” On one hand, I’m happy they are committed to quality. On the other hand, I’m angry over paying more for less product.

  • melissa

     Imlittleturner-

    I would email the company and ask if that is true before changing, if the food works for you. It may be where you buy your food is just not carrying the larger bag any longer.

  • Imlittleturner

    My 7 year old German Shepherd/Samoyed mix has been on AvoDerm’s lamb and brown rice formula for the past few years. She is prone to skin allergies but seems to thrive on this formula. (Beautiful, shiny coat and no gas). Apparently, AvoDerm is discontinuing the 26 and 30 lb bags of food and are only manufacturing the 15 lb bags at a higher price. I like AvoDerm but am not pleased about the price increase. I’ve had her on a lamb and rice formula since she was a puppy. She was on Nutro for a while and Drs. Foster and Smith. Can anyone recommend a 4 star lamb and brown rice formula that is not insanely expensive?

  • Maryna

    Thank you for the suggestions! I, for one, have always used the dog’s food as treating because I never had found a treat small enough for a dog to eat fast. I hope I can get her weight down and if I can’t, I’ll take her to the vet to see what they say. So thanks again :]

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Maryna,

    In the picture on the tractor I can’t tell that she has an abdominal tuck (waistline). I have obesity prone pugs and have had many fosters come through needing to lose weight.  I just make sure they get a food with not less than 30 protein and grain free and definitely measure their food, no free feeding and very few treats.  A treat for potty break and that’s it and daily walking. A treat can even be the dog food kibble or other meat treat.

    Here’s one of my foster pigs – he really did look like a pig instead of a pug.  He lost 10 pounds and then got adopted.

  • Maryna

    I am so very excited, as we are getting our 1 1/2 year old dachshund, who we are naming Daisy, in just a few weeks. Now I have never owned a dog but I am dog crazy and I have been doing my research. This is the food I have picked for her and I am excited to try thanks to all the positive comments about it. It sounds like a great food, although I still want to try Wellness Core as well. And also, by the way she looks in the pictures I have, she looks overweight. I haven’t seen her in person yet but she looks that way to me. My plan for that is just to get her on a schedule and feed her measured amounts. I won’t take any action until I actually know her current weight, but as soon as she is in my house, I’ll weigh her and start her schedule. Any suggestions?

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    They also have a new line – Revolving Menu.  It is a single protein source/grain free food.

  • JudyB

    Someone mentioned animals becoming ill when eating rhubarb out in a field but yet her friends like rhubarb pie: rhubarb leaves have high amounts of oxalic acid, which is also poisonous to humans, but you can eat the stalks, which is what you use to make rhubarb pie. I know birds can’t have avocado, and was pleased to read that dogs can.  I may try this brand, as my dog (recently adopted) has some skin issues – healing nicely, but this may be helpful to him.

  • Guest

    Our French Bulldog developed pretty bad food allergies about 6 months ago (he’s 3.5yrs now). Our vet was sure a food allergy was the reason he kept having reoccurring skin issues. He gave us some guidelines for new food & I picked out the Avoderm Salmon & Potatoes product. Guess what? No more skin problems & our little guy is SO much happier (no itching)!

  • Mike D

    cilantrO

  • Shawna

    Our 2.5 year old Yellow Lab loves Avoderm.  We switched her about over a year ago because she was getting lots of ear infections, scratching a lot and her paws were cracked and bleeding.  We had been feeding her Royal Canin, but that wasn’t working.  She absolutely loves the Avoderm Chicken or Beef.  She isn’t fond of the lamb.  She hasn’t had 1 ear infection since and her paws are fine.  It’s amazing how much dog food can effect them. 

  • CAR

    Diamond Naturals is a great food. The budget Diamond is what gave the company a bad name a few years ago. I wouldnt worry about it now. Either way Diamond Naturals or Avoderm are both great products.

  • CAR.

    Guacamole is not Avocado. Avocado is part of the dip which also consists of jalapenos, onions, tomatos, and sometimes cilantra. And the only part thats bad is the peel of the avocado.

  • Jestine

    I feed Avoderm to my dogs and love it. My Great Danes started it as puppies that I rescued from a breeder. It was a God-send when my boy had was unable to handle any other food with out serious intestinal and bloating reactions. He was claimed by Wobbler’s he lived until 6. His sister just passed 2 months ago at age 11. My remaining dogs also rescues all are very healthy with great health and amazing skin and coats. I hope that the quality and consistency never changes.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Karen, Breeder’s Choice, the maker of Avoderm (and Pinnacle), has been around for quite a long time. They have never had a recall (to my knowledge, anyway). Avoderm, itself, has been around a long time and I have never heard of anyone’s dog having adverse reactions to the food because of the avocado used. That being said, if a dog (like your, for instance) has a reaction like itchiness, diarrhea, etc. that has continued for awhile perhaps it’s time to try a new food. One suggestion is to go to a grain free food and try that for awhile to see if the itching stops.

  • sandy

    If your dog is still itching alot, might try changing foods.

