Authority Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★½☆

Authority Dog Food gets the Advisor’s mid-tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Authority product line includes 13 dry dog foods.

Although each appears to be designed for a specific life stage, we were unable to find AAFCO nutritional profile recommendations for these dog foods on the product’s web page.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Authority Puppy with Real Lamb
  • Authority Adult Chunk with Real Lamb
  • Authority Adult Chunk with Real Chicken
  • Authority Adult Mini Chunk with Real Lamb
  • Authority Puppy with Real Chicken (4 stars)
  • Authority Senior with Real Chicken (3 stars)
  • Authority Adult Mini Chunk with Real Chicken
  • Authority Adult Large Breed with Real Chicken
  • Authority Puppy Large Breed with Real Chicken
  • Authority Adult Weight Management Lamb (3 stars)
  • Authority Adult Weight Management with Real Chicken
  • Authority Senior Large Breed with Real Chicken (3 stars)
  • Authority Adult Large Breed Weight Management Chicken

Authority Adult Chunk with Real Chicken was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Authority Adult Chunk with Real Chicken

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 48%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, brown rice, corn, oat groats, corn gluten meal, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried beet pulp, natural flavor, canola oil, dried egg product, dicalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, choline chloride, vitamin and mineral supplements( zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of ascorbic acid), copper sulfate, vitamin A supplement, manganese sulfate, niacin, d calcium pantothenate, vitamin D3 supplement, riboflavin, calcium iodate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamin mononitrate, folic acid, sodium selenite, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement)

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%16%48%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%33%42%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The fifth ingredient is oat groats, a whole grain, minimally processed form of oats. With the exception of their caloric content and the fact they’re also gluten free, oat groats can be considered average in nutritional value.

The sixth ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior grain-based proteins lower in some of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The eighth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of canola oil. Unfortunately, canola can be a controversial item. That’s because some worry that canola oil is made from rapeseed, a genetically modified (GMO) raw material.

Yet others cite the fact canola oil can be a significant source of essential omega-3 fatty acids.

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

Next, this recipe includes dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

In addition, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

Authority Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Authority looks like an average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 48%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 51% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 51%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the corn gluten meal, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Authority is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of chicken or lamb meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a comparable wet food from the same company may wish to visit our review of Authority canned dog food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/14/2010 Original review
02/21/2014 Last Update

  • Dori

    You need to contact the store where you purchased the food, the manufacturer of the food and the FDA if you feel that is called for also. Dog Food Advisor is a dog food review site, not a manufacturer of any foods whatsoever. They just get reviewed here, not made.

  • LabsRawesome

    You said you were contacting a Medium tomorrow. That was 11 days ago. What did the Medium say? Did she contact the spirit world, or what?

  • Kezia9

    This site isnt the Authority Dog food site…

  • Inge Schmitz

    My Dachshund of 12 years always want to have treats. He never got sick for the last 5 years on authority chicken treats when they came from China or Thailand. Since you left out these two countries he is so sick, throwing up everywhere, I think you are poisoned my dog ,he can eat everything but I have to bring him to the vet in the morning .I think you know about the danger and still get them out, moneymaking because dogs love them. I will contact the medium tomorrow and let them know what is going on with you putting on new labels to sell this product. Unfair and dangerous. I will contact a legal advisor, he is my child and do not want him to suffer .He will see the Vet tomorrow and I think I have a case against you. No more suffering for the dogs, I have had it.What in the world do you put in? Shame on you .I want my normal dog back.I will contact the media as soon as possible, you poisoned my dog.

  • poisonedgrace

    I got my puppy when he was only a week old and I had to bottle feed him. When it came time to wean him onto solid food I chose Authority. I weaned him onto Authority puppy chicken&rice formula. I feed him the dry mix with a little of the canned Authority puppy chicken&rice and water. He is now 4 months old and is doing great. He has never had a problems with Authority. He has firm small poops that don’t stink. No problems with gas or any other intestinal issues. His coat is shiny and soft. He is a very energetic puppy. When he gets to be an adult I will begin alternating flavors to help my dog avoid developing any food sensitivities. I’d do it now except at the Petsmart I shop at only has Lamb&rice and chicken&rice puppy formulas…and my puppy didn’t like the rice.

  • gmcbogger38

    Does anybody have a bag of the adult lamb and/or chicken handy that could tell me the kcal of each? When I try to pull up the website on my phone it just takes me straight to Petsmarts page, which doesn’t list kcal content. Thanks!

  • Darby

    I need help finding a dry dog food that has no chicken or chicken meal or by products for one that is allergic to chicken not eggs for my 9 lb Pekingese. I have tried Blue products but the fruit was making her sick after she was on it for 6 weeks. Tried the turkey& sweet potatoes basic and had the same results. Lamb & sweet potatoes she can tolerate. If you have one with a chicken/turkey allergy please let me know what your doing. Greatly appreciate a response.

  • Angela Smith

    Hello, we use to feed our 10 month old German Shepherd purina lamb and rice, but we noticed she always seemed hungry! We just recently switched her to Authority adult lamb and rice small bites. We weaned her onto it like the bag says, but she has been really gassy the last week or two! She has eaten almost a huge bag of the authority already. I hear her stomach gurgling, then a nice smelly fart comes out! Would the grain free option fix this problem? Or is it something else that’s wrong? She has started eating her poop too..but she had just started that right before we switched her food!

  • Kelsey Wall

    I have a 5 month beagle/basset hound mix and I’ve been feeding him authority puppy formula since I got him in December. My vet says he’s the picture of health, glowing coat and all lean muscle. He loves it and I love how healthy and happy he is.

    However my 10 year old dachshund gained weight even wile eating the healthy weight blend of this food, had to switch him back to simply nourish. Which he thrives on. Oddly enough I tried my beagle out on the simply nourish and he got severe diarrhea even when weaned slowly onto it. So back to Authority it was.

  • DesertShepherds

    (0; ty ; 0)

  • Crazy4cats

    Very pretty dogs!

  • DesertShepherds

    they are both doing fantastic yes however my girls hip dysplasia and arthritis at age six and a half are starting to take their toll and my boy we have recently discovered has degenerative myelopathywe are sticking with the authorities senior because it has a glucosamine and chondroitin but having to supplement extra on that as well as adding raw for higher protein content they are doing fantastic and looking awesome I would not ever feed them anything else and have recommended the authority brand to everyone in my circle thank you thank you thank you for making it an awesome product and affordable

  • samantha

    do not feed this to your dogs unless you want to kill them. it gave my dog crystals in his bladder.

  • Aloveoflabs Mike Sharp

    Menu Foods manufactures Petsmart Authority dog and cat food as well as 95 other companies like Wal-Mart Ol’Roy dog food. Look up Menu Foods (Simmons) on Wikipedia and it list the companies that they produce dog and cat food for.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I don’t know who manufactures Authority. As for Simply Nourish, I can’t remember what I found out a few years ago, but it wasn’t Diamond who manufactured them at the time. This is for their dry. Menu foods was bought out by someone, can’t remember who…Simmons?….but they are a cannery and don’t produce dry food. They may do the Authority cans. The Simply Nourish cans are manufactured in Thailand, which is different that China….not too bad.

  • Shant P.

    Who manufactures Authority and Simply Nourish? I heard either diamond or Menu Foods.

  • Crazy4cats

    Raymond-
    I’m really sorry for your loss. Is is scary what is being put into both human and pet food. Again, my condolences and best wishes to you and your other dog.

  • Raymond Powell

    I find it very funny that I fed my dogs this food for a few years and then suddenly my perfectly healthy JRT dies of kidney disease/ failure. After much research I found that a lot of dog and cat food has things in it that the pet food companies don’t want you to find out and the FDA is allowing this to happen. My JRT was 10 years old and should have lived up to 18 years. I can’t prove it was this brand or that this actually induced her kidney issues, but I will not feed any mass produced dog food to my other JRT again. I will take the time and make his with real chicken and rice and spinach and what ever else is natural. Basically if I won’t eat it, he won’t either. I learned my lesson.

  • steve

    Having the same problem with my dogs, any changes when you switched food?

  • renee

    Hi just recently our dogs have started itching and we see no fleas.One of our dogs has been licking and chewing his feet.zyrtec did nothing for him.We took him to the vet and she said chicken is a big deal with allergies in dogs.So back to authority lamb and things have already changed for the good.!!

  • Leann Elizabeth Garvey-Blose

    My dogs like this food and I found it to be very close to Purina ProPlan (what I use to feed my dogs). This is just way more affordable.

  • val

    its made in arizona

  • bob

    Where is this dog food made?

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s true that neutering a pup is easier on recovery time, but they are just starting to figure out all the issues that are caused by neutering. Hormones do more than just sex drive.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I think I answered you down below. When your dog has reached full height, it’s growth plates will close, so once it stops growing wait a few more months. Or you can have your vet do an xray. The growth plates on the femur close last.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s different for every breed. A chihuahua’s growth plates would all be closed by about 9 months, a border collie’s by 14 months. When they have reached full height, their growth plates have closed. I would wait until at least 18 months to 2 years on a Dane. Maybe call your breeder and ask what age her dogs reach full height and then wait a little longer after that to be sure.