  • Karen

    Help! We have been feeding this dog food to our dog for about a year now. He loves it and we have seen a difference in his shiny coat & energy, but he still seems to itch a lot. I was reading about foods that are bad or poisonous to dogs, and I saw Avacado on it. This is what it said: “Avocado
    No matter how good you think the guacamole is, you shouldn’t give it to your dog. Avocados contain a substance called persin. It’s harmless for humans who aren’t allergic. But large amounts might be toxic to dogs. If you happen to be growing avocados at home, keep your dog away from the plants. Persin is in the leaves, seed, and bark, as well as in the fruit”.
    Is this true? Maybe there isn’t enough in his food to make a difference? Not sure what to do now.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    @Gina….as the saying goes…it’s never too late (or you’re never too old lol) to learn something new! Don’t feel bad. Most of us at one time didn’t think much about our animals’ food either. Just be glad you finally did learn and can now make an informed decision!

  • Gina

    I have considered it. My 114 lb lab is 12. I just recently started reading and being concerned for my expensive LGD’s.
    I never knew dog food was made so differant, I knew nothing about by-products, bone meal, corn, skin irritations etc.
    I should give it a try on my older lab, maybe it will aleast allow him to finish out his life healthy. I honestly just never gave any thought to dog food until 6 months ago.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Gina…none of my business, really, but are you considering using Avoderm for your house dog, too? If in your budget, I would definitely consider it, if I were you. Sounds like he/she would definitely benefit, as well. Have a great day!

  • Gina

    I bought 2 LGD’s at 8 weeks old. Brought them home and found that they had heat spots. The breeder stated their dogs never got heat spots before. I switched them from the recommended dog food to Avoderm for puppies and now Avoderm for large dogs. They have not had a heat spot until they ate my house dogs cheeper dog food and 2 days later the begining of heat spots again. Needless to say I now keep the cheeper dog food away from them getting access. Also they live in the pasture with my sheep. The reduction in waste on 2 100 lb dogs is incredable!! Compared to the 100 lb house dog that I feed a cheeper dogfood too. My front yard looks like a mine field…LOL. I highly recommend Avoderm.

  • christine

    I have three dogs, a 2 yo pit bull, a 6.5 yo black lab, and a 5 yo yellow lab/beagle mix. I have been feeding them AvoDerm Natural Chicken Meal and Brown Rice Large Breed Adult and am constantly getting comments on the shininess and general appearance of their coats…especially the pit bull. I recommend this dog food highly and all of my dogs love it too!

  • kathy

    I also purchased a bag of Wellness Puppy and my Morkie puppy won’t touch it. Next I tried Acana and he will tolerate that but only if I mix it with my older dog’s Diamond Naturals. They both love the Diamond Naturals but I’ve heard controversial things about the company so I’m trying to wean everyone off of it. So my last attempt was to buy Avoderm. Both dogs absolutely love it and can’t get enough! I tried samples of the All Life Stage and the chicken and brown rice formula and they love them both.

  • Deb

    Hi new here. I have a 5 month old Bichon and was feeding him Royal Canin recomended by the breeder. Started reading your site and whole dog journal so bought Wellness Just for Puppy, dry and canned. He doesn’t like the Wellness dry, won’t eat it at all, prefers Royal Canin (which sounds like poor quality food after visiting sites). He does like Wellness canned. He does have some itching. I’d like to try a new dry food that he’ll eat with gusto like the Royal Canin. Any suggestions? It sounds like Avoderm might be good food for his itching. I want to feed him 5 star food but he’s a fussy eater. Thanks. Deb

  • Jeremy B

    Thank you Antonio, Jonathan and Mike! We appreciate the help!

  • Antonio

    @Jeremy B… Jonathan makes a good point, Salmon oil does wonders for the coat on a lot of dogs, also make sure your not bathing the dog too often, if the dogs are bathing too regular their coats will become very dull and dried out w/ time. Most people are astonished to learn I only bath my dog about once every 2mths, maybe a little more frequent in the summer months, and NOO they don’t have the Doggy odor inside my house (at least my neighbors said they couln’t smell it :) )

  • Jonathan

    Jeremy, try adding Salmon Oil to your dog’s Blue. I started using Salmon oil (you can get it at most pet stores) with my Sadie dog, and after 5 days, I could already tell a difference in her coat. She even stopped shedding by about 60%. Not to mention she LOVES the taste!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jeremy… Our reviews are based strictly upon apparent ingredient quality and estimated meat content and not expected results. Unfortunately, due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, I cannot provide customized product recommendations for each reader. For more help, please check out my reviews and visit our FAQ page. Look for the topic, “Help Me Choose a Dog Food”. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

  • Jeremy B

    MIke,

    My dog has shown some weakness in her coat over the past 6 months and we are thinking that this could be related to her diet. She is currently eating Blue Buffalo. Everything is great with her except for her coat. Before we spend thousands of dollars trying to see if her coat can get any better from a vet, we wanted to try another food. I noticed that this food claims to have good results with skin and coat. Do you recommend this food for coat growth? If not, any other food that you would recommend us trying?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Connie… I’m sure your vet means well. However, based on ingredient quality and meat content, there are many better dog foods out there for you to choose from. Most (but not all) “senior” dog foods are notorious for being low in meat content and high in carbs. Just because a dog is less active as he ages and needs fewer calories, it’s hard to justify such high carb diets. You may wish to look through our higher-rated dog foods and simply feed less than the suggested amount. Hope this helps.

  • David G

    I’ve been feeding our 3 the Avoderm and TOTW and getting alot better results since i took them off the purina dog chow.
    If you started feeding any of the 3, 4, 5 star foods list here i’m sure you would see alot of good results as well.
    I have no complaints with the Avoderm and it may be a good starting point for you. Just make sure to transition the food over 1-3 weeks

  • http://divecatalina.net Connie Rae

    I have two dogs; one is 13 years old. The 13 year old is a llaso poodle mix who has been eating Science Diet matue dog food for years. It is all that my vet sells and although I’ve heard controversy over it, my vet says it’s one of the best. It has only a one star. Why shouldn’t I believe my vet? I am beginning to believe that he makes more money selling this and of course, at premium pricing I’d rather have a higher real meat contest like the holistic or Avoderm. What do you recommend?

  • Brandi

    Denise Rae – I am getting a 3/4 blue heeler, 1/4 Australian Shepherd mix this weekend and am looking at gradually switching her to AvoDerm Puppy (she’s on purina puppy now). It’s good to hear that your dogs are doing great on it. I am probably going to switch my older Shiba Inu (7yr, 4 mo) to the senior since she’s getting up there in age and will need some good food to keep up with Rami (the new puppy).

  • Melissa

    Lol..both Meagan and David. Its amazing what dogs will do and what they are capable of “knowing”. I adopted an Iggy that was fed Purina since the day he was rescued. He was a “total freak” and he came to me as a foster orginally, then permanent. The first day I figured to feed him his regular food that he was used to, and my dogs ate theirs. He sniffed at the crate door to see what they had and when I let him out 20 mins later, I discovered that not only had he not eaten, but he had pooped in the bowl atop the food. He went directly on “my dogs” food after that and now gleefully finishes every meal(prefers Canidae to Propac) topped with canned.

  • David G

    speaking of DROOL, stopped by the neighbors to visit and just so happens i’d just picked up a bag of TOTW HP.
    I’ve been discussing dog foods with them already, so thought what the heck, we’ll see what Ragen (8 month old German Shep 92 lbs) thinks of this stuff. So i open the bag, grab a small handful of food and proceed to let him eat a little at a time out of my hand. needless to say he devours it and as we continue our conversation, we turn around to see the dog sitting & staring at the back door of my car, he’d raise his head to peer thru the window to see that yellow bag. So we call him back to the garage and as he comes back to the garage we see this huge string of slobber hanging to the ground and of course the neighbors are just stunned!! and all i can say is ” See, he knows good food!” jaws dropped and still staring in awe at the dog they say ” think we’ll be switching foods now”. Of course, he then follows me around for the next 2 hrs sniffing and prancing and drooling for another handful of this food.
    The awful thing is Ragen has been fed Purina and now Bil-jac since he was a pup and they have been paying more for this food than what the TOTW cost. We’ll get them on the right track soon enough

  • Meagan

    Not sure if i would rather have them bark or drool. My catahoula starts dripping saliva when I am getting up the stairs before I even open the food container. I think he needs a bib. HA ha

  • David G

    LOL, My mini aussie Roamin’ has to bark for his bowl every morning. It’s just his routine.

  • Melissa

    Meagan–

    LOL..I have never had a single bag last that long, so I am amazed! : ) That is the idea of what I do- The “base” of my crews food right now is the ProPac with the Canidae mixed in. Since our food goes quickly, I mix it in a bin(keeping the bags) and there is not a concern of it going bad. I mix it in the bin at 2-1 favoring the Propac. To that, I add the smallest bag of a grainfree(right now its the Instinct) When that mix is gone, I repeat the bin mixing process but with a new grain free.(The Propac and the Canidae will remain the same for a few months, then the Propac goes(the oldest) then a few months later the Canidae etc)

    For those wondering about my rational or how I choose brands-Some of my dogs do best with the corn in the food, some do best with probiotics, and others get gas from the probiotics. It took a while, but I found this mix favors all the dogs(except the one who can only eat grainfree) As I rotate out foods, its replaced with a “like” food-for example, the ProPac has no probiotics and would be replaced with a food w.out Probiotics etc.

    I have been feeding based on the calories of the “main base”(propac) and all seem to have wonderful body weight now and coats. Some are actually getting a bit pudgy, so in another week or two I will cut those back until I find the “right” amounts.