  • Craig Lancaster

    Thank you for the advice it falls in line with everything else I’m hearing. Just 1 more question how do you know when the platelets are closed 1 or all of them.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, how that answer pains me. I wish I had come to this site and asked that question before I had my dogs neutered. I was more worried about aggression than I needed to be. My vet clinic kept urging me to have it done early as it is much easier on the dog. But, now I find out they can have life long consequences of doing it early. Especially, in large breed dogs.

  • Guest

    Thank you for your advice it falls in line with everything else I’m hearing. 1 more question how do you know when the platelets are closed 1 or all of them.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m not Storm’s Mom, but if you can manage her through heat cycles and keep her away from males, I would wait at least until she is full grown. Spaying affects the rate at which growth plates close, and they already close at different rates depending on which bone you are talking about. You need to spay before any have closed or wait until after all have closed. If you spay before any have closed your dog can have serious hormonal problems throughout life from being spayed before all the body’s glands have completely matured.

  • Craig Lancaster

    Hey Storm’s mom I A question about my female dane
    she is 6 months old when should I have her spay. Been getting lots of mixed opinions. I’m confused.

  • Storm’s Mom

    if you were feeding one of the chicken varieties of Authority, switching to Blue Buffalo won’t help you much because basically all of their formula have chicken, except their really low quality ones. My guess is that, because you have been feeding the same food for a long time, your dogs have developed an intolerance to one of the ingredients..most likely chicken or grains (rice, etc). So, I would steer clear of chicken and grains.. perhaps try something like Nutrisource Grain Free or Earthborn Grain Free. It could also be that lamb is the problem, in which case you’d want to try the fish-based ones from either of these companies. There are others options, but those 2 seem to be among the best values for what you’re looking for. Others may have other suggestions. At this point, look for 3-4 different kibbles you’d like to feed, and rotate among them after each bag. You may also want to get some digestive enzymes, probiotics and canned pure pumpkin to help with the transition to a new food. And take that transition slowly, as it sounds like your dogs may not have switched foods much lately. Hope that helps!

  • D John

    I have had my two dogs on the authority for years and have had good luck. The past 2 months, they have both been scratching and I am not finding any fleas. I’m going to change the food for a few months to Blue which they always have done well on but I don’t regularly use due to the high cost. I did read one comment from Sam, and he stated he had some problems. Have they changed the formulation or the producer of the food. Just wondering if anyone has noticed any differences in their dogs over the past 6 months possibly from the food. Just investigating.

  • Terry

    I use the grain free formula. I little more expensive, but may be worth it. I am having good success so far.

  • Wilsonfamily

    Authority is all I feed my animals. My cat had allergies for years and even with steroid shots he would scratch until he was bald in spots. Every since he’s been on this food he no longer needs steroids and now has a full coat of hair. One of my dogs constantly gets compliments on his coat and with it I am always asked what I feed him. Authority is Fantastic in my book!

  • Law89

    I rescued a very skinny dog and she was having trouble gaining weight. Started her on this dog food and within 2 weeks she gained an amazing amount of weight! Love this food.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Awesome..seniors are my weakness

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thank you for adopting this old girl!! She never would have had a chance without you!

  • Cyndi

    Awwww! God bless you for adopting such an old dog. It literally makes me sick when “people” dump their dogs when they get old. That poor girl was probably so confused! :( Thank you for giving her a home for however long she has left! You are awesome! <3

  • InkedMarie

    I think I love you, lol. Thank you for adopting a senior dog!

  • DiannaP

    I adopted a 17 year old dog in March 2013 after she was given up by her lifelong family due to her old age and weak hips, we didnt expect her to last through the summer. Now, in October shes going strong, getting around on her weak hips and her coat is soft and shiny. We switched her to Authority about three months ago and she has been doing wonderful. We really hope she makes it to her 18th birthday!

  • Pingback: I Ate This: AUTHORITY. Experts in Nutrition: Crunchy Dog Treats | jrshmyles

  • Sam

    My dog use to eat the large breed senior formula, she became very ill with diarrhea and excessive vomiting. Was discovered to have severe stomach ulcers from possible chemical toxin. My other dog had two meals of the this same food and started vomiting. Since starting medications and discontinuing the food they are both getting better. I called the company and they refused to test it for any abnormalities, blows my mind they would disregard a serious concern.

  • Nicolas Ramos

    I started my dog on this food and soon after he got sick. I had to take him to the vet and he had anemia and a few thousand dollars later the bone marrow test revealed he had too much zinc in his system, not sure if it related to this food or not but being that your dogs had illness it could be related.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    That great that your dogs are doing so well on this food! You should check out Authority’s new grain-free line of foods. They’re rated 4 stars and from what I hear they’re pretty reasonably priced. :)

  • DesertShepherds

    just say both of my German Shepherds have been on Authority brand chicken Large Dog-senior for almost a year and their coats are amazing activity level is where it should be and out of all the high dollar kibbles I have tried through the years both holistic and grain frees…my girl having discoid lupus…this is the best she has looked and done for a long time and I have tried everything through the last almost 6 years with her I am truly impressed…I would like to note though that I do give coconut oil and I also don’t fill them up with a bunch of treats made in China they get none of those and milk bones and marrow bones…rarely a bite off the table unless it is a fruit or a vegetable so maybe we just got lucky and found the right combination or we found the right kibbl &with being that is 98 percent of their daily intake…. wishing you all good luck in the best of health for your furbabies (0:

  • Dolores Workman

    I need 8% carbs for our dog what can I try. I bought some of this food but after reading all the comments, now I’m afraid to have my dog try it.

  • Alyssa

    Cold turkey because we had ran out of the other food at the time. I know that’s not ideal but we didn’t have any of the Adult food he was use to. I plan on mixing it gradually now that I’ve picked up a new bag for our older dogs.

    He ate about half of what he normally would eat tonight, and I took him outside immediately after to go potty and he still has the runs. It mostly started yesterday (Tues) afternoon.

    The only reason I bought Authority in the first place was because the employee at Pet Smart suggested it. Said that she feeds it to all her dogs because of the “good quality for an affordable price”. (It was only like $4.00 because of the 2013 Puppy Starter Kit @ Pet Smart).

  • Storm’s Mom

    Did you transition him to the new food, or just switch cold turkey?

  • Alyssa

    My little guy is only 8 weeks old and I just started feeding him Authority Large Breed Puppy with Chicken and Rice. He had been eating a generic brand of Adult dog food prior to this past Sunday. He now has diarrhea. Will this pass? Or should I consider a different brand if the diarrhea continues?

  • Comes now guys

    I have two boxers and they love it. Everyone having a problem aren’t following the guidelines! When you switch to new dog food specially from crappy food; you have to gradually put 75% with old and 25% and increase it as days go by! Of course their will be slight stomach adjustments but that’s because they are getting better nutrients and all that crude is getting flush out their system, also since their is more nutrients in there they tend to eat less than food that had a whole bunch of fillers corn meal chicken by product etc..
    Come on their stomach will react just like ours if we eat nothing but crap!

  • Jo

    I purch. (2) Authority Sweet potato fries, last week, & they are soooo dry & hard that I can’t even break them apart for my dog to chew. Also, I just found out that they are made in China!!!! What the heck!!! It is such fine print that I never even saw it! I expect a full refund for these 2 products!

  • deanna

    Anyone know of illnesses recently? I have had one dog die two weeks ago and my other dog is deathly ill and recovering since I changed dog food. I also know of two other dogs refusing to eat this brand and have been sick. My dogs refused it but was starving so they were forced to eat. Help.

  • Janice

    Should really look into some other foods in PetSmart. Every dog is different, but my dog did badly on BB and GREAT on Nature’s Recipe. $39 plus tax for 38.5 lbs bag.

  • Janice

    In my currrent situation? Yes I have lost my job and my husband, I have a 4 year old and absolutely no income. unlike the states, where I live we dont have food banks, or even a humane society, and adoption rate is less than 1%. My parents are doing me the FAVOR of buying the food, and for people who would rather buy Pedigree, its also expensive. My point was that if Im gonna buy $38 worth of food, for two bags, I prefer to spend $39 on a food she already was on and did well and has no corn, which is 38.5 lbs If I gave up my dog, she’d be put to sleep, and I cant do that. its not her fault what happened.

  • Janice

    Oooh that’s a good idea :D Thank you

  • Alexandra

    I will thanks! The minerals should arrive tomorrow, so dinner may be the first meal. :)

  • Alexandra

    Its getting better. Thanks! I am hoping that it all works into my budget. ;)

  • LabsRawesome

    I hope your shoulder feels better. Home made will be so much better. :)

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Good luck! Let me know how it works out. :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I meant if you were going to go back to Nature’s Recipe, go ahead and start transitioning back and feed half and half until the Authority is almost gone. If you’re going to give it a little longer could you give a spoonful of yogurt with the food for a while? Just plain yogurt.

  • Alexandra

    Hi Labs,

    I am about to attempt to make home made, using HDMs recipie. Dante was having issues over winter so I put him back on kibble to stabilize. My raw was lacking something apparently.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I think it would cost me as much to feed Orijen as it would to feed my homemade raw.