    Since your food lasts so long Meagan, you could also just feed the normal amount of dry and use the 5 star as an added in topper(which we do with the better 5 star fish based products so that my bin doesn’t smell fishy!) When I do this, I just dish up their food, reach into the bag and sprinkle a handful on top of the “regular” mix. The only problem we have now is that the dogs bark their fool heads off at feeding time waiting for their bowls to hit the floor!

  • Meagan

    Melissa- I have a 40# bag of Diamond Naturals Beef and Rice that they have only been eating for about two weeks. That leaves about 2 months or more left of the bag.
    I would really like to buy another brand and start doing the “mix rotation” with that. Should I buy the smallest bag of a new brand (say Earthborn Holistic Primitive Natural) and mix in little by little every day? and then when that small bag is gone buy a different brand? Thats the idea right..

  • Melissa

    David G-

    I have to say getting one food for all dogs can be a problem. lol, and that was one of the reasons I started mixing them together(and not being able to get one brand as often as I needed-we feed ALOT of dog food here) Just today called the petstore to order Propac and Canidae, and was told their warehouse is out-it will be 2 weeks to get it..sigh…

  • David G

    That was kinda my point as well Melissa about mixing 2 or more together. What one food may lack in nutrients, ingredients, proteins, or carbs etc. — another food may make up for.
    Denise, We have a Mini Aussie(2.5), Toy Aussie(3), and a Sheltie(7) that started out very well on the Avoderm.The Mini occasionally turns away from the Avoderm but eats the other kibble— this is why i am trying the mixed diet instead of the rotational diet, to see what kibbles they really go after and which ones they don’t care for. Also, i can buy the smaller bags to mix together more evenly and if one or the other dislikes a particular kibble then they have the other to fall back on. The goal here is to find the very best food that all 3 will do well on together.

  • Denise Rae

    I have one Australian Cattle Dog and one Australian Shepherd, I have been feeding Avo-Derm chicken adult for 3 years, and I fed the puppy for 2 years, my cattle dog will be 5 in June and I always have people comment on how clean and soft my dogs are even when they are dirty and I know they need a bath people always say how clean they are, I don’t brush them as often as I should, but they never have knots or tangles, they are doing great on this food and I believe they gave it four stars, I just give it to them dry, I don’t feed scraps or add anything to it. they love it, and when training I use it for treat rewards. They will do anything for it.

  • melissa

    Mike P-

    How would you be missing out on nutrients by mixing foods together? Isn;t a meal of chicken and fish more nutritious then just a meal of chicken? : ) Is your salad any “worse” for you if you are eating it as an appetizer than if you are eating it solo?

    Each food has the potential to be lacking in something, or “too high” in something. If you feed one food long term, you are increasing the chances of either deficits or toxic overload. The question becomes “how long equals too long?” to feed any one product. I have dogs that are sensitive to food change, and due to breed genetics, are more prone to developing certain conditions from food changes(IBD/Colitis and pancreatitis) . If I switched foods every bag, I would be paying a whole lot of vet bills.

    One thing I will tell you, is that I never alternate between same brands. My personal belief is that if something were to be lacking in a company’s product or excessive in a companys product, it will be across the board in product line-so I switch between brands, rather than protein source within a brand. I switch what I consider to be the “baseline” foods probably three times a year, and during that time often add a third food into the mix randomly to vary their diet and keep it exciting.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Mike P… You’d probably be getting an even more nutritious overall nutrient profile by using diet rotation. No mixture could be perfect. What in life is? But by diversifying the proteins, nutrients, etc. you are minimizing the shortcomings of each recipe. Good job.

  • Mike P

    Hey guys , my only question is … Are you missing out on nutrients by mixing two foods together ? I mean if you rotate every 3rd bag would you be getting max nutrents the way quality foods are designed to do ??

  • Meagan

    Melissa-Great idea! I have run into problems of food not being there when I need it. I think I may be able to afford to feed two at once. I was thinking of running through the earthborn holistic formulas with the diamond naturals.

  • melissa

    Meagan-

    that is what I do as well, except I only mix two drys at a time, not three. I started doing this several years ago as it was often a problem getting foods at the store(not the big box ones) and I did not want stomach issues as we ran into before..so now, if one is not available, there are no stomach issues simply switching 100percent to the other food if need be. Right now, for the time being, it looks like I will do Pro Pac and Canidae, then either pro pac or Canidae and a new one..each “cycle” I change out the “oldest’ one-

    Right now , they are eating Pro Pac and Annamaet, but the Annamaet did cause loose stool in some of them!

  • Meagan

    Ok cool! Makes perfect sense. I might try this with mine

  • Jonathan

    That’s right, Jackie… hey that’s my daughter’s name! :-) and my Jackie helps me do just that every morning. Sadie gets 3 cups a day, so in the morning, she gets 1 1/2 cups which is simply 1/2 cup of each of the three foods. Then we do that again at night. If I top her food at night with fat, oil, or canned, I just eliminate some of the kibble so that she’s not getting too many calories.

  • Jackie

    I suppose you could just put in even amounts. If your dog eats 3 cups of food a day, 1 cup of each. ;)

  • Meagan

    Jonathan- How do you mix them together evenly enough?