  • LabsRawesome

    That is just crazy. $85 dollars for kibble? I’d never pay that much. Kibble isn’t even species appropriate. That’s why I feed almost all canned and fresh.

  • Janice

    You mean half authority and half nature’s recipe? Well I did gradually introduce her the food little by little through out a week. 75% old food, 25% new food day one, 50/50, then 25/75, until eventually the food was all new. If you mean always feed her nature’s AND authority, I can’t afford it :x

  • Janice

    I have a container where I put the food in because of ants here. Puerto Rico is a huge insect nest. So I threw out the bag the day I bought it :x What I’m gonna do is give it a bit more time, give her body time to adjust, if by the time I have 1 week left its the same problem, Ill go by the Nature’s Recipe

  • Pattyvaughn

    At this point, The cheapest food that I have been able to feed my dog with issues was about $2.35 a pound. The one he has done best on so far has been $3.00 a pound. I never buy smaller than the large bags, in fact, I haven’t been able to try Orijen yet because I’ve only found it in small bags or old formula or with chicken.

  • Alexandra

    I hear you Stormsmom! My average is 85. I feed mostly Orijen now.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Oh my gosh, in my wildest dreams, I can’t even imagine a dog food that inexpensive!!! $60 for a large bag is about as low as it gets here (for anything halfway decent, anyway..I’ve never looked at prices for Pedigree-ish stuff) $18.99 is even a little cheaper than most of the 5lb bags here!!! $18.99 for 15lbs?! Wow. You guys are sooooooooooooo lucky!!!! :-(

  • Storm’s Mom

    Most places will allow you to return a bag if you haven’t used very much of it..

  • InkedMarie

    Are you saying that $38 for 30 lbs of food is expensive?

  • Pattyvaughn

    You might find it a big improvement if you go ahead and do half and half.

  • Janice

    Thank you! I did the mistake of buying the biggest bag, I didn’t even think about “trying a smaller” bag first. She’s doing a lot more excrement and it stinks a lot more than it ever did before. I’m going to have to put up with it for a couple of more weeks and go straight back to Nature’s Recipe!

  • Janice

    Yeah I saw that, but since my dog needs at least 30lbs of dog food, which would be $38ish plus tax. I rather buy Nature’re Recipe, which is being sold for $39.99 for a 38.5 lb, without the corn. Thank you though! I tried Authority and my dog is not doing so well with it :(

  • Janice

    Horrible dog food in my personal experience. Every dog is different, so maybe for you it will work. I had a change in my personal life where I couldn’t afford the dog food I was buying. I changed her to Authority because it seemed good quality for the price. Her excrement stinks and she’s been doing way more than she used to. It’s horrible! I’m going back to the old food because a couple of extra bucks is worth saving my home from the stench. She goes outside in the backyard, but on hot days I leave all windows open and even if I pick up the excrement ASAP, the odor lingers all over the house. It’s horrible!

    With that said, she’s never had any food with corn, so that could be it.

    She’s a 1 year old rottweiler.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    4Health Grain Free Beef and the Turkey recipes don’t have seafood/oil. It’s at Tractor Supply. Also Earthborn Holistic grain free Meadow Feast. Fromm 4 Star Nutritonals Duck and Sweet Potato.

  • LabsRawesome

    Go for the grain-free puppy formula, it is the highest in protein. And “puppy” doesn’t really matter, it’s good for all life stages. :)

  • TheWeeBee

    This is one of the few affordable dog foods available which don’t contain ANY seafood by-product: fish meals or oils. My GSD is highly allergic and will break out in a full-body rash within 24 hours after eating anything with seafood in it. It’s not the best food, but at least it’s reasonably priced.

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah, it is.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I saw that one first, so as soon as I saw this I knew it wasn’t an isolated incidence. Disqus sure is funky lately.

  • LabsRawesome

    Lol Yes! I posted a reply to Dr. Mike on the off topic thread.The whole post would not show up. So I went in to edit it. As soon as I clicked on edit the whole post would appear. But when I clicked on save edit, half would disappear again. So I had to just continue the post. If you saw those 2 posts, that’s why it’s like that. Same thing happened here, so I just re posted.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Labs
    Are you having computer problems?

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Janice, Authority has new grain free kibble. It’s available in
    Petsmart stores. If your store doesn’t carry the product yet, you can
    always ask them to order it. Here is the site, so you can check out the
    ingredients. No corn or corn oil! http://www.petsmart.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=authority%20grain%20free&origkw=authority+grain+free&sr=1&f=PAD/psNotAvailInUS/No

  • Pattyvaughn

    Don’t buy the biggest bag to start with and see how it goes. Most dogs don’t have a problem with corn, and corn oil is easier to deal with than corn, if they do. Good Luck and I hope your budget situation gets better soon.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Janice, Authority has new grain free kibble. It’s available in Petsmart stores. If your store doesn’t carry the product yet, you can always ask them to order it. Here is the site, so you can check out the ingredients. No corn or corn oil! http://www.petsmart.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=authority%20grain%20free&origkw=authority+grain+free&sr=1&f=PAD/psNotAvailInUS/No

  • Janice

    Im in the same situation than you. I used to feed BB, then went to Nature’s Recipe and now plan on Authority. Im very scared of the reaction she’ll have, and that her coat isnt as healthy, but from what I’ve been reading I’ve seen Authority is (by recommendation) the best food on a budget. And heck, Ive had friends continue feeding Authority even though they can afford better, it seems really good :D Thanks for your recommendation and review :3

  • Janice

    Authority Lamb has corn oil, not corn. Is there a difference? Im guessing not, but worth asking! I’m in a budget cut and I need to switch my dog from Nature’s recipe to something cheaper available at petsmart (I live in Puerto Rico and don’t have any other option, buying online is a no-go too). Any suggestions? Im strongly thinking about switching her to Authority. My dog has never been exposed to corn and I’m scared she’ll be allergic like my other dogs were (my parent’s dogs in my childhood home)

  • ZeusMom

    I have a shepherd that has the same problem. I switched to Authority Grain Free and my dogs skin is clearing up and a lot less itching. It has only been 6 days since the switch, but appears to be doing well on it.

  • Demetrius

    Are you mixing the new food and old food per the feeding guidelines. Dogs have sensitive stomachs and must be transitioned. You can feed plain boiled white rice for the upset stomach. Also your local pet store should have some probiotic formula you can sprinkle on your dogs food to speed up the transition.

  • angela

    oh my gosh. your post made me laugh out loud!

  • http://www.facebook.com/ajtrites Amanda Trites

    Do they have any problems with tartar build up? My dog has been on the same food for about a year & a half and the vet has complained about his teeth both of the times she’s seen him.

  • http://www.facebook.com/ajtrites Amanda Trites

    I’ve been feeding my lab/border collie Authority for about a year and a half now. I fed him 4Health from Tractor Supply prior to that, but I found that it was cheaper to buy the Authority when I could get it on sale at PetSmart. His coat is very shiny and he always get compliments on it, but he has horrible breath and his teeth are covered in tartar, even on the insides. I’m considering cutting him back to only kibble in the mornings and trying a more natural dog food approach such as feeding him Raw Meat Bones that will help “brush” his teeth a little more in the evenings.

  • KANESIEBABY

    I was on this website for days reading reviews of foods and finally decided on Authority. I am in the process of switching my GSD from BB to Authority now. He seems to like it and I haven’t noticed any problems with the switch so far. I was feeding him BB and he started scratching and chewing himself like crazy, he also had horrible gas and explosive diarrhea. I hope he does better on this food!!!!

  • http://www.facebook.com/mary.wisekemmerer Mary Elizabeth Wise-Kemmerer

    switched all 4 of my dogs to Authority grain free from kibble and bits..They love this stuff..The price is right and they seem to be happy….

  • Drokk/Kane

    I used authority in the past as well as Blue Wilderness.The last product I was using was 4health.Great price at Tractor Supply!!! But alas….the economics of my life took a downward turn and I needed something cheaper still but still more healthy than the b.s. BIG brands like purina,Iams,Science Diet yada ,yada,yada,…..I went back to Authority and my 7 month old pup woofs it down!!!!! (pun intended) His feces is fine and I am fortunate he has never had bad gas regardless of what food he was given.I admittedly give my dog frequent food scraps but never in large amounts and mostly table food that’s considered healthy for dogs. He has a beautiful coat,alot of energy,growing well, healthy teeth… the whole nine yards. I love Blue wilderness and my pup did too but I whole heartedly recommend Authority Dog Foods for anybody who is conscientious of what they are feeding their dog but on a budget!!!!!!! Now if he would just stop barking to come in the second I put him on his runner………

  • Drokk/Kane

    I used authority in the past as well as Blue Wilderness.The last product I was using was 4health.Great price at Tractor Supply!!! But alas….the economics of my life took a downward turn and I needed something cheaper still but still more healthy than the b.s. BIG brands like purina,Iams,Science Diet yada ,yada,yada,…..I went back to Authority and my 7 month old pup woofs it down!!!!! (pun intended) His feces is fine and I am fortunate he has never had bad gas regardless of what food he was given.I admittedly give my dog frequent food scraps but never in large amounts and mostly table food that’s considered healthy for dogs. He has a beautiful coat,alot of energy,growing well, healthy teeth… the whole nine yards. I love Blue wilderness and my pup did too but I whole heartedly recommend Authority Dog Foods for anybody who is conscientious of what they are feeding their dog but on a budget!!!!!!!