  • Jonathan

    Or, you could try what I do… I have three foods mixed evenly together all the time. When one bag runs out, a new third food is introduced. This routine I have Sadie on makes bringing in a new food simple, because each new food only replaces a 3rd of what she was eating. So far, I have not seen any stool problems. Right now she is eating Earthborn Primitive Natural, Core original, and Nutro Herring. The Nutro is almost gone, so I’m going to introduce a third grain-free food and try to keep rotating on 5-star foods only. Of course, when money is tight, I know I can always slip in a bag of Pro Pac or Perfectly Natural, which Sadie loves, and not feel bad about it.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi David… For your dog’s enjoyment, why not consider diet rotation rather than mixing the two together.

  • Mike P

    hi david, i use avoderm canned as a topper with merricks before grain . her coat is silky soft ..i also brush daily

  • David G

    Hi to everyone, I have been feeding our 3 dogs Avoderm chicken/rice for a few weeks now with some marked improvements in skin and coat.
    And the most notable improvement has been huge reduction in waste ( new meaning to “purina dog chow is literally crap!”)
    Anyway, I’m thinking about trying 2 different brands together and was curious how many others way be doing this as well???
    I’m thinking the Avoderm and TOTW together just for the added benefit of their respective ingredients together.
    Or, should i just stick to one and stay with it?

  • Meagan

    Jessica- (Jan 23) Avoderm has a cat formula that does not have corn in it. Its is the adult Salmon and Brown Rice.
    Ingredients
    Salmon, Salmon Meal, Ground Whole Brown Rice, Ground Whole White Rice, Egg Product, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols). Yay bout time they figured it out for the kitties.

  • Jonathan

    Sounds like a well-fed pup, CathyB! :-)

  • CathyB

    I want to thank Mike and all contributors for a great website. I had lots of trouble with my Multigen Labradoodle, who seemed to have only three modes when I first switched her diet away from Wellness Puppy when we got her because the lamb was causing allergic reactions in MY skin (I had found the same with our cat and his food, so at least I knew it wasn’t the dog, thank goodness). It seemed like no matter what i tried at first, she always had diarrhea, bad constipation, and anxiety scratching. After lots and lots of reading ingredient lists and trial and error two years later I have come up with a mix of three foods which have worked miracles for us: Avoderm Dry Chicken and Rice for the itch, and to loosen up some constipation, Evo Chicken dry, and Taste of the Wild Salmon because it’s apparently delicious. Plus my daughter shares meat and cheese when she’s snacking or gets full before her plate is empty, and when I’m preparing chicken for the family , I often ‘accidentally’ drop some on the floor. This way she doesn’t bother me at the table, but I feel like she’s getting a fair deal. She also gets Paul Newman’s Peanut Butter treats and Charlie bear cheese and egg treats occasionally, and she seems to be an incredibly healthy and happy dog.

  • Jackie

    Based on your review site (and the limited choices in West TX) I started feeding my mini poodle Avoderm Naturals. He loves it! I got him from a shelter where they fed Pedigree (which is much lower quality), so he is very pleased. I have been slowly transferring him from the Pedigree and he has been doing well, no bowel problems. Avoderm itself is just a much more appetizing food: it isn’t dusty or grainy; the packaging is airtight so it isn’t stale; and it is in small enough sizes that he has no trouble eating it (he is 15.4 lbs).
    Thanks Mr Sagman!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi John F… I’ll check on these recipes as soon as possible. We’ll also look into the grain free product line, too. Thanks for the update.

  • John F.

    Hi Mike, I left you a note before that the ingredient list had changed slightly with Avoderm… well, they’ve FINALLY updated their website to reflect the change: http://www.avodermnatural.com/Dog_Foods/adult_cr.htm

    Whenever you get around to it, I’d much appreciate an updated review. I understand you’re very busy, but I just thought I’d pass this along. And to echo what another commenter said, Avoderm is now making grain-free formulas.

    Thanks for all that you do!

  • Gail

    Hi, great website. I started my little dog on Avoderm canned dog food and he’s doing great on it. He used to smell bad and have awful smelling gas from Purina. Glad I switched! It’s not that expensive either for a much better dog food.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sue… Please be sure to read my comments and footnote about avocado included in this review. I summarize my narrative there with the following statement…

    “It is our opinion that the anxiety over avocado ingredients in dog food (in reasonable amounts, of course) is probably unjustified.”

    Hope this helps reassure you.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kathleen… Thanks to your suggestion, I’ve now added AvoDerm Grain Free to my To Do list. However, due to our current backlog of products for review, it could be a while longer before we get to it. Thanks again for the tip.

  • sue

    if Avacado is toxic to your dog why would you feed that.

  • Kathleen

    Avoderm has just come out with a grain free formula. beef and salmon options.

  • Jonathan

    Oh, and don’t discount the grain free Wilderness! that one may give your pup an even better diet!

  • Jonathan

    Good luck.. And you may want to purchase the 15LB bag of the chicken and rice formula… just in case there is a common grain in the two formulas that they still have a problem with… but again, as I said, it could be one miss-handled bag, or it could have been environmental.

    In any account, let use know how the Chicken and Rice goes! :-)

  • Linda B.

    Thanks for all the feedback. i think i am going to change them to a chicken/rice formula. I think y’all r right that they have just gotten intolerant to something in this formula. they r eating “home made” chicken and rice at the moment. The part that stinks is i just bought a new 30 lb bag of fish & potato a couple of weeks go so i have about 15 lbs of it left. I’d donate it to my local shelter but it is not in the original bag. I empty the bag out into 2 plastic containers when i get it… ugh, so much money wasted…
    thanks again, wish me luck…LOL

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Linda B… Sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, since each dog responds to a particular food in its own unique way, I cannot provide customized product recommendations with any degree of predictability. Please visit our FAQ page and look for the topic, “Help Me Choose a Dog Food” or maybe “Dog Food Allergies” for more information. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

  • Antonio

    Linda,

    It’s possible that the dog food is the culprit of your problems, but also like Jonathan stated it’s likely that is some other variable as well. And Jonathan is right, if your dogs don’t have any meat allergies or anything, trying rotating another protein in the diet, and if you must feed a fish formula, try TOTW Pacific Stream or Natural Balance Fish and Sweet Potato formula, both are manufactured by Diamond but should be comparable to Blue Buff Fish and Sweet Pot formula.

  • Jonathan

    Linda, the recall was voluntary. It was for a mildly elevated vitamin D level that was still within the allowable range by AAFCO. Only a few dogs had any reaction to it. Not to mention that this recall was quite some time ago, and had nothing to do with the variety you are feeding. I have tons of customers who feed Blue with no problems.

    Maybe your dogs are becoming intolerant to an ingredient in that formula because you have been giving it to them for so long with no change. It’s always a good idea to rotate product. Even if you are just going from one protein to another within a brand.

    Another thing is that they could have gotten into something outside that you don’t know about. A dead animal or a chemical or something of the like. And it is possible you have a bag of food that was MISSHANDLED by they shipper or the store and became contaminated.

    I would think the last two ideas are more likely the case, because it’s doubtful that they both became intolerant to the food at the same time. All I’m saying is, before axing the food (which, it would seem, has been working great for over 2 years for your dogs) maybe just get a bag of the Blue Chicken and Rice or Lamb and Rice and see how they do with that?

  • Linda B.

    Ok gang i need some help here. Both of my dogs have been eating blue Buffalo fish and potato formula for over 2 yrs, and doing fine on it. Untill recently, now i have spent over $500 this month in vet bills/medication because BOTH of them have been getting diarrhea. They are both on a no corn, no wheat , no gluten diet, they ABSOLUTLY do not get any table scraps. I am concerned that it is coming from ‘tainted” bags of this “high quality” food. I just learned of the Blue Buffalo food recall, from last fall, and eventhough my exact formula wasnt on the recall list, i cant help but think this is the problem. So currently, as of yesterday actually, the vet has me feeding them a bland diet of boiled chicken and white rice, for a week or so. but i am wondering what kind og wood to try them on after that. I was leaning toward the AvoDerm Chicken and Brown Rice large breed. Please, any feedback would be welcome.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jo Ann… Brewers yeast is “red” on the list because it can be a controversial item. It’s not necessarily “bad”. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient contains about 45% protein… and is rich in other healthy nutrients. Supporters believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

    Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

    What’s more, a rather vocal minority insist yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is something we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

    In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can be considered a nutritious additive.

  • Jo Ann

    I have been researching changing my dogs food. I like this AvoDerm but I did have one question. In the Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content there is one Red Item, dried brewers yeast, but I don’t see any mention of it in your comments. You mention the avocado which is not Red. Is the yeast a problem?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi John… We usually await reviewing changes until the website has been updated. Hopefully, this will be very soon. Thanks for the tip.

  • John F.

    Odd… I’m looking at the Avoderm website, and it still has the old ingredient list up. I’ve also Googled around and can’t find any information on the new packaging and formula. I would think Avoderm would have updated their own website!

  • John F.

    Mike, I noticed today at the store that there is new packaging for Avoderm, along with some slight changes in the formula. What stuck out most to me was the addition of tomato pomace. Since I just decided to try this food for my dog because I was having problems with my previous food, I was hoping you might be able to update your review. I’m most interested in finding out if this is still a 4 star food. Thank you for your fabulous site!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Layla… If the puppy food is listed within the same review, its rating should be considered the same as the adult food.

  • Layla

    I am currently in the process of getting a puppy and I am curious to know if the puppy food is as satisfactory as the adult food.