  • Terriesdoll

    I have been feeding my pit bull puppy the Authority grain free puppy. When I got her she was on Pedigree puppy and she had runny eyes and was constantly scratching. After 2 weeks of the grain free she is doing wonderful. She is not scratching at all and her eyes have almost cleared up. The first week she did have some very bad gas but it is getting better. The only problem I have with it is, she will not eat it unless I add some warm water to make a gravy and then she gobbles it up. I can’t wait to see the review of the grain free version. The price is very affordable and that is very important to me. I have my cat on Blue Buffalo and can’t wait until Authority comes out with a grain free for cats/kittens. I will be switching to that.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Sara-Strong –

    This is incorrect information. There is no reason for large or giant breed puppies to eat a low protein diet and there is no link between high protein levels and developmental orthopedic diseases. Feeding a large breed puppy (or any healthy dog) a low protein diet is an extremely poor nutritional decision.

    Excerpt from “Nutrition Risks to Large and Giant Breed Dogs” by Susan Lauten PhD:

    “Currently no evidence exists to suggest that high protein intake contributes to the development of orthopedic disease in growing large-breed puppies.”

    Excerpt from “Growth and Skeletal Development of Great Dane Pups fed Different Levels of Protein Intake”  (A Study featured in the Journal of Nutrition):

    “It is concluded that in the study the differences in protein intake per se did not affect the occurrence of disturbed skeletal development in young Great Danes and that an etiologic role for dietary protein in the development of osteochondrosis in dogs is unlikely.”

    If you head to the forum section and go to the “Diet and Health Issues Forum” there’s a topic on large and giant breed puppy nutrition. You can read these and several other articles and studies that prove protein is not linked to growth issues in their entirety.

  • LabsRawesome

     Sara, you need to do more research…because you are misinformed. Large breeds need controlled calcium levels, not protein. Obviously, protein is great for a dog. I like to feed 32% protein or higher.

  • Sara-strong

    Giant/Large breed puppy’s should never have protein higher than 24%..high protein will make the puppy grow too fast and doesn’t allow their bones and joints to properly finish the growing process. Giant/Large breed dogs are considered puppies for 2 years.

  • aReynolds

    My dog loves it, when we got him hia stomach was so messed up from the food they had him on at 8weeks old(large breed adult dog chow). Since he changed his food he has had no problems at all!

  • LoveMyAussie

    Have you ever tried Candidae? I buy that for my pup and for a 35lb bag of Lamb and Rice it is about 40 dollars depending on the style of grain free it can bee more or less cost wise

  • LoveMyAussie

    I would recommend the Candidae dog food they are a little less than Blue Buffalo. even with me being disabled I would rather spend 40 dollars on a high quality dog food than have my pup getting sick. She had the runs from Authority and was throwing up after about a month.

  • LoveMyAussie

    I tried Authority with my Aussie Shepherd and she ended up extremely sick. This food has low quality ingredients and if your dog as a sensitive stomach I don’t recommend this dog food.

  • Ellemicheloxo

     MY 2 DOGS LOVE IT.  THEY BOTH DO WELL WITH THIS FOOD.

  • Mamayantra

     I switched from a grain free version of Evolve a grocery store type brand to Grain free Authority.  It’s been 3 days and they hardly ever touch the dry kibble unless I mix in their grain free canned food. Both of my girls are having runny bowels and frequent poop.  Why aren’t they eating their kibble food like they did before I switched? And is the runny bowels because of the brand switch? I want to give my girls a healthier food but I can’t afford Blue Buffalo so I settled in the middle  price range for Authority.  Authority was recommended but now I’m not so sure.  Should I wait it out?

  • Fernando

    That stuff is Nasty. I have fed it to 2 of my dogs on separate occasions as soon as i started them on it. They have diarrhea. I fed it to them as i always do, with ground beef cooked and rice. Thought them might just need to adjust, but they didn’t stop getting diarrhea till i changed their food. 

  • Pattyvaughn

    I don’t believe Dr Mike has had time to review the new Authority grain free yet, but I believe it was mentioned that it is on his to-do list.

  • Robinsena_

    Does this also relevant to Authority Grain Free dry food?

  • Trapperandozzy

    We made this switch not that long ago after a suspected formula change and recall fiasco with Diamond Naturals.  Cost is very important to me as well due to the fact at any given time I have 3+ dogs over 60 lbs in my house at one time.  I foster.  My main objective was to find something that my Trapper would do well on with several skin issues.  This seems to work for us without breaking the bank and makes mom and pups happy.

  • wrangler38

    Thanks for the advice. I’ll keep that in mind.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Wrangler38 –

    Coming from someone else with large breed dogs – large breed formulas are just clever marketing and are generally a ripoff. You pay the same price and most of the time they have less protein than the regular adult formulas. Looking at the new Authority grain-free I’d suggest going with the regular adult or – better yet – the puppy formula. The large breed formula is lower in protein than the regular adult formula and large breed dogs do not need less protein. The large breed adult has 25% protein, regular adult has 26% protein and the puppy has 29% protein. To tell you the truth if I was feeding this food I’d go with the puppy formula – same price as the adult formulas and a lot more protein. Just my two cents.

  • wrangler38

    Nevermind I just saw on Petsmart’s website that they do make a large free dog food that is grain free.

  • wrangler38

    Does anyone know if their grain free is available for large breeds? If it does that would be even better than what I want to switch to. I want to switch to 4Health, but Petsmart is a little more convenient for me. I like the ingredients in Authority except for the corn because I think that might be what’s causing my dogs allergy and I’m just trying to find a good quality food that’s no more than $30-$35 for 30-35 pound bag. I have a 60 pound dog and a 120 pound dog I will be switching and cost is very important to me.

  • bella

    Lettuce? Bad choice. Dogs inhale while they eat and lettuce can be caught in the windpipe, choking them. Lettuce also serves no nutritional value.

  • Leppard_akiiles

     thanks  but my sib didnt like the grain free formula so i switched to blue buffalo ( i wont be buying video games or new clothes) 57 dollars for a 30 pound bag

  • LazyLemming

    Could Dog Food Advisor do a separate review of Authority’s Grain Free foods?

    My dogs really like it, the ingredients list is great and I’ve noticed our older boxer seems to be more energetic since we switched.

  • LabsRawesome

     From looking at the ingredients, I would say Authority grain free is a 4 star food. A very good budget friendly food @ $18.99 for 15lbs.   :) http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13012592

  • Ktriemstra

     My puppy eats it but his gas smells like prison sex and lutefisk.

  • Leppard_aquiles

    I tried the authority chicken and rice formula for several weeks and well i hate to admit it but it was really good, my pup ( a sib husky) got MUCH better coat then with eukanuba and today I bought the new NO GRAIN formula I hope its even better than the normal formula anyway i was wondering if any of you guys tried it please answer! and thank you! 

  • Ktriemstra

     Yep, thats what I am feeding him I bought it and their was really no info on it yet not even on the Authority web site. I see it’s finally on the Pet Smart web site and has 1 review and that person seems to REALLY Like it saying  “Thanks for making such a tasty food that is affordable as well.” It is affordable I will take her word for it when it comes to the taste. I ate half of a Milk Bone once when I was 12 and that was the end of my dog food eating days.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Ktiemstra, Authority has a new grain free. Their best formula, imo.                             http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13012592

  • Ktriemstra

    He eats it, has a lot of energy and poops baby arms, a lot
    better off then when I got him. I would recommend this food, high in protein,
    no corn, and affordable, I find no reason not  to get it.

  • Pingback: Food Concerns for my Two Standards - Poodle Forum - Standard Poodle, Toy Poodle, Miniature Poodle Forum ALL Poodle owners too!

  • Melissaandcrew

    kevin-

    How is he doing on the food now? Its been a week since your last posting-has anything changed?

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_ZIO6OV65DTFPDP5PCXHA7XLKEQ 'Galyn'

    Based on most of what I read in here,when I was trying to find a good quality dry food for my new (then) Rat terrier puppy-Skye last year, I was happy to see Authority was a brand that I could afford & be good for him. He really loves it,he’s just over a year old now,and eats the Lamb & Rice-Adult mini chunks.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Ryan, Yes, Authority does have a new grain free. Dr. Mike just hasn’t gotten around to reviewing it yet, as it has only been around for a few weeks.  :) http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13012592

  • Ryan

    I don’t see a review including Authority’s Grain free brand? Am I missing this? 

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002065234593 Linda Walker

    My dog WILL eat her Authority food DRY, but she prefers it mixed with warm water to make a ‘gravy’.  I have her on weight management chicken & rice.  She doesn’t appear to be losing weight, but she does POOP alot!!  5 to 6 piles a day!!  YUK!!