  • Jonathan

    Stephanie, plant-based protein is an inferior (and often times, cheaper) ingredient. Please have a look at Mike’s article…
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosing-dog-food/dog-food-gluten/

  • Stephanie

    Hello! I am doing research on your site to find a better food for my dog so I’m comparing the ingredients to the different brands. One thing that I have found you mention a few times is the “plant-based protein boosters”. I cannot tell whether or not you mean this is a good or bad ingredient. Could you please clarify this? That would help a lot! Thank you! :)

  • Jessica

    My dog has a very sensitive system and he can’t anything with corn or grain products because it causes him to get hot spots. When I first got him I started with a couple of different brands of dog food and then a manager where I work (petsmart) recommended I try AvoDerm Lamb and Rice. Within two weeks his hot spots were gone, his hair was growing back and he was much more active. I haven’t changed his food since and I am certainly going to start now. When I am at work and people come in asking for dog food suggestions, I always show them AvoDerm first. People seem to like when the employees have good testimonies on tried and true products! Thanks for providing an excellent product :D

  • Jessica

    I have both dogs and cats. There seems to be a trend where the brands that make good dog food have similar standards for cat food. (It is somewhat difficult to find good dry cat food reviews online, so I have been looking at the good dog food brands for all my animals and then compare the cat food ingredients in those brands) Avoderm does not actually seem to follow this trend… at all. There is a bigger difference here than any other food I have checked. I do not understand really why a company that uses such good ingredients in dog food would ruin their cat food with ground yellow corn and corn gluten meal as the 2nd and 3rd ingredients…

  • Karen B.

    My dog was having problems with skin itching and cysts between his toes. We did some research and found that his problems could be linked to dog food allergies. He was on a combination of Kirkland Sig. healthy weight & Beneful. We found your site and found out that Benneful wasn’t a very good food. We got him off of the Benneful and started him on the Avoderm. Man what a difference. His cysts disappeared and he has the softest, shiniest coat he has ever had. We have also noticed he seems to have more energy and just generally seems more happy! We are happy to have found your website and will continue to refer other peole your way. Thanks!

  • Stephanie King

    Thanks Mike. The store didn’t have any Avo Derm for my mix breed so I will look again after Christmas.
    The pups still like the AvoDerm and but the female at only half the amount of food tonight than she ate this morning. I hope that is normal. Tomorrow I’m going to try and feed her less and see if she is satisfied with that.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Stephanie… Since each dog responds to a particular food in its own unique way, it would be impossible for me to assure you feeding any specific product would be right for your Sheltie/Aussie mix. In any case, if you believe your dog has allergies, you may wish to consider a grain-free product or a hypoallergenic dog food. Hope this helps.

  • Stephanie King

    Hi! I just started feeding my Chihauhau puppies AvoDerm puppy. I think it’s the Holistic kind. Anyway, the reason I switched from our previous food was because my female was constantly burping and her stomach always gurgled. She started becoming lethargic and last night was rather limp and just hardly moved. She wasn’t sick because they had both just been in the previous week for shots and the doc said they were fine. I let him know how she has been acting but he couldn’t find anything wrong. I called the doc today and he said it sounds like a food intolerance. So I decided to try this food and they seemed to gobble it up and she only burped once and surprisingly played some with her brother. It’s only the first meal so I don’t expect things to be perfect fast. I am wondering if it would safe to get the senior formula for my 8yr old Sheltie/Aussie mix who has severe allergies. I hope this food helps with the gastrointestinal issues my girl is having!

  • Jackie Fichardt

    I got switched onto Avoderm after reading an article about it in a magazine. Not only did I want my dogs to eat healthier food but also wanted a product that they would benefit more from. My dogs do absorb more nutrients with this product as they now poop less! All in all a fantastic product that all 3 of my dogs love.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kerry… Check the date on the package. The closer it is to its “Best By” date, the less fresh the product. If you’re still suspicious, be sure to contact the company.

  • Kerry

    I received some bags of donated Avoderm Natural Puppy, Large Breed Puppy and Lamb & Rice Oven Baked. Natural Puppy and L&R have that rancid oil odor, but not the Large Breed Puppy. What IS it, anyway? Has anybody received a definitive answer? I’m grateful for the free food, but don’t want to feed it if it’s not wholesome.
    Thanks!

  • James S.

    I used to manage a petco many years ago and I noticed a couple different breeders I regulary helped swore by Avo Derm. I have a 1 year old great dane and a 6 month puggle. With my Dane I started him on Avoderm for first few months and was perfectly happy with it. After reading so many great things bout Taste of the Wild I switched over. After 2 months on TOTW I was happy with health, energy, & coat but his stool never would firm up. Switched back to AvoDerm & all is great again. I highly recomend AvoDerm especially since you can get it at Petco (better hours then feed stores) My puggle did just fine on both TOTW & AvoDerm, she gets Avo now also.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi John… We don’t track that kind of information here. If no one responds with the answer you need, you may ant to contact AvoDerm Customer Service.

  • John M

    Does anyone know the size and shape of the Avoderm small breed adult food? I have a dog that prefers “flattened” kibble over the cylindrical shape of extruded foods (like Kirkland). He can’t seem to get a good tooth hold on the latter.