  • kevin triemstra

     

     I need to do something because he smells like a
    bloated corpse during  a autopsy  

  • Ktriemstra

     No transition, when we got him I went to Walmart where they sell Ol’roy in a sack the size of a body bag to transition  but that bag would have lasted most of his life so I went right to Authority and hoped that little poop machine did not turn my house into giant toilet. Everything went fine so and he is in good health. I would buy the more expensive food but we have a 5 year old boy and after spending some time in deep thought wondering if I should feed my son Kool Aid powder and Slim Jims, I decieded to go with the cheaper food. I just wish I could keep the kid from peeing on the bathroom floor.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Maybe he has internal damage from eating Ol’ Roy and his gut is not 100%!  Supplement his feeds with a probiotic and digestive enzyme or yogurt to help with digestion and gas production.  My dogs have been on probiotics/enzymes for at least a year (not everyday) and they rarely have gas no matter what they eat. 

  • InkedMarie

    ROFL! Kevin, I’m sorry for laughing but you sure have a way with words. Are you doing a gradual transition or just going cold turkey with the new food? If cold turkey, I hope the gas stops. Potato in food is not bad, unless you have a dog that doesn’t do well with it. 

  • Mike P

    Not really the worst Nora because there is always Ole Roy.This is actually 3 stars but any upgrade to a better food is a good thing.Good luck with your pups…

  • Nora_mom

    The WORST dog food that I couldn’t have given my dogs!!!  It’s been a while that I’ve switched them back to Blue and they are still not totally over their stomach sensitivity.  Not even Pedigree gave them that reaction.  Everytime we feed them, they creep up to their bowl to make sure we didn’t give them this awful food!  I’m glad we switched back to a quality dog food!

  • Kevin Triemstra

     

    Authority does have a grain free dog food, I don’t know if
    it just came out but they have not put it on their website yet nor is it on the
    Petsmart website. I have a 15 week old lab/Sheppard mix that came from a rescue
    that was feeding him Ol’Roy so I could have fed him Cookie Crisp and saw dust
    and it would have been more nutritious. Anyhow I spent an entire weekend on
    this website leaving my head spinning. After all was said and done I went to
    Petsmart with the intent of buying Avoderm  as I was taking some last minute notes from
    this site before I started my trek to Petsmart there was a new recall on this
    food. So I went to check out a few other brands on my list and balancing
    nutrition and cost. I went with Authority after seeing that they sold it grain
    free (it does have potato as a starch) but so does some of the 50 dollar
    brands. The puppy food is High in Protein and seemed to have everything I was
    looking for nutrition, cost etc. A 15 pound bag cost 18.99+tax which is right
    in my wheelhouse.  After about a week the
    dog had much more energy and his stool firmed up noticeably, I can’t tell you
    how it taste (I don’t understand when people post “great tasting” about dog
    food and I really don’t want to know but as long as he is eating it). The
    downside is he has the worst gas that as ever been emitted from any dog I have
    known, it almost made me throw up in my mouth this morning.

  • GermanSheperd SAM

    THANKS! I really appreciate your advice.

  • BryanV21

    Not sure if Authority has a grain-free food, or if you have that one, but the one reviewed here is not. I’d advise you to get a grain-free food, and stay away from chicken, lamb, and beef. Grain and those three meats/proteins are known as high allergens. It’s not that those things are definitely the problem, it’s just a good place to start.

  • GermanSheperd SAM

    I have a German Sheperd, three years old, he is my little baby, but he seems to have food allergies, I used to feed him with dog chow and just this week I switch to Authority (lamb) have any of you been in a similar situation, I will appreciate any help

  • GermanSheperd SAM

    I’m new at this product, just bought a bag this week, does it really work for allergies

  • Avokaty

    purchased a bag of lamb flavored dog food (esp 2/28/13) and imagine my surprise and discuss to see it filled with a “spider web” coating inside.   GROSS

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    LOL…sorry Labs, I didn’t even look at any other posts before I posted.  I was pleasantly surprised by the food.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Jan, I agree. Check my post (below yours).  :)

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hey guys…when I was in Petsmart today buying Simply Nourish cans and stuff I ran into the S.N. rep.  Actually, she was “repping” Authority today and I was very surprised to see that they have a new grain free formula!  It is basically a chicken and pot./pea formula with 26/14 – prot/fat as fed.  No menadione in sight!  Actually doesn’t look all that bad….for Authority.

  • LabsRawesome

     Yes, Authority does make a grain free kibble, you can see the ingredients here. Looks like an okay food. Could definitely be a step up, if your dog is on grain inclusive Authority, or corn based grocery store  dog food.                                               http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13012592

  • Kimnt2

    My puppy Joey a 5 month yorkie loves this brand!!!!!:)

  • Kat184

    authority just came out with a grai. free version, and a dog food roll. two more products to add to the list…

  • Rhonda Skov

    I switched my GSD from Blue Buffalo (4 stars) to Authority (3 stars) for financial reasons.  I am very happy with it. Saves me money and I still feel he is getting a good product.  Thanks Dog Food Advisory!

  • Katie

    For the price I fund this food a lor better than other brands in the same range. it’s worked out quite well for my dog, even better than wellness for some reason!

  • Sabrinafortier

    There is corn in this product……it doesn’t affect him?

  • Pinar Mazza

    I don’t know if it’s healthy but it works. My blue Pitt bull eats like his sister is gonna steal his food. I actually put water in his food to soften it (not drown) and it slows him down and he seems to enjoy it. Both my dogs are on lamb and rice and pretty well. Not as high quality as wellness or wellness core but prices on those two killed me. Been on it since may 2012

  • Pingback: authority dog food | All About Pets

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Sumalyk, This is a good food, for your limited budget. It does not have any serious “red flag” ingredients. It is much better than the other foods you listed. For only having $20 bucks in your pocket, you made a decent choice.  :)

  • Sumalyk

    I know this dog food isn’t the BEST out there, but its also not the worse. I have a shelti/pom and he is 5 years old. he has always been picky on dry food. i tried feeding him pedigreee  when we first got him. then switch to a brand from albertson then realizing its very bad for him. we dont have much money so our choices is limited. i wen’t to pet smart only having 20 dollars on me. i sat authority and said ok ill try it. I fed my dog some, and he just wagged his tail and ate the whole thing. WOO!

  • owner2spoileddogs

    This food made my doxie/manchie have stomach upsets.  We put both our dogs on Iams Naturals and she does better. 

  • Missycharm

    I have been using Authority products for my cats and my dogs and have wonderful experience with both for more than ten years.    My first dog using Authority had severe digestion problems when we first adopted her.  We had her on iams and tried the Authority because she liked the sample we got at the store.  Once we switched her over, we then started using  a combination of the weight control and regular chicken formulas.  Now we use the combination (50/50) for both the dog and the cats.  (Dog and cat varieties for each, of course.)   We have not had any digestion problems, their coats are shiny and so soft!  I trust the Authority a lot more from experience than any of the higher cost brands.  The only draw back is that I can only get them at PetSmart and they often only carry limited quantities of the varieties of the cat food I use.  The money I have saved in vet bills has outweighed the cost of the food and extra time I have to spend going to the petstore. 

  • Pingback: Anyone familiar with PetSmart's Authority brand Dry Dog Foods?

  • Cherie

    I just bought the Mini Chuck Lamb and Rice and my dogs were on Nutro Natural Choice Lamb and Rice and the price went so high I got to where i couldn’t afford so The Petsmart clerk recommended Authority Mini Chuck Lamb and Rice because my Toy Poodle is allegry to corn he also has diabetes and atypical cushing’s disease and it does not effect his diabetes or his cushing’s and my Miniature American Eskimo Spice and Bear both love the Authority better than Nutro. Kim I agree with you about to many treats give the dogs runs

  • Kim

    I have used Authority Lamb and Rice mini chunks, I think for about 5 years now. I have had good luck no big vet bills, other than porcupine attacks and accidents.
    I think for the price and the quality is is a fair deal.
    I think I am a good judge on this dog food because I have 16 dogs, so you can well imagine cost is important to me.
    I supplement their food with carrotts, lettuce, bananas and sometimes apples, peanut butter and whole wheat toast. I don’t buy to many dog treats as I have found that the dogs get sick or runny poop.. and that is with any brand.
    I also have parrots and their favorite passtime is throwing food for the dogs (pisses me off) but the parrots like it and so do the dogs… so I would say they get seed in their diet too.
    When you have this many dogs you have to change a few things and I do think eating to fast is that major part of throwing up. I think because there is so many dogs they get a bit aggressive of their bowls so what I do know is feed on the floor they have to take their time eating because there is not a hugh bowl to take huge mouthfulls with. If your dog eats to fast, get a mat and sprinkle his food on that. Also drinking water to fast is the other cause of the heaving up.

    All their poops are good and easy to pick up, but when I used to buy treats there was hugh issues and their dog run is gravel 1 foot deep so messy poops are not fun to clean up.
    By the way is you get dog pee odor ever in your back yard how to get rid of it… lime from you gardening center, sprickle it on and hose is down good …no smell and it rots any tiny poop left behind.