  • Joan

    Thank you. I never thought of that: palatability. It very well could be that. I would think what smells good to us does to dogs. My dog will eat anything! I’m sure the color is for us, an advertising gimmick. Appreciate your quick response.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Joan… I’ve noticed these odors, too. And of course, they seem to vary from product to product. It’s probably safe to assume that (as humans) it would be difficult for us to know what’s actually rancid and what’s been designed to be appealing to a dog.

    By the way, it’s not at all unusual for some companies to even color their kibbles. But why? Should we believe dogs actually care what color their food is? I’ll bet they do care about the taste (what manufacturers refer to as palatability). Hope this helps.

  • Joan

    Hi Mike, My 14 year old wire fox terrier is on Soloxine for his thyroid. He was on Wellness and developed urinary issues which subsided when I switched to Halo, a combo of kibble and canned, which he loves. However, he is still itching a lot and he sheds A LOT which is unusual for his breed. I wanted to try Avoderm, but when I bought a bag and opened it, it smelled like rancid oil to me. I purchased another at a different store and it smelled the same. Halo smelled good enough for me to eat! I have noticed other dry foods (Wellness, Blue) also have that odor. Any idea what it could be? I really want to try Avoderm but rancid oil smell makes me hesitate. Other people have said that it smells like dog food to them. I did notice that in Halo Chicken, the chicken fat is preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid and in Avoderm Chicken and Brown Rice it’s preserved with tocopherols and absorbic acid. Could that be the difference? Thanks in advance,
    Joan

  • Sarah

    Mike…After reading the comments on your site & several other reviews of dog foods, I am hoping that my terrier mix with severe skin allergies & fur loss on her belly will benefit from Avoderm. She has been on prescribed steroids due to inflammation & localized rashes, but I do not want to keep her on the meds long term for obvious reasons. Thanks again for a great website!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Tina… Sorry for the delay in getting to your question. Somehow I accidentally overlooked it and just came across it today.

    Actually, the protein content of AvoDerm Natural (especially the puppy formula) compared to others in our database is actually quite good. My only suggestion here would be to be sure you’re feeding a food meeting AAFCO profiles for “puppies”, “growth” or “all life stages”. Just check the package label for these words. If you’re still searching for foods with a higher protein and less grain, try looking at some of our 5-star products. Hope this helps.

  • Glen

    Seriously Tina? If your puppy/dog is healthy, feels good, and likes her food, why even consider changing? Most of us posting here have actual problems and seek advice/feedback on topics such as diarrhea, food intolerance, etc. Get out and spend time with your pup, and maybe invite your vet along if that’s his/her advice; ) Spend LOTS of time training NOW and you’ll have a great friend for many years to come.

  • Tina

    This site is so helpful–wish I found it beforehand!

    My 4month hound/lab mix is currently on avoderm puppy, and she seems to be enjoying it. I’m concerned, however because the vet says shes very high-energy and this product doesn’t have as much protein and perhaps too much(?) grain? I’m not sure if I should switch over (or maybe rotate) to something with more protein such as Orijen or Go. What do you think?

    I’m a first time puppy owner, and I really appreciate the expertise!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Nancy… Thanks to your comment I’ve now gone through the Breeder’s Choice products and updated the reviews to reflect the fact that all are ethoxyquin-free. Thanks for sharing this customer service email with our readers.

  • Nancy

    Love this site! Because of your pointing out the fifth ingredient is salmon meal and the controversial chemical ethoxyquin is frequently used as a preservative during the transport of fish products. I contacted Breeders Choice and received an email from Sue Cushman @breederschoice.
    This is what she said:
    Dear Nancy: The fish and herring we have in our products do not have ethoxyquin as a preservative. We have gone the extra step and expense for the ingredients we use to be naturally preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid. This applies to any of our dog and cat food formulas and brands, including AvoDerm Natural. Thank you for asking. Breeder’s Choice

  • Susan C S

    My picky eater Holly Belle, a 2 year old terrier mix (call her a Squirrel Hound) prefers AvoDerm Original with Beef Meal dry food above all others, and we have tried approx. 15 different brands. Of the others she enjoyed, she became bored and wouldn’t eat them after a couple weeks. Not so with this brand/flavor. Great skin/coat, almost TOO MUCH energy, very small well-formed stool. So glad to have found this wonderful brand.

  • Katy G

    We feed our Great Dane AvoDerm Natural Lamb Meal and Brown Rice due to his sensitive stomach. We tried quite a few others before settling on AvoDerm. Similar to other high quality foods, we’ve been able to feed him less, see an improvement in his coat and his stool has been significantly smaller– almost to the amount of our JRT on a different food. Might just switch her over too.

  • http://TailChasersGrooming.com Diana Trout

    We have been selling and feeding AvoDerm to our show Goldens for about 3 years now. We are very pleased with the quality of this food. We have very healthy Goldens and their coat is amazing. Also the shedding seems less when feeding AvoDerm