  • M.E.

    My dogs have been eating Authority for 1+ year and their health has shown a marked deterioration.  I have only just discovered this website and will be immediately switching from Authority to a 5-star food.

    I also want to mention that the ingredients corn, canola, and beets are now mostly GM crops.  If you don’t know anything about genetically modified foods, I encourage you to investigate the issue – they are dangerous for all living beings.

  • Chad1658

    My dogs have really bad gas from this food. Also they poop alot but it’s solid.

  • Bob K

    Mary – What brand and formula do you now feed your dog for the past 2 years? What Authority formulas caused problems?

  • Mary

    I fed my dog Authority brand dog food, both canned and dried, as well as the treats and he got severe diarrhea twice and had to stay at the vets overnight to get well. Then a third time started and at the suggestion of the vet, I took him off the Authority dog food and he has never been diarrhea sick again. That was two years ago. Stay away from Authority brand dog food if u love your dog!

  • melissa

    Josie-

    I have fed foods from one end of the “price range” to the other as well as quality-Iams, Proplan, Eukanuba-have to say I have always had good luck feeding the Proplan and Euk, not so much with the Iams. Higher prices-lower ratings-Middle ratings and price-Native(had dogs loose hair) Most Diamond corn free products(and had horrible stomach issues) Avoderm-dogs looked dull coated and ate large amounts- and then onto grain free-Blue caused intestinal issues, and weight loss-I don’t gauge the success of the food by the poop, but rather how the dogs look and act, as well as their overall appearance.

    Best luck with foods I have had so far -Acana Grainfree(49.75-64.75 for 29.7lb bags-depending on variety) and ProPac-3 1/2 star rated, contains corn and is cheap in price-28.99 for 33-44lbs, and a coupon in every bag, lol.

    Less waste to clean up is a bonus in my book, but not an overriding concern if the dogs look and act great. I don’t have a problem with corn in the diet, IF the facility is EU certified(thanks to Antonio and Jonathan for explaining the EU certification system) but I am not a fan of the glutens.

    At the end of the day, no matter what one’s “food belief” system is, you need to feed what works for your individual dog.

  • Shawna

    Josie,

    You also have to factor in how well the dogs BODY utilizes the food fed not just the consistancy of the poop.. Hydrolyzed feathers are readily digested (leaving little poop) but the ingredient does very little to nourish the body. I’ve heard that they are actually planning on using hydrolyzed feathers in pet foods (already being used for livestock I’ve read).

    Protein is what the BODY (on a cellular level) needs the very most for health. Actually what the protein breaks down in to — amino acids. Lower quality proteins, like corn gluten meal, are not great sources (when compared to meats) of amino acids. Not well utilized by the body and some believe, with time, can be a burden on the kidneys.

    Don’t judge a food by cost per pound or even by amount of poop left behind but rather by how efficiently the body can use the food on a cellular level.. AKA the higher end (not always higher price when compared to Purina and SD) higher protein and better utilizable protein foods…

  • Bob K

    Josie – Measuring the output of poop is fairly inaccurate since many dogs get other foods, treats, leftovers and some dogs are many dogs are overfed which will have more poop. If you underfeed a dog they too will have less poop. Don’t feed a dog anything and they probably won’t have any poop.

    Also don’t forget to consider water consumption and density of poopies. Thats why there is the dog food calculator available on this website. Most people overfeed their dogs like they do themselves.

  • Josie

    Quick question: Has anyone compared this to other foods and seen a difference in poop content? Sorry to be so, well, icky, but just as an FYI, if a dog poops more/bigger, this means more of the ingredients in the food are useless to his body. Which is not only stickier for you, but annoying to the dog’s body because it needs more for the same effect of a better quality food. Likewise, if you must feed your dog more of a food, it means the body needs more of it for it to actually fuel their body. So do not judge the dog food by how much per pound, instead judge by $ to feed/day. Much more accurate than $/pound. You can usually find the feeding requirements of a dog food on their website. Or on a website where you can buy it, like PetSmart. Or on the actual bag. :) Hope you can feed your dog better! <3 Me

  • JBKitley

    Please note that the above post is an obvious product of a spam bot.

  • Josie

    I do not have a dog but from these reviews and the ones on PetSmart.com, I think this is a good choice for my future dog. At PetSmart it is about $8 for an 8 pound bag and less expensive in bulk, $28 for a 34 pound bag. This is less expensive than some of the Purina foods. The problem with foods like Blue and Nutro is they are so darned expensive! Blue Wilderness is about $4 a pound while this is $1 or less. This is what I’d call a decent food. I wouldn’t dream of feeding any dog Iams, Purina, or Science Diet, but I also think the price tags on the super healthy foods are outrageous. In the dog food world, there are 2 types of foods: Foods with amazing quality and terrible prices and foods with terrible quality and OK prices. This is a great balance of both, a great price for a good quality food. I would buy this! :)

  • George

    I had a Lab that would throw up every time she had water, I figured it was the chlorine and or the fluoride in the water. I bought a simple carbon water filter and she never had a problem after that.

  • Gordon

    Kristen – That’s almost similar to causes of bloating, I think. Anyway, your Vet’s advice is usually what resolves bloating causes, as well. More meals a day and not an actual increase in the daily volume of food, is usually a better and pragmatic way of minimising bloat, and the problem that your dog had. It makes sense.

  • Kristen

    Courtney,
    I have no idea if this is true or related to the problems you are having with your dog, but thought I’d mention it. When I was young, I remember my family having trouble with our dog throwing up his meals. When we talked with the vet, he said that it was most likely related to the rice in the food. After eating the food, our dog drank a good amount of water, and the rice absorbed the water and ‘expanded’ in her stomach – then she would throw it up. Rather than switch the food out, he suggested we first try increasing the number of meals we gave her (same amount of food – but divided into 3 meals, instead of 2) – and it solved her problems.

  • melissa

    Lori-

    With such big dogs, do you see a difference in the amount fed from these three brands-more less or the same?

  • Lori

    I have always purchased Taste of the Wild for my Danes, but costs have gotten out of control. I did study on ingredients, and while not the quality of Taste of the Wild, I felt Nutro Venison and Rice was a good fit for my dog w/ allergies. I loved it until the cost went sky high on it as well. I researched everything else and started on Authority for them. No allergic reactions w/ the lamb and rice, affordable price and decent ingredients. I just know that a must is to stay away from any dog food using ground yellow corn (they use the cob and all), by products (which is hooves, beaks, etc) and animal digest (don’t have to explain what that is……it doesn’t even specify WHAT animal it comes from). Science Diet and BilJack are laden with ground yellow corn. High allergen. Just my opinion. My Danes like Authority as well as they did Taste of the Wild, but not as well as Nutro Vension and rice.

  • Gordon

    Ahhh Mark. That would be Mealy Moth infestation. They multiply in spades and settle larvae in every nook and cranny imaginable. I’ve had the same experience that such were introduced in my home not from dog food, but from special parrot dry mix, for my South American Conure parrots. Although they’re biologically harmless, they are incredibly difficult to rid, once they’ve settled in your home.

  • Mark

    The food is great and my dogs love it…HOWEVER the moths and larvae in the dry dog food bags are detestable and I will not buy this dry food any longer. I have spent more than a year trying to eradicate them from my home, garage, pantry and kitchen and I’m sick of them!

    Hopeful from bag to bag that they might be seasonal or sporadic and such, they have been an absolute pain since the first day we ever bought this food. That said, it has been several years and throughout every season.

    I’m done with it! Moving on.

    Mark Zupo
    Atlanta

  • Courtney

    Bob – I got him in April and that was his last vet visit in which he was clear of all parasites and had received all vaccinations. His next check-up is next April. He was slowly transitioned onto Authority for over a week by mixing it with the Purina he was already on. It has been a little while now that he has been solely on Authority. His stool is hard now, but has only recently been throwing up. He eats very fast. I put a ball in his food for him to eat around, but it doesn’t slow him down much. I even went as far as scattering his food all over the floor to try and make him slow down. I feed him twice a day (morning and night), but the scattering was just making him and myself frustrated so we went back to the ball in the food. Maybe something heavier will work?

    Melissa – Thank you for the blood panel suggestion. I don’t believe he drinks more water than normal, but I will continue to keep an eye out. He both eats and drinks really fast. I was assuming that this was the problem for the throwing up, but I wanted to hear other suggestions before paying for an unnecessary vet visit. He hasn’t been throwing up since he’s been solely on Authority. It has only occurred the past couple of days, which is the subject of my concern.

  • Bob K

    Courtney – Another thing – How fast does he eat? If he inhales his food thats not good, smaller portions and place a soup can or large rock or two in his bowl to slow down his eating so he has to dig around the bowl to find it and eat the kibble slower hopefully chewing it.

  • Bob K

    Courtney – You should have transitioned his food for at least a week slowly blending in the new food. Your comment, “I don’t know if he’s getting into something outside” concerns me. You need to know what he is doing and eating as he is a puppy and puppies get into things. Unsupervised puppies are not good and can cause you hundreds of dollars of vet bills for chewing, eating and digesting things a puppy should not have.

    Dogs can have loose stools for many reasons: Sudden increase in exercise, pond and lake water, insecticides, pesticides, eating grass, dead animals , other dogs poops, and many many more. I suggest feeding him 2 or even perhaps three times a day not to exceed the total recommended amount of daily food. Do not withhold water. Wait an hour before heavy exercise after eating. Have you ever had him tested for parasites including Giardia, Coccidia and Crypto.? If he is outside unsupervised and has not been tested for parasites, its time.

  • melissa

    Courtney-

    If your dog is only vomitting since introducing this food, why would you continue to feed it? Not all foods agree with every dog, and if such a reaction coincides with the switch, change him off it and see if the issue resolves.

    Also, if your dog is drinking more than a normal amount of water(prior to the switch), a blood panel is probably in order to see if something is going on .

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Courtney… Sure, it’s certainly possible for the food to be related to your dog’s symptoms. Unfortunately, since I’m not a veterinarian and due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, it would be inappropriate for me to provide specific health advice or product recommendations. Please be sure to check back for a possible response from one of our other readers. Wish I could be more help.

  • Courtney

    Great review! I have grown up with dogs all my life and my parents always fed our dogs Science Diet. I recently graduated college and moved even further away for a job. I bought a house and adopted my very own dog. He is now a 7 1/2 month old black lab. The people I adopted him from were feeding him Purina. I decided I wanted to gradually get him off that particular food, but I didn’t want to spend an outrageous amount of money on foods like Blue Buffalo and SD. However, I wanted to make sure he was getting all that “stuff” he needs. The lady at Petsmart suggested Authority and I went with it. I chose the Puppy with Real Lamb. My puppy has fully made the switch now and at first I noticed he was having soft stool. I figured it was the new food and he wasn’t used to it so I stuck with it. His stool for the past week has become harder, but I notice that he throws up a good bit. I don’t know if he’s getting into something outside, drinking too much water after eating (he indulges in water), or what. I called the vet and they said it’s probably the water (so I’m starting to monitor that), but he threw up early this morning and it wasn’t just “watery”. He acts and seems healthy and fine (as rambunctious as any puppy). I just didn’t know if this problem could have anything to do with the food upsetting his stomach, etc. Any suggestions?

  • rich

    Evolve is NOT cheaper than Authority. It is listed at 18.99 per 18 lb bag, before a $5.00 coupon, making it 13.99. That is much cheaper than Evolve.

  • Gini

    We have a large Lab mix that we rescued 7 years ago at age 5 months. He had stomach problems for months until we put him on Royal Canon dry food for Labs. A few years ago we started also giving him Authority Training Dog Treats Made With Real Liver. After we opened a new bag a week ago, he started vomiting every night with what looked like his undigested treats. We went on-line and learned about giving him a little yogurt around suppertime since he is fed a meal only in the morning. We cut back on the treats and kept count. Each night every single treat was in his vomit. He stopped vomiting finally when he was given no treats at all. We suspect that either the manufacturer has changed the quality of the ingredients or he has developed an allergy. Because this started with a new bag, this is just a warning to others about this product in case the manufacturer is at fault.

  • Pingback: red paws - Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums

  • Pingback: Authority Kibble - Golden Retrievers : Golden Retriever Dog Forums

  • Audra

    Thanks Melissa! We bought Evolve and our Boxer loves it, she licks the bowl clean and the cats even try to get in on her dinner. We went ahead and changed our cats’ diets too. Thank you for the explanation, I always heard the “grocery brand” taboo, glad you cleared that up for me!

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    Maybe your girls got wise and decided they want REAL FOOD?
    If they “will not touch” Bil Jac and Authority, what are they eating?

  • Darlene

    Our 2 Standard Poodles have been on Bil-Jack and Authority since babies. Perfect, perfect, perfect until we bought the last bags of each. Now they will not touch the food, my husband even went so far as to separate a bowl of each brand and they still will not touch it. Our girls are 7 1/2 & 6 1/2 years old. Just does not make sense.

  • Nicole

    My dog is a lab/rott mix, almost 2 yrs old. The specialty pet shop suggested high quality and expensive foods both grain-free and with grain. I tried samples on my dog of this higher quality food and he did not seem to enjoy them. I was worried when he skipped meals at times. I needed a higher quality food that was a bit less expensive and tried authority large breed chicken. He loves it! I love that it has good ingredients. His coat is thick and shiny and he gobbles up his food with enthusiasm (he is fed in the morning and evenings). Great product!

  • melissa

    Audra-

    Its not about where you buy it, but rather what you are buying. Unfortuently, in the past, most supermarkets/grocery stores carried the 1-2 star products, hence why you hear to avoid “grocery/supermarket brands”. If the food however is 4 star, its 4 star no matter where you are buying it(its not two seperate formulas based on the location of sale)

  • Audra

    We’ve been using Authority for quite some time and our boxer loves it. We chose it because of the 3 stars & price. I just saw Evolve at HEB (grocery store in Texas), which has a 4 star rating and is cheaper than Authority. I’ve heard a lot of negative things about buying pet food at grocery stores. Does anyone have any comments about buying pet food at grocery stores?

  • Diana

    After many years of using Iams never really paid much attention to what was in it. I did some research and found out its not so good :) I decided to try the authority from petsmart because it was about the same cost as iams but had a lot better stuff in it for my dog. First bowl i mixed with the old iams my dog had been eating and guess what! My dog ate the new authority dog food and left the iams pieces. Easy to see i think my dog likes it!!!!!!!!!!!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Louise and Melissa… Thanks to your tips, I’ve located this product on the PetsMart website. So, I’ve added Simply Nourish to my To Do list. However, due to our current backlog of products for review, it could be a while longer before we get to it. Thanks for taking the time to help me with this suggestion.

  • Louise

    Hi Melissa,

    Petsmart’s website selling this food online. They appear to have ingredients and guaranteed analysis for both the chicken and lamb formulas listed. Don’t know, though, if this is complete info Mike looking for.

  • melissa

    HI Mike-

    I just noticed this food last night on my trip there and came right back to google it Unfortuently, it appears at this time that the only info on the food is the Petsmart business announcements stating its arrival in mid May.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Melissa… Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find any company-operated website with complete ingredient and GA details for these products. If you find a website with complete information about Simply Nourish, please share a link to the appropriate URL. Thanks.

  • melissa

    Just FYI-

    It looks like Petsmart has come out with a new line of food called Simply Nurish-supposed to be all natural and contains some limited ingrediant diets : )

  • Jonathan

    Mary, it is unfortunate that you chose RR food. Have you seen the review of that product on this site? It is full of fillers and chemicals. Please have a look at the ingredients and maybe try a better food.

  • mary

    My dog did not tolerate Authority Dog Food. Even thouigh I gradually introduced it to her she vomited frequently while on it and also had skin lesions that she had never had before. I switched her to Rachel Ray’s Nutrish and she has been much healthier since then.

  • Melissa

    Alice-

    I know many people who feed Authority and have since it came out-all (pretty much) have had good luck with it so if it works, no need to switch if its within your comfort level and price range!

  • Alice

    I have a shiba inu who was having allergies – he was licking all his fur off is bottom half & scratching the hair from behind his ears. After several different brands it was still happening. We finally tried the Authority Lamb and after 2 weeks of being on this food he no longer licks & scratches!!!! He has been on this for about 6months now and no issues! He now has a beautiful coat! We will not be switching from Authority.

  • Beverly

    I have fed Authority to my beagles for the last 15 years. My oldest passed away recently at 17 years old and never had Any problem with this food. I know beagles will eat anything but I have also taken in other breed rescues with all kinds of weight and health issues and they have all acclimated well to this food. I recommend it strongly as a good option for cost and health conscious pet owners who are looking for a good food at a reasonable price.

  • Merida

    I chose Authority Lamb after researching several brands ingredients in search of a food that had great ingredients. My dog has severe allergies and if he does not have a good diet, he looses hair, weight, etc…
    Since he has been eating Authority, he has not had one break out and has not needed any of his steroid shots. Also, he has beefed up quite a bit. People are so surprised to hear that he is 9 years old when they seem him. He is at his healthiest right now and I truly beleive that Authority dog food has contributed to that.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Meagan… There are indeed subtle differences between individual formulas within any given product line. But unless otherwise noted, the star ratings usually remain the same. Unfortunately, I cannot provide customized product comparisons for each reader. You may wish to check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

  • Meagan in Iowa

    Mike- Is this formula better than the large breed that is displayed? It does not have the corn, but it also does not have much of the other ingredients, so I don’t know how to compare them. This is the Authority Adult Chunk with Real Lamb: Lamb, Lamb Meal, Brown Rice, Wheat, Wheat Germ Meal, Oat Groats, Rice Bran, Brewers Rice, Beef Tallow.
    Thank you

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi John… The Dog Food Advisor is an independent review website and has no business relationship with Authority Dog Food. You’ll need to contact the manufacturer for coupons. Sorry I can’t be more help.

  • john rouffer

    would it be possible to get some discount coupons for adult dry dog food. thank you [my dog loves your food]

  • Pepper

    I’m one of those owners with problematic pooches! All of my dogs are rescues but only one was a full grown adult when we adopted him. We had no history on him but his sweet, gentle temperament won us over. He’s a goldie mix with terrible skin and chronic ear infections. He seemed allergic to everything…including the super expensive, highly rated dog food brands. Our local PetSmart store manager recommended Authority and it was the best choice I could have made. All three dogs are sporting beautiful, shiny coats and healthy skin! My goldie finally started packing on some pounds and at nearly 10 years old now he’s spunky as ever..with no hair loss. I made the right choice in buying the lamb and rice formula. The dogs really enjoy meal time!

  • Anita l. Hall

    This is a wonderful affordable dog food
    I have 4 setters and they love it

  • Frank

    We fed our dogs nutro max but switched to Authority senior dog food 3 years ago. They like the food, our vet doesn’t have one bad thing to say about it and we love the savings.

  • Angela

    Thanks guys…. I came across a list of dog food manufacturers.
    http://www.thepetfoodlist.com/manufacturers.htm
    In case anyone else is curious. :)

  • Bob K

    If there is a label on the bag, that might give you a hint. Then work google maps with the address if there is one. If it lists Meta MO. then for sure its Diamond, but Diamond also has other locations.

  • Jonathan

    Wouldn’t be surprised… they make almost everything else. Lol

  • Angela

    Does anyone know who manufactures this food? Is it Diamond?

  • Daniel Ciancia

    My dog (six year old lab mix) has done very well an Authority Lamb being fed a mix of the dry with a little canned mixed in.

    Good coat, good energy, good stools, and all in all in very good health.

    While you can spend twice as much for a food that is slightly better, Authority is quality food that is hard to beat without breaking the bank in the process.

  • DogMom16

    I made the switch from Purina ProPlan to Authority Chicken Dry 2 weeks ago, and I’m already happy with it. It is affordable, the kibble size makes my dogs CHEW it, and they love it! MAKE THE SWITCH NOW!

  • Amanda

    I have a one year old Husky who is a very picky eater. When we first got her she would eat nothing but the cheapest food and the nutritional value worried me. I was a little apprehensive when the sales clerk at Petsmart told me to try Authority since it was the company`s own brand but I liked that chicken was the first ingredient. My husky has now been on this food for 6 months and I am happy to say she never leaves any food in the bowl with Authority and is happy and healthy with low body fat. I will continue to use Authority and I definitely recommend it to anyone who has a dog that does well with grain.

  • Yasmin

    Been feeding this to my shiba inu puppy ever since we transitioned him from Eukanuba puppy(what the breeder was feeding him). His stools are always fine and overall no problems whatsoever. I just wish they sold bigger bags for the puppy formulas. I keep having to buy a new 18 lb bag every 4 months or so, and my pup’s eating more and more everyday. He loves eating this food and leaves his bowl clear when he’s finished. Also, the price is pretty decently cheap, considering the price of other three-star and up dog foods which pretty much deliver the same great results as this dog food. Heck yea reccomended!

  • Pamela

    I have 3 male boxers who seemed to not be gaining weight with other brands. I was reccomended by a boxer rescue to try Boxer 26( comes out to about 62.00 for a 30lb bag!), Blue Buffalo, and a few other expensive brands. With 3 big boys I tried the Authority Adult Chicken and in about 2wks of use you can see a difference in their weight. My oldest(3yrs) has gained about 2lbs already. They love this food and their gas is not as disgusting as it use to be.

  • brenda

    I used to work at petsmart for several years. We were trained very well the entire time about the difference in dog food brands and to read and understand the labels of each brand.

    At that time, and still is I belive, a very good choice. Now that I have just one dog, I am going back to the Authority.

    I cant tell you how many amazing stories I heard from satisfied customers every day about how much better their dogs did when they used Authority.

    One that stands out, was a man with a Rotiwiller that for some reason was bald, puzzled the vet, tried all the other dog foods, but when he went on the Authority Lamb- the dog quickly grew and kept the hair and was all better.

    I’m not a vet – but if your dog has certain allergies or other issues, and the vet says prescription foods- compare the ingredients with Authority and alot of times you will find That Authority will do the same thing- or print from their website and take the list of ingredients to your vet and ask the vet if Authority will work for you- its alot less expensive.

    I prefer chicken but for dogs with health issues- lamb is probably the best choice.

    I’m going to put my cat on it too
    ( cat food not dog food LOL!)

  • ShepherdX3

    I too feed my three Shepherds (1yr., & 4yr.) Authority Lamb. They all started out on Royal Canin which is very expensive and even more so when they leave it in the bowl. I am not really sure what they didn’t like about it (perhaps the Rosemary?) but I could not afford to feed these dogs RC when they simply picked at it and never finished it. We tried the Authority and at first they were reluctant with it as well, but once they got use to the change I can actually see the bottom of their bowls everyday. The two 4yr. olds are getting a bit overweight so we are going to switch them to the Authority Maintenance and hope that all goes well. I too have had one Shepherd develop an ear infection but I highly doubt it is from the food.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Dalton… I can understand your concern about this prescription product (especially when you consider its cost). Unfortunately, since I’m not a veterinarian, I cannot provide specific health advice or product recommendations. Please see our FAQ page and our reviews for more information. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

  • Bob K

    Maybe its time to find a new vet who is more in tune with nutrition, holistic and aternative treatments. Start asking other friends who have dogs and perhaps reviews on the website of Vets. Did the Vet do any additional tests for your dogs problem?

  • Dalton

    I have two 5 yr old APBTs & they have been fed nothing but Authority Lamb & Rice since they were 1 year old. They like the food & both look great, have low body fat & are quite muscular and have no problems with digestibility. I had no intention on switching dog food, but my male dog was diagnosed with crystals in his urine and is now on Hills c/d & the vet wants me to keep him on that food indefinitely. I am very stressed out because not only is the Hills twice as much, but is a one star dog food compared to my 3 star Authority and the vet can’t even be sure is the food that caused the crystal to begin with!

  • Linda

    I have a 1 1/2 year old toy poodle. All she eats is Authority, and she is gorgeous! Stools are always firm, and her energy level is way up there. I had wanted to get 4Health, but after reading all the bad reviews, I got Authority instead (PetsMart’s own brand) and I’ve never regreted it…..she loves it and her skin and coat are perfect!

  • Nicole

    I tried Authority because I thought the ingredient list looked decent, and the Lamb formula did not contain corn- my dog is allergic to corn. The food he was on was getting expensive and I thought the price was fair for Authority.

    After being on Authority- Lamb Adult – for about 3 weeks, my dog developed a severe ear infection. It may or may not have been directly related, but he was previously on a Grain-Free food and it developed after the switch. I will not use Authority again for him because I believe the wheat may have contributed to his ear infection.

  • David R.

    I left out that we use the canned varieties of Authority Dog Food.
    It’s way past my bedtime and to be writing reviews.

  • David R.

    I agree with the other reviewers above me about Authority Dog Food.
    I mention this brand to my 1 star feeding friends.
    We don’t use the dry, but I do buy the puppy (if they are out of the adult lamb & rice) and the normal adult versions. Mixes well with 5 star grain-free kibble.

    One could spend allot more money and get less quality then Authority Dog Food.

  • Trish

    We have been using Authority since 1995 when we got our first dog. Our blue heeler mix is currently 14 years old and is still very spry for an older gal. Two years ago, we adopted a greyhound, and the agency strongly urged us to switch to a higher grade (and more expensive) dog food. We tried NutroMax and Science Diet. The heeler had her first experience with a new food and hated it. Both dogs experienced very loose stool from the food, which did not go away like I was told it would. After 1 bag of SD and 2 bags of NM, we switched back to Authority. We figured ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it…’ Both dogs firmed right up and have had no problems ever since. We show our greyhound for adoption advocacy, and everyone, including other greyhound owners, comment on how soft she is and how healthy she looks for nearly 8 years old. The 14 year old dog is very healthy for her age, people assume she’s about 3 years old. Even our vet comments on how well she’s holding up. We are extremely happy with Authority, and we’ll never let anyone talk us into switching brands again.

  • Anand Gandhi

    I felt it was time to put a review in for Authority Dog Food. After using Science Diet while my dog was a puppy, I quickly moved over to Authority bypassing all grocery brand products. There seems to be a new brand every day but my dog is 13yrs old and has never had any major issues. He has never surgery and he does well with this product. I never see any commercials or endorsements given to Authority so I want to endorse them and say your not going to find a cheaper brand with as much quality as them

  • Robbie

    I chose the lamb due to no corn and the fact that it lists lamb as it’s first ingredient too. I too am on a budget and this met to my requirements in a dry dog food. I have 8 dogs and they all love this food.

  • Kathleen

    After much research of dog foods I chose to put my Lab on Authority. While I would like to go with a higher rated food I am on a budget and this one is a great price for what I’m getting. My dog does great and my wallet appreciates the price. By the way the lamb formula that I have chosen since my dog seems to disagree with chicken (horrible gas and soft stool) contains no corn.